Skip to page content

Cobbs Creek Senior Apartments: 38 Affordable Homes at Compassion Senior Living, 6223 Catharine Street, Rents Reported From $900

19 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 7, 2026, Compassion Senior Living at 6223-27 Catharine Street in Cobbs Creek, Philadelphia, has 38 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older with incomes from 20% to 60% of the area median. It opened in early 2026 and was reported full in September 2026. Applying now puts you on the waiting list, through a pre-qualification form online or on paper at the building. The Inquirer reports rents of $900 to $1,300, based on income. That is under the housing authority's $1,390 voucher payment standard.

Last checked: October 7, 2026, against the building's leasing site and its pre-qualification form, the City's zoning permit ZP-2024-002751 and building permit CP-2023-006985 in its permit records, the City's affordable housing production record, the Philadelphia Housing Authority's fiscal year 2027 plan, Unit Based Program page and payment standards (schedule effective November 1, 2025), the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency's 2026 income and rent limits, the architect's project page, the project manager's project page, a state House release of October 15, 2021, and reports by The Philadelphia Inquirer (September 23, 2026) and Fox 29 (August 29, 2024). The leasing office decides what is open and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.

Compassion Senior Living in numbers
  • 38one-bedroom apartments, all income-restricted, for people 62 and older
  • 20% to 60%of the area median income, the range the building accepts
  • $900 to $1,300monthly rents reported by The Inquirer, based on income
  • $51,540the 2026 income limit for one person at the 60% level
  • 4apartments reserved for people who were formerly homeless
  • 0.3 milesto the Route 46 bus at 60th and Catharine streets
Four-story corner apartment building in brown brick and white panels with balconies, large ground-floor windows and cars parked along the street under a cloudy sky
Compassion Senior Living at 6223-27 Catharine Street in Cobbs Creek, Philadelphia, in the architect's photograph. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).

What Compassion Senior Living Is and Who Built It

Compassion Senior Living is a four-story building with 38 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, built by the community development arm of the Church of Christian Compassion and opened in early 2026.

  • Name: Compassion Senior Living in every record. The leasing web address is compassionseniorlivingcrm.com.
  • Addresses: 6223-6227 Catharine Street on the leasing site; 6227 Catharine Street on the permits; 6223-27 Catherine Street, spelled with an e, in the City's housing record and the 2021 state release. A 2021 zoning permit joined 6223 and 6225-27 Catharine Street into one lot.
  • Owner: Community of Compassion, Inc., which the City's housing record lists as developer. It is the community development corporation of the Church of Christian Compassion. The 2021 release says it was working with Gardner Capital Development II, Inc.
  • Architect and builder: CICADA Architecture & Planning; T N Ward Company on the building permit. The Inquirer says BFW Group, a construction project manager, led the fundraising.
  • Manager: the leasing site names Community Realty Management and links to CRM Residential.
  • Size: building permit CP-2023-006985 is for a four-story building with 38 dwelling units. BFW Group gives 37,704 square feet.
  • Program: federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits, with city, state and federal money, and rent assistance from the Philadelphia Housing Authority (PHA) listed in PHA's plan.
  • Cost: $13.9 million on BFW Group's 2021 project page; "nearly $20 million" in Fox 29's 2024 report; "about $20 million" in The Inquirer's 2026 report.
6223-27 Catharine Street, from tax credits to a full building
  • June 9, 2021the City issues the zoning permit that joins the two lots.
  • October 15, 2021a state House release announces $1,111,500 in tax credits for the project.
  • May 2, 2024the City issues the building permit.
  • August 29, 2024groundbreaking. Fox 29 reports the building "is set to be completed in September 2025".
  • December 22, 2025the City's record shows the building permit completed.
  • Early 2026the building opens, The Inquirer reports.
  • September 22, 2026the church holds "an event celebrating the building filling with residents".

What it means: the building is new and already full, so a new applicant today should expect a waiting list.

