Skip to page content

42-78 65th Place Housing Lottery in Woodside: 8 Apartments From $869 a Month, Applications Due November 2, 2026

25 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, applications are open on NYC Housing Connect for eight income-restricted apartments at 42-78 65th Place, a new nine-story building in Woodside, Queens. Five one-bedrooms rent for $869 or $1,399 a month, and three two-bedrooms for $1,611 to $3,000. Applications are due November 2, 2026. Voucher holders do not have to meet the minimum income. Six of the eight rents are well under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums; the $3,000 rent is $3 over.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7494, its rent table and the open-lottery search, which listed the lottery that day; every rent, count, income and the deadline below was compared with the listing at the start and end of the day. Also read that day: the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's pages on Inclusionary Housing, 421-a and area median income, its MIH fact sheet and its guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings job filings for new building job Q00576717, its permits, older filings and certificates of occupancy; the City's lot data, PLUTO; property records in ACRIS for Queens block 1342, lot 36; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data (project 71964); the City Planning Commission's report of February 5, 2020, the Zoning Resolution's Appendix F and City Planning's MIH area data; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; Reside New York's page for the building; and reports by QNS (November 12, 2024 and October 15, 2026) and New York YIMBY (November 9, 2024). The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The 42-78 65th Place lottery in numbers
  • 8apartments in the lottery, in a building of 29
  • Nov. 2the 2026 application deadline
  • $869the rent for each of the three 40% AMI one-bedrooms
  • $3,000the highest rent, for one two-bedroom at 130% AMI
  • $38,435the lowest yearly income the listing accepts without a voucher
  • 9stories in the building's permit, 95 feet tall
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Mandatory Inclusionary Housing (MIH)A zoning rule run by HPD. HPD says it "requires a share of new housing in medium- and high-density areas that are rezoned to promote new housing production" to "be permanently affordable."
  • 421-aHPD calls it "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." HPD's page describes several versions with different dates and rules.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Rendering of a nine-story apartment building on a street corner under a blue sky, faced in silver metal panels and reddish woodgrain panels, with a stack of glass-railed balconies on the narrow front, smaller balconies along the long side, lit windows, and a dark grey ground floor with glass doors; a taller dark building stands to the left, a wide road with a crosswalk runs in front, and a no-turn sign reading From Main Road and a bike lane sign stand at the right edge
A rendering of 42-78 65th Place, also addressed 65-25 Queens Boulevard, at the corner of Queens Boulevard and 65th Place in Woodside, Queens, by Angelo Ng + Anthony Ng Architects Studio. It is a drawing made before construction, not a photograph; the finished building may differ. Photo: Angelo Ng + Anthony Ng Architects Studio, architect's rendering, published with the architect's credit; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Angelo Ng + Anthony Ng Architects Studio, rendering as published by QNS on November 12, 2024 ("Rendering courtesy of Angelo Ng and Anthony Ng Architects Studio") (cropped to 16:9 (1500 x 844 from the top 30 pixels down) and enlarged 1.07 times).

What Is Being Built at 42-78 65th Place

42-78 65th Place is a new building of nine stories and 29 apartments at the corner of Queens Boulevard and 65th Place. No certificate of occupancy was in the Department of Buildings' data on October 18, 2026.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls it "42-78 65 Place Apartments". PLUTO lists the lot as 65-25 Queens Boulevard.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job Q00576717, nine stories, 95 feet, 29 apartments. Its description begins "AFFORDABLE HOUSING PROJECT."
  • Owner: the permit names Nemat Homes. PLUTO and property records name 65-25 Queens Blvd., LLC. YIMBY and QNS name the developer as 6525 Queens Blvd LLC.
  • Design and builder: the permit applicant is architect Angelo Ng. YIMBY and QNS credit Angelo Ng + Anthony Ng Architects Studio. B Sosa Enterprises Corp holds the construction permit.
  • Program: the listing says "MIH and 421a". Its text says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive Program".
  • Space: PLUTO counts 27,195 square feet of homes and 4,705 square feet of stores.
Watch outthe listing's only picture shows the same design on a wide street with planted islands. Nothing ties it to this corner, so this report does not use it. The picture at the top is the architect's rendering, which matches YIMBY's 2024 account of the rendering on the site's construction board.
Where the records disagree
QuestionOne recordAnother record
Size of the eight apartmentsListing: five one-bedrooms, three two-bedroomsHPD's production data: six one-bedrooms, two two-bedrooms
Size of the lotPLUTO and the City Planning Commission: 4,000 square feetYIMBY and QNS: 3,210 square feet
Size of the buildingBuildings job: 34,456 square feet of floor area. PLUTO: 31,900YIMBY and QNS: 23,861 square feet
What stood on the lotCity Planning Commission, 2020: "a three-story mixed-use building". QNS: a three-story building and an auto body shopDemolition filings, 2021: a one-story building, a one-story garage and a two-story building
When it opensSite board in 2024, per YIMBY: autumn 2025Buildings data, October 2026: no certificate of occupancy yet

