Skip to page content

125 Chrystie Street, Lower East Side: 11 Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,517 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer125 Chrystie Street is a new 12-story building with 55 apartments on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect listed 11 of them, at 60% and 100% AMI, from $1,517 to $3,159 a month. Applications were due September 2, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". The 60% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. Before utility allowances, the 100% AMI studio and one-bedroom rents are just under, and the two-bedroom is over.

Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for job M00908898, BIS filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 75947); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Manhattan block 424, lots 32 and 35; the developer's project narrative (September 23, 2024); HPD's Inclusionary Housing, 421-a and 485-x pages and its guide Applying for Affordable Housing; New York YIMBY's construction report and lottery report (August 2026); HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

125 Chrystie Street in numbers
  • 11apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 55apartments in the building, in Department of Buildings records
  • $1,517the lowest rent, for a studio at 60% AMI
  • $3,159the highest rent, for a two-bedroom at 100% AMI
  • September 2, 2026the application deadline
  • July 30, 2026the first certificate of occupancy, for 55 units

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613, read October 24, 2026; Department of Buildings job M00908898 and certificate CO-000098134.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Rendering of a 12-story corner building clad in copper-colored panels with tall dark windows, glass storefronts on the ground floor, trees on the roof, people and a cyclist on the sidewalk and a white car at the corner, between older apartment buildings under a blue sky
Rendering of 125 Chrystie Street at its corner, from the architect. Rendering: Fischer + Makooi Architects, as published by New York YIMBY in August 2026. Photo: Fischer + Makooi Architects, Architect's rendering of the building; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Fischer + Makooi Architects rendering, reproduced by New York YIMBY (no architect or developer page found) (flattened onto a plain #f3f5f4 background and reduced from 836x1413 to 532x900 (0.64 times), centered in a 1600x900 frame; not cropped, not enlarged).

What Was Built at 125 Chrystie Street

125 Chrystie Street is a new 12-story building with 55 apartments and space for stores on the ground floor. The City signed off on it for living in July 2026.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "125 Chrystie Street Apartments". PLUTO lists the lot under 324 Broome Street.
  • Size: Department of Buildings job M00908898 is for a "12 STORY MIXED USE NEW BUILDING" with 55 dwelling units, 186 feet tall and 53,110 square feet.
  • The lot: the job says the "ZONING LOT CONSIST OF 2 TAX LOTS 32 AND 35". A two-story building on lot 35 was taken down under a 2023 demolition permit.
  • Architect: Fischer + Makooi Architects, PLLC filed the building plans.
  • Owner and developer: the filings name Britt Realty LLC as owner. The 2024 narrative to HPD comes from Horizon at Chrystie LLC. YIMBY says the building was "developed by Horizon Group".
  • Certificates: an initial certificate of occupancy was issued July 30, 2026, and a renewal on October 15, 2026. Both list 55 dwelling units.
Rendering of the same 12-story building from another side, with a section of copper-colored panels at left and a taller section of dark glass at right, trees on the roof terraces, a wide street with lane markings in front and older brick and white apartment buildings on each side
A second rendering of 125 Chrystie Street, showing its glass section. Rendering: Fischer + Makooi Architects, as published by New York YIMBY in August 2026. Photo: Fischer + Makooi Architects, Architect's rendering of the building; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Fischer + Makooi Architects rendering, reproduced by New York YIMBY (no architect or developer page found) (flattened onto a plain #f3f5f4 background and reduced from 914x1407 to 585x900 (0.64 times), centered in a 1600x900 frame; not cropped, not enlarged).
125 Chrystie Street, from the first filings to the lottery
  • December 21, 2006an earlier plan for a 17-story building with 15 units is filed. The records show no permit for it.
  • July 5, 2023a demolition job for the two-story building is filed. Its permit follows on December 21, 2023.
  • August 28, 2023the new building job is filed.
  • October 4, 2023a memorandum of lease is signed, from LinTien Corporation to Horizon at Chrystie LLC.
  • June 10, 2024the new building job is approved. The first permit follows on September 17, 2024.
  • September 23, 2024Horizon at Chrystie LLC writes its project narrative to HPD.
  • February 11, 2025two mortgages to Valley National Bank are signed.
  • December 4, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • July 30, 2026the first certificate of occupancy.
  • August 12, 2026the lottery opens, in the City's lottery data.
  • September 2, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the lottery opened about two weeks after the building's first certificate of occupancy.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs 104629948, M00854199 and M00908898; ACRIS; the developer's narrative; HPD project 75947; the City's lottery data.

The Programs the Records Name

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program". HPD's production data names "485-X" as the planned tax benefit.