Source: City of Philadelphia permit records for 6227 Catharine Street (zoning permit ZP-2020-010174, building permit CP-2023-006985); state House release of October 15, 2021; Fox 29, August 29, 2024; The Philadelphia Inquirer, September 23, 2026. The architect's page gives different dates: tax credits "in 2022" and residents moving in "beginning in the spring of 2024", which is before the building permit was issued.

Long side of a four-story building in brown brick with four white bays of balconies, a glass entrance where three people stand, young street trees and cars parked at the curb
The building's long side and entrance, with balconies on the three upper floors. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).

Where 6223 Catharine Street Is

The building is on Catharine Street at North Felton Street in Cobbs Creek, in ZIP code 19143 and City Council District 3.

Where the building sits
  • 19143the ZIP code on the leasing site and the permits
  • District 3the City Council district, whose member is Jamie Gauthier
  • Group 2PHA's payment-standard group for this ZIP code
  • 0.5 milesstraight-line distance to the Route 34 trolley on Baltimore Avenue
  • 10parking spaces on the zoning permit, for 38 apartments
  • Neighborhood name: The Inquirer says "West Philadelphia's Cobbs Creek neighborhood". The architect says "the Cobbs Creek section of southwest Philadelphia". Fox 29 uses both West and Southwest Philadelphia.
  • The church nearby: The Inquirer reports that the Church of Christian Compassion has owned a 10-unit market-rate apartment building "across from the new development" since 2001.
  • Apartments nearby: see voucher apartments in Cobbs Creek and in Cedar Park.
Overhead photograph of an L-shaped building with a planted green roof and a row of white rooftop equipment, with rowhouses, a parking area and streets around it
The building from directly above, showing its L shape and planted roof. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).

What the Rent Is and Who Qualifies

The building has not published a rent table: The Inquirer reports that rents "are based on tenants' income and range from $900 to $1,300", and the tax credit program sets a ceiling for each income level.

Most a tenant can be charged for a one-bedroom under the tax credit program, by income level, Philadelphia, 2026, dollars a month
View the data table
Income level (share of area median income)Maximum rent, utilities included
20%$460
30%$690
40%$920
50%$1,150
60%$1,380

What it means: The Inquirer's range of $900 to $1,300 sits between the 40% and 60% ceilings. A household at the 20% or 30% level can be charged no more than $460 or $690 of its own money.

Source: PHFA Low-Income Housing Tax Credit income and rent limits, report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026. These are the program's maximums, not this building's rents, which it has not published.

PHFA income limits for Philadelphia, effective May 1, 2026
Household20%30%40%50%60%
1 person$17,180$25,770$34,360$42,950$51,540
2 people$19,640$29,460$39,280$49,100$58,920

What it means: one person earning up to $51,540 a year, or two people earning up to $58,920, can fit the building's top level.

Source: PHFA report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026. The Inquirer gives the building's range as "roughly $17,200 to $51,540 for a single-person household", which matches the 20% and 60% columns.

Key pointfederal tax credit law says the rent ceiling "does not include any payment under section 8" or a comparable rent assistance program. Where PHA's assistance is attached to an apartment, the owner can receive more than the ceiling while the tenant pays a share of income.
  • Units per income level: not published. The building's site, the City's record and the news reports give the 20% to 60% range without a count for each level.
  • Set-aside: The Inquirer reports that "four apartments are reserved for people who were formerly homeless."
  • Household size: every apartment is a one-bedroom. The Inquirer says most households are one person.
  • Age: 62 and older, in The Inquirer, Fox 29 and the project manager's page. The leasing site says "Senior Living" without an age.
  • Minimum income, deposit and utilities: none of the documents read says.
Empty apartment with light plank flooring, a window at the far wall, a wall-mounted heating and cooling unit, and a kitchen with dark cabinets and a sink set in a counter
The living area and kitchen of a one-bedroom apartment. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).

Do You Need a Voucher, and Can You Use One Here?

You do not need a voucher to apply, PHA's plan attaches project-based vouchers to the building, and the reported rents are under PHA's payment standard for a tenant who brings a voucher.