What it means: the listing's counts are the ones that decide who can apply. HPD's data has the same income levels: three very low, three low, one moderate and one middle income apartment.

Source: Department of Buildings data; PLUTO 26v2; HPD's production data, project 71964; the City Planning Commission's report of February 5, 2020; New York YIMBY, November 9, 2024; QNS, November 12, 2024; the listing, read October 18, 2026.

42-78 65th Place, from rezoning to Housing Connect
  • April 22, 2020the date on the Zoning Resolution's map of the MIH area that includes the lot.
  • October 2, 202065-25 Queens Blvd., LLC buys the lot for $2,730,000.
  • September 14, 2021the new building application is filed.
  • June 1, 2022foundation and excavation permits are issued.
  • December 27, 2023HPD's data gives this as the project start date.
  • March 4, 2024the first general construction permit is issued.
  • November 9, 2024YIMBY reports the frame has "topped out".
  • November 2, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the old buildings' demolition was signed off on February 24, 2022, and the plans were approved on December 23, 2022. A permit change was approved on September 29, 2026.

Source: Appendix F of the Zoning Resolution; ACRIS; Department of Buildings job Q00576717, its permits and demolition jobs 421788471, 421788480 and 421789728; HPD's production data; New York YIMBY; the listing.

Where 42-78 65th Place Is in Woodside

42-78 65th Place is in Woodside, Queens, in ZIP code 11377. It is on the north side of Queens Boulevard, which the City Planning Commission calls "a 200-foot-wide thoroughfare that includes four vehicular lanes in each direction and two protected bicycle lanes."

The location in the records
  • NeighborhoodWoodside in the Buildings filing, the City's address search and the listing. Housing Connect's search says "West Queens".
  • ZIP code11377 in the listing, the Buildings filings, PLUTO, HPD's data and the address search.
  • DistrictsQueens Community Board 2 and City Council District 26.
  • The lotQueens block 1342, lot 36, a corner lot of 40 by 100 feet, zoned R7X with a C2-3 overlay.
A white and blue MTA bus with the sign Q18 Maspeth Grand Av turning on a street beside a row of yellow and white traffic posts, with a red clapboard house with steps at left, a low red brick building with a sign about an active driveway, and grey sided houses behind
A Q18 bus at 65th Place and the north side of Queens Boulevard in June 2017, before construction began. The Commons description places the photo at this corner; which of the buildings behind the bus stood on the lot is not stated, and the new building is not in the picture. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).
Place named in the listingStraight-line distance
Big Bush Playground0.20 miles
Woodside station, Long Island Rail Road0.31 miles
NYC Health + Hospitals/Gotham Health, Roosevelt0.50 miles
General Hart Playground0.52 miles

What it means: the nearest train is the Long Island Rail Road. The subway table is further down.

Source: the listing's map points; distances by VoucherMatch from the building's point (40.741363, -73.899722), so the walk is longer.

