Skip to page content

Mantua Affordable Apartments: 32 Family Homes at Abigail Pankey Apartments, 3750 Brown Street, Rents Posted at $465 to $645

18 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 7, 2026, Abigail Pankey Apartments at 3750 Brown Street in Mantua, West Philadelphia, is a finished four-story building of 32 income-restricted apartments: 22 with two bedrooms and 10 with three. The City marked it complete on February 27, 2026, and it opened in March 2026. The owner's lease-up listing posted rents of $465 to $645 a month plus utilities. The Philadelphia Housing Authority supports 21 apartments, where rent is based on income. The owner now takes applications through its general waiting list, which it says runs one to four years.

Last checked: October 7, 2026, against the Women's Community Revitalization Project's how to apply page, general application, release of January 28, 2025 and land trust page, the owner's lease-up listing on News on Tap (February 7, 2025), the City's building permit CP-2024-001620 in its permit records, the City's property record, the Philadelphia Housing Authority's fiscal year 2027 plan, Amendment 1, Unit Based Program page and payment standards (schedule effective November 1, 2025), PHFA's 2026 income and rent limits, AIA Philadelphia's article of April 19, 2026, and the pages of CICADA Architecture, Stone Sherick and LISC. The owner decides what is open and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.

Abigail Pankey Apartments in numbers
  • 32income-restricted apartments in a four-story building
  • 22 and 10two-bedroom and three-bedroom apartments
  • 21apartments supported by the Philadelphia Housing Authority, with rent based on income
  • $465 to $645monthly rents on the owner's lease-up listing, plus utilities
  • 8 and 2wheelchair-accessible apartments, and apartments equipped for hearing or vision disabilities
  • 1 to 4 yearsthe owner's stated wait on its general waiting list
Rendering of a four-story apartment building with dark red brick and pale gray panels, a covered entrance on the long side, street trees with autumn leaves, parked cars and people on the sidewalk
The architect's rendering of Abigail Pankey Apartments at 3750 Brown Street. The finished building's entrance is in the photograph further down this page. Photo: CICADA Architecture, rendering, architect's rendering, via CICADA Architecture (cropped).

What Abigail Pankey Apartments Is and Who Owns It

Abigail Pankey Apartments is a four-story building of 32 family apartments that the Women's Community Revitalization Project (WCRP) developed and manages, on land held by the Community Justice Land Trust.

  • Names: Abigail Pankey Apartments on the building, in WCRP's release and on the City's housing list. The release's headline says "Abigail Pankey Townhomes". PHA's plan adds "Brown Street Apartments".
  • Addresses: 3750 Brown Street on the permits, the property record and the front door. The City's housing list files the project at 777-87 N. 38th Street. A 2023 zoning permit joined five lots on N. 38th, Brown and N. DeKalb streets.
  • Owner: Community Justice Land Trust on the City's property record (account 886000081), at WCRP's office address. WCRP says the land trust "is operated by the Women's Community Revitalization Project".
  • Architect, builder and consultant: CICADA Architecture; Domus, Inc. on the building permit; Stone Sherick Consulting Group.
  • Size: building permit CP-2024-001620 is for a four-story building with 32 units, offices, a community room, five parking spaces and ten bicycle spaces. The zoning permit gives the height as 46 feet.
  • Money: AIA Philadelphia reports tax credits from the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency and land from the Philadelphia Land Bank. LISC says it provided $798,000 of predevelopment financing.
  • Program: PHA's plan lists 21 units here as "New construction development under Faircloth to RAD".
  • Named for: Abigail Pankey, whom AIA Philadelphia describes as "a leader of the Mantua Housing Committee and co-founder of the Philadelphia Anti-Poverty Coalition".
3750 Brown Street, from permits to opening
  • December 4, 2023the City issues the zoning permit.
  • July 8, 2024the City issues the building permit.
  • August 13, 2024the Community Justice Land Trust takes title.
  • January 28, 2025WCRP opens applications.
  • February 27, 2026the City marks the building permit complete.
  • March 2026the building opens, AIA Philadelphia reports.

