Skip to page content

170 Freeman Street, Greenpoint: 21 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,793 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer170 Freeman Street is a new eight-story building with 67 apartments in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. In 2026, NYC Housing Connect ran a lottery for 21 of them. Rents were $1,793 to $4,376 a month, at 70%, 80% and 130% AMI. Applications were due June 15, 2026. The 11 apartments at 70% and 80% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. On October 21, 2026, the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search.

Last checked: October 21, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, the City's lottery data, HPD's Inclusionary Housing page, 421-a page, applying guide and re-rentals page, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings job 321598277 in the job filings and its certificates of occupancy, HPD's production data (project 70140), PLUTO, ACRIS, New York YIMBY's 2020 and 2026 reports, Dwight Capital's loan release, and the MTA's subway station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

170 Freeman Street in numbers
  • 21apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 67apartments in the building, on its certificate of occupancy
  • $1,793the rent for the one studio at 70% AMI
  • $4,376the rent for each of the two two-bedrooms at 130% AMI
  • June 15, 2026the application deadline
  • $66,412the lowest yearly income the listing accepts

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, read October 21, 2026; Department of Buildings certificates of occupancy for job 321598277.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
An eight-story light gray brick building on a street corner, with rows of tall dark-framed windows, glass storefronts with Retail For Lease signs at street level, green street signs reading Freeman and Manhattan on a lamppost, yellow traffic lights on overhead wires, bare trees and parked cars under a blue sky
170 Freeman Street, Greenpoint, Brooklyn, from the street corner. Photograph from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, which does not name who took it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (photograph; maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 170 Freeman Street Apartments (lottery 7462) (cropped to 16:9 (2266 x 1275 from 2266 x 1511) and reduced to 1600 x 900).

What Was Built at 170 Freeman Street

170 Freeman Street is a new eight-story building with 67 apartments and a ground-floor shop space, on City records. It replaced a three-story commercial building.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "170 Freeman Street Apartments". HPD's data calls the project "170 FREEMAN STREET (F/K/A 1032-1036 MANHATTAN AVENUE)". PLUTO, the City's lot data, lists the lot under 1036 Manhattan Avenue.
  • Permit: job 321598277 is a new building filing for eight stories, 84 feet and 67 apartments. It lists 58,090 square feet of construction floor area.
  • Owner: the permit, PLUTO and ACRIS name 170 Freeman LLC.
  • Architect: YIMBY's 2026 report says "Designed by Ismael Leyva Architects". The permit's applicant is a registered architect; the record names no firm.
  • Developer: YIMBY says the building was "developed by ASH NYC". Dwight Capital's release names the borrowers as being "of Green Street Group Managers LLC".
  • Old building: a 2020 demolition job removed a three-story commercial building at 1036 Manhattan Avenue. It was signed off December 23, 2020.
  • Sign-off: the first certificate of occupancy, marked "Initial", was issued November 25, 2025 for 67 apartments. The latest, a "Renewal Without Change", is dated September 29, 2026.
Where the sources differ on the building
  • Heightthe permit says 84 feet. YIMBY's 2020 report said "83-foot-tall".
  • Floor areathe permit lists 58,090 square feet, and PLUTO lists 55,716. YIMBY's 2020 report said the building "will yield 56,408 square feet".
  • Shop spacePLUTO lists 610 square feet of retail. YIMBY's 2020 report said "767 square feet for commercial space".
  • Year builtPLUTO says 2024. The first certificate of occupancy is dated November 25, 2025.
  • Apartment mixDwight's release gives the whole building as "12 studios, 40 one-bedrooms, and 15 two-bedrooms". The lottery held three studios, 13 one-bedrooms and five two-bedrooms of those.

What it means: the 67-apartment count is the same on every record opened, but the height and floor area figures are not.

Source: Department of Buildings job 321598277 and its certificates; PLUTO; HPD project 70140; New York YIMBY, September 26, 2020; Dwight Capital release.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program". It adds that it "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421-a Program".

The two programs, in HPD's own words
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says the program "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development."
  • 421-aHPD's 421-a page says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • The listing's terms"7 units at 70% at AMI, 4 Units at 80%, and 10 units at 130% AMI".
  • The lender's wordsDwight's release says "The project is eligible for a 35-year 421-a tax abatement."
  • Not statedthe listing does not say which part of the Inclusionary Housing Program applies, or which version of 421-a.

What it means: no record opened names the program option, so this report does not guess it.

Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages, opened October 21, 2026; Dwight Capital release.

How 170 Freeman Street Was Financed

ACRIS, the City's property records, shows a $14,000,000 land purchase in 2023 and two bank loans in 2024. Two agreements with the City and HPD carry the same date as the loans.

