Skip to page content

Hub 27 in Clark-Fulton: 53 Affordable Apartments Under Construction at 2500 West 27th Street

17 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Rendering of a five-story apartment building with a brick base, green and dark gray upper floors and a vertical sign reading HUB 27, with people on the sidewalk in front
Artist's rendering of Hub 27, 2500 West 27th Street, in Cleveland's Clark-Fulton neighborhood. The developer labels it a concept. Photo: Pivotal Development LLC, from the building's leasing page, marketing image, via pivotal-communities.com (cropped and enlarged).
Quick answerAs of October 7, 2026, Hub 27 at 2500 West 27th Street in Cleveland's Clark-Fulton neighborhood is under construction, and its developer expects first move-ins in spring 2027. It will have 53 one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments for households at 50%, 60% and 70% of the area median income, with no age limit. No rents are published. Ohio's 2026 ceiling at 60% is $1,181 for a one-bedroom. Applications have not opened: the developer's page takes leasing inquiries by form and by phone.

Last checked: October 7, 2026, against the developer's Hub 27 page, the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2025 project summary and 2026 rent and income limits, City of Cleveland permit records for 2500 West 27th Street (permit B25024615), the City Planning Commission's agenda of June 6, 2025, CMHA's payment standards, and NEOtrans reports of September 17, 2024 and April 29, 2026. The leasing office sets what is available and what it rents for; confirm there before you plan around this building.

Hub 27 in numbers
  • 53apartments, all income-restricted
  • 24, 24 and 5one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments
  • 50% to 70%the income levels, as a share of area median income
  • $1,181Ohio's 2026 rent ceiling for a one-bedroom at 60%
  • $1,796CMHA's 2026 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 44113
  • Spring 2027first move-ins, by the developer's estimate

What Hub 27 Is and Who Is Building It

Hub 27 is a five-story building of 53 income-restricted apartments going up at 2500 West 27th Street, with first move-ins expected in spring 2027.

  • Names: "HUB 27" on the developer's page and in the state's records, "HUB27" in the page's text, and "Hub27" in the City's sign record.
  • Who is building it: the state summary calls it a joint venture between Pivotal Housing Partners and Metro West Community Development. Pivotal Management LLC is listed as the manager.
  • Design and construction: BDCL Architects and Ruscilli Construction Co., in the state summary and the City's permit.
  • Who it is for: the state summary lists it as general occupancy, which means no age limit. It describes the building as "workforce housing".
  • Size: building permit B25024615 records 55,995 square feet and a construction value of $8,829,891. The state summary counts 60,045 square feet, a 1.2-acre site and 61 parking spaces.
  • Cost: $20,857,332 in total, in the state summary's budget.
  • Financing: federal 4% housing tax credits paired with Ohio's state housing tax credit.
Hub 27, from design review to first move-ins
  • September 17, 2024NEOtrans reports Pivotal's plan for the site.
  • June 6, 2025the City Planning Commission takes up Hub 27 as Near West Design Review case NW2025-006.
  • July 24, 2025the building permit application is filed.
  • January 13, 2026the City issues building permit B25024615 to Ruscilli Construction.
  • April 29, 2026NEOtrans reports site work under way.
  • May 11, 2026the City issues the plumbing permit for the apartments.
  • August 18, 2026the City issues the permit for the building's sign.
  • Spring 2027first move-ins, by the developer's page.

What it means: the building has its permits and is being built, and the opening date is the developer's estimate.

Source: City of Cleveland permit records for 2500 West 27th Street; City Planning Commission agenda, June 6, 2025; NEOtrans, September 17, 2024 and April 29, 2026; Pivotal's Hub 27 page, read October 7, 2026. No certificate of occupancy has been issued.

Black-and-white elevation drawing of a five-story apartment building with a brick lower section, horizontal siding above and four taller window bays
An elevation drawing of Hub 27 from the state's 2025 project summary. Photo: BDCL Architects for Pivotal Housing Partners, from the Ohio Housing Finance Agency project summary, marketing image, via Ohio Housing Finance Agency (enlarged onto a white background).

Where 2500 West 27th Street Is

Hub 27 is on Cleveland's near West Side, one block west of West 25th Street, in ZIP code 44113 and Ward 7.