PHA assistance at Compassion Senior Living: what the plan says and how the program works
  • In PHA's plan, two figuresthe table of vouchers to be project-based in fiscal year 2027 lists Compassion Senior Living with 23, described as "New construction in the Cobbs Creek neighborhood for seniors". Two other tables in the same plan list 38 units under Faircloth to RAD.
  • The assistance belongs to the apartment"Under the UBV Program, the rental assistance is attached to the unit. If the family moves from the unit, the housing assistance remains with the unit."
  • What tenants pay"UBV Program tenants pay between to 26-30% of their adjusted income for rent based on their family size or specific UBV program." On $1,500 a month of adjusted income, that is $390 to $450.
  • Who screens youthe owner first. Then "the family is referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
  • Income limit"The income limit is 50% of the Area Median Income (AMI) as established by HUD annually."

What it means: PHA's own voucher waiting list has been closed since its 2023 lottery, so an assisted apartment here is a way to get rent set by income without holding a voucher first. Ask the office how many apartments carry the assistance.

Source: PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan, Amendment 1, approved by HUD on June 11, 2026, and PHA's Unit Based Program overview, read October 7, 2026. UBV is PHA's name for project-based vouchers.

Reported one-bedroom rents at Compassion Senior Living against PHA's payment standard for ZIP code 19143, dollars a month
Reported rentPHA payment standard, Group 2
View the data table
RentReported rentPHA payment standard, Group 2
Low end of the reported range$900$1,390
High end of the reported range$1,300$1,390

What it means: the reported rents are $90 to $490 under the standard, which leaves room for a utility allowance if the tenant pays utilities.

Source: rents from The Philadelphia Inquirer, September 23, 2026; payment standard from PHA's schedule effective November 1, 2025, which puts ZIP code 19143 in Group 2. The payment standard is the most PHA counts toward rent and utilities for a household with a tenant-held voucher.

  • A voucher holder cannot be turned away for holding one. Federal tax credit law bars an owner from refusing a voucher holder "because of the status of the prospective tenant as such a holder". Philadelphia's Fair Practices Ordinance counts "the Housing Choice Voucher (sometimes referred to as "Section 8") Program" as a protected source of income.
  • The form asks about it: the pre-qualification form asks, "Are you currently residing in subsidized housing or do you have a Section 8 voucher?"
  • PHA's schedule is due to change: HUD's new figures took effect October 1, 2026, and PHA had not posted a new schedule by October 7, 2026. See how much Section 8 pays in Philadelphia, how the utility allowance works and the Philadelphia Housing Authority page.

How the Rent Compares With Rents in ZIP Code 19143

The reported rents run from about three-fifths to nine-tenths of HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 19143.

Reported one-bedroom rents at Compassion Senior Living against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 19143, dollars a month
Reported rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 19143
View the data table
RentReported rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 19143
Low end of the reported range$900$1,440
High end of the reported range$1,300$1,440

What it means: the low end is 63% of HUD's figure and the high end 90%. If the tenant pays utilities on top, the gap narrows.

Source: rents from The Philadelphia Inquirer, September 23, 2026; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

  • The top of the range is close to the market: $1,300 is $140 under HUD's figure. What that apartment adds is a new elevator building with services for people 62 and older.
  • PHA's standard trails HUD's new figure: PHA's $1,390 for Group 2 is $50 under HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for 19143 and $110 over its fiscal year 2026 figure of $1,280.
  • Rent data for this ZIP code: see Section 8 rent limits for 19143 and voucher apartments in 19143.
Kitchen with dark wood cabinets, a light countertop, a white electric coil range under a range hood, a white refrigerator and a steel sink
An apartment kitchen, with an electric range and a range hood. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).

Who Gets Priority, Building Features and Transit

The published rules are age and income: every apartment is for people 62 and older, and no neighborhood or church preference is published.

