Colvin Avenue Commons in Albany: 63 Affordable Apartments at 60 Colvin Avenue, With Rents From $733 a Month

Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Colvin Avenue Commons at 60 Colvin Avenue in Albany, New York takes applications online, by mail and by email for its 63 income-restricted apartments. The developer's page lists one-bedrooms at $829 to $1,430 a month and two-bedrooms at $733 to $1,693, at 30% to 70% of area median income. Tenants pay heat and electricity. The page does not say how many apartments are open. The building used federal tax credits, which bar refusing a renter for holding a voucher.
Last checked: October 6, 2026, against the developer's Colvin Avenue Commons page and its brochure and application, the City of Albany Industrial Development Agency's project record and project summary, the State's award announcement of March 18, 2024, City of Albany building permits BLDG24-52424 and BLDG26-68039, reports by CBS6 and the Times Union, and HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rents. The developer's page sets the rents; confirm there before you apply.
- 63income-restricted apartments: 49 one-bedrooms and 14 two-bedrooms
- $733the lowest rent, for a two-bedroom at 30% of area median income
- $1,693the highest rent, for a two-bedroom at 70%
- $81,270the highest income on the developer's table, for four people at 70%
- 11apartments the State says serve people who have been homeless
- 0.2 milesto the BusPlus Red Line stop on Central Avenue
What Colvin Avenue Commons Is and Who Built It
Colvin Avenue Commons is two new buildings at 60 Colvin Avenue with 63 rental apartments, all income-restricted, and commercial space meant for a child care center.
- Names: Colvin Avenue Commons on the developer's site. The brochure's logo reads "Colvin Avenue Commons at Westland Hills". The State's 2024 award calls it Colvin Avenue Apartments. City permits list "60 Colvin Ave aka 54 Colvin Ave". The owner is Colvin Avenue Commons, LLC.
- Size: two buildings of about 71,870 square feet with about 4,800 square feet of commercial space, according to the City of Albany Industrial Development Agency (IDA). CBS6 and the Times Union count 49 one-bedrooms and 14 two-bedrooms, and the Times Union gives the commercial space as 4,809 square feet.
- Developer and manager: Regan Development Corp. The application authorizes "Michaels Management-Affordable, Regan Development Corporation and/or Colvin Avenue Commons LLC" to verify an applicant's details.
- Cost and program: about $30.6 million, with 9% low-income housing tax credits, an $8.7 million State award and a 30-year property tax agreement from the IDA.
- Energy: the developer calls the apartments "all-electric". CBS6 reported ground-source heat pumps and electric-vehicle chargers; the Times Union reported a green roof the City required for drainage.
- December 2020full Planning Board approval, according to the IDA's summary.
- November 21, 2022the City issues a foundation permit, BLDG22-38592.
- March 18, 2024the State announces $8.7 million for the project.
- July 2, 2024the City issues new-construction permit BLDG24-52424 for Building 1.
- August 22, 2024the IDA approves the tax agreement.
- October 29, 2025officials tour the nearly finished buildings; CBS6 reports they "will open" in "the coming weeks".
- March 16, 2026final date on the new-construction permit for Building 1, which the City's portal lists as closed.
- October 6, 2026the developer's page reads "Apply for this Apartment Today".
What it means: this is a finished building, not a proposal. No source states the date the first residents moved in.
Source: City of Albany IDA project record and summary; Governor's announcement, March 18, 2024; City of Albany permit portal, read October 6, 2026; CBS6, October 29, 2025; Times Union, October 30, 2025.
Where 60 Colvin Avenue Is
The building is on Colvin Avenue at Anthony Street, about 0.2 miles south of Central Avenue, in ZIP code 12206.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Address | 60 Colvin Avenue, Albany, NY 12206; City permits add "aka 54 Colvin Ave" |
| Nearest corner | Colvin Avenue and Anthony Street, where the closest bus stop is |
| Central Avenue | about 0.2 miles to the north, in a straight line |
| Neighborhood name | "Westland Hills" in the developer's marketing; CBS6 called it West Hill |
| Site | "nearly 2-acre", according to CBS6 |
| Where applications are mailed | The Swinburne Building, 526 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206 |
What it means: applications are not mailed to the building. They go to a leasing office at The Swinburne Building on Central Avenue.
Source: developer's page and brochure; City of Albany permit portal; CBS6, October 29, 2025; Census Bureau geocoder for the ZIP code and coordinates; distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the Capital District Transportation Authority's stop data.

