Overbrook Senior Apartments: 55 Affordable Homes at Good Shepherd Senior, 6441 Lansdowne Avenue, With Rents to $1,165
Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Good Shepherd Senior at 6441 Lansdowne Avenue in Overbrook, Philadelphia, has 55 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, and its leasing page says "Now Leasing!". There is no lottery: you send a pre-application to the building. Thirty-one apartments have Philadelphia Housing Authority rent assistance attached, so rent is based on income. The other 24 rent for $1,165 a month and need an income of at least $34,950. That rent is $225 under the housing authority's voucher payment standard for the ZIP code.
Last checked: October 6, 2026, against Pennrose's Good Shepherd Senior leasing page, its 2026 flyer and grand opening release (May 12, 2026), the City's building permit CP-2024-001960 in its permit records, the Philadelphia Housing Authority's fiscal year 2027 plan, Unit Based Program page and payment standards (schedule effective November 1, 2025), the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency's 2026 income limits, and reports by The Philadelphia Inquirer (August 16, 2024) and WHYY (May 14, 2026). The leasing office decides what is open and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.
- 55one-bedroom apartments, all income-restricted, for people 62 and older
- 31apartments with PHA rent assistance attached, where rent is based on income
- $1,165monthly rent for the other 24 apartments, at the 60% income level
- $34,950the lowest yearly income the flyer lists for a $1,165 apartment
- $0the lowest income the flyer lists for an assisted apartment
- 0.2 milesto the Route 10 trolley (T1) at Lansdowne Avenue and 63rd Street

What Good Shepherd Senior Is and Who Built It
Good Shepherd Senior is a four-story building with 55 one-bedroom apartments, built by Pennrose on the site of a church that burned in 2016 and finished in January 2026.
- Names: Good Shepherd in Pennrose's releases, Good Shepherd Senior on its leasing page and flyer, and Good Shepherd Senior Residences on the application site and in WHYY's report. The leasing web address is GoodShepherdSeniorApts.com.
- Addresses: 6441 Lansdowne Avenue on the leasing page and the building permit. The City's housing production record lists 6439 Lansdowne Avenue. A 2021 zoning permit joined three lots, 6437, 6439 and 6441 Lansdowne Avenue, into one.
- Developer: Pennrose, with the Presbytery of Philadelphia and the Wynnefield Overbrook Revitalization Corporation. The City's property record (account 886000076) lists the owner as Addison Henry Memorial Presbyterian Church.
- Builder and manager: the building permit names Domus, Inc. as contractor. Leasing runs through Pennrose's site, and its releases name Pennrose Management Company for resident services.
- Size: building permit CP-2024-001960, issued June 3, 2024, is for 55 household living units and seven parking spaces. Pennrose puts the building at 53,000 square feet.
- Program: federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits and a mortgage from the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA), City and state funds, and rent assistance from the Philadelphia Housing Authority (PHA) on 31 apartments. WHYY reports the apartments must stay affordable for 40 years.
- Cost: $23.8 million in The Inquirer's 2024 report; $30 million in WHYY's 2026 report.
- August 2016fire destroys Good Shepherd Presbyterian Church at North 65th Street and Lansdowne Avenue.
- February 8, 2017the City issues the demolition permit for the church.
- June 27, 2022the City issues the zoning permit for the new building.
- June 3, 2024the City issues the building permit for 55 apartments.
- August 13, 2024groundbreaking. Pennrose says the building will be finished in fall 2025.
- January 20, 2026the City issues the certificate of occupancy.
- May 12, 2026grand opening. Pennrose says the building "is now leasing".
- May 14, 2026a Pennrose vice president tells WHYY, "We are almost fully leased."
What it means: the building opened a few months later than planned and was close to full within days of its opening, so expect a waiting list for most apartments.
Source: City of Philadelphia permit records for 6441 Lansdowne Avenue (demolition permit 753076, zoning permit ZP-2022-007498, building permit CP-2024-001960); Pennrose releases of August 13, 2024 and May 12, 2026; The Inquirer; WHYY.

