Skip to page content

Prospect Heights' Eight80 BK: 65 Affordable Apartments at 880 Atlantic Avenue, From $962 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerEight80 BK has 258 apartments in 19 stories at 880 Atlantic Avenue in Prospect Heights, Brooklyn. Its first certificate of occupancy is dated January 14, 2026. NYC Housing Connect advertised 65 apartments at 40%, 60% and 130% of area median income. Rents ran from $962 for a studio to $3,250 for a two-bedroom, and applications were due May 8, 2026. No lottery for it was open on October 17, 2026. Voucher holders do not need the minimum income, and 52 of the apartments rent below the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.

Last checked: October 17, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400 and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ and the CityFHEPS payment standards and utility allowances in DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026). Read October 9, 2026: Department of Buildings job B00712795 and certificate of occupancy 3429813-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, city property records (ACRIS) for Brooklyn block 1122, lot 21, the Zoning Application Portal records for the 870-888 Atlantic Avenue Rezoning, the 870-888 Atlantic Avenue FRESH approval and the Atlantic Avenue Mixed-Use Plan, the City Planning Commission's report of February 16, 2022, City Planning's page on the Atlantic Avenue plan, HPD's pages on Inclusionary Housing, 421-a and re-rentals, Walker & Dunlop's press release of May 20, 2024, the building's leasing site and its fee guide, Reside New York's page for the building, reports by New York YIMBY, Brownstoner, The Real Deal in 2022 and 2024 and Commercial Observer, and HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

Eight80 BK in numbers
  • 258apartments in the building, on its certificate of occupancy
  • 65apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • 52of the 65 at 40% or 60% of area median income
  • $962the lowest rent, for a studio at 40% AMI
  • $3,250the highest rent, for a two-bedroom at 130% AMI
  • May 8, 2026the application deadline
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (the City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement)a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Two pictures side by side. Left: a rendering at dusk of a wide apartment building with a tan grid of brick piers and windows on its lower floors and dark glass upper floors that step back in three stages, the number 880 over the entrance and shopfronts along the sidewalk. Right: a photograph of a blue pickleball court with a net beside the lower floors of a white building with tall windows and glass-railed balconies
Left: rendering of Eight80 BK from Atlantic Avenue, by EMP Capital Group, as published in Walker & Dunlop's press release of May 20, 2024; the same rendering opens the Housing Connect listing. Right: photograph of the pickleball court on the courtyard side of the building, from its leasing site. Photo: EMP Capital Group (rendering); Eight80 leasing site, marketed by MNS (photograph), developer's rendering and leasing site photograph, via Walker & Dunlop press release, May 20, 2024 (rendering); eight80bk.com amenities page (photograph) (two pictures placed side by side; the rendering cropped at the sides and reduced, the photograph cropped and reduced).

What Was Built at 880 Atlantic Avenue

Eight80 BK is a 19-story, 196-foot building with 258 apartments, a ground-floor grocery space and 41 parking spaces. EMP Capital Group developed it, and Issac & Stern Architects is on its building permit.

  • Size: Department of Buildings job B00712795 gives 19 stories, 196 feet, 258 apartments and 251,013 square feet. Certificate of occupancy 3429813-0000001 also counts 258.
  • Owner and developer: city property records name 888 Atlantic Property Owner LP. Walker & Dunlop's press release names EMP Capital Group.
  • Architects: the permit applicant is at Issac & Stern Architects, P.C. The 2022 rezoning drawing was "prepared by Archimaera Architects".
  • Programs: the listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive Program".
  • Ground floor: on September 17, 2025, the City Planning Commission approved a grocery of "approximately 7,933.79 sq. ft." under the FRESH program.
  • Before: "a two-story mixed-use building containing six residential units". Its demolition was signed off on March 20, 2024.
Watch outone building has several names. Housing Connect calls it "Eight80 BK" at 880 Atlantic Ave, and the leasing site calls it "Eight80". Reside New York titled its page "880 ATLANTIC AVENUE APARTMENTS" in December 2025. City Planning files it as 870-888 Atlantic Avenue, and the city's property data as 870 Atlantic Avenue. All are Brooklyn block 1122, lot 21.
Architect's section drawing of a building drawn as grey bands, one for each floor from the cellar to a nineteenth floor and roof, each labelled at the left, with a red outline marked FRESH FOOD STORE at the lower right, a hatched band across the nineteenth floor, a bulkhead on the roof, dimension lines reading 200 feet maximum building with FRESH store and 185 feet maximum building without FRESH store, and a key plan, notes and legend at the right
Building section of 880 Atlantic Avenue by Issac & Stern Architects, P.C., drawing FR-301 in the set the City Planning Commission approved on September 17, 2025. The hatched band is the 19th story the approval allowed, and the red outline is the grocery. Photo: Issac & Stern Architects, P.C., architect's drawing in a city planning approval, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, 870-888 Atlantic Avenue FRESH (project 2024K0234), approved drawings (one sheet of a PDF rendered, cropped and reduced).
Eight80 BK, from rezoning to lottery
  • April 6, 2021Y & T Development LLC files the rezoning application.
  • April 28, 2022the City Council approves the rezoning and maps a Mandatory Inclusionary Housing area.
  • June 8 and 13, 2022the first foundation permits are issued.
  • June 20, 2024the new building permit is issued.
  • September 17, 2025the City Planning Commission authorizes a 19th story above a grocery.
  • January 14, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • March 12, 2026New York YIMBY reports that the lottery has launched.
  • May 8, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the building permit came about 19 months before the first certificate of occupancy.

