Arch at Saint Michael in Clark-Fulton: 46 Apartments for People 62 and Older at 3146 Scranton Road, Fully Leased

Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Arch at Saint Michael at 3146 Scranton Road in Cleveland is fully leased, its owner says, and it stopped taking applications by July 2026. The former St. Michael School and convent hold 46 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older with incomes at or under 50% of the area median. Federal rental assistance covers every apartment, so tenants pay about 30% of income. A Housing Choice Voucher cannot be used there: HUD requires giving it up to move in.
Last checked: October 6, 2026, against CHN Housing Partners' ribbon-cutting release and building page, City of Cleveland permit and occupancy records for 3146 Scranton Road (permit B20029466), the City's project page, a Cleveland City Council release of March 14, 2024, the project's federal award profile, the architect's sign review before the Cleveland Landmarks Commission, HUD's occupancy handbook (chapter 3, chapter 5), CMHA's payment standards, and reports by News 5 Cleveland, Plain Press and NEOtrans. CHN Housing Partners decides who is housed and what they pay; confirm with CHN before you plan around this building.
- 46one-bedroom apartments, all for people 62 and older
- 0apartments open, by the owner's account
- 30%the share of income a tenant pays, by HUD's formula
- $674the monthly rent News 5 reported for a one-bedroom
- $36,750the most one person can earn, HUD's 2026 limit at 50%
- Sept. 3, 2026final certificate of occupancy and ribbon cutting
What Arch at Saint Michael Is and Who Built It
Arch at Saint Michael is the former St. Michael School and its convent, rebuilt as 46 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, and it is fully leased.
- Names: "Arch at Saint Michael" on the building's sign and in CHN's release. CHN's building page says "The Arch at Saint Michael". City landmark filings say "The Arch at St. Michael".
- Two buildings: the school faces Scranton Road and the convent is behind it on Prame Avenue. The federal award profile counts 34 apartments in the school and 12 in the convent.
- Owner and manager: CHN Housing Partners, a nonprofit developer based in Cleveland. Its building page says "The building will be owned and managed by CHN."
- Design and construction: Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold was the architect and John G. Johnson Construction Company the general contractor, by CHN's release.
- Age: CHN says the buildings date from the early 1900s and "were designed by French architect Emile Uhlrich". NEOtrans puts the school at 120 years old and the convent at 67.
- Before the apartments: NEOtrans reports the school was the Scranton campus of Cleveland Central Catholic High School until 2003.
- Size: building permit B20029466 records 77,624 square feet and a construction value of $16,003,494. The plumbing permit counts 46 of each fixture.
- Cost, three figures: "nearly $28 million" in CHN's release, $27.8 million in News 5's report, and $23,203,128 on the City's project page.
- November 20, 2020the building permit application is filed with the City.
- January 14, 2021the Cleveland Landmarks Commission takes up the renovation as case 21-001.
- March 14, 2024City Council and CHN announce that the funding is complete.
- April 10, 2024the City issues building permit B20029466 to John G. Johnson Construction.
- September 18, 2025the City issues a phased certificate of occupancy.
- April 2026a tenant interviewed by News 5 moves in.
- July 1, 2026Plain Press reports the building is fully leased and no longer accepting applications.
- September 3, 2026final certificate of occupancy, CO26037991, and the ribbon cutting.
What it means: tenants were living in the building months before the ribbon cutting.
Source: City of Cleveland permit and certificate of occupancy records for 3146 Scranton Road; Cleveland Landmarks Commission agenda of January 14, 2021; Cleveland City Council release, March 14, 2024; News 5 Cleveland, August 28, 2026; Plain Press, July 1, 2026; CHN Housing Partners release.

Where 3146 Scranton Road Is
The building is on Cleveland's near West Side, on Scranton Road between Kinkel Avenue and Prame Avenue, in ZIP code 44109 and Ward 14.
- Neighborhood, three waysClark-Fulton to CHN, the City's project page and the federal award profile. Tremont in the City's permit data. NEOtrans places it "where Cleveland's South Tremont neighborhood meets Clark-Fulton".
