East New York's Innovative Urban Village: 386 Affordable Apartments at 30 Inspiration Lane, From $561 a Month

18 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Rendering of a white fifteen-story apartment building on a street corner with shops at ground level, a darker brick building to its left and red brick buildings behind it
Rendering of 30 Inspiration Lane, the first building of Innovative Urban Village in East New York, Brooklyn. The same image appears on the state's lottery advertisement. Photo: the developers' project site, project rendering, via Innovative Urban Village (cropped).
Quick answerThe first building of Innovative Urban Village, at 30 Inspiration Lane in East New York, Brooklyn, received its certificate of occupancy on July 24, 2026. It has 386 apartments. New York State advertised 291 of them at rents from $561 for a studio to $2,691 for a three-bedroom, with applications due May 25, 2026 and a lottery date of June 8, 2026. As of October 5, 2026, every one of those rents is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. A second building with 453 apartments is due in July 2027.

Last checked: October 5, 2026, against the state's advertisement for 30 Inspiration Lane, the developers' project site, Department of Buildings job B00851722 and certificate of occupancy 3429678-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, the Governor's announcement of July 15, 2025, reports by 6sqft and Commercial Observer, the Housing Connect FAQ and the CityFHEPS payment standards in DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026).

30 Inspiration Lane in numbers
  • 386apartments in the building, on city permits
  • 291apartments advertised by lottery
  • $561the lowest rent, for a studio at 30% AMI
  • $2,691the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 80% AMI
  • 94apartments reserved for households with on-site support services
  • July 24, 2026certificate of occupancy issued

What Was Built at 30 Inspiration Lane

30 Inspiration Lane is a 15-story building with 386 apartments on the campus of the Christian Cultural Center, and it is Phase 1A of a ten-building plan.

  • Names and addresses: the state advertisement calls it "30 Inspiration Lane" and places it "at 12096 Flatlands Avenue". HPD's production data lists the same project, Innovative Urban Village 1A, at 1140 Pennsylvania Avenue.
  • Size: Department of Buildings job B00851722 is for a 15-story mixed-use building, 150 feet tall, with 386 apartments and 437,724 square feet of floor area.
  • Owner on the permits: IUV Phase 1 Owner LLC.
  • Developers: the Governor's announcement describes "a joint-venture partnership between the Christian Cultural Center, The Gotham Organization, and Monadnock Development."
  • Architects: the announcement says it "was designed by Practice for Architecture and Urbanism and SLCE Architects." The permit applicant is Gloria Glas, a registered architect at SLCE Architects.
  • Ground floor: the project site describes about 17,000 square feet of retail space intended for a grocery store, and about 82 parking spaces below ground for residents.
Watch outthree ZIP codes are in circulation for this building. The state advertisement prints 11236 and HPD's row for 1140 Pennsylvania Avenue prints 11239. Department of Buildings records and the city's address directory put 30 Inspiration Lane in 11207, which is the ZIP code used in this article.
Innovative Urban Village Phase 1A, from announcement to occupancy
  • December 2018the Christian Cultural Center announces a partnership with Gotham Organization to redevelop its campus, according to 6sqft.
  • November 2022the City Council approves the project, according to 6sqft.
  • April 1, 2024the first foundation and excavation permits are issued.
  • April 9, 2024Commercial Observer reports $270 million in construction financing.
  • July 15, 2025Governor Hochul announces that construction is underway.
  • March 2026the lottery for 291 apartments opens, according to 6sqft.
  • May 25, 2026applications are due. The advertisement sets the lottery for June 8.
  • July 24, 2026the Department of Buildings issues the certificate of occupancy for 386 apartments.

What it means: first permit to occupancy took about 28 months.

Source: Department of Buildings job B00851722 and certificate of occupancy 3429678-0000001; Commercial Observer, April 9, 2024; the Governor's announcement of July 15, 2025; 6sqft, March 30, 2026; the state advertisement.

Two of these dates are reported differently elsewhere:

  • Start of construction: 6sqft wrote in March 2026 that "construction began last July on Phase 1A". City permits were issued from April 1, 2024, and HPD's data gives a project start date of March 27, 2024.
  • Application deadline: the advertisement and 6sqft give May 25, 2026. The project site says "an application deadline of June 8th, 2026", which is the lottery date in the advertisement.
Rendering of a dark red brick apartment building of about thirteen stories on a street corner, with storefronts at ground level and lighter buildings on either side
Rendering of a red brick building in the Innovative Urban Village plan, from the developers' project site. Photo: the developers' project site, project rendering, via Innovative Urban Village (cropped).