Rents and Income Limits at Colvin Avenue Commons
The developer publishes one rent for each apartment size at five income levels, from 30% to 70% of the area median income.
| Income level | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|
| 30% of area median income | not offered | $733 |
| 40% | $829 | $999 |
| 50% | $1,050 | $1,264 |
| 60% | $1,271 | $1,529 |
| 70% | $1,430 | $1,693 |
What it means: these rents do not include any utilities, so add your electric bill before comparing them with other apartments. The page does not say how many apartments are at each level.
Source: Regan Development Corp., Colvin Avenue Commons page and brochure, read October 6, 2026. The page notes: "Tenant pays heat, cooking electric, apartment electric and A/C."
| Household | 30% | 40% | 50% | 60% | 70% |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $24,390 | $32,520 | $40,650 | $48,780 | $56,910 |
| 2 people | $27,870 | $37,160 | $46,450 | $55,740 | $65,030 |
| 3 people | $31,350 | $41,800 | $52,250 | $62,700 | $73,150 |
| 4 people | $34,830 | $46,440 | $58,050 | $69,660 | $81,270 |
What it means: your household's yearly income before taxes has to be at or under the figure for your size and the apartment's level. The page adds that "All incomes are calculated just prior to signing a lease".
Source: the same page, under "Project financing requires the following maximum incomes". The table carries no year.
Watch outthe limits on the page are lower than HUD's fiscal year 2026 limits for the Albany area, which are $43,100 for one person and $61,550 for four at 50%. The page shows $40,650 and $58,050. Ask the leasing office which year's limits apply to you. County figures are on the Albany County income limits page.
- Sources disagree on the levels. The IDA and the Times Union say the apartments serve households at 40% to 80% of area median income. The developer's own table runs from 30% to 70%.
- And on the top income. The Times Union, citing the Albany Business Review, reported that a family of four could earn up to $89,000. The developer's table tops out at $81,270 for four.
- Minimum income: none is published.
| Apartment | Size on the floor plan | Rooms shown |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | about 745 square feet | kitchen, living room, bedroom, bath, storage closet |
| 2 bedrooms | about 961 square feet | kitchen, living area, two bedrooms, bath, storage closet |
Source: floor plans in the developer's brochure. The two-bedroom plan labels two rooms "Kitchen"; the larger one, 12 feet 4 inches by 14 feet 6 inches, sits where a living room would be. The brochure says layouts and square footage "will vary depending on location in the building" and "all dimensions are approximate".


Using a Section 8 Voucher at Colvin Avenue Commons
Federal tax-credit law bars a building financed this way from refusing a renter for holding a voucher, and the developer's page and brochure say nothing else about vouchers.
- Federal tax-credit lawthe building's agreement must be one "which prohibits the refusal to lease to a holder of a voucher or certificate of eligibility under section 8" (26 U.S.C. 42(h)(6)(B)(iv)). The IDA says the project is funded "in part through 9% low-income housing tax credits".
- The applicationit asks, "Will any of your rent money come from sources other than the employment listed above?" That is where a voucher goes.
- The Albany Housing Authority"The family may choose a unit with a higher rent than the payment standard and pay the owner the difference."
- The federal limit on that differenceat move-in, "the family share must not exceed 40 percent of the family's adjusted monthly income" (24 CFR 982.508).
What it means: the income maximum still applies with a voucher, and whether a minimum income is waived is a question for the leasing office.
Source: the statute and regulation linked above; City of Albany IDA project record; the building's application form; the Albany Housing Authority's voucher questions page.
The Albany Housing Authority does not post its payment standards. Its Section 8 Administrative Plan commits to keeping them "between 90 and 110 percent of the published FMR for each unit size". The chart shows that range, not the Authority's own figure.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent at Colvin Avenue Commons | 90% of HUD's rent | 110% of HUD's rent |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 40% | $829 | $1,283 | $1,568 |
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $1,050 | $1,283 | $1,568 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,271 | $1,283 | $1,568 |
| 1 bedroom, 70% | $1,430 | $1,283 | $1,568 |
| 2 bedrooms, 30% | $733 | $1,540 | $1,882 |
| 2 bedrooms, 40% | $999 | $1,540 | $1,882 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% | $1,264 | $1,540 | $1,882 |
| 2 bedrooms, 60% | $1,529 | $1,540 | $1,882 |
| 2 bedrooms, 70% | $1,693 | $1,540 | $1,882 |
What it means: every rent is under the top of the range before utilities. The 60% rents sit $12 and $11 under the bottom of it, and the 70% rents fall inside it.
Source: rents from the developer's page; HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rents for the Albany-Schenectady-Troy area ($1,425 for one bedroom and $1,711 for two, utilities included), in effect since October 1, 2026; 90% and 110% calculated by VoucherMatch and rounded to the dollar.
- Utilities decide the close cases. HUD's figures include utilities and these rents include none. The housing authority adds a utility allowance for heat, cooking and electricity to the rent before comparing it with its standard. See how the utility allowance works.