Where 6441 Lansdowne Avenue Is
The building is in Overbrook, in West Philadelphia, at North 65th Street and Lansdowne Avenue, in ZIP code 19151 and City Council District 4.
- 19151the ZIP code on the leasing page and the flyer
- District 4the City Council district, whose member is Curtis Jones Jr.
- Group 2PHA's payment-standard group for this ZIP code
- 0.2 milesstraight-line distance to the Route 10 trolley
- 7parking spaces on the building permit, for 55 apartments
- Neighborhood name: Pennrose, The Inquirer and WHYY all say Overbrook. The flyer calls it "the Overbrook neighborhood of northwest Philadelphia"; WHYY says "the Overbrook section of West Philadelphia".
- Community groups: Pennrose names the Wynnefield Overbrook Revitalization Corporation and the Neighbors of Overbrook Association as partners for resident services.
- Apartments nearby: see voucher apartments in Overbrook and apartments near the Route 10 trolley.
What the Rent Is and Who Qualifies
There are two kinds of apartment here: 31 where rent is based on your income, and 24 that rent for a flat $1,165 a month.
View the data table
| Income level (share of area median income) | Apartments |
|---|---|
| 20%, rent based on income | 6 |
| 50%, rent based on income | 25 |
| 60%, rent $1,165 | 24 |
What it means: more than half of the building has rent tied to income, and those are the apartments a person on a small fixed income can qualify for.
Source: unit counts from The Philadelphia Inquirer, August 16, 2024; which levels have income-based rent from Pennrose's 2026 flyer, which marks the 20% and 50% rows "PBV". PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan lists 31 assisted units at Good Shepherd Senior, which equals 6 plus 25.
| Apartment type | 1 person | 2 people | Rent |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20% level, PBV | $0 to $16,720 | $0 to $19,120 | Based on income |
| 50% level, PBV | $0 to $41,800 | $0 to $47,800 | Based on income |
| 60% level, tax credit | $34,950 to $50,160 | $34,950 to $57,360 | $1,165 |
What it means: an assisted apartment has no minimum income. A $1,165 apartment needs at least $34,950 a year, which is two and a half times the yearly rent.
Source: Pennrose, Good Shepherd Senior flyer, linked from the leasing page on October 6, 2026. PBV means project-based voucher. The flyer says the figures "are provided by HUD and are subject to change at anytime."
Watch outthe leasing page advertises "$955 - $1,165", and the current flyer has no $955 apartment. An earlier flyer still on Pennrose's site lists a 50% tax-credit apartment at $955 with a minimum income of $28,650. Ask the leasing office whether any $955 apartments exist.
| Household | 20% | 50% | 60% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $17,180 | $42,950 | $51,540 |
| 2 people | $19,640 | $49,100 | $58,920 |
What it means: the 2026 limits are $460 to $1,560 higher than the ones on the flyer. A household just over a flyer figure should ask whether the 2026 table applies.
Source: PHFA Low-Income Housing Tax Credit income and rent limits, report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026.
- Two published figures for one limit: WHYY gives the one-person limit at 60% as $51,160. The flyer gives $50,160 and PHFA's 2026 table gives $51,540.
- Pennrose's own range: its releases describe the apartments as "about $430 to $1,290 for a one-person household". The flyer's only stated rent is $1,165.
- Household size: the flyer lists one and two people. All 55 apartments are one-bedrooms averaging 605 square feet.
- Age: every household must be 62 or older. Whether both members of a two-person household must be 62 is not stated.
- Utilities: the flyer and the leasing page do not say which utilities a tenant pays.

Do You Need a Voucher, and Can You Use One Here?
For 31 apartments you do not need a voucher, and for the other 24 a voucher from PHA would cover the advertised rent with room to spare.
- The assistance belongs to the apartment"Under the UBV Program, the rental assistance is attached to the unit. If the family moves from the unit, the housing assistance remains with the unit."
