Karam Senior Living in Detroit Shoreway: 51 Senior Apartments Being Built Above the New Walz Library at 7918 Detroit Avenue

Quick answerAs of October 7, 2026, Karam Senior Living at 7918 Detroit Avenue in Cleveland's Detroit Shoreway neighborhood is under construction above the Walz Branch library, and no application is open. It will have 51 apartments for seniors with incomes at or under 60% of the area median. Plain Press reported that the housing authority, CMHA, committed 51 vouchers to the building, which would have tenants pay 30% of income. CMHA was expected to open a waiting list in fall 2026; none was posted by October 7.
Last checked: October 7, 2026, against City of Cleveland permit records for 7918 Detroit Avenue (permits B22010706 and BCB26-005542), the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2021 project summary, CMHA's project-based voucher page and voucher property list, a Cleveland City Council release of October 19, 2023, the Cleveland Public Library's Walz Branch page, the federal rule on moving out of a project-based voucher apartment, and reports by Plain Press, Axios Cleveland and NEOtrans. CMHA and the building's owner decide who is housed and what they pay; confirm with them before you plan around this building.
- 51apartments for seniors, above a public library
- 5, 26 and 20studios, one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms in the state summary
- 51vouchers CMHA committed to the building, Plain Press reported
- 30%the share of income a tenant with one of those vouchers pays
- 60%the top income level, as a share of area median income
- May 1, 2026the City's permit for the apartment floors
What Karam Senior Living Is and Who Is Building It
Karam Senior Living is 51 apartments for seniors being built on top of the new Walz Branch of the Cleveland Public Library, and it is not finished.
- Names: Karam Senior Living for the apartments. The combined project is called Walz Library-Karam Senior Living in news reports and "Walz + Karam" on the architects' drawings.
- Who is building it: Northwest Neighborhoods, the neighborhood's nonprofit developer, which was called Detroit Shoreway Community Development Organization when it applied to the state. NEOtrans names Salus Development LLC as its partner.
- Two builders, one structure: Gilbane Building Company is building the library for the Cleveland Public Library, and Marous Brothers Construction is building the apartments above it.
- Design: NEOtrans credits Bialosky of Cleveland. The state summary and the plan sheets also name Robert P. Madison International.
- What was there: the old Walz Branch and the Detroit Chateau apartments, which Northwest Neighborhoods operated.
- Size: the City's permit for the combined building records 62,288 square feet. The permit for the apartment floors carries a construction value of $12,688,002.
- Cost, three figures: $22 million in the City Council's 2023 release, $23 million for Karam in Plain Press in 2024, and $34 million for the library and apartments together in NEOtrans since 2025.
- May 2021the state awards housing tax credits, NEOtrans reports.
- March 7, 2022the old Walz Branch closes, by Plain Press.
- October 11, 2023News 5 reports City Council's $1 million award.
- August 2024Northwest Neighborhoods says CMHA has awarded 51 vouchers and the funding is complete.
- June 6, 2025groundbreaking.
- June 26, 2025the City issues permit B22010706 for the library and apartment building.
- May 1, 2026the City issues permit BCB26-005542 for the apartment floors to Marous Brothers.
- August 2, 2026NEOtrans reports the library framed and the apartments still to rise above it.
What it means: the apartment floors got their permit five months ago, and no opening date has been published.
Source: City of Cleveland permit records for 7918 Detroit Avenue; News 5 Cleveland, October 11, 2023; Plain Press, August 31, 2024 and July 1, 2025; NEOtrans, May 2, 2025 and August 2, 2026. No certificate of occupancy has been issued.