- ZIP code44109. CMHA sets voucher payment standards by ZIP code, and this is the number used in the comparisons below.
- WardWard 14. The Council release says its member "represents Clark-Fulton and part of Tremont".
- Next doorSt. Michael Church, which NEOtrans says has served its congregation since 1892.
- Nearest bus stopScranton Road and Kinkel Avenue, on route 18, at the corner. RTA's stop name spells it Kinkle. The architect's site plan marks a relocated RTA bus stop on Scranton Road in front of the school.
- Parkingthe site plan shows 16 parking spaces behind the building, with one-way circulation.
Source: City of Cleveland permit record B20029466; Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold, monument sign review, Cleveland Landmarks Commission, January 22, 2026; RTA schedule data. Distances are in the transit table below.

Rents: What Tenants Pay at Arch at Saint Michael
Tenants pay a share of their income, not a fixed rent.
News 5 reported on August 28, 2026: "Rents for the one-bedroom apartments are set at $674 a month. The tenants pay no more than 30% of their income. The rest of the money comes from HUD, which established the rent levels." CHN has not published a rent on its own pages.
| Question | HUD's occupancy handbook |
|---|---|
| What the tenant pays | The greater of "30% of monthly adjusted income" and "10% of monthly gross income" |
| What it covers | "the amount a tenant is expected to contribute for rent and utilities" |
| If that is more than the rent | "In PRAC properties, the TTP may exceed the PRAC operating rent." |
| When it is recalculated | Before move-in, every year, and when a tenant reports a change in income or household |
What it means: the payment follows the tenant's income, and it changes when the income does.
Source: HUD Handbook 4350.3 REV-1, chapter 5, paragraph 5-25 and Figure 5-6, read October 6, 2026. "TTP" is HUD's term for the tenant's total payment, and "PRAC" is the rental assistance contract this building has.
View the data table
| Yearly income | 30% of monthly income | Reported rent |
|---|---|---|
| $12,000 | $300 | $674 |
| $18,000 | $450 | $674 |
| $24,000 | $600 | $674 |
| $30,000 | $750 | $674 |
| $36,750 | $919 | $674 |
What it means: 30% of income reaches $674 at a yearly income of $26,960. HUD's handbook lets the payment go above the rent in a building with this contract, so ask CHN what a tenant above that income pays.
Source: arithmetic by VoucherMatch on five example incomes, before the deductions HUD allows, which lower the figure; the rent is News 5's, August 28, 2026. $36,750 is HUD's 2026 income limit for one person.
- Utilities: HUD's formula counts rent and utilities together. CHN does not say which utilities a tenant pays. City permits show 52 heat pumps and 46 water heaters, and CHN's page lists heat and air conditioning in each apartment.
- Size: one bedroom and one bathroom, 538 square feet or more, on CHN's apartment sheet.

Income Limits: Who Qualifies at Arch at Saint Michael
A household qualifies with a member who is 62 or older and an income at or under 50% of the area median, which HUD sets at $36,750 for one person in 2026.
| Income level | 1 person | 2 people |
|---|---|---|
| 30% of area median | $22,050 | $25,200 |
| 50% of area median | $36,750 | $42,000 |
What it means: one person earning $36,750 or less is inside the limit the City's page describes, and two people can earn up to $42,000 together.
Source: HUD income limits for fiscal year 2026, Cleveland, OH HUD Metro FMR Area, read October 6, 2026. Ohio's 2026 tax-credit table gives the same 50% figures.
- The level, two ways: the City's project page says the apartments are for seniors "at incomes at 50% of the area median income or less". CHN's release says "seniors making 31% to 50% of the area median income".
- In dollars, by News 5: "The income cap for tenants shakes out to about $35,000 to $40,000 a year."
- No minimum is published. CHN does not explain the 31% in its release, and the City's page states no floor. HUD's 30% line is $22,050 for one person.
- Age: HUD's handbook says a building of this type serves "a household composed of one or more persons at least one of whom is 62 years of age or more at the time of initial occupancy".
