Hunts Point's Peninsula Phase 2: 359 Affordable Apartments at 1221 and 1225 Spofford Avenue, From $465 a Month

Quick answerPhase 2 of The Peninsula, on the site of the former Spofford Juvenile Detention Center in Hunts Point, the Bronx, is two buildings with 359 apartments at 1221 and 1225 Spofford Avenue. The 224-apartment building at 1225 received its first certificate of occupancy on July 31, 2026. NYC Housing Connect advertised 303 of the apartments at rents from $465 for a studio to $2,936 for a four-bedroom, with applications due July 7, 2026. As of October 5, 2026, every one of those rents is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, and HPD says the minimum income does not apply to voucher holders.
Last checked: October 5, 2026, against the Housing Connect advertisement for lottery 7543, Department of Buildings jobs 210182256 and 210182158 and certificate of occupancy 2130506-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, HPD's announcement of November 29, 2023, Gilbane Development's announcements of June 28, 2023 and May 27, 2025, the Mayor's announcements of June 22, 2022 and May 18, 2026, the developers' project site, 6sqft, Brick Underground, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing and CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026).
- 359apartments in the two buildings
- 303apartments advertised on Housing Connect
- $465the lowest rent, for a studio at 30% AMI
- $2,936the highest rent, for a four-bedroom at 70% AMI
- July 7, 2026application deadline in the advertisement
- July 31, 2026first certificate of occupancy, for 224 apartments
What Was Built at 1221 and 1225 Spofford Avenue
Phase 2 is a 14-story building with 224 apartments and a 17-story building with 135 apartments, on Spofford Avenue between Tiffany and Manida Streets.
- 1225 Spofford AvenueDepartment of Buildings job 210182256 is a new building of 14 stories, 135 feet, 224 apartments and 234,903 square feet. Its first certificate of occupancy was issued July 31, 2026 for 224 apartments.
- 1221 Spofford Avenuejob 210182158 is a new building of 17 stories, 172 feet, 135 apartments and 197,396 square feet. The city's certificate of occupancy data had no entry for it on October 5, 2026.
- Owner and applicant on the permitsNYCEDC, the city's Economic Development Corporation. The applicant on both jobs is Claire Weisz, a registered architect.
- DevelopersHPD's announcement names Gilbane Development Company, Hudson Companies and MHANY Management Inc.
- Architectsthe Mayor's 2022 announcement says the project "was designed collaboratively by WXY Architecture + Urban Design and Body Lawson Associates Architects and Planners."
Watch outeach building has two addresses in city data. The Housing Connect advertisement and Department of Buildings records use 1221 and 1225 Spofford Avenue. HPD's production data lists the same two buildings at 1217 and 1223 Spofford Avenue. All of these records give ZIP code 10474.