Source: City Planning Commission report C 210335 ZMK; Zoning Application Portal projects 2020K0405 and 2024K0234; Department of Buildings job B00712795; New York YIMBY; the listing.

How each source counts the building
  • Stories19 on the permit. The 2022 rezoning described "a 17-story mixed use development". City Planning's 2025 application described "an as-of-right 18-story building" under construction.
  • Apartments258 on the permit, the certificate of occupancy and in HPD's data. The 2022 approvals counted 228, Walker & Dunlop's 2024 release 246 and New York YIMBY 257.

Where 880 Atlantic Avenue Is

880 Atlantic Avenue is on the south side of Atlantic Avenue, between Vanderbilt and Underhill avenues. It is in ZIP code 11238, Brooklyn Community District 8 and City Council District 35.

Architect's ground floor plan of a building 200 feet wide, shaded grey, facing Atlantic Avenue at the bottom of the drawing, with a red outline around the right-hand part marking a grocery store, lobby and lounge rooms at the left, a small rear yard at the upper left, arrows marking entrances along the sidewalk, street trees, a van at an unloading zone, the lanes of the avenue and neighboring buildings labelled one, three, four and seven floors
Illustrative ground floor plan by Issac & Stern Architects, P.C., drawing FR-100 in the set the City Planning Commission approved on September 17, 2025. Atlantic Avenue runs along the bottom, and the red outline marks the grocery. Photo: Issac & Stern Architects, P.C., architect's drawing in a city planning approval, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, 870-888 Atlantic Avenue FRESH (project 2024K0234), approved drawings (one sheet of a PDF rendered, cropped and reduced).
StationLinesStraight-line distance
Clinton-Washington AvsCabout 0.1 miles
7 AvB, Qabout 0.4 miles
Clinton-Washington AvsGabout 0.5 miles
Bergen St2, 3about 0.5 miles
Franklin AvC, Sabout 0.5 miles
Grand Army Plaza2, 3about 0.5 miles
Atlantic Av-Barclays CtrB, Q, 2, 3, 4, 5, D, N, Rabout 0.6 to 0.7 miles
Atlantic TerminalLong Island Rail Roadabout 0.7 miles

What it means: the nearest station is Clinton-Washington Avs on the C train.

Source: the MTA's station data, and the listing's map point for Atlantic Terminal; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the lot's coordinates in Department of Buildings records, so the walk is longer.

  • Neighborhood names: the City Council's resolutions and the leasing site say Prospect Heights. City Planning's 2025 application puts the site "at the northeastern part of the Prospect Heights neighborhood, adjacent to the Crown Heights neighborhood to its east". See voucher apartments in Prospect Heights, in Crown Heights and along the C train.
  • A second rezoning: the lot is also inside the Atlantic Avenue Mixed-Use Plan. The City Council adopted it on May 28, 2025.