The address in the records
  • NeighborhoodClark-Fulton in the City's permit data. NEOtrans places it in the BVQ District, named for Barber, Vega and Queen avenues.
  • ZIP code44113. CMHA sets voucher payment standards by ZIP code, and this is the number that drives the voucher math below.
  • WardWard 7 on the City's 2026 ward map. The same permit record, and the Planning Commission's 2025 agenda, list Ward 3 under the earlier map.
  • The sitea former foundry property. NEOtrans named it the Walworth Run Foundry Co. in 2026 and the Forest City Foundry in 2024.
  • Nearest bus stopWest 25th Street and Swift Avenue, on the MetroHealth Line, about a tenth of a mile away in a straight line.
  • Nearest rail stopWest 25th-Ohio City Station on RTA's Red Line, about half a mile away.

Source: City of Cleveland permit record B25024615; NEOtrans, September 17, 2024 and April 29, 2026; RTA schedule data. Distances are in the transit table below.

Site plan titled Hub 27 Master Plan, Affordable Multi-Generational Housing, showing four building phases between railroad tracks, West 27th Street, Queen Avenue and Train Avenue
Pivotal's master plan for the Hub 27 site, dated January 31, 2025. Only the first building is funded and under construction. Photo: Pivotal Housing Partners, as reproduced by NEOtrans, marketing image, via NEOtrans, crediting Pivotal (resized onto a white background).
  • One building of a larger plan: Pivotal's master plan drew four phases on the site. NEOtrans reported in April 2026 that "only the northernmost Phase 1 building is currently funded and underway". This guide covers that building only.

Rents: What Is Published and What Is Not

No rent for Hub 27 has been published; what exists is the state's ceiling on rent for each income level.

Ohio's 2026 maximum monthly rent for a tax-credit apartment in Cuyahoga County
Apartment50% level60% level
1 bedroom$984$1,181
2 bedrooms$1,181$1,417
3 bedrooms$1,365$1,638

What it means: a one-bedroom for a household at 60% cannot cost more than $1,181 a month with utilities counted, and it may cost less.

Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, "2026 LIHTC Rent and Income Limits for 50% and 60%", effective May 1, 2026, read October 7, 2026. These are ceilings on rent and tenant-paid utilities together. They are not Hub 27's rents, and the table does not print a 70% column.

Hub 27 apartments by income level, number of apartments
View the data table
Income levelApartments
50% of area median income11
60%35
70%7

What it means: two of every three apartments are at the 60% level.

Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2025 project summary for HUB 27. It is the proposal the state funded, not a count from the finished building.

Hub 27 apartments by size, number of apartments
View the data table
SizeApartments
1 bedroom24
2 bedrooms24
3 bedrooms5

What it means: three-bedrooms are scarce, five in the whole building.

Source: Pivotal's Hub 27 page, read October 7, 2026; the state's 2025 summary gives the same count. Neither says which sizes are at which income level.

  • Utilities: Pivotal's page lists one included utility, water. It does not say who pays for heat, electricity or cooking.
  • No rent subsidy in the building: the state summary counts zero apartments with rental assistance attached, so each apartment has a set rent.
  • Floor plans: none are posted. The page says "Please contact leasing office to discuss floorplans."

Income Limits: Who Qualifies at Hub 27

A household qualifies when its income is under the limit for the apartment's level and its size, and the building has no age rule.

Ohio's 2026 maximum yearly household income, Cuyahoga County
Household50% level60% level
1 person$36,750$44,100
2 people$42,000$50,400
3 people$47,250$56,700
4 people$52,500$63,000
5 people$56,700$68,040

What it means: three people earning $50,000 together are over the 50% limit and under the 60% limit, so a 60% apartment is the one to ask about.

Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2026 limits, effective May 1, 2026. The limits that apply when the building opens in 2027 may be different.

  • The 70% level: seven apartments are at 70%, and Ohio's posted table stops at 60%. Ask the leasing office for the 70% limit.
  • The range, two ways: the state summary says the building is for people "earning 50% to 70%" of the county's median income. NEOtrans describes the apartments as for households "at or below 80 percent".
  • No minimum is published. The inquiry form asks for monthly gross income and gives no floor.

Can You Use a Section 8 Voucher at Hub 27?

The developer's page does not mention vouchers; Ohio's rule for tax-credit buildings bars an owner from refusing an applicant only for holding one.

Ohio's housing finance agency tells owners of tax-credit buildings, in its compliance manual, that they "cannot refuse to accept a prospective tenant based solely on the fact that an applicant holds a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher". Hub 27 is financed with those credits.