Rents and Income Limits at 42-78 65th Place

The listing has five rents, from $869 to $3,000 a month. Five apartments are one-bedrooms and three are two-bedrooms.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
3 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$8691 to 3$38,435 to $61,080
2 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,3991 to 3$56,606 to $91,620
1 two-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,6112 to 5$68,812 to $109,920
1 two-bedroom, 100% AMI$2,8822 to 5$112,389 to $183,200
1 two-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,0002 to 5$116,435 to $238,160

What it means: the listing sets each minimum and maximum; it does not say how the minimums were worked out, and a household with a voucher does not have to meet them.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7494, read October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Apartments in the 42-78 65th Place lottery by income level and size, October 18, 2026
1 bedroom2 bedrooms
View the data table
Income level1 bedroom2 bedrooms
40% AMI30
60% AMI21
100% AMI01
130% AMI01

What it means: all five one-bedrooms are at 40% or 60% AMI. Each two-bedroom is at a different income level.

Source: the same listing; counts by VoucherMatch from its eight apartment records.

Household size40% AMI60% AMI100% AMI130% AMI
1 person$47,520$71,280not offerednot offered
2 people$54,280$81,420$135,700$176,410
3 people$61,080$91,620$152,700$198,510
4 peoplenot offered$101,760$169,600$220,480
5 peoplenot offered$109,920$183,200$238,160

What it means: these are the highest yearly incomes allowed, before taxes. A household of six or more cannot apply.

Source: the listing's rent table. The figures equal HPD's 2026 income chart at each level.

Where a household can fall between the ranges
  • One personunder $38,435, from $47,521 to $56,605, or over $71,280.
  • Two peopleunder $38,435, from $54,281 to $56,605, or from $81,421 to $112,388.
  • Three peopleunder $38,435, or from $91,621 to $112,388.
  • Four or five peopleunder $68,812, or from $101,761 to $112,388 (four) and $109,921 to $112,388 (five).

What it means: without a voucher, a household in one of these ranges qualifies for none of the eight apartments.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's income ranges.

Key pointeach apartment has an asset limit: $67,840 at 40% AMI, $101,760 at 60%, $169,600 at 100% and $220,480 at 130%. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at that level. Retirement and college savings balances "are not subject to the asset limit".

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 42-78 65th Place?

Yes, for most of the eight. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and the minimum income does not apply to voucher holders. The six apartments at $869, $1,399 and $1,611 are far under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after utility allowances. The $3,000 two-bedroom is $3 over the maximum, and the $2,882 one goes over once electricity is counted.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 42-78 65th Place against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
1 bedroom$869$1,399$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,611$3,000$2,997

What it means: the highest one-bedroom rent is $1,335 under the maximum. The $3,000 two-bedroom is $3 over it, and the $2,882 two-bedroom is $115 under it.

Source: rents from the listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026.

Apartment sizeElectric with Cooking RangeTotal (Electric Heat & Hot Water)Maximum less both
1 bedroom$126$106$2,502
2 bedrooms$167$138$2,692

What it means: DSS-8r's maximums "are the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease." DSS-8r also has a heat pump row ($37 and $40); the listing does not say whether the split units are heat pumps. DSS decides which allowances apply.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowance schedule; subtraction by VoucherMatch. These rows match the listing: "Tenant is responsible for electricity including stove, heat (split unit), and hot water."

DSS-8r sets the amount by family size: one or two people get $2,734, three or four $2,997, and five or six $3,753.

CityFHEPS amount by household against rent plus allowances
Household and apartmentCityFHEPS amountRent plus allowancesDifference
1 or 2 people, $869 one-bedroom$2,734$1,101$1,633 under
1 or 2 people, $1,399 one-bedroom$2,734$1,631$1,103 under
2 to 5 people, $1,611 two-bedroom$2,734 to $3,753$1,916$818 to $1,837 under
2 people, $2,882 two-bedroom$2,734$3,187$453 over
3 or 4 people, $2,882 two-bedroom$2,997$3,187$190 over
2 people, $3,000 two-bedroom$2,734$3,305$571 over
3 or 4 people, $3,000 two-bedroom$2,997$3,305$308 over
5 people, $2,882 or $3,000 two-bedroom$3,753$3,187 or $3,305$566 or $448 under

What it means: a three-person household in a one-bedroom gets the larger $2,997 amount. Only a five-person household fits under the CityFHEPS amount for the two highest rents.