386 Apartments, 291 in the Lottery, 94 With Support Services

The sources give three totals that fit together: 291 lottery apartments plus 94 supportive apartments make 385, and the superintendent's apartment makes 386.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 386Department of Buildings permits, the certificate of occupancy, HPD's data and the project site, which says "386 affordable homes (inclusive of 1 super's unit)".
  • 385the Governor's announcement: "All 385 apartments will be affordable to households earning between 30 percent and 80 percent of the Area Median Income."
  • 291the state advertisement for the lottery.
  • 94the Governor's announcement, for apartments "reserved for households eligible for on-site support services".
Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedroomsTotal
30% AMI203219778
40% AMI172515562
60% AMI162314659
80% AMI1736291092
All levels701167728291

What it means: 140 of the 291 lottery apartments, or 48%, were priced for households at 30% or 40% of the median.

Source: state advertisement for 30 Inspiration Lane, counted by VoucherMatch from its unit rows. AMI is the area median income.

Apartments at 30 Inspiration Lane by size: whole building in HPD's data against the 291 in the lottery
Whole building (HPD)Lottery (state advertisement)
View the data table
Apartment sizeWhole building (HPD)Lottery (state advertisement)
Studio9370
1 bedroom155116
2 bedrooms10177
3 bedrooms3728

What it means: 95 apartments sit outside the lottery: 23 studios, 39 one-bedrooms, 24 two-bedrooms and 9 three-bedrooms.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 73549, read October 5, 2026; state advertisement.

Key pointHPD's data sorts the building into 165 extremely low income apartments (0 to 30% AMI), 69 very low income (31 to 50%), 151 low income (51 to 80%) and one for the superintendent. The lottery had 78, 62 and 151 in those bands. The difference is 87 plus 7, which is 94, the number of supportive apartments.

Who the 94 supportive apartments are for

The Governor's announcement and 6sqft describe the 94 apartments differently.

  • The Governor's announcement: "94 apartments will be reserved for households eligible for on-site support services, including those struggling with homelessness."
  • 6sqft: "About 94 units of this phase will be reserved for survivors of domestic violence."
  • The service provider: Urban Resource Institute. Its chief executive said in the announcement that the group works with "survivors of domestic violence and those facing housing insecurities."

None of these sources says how a household is referred to a supportive apartment.

Rents and Income Ranges in the State Advertisement

The 291 lottery apartments had 16 rents, from $561 to $2,691, and the lowest minimum income in the advertisement was $23,040 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
20 studios, 30% AMI$5611 to 2$23,040 to $38,880
32 one-bedrooms, 30% AMI$7121 to 2$28,731 to $38,880
19 two-bedrooms, 30% AMI$8412 to 4$34,560 to $48,600
7 three-bedrooms, 30% AMI$9593 to 6$40,046 to $56,400
17 studios, 40% AMI$8041 to 2$31,371 to $51,840
25 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,0151 to 2$39,120 to $51,840
15 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,2052 to 4$47,040 to $64,800
5 three-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,3803 to 6$54,480 to $75,200
16 studios, 60% AMI$1,2901 to 2$48,034 to $77,760
23 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,6231 to 2$59,966 to $77,760
14 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,9342 to 4$72,034 to $97,200
6 three-bedrooms, 60% AMI$2,2233 to 6$83,383 to $112,800
17 studios, 80% AMI$1,5581 to 2$57,223 to $103,680
36 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$1,9561 to 2$71,383 to $103,680
29 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,3372 to 4$85,851 to $129,600
10 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6913 to 6$99,429 to $150,400

What it means: the same one-bedroom layout rented for $712, $1,015, $1,623 or $1,956 depending on the income level a household qualified under.

Source: state advertisement for 30 Inspiration Lane, application due May 25, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size30% AMI maximum40% AMI maximum60% AMI maximum80% AMI maximum
1 person$34,020$45,360$68,040$90,720
2 people$38,880$51,840$77,760$103,680
3 people$43,740$58,320$87,480$116,640
4 people$48,600$64,800$97,200$129,600
5 people$52,500$70,000$105,000$140,000
6 people$56,400$75,200$112,800$150,400

What it means: yearly household income before taxes had to be at or under the number for the household's size. One-bedrooms were limited to one or two people, and only three-bedrooms took five or six.

Source: the same advertisement.

Where a household could fall between levels
  • Under $23,040below the lowest minimum in the advertisement, which was for the $561 studios.
  • One person at $45,361 to $48,033over the 40% maximum and under the 60% studio minimum, so no studio or one-bedroom row fit.
Key pointthe advertisement says "Rent includes heat and water. Tenants pay electricity including electric stove." It also says "No Application Fee" and "No Broker's Fee".
Rendering of a red brick building base with wooden slat screens over a doorway, a bicycle leaning on the wall and people talking on the sidewalk
Rendering of a street-level entrance at Innovative Urban Village, from the developers' project site. Photo: the developers' project site, project rendering, via Innovative Urban Village (cropped).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

All 16 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and the closest is $660 under.