What it means: applications opened 13 months before the building was finished. That building-specific application is no longer on WCRP's page.

Source: City of Philadelphia permit and property records for 3750 Brown Street; WCRP's release of January 28, 2025; AIA Philadelphia, April 19, 2026.

Building entrance under a white canopy with raised letters reading Abigail Pankey Apartments, glass doors marked 3750 Brown, and a group of people standing on the steps
The entrance of the finished building, with members of Abigail Pankey's family on the steps in March 2026, in a photograph published by AIA Philadelphia. The door carries the address, 3750 Brown. Photo: Photograph published by AIA Philadelphia, published photograph, via AIA Philadelphia (cropped).

Where 3750 Brown Street Is

The building is on Brown Street in Mantua, in ZIP code 19104 and City Council District 3, on land the owner's listing describes as bounded by Brown Street, N. DeKalb Street and N. 38th Street.

Where the building sits
  • 19104the ZIP code on the permits
  • District 3the City Council district, whose member is Jamie Gauthier
  • Group 3PHA's payment-standard group for this ZIP code
  • Under 0.1 milesstraight-line distance to the nearest bus stop, on Route 38
  • 5parking spaces on the building permit, for 32 apartments
  • Neighbors: the listing names the "Peace Garden and Miles Mack Playground" nearby. The architect says the building was sited "to prevent it from blocking sunlight from the adjacent garden".
  • Apartments nearby: see voucher apartments in Mantua and in Powelton Village.
Computer model of a four-story L-shaped apartment building seen from above, with orange-red and white wall panels, a canopy over the entrance, rooftop equipment and strips of lawn
A design model of the building from above, from the development consultant's page. The wall colors differ from the architect's later rendering at the top of this page. Photo: Stone Sherick Consulting Group, project image, consultant's project image, via Stone Sherick Consulting Group (cropped and enlarged).

What the Rent Is and Who Qualifies

The only rents on record are from the owner's lease-up listing of February 7, 2025: "between $465 and $645 each month, plus utilities."

Apartments at Abigail Pankey Apartments by size, number of apartments
View the data table
Apartment sizeApartments
2 bedrooms22
3 bedrooms10

What it means: there are no studios or one-bedrooms, so this is a building for households of two or more.

Source: WCRP's release of January 28, 2025, which calls the apartments "all suited for families with children". The rents are from a listing on News on Tap, a site where developers and managers of City-funded housing post openings; it is written in the owner's voice and points to WCRP's website.

Apartments at Abigail Pankey Apartments by kind of rent, number of apartments
View the data table
Kind of apartmentApartments
Supported by PHA, rent based on income21
Other income-restricted apartments11

What it means: two apartments in three have rent tied to the tenant's income. The plan does not say which sizes they are.

Source: PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan, Amendment 1, which lists 21 units at Abigail Pankey Apartments. The second row is the remainder of 32, calculated by VoucherMatch.

PHFA income limits for Philadelphia, effective May 1, 2026
Household20%50%60%
2 people$19,640$49,100$58,920
3 people$22,100$55,250$66,300
4 people$24,540$61,350$73,620
5 people$26,520$66,300$79,560
6 people$28,480$71,200$85,440

What it means: the sources give two ceilings. The owner's listing answers the income question with "Not to exceed 50 AMI", which is $61,350 for a family of four. LISC says the building is for families "making no more than 60% of AMI", which is $73,620, and AIA Philadelphia repeats that figure.

Source: PHFA Low-Income Housing Tax Credit income and rent limits, report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026. WCRP has not published an income table for this building.