258 Apartments: 65 on Housing Connect at Three Income Levels

The lottery covered 65 of the 258 apartments: 48 at 40% AMI, four at 60% and 13 at 130%. That leaves 193 outside it, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

How each source counts the income-restricted apartments
  • 65, Housing Connectthe listing's description reads "(52) Mandatory Inclusionary Housing units + (13) 421(16) units, post City of Yes".
  • 65, HPD's dataproject 74771 counts 48 very low income and 17 middle income apartments. The listing has 13 at 130% AMI, and its other four are studios at 60%.
  • 48, City Planning in 2025a technical memorandum says "210 market-rate and 48 affordable dwelling units".
  • 69 of 228, the 2022 approvalthe Council's resolutions say "228 dwelling units, 69 of which would be permanently affordable".
Apartments in the Eight80 BK lottery by income level and size
Studios1 bedroom2 bedrooms
View the data table
Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms
40% AMI13215
60% AMI400
130% AMI175

What it means: 39 of the 65 apartments, or 60%, are one-bedrooms, 48, or 74%, are at 40% AMI, and none has three bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400, counted by VoucherMatch from its 65 unit rows on October 17, 2026.

Rendering of a furnished living room with pale walls and wood-look flooring, a cream sofa, an armchair, a dark stone coffee table and a sideboard, and a three-panel floor-to-ceiling window looking over rooftops and apartment towers to a distant skyline
Rendering of a living room, one of ten images on the Housing Connect listing for Eight80 BK. The listing does not say which apartment or floor it shows. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Eight80 BK (lottery 7400) (cropped, reduced).

What the program names in the listing mean

  • Mandatory Inclusionary Housing: HPD says the program "requires a share of new housing in medium- and high-density areas that are rezoned to promote new housing production" to be "permanently affordable".
  • "421(16)": HPD's 421-a page describes "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings". Its 421-a(16) program is for projects that "commence construction between January 1, 2016 and June 15, 2022".
  • One 421-a(16) option: "25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI". The listing names no option. By VoucherMatch's arithmetic, 65 of 258 is 25.2% and 13 is 5.0%.
  • "post City of Yes": HPD says that zoning change of December 5, 2024 "created distinct requirements for projects which vested under the pre-COYHO MIH text and the post-COYHO MIH text".
Watch outnews reports of the 2022 approval describe more income-restricted apartments than the lottery lists. The Real Deal wrote that "each developer will offer 35 percent of its apartments at below-market rates". Commercial Observer wrote "35 percent of the respective building’s floor area". The lottery's 65 are 25.2% of 258.
Key pointFifth Avenue Committee is a nonprofit community development corporation. It writes that EMP Capital "has fulfilled an obligation to provide a 35% affordable unit share in two new construction buildings on Atlantic Avenue by donating the 1001 Pacific Street site". Its page does not name the two buildings. For what applies at 880 Atlantic Avenue, ask HPD at inclusionary@hpd.nyc.gov.
Floor plan sheet headed eight80, Residence 2F, 7-11J, Studio, 880 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11238, showing an entry with a kitchen run along one wall holding a range, sink, dishwasher and refrigerator, a bathroom with a tub, a walk-in closet, a washer and dryer closet and a living area with a sofa, a bed and a window wall, with the logos of EMP Capital and M.N.S Real Estate NYC and a small key plan of the block between Underhill and Vanderbilt avenues
Floor plan of a studio from the building's leasing site, linked from apartments 7J and 8J, which were offered at market rent on October 9, 2026. The Housing Connect listing publishes no floor plans, so the lottery studios may differ. Photo: Eight80 leasing site, marketed by MNS for EMP Capital, leasing site floor plan, via eight80bk.com, availability page (floor plan PDF hosted by MNS) (PDF rendered and reduced; flat background extended at the sides to fill the frame).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 880 Atlantic Avenue

The 65 lottery apartments have seven rents, from $962 to $3,250 a month. The lowest minimum income in the listing is $38,538 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
1 studio, 40% AMI$9621 to 2$38,538 to $54,280
32 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,0131 to 3$41,589 to $61,080
15 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,1692 to 5$50,092 to $73,280
4 studios, 60% AMI$1,5421 to 2$58,423 to $81,420
1 studio, 130% AMI$2,4001 to 2$87,840 to $176,410
7 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$2,7901 to 3$102,515 to $198,510
5 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,2502 to 5$121,440 to $238,160

What it means: a one-bedroom rents for $1,013 or $2,790, with nothing between, because the only 60% AMI apartments are studios.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400, read October 17, 2026, the same as on October 9. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size40% AMI60% AMI, studios only130% AMI
1 person$38,538 to $47,520$58,423 to $71,280$87,840 to $154,440
2 people$38,538 to $54,280$58,423 to $81,420$87,840 to $176,410
3 people$41,589 to $61,080no apartment$102,515 to $198,510
4 people$50,092 to $67,840no apartment$121,440 to $220,480
5 people$50,092 to $73,280no apartment$121,440 to $238,160