Where 7918 Detroit Avenue Is
Karam Senior Living is on Cleveland's West Side, on Detroit Avenue at West 80th Street, in ZIP code 44102 and Ward 11.
- Address, three numbers7918 Detroit Avenue in the City's permits and the state summary. NEOtrans has also used 7910, the number on the newest rendering, and the library lists its branch at 7916.
- NeighborhoodDetroit Shoreway, in the City's permit data.
- ZIP code44102. CMHA sets voucher payment standards by ZIP code.
- WardWard 11 on the City's 2026 ward map. The Council's 2023 release and the earlier map say Ward 15.
- Next doorthe St. Augustine Health Campus, which the state summary calls adjacent.
- Nearest bus stop7801 Detroit Avenue, on route 26, under a tenth of a mile away in a straight line. NEOtrans describes the site as "directly behind a high-frequency bus stop".
Source: City of Cleveland permit record B22010706; Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2021 project summary; NEOtrans, March 25, 2026; RTA schedule data. Distances are in the transit table below.
Rents: What Tenants Would Pay
No rent has been published, and the reported plan is that tenants pay by income: 30% of it, with CMHA paying the rest.
Plain Press reported on August 31, 2024 that "a new award by Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority (CMHA) of 51 housing vouchers both deepens the project's affordability for future residents and allows development to proceed". The building has 51 apartments. CMHA's own page says of vouchers attached to a building: "Tenants with PBVs pay 30% of their income for rent and utilities and the rest of their housing costs are paid by CMHA."
View the data table
| Yearly income | 30% of monthly income |
|---|---|
| $12,000 | $300 |
| $18,000 | $450 |
| $24,000 | $600 |
| $30,000 | $750 |
| $36,750 | $919 |
What it means: a tenant living on $18,000 a year would pay about $450 a month for rent and utilities together.
Source: arithmetic by VoucherMatch on five example incomes, before any deductions CMHA applies, which lower the figure. $36,750 is HUD's 2026 income limit for one person at 50% of the area median.
View the data table
| Size | Apartments |
|---|---|
| Studio | 5 |
| 1 bedroom | 26 |
| 2 bedrooms | 20 |
What it means: half the apartments are one-bedrooms, and there are few studios.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2021 project summary for Karam Senior Living. It is the application the state funded, not a count from the finished building. The City's 2025 plumbing permit counts 52 kitchen sinks and 51 bathtubs or showers.
| Size | Square feet | Apartments |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 486 to 568 | 5 |
| 1 bedroom | 639 to 641 | 26 |
| 2 bedrooms | 952 to 1,026 | 20 |
What it means: the two-bedrooms, at 952 square feet or more, are about half again as large as the one-bedrooms.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2021 project summary. The summary also lists rents projected in 2021, before CMHA's vouchers were added; they are not printed here because they are not the building's rents.

Income Limits: Who Qualifies at Karam Senior Living
The building is for seniors with household incomes at or under 60% of the area median, and the sources give two different ages.
| Income level | 1 person | 2 people |
|---|---|---|
| 30% of area median | $22,050 | $25,200 |
| 50% of area median | $36,750 | $42,000 |
| 60% of area median | $44,100 | $50,400 |
What it means: one person earning $40,000 is over the 50% line and under the 60% line.
Source: HUD income limits for fiscal year 2026 for the 30% and 50% rows; Ohio Housing Finance Agency 2026 limits, effective May 1, 2026, for the 60% row. The limits in force when the building opens may be different.
View the data table
| Income level | Apartments |
|---|---|
| 30% of area median income | 8 |
| 50% | 15 |
| 60% | 28 |
What it means: as funded, 23 of the 51 apartments were for households at 50% or less.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2021 project summary.
- Age, two ways: 55 and older in the state summary, News 5, Plain Press and NEOtrans. Axios reported in July 2025 that the apartments "will be made available to seniors 62 and older". CMHA's voucher property list has a "Senior (62+)" category.
- Income, two ways: "60% or less" of the area median in the City Council's release and in Axios. Plain Press wrote in 2024 of "seniors who earn less than 30% and 50%".
- Which figure decides: neither CMHA nor the developer has published the income limit it will apply.
Can You Use a Section 8 Voucher at Karam Senior Living?
You would not bring one: the apartments are reported to come with their own vouchers, which stay with the building.