- What tenants pay"UBV Program tenants pay between to 26-30% of their adjusted income for rent based on their family size or specific UBV program." On $1,500 a month of adjusted income, that is $390 to $450.
- Who screens youthe owner first. Then "the family is referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
- Income limit"The income limit is 50% of the Area Median Income (AMI) as established by HUD annually."
- In PHA's planGood Shepherd Senior, 31 units, "New construction in Overbrook sponsored by Pennrose", under the Rental Assistance Demonstration.
What it means: PHA's own voucher waiting list has been closed since its 2023 lottery, so these 31 apartments are a way to get rent set by income without holding a voucher first.
Source: PHA, Unit Based Program overview, read October 6, 2026, and PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan. UBV is PHA's name for project-based vouchers.
View the data table
| Apartment | Advertised rent | PHA payment standard, Group 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 60% apartment, 2026 flyer | $1,165 | $1,390 |
| Leasing page, low end | $955 | $1,390 |
What it means: the $1,165 rent is $225 under the standard, which leaves room for a utility allowance if the tenant pays utilities.
Source: rents from Pennrose's 2026 flyer and leasing page; payment standard from PHA's schedule effective November 1, 2025, which puts ZIP code 19151 in Group 2. The payment standard is the most PHA counts toward rent and utilities for a household with a tenant-held voucher.
- A voucher holder cannot be turned away for holding one. Federal tax-credit law bars an owner from refusing a voucher holder "because of the status of the prospective tenant as such a holder". Philadelphia's Fair Practices Ordinance counts "the Housing Choice Voucher (sometimes referred to as "Section 8") Program" as a protected source of income.
- The $34,950 minimum and vouchers: the flyer does not say whether the minimum income applies when a voucher pays part of the rent. No Pennsylvania rule on that question was found. Ask the leasing office in writing.
- The maximum still applies: a voucher does not raise the income limit for the apartment's level.
- PHA's schedule is due to change: HUD's new figures took effect October 1, 2026, and PHA had not posted a new schedule by October 6, 2026. See how much Section 8 pays in Philadelphia, how the utility allowance works and the Philadelphia Housing Authority page.
How the Rent Compares With Rents in ZIP Code 19151
The $1,165 rent is $85 below HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 19151, a much smaller gap than at most income-restricted buildings.
View the data table
| Apartment | Advertised rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 19151 |
|---|---|---|
| 60% apartment, 2026 flyer | $1,165 | $1,250 |
| Leasing page, low end | $955 | $1,250 |
What it means: a 60% apartment costs about 93% of HUD's figure for the area. If the tenant pays utilities on top, the gap closes further.
Source: rents from Pennrose's 2026 flyer and leasing page; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.
- Why the comparison matters: the $1,165 apartments are income-restricted, but their rent is close to what an ordinary one-bedroom in the ZIP code rents for. What they add is a new, accessible building with services for people 62 and older.
- The assisted apartments are different: rent there follows income, not the market.
- Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 19151 and voucher apartments in 19151.
Who Gets Priority, Building Features and Transit
The published rule is age: every apartment is for people 62 and older, and no neighborhood or residency preference is published.
- Age62 and older, on the leasing page, the flyer and Pennrose's releases.
- AccessibilityPennrose says the apartments are "fully accessible and adaptable". One of the two floor plans is labeled "1 Bedroom (Accessible)".
- PHA referralsfor assisted apartments, PHA says it "may also refer applicants to the Owner from PHA's HCV waiting list."
- Neighborhood preferencenone published.
Source: Pennrose leasing page, floor plans and release of May 12, 2026; PHA's Unit Based Program page.

- Apartmentsone bedroom, about 605 square feet, with a kitchen with a dishwasher, a tiled bath, and heating and central air conditioning the resident controls.
- Shared spacesa community room, a fitness room, laundry facilities, an outdoor patio with seating, and flex space.
