Puritas Senior Apartments in Bellaire-Puritas: 48 Affordable Apartments for 55 and Older at 14410 Puritas Avenue

Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Puritas Senior Apartments at 14410 Puritas Avenue in Cleveland's Bellaire-Puritas neighborhood is finished and taking names for its waiting list. It has 48 one- and two-bedroom apartments for people 55 and older, all income-restricted. The building has not published its rents. Its own limits sheet caps a one-bedroom at $559 to $1,119 a month across the 30% to 60% income levels. There is no lottery: fill in the preliminary application on the building's site. The site says Housing Choice Vouchers are welcome.
Last checked: October 6, 2026, against the building's own eligibility, floor plans and waiting list pages, its rent and income limits sheet and eligibility checklist, City of Cleveland permit and occupancy records for 14410 Puritas Avenue (permit B24015957), the City's project page, the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2023 project summary and 2026 rent and income limits, a Signal Cleveland report of April 25, 2024, and CMHA's payment standards. The management office sets what is available and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.
- 48apartments, all income-restricted, for people 55 and older
- $559the lowest rent ceiling on the building's sheet, for a one-bedroom at the 30% level
- $41,760the most one person can earn at 60%, on the building's sheet
- $1,197CMHA's 2026 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 44135
- May 1, 2026the City's final certificate of occupancy
- 0.7 milesto Puritas Station on the Red Line
What Puritas Senior Apartments Is and Who Built It
Puritas Senior Apartments is a new four-story building of 48 apartments at 14410 Puritas Avenue, for people 55 and older with incomes under set limits.
- Names: Puritas Senior Apartments on its site and in City permits. Its limits sheet shortens it to "Puritas Senior".
- Who built it: the City's project page names Volker Development Inc. as developer and John G. Johnson as contractor, with Lakewood Senior Citizens, Inc. as partner. The building's site credits "the leadership of Barton Communities with support from Völker Development".
- A different name in 2023: the state's project summary lists Commonwealth Development Corporation of America as developer, with Lakewood Senior Citizens as co-developer and a different architect and contractor.
- Who manages it: Barton Communities, by the site's footer. The drawings on the site are by RDL Architects.
- Size: building permit B24015957 records 45,356 square feet and a construction value of $11,057,008. The elevator permit lists four floors, and the plumbing permit counts 48 of each fixture.
- Cost: the City's page puts the total at $16,246,935, with $892,500 in City assistance.
- 2023the state receives the application for 48 senior apartments on Puritas Avenue.
- April 19, 2024the City Planning Commission gives the design final approval, Signal Cleveland reports.
- May 31, 2024the building permit application is filed.
- December 17, 2024the City issues building permit B24015957 to John G. Johnson Construction.
- April 2, 2026the City issues a time-limited certificate of occupancy.
- May 1, 2026final certificate of occupancy, CO26016790.
- July 23, 2026the City issues the permit for the building's wall and monument signs.
What it means: the building has had its occupancy certificate since May 2026, though its site still says "Leasing begins in early 2026".
Source: City of Cleveland permit and certificate of occupancy records for 14410 Puritas Avenue; Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2023 project summary; Signal Cleveland, April 25, 2024.

Where 14410 Puritas Avenue Is
Puritas Senior Apartments is on Cleveland's West Side, on Puritas Avenue, in ZIP code 44135 and Ward 13.
- Neighborhood, two namesBellaire-Puritas in the City's permit data and in Signal Cleveland's report. The building's site calls the area West Park.
- ZIP code44135. CMHA sets voucher payment standards by ZIP code, and this is the number that drives the voucher math below.
- WardWard 13 on the City's 2026 ward map. The same permit record lists Ward 16 under the 2014 map.
- Nearest bus stopPuritas Avenue and West Parkway Road, under a tenth of a mile away in a straight line.
- Nearest rail stopPuritas Station on RTA's Red Line, about 0.7 miles away.
- Nearby, by the building's sitethe Gunning Recreation Center on Puritas Avenue and the Rocky River Reservation.
Source: City of Cleveland permit record B24015957; puritasseniorapartments.com; RTA schedule data. Distances are in the transit table below.
Rents: What the Building Publishes and What It Does Not
The building has not published the rent of any apartment; what it publishes is a sheet of the maximum rents its program allows.
| Income level | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|
| 30% | $559 | $671 |
| 50% | $932 | $1,118 |
| 60% | $1,119 | $1,342 |
| 80% | $1,492 | $1,790 |
What it means: a one-bedroom for a household at 50% cannot cost more than $932 a month with utilities counted, and it may cost less.
Source: "Calculate rent and income limits, Puritas Senior, 2025", linked from the building's eligibility page as "View Income Limits", read October 6, 2026. These are tax-credit ceilings on rent and utilities together, using 2025 limits. They are not the building's rents.
- The 2026 ceilings are higher. Ohio's 2026 table puts the 60% maximum at $1,181 for a one-bedroom and $1,417 for a two-bedroom. The sheet says the building's limits are held at no less than the 2025 level, so ask which year applies.
- The top income level, two ways: the City's page and the 2023 state summary say 30% to 70%. The developer told the Planning Commission 30% to 80%, and the sheet has an 80% column and no 70% column.
- Utilities: the 2023 state summary assumed tenants pay their own utilities. City permits show 55 heat pumps and 48 water heaters, and the site lists "individually controlled heat and air conditioning".
View the data table
| Income level | Apartments |
|---|---|
| 30% of area median income | 10 |
| 50% | 10 |
| 60% | 16 |
| 70% | 12 |
What it means: as proposed, 20 of the 48 apartments were for households at 50% or less.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2023 project summary for Puritas Senior Apartments, which also counts 28 one-bedrooms and 20 two-bedrooms. It is the proposal, not a count of the finished building.