This lottery ran on the state's NY Housing Search site, not on the city's Housing Connect. For city lotteries, HPD's Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program." The state advertisement for 30 Inspiration Lane does not mention vouchers either way, so ask K&G Upright, the agent named in the advertisement, how it treats a subsidy.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 30 Inspiration Lane against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rent (80% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rent (80% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$561$1,558$2,604
1 bedroom$712$1,956$2,734
2 bedrooms$841$2,337$2,997
3 bedrooms$959$2,691$3,753

What it means: the 80% apartments are $1,046, $778, $660 and $1,062 under the maximum, from studio to three-bedroom.

Source: rents from the state advertisement; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. Here tenants pay for electricity, including the stove, so a voucher program subtracts a utility allowance from its maximum.
  • Your maximum follows your household, not the apartment. CityFHEPS sets it by family size: a studio or one-bedroom amount for one or two people, the two-bedroom amount for three or four, the three-bedroom amount for five or six.
  • The maximum income applies with or without a voucher.

Not sure which program you have? See CityFHEPS vs Section 8. For how allowances work, see Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 11207

Every advertised rent is below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 11207, by $283 to $2,321 a month.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 30 Inspiration Lane against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11207, in dollars
Lowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rent (80% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11207
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rent (80% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11207
Studio$561$1,558$2,280
1 bedroom$712$1,956$2,390
2 bedrooms$841$2,337$2,620
3 bedrooms$959$2,691$3,280

What it means: the 80% two-bedrooms, at $2,337, are $283 under HUD's figure. The 30% three-bedrooms, at $959, are $2,321 under it.

Source: rents from the state advertisement; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

  • Utilities: HUD's figure includes all utilities. Rents here leave out electricity, so the real gap is smaller than the chart shows.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11207.

How the $270 Million Was Financed

The Governor's announcement calls Phase 1A a $270 million project and lists four public sources of money.

SourceAmountStated in
State Low-Income Housing Tax Credits, as equitymore than $115 millionGovernor's announcement, July 15, 2025
State Housing Finance Agency$47 millionGovernor's announcement
HPD Extremely Low- and Low-Income Affordability Program$47 millionGovernor's announcement
Brownfield cleanup tax credits, once complete$28 millionGovernor's announcement
State total, per the housing commissioner$162 millionGovernor's announcement
Housing Finance Agency loan through tax-exempt bonds$170 millionCommercial Observer, April 9, 2024
HPD third-mortgage subsidy$47.1 millionCommercial Observer
Low-income tax credits from Goldman Sachs Urban Investment Group$143 millionCommercial Observer, citing property records

What it means: the two sources agree on the $270 million total and on HPD's share. They give different figures for the tax credits, $115 million and $143 million, and describe the Housing Finance Agency's part differently.

Source: the Governor's announcement of July 15, 2025 and Commercial Observer's report of April 9, 2024. The rows overlap and are not meant to be added up.

Building Features and Transit

The advertisement lists eight amenities, counting access to public transit, and the nearest subway is the L train, about 0.7 miles away in a straight line.

Known and not stated
  • Listed in the advertisementbike storage, a community room, controlled access, a fitness center, a game room, on-site laundry and on-site maintenance.
  • Added by 6sqftan outdoor terrace, a children's playroom, a computer room and a residents' lounge.
  • Accessible apartments15 adapted for a mobility disability and 6 for a hearing or vision disability.
  • Not statedthe pet policy, whether parking costs extra, and any community board or municipal employee preference.
StationLinesStraight-line distance
East 105 StLabout 0.7 miles
New Lots AvLabout 0.8 miles
Canarsie-Rockaway PkwyLabout 0.9 miles

What it means: no subway station is within half a mile, and the buses in the advertisement are the closer option.

Source: the advertisement lists "Train: L - Bus: B82, B82+, B60". Distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from MTA station coordinates and the building's coordinates in Department of Buildings records, so the walk is longer.

Rendering of a tree-lined street between brick and white apartment buildings, with children on bicycles and people walking on the sidewalks
Rendering of a new street inside the Innovative Urban Village campus, from the developers' project site. Photo: the developers' project site, project rendering, via Innovative Urban Village (cropped).

What Comes Next: 453 More Apartments in 2027

Phase 1B is a second building at 35 Inspiration Lane with 453 apartments, and the project site expects it to be finished in July 2027.

