Hough Senior Living in Hough: 55 Affordable One-Bedroom Apartments for 55 and Older Under Construction at 8910 Hough Avenue

Quick answerAs of October 7, 2026, Hough Senior Living at 8910 Hough Avenue in Cleveland's Hough neighborhood is under construction, and its developer, CHN Housing Partners, expects to finish in early 2027. It will have 55 one-bedroom apartments for people 55 and older, at four income levels from 30% to 80% of the area median. No rents are published. Ohio's 2026 ceiling for a one-bedroom is $984 at the 50% level and $1,181 at 60%. No application or waiting list has been posted.
Last checked: October 7, 2026, against CHN Housing Partners' release of January 16, 2026, the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2024 project summary and 2026 rent and income limits, City of Cleveland permit records for 8910 Hough Avenue (permit B25001250), CMHA's payment standards, HUD's income limits, and NEOtrans reports of June 27, 2025, January 15, 2026 and June 5, 2026. CHN Housing Partners sets what is available and what it rents for; confirm with CHN before you plan around this building.
- 55apartments, all one-bedroom, all income-restricted
- 55 and olderthe age rule in the state's record
- 30% to 80%the four income levels, as shares of area median income
- $1,181Ohio's 2026 rent ceiling for a one-bedroom at 60%
- $1,356CMHA's 2026 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 44106
- Early 2027completion, by the developer's estimate
What Hough Senior Living Is and Who Is Building It
Hough Senior Living is a three-story building of 55 one-bedroom apartments for people 55 and older, going up at 8910 Hough Avenue and not yet finished.
- Names: "Hough Senior Living" in CHN's release. The state's record, the City's planning slides and NEOtrans call it "Hough Senior Independent Living".
- Who is building it: CHN Housing Partners, a nonprofit developer based in Cleveland. The state summary says CHN "will be the developer, owner, property manager, and supportive service provider".
- Design: Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold, in the state summary and in NEOtrans.
- Size: building permit B25001250 records 49,179 square feet and a construction value of $11,124,276. CHN's release says 49,000 square feet. NEOtrans puts each apartment at about 620 square feet.
- Cost, two figures: $18.9 million in CHN's 2026 release, and $17,540,419 in the state's 2024 summary.
- Financing: a 9% housing tax credit award from the state, with the City, the County and others named in CHN's release.
- Zoning first: NEOtrans reports it was the first project approved under Cleveland's new form-based zoning code.
- May 2024the state awards housing tax credits, NEOtrans reports.
- January 10, 2025the building permit application is filed.
- June 27, 2025NEOtrans reports the design approved under the new zoning code.
- December 8, 2025the City issues building permit B25001250.
- January 16, 2026CHN announces the financing has closed and construction has begun.
- June 5, 2026NEOtrans reports the building rising above ground.
- September 15, 2026the City issues the heating and cooling permit, for 55 heat pumps.
- Early 2027completion, by CHN's release.
What it means: the building is well into construction, and the finish date is the developer's estimate from January.
Source: City of Cleveland permit records for 8910 Hough Avenue; CHN Housing Partners release, January 16, 2026; NEOtrans, May 20, 2024, June 27, 2025 and June 5, 2026. No certificate of occupancy has been issued.

Where 8910 Hough Avenue Is
Hough Senior Living is on Cleveland's East Side, at the southeast corner of Hough Avenue and East 89th Street, in ZIP code 44106 and Ward 6.
- NeighborhoodHough, in the City's permit data and in CHN's release.
- ZIP code44106. CMHA sets voucher payment standards by ZIP code, and this is the number that drives the voucher math below.
- WardWard 6 on the City's 2026 ward map. The earlier map, and CHN's January release, say Ward 7.
- The cornerthe site plan shows Hough Avenue on the north, East 89th Street on the west and the parking entrance from East 90th Street.
- NearbyCHN's release says the site was chosen for its closeness to "medical facilities including the nationally renowned Cleveland Clinic and University Hospitals".
- Nearest bus stopHough Avenue and East 89th Street, on route 9, at the corner. The HealthLine's East 89th Street station on Euclid Avenue is about 0.4 miles away.
Source: City of Cleveland permit record B25001250; CHN Housing Partners release, January 16, 2026; site plan shown to the City Planning Commission, as reproduced by NEOtrans; RTA schedule data. Distances are in the transit table below.