  • Under $20,000 a year: the listing says "If you make less than $20,000 a year, your monthly rent will be even lower!"
  • Utilities: "Tenant is responsible for rent and electricity."
  • Deposit: "generally equivalent to the unit market rent", the listing says, without giving a figure.
  • Lease: one year, then month to month.
  • Late fee: rent is due on the 1st, with a $10 fee after the 5th.
  • Minimum income: none is published.
  • Rent by size: the listing gives one range for both sizes and does not say which rent goes with which.
Watch outthe posted rents date from February 2025, before the building opened. Tax-credit rents can change each year. Ask WCRP for the current rent for the size you need.

Do You Need a Voucher, and Can You Use One Here?

For 21 of the 32 apartments no voucher is needed, because PHA's assistance is attached to the apartment; the other 11 are tax-credit apartments where a voucher holder cannot be turned away for holding one.

How PHA says apartment-based assistance works
  • It stays with the apartment"Under the UBV Program, the rental assistance is attached to the unit. If the family moves from the unit, the housing assistance remains with the unit."
  • What tenants paytenants "pay between to 26-30% of their adjusted income for rent". On $1,500 a month of adjusted income, that is $390 to $450.
  • Who screens youthe owner first. Then "the family is referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
  • Income limit"The income limit is 50% of the Area Median Income (AMI) as established by HUD annually."
  • How applicants are orderedowners select "according to date and time of application and the bedroom size required by the family."

What it means: PHA's own voucher waiting list has been closed since its 2023 lottery, so an assisted apartment here is a way to get rent set by income without holding a voucher first.

Source: PHA, Unit Based Program overview, read October 7, 2026. UBV is PHA's name for project-based vouchers.

Posted rents at Abigail Pankey Apartments against PHA's payment standard for ZIP code 19104, dollars a month
View the data table
FigureDollars a month
Lowest posted rent$465
Highest posted rent$645
PHA payment standard, two bedrooms$2,010
PHA payment standard, three bedrooms$2,410

What it means: the highest posted rent is less than a third of the two-bedroom standard, so the standard is not what limits a voucher holder here. The waiting list is.

Source: rents from the owner's listing of February 7, 2025, before utilities; payment standards from PHA's schedule effective November 1, 2025, which puts ZIP code 19104 in Group 3. The payment standard is the most PHA counts toward rent and utilities for a household with a tenant-held voucher.

  • A voucher holder cannot be refused for holding one. Federal tax-credit law bars an owner from refusing a voucher holder "because of the status of the prospective tenant as such a holder", and Philadelphia's Fair Practices Ordinance counts "the Housing Choice Voucher (sometimes referred to as "Section 8") Program" as a protected source of income.
  • The owner's own word on PHA: WCRP says "a long-standing partnership with the Philadelphia Housing Authority" lets it "provide even lower rents at some of our highest need developments."
  • More on the voucher here: see how much Section 8 pays in Philadelphia, how the utility allowance works and the Philadelphia Housing Authority page.

How the Rent Compares With Rents in ZIP Code 19104

The top of the posted range, $645, is about a third of HUD's estimate of an ordinary two-bedroom rent in ZIP code 19104.

Posted rents at Abigail Pankey Apartments against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 19104, dollars a month
View the data table
FigureDollars a month
Lowest posted rent$465
Highest posted rent$645
HUD fair market rent, two bedrooms$1,930
HUD fair market rent, three bedrooms$2,300

What it means: $645 is 33% of HUD's two-bedroom figure and 28% of its three-bedroom figure. The tenant's electricity bill comes on top.

Source: rents from the owner's listing of February 7, 2025, before utilities; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

  • A wide ZIP code: 19104 also covers University City and Powelton Village, and HUD's figure is for the whole ZIP code.
  • Tax-credit ceilings are higher than the posted rents: PHFA's 2026 maximum for a two-bedroom at the 50% level is $1,381 with utilities, and $1,595 for a three-bedroom.
  • Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 19104 and voucher apartments in 19104.
Large number 40 in dark blue tile set into a white tiled wall inside a subway station
Tile work at SEPTA's 40th Street station on the Market-Frankford Line, the nearest rail station, about 0.8 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Ii2nmd, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped).