Key pointThe payment here is a share of the tenant's income, not a set rent. That is the difference between this building and a tax-credit building where each apartment has one rent for everyone at its income level.
Can You Use a Section 8 Voucher at Arch at Saint Michael?
No: every apartment already carries federal rental assistance, and HUD does not allow a voucher on top of it.
The federal award profile lists "Total Units: 46 (46 PRAC, 0 Other)", meaning all 46 apartments are under a project rental assistance contract. HUD's handbook says tenants "must not benefit from Housing Choice Voucher assistance in a unit already assisted through" that kind of contract. Where every apartment is assisted, it says: "Owners may not admit an applicant with a voucher, unless the applicant agrees to give up the voucher prior to occupancy."
| Question | Housing Choice Voucher | Arch at Saint Michael |
|---|---|---|
| Who holds the assistance | The household | The building |
| If you move out | It moves with you | It stays with the apartment |
| Your share | Usually 30% of adjusted income | 30% of adjusted income, by HUD's formula |
| To live here | Has to be given up before move-in | Comes with the apartment |
What it means: a voucher holder who moves in trades assistance that travels for assistance tied to one address.
Source: HUD Handbook 4350.3 REV-1, chapter 3, paragraphs 3-10 and 3-21, and chapter 5, Figure 5-6; HUD's page for voucher tenants, which says the tenant's share is "usually 30% of your adjusted monthly income".
HUD's handbook lists what an owner has to tell a voucher holder before admitting them to a building like this one:
- The waiting list and the voucher: "The family must be placed on the project waiting list and must give up the voucher when the family moves into the project."
- Moving out later: "If the family later moves out of the project, the project subsidy will not move with the family as it does with a voucher".
- Getting a voucher again: "The family will need to reapply to the PHA to receive another voucher." In Cleveland the PHA is CMHA.
View the data table
| Apartment size | CMHA standard |
|---|---|
| Studio | $892 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,005 |
| 2 bedrooms | $1,220 |
| 3 bedrooms | $1,570 |
What it means: this is what a voucher is measured against in other apartments in the same ZIP code, where it can still be used.
Source: Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority, "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool for ZIP code 44109, effective January 1, 2026, read October 6, 2026. Each figure covers rent and utilities together.
- Apartments where a voucher works: see voucher apartments in 44109, in Clark-Fulton and in Tremont.
- Ohio's tax-credit rule: the building also has housing tax credits, and Ohio's compliance manual bars owners from refusing an applicant "based solely on" holding a voucher. HUD's rule decides what happens to the voucher at move-in.
- CMHA contact and programs: see the CMHA page and the Cleveland Section 8 guide.
- Source-of-income law: no City of Cleveland ordinance barring landlords from refusing vouchers was found as of October 6, 2026.
How the Rent Compares With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 44109
The reported rent of $674 is below both HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 44109 and CMHA's voucher standard for it.
View the data table
| Measure | Monthly amount |
|---|---|
| Arch at Saint Michael, reported rent | $674 |
| HUD fair market rent, fiscal year 2027 | $890 |
| CMHA payment standard, 2026 | $1,005 |
What it means: the reported rent is $216 under HUD's figure and $331 under CMHA's standard, and a tenant's own payment can be lower still.
Source: rent from News 5 Cleveland, August 28, 2026; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026; CMHA "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool, read October 6, 2026. HUD's and CMHA's figures include utilities; News 5 does not say whether the $674 does.
- What HUD's figure is: its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 44109.
Who Gets Preference
The building is restricted by age and income, and no other preference is published.
- Age62 or older, for at least one member of the household.
- Incomeat or under 50% of the area median, by the City's project page.
- Accessible apartmentsthe federal award profile says "Two (2) units in the school will be ADA accessible with features for persons with hearing or vision impairments."
- People already nearbyNews 5 reported that many tenants already lived in the area. No neighborhood preference is published.
- OrderCHN publishes no waiting list rules for the building.
