Skip to page content

West Philadelphia Affordable Apartments: 33 Homes Coming to Linda Lockman King Apartments, 5500 Haverford Avenue

17 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Linda Lockman King Apartments at 5500 Haverford Avenue in West Philadelphia is under construction, and its owner expects apartments to be ready around December 2026. The building will have 33 income-restricted apartments with one, two or three bedrooms. Applications are open now, but only for wheelchair-accessible two- and three-bedroom apartments. No rents are published. The Philadelphia Housing Authority supports 23 of the 33 apartments, where rent is based on income, so no voucher is needed for those.

Last checked: October 6, 2026, against the Women's Community Revitalization Project's how to apply page, its Linda Lockman King application and its groundbreaking release (September 18, 2025), the City's building permit CP-2025-001526 in its permit records, the Philadelphia Housing Authority's fiscal year 2027 plan, Unit Based Program page and payment standards (schedule effective November 1, 2025), the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency's 2026 income and rent limits, the development consultant's project page and Regional Housing Legal Services' report on the financing (February 4, 2026). The owner decides what is open and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.

Linda Lockman King Apartments in numbers
  • 33income-restricted apartments in a four-story building
  • 23apartments supported by the Philadelphia Housing Authority, with rent based on income
  • December 2026when the owner expects apartments to be ready
  • $20money order per adult for the background check
  • 9wheelchair-accessible apartments
  • 0.4 milesto 56th Street station on the Market-Frankford Line
Rendering of a four-story corner apartment building with a red brick base and green panel bays, trees on the sidewalk and cars and cyclists on the street
Rendering of Linda Lockman King Apartments, 5500 Haverford Avenue in West Philadelphia. The copy published by the project's lawyers is mirrored; it is shown here turned back so the building's sign reads correctly. Photo: Women's Community Revitalization Project, rendering, developer's rendering, via Regional Housing Legal Services (flipped horizontally and cropped).

What Linda Lockman King Apartments Is and Who Is Building It

Linda Lockman King Apartments is a four-story building of 33 affordable rental apartments that the Women's Community Revitalization Project (WCRP), a nonprofit, is building on a vacant lot at 5500 Haverford Avenue.

  • Names: Linda Lockman King Apartments on the owner's site and application. The development consultant writes Linda Lockman-King Apartments. The building is named for a late social worker who ran food and youth programs in West Philadelphia. WCRP says one of her dreams was to turn land across from Philadelphia Baptist Church into affordable housing.
  • Address: 5500 Haverford Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19139, on the application, the permits and the City's property record (account 886000241).
  • Owner: the land belongs to the Community Justice Land Trust, which WCRP operates. WCRP says that ownership keeps the apartments "permanently affordable". WCRP will also manage the building.
  • Builder: the building permit names Domus, Inc. as contractor. The architect is not named in the documents read.
  • Size: building permit CP-2025-001526, issued August 8, 2025, is for a four-story building with 33 dwelling units. The 2023 zoning permit gives a height of 42.3 feet and 12 bicycle spaces.
  • Program: federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits, with partners WCRP names as the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA), the Philadelphia Housing Development Corporation, the Philadelphia Housing Authority (PHA), Citizens Bank and the Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh.
5500 Haverford Avenue, from vacant lot to move-in
  • June 14, 2023the City issues the zoning permit for a 33-apartment building.
  • August 8, 2025the City issues the building permit.
  • September 18, 2025WCRP announces the groundbreaking, with Councilmember Curtis Jones Jr.
  • February 4, 2026the project's lawyers report the tax-credit work complete.
  • October 6, 2026WCRP's home page reads "Linda Lockman King Apartments: Applications Now Open". No certificate of occupancy is on record.
  • Around December 2026when the application says apartments should be ready.

What it means: the building is not finished, so an application now is for a place in line, and the December 2026 date is the owner's estimate.

Source: City of Philadelphia permit records for 5500 Haverford Avenue (zoning permit ZP-2022-011826, building permit CP-2025-001526); WCRP's release of September 18, 2025 and its application; Regional Housing Legal Services.

Rendering detail of a brick ground floor with the name Linda Lockman King Apartments over a lit entrance, a ramp with railings and green panel bays above
Detail of the rendering showing the entrance and the access ramp. Photo: Women's Community Revitalization Project, rendering, developer's rendering, via Regional Housing Legal Services (flipped horizontally and cropped).

Where 5500 Haverford Avenue Is

The site is at 5500 Haverford Avenue in West Philadelphia, in ZIP code 19139 and City Council District 4, about four tenths of a mile from 56th Street station on the Market-Frankford Line (the El, shown as the L on SEPTA maps).