Priority and set-asides on record
  • Age62 and older.
  • Formerly homeless seniorsfour apartments, according to The Inquirer.
  • Disabilitythe form asks, "Do you qualify for a disability preference?", and whether you need a mobility, hearing or vision accessible apartment.
  • Accessible apartmentsthe City's record counts 9 accessible apartments and 3 for people with hearing or vision loss, and marks all 38 as visitable.
  • Neighborhood or church membershipno preference is published. The Inquirer reports that more than three in five tenants already lived in West or Southwest Philadelphia.
  • PHA referralsfor assisted apartments, PHA says it "may also refer applicants to the Owner from PHA's HCV waiting list."

Source: the building's pre-qualification form; City of Philadelphia affordable housing production record; The Philadelphia Inquirer; PHA's Unit Based Program page.

In the building, and what is not stated
  • Apartmentsone-bedrooms. The architect's photographs show a kitchen with an electric range and a wall-mounted heating and cooling unit in the living area.
  • Shared spacesThe Inquirer lists "a laundromat, a library, a multipurpose room, and a community center". The project manager's page adds an elevator and an on-site management office.
  • ServicesThe Inquirer reports on-site social services and plans "to partner with a healthcare provider in the future."
  • Outdoorsa planted roof, and balconies on the upper floors in the architect's photographs.
  • Parkingten spaces under the rear wing, one of them a van-accessible space, reached from North Felton Street, and four bicycle spaces.
  • Building standardsdesigned to Enterprise Green Communities certification, according to the architect.
  • Petsthe leasing site's property record marks pets as not allowed.
  • Not statedwho pays for electricity, whether laundry costs extra, and the security deposit.

What it means: with ten spaces for 38 apartments, do not count on parking.

Source: The Philadelphia Inquirer; BFW Group and CICADA project pages; zoning permit ZP-2024-002751; the leasing site.

Large room with a brown leather sofa, orange armchairs, a rug, round dining tables with chairs, a kitchen with a white refrigerator and wide windows onto the street
The community room on the ground floor, facing the street. Photo: CICADA Architecture & Planning, photograph, architect's photograph, via CICADA (cropped).
Stop or stationLineStraight-line distance
60th Street and Catharine StreetRoute 46 busabout 0.3 miles
61st Street and Pine StreetRoute 42 busabout 0.3 miles
Baltimore Avenue and 60th StreetRoute 34 trolley (T2)about 0.5 miles
Walnut Street and 62nd StreetRoute 21 busabout 0.6 miles
AngoraRegional Rail, Media/Wawa Lineabout 0.7 miles
63rd StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.8 miles
60th StreetMarket-Frankford Line (L)about 0.8 miles

What it means: two bus routes stop about a third of a mile away, and the trolley and the El are a longer walk or a bus ride. See also apartments near the Route 34 trolley and near the Market-Frankford Line.

Source: stop and station coordinates from SEPTA's open data (summer 2026 bus and trolley stops, station layers); distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 6223 Catharine Street, so the walk is longer.

How to Apply for Compassion Senior Living

You apply to the building with a pre-qualification form, and the form says a household that meets the first criteria is placed on the waiting list.

Applying to Compassion Senior Living
  1. 1Fill in the pre-qualification formthe leasing site links an online form, in English, Spanish and Chinese. The form says "paper applications are available on-site at the community".
  2. 2Give what it asks forname, date of birth, Social Security number, phone, total yearly income and where it comes from, everyone in the household, and whether you need an accessible apartment.
  3. 3Upload a photo IDthe form asks for "an image of your photo identification card".
  4. 4Call with questionsthe leasing site shows (609) 867-6007, and its page description gives (609) 646-8861. Office hours are Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  5. 5Ask for an interpreter if you need onethe form says the manager "will provide one at no cost to you."
What happens after you apply
  • If you meet the first criteria"this application will grant you placement on the community's Waitlist."
  • When an apartment that fits you comes upthe manager runs "a screening check, which includes credit, criminal background, and tenant landlord history."
  • If that is approved"the property management team will contact you to complete another application and to request the submission of all necessary documentation and information."
  • Pre-qualified is not approvedthe form says being pre-qualified "does not mean you are approved for the apartment."
  • For an assisted apartmentPHA then screens the household for income eligibility.