Rents: What Is Published and What Is Not
No rent for Hough Senior Living has been published; what exists is the state's ceiling on rent for two of its four income levels.
| Income level | Maximum rent | Apartments at this level |
|---|---|---|
| 30% | Not in the posted table | 6 |
| 50% | $984 | 16 |
| 60% | $1,181 | 17 |
| 80% | Not in the posted table | 16 |
What it means: a one-bedroom for a household at 60% cannot cost more than $1,181 a month with utilities counted, and it may cost less.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, "2026 LIHTC Rent and Income Limits for 50% and 60%", effective May 1, 2026, for the ceilings; the agency's 2024 project summary for the apartment counts. The ceilings cover rent and tenant-paid utilities together. They are not the building's rents.
View the data table
| Income level | Apartments |
|---|---|
| 30% of area median income | 6 |
| 50% | 16 |
| 60% | 17 |
| 80% | 16 |
What it means: 22 of the 55 apartments are for households at 50% or less, and 16 are at the 80% level.
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2024 project summary for Hough Senior Independent Living. It is the application the state funded, not a count from the finished building.
- No rent subsidy in the building: the state summary counts zero apartments with rental assistance attached, so each apartment has a set rent for its income level.
- Utilities: not published. The City's permits show a heat pump for each of the 55 apartments and three water heaters for the whole building.
- One size: every apartment has one bedroom, at about 620 square feet by NEOtrans.

Income Limits: Who Qualifies at Hough Senior Living
The building is for people 55 and older whose household income is under the limit for the apartment's level.
| Income level | 1 person | 2 people |
|---|---|---|
| 30% of area median | $22,050 | $25,200 |
| 50% of area median | $36,750 | $42,000 |
| 60% of area median | $44,100 | $50,400 |
| 80% of area median | $58,800 | $67,200 |
What it means: one person earning $50,000 is over the 60% line and under the 80% line, so an 80% apartment is the one to ask about.
Source: HUD income limits for fiscal year 2026 for the 30%, 50% and 80% rows; Ohio Housing Finance Agency 2026 limits, effective May 1, 2026, for the 60% row. CHN has not published the limits it will use, and the 2027 figures may apply by the time the building opens.
- Age: "Senior 55+" in the state summary. NEOtrans describes the building as for "residents age 55 years and up".
- The top level: sixteen apartments are at 80%, which in 2026 is $58,800 for one person.
- No minimum is published. With set rents and no rent subsidy in the building, ask CHN what income it requires.
Can You Use a Section 8 Voucher at Hough Senior Living?
CHN has published nothing on vouchers for this building; Ohio's rule for tax-credit buildings bars an owner from refusing an applicant only for holding one.
Ohio's housing finance agency tells owners of tax-credit buildings, in its compliance manual, that they "cannot refuse to accept a prospective tenant based solely on the fact that an applicant holds a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher". Hough Senior Living is financed with those credits.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent ceiling | CMHA standard |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $984 | $1,356 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,181 | $1,356 |
What it means: even at its ceiling, a 50% apartment is $372 under the standard and a 60% apartment is $175 under it.
Source: rent ceilings from the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2026 table; payment standard from the Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority's "Payment Standards FY 2026" tool for ZIP code 44106, effective January 1, 2026. Both columns count rent and utilities together.