Where the building sits
  • 19139the ZIP code on the application
  • District 4the City Council district, whose member is Curtis Jones Jr.
  • Group 2PHA's payment-standard group for this ZIP code
  • 0.3 milesstraight-line distance to the Route 15 trolley on Girard Avenue
  • 0.4 milesto 56th Street station on the El
  • Neighborhood name: WCRP says West Philadelphia. The development consultant and the project's lawyers say "the Haddington / Mill Creek neighborhood of West Philadelphia".
  • The street: the consultant describes the site as on "the Haverford Avenue commercial corridor".
  • Apartments nearby: see voucher apartments in Haddington and apartments near the Market-Frankford Line.

What the Rent Will Be and Who Qualifies

No rent has been published; what is on record is the number of apartments at each size and income level, and that 23 of the 33 will have rent based on income.

Apartments at Linda Lockman King Apartments by size, number of apartments
View the data table
Apartment sizeApartments
1 bedroom4
2 bedrooms19
3 bedrooms10

What it means: 29 of the 33 apartments have two or three bedrooms, so this is a building for families more than for single people.

Source: WCRP's release of September 18, 2025.

Apartments at Linda Lockman King Apartments by income level, number of apartments
View the data table
Income level (share of area median income)Apartments
At or below 20%4
At or below 50%19
At or below 60%10

What it means: the 20% and 50% apartments add up to 23, the same number WCRP says PHA supports. Which apartment sizes sit at which level is not published.

Source: Stone Sherick Consulting Group, the development consultant, and Regional Housing Legal Services, February 4, 2026. WCRP has not published this split itself.

PHFA income limits for Philadelphia, effective May 1, 2026
Household20%50%60%
1 person$17,180$42,950$51,540
2 people$19,640$49,100$58,920
3 people$22,100$55,250$66,300
4 people$24,540$61,350$73,620
5 people$26,520$66,300$79,560
6 people$28,480$71,200$85,440

What it means: a family of four earning up to $61,350 is within the 50% level, and up to $73,620 within the 60% level. Limits for the year you move in may differ.

Source: PHFA Low-Income Housing Tax Credit income and rent limits, report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026. WCRP has not published an income table for this building.

  • The 23 assisted apartments: PHA says tenants of apartments with its assistance attached "pay between to 26-30% of their adjusted income for rent".
  • The other 10 apartments: no rent is published. The next section gives the tax-credit program's ceilings for the 60% level.
  • Utilities: not stated. WCRP says every apartment has "in-unit laundry and air conditioning".
  • Minimum income: none is published.
  • Household size: the application has lines for up to eight household members. An occupancy limit per bedroom is not published.
Four design drawings of a four-story building: a corner view from Haverford Avenue, a narrow side on Pearl Street, a courtyard between two wings, and an aerial view of the block
Four design views from the development consultant's project page: from Haverford Avenue, from Pearl Street, the courtyard and from above. The originals are small. Photo: Stone Sherick Consulting Group, design drawings, consultant's drawings, via Stone Sherick Consulting Group (four drawings combined on one canvas and enlarged).

Do You Need a Voucher, and Can You Use One Here?

For 23 of the 33 apartments no voucher is needed, because PHA's assistance is attached to the apartment; the other 10 are tax-credit apartments where a voucher holder cannot be turned away for holding one.

WCRP's release says "of the 33 units, 23 will be supported by the Philadelphia Housing Authority (PHA)." PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan lists Linda Lockman King Apartments, 23 units, as "New construction development under Faircloth to RAD". The consultant's page says "Rent subsidies from the Philadelphia Housing Authority will ensure long-term affordability."

How PHA says apartment-based assistance works
  • It stays with the apartment"Under the UBV Program, the rental assistance is attached to the unit. If the family moves from the unit, the housing assistance remains with the unit."
  • Who screens youthe owner first. Then "the family is referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
  • Income limit"The income limit is 50% of the Area Median Income (AMI) as established by HUD annually."
  • How applicants are orderedowners select "according to date and time of application and the bedroom size required by the family."

What it means: PHA's own voucher waiting list has been closed since its 2023 lottery, so an assisted apartment here is a way to get rent set by income without holding a voucher first.

Source: PHA, Unit Based Program overview, read October 6, 2026. UBV is PHA's name for project-based vouchers.

Tax-credit maximum rent at the 60% level in Philadelphia, 2026, against PHA's payment standard for ZIP code 19139, dollars a month
Program maximum rent at 60%PHA payment standard, Group 2
View the data table
Apartment sizeProgram maximum rent at 60%PHA payment standard, Group 2
1 bedroom$1,380$1,390
2 bedrooms$1,657$1,660
3 bedrooms$1,914$1,990

What it means: even at the ceiling, a 60% apartment would sit $3 to $76 under what PHA counts for a voucher in this ZIP code.