Source: DSS-8r's 2026 amounts by family size; household sizes and rents from the listing; VoucherMatch's arithmetic, counting both allowances for the apartment's size.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11377

Every rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11377 on rent alone. With DSS's electricity allowances added, the $2,882 and $3,000 two-bedrooms are $97 and $215 above it.

Monthly rent at 42-78 65th Place against HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11377, in dollars
Rent in the listingRent plus DSS-8r allowancesHUD figure for ZIP 11377
View the data table
ApartmentRent in the listingRent plus DSS-8r allowancesHUD figure for ZIP 11377
1 bedroom, 40% AMI$869$1,101$2,840
1 bedroom, 60% AMI$1,399$1,631$2,840
2 bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,611$1,916$3,090
2 bedrooms, 100% AMI$2,882$3,187$3,090
2 bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,000$3,305$3,090

What it means: on rent alone, the $3,000 two-bedroom is only $90 under HUD's figure and the $2,882 one $208 under. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and tenants here pay all their electricity.

Source: rents from the listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, for ZIP 11377, the ZIP code in the listing, the Buildings filings and PLUTO; allowances from DSS-8r.

What MIH and 421-a Mean at 42-78 65th Place, and How It Was Financed

The lot is in a Mandatory Inclusionary Housing area mapped in 2020, and the listing says the building expects a 421-a tax break. No record opened says how its eight apartments meet either program.

Option on HPD's fact sheetShare of residential floor areaAverage incomeLimits
Option 125%"60% Area Median Income (AMI) or lower"10% of floor area at 40% AMI; no band above 130%
Option 230%"80% AMI or lower"No band above 130% AMI
Option 320%"40% AMI or lower"No band above 130% AMI
Option 430%"115% AMI or lower"No band above 135% AMI; mapped only with another option

What it means: HPD's program page adds that the 2024 City of Yes changes "created distinct requirements" for projects under the older and newer rules.

Source: HPD's MIH fact sheet, April 2025. HPD says "Where more than one option is made available, the developer may choose from among those options."

Black and white zoning map of streets around Queens Boulevard between 61st and 74th Streets, crossed by the Long Island Rail Road and the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, with a heavy outline marking an Inclusionary Housing designated area along the boulevard and three shaded areas numbered 1, 2 and 3; area 2 is a small block front on the north side of Queens Boulevard between 64th Street and 65th Place; the legend reads Area 1, 10/31/18, MIH Program Option 2; Area 2, 4/22/20, MIH Program Option 1; Area 3, 4/22/20, MIH Program Option 1 and Option 2
The City's map of Mandatory Inclusionary Housing areas along this part of Queens Boulevard. 42-78 65th Place is in Area 2, the shaded block front on the north side of the boulevard between 64th Street and 65th Place. From Appendix F of the Zoning Resolution, Queens Community District 2, Map 2. Photo: NYC Department of City Planning, government zoning map in the Zoning Resolution, via NYC Zoning Resolution, Appendix F (file generated 9/21/2026), Queens Community District 2, Map 2 (4/22/20), page 130 (read out of the PDF at its native 802 x 708, enlarged 1.2 times and placed on a white canvas).
What the zoning records say about this corner
  • The areathe City Planning Commission's 2020 report puts the lot inside an area mapped at another developer's request, for two other sites.
  • The map labelsthe Commission's report shows the area with "MIH Program Option 1 and Option 2". The Zoning Resolution's map dated April 22, 2020 labels it "MIH Program Option 1". No record opened names the option this building uses.
  • 421-athe listing does not say which version of 421-a applies.
Recorded documents for Queens block 1342, lot 36
Recorded documentDateParties in the indexAmount
DeedOct. 2, 2020Varj Properties LLC to 65-25 Queens Blvd., LLC$2,730,000
MortgageOct. 2, 202065-25 Queens Blvd., LLC; Golden Bridge LLC$2,350,000
Mortgage assignmentAug. 3, 2023Golden Bridge LLC to Flushing Bankno amount
Two mortgagesAug. 21, 2023"62-25 Queens Blvd., LLC"; Flushing Bank$6,135,000 and $750,000
Sundry agreementDec. 27, 2023Flushing Bank; City of New Yorkno amount
Sundry miscellaneous, 42 pagesDec. 27, 202365-25 Queens Blvd., LLCno amount

What it means: the index spells the 2023 borrower "62-25", with the same mailing address as the owner. No City mortgage is recorded on the lot.