- Ask for the real number. Call the Authority at 518-641-7500 for the payment standard for your voucher size. See the Albany Section 8 guide.
- Voucher size matters. The standard follows the bedroom size on your voucher. See a two-bedroom with a one-bedroom voucher.
- The State law is in court. On March 5, 2026 the appeals court that covers Albany held New York's source-of-income protection unconstitutional as it applies to Section 8; the Attorney General has appealed. The federal tax-credit rule is separate. See the Commons West ruling. Complaints go to the City's Fair Housing Office, 518-807-1998.
How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 12206
Every rent below the 70% level is under what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment rents for in ZIP code 12206, and the 70% rents are level with it before utilities.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent at Colvin Avenue Commons | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 12206 |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 40% | $829 | $1,420 |
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $1,050 | $1,420 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,271 | $1,420 |
| 1 bedroom, 70% | $1,430 | $1,420 |
| 2 bedrooms, 30% | $733 | $1,700 |
| 2 bedrooms, 40% | $999 | $1,700 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% | $1,264 | $1,700 |
| 2 bedrooms, 60% | $1,529 | $1,700 |
| 2 bedrooms, 70% | $1,693 | $1,700 |
What it means: the 30% to 50% apartments are $370 to $967 under HUD's figure. The 70% one-bedroom is $10 over it and the 70% two-bedroom is $7 under it, before any utility bill.
Source: rents from the developer's page; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, HUD's estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Add the utilities. HUD's figure covers heat and electricity; the rent here covers neither. A 60% one-bedroom is $149 under HUD's figure, so a monthly utility bill above that erases the difference.
- The 70% apartments cost more than the area figure once utilities are counted. They are still income-restricted: the rent is set from the region's median income, not from rents nearby.
- HUD's figure barely moved. For fiscal year 2027 the one-bedroom figure for 12206 went from $1,410 to $1,420. The fair market rent change report covers other areas.
Supportive Apartments, What Is Included and the Bus Lines
Eleven apartments are set aside for people who have been homeless, parking and laundry are on site, and the BusPlus Red Line stops about 0.2 miles away.
- 11 apartments"serving individuals experiencing homelessness", in the State's 2024 award announcement. That leaves 52 for other income-eligible renters.
- Accessibilitythe application asks whether a household member needs a reasonable accommodation. The number of adapted apartments is not published.
- Local preferencenone is stated.
Source: Governor's announcement, March 18, 2024; the building's application form.
- Included"free on-site parking", "in-building laundry facilities" and "live-in maintenance staff on call", according to the developer.
- In the apartmentsEnergy Star microwaves, dishwashers, ranges and refrigerators, with heating and air conditioning each resident controls.
- On the groundsa courtyard playground was under construction during the October 2025 tour, the Times Union reported.
- Tenant-paidheat, cooking electric, apartment electric and air conditioning.
- Child carethe commercial space is "intended to house a daycare facility", the IDA says. Whether one is open is not stated.
- Not statedpets, smoking, application fee and security deposit.
Source: developer's page and brochure, read October 6, 2026; City of Albany IDA project record; Times Union, October 30, 2025.
| Stop | Lines | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Colvin Avenue and Anthony Street | route 712 | under 0.1 miles |
| Central Avenue and Colvin Avenue | route 1 and route 807 | about 0.2 miles |
| West Mall Station, Central Avenue at Hannaford Plaza | BusPlus Red Line | about 0.2 miles |
| Colonial Station | BusPlus Purple Line | about 0.8 miles |
What it means: one local route stops at the corner, which matches the developer's line that buses "stop right in front of the building", and the Red Line is a short walk away on Central Avenue.
Source: stops and routes from the Capital District Transportation Authority's schedule data, valid September 20 to November 28, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the building, so the walk is longer.

How to Apply to Colvin Avenue Commons
There is no lottery date and no deadline on the page: you apply to the leasing office, which keeps a waiting list for each bedroom size.
- 1Check your levelfind your household size in the income table and see which levels you fall under.
- 2Call firstask the leasing office at 518-417-2460 which sizes and levels are open, because the page does not say.
- 3Apply onlineuse the online application.
- 4Or apply on paperprint the brochure and application, which is in English, Spanish and Chinese. Mail it to The Swinburne Building, c/o Leasing Office, 526 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12206, fax it to 833-842-1347 or email a signed copy to rentals@ColvinAvenueCommons.com.
- 5Choose your sizesthe form says applicants "can go on more than one bedroom size waitlist if they are eligible".
- 6List any rent helpname a voucher or other subsidy under "Rental Sources".
- On receiptthe developer says applications are "handled according to a Fair Housing and Marketing Plan approved by the State of New York Homes and Community Renewal".