- 2011the Spofford Juvenile Detention Center closes "after 54 years in operation", according to the Mayor's office.
- 2016NYCEDC asks developers for proposals for the site, according to 6sqft.
- June 9, 2022first certificate of occupancy for the Phase 1 building, 183 apartments at 720 Tiffany Street.
- June 28, 2023the city and the developers close on $297 million in financing for Phase 2.
- November 29, 2023groundbreaking ceremony for Phase 2.
- May 27, 2025the developers announce that Phase 2 has topped out.
- May 2026the lottery for 303 apartments opens. 6sqft reported on May 18 that it opened "last week".
- July 7, 2026applications are due.
- July 31, 2026first certificate of occupancy for 1225 Spofford Avenue.
What it means: from the financing closing to the first certificate of occupancy took 37 months.
Source: Mayor's office, June 22, 2022; 6sqft, May 18, 2026; HPD production data; Department of Buildings certificate of occupancy records; Gilbane Development, June 28, 2023 and May 27, 2025; HPD, November 29, 2023; Housing Connect lottery 7543.
Two details are reported differently from one source to the next:
- The public plaza in Phase 2: HPD's 2023 announcement says "a 50,000-square-foot public plaza". Gilbane's 2025 announcement says "a 40,000-square-foot landscaped public pedestrian plaza".
- The highest rent: 6sqft wrote "$2,936/month three-bedrooms". In the Housing Connect data, $2,936 is a four-bedroom rent and the highest three-bedroom rent is $2,644.
359 Apartments, 303 in the Lottery, 56 Outside It
The Housing Connect advertisement covered 303 of the 359 apartments: 190 at 1225 Spofford Avenue and 113 at 1221.
| Income level | Studios | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms | 3 bedrooms | 4 bedrooms | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30% AMI | 8 | 10 | 8 | 6 | 0 | 32 |
| 40% AMI | 8 | 12 | 11 | 11 | 1 | 43 |
| 50% AMI | 13 | 15 | 13 | 7 | 1 | 49 |
| 60% AMI | 19 | 26 | 21 | 15 | 2 | 83 |
| 70% AMI | 22 | 29 | 27 | 16 | 2 | 96 |
| All levels | 70 | 92 | 80 | 55 | 6 | 303 |
What it means: 207 of the 303 lottery apartments, or 68%, were priced for households at 60% of the median or less.
Source: Housing Connect lottery 7543, counted by VoucherMatch from its 303 unit records. AMI is the area median income.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Both buildings (HPD) | Lottery (Housing Connect) |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 82 | 70 |
| 1 bedroom | 108 | 92 |
| 2 bedrooms | 98 | 80 |
| 3 bedrooms | 65 | 55 |
| 4 bedrooms | 6 | 6 |
What it means: 56 apartments sit outside the lottery: 12 studios, 16 one-bedrooms, 18 two-bedrooms and 10 three-bedrooms.
Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 63757, read October 5, 2026; Housing Connect lottery 7543.
Key pointHPD's data sorts the 359 apartments into 86 extremely low income (0 to 30% AMI), 92 very low income (31 to 50%), 179 low income (51 to 80%) and 2 for superintendents. The lottery had 32, 92 and 179 in those bands. The difference is 54 apartments at the lowest band plus the 2 superintendents' apartments.
Who the apartments outside the lottery are for
The official announcements say about 15% of Phase 2 is reserved for formerly homeless households, and 54 is 15% of 359, rounded.
- Gilbane, May 27, 2025: "15 percent will be reserved for formerly homeless households."
- HPD, November 29, 2023: "roughly 50 homes will be set aside for formerly homeless New Yorkers."
- Not published: which apartments these are, and how a household is referred to one. Matching the 54 to this set-aside is VoucherMatch's reading of the counts.
Watch outthe share at or below 60% AMI is stated two ways. Gilbane's 2023 announcement says "87 percent of the units". Its 2025 announcement says "73 percent". By the counts above, 207 lottery apartments plus 54 outside the lottery make 261 of 359, or 73%.
Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Advertisement
The 303 lottery apartments had 24 rents, from $465 to $2,936, and the lowest minimum income was $19,235 a year. The table above gives the number of apartments at each one.
| Income level | Studio | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms | 3 bedrooms | 4 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30% AMI | $465 | $591 | $700 | $800 | none |
| 40% AMI | $665 | $841 | $1,000 | $1,147 | $1,270 |
| 50% AMI | $1,046 | $1,318 | $1,569 | $1,801 | $1,996 |
| 60% AMI | $1,289 | $1,622 | $1,933 | $2,223 | $2,466 |
| 70% AMI | $1,532 | $1,926 | $2,298 | $2,644 | $2,936 |
What it means: the same one-bedroom size rented for $591, $841, $1,318, $1,622 or $1,926 depending on the income level a household qualified under.
Source: monthly rents in Housing Connect lottery 7543, application due July 7, 2026.
| Income level | Studio | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms | 3 bedrooms | 4 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30% AMI | $19,235 | $23,966 | $28,869 | $33,463 | none |
| 40% AMI | $26,092 | $32,538 | $39,155 | $45,360 | $50,743 |
| 50% AMI | $39,155 | $48,892 | $58,663 | $67,783 | $75,635 |
| 60% AMI | $47,486 | $59,315 | $71,143 | $82,252 | $91,749 |
| 70% AMI | $55,818 | $69,738 | $83,658 | $96,686 | $107,863 |
What it means: a household without a voucher had to earn at least the figure for its apartment type and no more than the maximum for its size in the next table.
Source: minimum yearly household income for each apartment type in the same advertisement. Studios took 1 to 2 people, one-bedrooms 1 to 3, two-bedrooms 2 to 5, three-bedrooms 3 to 7 and four-bedrooms 4 to 9.
| Household size | 30% AMI maximum | 40% AMI maximum | 50% AMI maximum | 60% AMI maximum | 70% AMI maximum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $35,640 | $47,520 | $59,400 | $71,280 | $83,160 |