Source: maximums from PHFA's 2026 table, rent and utilities together; payment standards from PHA's schedule effective November 1, 2025, which puts ZIP code 19139 in Group 2. The maximums are the program's ceilings, not this building's rents, which are not published.

  • A voucher holder cannot be refused for holding one. Federal tax-credit law bars an owner from refusing a voucher holder "because of the status of the prospective tenant as such a holder", and Philadelphia's Fair Practices Ordinance counts "the Housing Choice Voucher (sometimes referred to as "Section 8") Program" as a protected source of income.
  • If you already hold a PHA voucher: WCRP has not said how that is handled. Ask before you apply.
  • Utilities and the voucher: if a tenant pays utilities, PHA subtracts a utility allowance. See how the Section 8 utility allowance works.
  • PHA's schedule is due to change: HUD's new figures took effect October 1, 2026, and PHA had not posted a new schedule by October 6, 2026. See how much Section 8 pays in Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Housing Authority page.

How the Program Maximums Compare With Rents in ZIP Code 19139

The tax-credit ceiling for a 60% apartment is above HUD's estimate of an ordinary rent in ZIP code 19139 at every size, so whether the 10 apartments at that level cost less than the area's going rent depends on what the owner charges.

Tax-credit maximum rent at the 60% level in Philadelphia, 2026, against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 19139, dollars a month
Program maximum rent at 60%HUD fair market rent, ZIP 19139
View the data table
Apartment sizeProgram maximum rent at 60%HUD fair market rent, ZIP 19139
1 bedroom$1,380$1,310
2 bedrooms$1,657$1,560
3 bedrooms$1,914$1,860

What it means: the 60% ceilings are $54 to $97 above HUD's figures for the area. The owner may set rents below the ceiling; until it publishes them, ask what the 60% apartments will rent for.

Source: maximums from PHFA's 2026 table; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both columns include utilities.

  • Why the ceiling can exceed the local figure: tax-credit limits are set from incomes across the Philadelphia region. HUD's figure for this ZIP code is lower than the citywide figure PHA uses for project-based apartments, which is $1,558 for a one-bedroom.
  • The 23 assisted apartments are different: rent there follows the household's income, not the ceiling.
  • Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 19139 and voucher apartments in 19139.

Who Gets Priority, Building Features and Transit

The only priority in effect today is accessibility: WCRP is taking applications only for wheelchair-accessible two- and three-bedroom apartments.

Priority and set-asides on record
  • Open now"Currently accepting applications for: 2-bedroom accessible, 3-bedroom accessible", on WCRP's how to apply page.
  • Accessible apartmentsnine wheelchair-accessible apartments, according to WCRP, and two designed for people with hearing or vision impairments, according to the consultant.
  • Proof for an accessible apartmentthe application asks for an "Original Medical letter specifying need for an accessible unit".
  • PHA referralsfor assisted apartments, PHA says it "may also refer applicants to the Owner from PHA's HCV waiting list."
  • Neighborhood preferencenone published.
In the building, and what is not stated
  • Apartmentscentral air conditioning, a range, a refrigerator, a garbage disposal and laundry space with a washer and dryer, according to the application.
  • Shared spacesa 495-square-foot community room, a management office and an office for supportive services, according to the consultant.
  • ServicesWCRP says it "will also provide supportive services to tenants". The application lists 24-hour on-call emergency maintenance.
  • Bicycles12 bicycle spaces on the zoning permit.
  • Not statedparking, the pet policy, which utilities the tenant pays and the security deposit.

Source: WCRP's application and release; Stone Sherick Consulting Group; zoning permit ZP-2022-011826. The application calls the building "new townhomes" in one sentence; the permits and the release describe one four-story building.

Stop or stationLineStraight-line distance
Girard Avenue and 54th StreetRoute 15 Girard Avenue trolley (G1)about 0.3 miles
56th StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.4 miles
52nd StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.5 miles
60th StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.7 miles

What it means: the El is under half a mile away at 56th Street. See also apartments near the Route 15 trolley.

Source: stop and station coordinates from SEPTA's open data; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 5500 Haverford Avenue, so the walk is longer.

Silver elevated train with a blue stripe leaving a station on tracks above the street, with trees and buildings behind
A Market-Frankford Line train leaving 56th Street station, September 2026. The station is about 0.4 miles from the site. Photo: Sd400-4204, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).

How to Apply for Linda Lockman King Apartments

You apply on paper to WCRP's property management office, and today the application is open only to households that need an accessible two- or three-bedroom apartment.