Source: City of Cleveland project page; fiscal year 2020 federal award profile for The Arch at Saint Michael; HUD Handbook 4350.3 REV-1, chapter 3; News 5 Cleveland, August 28, 2026.
The Building: What Is Included and What Is Not Stated
CHN's apartment sheet and building page name what is in each apartment and the shared rooms, and give no price for anything beyond rent.
- In each apartment"Full kitchen with full-sized fridge and 30" oven", "Step-in showers", "Bathroom grab bars" and "Large storage areas in bedroom and bathroom", on CHN's sheet. Its page adds heat and air conditioning.
- Windows"Energy efficient historic replacement windows".
- Shared rooms"Community Room with Kitchen", "On-site Laundry", and "Shared spaces including Lounge, Library and Fitness Center". CHN's page also lists a wellness room.
- Outsidea "Private Outdoor Patio" on the sheet.
- StaffCHN's page says "CHN staff will be on site daily" and lists a social service coordinator's office.
- Elevatorsthe federal award profile says both the school and the convent "will have an elevator".
- Not stateda pet policy, a smoking policy, the application fee and the deposit.
Source: CHN Housing Partners apartment sheet, as reproduced by NEOtrans on September 3, 2026, and CHN's building page, read October 6, 2026; federal award profile. CHN's building page was written before construction finished and still describes the work in the future tense.

Getting Around From Scranton Road
Three bus routes stop within about a tenth of a mile, and the nearest Red Line station is about 1.1 miles away.
| Stop | Route | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Scranton Rd and Kinkle Av | 18 West 98-Garfield | under 0.1 miles |
| Clark Av and Scranton Rd | 25 Madison-Clark | about 0.1 miles |
| W 25th St and Clark Av | 51-51A MetroHealth Line | about 0.1 miles |
| Fulton Rd and Clark Av | 45 Ridge-Fulton | about 0.5 miles |
| W 25th St-Ohio City Station | Red Line | about 1.1 miles |
What it means: three bus routes, the MetroHealth Line on West 25th Street among them, are a short walk away, and rail is a bus ride away.
Source: stops and routes from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority's schedule data, feed version 2609b, valid September 19 to December 5, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the coordinates in the City's permit record, so the walk is longer.
- Apartments along the rail line: see voucher apartments near the Red Line.
How to Apply to Arch at Saint Michael
There is nothing to apply to today: CHN told Plain Press in July 2026 that the building was fully leased and no longer accepting applications, and it publishes no waiting list.
- 1Check age and incomesomeone in the household has to be 62 or older, and income has to be at or under the 50% limit in the table above.
- 2Call CHN Housing Partners(216) 574-7100, the number on its site, Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5 PM. Its office is at 3711 Chester Avenue, Suite 100.
- 3Ask about a waiting listCHN publishes none for this building. Ask whether it keeps one and how a name gets on it.
- 4If you hold a voucherread the three points from HUD's handbook above, and talk to CMHA before you agree to give the voucher up.
- 5Keep other applications movingan opening here depends on a tenant leaving.
- Waiting list. is there one for Arch at Saint Michael, and is it open?
- Rent. what is the rent today, and which utilities does a tenant pay?
- Income. is there a minimum, and what does the 31% in the release mean?
- Payment. what does a tenant pay when 30% of income is more than the rent?
- Accessible apartments. how are the two accessible apartments assigned?
- Costs. is there an application fee or a deposit?
- Rules. what are the pet, smoking and parking rules?
What it means: every item on this list is something CHN has not published.
Source: CHN Housing Partners site, read October 6, 2026; Plain Press, July 1, 2026.
Watch outCHN's rental listings page did not list this building on October 6, 2026, and no application form for it is on CHN's site.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The records agree on who the building serves and that it is full; they disagree on several numbers.
- Known46 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, fully leased, with a final certificate of occupancy dated September 3, 2026.
- Knownevery apartment has federal rental assistance, and a voucher has to be given up to move in.
- Two countsCHN's building page says 36 apartments in the school and 12 in the convent, which is 48. Its release, the City's page, the federal profile and the plumbing permit all say 46.