- Checksby signing, you authorize the manager "to verify my credit, employment, assets and former tenancies".
- Before a lease"All incomes are calculated just prior to signing a lease on the apartment."
- Not publishedhow long each waiting list is, and how applicants are ordered.
What it means: have your income documents current when your name comes up, because income is checked again at that point.
Source: developer's page and the application form in its brochure.
- Each adult applicant. Social Security or taxpayer number, date of birth, and addresses for the past two years
- Work. employer, supervisor, and gross income by week, month or year
- Income history. gross income last year and expected income this year
- Everyone who will live there. name, age and relation to the applicant
- Landlords. current and previous landlord, with rent and years
- Other sources of rent money. Social Security, pension, voucher or other
Source: the application form in the developer's brochure, read October 6, 2026.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The developer's page settles the rents, the income limits and how to apply; availability and several terms are not published.
- Known63 apartments, 49 one-bedrooms and 14 two-bedrooms; nine rents from $733 to $1,693; tenants pay heat and electricity.
- Known11 apartments serve people who have been homeless; applications are accepted online, by mail, fax and email.
- Not publishedhow many apartments are at each income level, and how many are open today.
- Not publishedthe year of the income limits on the page, any minimum income, and the voucher policy.
- Not publishedapplication fee, security deposit, pet policy and the date the building opened.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
The page does not say whether an apartment is open today, so apply to other lists while you wait for an answer.
- Albany Housing Authority sites: on October 5, 2026 the Authority's application page said it was taking applications for Capital Woods Apartments, Ida Yarbrough Phase II and Steamboat 20, and for public housing since August 31, 2026. Its voucher list was closed. See Section 8 and public housing compared.
- State-financed buildings: NYS Housing Search lists open lotteries and waitlists across New York.
- No voucher yet: check which waiting lists are open and read how Section 8 lotteries work.
- Nearby housing authorities: the New York directory lists each one's phone number, and the New York Section 8 page covers the State's rules.
- Already have a voucher elsewhere: see how portability works. For income-based buildings where you apply directly, see low-income apartments.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is rent at Colvin Avenue Commons?
One-bedrooms are $829, $1,050, $1,271 or $1,430 a month and two-bedrooms are $733, $999, $1,264, $1,529 or $1,693, depending on the income level. Tenants also pay heat, cooking electric, apartment electric and air conditioning.
How much can you earn and still qualify for Colvin Avenue Commons?
The developer's table tops out at $56,910 for one person and $81,270 for four people, at the 70% level. At the 50% level it is $40,650 for one person and $58,050 for four. The table carries no year.
Does Colvin Avenue Commons take Section 8?
Federal law bars a tax-credit building from refusing a renter for holding a voucher, and this one used 9% tax credits. The developer's page does not mention vouchers. Every rent is under 110% of HUD's fair market rent before utilities.
Is Colvin Avenue Commons the same as 60 Colvin Avenue or Colvin Avenue Apartments?
Yes. Colvin Avenue Commons is at 60 Colvin Avenue, which City permits also list as 54 Colvin Avenue. The State's 2024 award called it Colvin Avenue Apartments, and the brochure adds "at Westland Hills".
Is there a waiting list at Colvin Avenue Commons?
The application refers to a waiting list for each bedroom size. The developer's page does not say how long the lists are or whether any apartment is open, so call the leasing office at 518-417-2460.
Who is Colvin Avenue Commons for?
Households under its income limits. Eleven of the 63 apartments serve people who have been homeless, according to the State; the other 52 are for any income-eligible renter. No age restriction is stated.
Are the rents at Colvin Avenue Commons below market?
Mostly. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 12206 is $1,420 for a one-bedroom and $1,700 for a two-bedroom, utilities included. Rents at 30% to 60% are $149 to $967 under those figures. The 70% rents are level with them before utilities.
Sources for this article (18)
- Colvin Avenue Commons page (regandevelopment.com)
- brochure and application (regandevelopment.com)
- project record (albanyida.com)
- project summary (albanyida.com)
- award announcement of March 18, 2024 (governor.ny.gov)
- building permits (albanyny-energovpub.tylerhost.net)
- CBS6 (cbs6albany.com)
- Times Union (timesunion.com)
- 26 U.S.C. 42(h)(6)(B)(iv) (law.cornell.edu)
- 24 CFR 982.508 (law.cornell.edu)
- voucher questions page (albanyhousing.org)
- Section 8 Administrative Plan (albanyhousing.org)
- Fair Housing Office (albanyny.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- schedule data (cdta.org)
- online application (regandevelopment.com)
- application page (albanyhousing.org)
- NYS Housing Search (housingsearch.hcr.ny.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.