What it means: each cell runs from the lowest minimum among the apartment types that household can take to the maximum for its size.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household falls between the levels, using the listing's figures of October 17, 2026
  • Under $38,538below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • One personno apartment from $47,521 to $58,422 or from $71,281 to $87,839.
  • Two peopleno apartment from $54,281 to $58,422 or from $81,421 to $87,839.
  • Three peopleno apartment from $61,081 to $102,514.
  • Four or five peopleno apartment from $67,841, or $73,281 for five, to $121,439.
  • Six or more peopleno apartment.
  • Asset limit$67,840 at 40% AMI, $101,760 at 60% and $220,480 at 130%.
Key pointtenants pay for electricity. The listing says "Tenant is responsible for electricity, including stove, heat, and hot water". Its field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
Watch outearlier figures are still in print. On October 9, 2026, Reside New York's page showed "$38,435-$227,500". The listing shows $38,538 to $238,160. Reside's page archived April 30, 2026 priced seven of the 15 two-bedrooms at $1,176.
Two pictures of kitchens side by side. Left: a rendering of pale wood cabinets, a stone backsplash, a brass faucet, a built-in oven under a smooth cooktop and a refrigerator hidden behind tall cabinet panels. Right: a photograph of pale wood cabinets, a grey tile backsplash, a white counter with a sink, a built-in oven under a smooth cooktop and a freestanding stainless-steel refrigerator
Left: the kitchen rendering on the Housing Connect listing. Right: a photograph of a kitchen from the building's leasing site. Neither source says which finish the lottery apartments have. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400 (rendering); Eight80 leasing site, marketed by MNS (photograph), lottery listing rendering and leasing site photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, Eight80 BK (lottery 7400); eight80bk.com home page (two pictures placed side by side, each cropped and reduced).
Watch outtwo kitchens are in print. The listing's rendering shows a panelled refrigerator and a stone backsplash. A leasing site photograph shows a stainless-steel refrigerator and grey tile. Neither says which the lottery apartments have.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The 52 apartments at 40% and 60% AMI rent for less than the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. So does the one 130% AMI studio. The 130% AMI one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms rent for more.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect. HPD was its agency, so HPD's rule applies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Eight80 BK against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (130% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (130% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$962$2,400$2,604
1 bedroom$1,013$2,790$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,169$3,250$2,997

What it means: the 130% AMI one-bedrooms are $56 over the maximum and the two-bedrooms $253 over. The 130% studio is $204 under, and the 60% studios are $1,062 under.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Apartment sizeElectric with cooking rangeElectric heat and hot waterBoth allowancesCityFHEPS maximum less both
Studio$111$89$200$2,404
1 bedroom$126$106$232$2,502
2 bedrooms$167$138$305$2,692

What it means: the 130% AMI studio, at $2,400, is $4 under $2,404. The voucher program decides which allowance applies.

Source: the 2026 utility allowance schedule in DSS-8r. These two rows match what the listing says tenants pay; the sums and subtractions are VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

  • Your maximum follows your household. DSS-8r gives the studio amount to one person and the one-bedroom amount to one or two. The two-bedroom amount is for three or four.
  • No credit check with a subsidy: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
Photograph of a bathroom with ribbed beige wall tile and large grey tiles, a wall-hung wood vanity with a white top, a mirrored cabinet, a white toilet and a bathtub with a wall-mounted shower head and a wooden tray across it
Photograph of a bathroom, one of ten images on the Housing Connect listing for Eight80 BK. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400, lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, Eight80 BK (lottery 7400) (cropped, reduced).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 11238

Every advertised rent is below HUD's estimate of a typical rent in ZIP code 11238. The gap is $1,210 to $3,291 a month.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Eight80 BK against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11238, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (130% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11238
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (130% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11238
Studio$962$2,400$3,890
1 bedroom$1,013$2,790$4,100
2 bedrooms$1,169$3,250$4,460

What it means: the 130% AMI two-bedrooms are $1,210 under HUD's figure and the 40% AMI two-bedrooms $3,291 under.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

Market-rate apartment on the leasing siteBed / bath as listedNet price
7J0 / 1$3,650
8J0 / 1$3,700
5D1.5 / 1$4,493
6L1.5 / 1$4,728
15B2 / 2$6,650

What it means: the 130% AMI studio is $1,250 under the lower market-rate studio, and the 130% AMI two-bedrooms are $3,400 under the market-rate two-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Source: the availability page of eight80bk.com, read October 9, 2026, which says "Pricing is reflective of introductory promotional offers and subject to change."