Property papers for 170 Freeman Street in ACRIS
PaperDatePartiesAmount
DeedAugust 2, 2023BK Corners LLC to 170 Freeman LLC$14,000,000
Mortgages (2)May 16, 2024170 Freeman LLC with Preferred Bank$21,060,040 and $4,939,960
Agreements (2)May 16, 2024The LLC and Preferred Bank, each with the City and HPDNo amount
MortgageJuly 25, 2025170 Freeman LLC with Dwight Mortgage Trust LLC$10,817,542.03
AgreementJuly 25, 2025170 Freeman LLC with Dwight Mortgage Trust LLC$34,000,000
AgreementOctober 8, 2025170 Freeman LLC with the City and HPDNo amount

What it means: Preferred Bank assigned its two loans to Dwight Mortgage Trust on July 25, 2025. Dwight's release calls the deal "a $34 million bridge loan". ACRIS does not give the text of the HPD agreements.

Source: ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 2513, lot 6, read October 21, 2026.

170 Freeman Street, from filing to the 2026 lottery
  • March 27, 2020the demolition job for the old commercial building is filed.
  • September 24, 2020the new building application is filed.
  • February 21, 2021two deeds put both old lots in the name of BK Corners LLC.
  • June 9, 2022the new building plans are approved.
  • August 2, 2023the land is sold to 170 Freeman LLC for $14,000,000.
  • May 16, 2024the Preferred Bank loans and the HPD agreements are dated. HPD's data gives this as the project's start date.
  • November 25, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued for 67 apartments.
  • April 13 to June 15, 2026the Housing Connect lottery takes applications.

What it means: the building had its certificate of occupancy before the lottery opened.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings job, permit and certificate data; HPD's production data; the City's lottery data.

Where 170 Freeman Street Is

The building is at 170 Freeman Street in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, ZIP code 11222. It is in Community District 1 and City Council District 33.

  • The block: YIMBY's 2020 report says the lot is "Located at the intersection of Freeman Street and Manhattan Avenue".
  • The lot: PLUTO lists a lot of 10,000 square feet, 100 feet by 100 feet.
  • Close by, per the listing: the Manhattan Avenue Family Health Center of The Brooklyn Hospital Center, about 0.15 miles away, and NYC Health + Hospitals/Gotham Health, Greenpoint, about 0.32 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
  • Parks named in the listing: Manhattan Avenue Park, about 0.33 miles, and Greenpoint Public Park, about 0.40 miles.
StopLinesDistanceAccessible
Greenpoint AvG0.21 milesYes
Vernon Blvd-Jackson Av70.58 milesNo
Hunters Point Av70.62 milesNo
Hunterspoint AvenueLIRR0.69 milesNot in MTA subway data

What it means: the G train at Greenpoint Av is about a fifth of a mile away, and the MTA lists it as accessible. The 7 train stops are in Queens.

Source: stops named in the Housing Connect listing; lines and "Accessible" from the MTA's subway station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point (40.734264, -73.954604), so the walk is longer.

Rents and Income Ranges at 170 Freeman Street

The lottery had seven rents, from $1,793 for a studio to $4,376 for a two-bedroom. There were no three-bedrooms.

Lottery apartments at 170 Freeman Street, by type
ApartmentCountRentPeople
Studio, 70% AMI1$1,7931 to 2
One-bedroom, 70% AMI6$1,9131 to 3
One-bedroom, 80% AMI1$2,2051 to 3
Two-bedroom, 80% AMI3$2,6292 to 5
Studio, 130% AMI2$3,4231 to 2
One-bedroom, 130% AMI6$3,6611 to 3
Two-bedroom, 130% AMI2$4,3762 to 5

What it means: 11 apartments are at 70% or 80% AMI and 10 are at 130% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, read October 21, 2026.

Yearly income the listing accepts, by household size
Household70% AMI80% AMI130% AMI
1 person$66,412 to $83,160$81,223 to $95,040$122,298 to $154,440
2 people$66,412 to $94,990$81,223 to $108,560$122,298 to $176,410
3 people$71,212 to $106,890$81,223 to $122,160$131,143 to $198,510
4 peopleNone$97,680 to $135,680$157,578 to $220,480
5 peopleNone$97,680 to $146,560$157,578 to $238,160

What it means: no 70% apartment takes four or more people, and no apartment takes six.

Source: the same listing. The low end is the lowest minimum among the sizes that household can take.

Where a household's income reaches few or no apartments
  • Under $66,412below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One person, $83,161 to $95,040only the one 80% one-bedroom.
  • One person, $95,041 to $122,297none. Two people, $108,561 to $122,297: none.
  • Three people, $122,161 to $131,142none.
  • Four or five people under $97,680none. Four people from $135,681, or five from $146,561, up to $157,577: none.

What it means: there are gaps between the 80% and 130% ranges for every household size.

Source: VoucherMatch's reading of the listing's minimum and maximum incomes.