CMHA calls these project-based vouchers. Its page says: "What makes a PBV different is that the voucher subsidy stays with the building. When the assisted tenant moves out, the rental assistance remains with the building for the next eligible occupant."
| Question | Housing Choice Voucher | Karam's vouchers |
|---|---|---|
| Who holds it | The household | The building |
| Where it works | Any private unit that accepts vouchers | This building only |
| Your share | Usually 30% of adjusted income | 30% of income for rent and utilities |
| If you move out | It moves with you | It stays for the next tenant |
What it means: the rent help here is tied to the address, so getting an apartment and getting the help are the same application.
Source: CMHA, "Project Based Vouchers", read October 7, 2026; HUD's page for voucher tenants, which says a tenant's share is "usually 30% of your adjusted monthly income".
- Leaving after a year: the federal rule says a family "may terminate the assisted lease at any time after one year", and that the housing authority "must offer the family the opportunity for continued tenant-based rental assistance". Ask CMHA how it applies that.
- If you already hold a voucher: CMHA has not published how a current voucher holder is treated on this building's list. Ask before you apply.
- How the kinds of housing differ: see Section 8, public housing and project-based housing compared.
- CMHA contact and programs: see the CMHA page and the Cleveland Section 8 guide.
- Source-of-income law: no City of Cleveland ordinance barring landlords from refusing vouchers was found as of October 7, 2026.
What a Regular Voucher Covers Nearby, and Typical Rents in ZIP Code 44102
For a senior who holds a regular voucher and wants to stay in the area, CMHA's standard for ZIP code 44102 is above HUD's estimate of an ordinary rent at every size.
View the data table
| Apartment size | CMHA standard | HUD fair market rent |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $926 | $830 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,062 | $950 |
| 2 bedrooms | $1,276 | $1,150 |
What it means: CMHA's standard is $112 above HUD's figure for a one-bedroom and $126 above it for a two-bedroom.
Source: Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority, "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool for ZIP code 44102, effective January 1, 2026; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both include utilities.
- What HUD's figure is: its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 44102.
- Apartments in this area: see voucher apartments in 44102 and in Detroit Shoreway.
Who Gets Preference
The building is restricted by age and income, and no other preference has been published.
- Ageseniors, at 55 or 62 depending on the source.
- Incomeat or under 60% of the area median.
- Who it is meant forthe Council's release says the building answers "an urgent need for quality, affordable housing for vulnerable seniors". Northwest Neighborhoods told News 5 in 2023 that older residents nearby face "displacement pressures". Neither is a published preference.
- AccessibilityNews 5 reported in 2023 that every apartment would be accessible.
- OrderCMHA has not posted a waiting list for the building or said how it will be ordered.
Source: Cleveland City Council, October 19, 2023; News 5 Cleveland, October 11, 2023; CMHA's project-based voucher page, read October 7, 2026.
The Building: What Is Planned and What Is Not Stated
The library takes the lower level and part of the first floor, and three floors of apartments sit above it.
- Floorsthe plans show a lower level, a first floor and three apartment floors above. The City's permit calls it a five-story apartment building.
- The librarya two-level Walz Branch of 10,300 square feet, by NEOtrans. Plain Press lists meeting spaces and children's and teen areas.
- Shared rooms"a community room, laundry facilities, on-site parking and a wellness center", in the state summary.
- Laundrythe plumbing permit counts 7 washer connections and 6 laundry sinks for the building, against 52 water heaters and 52 kitchen sinks.
- Parking46 off-street spaces, NEOtrans reported in March 2026.
- Servicesthe state summary says the developer "will deliver & coordinate comprehensive services" from local health and social service agencies.
- Not statedwhich utilities a tenant pays, a pet policy, a smoking policy, the application fee and the deposit.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2021 project summary; City of Cleveland plumbing permit P25039678; NEOtrans, May 2, 2025 and March 25, 2026. Every picture of the building in this article is a rendering or a plan.