- One-bedrooms: 547 square feet of net area on the building's plans, 583 gross.
- Two-bedrooms: 780 to 809 square feet net, 829 to 853 gross, depending on the layout.
- A slip on the plans: the sheet for the accessible two-bedroom, type 2B-A, prints 547 square feet, the same figure as the one-bedroom.
Income Limits: Who Qualifies at Puritas Senior Apartments
Puritas Senior Apartments is for adults 55 and older whose household income is under the limit for the apartment's level, and the building's own documents give two sets of limits.
| Income level | 1 person | 2 people |
|---|---|---|
| 30% | $20,880 | $23,880 |
| 50% | $34,800 | $39,800 |
| 60% | $41,760 | $47,760 |
| 80% | $55,680 | $63,680 |
What it means: one person earning $38,000 is over the 50% limit and under the 60% limit, so a 60% apartment is the one to ask about.
Source: the building's limits sheet, 2025 figures, read October 6, 2026. Ohio's 2026 table sets the 60% limit at $44,100 for one person and $50,400 for two, and the 50% limit at $36,750 and $42,000.
Watch outThe building's eligibility checklist gives different numbers: "MAXIMUM INCOME FOR SINGLE PERSON HOUSEHOLD IS $35,880" and "$41,400" for two people. Its limits sheet allows $41,760 and $47,760 at 60%. Ask the office which figure it uses.
Key pointThe site states no minimum income. It says "Rent subsidies may be available", without saying how many apartments carry one.
Can You Use a Section 8 Voucher at Puritas Senior Apartments?
Yes: the building's eligibility page says "Housing Choice Vouchers are welcome."
The full sentence reads: "Rent subsidies may be available, and Housing Choice Vouchers are welcome." Ohio's housing finance agency also tells owners of tax-credit buildings, in its compliance manual, that they "cannot refuse to accept a prospective tenant based solely on the fact that an applicant holds a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher".
View the data table
| Apartment | Maximum rent | CMHA standard |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 30% | $559 | $1,197 |
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $932 | $1,197 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,119 | $1,197 |
| 2 bedrooms, 30% | $671 | $1,446 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% | $1,118 | $1,446 |
| 2 bedrooms, 60% | $1,342 | $1,446 |
What it means: at 30%, 50% and 60%, even an apartment priced at its ceiling is under the standard, by $78 for the one-bedroom and $104 for the two-bedroom at 60%.
Source: maximum rents from the building's limits sheet, utilities included; payment standards from the Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority's "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool for ZIP code 44135, effective January 1, 2026, read October 6, 2026. Both columns count rent and utilities together.
- At the 2026 ceilings it is closer. Ohio's 2026 maximums at 60%, $1,181 and $1,417, are $16 and $29 under the standard.
- The 80% column is over it. The sheet's 80% maximums, $1,492 and $1,790, are $295 and $344 above the standard. The City's page says the building stops at 70%.
- Under the standard, your share follows your income. HUD tells voucher holders their share is "usually 30% of your adjusted monthly income", and that a household pays more only when it chooses a unit above the standard.
| Utility the tenant pays | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|
| Heat, electric heat pump | $25 | $28 |
| Other electricity | $34 | $45 |
| Cooking, electric | $8 | $11 |
| Water heating, electric | $24 | $29 |
What it means: a tenant paying all four would have $91 counted for a one-bedroom and $113 for a two-bedroom, on top of the rent, when CMHA compares the total with its standard.
Source: Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority, utility allowance chart effective January 1, 2026, rows for a multi-unit apartment. The building has not said which utilities a tenant pays or what fuel each uses.
- How the allowance works: see how the Section 8 utility allowance works.
- CMHA contact and programs: see the CMHA page and the Cleveland Section 8 guide.
- Source-of-income law: no City of Cleveland ordinance barring landlords from refusing vouchers was found as of October 6, 2026.
How the Maximum Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 44135
The building's ceilings at 30% and 50% are below HUD's estimate of an ordinary rent in ZIP code 44135, and its 60% ceiling is slightly above it.
View the data table
| Apartment | Maximum rent | HUD fair market rent |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 30% | $559 | $1,060 |
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $932 | $1,060 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,119 | $1,060 |
| 2 bedrooms, 30% | $671 | $1,280 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% | $1,118 | $1,280 |
| 2 bedrooms, 60% | $1,342 | $1,280 |
What it means: the 50% ceilings are $128 and $162 under HUD's figure, and the 60% ceilings are $59 and $62 over it. The rent a tenant is charged can be lower than the ceiling.
Source: maximum rents from the building's limits sheet; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both sides include utilities.
- What HUD's figure is: its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 44135.
- Apartments in this area: see voucher apartments in 44135 and in Bellaire-Puritas.
Who Gets Preference
The building is restricted by age, and no other preference is published.
- Age"adults aged 55 and older who are able to live independently", in the site's words.
- Incomeevery household has to be under the limit for the apartment's level.
- Accessible apartmentsthe site says "ADA-compliant units are also available for those who qualify". The plans mark two layouts as type 'A'.
- Orderthe site does not say how the waiting list is ordered.
Source: puritasseniorapartments.com eligibility and floor plans pages, read October 6, 2026.
The Building: What Is Included and What Is Not Stated
The site names the shared rooms and services and gives no price for anything beyond rent.
- In each apartment"individually controlled heat and air conditioning", and connections for cable and internet.
- Shared spacesa fitness center and a community room. The ground-floor plan shows the community room with a kitchen and a patio, a fitness room and two offices.
- Laundrythe City's page lists "laundry facilities", and the upper-floor plans each show a laundry room.
- Servicesa "dedicated service coordinator" on site and "24-hour on-call maintenance".
- Petsthe site calls the building "pet-friendly". No limits or fee are stated.
- Not statedparking terms, a smoking policy, the application fee and the deposit.
Source: puritasseniorapartments.com, read October 6, 2026; City of Cleveland project page. Every picture of the building on the site and in this article is a rendering or a plan. The photographs on the site are stock images, not the building.