Watch outYIMBY's April 17, 2026 report printed different top incomes, such as "$66,412 to $90,720" for the 70% studio and "$157,578 to $227,500" for the 130% two-bedrooms. The listing read October 21, 2026 gives $94,990 and $238,160. The minimums match. Ask the hotline which figures apply.

The rent table gives asset limits of $118,720 at 70%, $135,680 at 80% and $220,480 at 130% AMI. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

An L-shaped kitchen with white upper cabinets, wood-grain lower cabinets, a white stone counter with a sink, a stainless steel electric range with a microwave above, a dishwasher and a tall stainless steel refrigerator, lit by a strip of light along the ceiling
A kitchen in a model apartment at 170 Freeman Street, with an electric range. Photograph from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, which does not name who took it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (photograph; maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 170 Freeman Street Apartments (lottery 7462) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced to 1600 x 900).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The four rents at 70% and 80% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The three rents at 130% AMI are over it.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Rent at 170 Freeman Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars a month
RentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
SizeRentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio, 70%$1,793$2,604
One-bedroom, 70%$1,913$2,734
One-bedroom, 80%$2,205$2,734
Two-bedroom, 80%$2,629$2,997
Studio, 130%$3,423$2,604
One-bedroom, 130%$3,661$2,734
Two-bedroom, 130%$4,376$2,997

What it means: the 70% and 80% rents are $368 to $821 under the maximum. The 130% rents are $819 to $1,379 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which are "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease".

Watch outthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, electric stove, and electric heat. Rent includes hot water." The DSS-8r lines for that are "Electric with Cooking Range" ($111, $126 and $167) and "Electric Heat Only" ($52, $62 and $82). With both taken off, the maximums are $2,441, $2,546 and $2,748, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The 80% two-bedroom, at $2,629, stays $119 under. DSS decides which lines apply.
What else the FAQ says about vouchers
  • Accepted"Vouchers and rental subsidies such as Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA), CityFHEPS, ISS, Medicaid Waiver, and VASH are all accepted."
  • Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Project vouchersthe rent table marks none of the seven apartment types as project-based.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11222

Six of the seven rents are under HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11222. The 130% two-bedroom, at $4,376, is $166 above it.

Rent at 170 Freeman Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11222, in dollars a month
RentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11222
View the data table
SizeRentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11222
Studio, 70%$1,793$3,670
One-bedroom, 70%$1,913$3,870
One-bedroom, 80%$2,205$3,870
Two-bedroom, 80%$2,629$4,210
Studio, 130%$3,423$3,670
One-bedroom, 130%$3,661$3,870
Two-bedroom, 130%$4,376$4,210

What it means: the 130% studio and one-bedroom are only $247 and $209 under HUD's figure, and tenants also pay electricity.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

  • Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. Here tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat, so each apartment costs more than the rent once bills are added.
  • Apartments by size: see studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom voucher apartments in Brooklyn.
A bedroom with a white bed made up in blue and gray, two green bedside lamps, an abstract painting, a green rug, and two tall black-framed windows showing brick rowhouses and distant towers under a blue sky
A bedroom in a model apartment at 170 Freeman Street. Photograph from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, which does not name who took it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (photograph; maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 170 Freeman Street Apartments (lottery 7462) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced to 1600 x 900).

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 170 Freeman Street

The listing posts four preference groups. Two are disability set-asides, and the largest share, 20%, is for residents of Brooklyn Community Board 1.

Group, in the listing's orderShare
Mobility (set-aside)5%
Vision/Hearing (set-aside)2%
"Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 01)"20%
"Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran"10%

What it means: the listing posts no age or project-specific preference, and HPD's guide says review starts with applicants who meet a preference group.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 and the City's lottery data, read October 21, 2026.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • In the apartments, per the listing"Washers and dryers in units", "Dishwasher in unit", air-conditioning and "Energy-efficient appliances".
  • In the buildingelevator, accessible entrance, rooftop terrace, gym, package lockers, "Digital doorman" and an "On-site resident manager".
  • Extra cost"Additional fees apply for parking, electric car charging station, storage lockers, fitness center, dog-washing station, pet spa, coworking lounge, tenant lounge, rooftop terrace, business center and storage lockers." No fee amounts are stated.
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, the electric stove and electric heat. The rent includes hot water.
  • Pets"One pet allowed per unit, size restrictions apply. No pet exceeding 30lbs." The amenity list also says "Large dogs allowed". Ask the hotline.
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.

What it means: apartment sizes, bathrooms and the amounts of the extra fees are not published.

Source: Housing Connect listing, read October 21, 2026.

A bathroom with beige striped wall tile, a floating wood-grain vanity with a white sink, a wide mirrored cabinet, a toilet, and a bathtub with a glass shower screen and a wall niche holding a rolled towel
A bathroom in a model apartment at 170 Freeman Street. Photograph from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, which does not name who took it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (photograph; maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 170 Freeman Street Apartments (lottery 7462) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced to 1600 x 900).