| 2 people | $40,710 | $54,280 | $67,850 | $81,420 | $94,990 |
| 3 people | $45,810 | $61,080 | $76,350 | $91,620 | $106,890 |
| 4 people | $50,880 | $67,840 | $84,800 | $101,760 | $118,720 |
| 5 people | $54,960 | $73,280 | $91,600 | $109,920 | $128,240 |
| 6 people | $59,040 | $78,720 | $98,400 | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| 7 people | $63,120 | $84,160 | $105,200 | $126,240 | $147,280 |
What it means: yearly household income before taxes had to be at or under the number for the household's size. Households of eight or nine fit only the six four-bedrooms, where the maximum reached $166,250 for nine people at 70% AMI.
Source: the same advertisement.
- Under $19,235below the lowest minimum in the advertisement, which was for the $465 studios. A voucher changes this, as the next section explains.
- One person over $83,160above the 70% maximum for a single person, so no row fit.
Key pointthe advertisement says "Rent includes heat and gas for cooking. Tenant responsible for electricity." It also says "No fee to apply" and "No broker's fee". Brick Underground describes the 303 apartments as rent-stabilized.
Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
All 24 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and the closest is $699 under.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, so HPD's rule applies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent (70% AMI) | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $465 | $1,532 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $591 | $1,926 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $700 | $2,298 | $2,997 |
| 3 bedrooms | $800 | $2,644 | $3,753 |
| 4 bedrooms | $1,270 | $2,936 | $4,077 |
What it means: the 70% apartments are $1,072, $808, $699, $1,109 and $1,141 under the maximum, from studio to four-bedroom.
Source: rents from Housing Connect lottery 7543; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. Here tenants pay for electricity, so a voucher program subtracts a utility allowance from its maximum.
- Your maximum follows your household, not the apartment. CityFHEPS sets it by family size: a studio or one-bedroom amount for one or two people, the two-bedroom amount for three or four, the three-bedroom amount for five or six.
- The maximum income applies with or without a voucher.
Not sure which program you have? See CityFHEPS vs Section 8. For how allowances work, see Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 10474
Every advertised rent is below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 10474, by $322 to $2,480 a month.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent (70% AMI) | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10474 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $465 | $1,532 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $591 | $1,926 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $700 | $2,298 | $2,620 |
| 3 bedrooms | $800 | $2,644 | $3,280 |
| 4 bedrooms | $1,270 | $2,936 | $3,570 |
What it means: the 70% two-bedrooms, at $2,298, are $322 under HUD's figure. The 30% three-bedrooms, at $800, are $2,480 under it.
Source: rents from Housing Connect lottery 7543; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes all utilities. Rents here leave out electricity, so the real gap is smaller than the chart shows.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10474.
How the $297 Million Was Financed
Gilbane's announcements of June 2023 and May 2025 both put Phase 2 at $297 million, and neither they nor HPD break that total down by source.
| Item | Amount | Stated in |
|---|---|---|
| Phase 2 financing closed June 28, 2023 | $297 million | Gilbane Development, June 28, 2023 |
| Lenders named | HPD, HDC and Wells Fargo | Gilbane Development, June 28, 2023 |
| Tax-exempt bonds under HDC's Open Resolution | not stated | HPD, November 29, 2023 |
| HDC funds, HPD subsidy and 4% Low-Income Housing Tax Credits | not stated | HPD, November 29, 2023 |
| Capital funding Council Member Rafael Salamanca says he secured | $500,000 | HPD, November 29, 2023 |
| Sponsor loans from NYSERDA grant funds and state Brownfield Tax Credits | not stated | HPD, November 29, 2023 |
| Phase 1, for comparison | $121 million | Mayor's office, June 22, 2022 |
What it means: HPD says construction is "primarily" financed with the tax-exempt bonds, under its Extremely Low and Low-Income Affordability (ELLA) program.
Source: Gilbane Development's announcement of June 28, 2023 and HPD's announcement of November 29, 2023.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit
Four groups were drawn ahead of other applicants for a share of the 303 apartments, and the nearest subway station is Longwood Avenue on the 6, about 0.3 miles away in a straight line.
- 20% of apartmentsresidents of Bronx Community Board 2.
- 10% of apartmentsNew York City municipal employees and military veterans.
- 5% of apartmentsset aside for people with a mobility disability.
- 2% of apartmentsset aside for people with a vision or hearing disability.
- In the advertisement's texta bike room, community room, tenant lounge, outdoor terraces, fitness rooms, a children's playroom, dishwashers, energy-efficient appliances and "Free in-unit Broadband Internet".
- Extra costthe card-operated laundry room and parking.
- From HPD's announcementa 155-space parking garage, 20,000 square feet of community facility space, rainwater harvesting and solar roof panels.
- Not statedthe pet policy, the parking fee, the laundry price and whether hot water is included. No interior photographs of Phase 2 are published; the kitchen below is in the Phase 1 building.

| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Longwood Av | 6 | about 0.3 miles |
| Hunts Point Av | 6 | about 0.5 miles |
| Intervale Av | 2, 5 | about 0.6 miles |
What it means: the 6 train is the closest line, and the 2 and 5 are more than half a mile away.
Source: stations and coordinates from the Housing Connect advertisement, which also lists the Bx5, Bx6, Bx19 and Bx46 buses; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 1225 Spofford Avenue, so the walk is longer.
The City-Owned Grocery Store Planned for The Peninsula
A 20,000-square-foot city-owned grocery store is expected to open at The Peninsula in 2027, according to the Mayor's announcement of May 18, 2026.
- Size and date"The 20,000-square-foot store in Hunts Point is expected to open in 2027".
- Programit is the second site in the city's municipal grocery store program, after La Marqueta in East Harlem. NYCEDC is preparing a request for proposals for private operators.
- Earlier plansHPD's 2023 announcement described "16,000 square feet of retail space targeting a grocery store".
- Not statedwhich building the store will occupy.

Phase 1 Is Occupied and Phase 3 Has No Published Dates
The Peninsula is planned as 740 apartments in four residential buildings plus one light industrial building, built in three phases.
| Phase | Buildings | Apartments | Status on October 5, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 720 Tiffany Street, 14 stories, and a light industrial building | 183 | First certificate of occupancy June 9, 2022. The project site says the building "is 100% occupied." |
| 2 | 1225 Spofford Avenue, 14 stories | 224 | First certificate of occupancy July 31, 2026 |
| 2 | 1221 Spofford Avenue, 17 stories | 135 | Permit issued; no certificate of occupancy in city data |
| 3 | one residential building | 198 | No new building filing found in city permit data for the block |
| All | four residential, one industrial | 740 | The project site expects Phase 3 in 2028; HPD and Gilbane give 2029 for the campus |
What it means: no rents, income levels or application dates have been published for the last 198 apartments.
Source: HPD production data, projects 63151 and 63757; Department of Buildings jobs 210178500, 210182256 and 210182158; thepeninsulabx.com, read October 5, 2026; HPD, November 29, 2023. The 198 for Phase 3 is VoucherMatch's subtraction of 183 and 359 from the 740 in the official announcements.

- Phase 1 in HPD's data: 38 studios, 61 one-bedrooms, 60 two-bedrooms and 24 three-bedrooms. The Mayor's office said 18 were reserved for people who had been homeless.
- Phase 1 completion date: 6sqft wrote that work "was completed in November 2021". The Mayor's office opened the residential building on June 22, 2022.