Ohio's 2026 rent ceilings against CMHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 44113, in dollars
Rent ceilingCMHA standard
View the data table
ApartmentRent ceilingCMHA standard
1 bedroom, 50%$984$1,796
1 bedroom, 60%$1,181$1,796
2 bedrooms, 50%$1,181$2,169
2 bedrooms, 60%$1,417$2,169
3 bedrooms, 50%$1,365$2,791
3 bedrooms, 60%$1,638$2,791

What it means: even at its ceiling, a 60% apartment is under the standard by $615 for a one-bedroom, $752 for a two-bedroom and $1,153 for a three-bedroom.

Source: rent ceilings from the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2026 table; payment standards from the Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority's "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool for ZIP code 44113, effective January 1, 2026. Both columns count rent and utilities together.

  • Under the standard, your share follows your income. HUD tells voucher holders their share is "usually 30% of your adjusted monthly income", and that a household pays more only when it chooses a unit above the standard.
  • Both numbers may be newer by move-in. CMHA's current standards took effect January 1, 2026, and Ohio's ceilings May 1, 2026.
  • How utilities are counted: see how the Section 8 utility allowance works.
  • CMHA contact and programs: see the CMHA page and the Cleveland Section 8 guide.
  • Source-of-income law: no City of Cleveland ordinance barring landlords from refusing vouchers was found as of October 7, 2026.

How the Rent Ceilings Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 44113

Ohio's ceilings at 50% and 60% are below HUD's estimate of an ordinary rent in ZIP code 44113 for every apartment size.

Ohio's 2026 rent ceilings against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 44113, in dollars
Rent ceilingHUD fair market rent
View the data table
ApartmentRent ceilingHUD fair market rent
1 bedroom, 50%$984$1,570
1 bedroom, 60%$1,181$1,570
2 bedrooms, 50%$1,181$1,910
2 bedrooms, 60%$1,417$1,910
3 bedrooms, 50%$1,365$2,440
3 bedrooms, 60%$1,638$2,440

What it means: the 60% ceilings are $389, $493 and $802 under HUD's figure for one, two and three bedrooms.

Source: rent ceilings from the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2026 table; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both sides include utilities.

Who Gets Preference

No preference is published, and the building is not restricted by age.

What the records say about who is served
  • Agenone. The state lists Hub 27 as general occupancy.
  • Incomeevery household has to be under the limit for the apartment's level.
  • Who the state summary names"teachers, firefighters, police officers, young professionals, seniors on fixed incomes, and many others who work in downtown Cleveland". That is a description, not a preference.
  • Orderthe developer has not said how applications will be ordered.

Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2025 project summary for HUB 27; Pivotal's Hub 27 page, read October 7, 2026.

The Building: What Is Known and What Is Not Stated

The developer's page gives the size of the building and one included utility; the City's permits fill in a little more.

Known from the records, and not stated
  • Storiesfive, by Pivotal's page. The state summary counts one building with an elevator.
  • Parking61 spaces for 53 apartments, in the state summary.
  • Waterincluded, by Pivotal's page.
  • Laundry and hot waterthe plumbing permit counts 54 washer connections and 54 water heaters for 53 apartments. Pivotal has not published an amenity list.
  • Signone 12-foot sign on the south side of the building facing West 27th Street, in the City's record.
  • Not statedshared rooms, a pet policy, a smoking policy, parking terms, the application fee and the deposit.

Source: Pivotal's Hub 27 page, read October 7, 2026; Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2025 project summary; City of Cleveland permits BCP26-017862 and BCB26-032102 and project record PRJ26-027159. Every picture of the building in this article is a rendering or a drawing made before construction.

Getting Around From West 27th Street

The MetroHealth Line stops about a tenth of a mile away, and the Red Line's West 25th-Ohio City Station is about half a mile away.

StopRouteStraight-line distance
W 25th St and Swift Ave51-51A MetroHealth Lineabout 0.1 miles
Fulton Rd and Bailey Av45 Ridge-Fultonabout 0.4 miles
Lorain Av and W 28th St22 Lorainabout 0.4 miles
W 25th St-Ohio City StationRed Lineabout 0.5 miles
Scranton Rd and Clark Av18 West 98-Garfieldabout 0.6 miles

What it means: a bus line on West 25th Street and a rail station are both within about half a mile.

Source: stops and routes from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority's schedule data, feed version 2609b, valid September 19 to December 5, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the coordinates in the City's permit record, so the walk is longer.

Red steel and glass rail station with a clock tower lettered RTA and a canopy lettered W. 25 - Ohio City, seen from across a street
West 25th-Ohio City Station on RTA's Red Line, about half a mile from Hub 27. Photographed in July 2018. Photo: Cards84664, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).
  • Apartments along the rail line: see voucher apartments near the Red Line.