The programs in HPD's words
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says the program "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development." It adds that Voluntary Inclusionary Housing "is now applicable only to projects which have vested under the pre-COYHO zoning text."
  • 421-aHPD calls it "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • 485-xHPD says it "was created to support the creation of affordable housing in New York City." It adds: "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable".

What it means: the developer's narrative names both "the Voluntary Inclusionary Housing Program" and "the 485x Tax Exemption Program". No page opened explains why the listing names 421a, or which 485-x option applies.

Source: the listing; HPD's Inclusionary Housing, 421-a and 485-x pages and its production data, read October 24, 2026.

Where the records differ
  • Income levelsthe narrative says all 11 apartments are "for moderate income tenants". The listing offers 6 at 60% AMI and 5 at 100% AMI. HPD's data counts 6 low and 5 middle income. The lottery data counts 6 low and 5 moderate.
  • Heightthe building job says 186 feet. YIMBY says "125-foot-tall".
  • Floor areathe building job says 53,110 square feet. YIMBY says 55,907. The narrative says "approximately 42,000 square feet of residential floor area".
  • TypeHPD's production data says "New Construction". The lottery building data says "Preservation".
  • Ownerthe building job names Britt Realty LLC. PLUTO names LinTien Corp.
  • Area namethe narrative says "the East Village area". YIMBY says Bowery. City records say Lower East Side.

What it means: the records do not agree. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.

Source: the records named above, read October 24, 2026.

Where 125 Chrystie Street Is

The building is on the Lower East Side of Manhattan, in ZIP code 10002. It is in Manhattan Community District 3 and City Council District 1.

The location in the records
  • Lower East Sidethe area name in Department of Buildings records and in the site's ZIP data for 10002.
  • The cornerthe narrative says the building is at "125 Chrystie Street, cornering Broome Street". YIMBY says it is "just west of Sara D. Roosevelt Park".
  • The lotManhattan block 424, lot 35, with lot 32 in the same zoning lot. PLUTO zones it C6-3A.
  • PolicePLUTO puts the lot in the 5th Precinct.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under the Lower East Side.

Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings; HPD; the narrative; YIMBY.

Photograph of a wet, sunken paved court behind black metal railings, with bare trees, parked cars and red brick and tan apartment buildings beyond under a gray evening sky
The sunken court in the southern half of Sara D. Roosevelt Park, between Delancey and Broome Streets along Chrystie Street, in December 2018. The listing names the park as nearby. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (5472x3078 from 5472x3648, centered) and reduced to 1600x900; not enlarged).
StationDaytime linesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Grand StB, Dabout 0.07 milesNo
BoweryJ, Zabout 0.08 milesNo
Delancey St-Essex StFabout 0.28 milesNo
Spring St6about 0.29 milesNo
Delancey St-Essex StJ, M, Zabout 0.31 milesNo
2 AvFabout 0.34 milesNo
Canal St6about 0.36 milesYes

What it means: the B and D at Grand Street and the J and Z at Bowery are the closest stations. The nearest one marked accessible is Canal St on the 6.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

Photograph of a green-railed subway stair entrance with a sign reading Grand Street Station and an orange B line symbol, a green globe lamp, traffic and a yellow taxi on the street, and a red and white apartment building behind at dusk
An entrance to the Grand St station on the B and D lines, at Grand and Chrystie Streets, in December 2018. It is about 0.07 miles from the listing's map point in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (5472x3078 from 5472x3648, centered) and reduced to 1600x900; not enlarged).
  • Buses: the listing names a bus stop at "NYC Chinatown 28 Allen St", about 0.25 miles away.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the B train and the J train.
Photograph of a white tiled subway wall with rust stains and a brown mosaic band reading BOWERY between two B tablets, a black door at left and a sign reading 49+00
The platform wall of the Bowery station on the J and Z lines, under Delancey and Kenmare Streets, in February 2019. It is about 0.08 miles from the listing's map point in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (5472x3078 from 5472x3648, centered) and reduced to 1600x900; not enlarged).

11 Apartments in the Lottery, at Two Income Levels

The lottery offered 2 studios, 5 one-bedrooms and 4 two-bedrooms. Six are at 60% AMI and five are at 100% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery at 125 Chrystie Street, by size and income level
60% AMI100% AMI
View the data table
Size60% AMI100% AMI
Studio11
One-bedroom23
Two-bedroom31

What it means: most of the lower-rent apartments are two-bedrooms, and most of the higher-rent ones are one-bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing and rent table for lottery 7613, read October 24, 2026; HPD's data and the City's lottery data also count 2 studios, 5 one-bedrooms and 4 two-bedrooms.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 125 Chrystie Street

Rents run from $1,517 to $3,159 a month. The lowest minimum income is $58,869 a year, and the highest maximum is $183,200, for five people.