What Happens After the July 7 Deadline, and How to Find the Next Opening
Applications for lottery 7543 were due July 7, 2026, and HPD says a household can hear about its application "within two to twelve months after the deadline."
- After the deadline"all of the applications are put into a random order and assigned a log number."
- Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- If your number comes up"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
What it means: counting from July 7, 2026, HPD's two to twelve months runs from September 2026 to July 2027.
Source: HPD's Applying for Affordable Housing guide and the Housing Connect FAQ.
- 1Make a profilecreate an account at housingconnect.nyc.gov and fill in every household member, all income and any voucher.
- 2Keep it completethe FAQ says a household whose information is incomplete when log numbers are assigned "will not receive a log number for that lottery."
- 3Check for re-rentalsHPD's guide says Housing Connect also lists "re-rental units", apartments that come up again when a tenant leaves.
- 4Watch the project sitethepeninsulabx.com posts each phase's status.
- Identification. personal IDs for the household
- Income. pay stubs and tax returns
- Address. proof of address, needed for the Community Board 2 preference
- Assets. bank and investment statements
- Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers
What it means: the marketing agent's request lists exactly what a household must send.
Source: the first four items are from the Housing Connect FAQ; the voucher line is VoucherMatch's addition.
Watch outthere is an asset limit. The FAQ sets it for rentals at the four-person income maximum for the apartment's level: $50,880 at 30% AMI, $67,840 at 40%, $84,800 at 50%, $101,760 at 60% and $118,720 at 70%. Retirement and college savings accounts are not counted toward it.
If You Need an Apartment Now
Phase 3 has no application date, so a household that needs to move this year has to look elsewhere.
Studio, $2,525 a monthHunts Point, BronxAccepts HASA · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthSouth Bronx, BronxAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $1,600 a monthHunts Point, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx from landlords who take vouchers.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the rent at 1221 and 1225 Spofford Avenue?
Studios were $465 to $1,532, one-bedrooms $591 to $1,926, two-bedrooms $700 to $2,298, three-bedrooms $800 to $2,644 and four-bedrooms $1,270 to $2,936. Heat and cooking gas are included. Tenants pay electricity.
How much do you have to earn for The Peninsula in Hunts Point?
The advertisement's ranges run from $19,235 a year for a $465 studio to $166,250 for nine people in a 70% AMI four-bedroom. With a voucher, HPD says the minimum does not apply.
Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at The Peninsula?
Yes. HPD's Housing Connect FAQ says minimum income rules do not apply to voucher holders. Every advertised rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, before the utility allowance for electricity.
When was the Peninsula Phase 2 lottery deadline?
July 7, 2026, for lottery 7543 on NYC Housing Connect.
Is 1223 Spofford Avenue the same building as 1225 Spofford Avenue?
Yes. HPD's production data lists the 224-apartment building at 1223 Spofford Avenue. The Housing Connect advertisement and Department of Buildings records call it 1225 Spofford Avenue.
When will Phase 3 of The Peninsula open?
The project site anticipates Phase 3 in 2028, and HPD gives 2029 as the target for the whole campus. No rents or application dates have been published as of October 5, 2026.
Are the rents at The Peninsula below market?
Yes. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10474 is $2,280 for a studio, $2,390 for a one-bedroom, $2,620 for a two-bedroom, $3,280 for a three-bedroom and $3,570 for a four-bedroom. Every advertised rent is at least $322 lower.
Sources for this article (16)
- Housing Connect advertisement for lottery 7543 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- announcement of November 29, 2023 (nyc.gov)
- June 28, 2023 (gilbaneco.com)
- May 27, 2025 (gilbaneco.com)
- June 22, 2022 (nyc.gov)
- May 18, 2026 (nyc.gov)
- project site (thepeninsulabx.com)
- 6sqft (6sqft.com)
- Brick Underground (brickunderground.com)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- thepeninsulabx.com (thepeninsulabx.com)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East New York, Brooklyn
Innovative Urban Village (30 Inspiration Lane)
- From $561 a month
- State lottery held June 8, 2026

Sunnyside, Queens
The Barnett
- From $545 a month
- Applications were due June 8, 2026

Sutton Place, Manhattan
340 East 56th Street (1011 First Avenue)
- From $1,056 a month
- Applications not open yet

Mott Haven, Bronx
One River Park
- From $1,936 a month
- Applications due November 6, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.