Source: ACRIS index for Queens block 1342, lot 36; the document images could not be opened.

Preferences, Building Features and Trains Near 42-78 65th Place

The listing sets aside 7% of the apartments for people with disabilities and gives preference for 30% to two other groups. The nearest subway station is about 0.34 miles away.

Preferences and set-asides in the listing
  • Mobility disability5% of the apartments are set aside.
  • Vision or hearing disability2% are set aside.
  • Community board residents20%, written as "Community Board Resident (Queens CB 02)".
  • Municipal employees and veterans10%, written as "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
  • City residentsthe FAQ says "preference is given to current New York City residents."
What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • In the apartments"Washers and dryers in units", "Dishwasher in unit", "Air-conditioning" and "Patio or balcony".
  • In the building"a gym and rooftop terrace", an elevator and security cameras. Reside's page also lists a spa and a yoga or dance studio; the listing does not.
  • Extra costtenants pay for "electricity including stove, heat (split unit), and hot water". A pet needs a "$300 deposit".
  • Restricted"small pets up to 8 lbs", and "Smoke-free".
  • Not statedapartment sizes, floors and parking.
Subway stations nearest to 42-78 65th Place
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible
61 St-Woodside70.34 milesYes
69 St70.38 milesNo
Jackson Hts-Roosevelt AvE, F, M, R0.57 milesYes
74 St-Broadway70.58 milesYes
65 StM, R0.58 milesNo
52 St70.70 milesNo
Northern BlvdM, R0.86 milesYes

What it means: the listing tags 65th St with "E,M,R"; the MTA's data lists only the M and R there by day.

Source: stations, daytime lines and the accessible flag from the MTA's station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point.

A lit black sign reading 61 St-Woodside with a red 7 circle and a wheelchair symbol over a steep stairway under steel train tracks, a white fuel delivery van at left and two people seen from behind walking along the sidewalk at right
A stair to the 61 St-Woodside station on the 7 line, under the Long Island Rail Road tracks at Roosevelt Avenue, in November 2017. It is the subway station nearest to 42-78 65th Place, about 0.34 miles away in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).
  • Buses: the City Planning Commission names the Q60, Q47 and Q18. QNS adds the Q32 and Q70-SBS.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 7 train, the M train and the R train.
A pink station house with rows of small windows hanging under the steel structure of a train line that crosses a street, with a covered stairway at left beside a sign reading 69 St-Fisk Av Station and a 7 symbol, cars in traffic below and people waiting at the corner
The 69 St station on the 7 line, over 69th Street at Roosevelt Avenue, in November 2009. It is about 0.38 miles from 42-78 65th Place in a straight line; the photo is old, so the station may look different now. Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).

How to Apply for 42-78 65th Place on Housing Connect by November 2, 2026

Applications are open. Lottery 7494 was in Housing Connect's open-lottery search on October 18, 2026, and applying is free.

Applying to the 42-78 65th Place lottery
  1. 1Make a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov, enter every household member, all income and any voucher.
  2. 2Open the listing42-78 65 Place Apartments, lottery 7494. Check your household against the tables above.
  3. 3Apply onceby November 2, 2026. The FAQ says "You will be disqualified if more than one application is received per lottery for your household."
  4. 4Or ask for a paper formthe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 42-78 65 Place Apartments C/O Reside Affordable, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211. The FAQ says "If you submit an application online, you may NOT submit an application via mail."
  5. 5Keep your profile completethe FAQ warns that an incomplete profile "will not receive a log number for that lottery."
Watch outthe listing gives no return address for a completed paper form and no postmark rule. QNS wrote that applications "must be postmarked or submitted online by Nov. 2". Ask for a form early. HPD's applicant hotline is 212-863-7990, on weekdays from 9am to 5pm.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after the deadline
  • November 2, 2026the deadline. HPD's guide says your chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  • Within a few weeksHousing Connect gives each complete application a random log number.
  • When your number is reachedthe marketing agent asks for documents. HPD's guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Before a leaseyou show 12 months of full rent payments or agree to a credit review, for a fee of at most $20.