Rent and yearly income for each apartment type at 125 Chrystie Street
ApartmentRentCountHousehold sizeYearly income
Studio, 60% AMI$1,51711 to 2$58,869 to $81,420
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,52711 to 3$60,686 to $91,620
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,57411 to 3$62,298 to $91,620
Two-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,74522 to 5$71,623 to $109,920
Two-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,79812 to 5$73,440 to $109,920
Studio, 100% AMI$2,57211 to 2$95,040 to $135,700
One-bedroom, 100% AMI$2,70631 to 3$101,109 to $152,700
Two-bedroom, 100% AMI$3,15912 to 5$120,103 to $183,200

What it means: the top income in each row is for the largest household. Smaller households have lower limits, shown below.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613, read October 24, 2026. The rent table lists asset limits of $101,760 at 60% AMI and $169,600 at 100% AMI.

Household60% AMI maximum100% AMI maximum
1 person$71,280$118,800
2 people$81,420$135,700
3 people$91,620$152,700
4 people$101,760$169,600
5 people$109,920$183,200

What it means: each size of household has one cap for each income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613.

The income gaps: incomes no apartment accepts
  • 1 personunder $58,869, from $71,281 to $95,039, and over $118,800.
  • 2 peopleunder $58,869, from $81,421 to $95,039, and over $135,700.
  • 3 peopleunder $60,686, from $91,621 to $101,108, and over $152,700.
  • 4 peopleunder $71,623, from $101,761 to $120,102, and over $169,600.
  • 5 peopleunder $71,623, from $109,921 to $120,102, and over $183,200.
  • 6 or more peopleno apartment. The largest takes five.

What it means: a household between the two income levels fits no apartment, unless it has a voucher and is under the bottom of a range.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes and household sizes.

Watch outNew York YIMBY's lottery report lists "two one-bedrooms with a monthly rent of $1,527". The listing shows one at $1,527 and one at $1,574. This report uses the listing.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

All six 60% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The $3,159 two-bedroom is $162 over. The $2,572 studio and $2,706 one-bedrooms are $32 and $28 under.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest lottery rent at 125 Chrystie Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$1,517$2,572$2,604
One-bedroom$1,527$2,706$2,734
Two-bedroom$1,745$3,159$2,997

What it means: before utilities, only the top two-bedroom rent is over its maximum.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.

The listing says: "Tenant is responsible for electricity with electric stove, electric heat and electric hot water." The DSS-8r lines that match are "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)".

SizeBoth allowancesAdjusted maximum100% AMI rent
Studio$200$2,404$2,572, $168 over
One-bedroom$232$2,502$2,706, $204 over
Two-bedroom$305$2,692$3,159, $467 over

What it means: if DSS takes off both lines, every 100% AMI rent is over. Every 60% AMI rent stays at least $887 under. DSS decides which lines apply.

Source: DSS-8r 2026 allowances, "Electric with Cooking Range" ($111, $126, $167) plus "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)" ($89, $106, $138); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10002

The 60% AMI rents are $763 to $875 under HUD's 2027 figures for ZIP code 10002. Every 100% AMI rent is above them, by $292 to $539 a month.

Lowest and highest lottery rent at 125 Chrystie Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 10002, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10002
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10002
Studio$1,517$2,572$2,280
One-bedroom$1,527$2,706$2,390
Two-bedroom$1,745$3,159$2,620

What it means: the 100% AMI apartments rent for more than HUD's figure, and tenants also pay electricity.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How 125 Chrystie Street Was Financed

Property records show two 2025 mortgages to Valley National Bank. In August 2026 the bank assigned them to MF1 Capital LLC, and a new mortgage was signed.

Recorded documents for Manhattan block 424, lot 35, 2023 to 2026
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
October 4, 2023Memorandum of leaseLinTien Corporation and Horizon at Chrystie LLC$6,470,000
February 11, 2025Two mortgagesHorizon at Chrystie LLC to Valley National Bank$22,101,000 and $2,899,000
December 4, 2025Sundry agreementThe City of New York and Valley National Banknone listed
August 13, 2026Two mortgage assignmentsValley National Bank to MF1 Capital LLCnone listed
August 13, 2026MortgageHorizon at Chrystie LLC to MF1 Capital LLC$15,000,000
August 13, 2026AgreementHorizon at Chrystie LLC and MF1 Capital LLC$40,000,000

What it means: the index does not say what the agreements cover. The December 4, 2025 agreement shares its date with HPD's project start date.

Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 424, lot 35, read October 24, 2026.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 125 Chrystie Street

The listing names no preference groups. Tenants pay electricity, and the listing names a gym, laundry in each unit and pets.