Who Gets Priority, Building Features and Transit

The published priorities are for size and need: the apartments are for families, and ten are built for tenants with disabilities.

Priority on record
  • Accessible apartments"Eight apartments will be fully accessible for individuals with disabilities and two will be sensory units designed for individuals with hearing and visual differences." WCRP asks for an original "medical letter specifying need for an accessible unit".
  • Familiesthe release calls every apartment "suited for families with children".
  • Order of applicationfor PHA-supported apartments, owners select "according to date and time of application and the bedroom size required by the family."
  • Creditto "Can I apply if I have a low credit score?" the listing answers "Yes".
  • Neighborhood preferencenone published.

What it means: if you need an accessible apartment, say so on the application and attach the medical letter.

Source: WCRP's release of January 28, 2025 and how to apply page; the owner's listing; PHA's Unit Based Program page; the City's housing list, which counts 8 accessible, 2 sensory and 32 visitable apartments.

In the building, and what is not stated
  • Apartmentscentral air, a washer and dryer, free Wi-Fi, a garbage disposal, a refrigerator and window treatments.
  • Shared spacestwo elevators, a community room of 1,475 square feet with a kitchen, bicycle storage, and offices for management and supportive services.
  • Parking"limited parking" on the listing; five spaces on the permit, two of them accessible.
  • ServicesWCRP "will offer supportive services to tenants", and "24-hour on-call maintenance".
  • EnergyLISC says the development "will also meet Enterprise Green Communities Standards and EPA's Zero Energy Ready Home guidelines".
  • Not statedwhether pets are allowed. The listing prints the question without an answer.

What it means: with five spaces for 32 apartments, do not count on parking.

Source: WCRP's release of January 28, 2025; the owner's listing; Stone Sherick Consulting Group; building permit CP-2024-001620; LISC.

Stop or stationLineStraight-line distance
Brown Street and 37th StreetRoute 38 busunder 0.1 miles
Fairmount Avenue and 37th StreetRoute 31 busabout 0.2 miles
Haverford Avenue and 37th StreetRoute 43 busabout 0.3 miles
40th Street and Brown StreetRoute 40 busabout 0.3 miles
Lancaster Avenue and Haverford AvenueRoute 10 trolley (T1)about 0.4 miles
40th StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.8 miles
30th Street StationRegional Railabout 1.1 miles

What it means: four bus routes and a trolley stop within half a mile. See also apartments near the Route 10 trolley and near the Market-Frankford Line.

Source: stop and station coordinates from SEPTA's open data (summer 2026 bus and trolley stops, station layers); distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 3750 Brown Street, so the walk is longer.

How to Apply for Abigail Pankey Apartments

You apply to WCRP, not to PHA: on October 7, 2026 its page offered one application for a single new building and a general application for "all other existing WCRP properties", which is where this building now falls.

Applying through WCRP's general application
  1. 1Get the applicationdownload it from WCRP's how to apply page in English or Spanish, or pick up a paper copy at 2036 N. 4th Street on Monday, Wednesday or Friday between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m.
  2. 2Send it with your documentsWCRP takes it by mail, fax (215-291-9511) or e-mail. Submitting costs nothing.
  3. 3Pay for the background check when askedthe application says $20 by money order for each adult. The page says $20 for new developments and $30 for the waiting list.
  4. 4Interview and home visitthe application lists a personal interview and a home visit, which can be held by video.
  5. 5Wait for a letterwhen your number comes up, WCRP invites you to an orientation. Call 215-229-4020 to ask where you are on the list.
What WCRP asks for with the application
  • Proof of income. pay stubs, SSI or Social Security letters, child support or alimony
  • Picture ID. for every adult in the household
  • Social Security cards and birth certificates. for every household member
  • Proof of assets. bank and retirement account statements
  • Family papers. marriage or divorce certificate, custody or foster documents
  • Reference letter. an original from your current landlord
  • Medical letter. an original, only if you need an accessible apartment

What it means: the landlord letter and the medical letter must be originals, so ask for them before you fill in the form.