  • Utilities: lottery rents leave out electricity, so the gaps to HUD's figure are smaller than the chart shows.
  • This ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11238.
Rendering of a furnished bedroom at dusk with a bed, two nightstands with lamps, a rounded dresser, an oval mirror and curtains drawn back from a floor-to-ceiling window that looks toward a lit skyline
Rendering of a bedroom, one of ten images on the Housing Connect listing for Eight80 BK. The listing does not say which apartment or floor it shows. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Eight80 BK (lottery 7400) (cropped, reduced).

How Eight80 BK Was Financed

Walker & Dunlop announced a $110,000,000 construction loan from QuadReal Property Group on May 20, 2024. Every mortgage indexed for the lot since 2023 names a private lender.

Recorded documentDatedAmount
Deed, Odyssey Realty Corp. to 888 Atlantic Avenue LPNovember 10, 2023$20,000,000.00
Mortgage to Investment Property Exchange Services, Inc.November 10, 2023$7,500,000.00
Mortgage to QR Real Estate Capital REIT LLCMay 1, 2024$76,476,339.09
Mortgage to QR Real Estate Capital REIT LLCMay 1, 2024$20,828,178.49
Mortgage to QR Real Estate Capital REIT LLCMay 1, 2024$5,195,482.42
Assignment of leases and rents to the same lenderMay 1, 2024$110,000,000.00
Mortgage to QR US Finance REIT LLCFebruary 17, 2026$41,137,392.61
Assignment of leases and rents to QR US Finance REIT LLCFebruary 17, 2026$150,000,000.00

What it means: the three May 2024 mortgages and the $7,500,000 mortgage, assigned to the same lender that day, add up to the $110,000,000 in the press release, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Source: ACRIS index records for Brooklyn block 1122, lot 21; the documents were not opened.

  • Price paid: $20,000,000 on the recorded deed. The Real Deal, citing PincusCo, reported $26 million, and Brownstoner wrote "October 2019 for $20 million".
  • Tax exemption: "anticipated", in the listing's word. No document opened for this article shows it granted.

Preferences, Building Features and Extra Costs

The lottery gave preference for 20% of the apartments to Brooklyn Community Board 8 residents. It gave 10% to municipal employees and military veterans.

Preferences in the listing
  • 20%the group the listing calls "Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 08)".
  • 10%the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
  • Not in the listing's dataa set-aside for applicants with mobility, vision or hearing disabilities.
What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • In the apartmentsthe listing's amenity list has "Washers and dryers in units", "Dishwasher in unit", "Air-conditioning" and "Patio or balcony". The leasing site says "select homes offer private outdoor spaces".
  • Shareda gymnasium, children's playroom, rooftop terrace, co-working space and a doorman.
  • Marked "*Additional fees may apply""game room*, movie theater*, pet washing station*, courtyard*, sauna*, cold plunge*, pickleball court*".
  • Leasing site's fee guidea "Community Amenity Fee" of $70 per person a month. The guide notes "Some fees may not apply to apartment homes subject to an affordable program."
  • Petstwo per household "with a cumulative weight of no more than 50 lbs", for "a one-time $300 refundable security deposit". The fee guide lists $250 per pet.
  • Not stated in the listingthe smoking policy, the price of parking and which lottery apartments have a balcony.
Photograph of a roof terrace under a clear sky with white cushioned lounge seats in wood frames on artificial grass, white beanbag seats, planted beds, a covered area under a white and dark-clad rooftop structure and low buildings on the horizon
Photograph of the roof terrace, from the building's leasing site. The listing's amenity list includes "Rooftop terrace". Photo: Eight80 leasing site, marketed by MNS, leasing site photograph, via eight80bk.com, amenities page (cropped, enlarged 1.07 times).