Preferences in the listing
  • The listingits preference section is empty. The City's lottery data shows no preference shares either.
  • HPD's general rulethe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility and "Another two percent (2%)" for hearing or vision.
  • Community boardthe FAQ says that preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: no page opened says which preferences applied here. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613 and FAQ; the City's lottery data.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, with an electric stove, electric heat and electric hot water.
  • Listed for the units"Washers and dryers in units", "Dishwasher in unit", air-conditioning and "Patio or balcony".
  • In the buildingan elevator, a gym, a spa, a yoga or dance studio, a recreation room, outdoor areas and storage.
  • Petsthe listing says "Pet-friendly", "Large dogs allowed" and "Multiple pets allowed". It gives no fee.
  • Rulesthe building is listed as smoke-free.
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedwhich amenities cost extra, and square footage.

What it means: ask the marketing agent about any fee before you sign.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 11 apartments were due September 2, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents." HPD adds that "you will only have a few business days".
  4. 4Timing"You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
  5. 5No reply"you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

What it means: the data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to five from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limit. $101,760 at 60% AMI or $169,600 at 100% AMI
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 24, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7613 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search, at the start or the end. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data.
  • Paper formsthe listing said to request an application by mail with a self-addressed envelope sent to "125 Chrystie Street Apartments C/O Reside Affordable, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211". It gives no return address or postmark rule.
  • The companyHPD's re-rental page lists Reside New York. Its website gives the same address, 349 Keap Street. Its Manhattan page did not list this building.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental list did not name this building.

What it means: as of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (3 Manhattan rentals); the City's lottery data; the listing; HPD's re-rental page; Reside New York's website; HDC's re-rental list.

Key pointYIMBY's lottery report said applications "must be postmarked or submitted online", and printed the year as 2025. The listing gives September 2, 2026 and states no postmark rule.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 125 Chrystie Street

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 24, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments are leased, square footage, and which amenities cost extra.
  • Not explainedwhy the listing names 421a while HPD's data names 485-x, and why the records give different heights, floor areas and owners.
  • Images left outthe 27 photos and renderings on the Housing Connect listing. Its street view marked "Rendering" shows signs with garbled letters, so no image from that set could be confirmed as unaltered.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is open here, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Manhattan now: Housing Connect's search listed 345 East 17th Street, due November 9, 2026; Artifact No. 1861 Phase II, due November 16; and 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17.
Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 125 Chrystie Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 125 Chrystie Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 125 Chrystie Street was lottery 7613 on NYC Housing Connect, listed as "125 Chrystie Street Apartments". It offered 11 apartments at 60% and 100% AMI, from $1,517 to $3,159 a month. Applications were due September 2, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no list was open.

What is the rent at 125 Chrystie Street?

The 11 lottery apartments rent for $1,517 to $3,159 a month. At 60% AMI, rents are $1,517 to $1,798. At 100% AMI, they are $2,572 to $3,159. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water. The listing shows no fee to apply.

How much do you have to earn for 125 Chrystie Street?

From $58,869 a year for the lowest-rent studio, up to $183,200 for five people in the top two-bedroom. One person could earn $58,869 to $71,280, or $95,040 to $118,800. Incomes between the two levels fit no apartment. With a voucher, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does 125 Chrystie Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. All six 60% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after electric allowances. The $3,159 two-bedroom is over its $2,997 maximum. The 100% AMI studio and one-bedrooms are under only before allowances. Ask DSS or your agency first.

Is 125 Chrystie Street the same as 324 Broome Street?

They are records for the same lot. PLUTO lists Manhattan block 424, lot 35, under 324 Broome Street. The Department of Buildings, HPD and Housing Connect use 125 Chrystie Street for the building there. The developer's narrative calls it "125 Chrystie Street, cornering Broome Street". YIMBY places it at Chrystie and Broome Streets.

Is 125 Chrystie Street a new building?

Yes. It is new construction on a lot where a two-story building was taken down under a 2023 permit. The new building job was approved in 2024. The first certificate of occupancy came on July 30, 2026, for 55 units. It is 12 stories, with space for stores on the ground floor.

Are the rents at 125 Chrystie Street below market?

Partly, by HUD's figure. The six 60% AMI rents are $763 to $875 under HUD's 2027 figures for ZIP code 10002. The five 100% AMI rents are $292 to $539 above them. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and tenants here pay electricity, so the real cost is a little higher.

Sources for this article (20)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7613 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. BIS filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. project narrative (nyc.gov)
  13. Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
  14. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  15. 485-x (nyc.gov)
  16. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  17. construction report (newyorkyimby.com)
  18. lottery report (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  20. station data (data.ny.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.