- The 80% apartments are the open question. Their ceiling is not in Ohio's posted table. If an 80% apartment rents above $1,356 with utilities, a voucher holder would pay the difference, within CMHA's limits.
- Under the standard, your share follows your income. HUD tells voucher holders their share is "usually 30% of your adjusted monthly income", and that a household pays more only when it chooses a unit above the standard.
- How utilities are counted: see how the Section 8 utility allowance works.
- CMHA contact and programs: see the CMHA page and the Cleveland Section 8 guide.
- Source-of-income law: no City of Cleveland ordinance barring landlords from refusing vouchers was found as of October 7, 2026.
How the Rent Ceilings Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 44106
Ohio's 50% ceiling is below HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 44106, and its 60% ceiling is level with it.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent ceiling | HUD fair market rent |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 50% | $984 | $1,180 |
| 1 bedroom, 60% | $1,181 | $1,180 |
What it means: the 50% ceiling is $196 under HUD's figure and the 60% ceiling is $1 over it. The rent a tenant is charged can be lower than the ceiling.
Source: rent ceilings from the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's 2026 table; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both sides include utilities.
- What HUD's figure is: its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 44106.
- Apartments in this area: see voucher apartments in 44106, in Hough and in University Circle.
Who Gets Preference
The building is restricted by age and income, and no other preference is published.
- Age55 and older.
- Incomeevery household has to be under the limit for the apartment's level.
- Accessible apartmentsCHN's release says six apartments "are mobility units and two are designed for the hearing and visually impaired".
- Services"case management, financial wellness and social and recreational activities, will be provided by CHN on site", by the release. They are offered to tenants, not a condition of living there in anything published.
- OrderCHN has not said how applications will be ordered.
Source: CHN Housing Partners release, January 16, 2026; Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2024 project summary.
The Building: What Is Planned and What Is Not Stated
CHN's release names the shared rooms, and the architect's drawings show the grounds; neither gives a price for anything beyond rent.
- Shared rooms"a community room, community kitchen, laundry rooms, an outdoor patio and mailroom", by CHN's release. The state summary adds a lobby and lounge and an elevator.
- Management"an on-site property management office, staffed by CHN".
- Outsidethe architect's drawing labels raised gardening beds, a picnic shelter, outdoor bike storage, two smoking shelters, a drop-off zone and a secured drive gate.
- Parking, two counts45 spaces, four of them accessible, on the 2025 site plan shown to the City Planning Commission. NEOtrans reported 29 spaces from the 2024 application.
- Heating and cooling55 heat pumps, one for each apartment, on the City's permit.
- Not statedwhich utilities a tenant pays, a pet policy, the application fee and the deposit.
Source: CHN Housing Partners release, January 16, 2026; Ohio Housing Finance Agency, 2024 project summary; drawings by Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold as reproduced by NEOtrans, June 27, 2025; City of Cleveland permit BCH26-033067. Every picture of the building in this article is a rendering or a drawing made before construction.