- Staff and serviceson-site management, maintenance with a 24-hour emergency line, and resident services arranged by Pennrose Management Company with local groups and the church.
- Parkingseven spaces, including three accessible ones, and a drop-off zone at the front of the building.
- Building standardsdesigned to Enterprise Green Communities and Zero Energy Ready Home standards.
- Not statedthe pet policy, whether laundry is in the apartment or shared by floor, and who pays for electricity.
What it means: with seven spaces for 55 apartments, do not count on parking.
Source: Pennrose leasing page, 2026 flyer and releases of August 13, 2024 and May 12, 2026; building permit CP-2024-001960.


| Stop or station | Line | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|---|
| Lansdowne Avenue and 63rd Street | Route 10 trolley (T1) | about 0.2 miles |
| Haverford Avenue and 63rd Street | Route 15 Girard Avenue trolley (G1) | about 0.3 miles |
| Millbourne | Market-Frankford Line (L) | about 0.8 miles |
| 63rd Street | Market-Frankford Line (L) | about 0.9 miles |
| Overbrook | Regional Rail, Paoli/Thorndale Line | about 1.0 miles |
What it means: the trolley is the close option, and the El and Regional Rail are a bus ride or a long walk away. See also apartments near the Route 15 trolley.
Source: stop and station coordinates from SEPTA's open data (summer 2026 trolley stops, station layers); distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 6441 Lansdowne Avenue, so the walk is longer.
How to Apply for Good Shepherd Senior
You apply to the building itself with a pre-application, and the flyer says households are contacted when an apartment they qualify for is available.
- 1Get the pre-applicationthe flyer says it is "available on the website or in person", and that the office will email or mail one on request. The leasing page also links an online application.
- 2Return itthe flyer says to return the completed, signed and dated pre-application "to the property via U.S. mail", at 6441 Lansdowne Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19151.
- 3Say which apartment you qualify foran assisted apartment if your income is under the 20% or 50% limit, or a $1,165 apartment if it is between $34,950 and the 60% limit.
- 4Call with questionsthe leasing page gives 855-596-7077, the flyer 215-826-3166 and the floor plans 215-610-1300. The flyer's email is GoodShepherd@Pennrose.com.
- 5Office hoursMonday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the leasing page; 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the flyer.
- If an apartment you qualify for is open"you will be contacted to schedule an application interview."
- If none is openyou are mailed a confirmation of your pre-application and "placed on the property's waiting list."
- At the interviewbring Social Security cards and original birth certificates for each household member, and the addresses of your employer, bank and Social Security office.
- Screeningcredit, criminal and landlord checks run after the application fee is paid.
- For an assisted apartmentPHA then screens the household for income eligibility.
What it means: send the pre-application early, and keep a copy with the date you mailed it.
Source: Pennrose's 2026 flyer; PHA's Unit Based Program page. The flyer does not say how the waiting list is ordered. PHA says owners of assisted apartments select "according to date and time of application".
- Proof of age. a birth certificate or ID showing you are 62 or older
- Social Security card. for each household member
- Original birth certificate. for each household member
- Income. award letters for Social Security, SSI or a pension, and pay stubs if you work
- Addresses. of your employer, bank and Social Security office
- If you have a voucher. the voucher and PHA's paperwork for a new apartment
Source: the first, fourth and last items are VoucherMatch's additions; the others are from the flyer.
Watch outthe flyer says "a non-refundable $25 application fee per adult household member may be required", depending on the apartment. Philadelphia law caps a background or credit check fee at its actual cost or $50, whichever is less, and allows one fee per applicant in 12 months.
What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published
The records settle the building's size, its two kinds of apartment and the $1,165 rent; they do not say what is vacant today.
- Known55 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older; 31 with PHA assistance attached; a $1,165 rent with a $34,950 minimum income for the rest.
- Knownthe leasing page says "Now Leasing!", and Pennrose said in May 2026 that the building was almost fully leased.