- City money, three figuresthe Council release says Council approved $2.9 million, the City's project page lists $3,200,000, and News 5 reports "$4.3 million in city loans".
- The convent's heightthree stories in the federal profile, four on the architect's 2020 drawings.
- Not publisheda waiting list, a rent from CHN itself, the utilities a tenant pays, any fee or deposit, and a minimum income.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
This building is full, so the options below are the ones that can move now.
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Cleveland listings
- Another new senior building: Puritas Senior Apartments, for people 55 and older, was taking names for its waiting list on October 6, 2026.
- More new buildings: see new affordable buildings in Cleveland.
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Cleveland, or one-bedrooms only.
- Other senior buildings: see low-income senior apartments.
- No voucher yet: CMHA takes preliminary voucher applications year-round. Check which waiting lists are open.
- Income-based buildings where you apply directly: see low-income apartments.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Arch at Saint Michael accepting applications?
No. CHN Housing Partners told Plain Press in July 2026 that the building was fully leased and no longer accepting applications, and its September 2026 release says "The development is fully leased." CHN publishes no waiting list for it.
Does Arch at Saint Michael take Section 8?
A voucher cannot be used there. All 46 apartments have their own federal rental assistance, and HUD's handbook says an owner may admit a voucher holder to such a building only if the household gives up the voucher before moving in.
How much is rent at Arch at Saint Michael?
Tenants pay a share of income, about 30% under HUD's formula. News 5 Cleveland reported on August 28, 2026 that the one-bedroom rent is set at $674 a month, with HUD paying the rest. CHN has not published a rent.
How old do you have to be to live at Arch at Saint Michael?
62 or older. HUD's rule for this type of building is that at least one member of the household is 62 or older when the household moves in.
What are the income limits for Arch at Saint Michael?
The City's project page says 50% of the area median income or less. HUD's 2026 limit at 50% for the Cleveland area is $36,750 for one person and $42,000 for two.
How many apartments are in Arch at Saint Michael?
46, all with one bedroom and one bathroom: 34 in the former school and 12 in the former convent, by the federal award profile and the City's project page. CHN's building page gives 36 and 12.
Who owns and manages Arch at Saint Michael?
CHN Housing Partners, a nonprofit developer based in Cleveland, built it and says it owns and manages it. Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold was the architect and John G. Johnson Construction Company the general contractor.
Is Arch at Saint Michael in Tremont or Clark-Fulton?
Both names appear. CHN, the City's project page and the federal profile say Clark-Fulton, and the City's permit data files 3146 Scranton Road under Tremont. The ZIP code is 44109 and the ward is Ward 14.
Sources for this article (19)
- ribbon-cutting release (chnhousingpartners.org)
- building page (chnhousingpartners.org)
- permit and occupancy records (data.clevelandohio.gov)
- project page (clevelandohio.gov)
- release (clevelandcitycouncil.gov)
- federal award profile (leadingage.org)
- sign review (web.archive.org)
- chapter 3 (hud.gov)
- chapter 5 (hud.gov)
- payment standards (cmha.net)
- News 5 Cleveland (news5cleveland.com)
- Plain Press (plainpress.blog)
- NEOtrans (neo-trans.blog)
- income limits (huduser.gov)
- page for voucher tenants (hud.gov)
- compliance manual (ohiohome.org)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- schedule data (riderta.com)
- rental listings page (chnhousingpartners.org)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Bellaire-Puritas, Cleveland
Puritas Senior Apartments
- Rents not published; program ceilings from $559 a month
- Waiting list open, for people 55 and older

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Hub 27
- Rents not published; 60% ceilings from $1,181 a month
- Under construction; first move-ins expected spring 2027

Detroit Shoreway, Cleveland
Karam Senior Living
- Rent set by income through CMHA vouchers
- Under construction; CMHA waiting list not open yet

Hough, Cleveland
Hough Senior Living
- Rents not published; 60% ceiling $1,181 a month
- Under construction; completion expected early 2027
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.