The later phases, from permits and the project site
  • Phase 1B, 35 Inspiration LaneDepartment of Buildings job B00851732 is for a 14-story building of 493,057 square feet. Most of its filings list 453 apartments and three list 460. The project site says construction started in April 2025.
  • Phase 1B apartments in HPD's data110 studios, 206 one-bedrooms, 121 two-bedrooms and 16 three-bedrooms, 453 in all.
  • 12030 Flatlands Avenuea new building application for 13 stories and 206 apartments was filed June 10, 2026. It is in plan review and has no permit.
  • 12040 Flatlands Avenuean application for 224 apartments was filed the same day. The filing lists 14 stories in one field and "13 story" in its description.
  • The whole planthe Governor's announcement says "nearly 2,000 affordable apartments in 10 buildings". The project site expects the later phases to be complete by 2031.
  • Not announcedan application period or rents for Phase 1B.

What it means: the next apartments a renter can apply for on this campus are the 453 in Phase 1B, and no application date has been published.

Source: innovativeurbanvillage.com, read October 5, 2026; Department of Buildings jobs B00851732, B01412655 and B01412657; HPD project 73566.

Rendering of a lawn with people sitting on the grass in front of a light brick apartment building, with a curved grey building marked PAC at the right edge
Rendering of the planned open space and performing arts center at Innovative Urban Village, from the developers' project site. Photo: the developers' project site, project rendering, via Innovative Urban Village (cropped).

How to Apply for Later Phases or a Waiting List

The Phase 1A application ran through New York State's housing search site, not NYC Housing Connect, and the owner runs the process.

HCR's lotteries page says the agency "does not conduct lotteries or maintain waiting lists for affordable housing and does not receive applications from prospective tenants; that is the sole responsibility of the building owner."

Getting ready for the next Innovative Urban Village application
  1. 1Ask about 30 Inspiration Laneemail K&G Upright, the agent named in the advertisement, at inspiration@kgupright.com and ask whether applications are still being reviewed or added to a waiting list.
  2. 2Watch the state sitethe 30 Inspiration Lane listing was posted at housingsearch.hcr.ny.gov. The project site has not said where Phase 1B will be advertised.
  3. 3Watch the project siteinnovativeurbanvillage.com posted the Phase 1A advertisement and application.
  4. 4Apply oncethe advertisement warns: "Sending more than 1 application may disqualify you."
Documents the project site says to have ready
  • Photo identification. for yourself and every person who will live with you
  • Proof of income. pay stubs, federal or state tax returns
  • Benefits. proof of Social Security, veteran or public assistance income
  • Current residence. a lease, rent receipts or utility bills
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the agent can ask for more, depending on the household.

Source: the first four items are from the FAQ on innovativeurbanvillage.com; the voucher line is VoucherMatch's addition for voucher holders.

If You Need an Apartment Now

Phase 1B has no application date, so a household that needs to move this year has to look elsewhere.

Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 30 Inspiration Lane first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at 30 Inspiration Lane?

The state advertisement listed studios at $561 to $1,558, one-bedrooms at $712 to $1,956, two-bedrooms at $841 to $2,337 and three-bedrooms at $959 to $2,691, depending on income level. Heat and water are included. Tenants pay electricity.

How much do you have to earn for Innovative Urban Village?

The advertisement's ranges run from $23,040 a year for a $561 studio to $150,400 for six people in an 80% AMI three-bedroom. Each apartment type has its own range in the table above.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 30 Inspiration Lane?

Every advertised rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The state advertisement does not mention vouchers, so confirm with K&G Upright at inspiration@kgupright.com.

Is Innovative Urban Village on NYC Housing Connect?

No. The Phase 1A lottery was on New York State's site, housingsearch.hcr.ny.gov, with applications due May 25, 2026.

When will Phase 1B of Innovative Urban Village open?

The project site expects construction to finish in July 2027. No application dates or rents have been published as of October 5, 2026.

Are the rents at 30 Inspiration Lane below market?

Yes. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11207 is $2,280 for a studio, $2,390 for a one-bedroom, $2,620 for a two-bedroom and $3,280 for a three-bedroom. Every advertised rent is at least $283 lower.

Sources for this article (10)
  1. advertisement for 30 Inspiration Lane (innovativeurbanvillage.com)
  2. project site (innovativeurbanvillage.com)
  3. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  4. Governor's announcement of July 15, 2025 (governor.ny.gov)
  5. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  6. Commercial Observer (commercialobserver.com)
  7. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  10. housingsearch.hcr.ny.gov (housingsearch.hcr.ny.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.