Getting Around From Puritas Avenue
A bus stops within a block, and the Red Line's Puritas Station is about 0.7 miles away.
| Stop | Route | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Puritas Av and W Parkway Rd | 78 West 117-Puritas | about 0.1 miles |
| W 140th St and Puritas Av | 83 Warren-West 130 | about 0.2 miles |
| Puritas Station | Red Line | about 0.7 miles |
| Brookpark Rd and Keystone Pkwy | 54 Brookpark-Rockside | about 1.1 miles |
What it means: the 78 bus is the everyday option, and the Red Line is a bus ride or a long walk away.
Source: stops and routes from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority's schedule data, feed version 2609b, valid September 19 to December 5, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the coordinates in the City's permit record, so the walk is longer.
- Apartments along the line: see voucher apartments near the Red Line.
How to Apply to Puritas Senior Apartments
There is no lottery and no deadline: you fill in a preliminary application online, and the management company contacts you.
- 1Check age and incomeyou have to be 55 or older. Compare your income with the table above.
- 2Open the waiting list pagego to puritasseniorapartments.com/contact and choose "Complete Preliminary Rental Application".
- 3Fill in the formit is Barton Communities' form. It asks for your address, age, date of birth and Social Security number, the same for anyone living with you, and your total gross monthly income.
- 4Wait for the callthe site says "a representative will contact you to confirm your placement".
- 5If you have a vouchersay so when they call, and ask for the rent and the utilities you would pay.
- Confirmationa representative confirms your place on the waiting list.
- Eligibility appointmentthe site says you will be asked for documents "once your eligibility appointment is scheduled".
- Income reviewthe office checks your household against the limit for the apartment's level.
- Move-inthe checklist says "WE ONLY ACCEPT MONEY ORDERS UPON MOVE IN."
- How long it takesnot published.
What it means: the form asks for a Social Security number, so reach it only through the button on the building's own site.
Source: puritasseniorapartments.com contact and eligibility pages; Barton Communities eligibility checklist, 2025.
- Identification. a picture ID that has not expired, your Social Security card and your birth certificate
- Vehicle. car registration, if you own one
- Emergency contacts. names and addresses
- Benefits. a Social Security or benefit letter no more than 120 days old
- Work income. your six most recent pay stubs and your employer's name and address
- Pension. the pension company's name and address and your member number
- Bank accounts. your six most recent statements
What it means: six months of statements takes time to gather, so start before the office calls.
Source: "Required documentation to bring when you have an eligibility appointment", Barton Communities, linked from the building's eligibility page.
Watch outThe site gives no phone number or email address. The only route it offers is the online form, plus a general message box on the same page.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The building publishes its age rule, its limits sheet and its application; it does not publish a single rent.
- Known48 apartments for people 55 and older; final certificate of occupancy on May 1, 2026.
- Knownthe maximum rents and incomes on the building's 2025 sheet, and that vouchers are welcome.
- Not publishedthe actual rent of any apartment, and how many apartments are at each income level today.
- Not publishedwhich utilities the tenant pays, any fee or deposit, and how the waiting list is ordered.
- Not settledwhether the top income level is 70% or 80%, and which income figure the office uses for one person: $35,880 or $41,760.