How to Apply to Hub 27

Applications have not opened: for now the developer's page takes a leasing inquiry, by form or by phone.

Getting your name in before leasing starts
  1. 1Check your incomecompare your household's yearly income with the table above.
  2. 2Open the developer's pagego to pivotal-communities.com/properties/hub-27 and choose "Request leasing info".
  3. 3Fill in the inquiry formit asks for your name, email and phone, how many people will live with you, a move-in date, the number of bedrooms and your monthly gross income.
  4. 4Or call(216) 750-4880, the number on the page.
  5. 5If you have a vouchersay so, and ask for the rent and the utilities you would pay.
Questions to ask the leasing office
  • Rent. what will each size rent for at 50%, 60% and 70%?
  • Utilities. which ones does a tenant pay besides the water that is included?
  • The 70% limit. what is the income limit for a 70% apartment?
  • Applications. when do they open, and is there a waiting list before then?
  • Order. are applications taken first come, first served?
  • Costs. is there an application fee or a deposit?
  • Vouchers. how is a Housing Choice Voucher handled?

What it means: every item on this list is something the developer has not published yet.

Source: Pivotal's Hub 27 page and inquiry form, read October 7, 2026.

Watch outAn inquiry is not an application. Nothing on the page says an inquiry holds a place in line.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

The records agree on the size of the building and who it is for; the rents and the application date are not out.

Known and not yet known, as of October 7, 2026
  • Known53 apartments, 24 one-bedroom, 24 two-bedroom and 5 three-bedroom, in a five-story building with no age limit.
  • Known11 apartments at 50%, 35 at 60% and 7 at 70%, with no rental assistance attached to any.
  • Knownpermits issued and construction under way, with first move-ins expected in spring 2027.
  • Not publishedthe rent of any apartment, and which sizes are at which income level.
  • Not publishedthe application date, the fee, the deposit and the building's rules.
  • Two descriptions of the income range50% to 70% in the state summary, at or below 80% in NEOtrans.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Move-ins are months away, so keep other options moving.

Cleveland apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Hub 27 first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Cleveland listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When does Hub 27 open?

The developer's page says "First move-ins are expected in Spring 2027." The City issued the building permit on January 13, 2026, and no certificate of occupancy has been issued yet.

How much is rent at Hub 27?

No rents are published. Ohio's 2026 ceilings for Cuyahoga County are $984, $1,181 and $1,365 a month at the 50% level for one, two and three bedrooms, and $1,181, $1,417 and $1,638 at 60%, with utilities counted.

Does Hub 27 take Section 8?

The developer's page does not mention vouchers. Hub 27 is a tax-credit building, and Ohio's compliance manual says owners of those buildings cannot refuse an applicant solely for holding a Housing Choice Voucher. Ohio's ceilings are well under CMHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 44113.

What are the income limits for Hub 27?

Under Ohio's 2026 table, one person can earn up to $36,750 at the 50% level and $44,100 at 60%. Four people can earn up to $52,500 and $63,000. Seven apartments are at 70%, and that limit is not in Ohio's posted table.

How do I apply to Hub 27?

Applications have not opened. The developer's page has a "Request leasing info" form and a phone number, (216) 750-4880. The form asks for household size, move-in date, bedrooms and monthly gross income.

How many apartments are in Hub 27?

53: 24 one-bedroom, 24 two-bedroom and 5 three-bedroom apartments in one five-story building. Eleven are at the 50% income level, 35 at 60% and 7 at 70%.

Is Hub 27 senior housing?

No. The state lists it as general occupancy, with no age limit. Senior buildings were drawn in later phases of the site's master plan, and NEOtrans reported in April 2026 that only the first building is funded.

Who is building Hub 27?

Pivotal Housing Partners with Metro West Community Development. BDCL Architects designed it, Ruscilli Construction is the general contractor, and Pivotal Management LLC is listed as the manager.

Sources for this article (12)
  1. Hub 27 page (pivotal-communities.com)
  2. 2025 project summary (ohiohome.org)
  3. 2026 rent and income limits (ohiohome.org)
  4. permit records (data.clevelandohio.gov)
  5. agenda of June 6, 2025 (web.archive.org)
  6. payment standards (cmha.net)
  7. September 17, 2024 (neo-trans.blog)
  8. April 29, 2026 (neo-trans.blog)
  9. compliance manual (ohiohome.org)
  10. tells voucher holders (hud.gov)
  11. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  12. schedule data (riderta.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Cleveland →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.