What it means: HPD's guide says you may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline", and that "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified".

Source: the Housing Connect listing and FAQ; HPD's Applying for Affordable Housing guide.

Documents to have ready
  • ID for every adult. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC
  • Children under 18. birth certificates or a school letter
  • Income. pay stubs and tax returns
  • Address and assets. proof of address and asset documents
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers. Send them all at once.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.

Where openings are posted
  • Housing Connectcity lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Later vacanciesthe FAQ says these "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". See HPD's re-rentals page.
  • By phoneHPD's guide says to "Call 311 and ask for the Affordable Housing Hotline."

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 42-78 65th Place

The rents, incomes, asset limits, deadline, utilities and pet rule are in the listing. The move-in date and the finished building are not.

Not published, as of October 18, 2026
  • Move-in datenot given, and DOB's data shows no certificate of occupancy.
  • Picturesnone of the finished building or its apartments.
  • Apartment detailssizes, floors and which apartments have a patio or balcony.
  • Returning a paper formno return address and no postmark rule.
  • The marketing agentnot named. The address for requesting a paper form is in care of Reside Affordable. Reside New York's page calls the building an "Upcoming Project".
  • The MIH and 421-a detailswhich apartments count toward which program.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

A log number is not an offer, and hearing back can take two to twelve months. Keep searching while you wait.

Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 42-78 65th Place first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When is the deadline for the 42-78 65th Place housing lottery?

November 2, 2026, according to the Housing Connect listing read on October 18, 2026. Lottery 7494 was in the open-lottery search that day, so applications were open. The listing gives no postmark rule. QNS wrote that applications must be postmarked or submitted online by that date, so ask for a paper form early.

Is 42-78 65th Place on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 42-78 65th Place is Housing Connect lottery 7494, listed as 42-78 65 Place Apartments, with eight apartments. Apply online at housingconnect.nyc.gov. For a paper form, send a self-addressed envelope to the listing's address, in care of Reside Affordable in Brooklyn. Do not apply both ways, or your household can be disqualified.

How much do you have to earn for 42-78 65th Place?

Without a voucher, the $869 one-bedrooms need $38,435 to $61,080 a year, and the $1,399 ones $56,606 to $91,620. The two-bedrooms need $68,812 to $238,160, depending on the rent. The top depends on household size. Voucher holders do not have to meet the minimum, but the maximum still applies.

Does 42-78 65th Place take CityFHEPS or Section 8?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts both, and the minimum income does not apply. The $869 and $1,399 one-bedrooms and the $1,611 two-bedroom are far under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The $3,000 two-bedroom is $3 over the two-bedroom maximum, and the $2,882 one goes over once DSS's electricity allowances are added.

Are the rents at 42-78 65th Place below market?

Yes, against HUD's figures on rent alone. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11377 is $2,840 for a one-bedroom and $3,090 for a two-bedroom. The rents are $90 to $1,971 lower. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and with DSS's allowances added, the two highest rents are above it.

Is 42-78 65th Place the same building as 65-25 Queens Boulevard?

Yes. PLUTO lists the lot as 65-25 Queens Boulevard, and YIMBY and QNS say the project is also addressed as 42-78 65th Place. Both addresses are Queens block 1342, lot 36, at the corner of Queens Boulevard and 65th Place in Woodside. The lottery is listed as 42-78 65 Place Apartments.

Sources for this article (27)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7494 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
  5. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  6. area median income (nyc.gov)
  7. MIH fact sheet (nyc.gov)
  8. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  9. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  10. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  16. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  17. report of February 5, 2020 (nyc.gov)
  18. Appendix F (zoningresolution.planning.nyc.gov)
  19. MIH area data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  20. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  21. station data (data.ny.gov)
  22. page for the building (residenewyork.com)
  23. November 12, 2024 (qns.com)
  24. October 15, 2026 (qns.com)
  25. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  26. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  27. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.