- Out of date on the sitethe banner still reads "Leasing begins in early 2026".
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
A waiting list has no date attached, so keep other options moving.
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Cleveland listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Cleveland, or by size: one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms.
- Other senior buildings: see low-income senior apartments.
- No voucher yet: CMHA takes preliminary voucher applications year-round. Check which waiting lists are open.
- Income-based buildings where you apply directly: see low-income apartments.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Puritas Senior Apartments take Section 8?
Yes. The building's eligibility page says "Rent subsidies may be available, and Housing Choice Vouchers are welcome." Its maximum rents at 30%, 50% and 60% are under CMHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 44135.
How much is rent at Puritas Senior Apartments?
The building has not published its rents. Its limits sheet caps a one-bedroom at $559, $932 or $1,119 a month and a two-bedroom at $671, $1,118 or $1,342, for the 30%, 50% and 60% income levels, with utilities counted.
How old do you have to be to live at Puritas Senior Apartments?
55 or older. The site describes the building as for "adults aged 55 and older who are able to live independently".
What are the income limits for Puritas Senior Apartments?
On the building's sheet, one person can earn up to $20,880 at 30%, $34,800 at 50% and $41,760 at 60%. Two people can earn up to $23,880, $39,800 and $47,760. Its checklist gives lower figures, so ask the office.
Is Puritas Senior Apartments open?
The City issued its final certificate of occupancy on May 1, 2026. The building's site still says leasing begins in early 2026 and takes names for a waiting list.
How do I apply to Puritas Senior Apartments?
Fill in the preliminary rental application linked from the building's waiting list page. The site says a representative will contact you to confirm your place. There is no lottery.
Is Puritas Senior Apartments in West Park?
The building's site says West Park. The City's records place 14410 Puritas Avenue in the Bellaire-Puritas neighborhood, ZIP code 44135, Ward 13.
Who manages Puritas Senior Apartments?
Barton Communities, according to the site's footer. The City's project page names Volker Development Inc. as the developer, in partnership with Lakewood Senior Citizens, Inc.
Sources for this article (16)
- eligibility (puritasseniorapartments.com)
- floor plans (puritasseniorapartments.com)
- waiting list (puritasseniorapartments.com)
- rent and income limits sheet (puritasseniorapartments.com)
- eligibility checklist (puritasseniorapartments.com)
- permit and occupancy records (data.clevelandohio.gov)
- project page (clevelandohio.gov)
- 2023 project summary (ohiohome.org)
- 2026 rent and income limits (ohiohome.org)
- Signal Cleveland report (signalcleveland.org)
- payment standards (cmha.net)
- compliance manual (ohiohome.org)
- tells voucher holders (hud.gov)
- utility allowance chart (cmha.net)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- schedule data (riderta.com)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Hub 27
- Rents not published; 60% ceilings from $1,181 a month
- Under construction; first move-ins expected spring 2027

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Arch at Saint Michael
- Rent set by income, about 30% of it
- Fully leased; not taking applications

Detroit Shoreway, Cleveland
Karam Senior Living
- Rent set by income through CMHA vouchers
- Under construction; CMHA waiting list not open yet

Hough, Cleveland
Hough Senior Living
- Rents not published; 60% ceiling $1,181 a month
- Under construction; completion expected early 2027
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.