- Not publishedhow many apartments of each kind are vacant, and how long the waiting list is.
- Not publishedwhether any $955 apartments exist.
- Not publishedwhether the 2026 income limits have replaced the flyer's figures.
- Not publishedwhether the minimum income applies to a household with a voucher.
- Not publishedwhich utilities the tenant pays, the pet policy and the security deposit.
- Not publishedthe architect.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
A building that was nearly full in May 2026 may mean a wait, so keep other options moving.
1 bedroom, $900 a monthHaddington, Outside NYCAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · VASH · EHV
2 bedrooms, $1,450 a monthCarroll Park, Outside NYCAccepts EHV · Section 8 (HCV) · VASH
4 bedrooms, $2,690 a monthCarroll Park, Outside NYCAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · VASH · EHV
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Philadelphia listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Philadelphia, or nearby in Haddington, Carroll Park and Wynnefield.
- Other senior buildings: see low-income senior apartments by city.
- No voucher yet: read the Philadelphia Section 8 guide and check which waiting lists are open.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Good Shepherd Senior taking applications?
Yes. The leasing page said "Now Leasing!" on October 6, 2026, and the flyer says applicants with no open apartment are placed on a waiting list. Pennrose said on May 14, 2026 that the building was almost fully leased.
How much is rent at Good Shepherd Senior?
For 31 apartments, rent is based on income, about 26% to 30% of adjusted income under PHA's program. The other 24 rent for $1,165 a month, according to the 2026 flyer.
How much can you earn and still qualify for Good Shepherd Senior?
On the flyer, one person can earn up to $41,800 for an assisted apartment and up to $50,160 for a $1,165 apartment. PHFA's 2026 limits are $42,950 and $51,540.
Does Good Shepherd Senior take Section 8?
Federal tax-credit law and Philadelphia's ordinance bar refusing a voucher holder for holding a voucher. The $1,165 rent is under PHA's $1,390 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 19151. Thirty-one apartments already carry PHA assistance.
Is there a minimum income for Good Shepherd Senior?
Not for the 31 assisted apartments: the flyer's range starts at $0. The $1,165 apartments list a minimum of $34,950 a year.
Do you have to be 62 to live at Good Shepherd Senior?
Yes. The leasing page, the flyer and Pennrose's releases all say the apartments are for people 62 and older.
Is Good Shepherd Senior the same as Good Shepherd Senior Residences?
Yes. Both names refer to the 55-apartment building at 6441 Lansdowne Avenue in Overbrook. Pennrose's releases call it Good Shepherd, and the City's housing record lists 6439 Lansdowne Avenue.
Are the rents at Good Shepherd Senior below market?
Slightly, for the $1,165 apartments: HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 19151 is $1,250. The assisted apartments are priced by income, not by the market.
Sources for this article (13)
- Good Shepherd Senior leasing page (pennrose.com)
- 2026 flyer (pennrose.com)
- grand opening release (pennrose.com)
- permit records (opendataphilly.org)
- fiscal year 2027 plan (pha.phila.gov)
- Unit Based Program page (pha.phila.gov)
- payment standards (pha.phila.gov)
- 2026 income limits (phfa.org)
- The Philadelphia Inquirer (inquirer.com)
- WHYY (whyy.org)
- August 13, 2024 (pennrose.com)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- online application (rentcafe.com)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Allegheny West, Philadelphia
Apartments at Clearfield
- Rent based on income; utilities included
- Apply by phone; ages 62 and up

Olde Kensington, Philadelphia
Avenue V
- 120 with rent based on income; others listed at $1,095 to $1,485
- Leasing now; 55+ senior preference

Haddington, Philadelphia
Linda Lockman King Apartments
- Rents not published; 23 with rent based on income
- Open for accessible 2- and 3-bedrooms; due about December 2026

Kensington, Philadelphia
Ruth Street Civic House
- Rent about 30% of income
- Waiting list open; apply to the owner
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.