Getting Around From Hough Avenue
Route 9 stops at the corner, and the HealthLine on Euclid Avenue is about 0.4 miles away.
| Stop | Route | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Hough Av and E 89th St | 9 Mayfield-Hough | under 0.1 miles |
| E 93rd St and Chester Av | 48 East 131 and 50 East 116 | about 0.3 miles |
| Euclid Av and E 89th St Station | HealthLine | about 0.4 miles |
| E 79th St and Hough Av | 2 East 79 | about 0.5 miles |
| Mt Sinai Dr and E 105th St | 10 East 105-Lakeshore | about 0.5 miles |
What it means: one bus stops at the building, and the HealthLine is a walk of several blocks south.
Source: stops and routes from the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority's schedule data, feed version 2609b, valid September 19 to December 5, 2026; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the coordinates in the City's permit record, so the walk is longer.
- Apartments along the line: see voucher apartments near the HealthLine.
How to Apply to Hough Senior Living
There is nothing to apply to yet: CHN has posted no application, waiting list or leasing page for the building.
- 1Check age and incomeyou have to be 55 or older. Compare your income with the table above.
- 2Call CHN Housing Partners(216) 574-7100, the number on its site, Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5 PM.
- 3Ask when leasing opensand whether CHN is keeping an interest list before then.
- 4If you have a vouchersay so, and ask for the rent and the utilities you would pay at each income level.
- 5Keep other applications movingthe building is not due to be finished until early 2027.
- Leasing. when do applications open, and how will they be ordered?
- Rent. what will a one-bedroom rent for at 30%, 50%, 60% and 80%?
- Utilities. which ones does a tenant pay?
- Income. is there a minimum, and which year's limits apply?
- Accessible apartments. how are the six mobility apartments and the two for hearing and vision assigned?
- Costs and rules. is there a fee or a deposit, and what are the pet and parking rules?
What it means: every item on this list is something CHN has not published yet.
Source: CHN Housing Partners release, January 16, 2026, and CHN's site, read October 7, 2026.
Watch outCHN's rental listings page did not list this building on October 7, 2026, and no application form for it is on CHN's site.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The records agree on the size of the building, its age rule and its income levels; the rents and the leasing date are not out.
- Known55 one-bedroom apartments for people 55 and older, in a three-story building under construction.
- Known6 apartments at 30%, 16 at 50%, 17 at 60% and 16 at 80%, with no rental assistance attached to any.
- Knowneight apartments built for mobility, hearing or vision needs.
- Not publishedthe rent of any apartment, and the ceilings at 30% and 80%.
- Not publisheda leasing date, an application, the utilities a tenant pays and the building's rules.
- Two figuresthe cost, $18.9 million or $17.5 million, and the parking, 45 spaces or 29.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Completion is months away, so keep other options moving.
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Cleveland listings
- Another new senior building: Puritas Senior Apartments, for people 55 and older, was taking names for its waiting list on October 6, 2026.
- Other new buildings: see new affordable buildings in Cleveland.
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Cleveland, or one-bedrooms only.
- Other senior buildings: see low-income senior apartments.
- No voucher yet: CMHA takes preliminary voucher applications year-round. Check which waiting lists are open.
Frequently Asked Questions
When does Hough Senior Living open?
CHN Housing Partners said in January 2026 that construction "is expected to be completed in early 2027". The City issued the building permit on December 8, 2025, and no certificate of occupancy has been issued yet.
How much is rent at Hough Senior Living?
No rents are published. Ohio's 2026 ceiling for a one-bedroom in Cuyahoga County is $984 a month at the 50% level and $1,181 at 60%, with utilities counted. The ceilings for the building's 30% and 80% apartments are not in Ohio's posted table.
Does Hough Senior Living take Section 8?
CHN has published nothing on vouchers for this building. It is a tax-credit building, and Ohio's compliance manual says owners of those buildings cannot refuse an applicant solely for holding a Housing Choice Voucher. Ohio's 50% and 60% ceilings are under CMHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 44106.
How old do you have to be to live at Hough Senior Living?
55 or older. The state's project summary lists the age restriction as "Senior 55+".
What are the income limits for Hough Senior Living?
The building has apartments at 30%, 50%, 60% and 80% of the area median income. In 2026 those lines are $22,050, $36,750, $44,100 and $58,800 for one person in the Cleveland area.
How do I apply to Hough Senior Living?
You cannot yet. CHN has posted no application or waiting list for the building. Its main number is (216) 574-7100.
How many apartments are in Hough Senior Living?
55, all with one bedroom, in one three-story building. Six are built as mobility apartments and two for people with hearing or vision impairments.
Who is building Hough Senior Living?
CHN Housing Partners, a Cleveland nonprofit, which will also own and manage it. Hiti, DiFrancesco and Siebold designed it.
Sources for this article (14)
- release of January 16, 2026 (chnhousingpartners.org)
- 2024 project summary (ohiohome.org)
- 2026 rent and income limits (ohiohome.org)
- permit records (data.clevelandohio.gov)
- payment standards (cmha.net)
- income limits (huduser.gov)
- June 27, 2025 (neo-trans.blog)
- January 15, 2026 (neo-trans.blog)
- June 5, 2026 (neo-trans.blog)
- compliance manual (ohiohome.org)
- tells voucher holders (hud.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- schedule data (riderta.com)
- rental listings page (chnhousingpartners.org)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Bellaire-Puritas, Cleveland
Puritas Senior Apartments
- Rents not published; program ceilings from $559 a month
- Waiting list open, for people 55 and older

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Hub 27
- Rents not published; 60% ceilings from $1,181 a month
- Under construction; first move-ins expected spring 2027

Clark-Fulton, Cleveland
Arch at Saint Michael
- Rent set by income, about 30% of it
- Fully leased; not taking applications

Detroit Shoreway, Cleveland
Karam Senior Living
- Rent set by income through CMHA vouchers
- Under construction; CMHA waiting list not open yet
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.