What it means: apply now even though the building is full, and keep a copy with the date.

Source: the building's pre-qualification form, read October 7, 2026; PHA's Unit Based Program page. The form records the date and time of the application but does not say how the waiting list is ordered. PHA says owners of assisted apartments select "according to date and time of application".

What to have ready
  • Photo ID. a government-issued one, which the form requires
  • Proof of income. for the whole household, which the form requires
  • Social Security number. for each household member
  • Dates of birth. for each household member
  • Proof of age. something showing you are 62 or older
  • If you have a voucher. the voucher and PHA's paperwork for a new apartment

Source: the first four items are from the form; the last two are VoucherMatch's additions.

Watch outthe form states no application fee. Philadelphia law caps a background or credit check fee at its actual cost or $50, whichever is less, and allows one fee per applicant in 12 months.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

The records settle the building's size, who it is for and how to get on the list; they do not give a rent for each income level.

Known and not yet known, as of October 7, 2026
  • Known38 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, at 20% to 60% of the area median income.
  • Knownthe building filled by September 22, 2026, and the form places new applicants on a waiting list.
  • Reported, not published by the buildingrents of $900 to $1,300, in The Inquirer.
  • Two figures in PHA's plan23 project-based vouchers in one table, 38 Faircloth to RAD units in two others.
  • Not publishedhow many apartments are at each income level, and the rent for each.
  • Not publishedhow long the waiting list is and how it is ordered.
  • Not publishedwhich utilities the tenant pays, the security deposit and any application fee.
  • Not publishedwhether a minimum income applies, with or without a voucher.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

The building is full, so keep other options moving while you wait.

Philadelphia apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Compassion Senior Living first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Philadelphia listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Compassion Senior Living taking applications?

It is taking pre-qualification forms for its waiting list. The Inquirer reported on September 23, 2026 that the building had filled with residents. The form says a household that meets the first criteria is placed on the waiting list.

How much is rent at Compassion Senior Living?

The Inquirer reports $900 to $1,300 a month, based on income. The building has not published rents. The tax credit program's 2026 ceiling for a one-bedroom is $460 at the 20% level and $1,380 at the 60% level.

Does Compassion Senior Living take Section 8?

Federal tax credit law and Philadelphia's ordinance bar refusing a voucher holder for holding a voucher. The reported rents are under PHA's $1,390 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 19143, and PHA's plan attaches project-based vouchers to the building.

How much can you earn and still qualify for Compassion Senior Living?

The building accepts incomes from 20% to 60% of the area median. In 2026 the 60% limit is $51,540 for one person and $58,920 for two.

Do you have to be 62 to live at Compassion Senior Living?

Yes, according to The Inquirer, Fox 29 and the project manager's page, which all say the apartments are for people 62 and older.

Do you have to belong to the Church of Christian Compassion to live there?

No published rule says so. The church's development corporation built the building, but neither the leasing site nor the pre-qualification form mentions church membership.

Is it Catharine Street or Catherine Street?

The street is Catharine Street, the spelling on the leasing site and the City's permits. The City's housing record and a 2021 state release spell it Catherine. The building is the one at 6223-27, also written 6223-6227 and 6227.

Are the rents at Compassion Senior Living below market?

Yes, by the reported figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 19143 is $1,440, and the reported rents run from $900 to $1,300.

Sources for this article (14)
  1. leasing site (compassionseniorlivingcrm.com)
  2. pre-qualification form (form.jotform.com)
  3. permit records (opendataphilly.org)
  4. affordable housing production record (opendataphilly.org)
  5. fiscal year 2027 plan (pha.phila.gov)
  6. Unit Based Program page (pha.phila.gov)
  7. payment standards (pha.phila.gov)
  8. 2026 income and rent limits (phfa.org)
  9. project page (cicadaarchitecture.com)
  10. project page (bfwgroup.net)
  11. state House release (pahouse.com)
  12. The Philadelphia Inquirer (inquirer.com)
  13. Fox 29 (fox29.com)
  14. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Philadelphia →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.