Applying to Linda Lockman King Apartments
  1. 1Get the applicationdownload it in English or Spanish, or pick up a paper copy at 2036 N. 4th Street on Monday, Wednesday or Friday between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m.
  2. 2Fill in every blank and sign itattach the documents in the checklist below.
  3. 3Send it to WCRPmail it to 2036 N. 4th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122, fax it to 215-291-9511 or email it to wcrpleasing@wcrpphila.org.
  4. 4Background checkWCRP requests credit and criminal background for each household member over 18. The application asks for a $20 money order per adult, payable to WCRP, with no cash or personal checks.
  5. 5Family interviewWCRP contacts you by phone, email or mail. Everyone on the application must attend.
  6. 6Home visitWCRP visits your current home once. The application says missing it disqualifies the application.
Documents the application asks for
  • Proof of income. copies of pay stubs, an SSI or Social Security letter, child support or alimony
  • Photo ID. copies of valid picture ID for every adult
  • Social Security cards and birth certificates. copies for every household member
  • Proof of assets. copies of checking, savings and retirement account statements
  • Family papers. marriage or divorce certificate, custody or foster documentation
  • Medical letter. an original letter stating the need for an accessible apartment, if it applies
  • Landlord reference. a letter from your current landlord
  • Money order. $20 for each household member over 18
What happens after you apply
  • After you send itWCRP runs the credit and criminal background check.
  • Nextthe family interview, where staff collect any documents still missing.
  • Thenthe home visit, scheduled at the interview.
  • For an assisted apartmentPHA screens the household for income eligibility.
  • Around December 2026the owner's estimate for apartments being ready.

What it means: the process has four steps before any offer, and a missed interview document or home visit ends the application.

Source: Linda Lockman King Apartments application and WCRP's how to apply page; PHA's Unit Based Program page. The application gives 267-784-5856 for questions.

Watch outWCRP's two documents describe the $20 differently. The how to apply page says "There is no fee to submit an application" and that the background-check fee comes "Later in the process". The application lists the $20 money order among the items to send with it. Philadelphia law caps such a fee at its actual cost or $50, whichever is less.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

The records settle the building's size, its unit mix, its income levels and how to apply; rents and the opening date for other apartment types are not published.

Known and not yet known, as of October 6, 2026
  • Known33 apartments in four stories: 4 one-bedrooms, 19 two-bedrooms and 10 three-bedrooms.
  • Known4 apartments at or below 20% of area median income, 19 at or below 50% and 10 at or below 60%; PHA supports 23.
  • Knownapplications are open for accessible two- and three-bedroom apartments only.
  • Not publishedany rent.
  • Not publishedwhen applications open for the other apartments.
  • Not publisheda firm opening date. December 2026 is the owner's estimate.
  • Not publishedutilities, parking, pets and the deposit.
  • Not publishedthe architect.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

The building is not finished and most apartment types are not yet taking applications, so keep other options moving.

Philadelphia apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 5500 Haverford Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Philadelphia listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Linda Lockman King Apartments taking applications?

Yes, for wheelchair-accessible two- and three-bedroom apartments only, as of October 6, 2026. WCRP has not said when applications open for the other apartments.

When will Linda Lockman King Apartments open?

The application says apartments should be ready around December 2026. The building permit was issued August 8, 2025, and no certificate of occupancy was on record on October 6, 2026.

How much is rent at Linda Lockman King Apartments?

No rent is published. PHA supports 23 of the 33 apartments, and it says tenants of such apartments pay 26% to 30% of adjusted income. The other 10 are at the 60% income level.

How much can you earn and still qualify for Linda Lockman King Apartments?

It depends on the apartment's level. Under PHFA's 2026 table, a family of four can earn up to $24,540 at the 20% level, $61,350 at 50% and $73,620 at 60%.

Does Linda Lockman King Apartments take Section 8?

Twenty-three apartments already have PHA rent assistance attached, so no voucher is needed for them. For the other 10, federal tax-credit law and Philadelphia's ordinance bar refusing a voucher holder for holding a voucher.

Where is Linda Lockman King Apartments?

At 5500 Haverford Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19139, in West Philadelphia. The development consultant places it in the Haddington and Mill Creek area. Applications go to WCRP at 2036 N. 4th Street, not to the building.

Is there an application fee for Linda Lockman King Apartments?

WCRP says there is no fee to submit an application. A $20 money order per adult pays for the credit and criminal background check.

Sources for this article (12)
  1. how to apply page (wcrpphila.org)
  2. Linda Lockman King application (wcrpphila.org)
  3. groundbreaking release (wcrpphila.org)
  4. permit records (opendataphilly.org)
  5. fiscal year 2027 plan (pha.phila.gov)
  6. Unit Based Program page (pha.phila.gov)
  7. payment standards (pha.phila.gov)
  8. 2026 income and rent limits (phfa.org)
  9. project page (stonesherick.com)
  10. report on the financing (rhls.org)
  11. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  12. Spanish (wcrpphila.org)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Philadelphia →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.