Getting Around From Detroit Avenue
Route 26 stops at the door, and the Red Line's West 65th-Lorain Station is about 0.7 miles away.
| Stop | Route | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| 7801 Detroit Av | 26-26A Detroit | under 0.1 miles |
| Madison Av and W 79th St | 25 Madison-Clark | about 0.3 miles |
| Clifton Blvd and Lake Av | 55 Clifton | about 0.4 miles |
| W 65th St and Franklin Av | 71 Pearl-Tiedeman | about 0.5 miles |
| W 65th St-Lorain Av Station | Red Line | about 0.7 miles |
What it means: the Detroit Avenue bus is the everyday option, and NEOtrans puts downtown about 10 minutes away on it.
Source: stops and routes from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority's schedule data, feed version 2609b, valid September 19 to December 5, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the coordinates in the City's permit record, so the walk is longer.
How to Apply to Karam Senior Living
You cannot apply yet: the waiting list is expected to be CMHA's, and CMHA had not posted one for this building on October 7, 2026.
Axios reported in July 2025: "The Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority anticipates opening a waitlist for the Karam Senior Living units in the fall of 2026." CMHA's project-based voucher page named two open lists on October 7, 2026, and Karam was not one of them. Its list of voucher properties did not include 7918 Detroit Avenue either.
- 1Check age and incomeyou need to be a senior, at 55 or 62 depending on the final rule, with income under the limit in the table above.
- 2Watch CMHA's pageopen CMHA's project-based voucher page and look for Karam Senior Living under "Project-Based Voucher Waiting Lists".
- 3Apply through CMHA when it appearsthe page's "Apply" button leads to CMHA's applicant portal.
- 4Ask Northwest Neighborhoods tooit is the building's developer. No sign-up for Karam was found on its site on October 7, 2026.
- 5Keep other applications movingno opening date for the building has been published.
- The list. when does it open, and how are names ordered?
- Age. is the minimum 55 or 62?
- Income. which limit applies, and is every apartment under a voucher?
- A voucher you already hold. what happens to it if you take an apartment here?
- Utilities. which ones does a tenant pay?
- Opening. when are the first move-ins expected?
- Costs and rules. is there a fee or a deposit, and what are the pet and parking rules?
What it means: every item on this list is something neither CMHA nor the developer has published.
Source: Axios Cleveland, July 2, 2025; CMHA's project-based voucher page and voucher property list, read October 7, 2026.
Watch outUntil CMHA posts the list, there is no official application for Karam Senior Living.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The records agree on the address, the 51 apartments and who is building them; they disagree on the age rule and say nothing yet on how to apply.
- Known51 apartments for seniors above the new Walz Branch, at 7918 Detroit Avenue, under construction.
- Knownthe City issued the permit for the apartment floors on May 1, 2026, and no certificate of occupancy exists yet.
- ReportedCMHA awarded 51 vouchers to the building in 2024, and expected to open a waiting list in fall 2026.
- Disputedthe minimum age, 55 or 62.
- Disputedthe income rule, "60% or less" or "less than 30% and 50%".
- Not publisheda waiting list, an opening date, the utilities a tenant pays and the building's rules.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
There is no list to join yet, so keep other options moving.
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Cleveland listings
- Another new senior building: Puritas Senior Apartments, for people 55 and older, was taking names for its waiting list on October 6, 2026.
- Other new buildings: see new affordable buildings in Cleveland.
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Cleveland, or studios and one-bedrooms only.
- Other senior buildings: see low-income senior apartments.
- No voucher yet: CMHA takes preliminary voucher applications year-round. Check which waiting lists are open.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Karam Senior Living open?
No. It is under construction above the new Walz Branch library. The City issued the permit for the apartment floors on May 1, 2026, no certificate of occupancy has been issued, and no opening date is published.
How do I apply to Karam Senior Living?
You cannot yet. Axios reported that CMHA expected to open a waiting list for the building in fall 2026. On October 7, 2026, CMHA's project-based voucher page did not list one.
How much is rent at Karam Senior Living?
No rent is published. Plain Press reported that CMHA awarded 51 vouchers to the 51-apartment building. CMHA says tenants with a voucher attached to a building pay 30% of their income for rent and utilities.
Does Karam Senior Living take Section 8?
The apartments are reported to come with their own project-based vouchers, which stay with the building. You apply for the apartment and the rent help together, through CMHA, when its list opens.
How old do you have to be to live at Karam Senior Living?
Sources disagree. The state's project summary, News 5, Plain Press and NEOtrans say 55 and older. Axios reported 62 and older in July 2025. Ask CMHA when the list opens.
What are the income limits for Karam Senior Living?
The City Council's release says 60% of the area median income or less. In 2026 that is $44,100 for one person and $50,400 for two in the Cleveland area. The 50% line is $36,750 and $42,000.
Where is Karam Senior Living?
At 7918 Detroit Avenue, at West 80th Street, in Cleveland's Detroit Shoreway neighborhood, ZIP code 44102. The apartments sit above the new Walz Branch of the Cleveland Public Library.
Who is building Karam Senior Living?
Northwest Neighborhoods, the nonprofit formerly called Detroit Shoreway Community Development Organization, with Salus Development LLC. Marous Brothers Construction is building the apartments, and Gilbane is building the library below.
Sources for this article (15)
- permit records (data.clevelandohio.gov)
- 2021 project summary (ohiohome.org)
- project-based voucher page (cmha.net)
- voucher property list (cmha.net)
- release (clevelandcitycouncil.gov)
- Walz Branch page (cpl.org)
- rule on moving out (ecfr.gov)
- Plain Press (plainpress.blog)
- Axios Cleveland (axios.com)
- NEOtrans (neo-trans.blog)
- income limits (huduser.gov)
- 2026 limits (ohiohome.org)
- page for voucher tenants (hud.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- schedule data (riderta.com)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Bellaire-Puritas, Cleveland
Puritas Senior Apartments
- Rents not published; program ceilings from $559 a month
- Waiting list open, for people 55 and older

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Hub 27
- Rents not published; 60% ceilings from $1,181 a month
- Under construction; first move-ins expected spring 2027

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Arch at Saint Michael
- Rent set by income, about 30% of it
- Fully leased; not taking applications

Hough, Cleveland
Hough Senior Living
- Rents not published; 60% ceiling $1,181 a month
- Under construction; completion expected early 2027
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.