Source: WCRP's general application and how to apply page, read October 7, 2026.

Watch outWCRP says of its general waiting list, "it will be one to four (1 to 4 years) before you are called for orientation." The lease-up listing for this building gave 9 to 12 months, but that was for the first round in 2025.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

The records settle what was built, who owns it and how to get on the list; they do not give a current rent for each size.

Known and not yet known, as of October 7, 2026
  • Known32 apartments, 22 two-bedrooms and 10 three-bedrooms; finished February 27, 2026; 21 supported by PHA.
  • Two income ceilingsthe owner's listing says 50% of area median income; LISC and AIA Philadelphia say 60%.
  • Two fees$20 on the application; $20 or $30 on WCRP's page, depending on the list.
  • Not publishedthe 2026 rent for each size, and which apartments are at which income level.
  • Not publishedwhether any apartment is vacant now, and how many households are waiting.
  • Not publishedthe security deposit in dollars, and the pet rule.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

A wait of one to four years means other options should stay open.

Philadelphia apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Abigail Pankey Apartments first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Philadelphia listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Abigail Pankey Apartments taking applications?

WCRP takes applications for its existing buildings through one general application, and this building is one of them. WCRP does not say whether any apartment here is vacant. It says the general list takes one to four years.

How much is rent at Abigail Pankey Apartments?

The owner's lease-up listing of February 2025 gave $465 to $645 a month plus utilities, and lower for households earning under $20,000 a year. In the 21 apartments PHA supports, tenants pay 26% to 30% of adjusted income. Current rents by size are not published.

Does Abigail Pankey Apartments take Section 8?

Twenty-one apartments already have PHA rent assistance attached, so no voucher is needed for them. For the other 11, federal tax-credit law and Philadelphia's ordinance bar refusing a voucher holder for holding a voucher.

How much can you earn and still qualify?

The owner's listing says no more than 50% of area median income: $49,100 for two people and $61,350 for four in 2026. LISC and AIA Philadelphia describe a 60% ceiling, $73,620 for four. Ask WCRP which applies to the apartment you want.

Is there an application fee?

Submitting the application is free. WCRP charges for the credit and criminal background check later: $20 by money order for each adult on the application form, and $20 or $30 on its web page.

Who owns Abigail Pankey Apartments?

The Community Justice Land Trust holds the property, according to the City's record, and the Women's Community Revitalization Project operates the land trust and manages the building.

Who was Abigail Pankey?

AIA Philadelphia describes her as a leader of the Mantua Housing Committee and a co-founder of the Philadelphia Anti-Poverty Coalition, who hosted Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. at her Mantua home in 1965.

Are the rents below market?

Yes, on the posted figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rents for ZIP code 19104 are $1,930 for a two-bedroom and $2,300 for a three-bedroom. The highest posted rent was $645 plus utilities.

Sources for this article (16)
  1. how to apply page (wcrpphila.org)
  2. general application (wcrpphila.org)
  3. release of January 28, 2025 (wcrpphila.org)
  4. land trust page (wcrpphila.org)
  5. lease-up listing on News on Tap (newsontap.org)
  6. permit records (opendataphilly.org)
  7. property record (property.phila.gov)
  8. fiscal year 2027 plan, Amendment 1 (pha.phila.gov)
  9. Unit Based Program page (pha.phila.gov)
  10. payment standards (pha.phila.gov)
  11. 2026 income and rent limits (phfa.org)
  12. AIA Philadelphia (aiaphiladelphia.org)
  13. CICADA Architecture (cicadaarchitecture.com)
  14. Stone Sherick (stonesherick.com)
  15. LISC (lisc.org)
  16. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Philadelphia →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.