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 65 apartments were due May 8, 2026. HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

How the 65 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timingtwo to twelve months after May 8, 2026 runs from July 2026 to May 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: the same guide says "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and three from HPD's guide of June 2020.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the marketing agent's document request lists the exact papers.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where openings are posted
  • Housing Connectthis was lottery 7400. On October 17, 2026, housingconnect.nyc.gov listed seven open rental lotteries in Brooklyn, none at 880 Atlantic Avenue.
  • Reside New Yorkpaper applications went to "Eight80 BK Apartments C/O Reside Affordable, 349 Keap Street". On October 9, 2026, Reside's page for the building said "Upcoming Project" and mentioned no waiting list. Phone: 718-387-4448.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page lists Reside New York and MNS among the companies to contact.
  • Market-rate leasingMNS runs eight80bk.com. Phone: 646-300-7273.
Photograph of a large sunlit lounge with round white columns, a ring-shaped white ceiling light, potted olive trees in pale planters, mustard armchairs, a long white sofa on a yellow rug, a wall of wooden shelves with a television and floor-to-ceiling windows at the right
Photograph of a shared lounge, from the building's leasing site. The site does not name the room. Photo: Eight80 leasing site, marketed by MNS, leasing site photograph, via eight80bk.com, amenities page (cropped, enlarged 1.07 times).

What Is Published and What Is Not

Leasing progress and several program terms are not published.

Not yet known
  • Leasinghow many of the 65 apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Programswhich 421-a option the owner chose, and whether Fifth Avenue Committee's account of the 35% obligation covers this building.
  • Apartments and buildingfloor plans and sizes for the lottery apartments, whether the grocery has opened, and what parking costs.

If You Need an Apartment Now

Applications were due May 8, 2026, and no waiting list is posted. A household that needs to move this year has to look elsewhere.

Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 880 Atlantic Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at Eight80 BK in Prospect Heights?

Lottery rents at Eight80 BK run from $962 to $3,250 a month. Studios are $962, $1,542 or $2,400, depending on the income level. One-bedrooms are $1,013 or $2,790, and two-bedrooms are $1,169 or $3,250. Tenants also pay for electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water.

How much do you have to earn for 880 Atlantic Avenue?

The listing's income ranges run from $38,538 a year for the $962 studio to $238,160 for five people in a $3,250 two-bedroom. Each apartment type has its own minimum and maximum. Households with a voucher or rental subsidy do not have to meet the minimum income, but the maximum still applies.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Eight80 BK?

Yes, for most of the apartments. The 52 apartments at 40% and 60% AMI rent below the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. So does the 130% AMI studio. The 130% AMI one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms rent above it. HPD's FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 880 Atlantic Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7400, named "Eight80 BK", for 65 apartments at 40%, 60% and 130% AMI. Applications were due May 8, 2026, and paper applications went to Reside New York. On October 17, 2026, Housing Connect had seven open rental lotteries in Brooklyn, and none was at this address.

Is 870-888 Atlantic Avenue the same building as Eight80 BK?

Yes. City Planning uses 870-888 Atlantic Avenue, and the city's property data uses 870 Atlantic Avenue. Housing Connect uses 880 Atlantic Avenue, and the leasing site says Eight80. All of these are Brooklyn block 1122, lot 21, a 19-story building with 258 apartments and a ground-floor grocery space.

Is Eight80 BK in Prospect Heights or Crown Heights?

Most city records say Prospect Heights, including the City Council's 2022 resolutions. City Planning's 2025 application places the site at the northeastern edge of Prospect Heights, next to Crown Heights. City Planning's online summary of the 2022 rezoning says Crown Heights. The building is between Vanderbilt and Underhill avenues, in ZIP code 11238.

Are the rents at 880 Atlantic Avenue below market?

Yes. Every lottery rent is at least $1,210 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11238. On October 9, 2026, the leasing site's market-rate studios started at $3,650. That is $1,250 more than the 130% AMI studio.

Sources for this article (27)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7400 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  5. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. 870-888 Atlantic Avenue Rezoning (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  7. 870-888 Atlantic Avenue FRESH (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  8. Atlantic Avenue Mixed-Use Plan (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  9. report of February 16, 2022 (nyc.gov)
  10. Atlantic Avenue plan (nyc.gov)
  11. Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
  12. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  13. re-rentals (nyc.gov)
  14. press release of May 20, 2024 (walkerdunlop.com)
  15. leasing site (eight80bk.com)
  16. fee guide (eight80bk.com)
  17. page for the building (residenewyork.com)
  18. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. Brownstoner (brownstoner.com)
  20. 2022 (therealdeal.com)
  21. 2024 (therealdeal.com)
  22. Commercial Observer (commercialobserver.com)
  23. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  24. writes (fifthave.org)
  25. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  26. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  27. eight80bk.com (eight80bk.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.