What Happens After the 170 Freeman Street Housing Connect Lottery

Applications were due June 15, 2026. On October 21, 2026, the City's lottery data gave the lottery's status as "Tenant Selection", and the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search.

How a Housing Connect lottery is worked through
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documentsreached applicants get a request for documents from the marketing agent.
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says applicants "may hear about the status" of an application "within two to twelve months after the deadline."
  5. 5Appeala rejection notice "will tell you how many days you have to submit an appeal."

What it means: the order of review comes from the log number, not from when an application arrived.

Source: steps one, three and five from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy, if the household has one

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers to send.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 21, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7462 was not among the 19 rentals in the open-lottery search. No other listing for this building was in it.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant apartments "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page links to resources for them.
  • Paper routeto request a paper form, the listing said to send a self-addressed envelope to "170 Freeman Street Apartments, C/O Housing Line, 109 East 9th Street, Storefront", New York, NY 10003. The listing states no return address or postmark rule.
  • PostmarkYIMBY reported that "Applications must be postmarked or submitted online no later than June 15, 2026."

What it means: as of October 21, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the Housing Connect FAQ; the listing; New York YIMBY, April 17, 2026.

A white stacked Bosch washer and dryer in a closet with a louvered white door, beside a dining area with a wood table, four wood chairs, a vase of flowers and an abstract painting
A stacked washer and dryer in a model apartment at 170 Freeman Street; the listing names 'Washers and dryers in units'. Photograph from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462, which does not name who took it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (photograph; maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 170 Freeman Street Apartments (lottery 7462) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced to 1600 x 900).

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 170 Freeman Street

The rents, incomes, preferences and deadline are published in the listing. How many people applied, and the rents of the other 46 apartments, are not.

Known and not yet known on October 21, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many people applied, and how many lottery apartments are leased.
  • Not statedrents outside the lottery, apartment sizes, the extra fee amounts, the Inclusionary Housing part and the 421-a version.
  • Supportive housingno record opened names supportive apartments in the building.
  • Imagesthe five photographs here come from the listing. The living and dining room shots show one room, so only one was used.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; the City's lottery data; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

The deadline has passed, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open nearby now: Housing Connect's search listed 228 North 7th Street Apartments, filed under Greenpoint and due November 6, 2026.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 170 Freeman Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 170 Freeman Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 170 Freeman Street Apartments was lottery 7462 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 21 apartments: seven at 70% AMI, four at 80% and ten at 130%. Applications were due June 15, 2026. On October 21, 2026, it was not in the open-lottery search, and the City's lottery data listed it as "Tenant Selection".

What is the rent at 170 Freeman Street?

The lottery rents ran from $1,793 to $4,376 a month. At 70% AMI they were $1,793 for a studio and $1,913 for a one-bedroom. At 80% they were $2,205 and $2,629. At 130% they were $3,423, $3,661 and $4,376. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat.

How much do you have to earn for 170 Freeman Street?

At least $66,412 a year for the 70% studio, the lowest minimum. The 80% apartments start at $81,223, and the 130% apartments at $122,298. The most is $83,160 for one person at 70%, rising to $238,160 for five people at 130%. A household with a voucher does not have to meet the minimum.

Does 170 Freeman Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ says Section 8 and CityFHEPS are "all accepted" in its lotteries. The four rents at 70% and 80% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The three rents at 130% are $819 to $1,379 over. DSS decides which utility lines apply to a household.

Is 170 Freeman Street the same as 1036 Manhattan Avenue?

They are one lot. PLUTO, the City's lot data, lists Brooklyn block 2513, lot 6 under 1036 Manhattan Avenue. HPD's data says the project was formerly 1032-1036 Manhattan Avenue. The permit, the certificates and the listing use 170 Freeman Street. The building is in Greenpoint, ZIP code 11222.

Are the rents at 170 Freeman Street below market?

Mostly, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 estimate for ZIP code 11222 is $3,670 for a studio, $3,870 for a one-bedroom and $4,210 for a two-bedroom. Six rents are lower. The 130% two-bedroom, at $4,376, is $166 higher. HUD's figure includes utilities, and tenants here pay electricity.

How close is 170 Freeman Street to the subway?

About 0.21 miles in a straight line from Greenpoint Av on the G train, by VoucherMatch's measure from the listing's map point. The MTA lists that station as accessible. Vernon Blvd-Jackson Av, on the 7 train in Queens, is about 0.58 miles away. The walk is longer than a straight line.

Sources for this article (18)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7462 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  4. Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
  5. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  6. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  7. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  14. 2020 (newyorkyimby.com)
  15. 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  16. loan release (dwightcapital.com)
  17. subway station data (data.ny.gov)
  18. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.