Skip to page content

The Hayden in East Dallas: 151 Income-Restricted Apartments at 10715 Garland Road, With an 80% Rent Cap of $1,817 for a One-Bedroom

17 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, The Hayden at 10715 Garland Road in East Dallas is leasing. At least 151 of its 300 apartments are reserved for households earning 80% of the area median income or less, which is $67,840 for one person. There is no lottery: you apply at the leasing office, 469-960-4647. The building does not publish its income-restricted rents. The 2026 cap at 80% is $1,817 for a one-bedroom with utilities, and most of the building's market one-bedrooms are advertised below that.

Last checked: October 6, 2026, against the building's leasing site and floor plans page, Dallas City Council file 22-1311 and its resolution 22-0949, the Dallas Public Facility Corporation's record for the building and statement of what it requires, the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) Income and Rent Tool, DHA's 2026 payment standards, and HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents. The leasing office sets what is available and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.

The Hayden in numbers
  • 151apartments, at least, reserved at 80% of area median income, out of 300
  • $67,840the most one person can earn for an 80% apartment in 2026
  • $1,817the 2026 cap for a one-bedroom at 80%, utilities included
  • $1,224the lowest "starting from" rent on the floor plans page on October 6, 2026
  • $1,602DHA's 2026 payment standard for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 75218
  • 469-960-4647the leasing office, which takes applications
Four-story apartment building with dark and tan siding, a sign reading The Hayden over glass doors and banners reading Now Leasing, behind a planted walkway
The Garland Road front of The Hayden, 10715 Garland Road, Dallas. The sky and flowering trees in the leasing site's photograph appear to be digitally retouched. Photo: The Hayden, from the building's leasing site, marketing image, via thehaydendallas.com (cropped).

What The Hayden Is and Who Built It

The Hayden is a four-story, 300-apartment complex at 10715 Garland Road, built on land owned by the Dallas Public Facility Corporation, a City-created body, which exempts the property from property tax in exchange for income-restricted apartments.

  • Names: The Hayden today. The City Council approved it in 2022 as Standard Shoreline, the name the Dallas Public Facility Corporation's web address for it still carries.
  • Developer: Ojala Partners, through OP Acquisitions, LLC, according to the City's file.
  • Owner of the land: the Dallas Public Facility Corporation, which leases the property to the developer for 75 years. The site was Shoreline Church.
  • Manager: ResProp; the leasing office's email address is at resprop.com.
  • Size: 300 apartments on a lot of about 7.3 acres, according to a 2023 plat application. The state's accessibility filing counts 12 townhomes among them; the City's 2022 file planned 18 single-family rental homes.
  • Cost: about $66.4 million in the City's 2022 file. The state filing puts construction at $48 million.
10715 Garland Road, from church site to leasing
  • March 22, 2022the Dallas Public Facility Corporation's board approves terms with the developer.
  • June 22, 2022the City Council approves the corporation's ownership and the 75-year lease (resolution 22-0949).
  • June 15, 2023the project is registered with the state as The Hayden.
  • October 27, 2023the corporation closes on the property, as CandysDirt reported on November 6.
  • January 15, 2024construction start in the state filing, with completion set for January 15, 2026.
  • September 21, 2025the earliest lease start date in the leasing site's term menu.
  • October 6, 2026the site offers eight weeks free on one-bedrooms for move-ins by October 25.

What it means: this is a finished building you can tour. No source gives an opening date.

Source: City Council file 22-1311; state accessibility filing TABS2023021562; CandysDirt, November 6, 2023; the leasing site.

Long swimming pool with in-water loungers in a courtyard enclosed by four-story apartment wings with balconies
The pool courtyard at The Hayden. The trees and sky in the leasing site's photograph appear to be digitally retouched. Photo: The Hayden, from the building's leasing site, marketing image, via thehaydendallas.com (cropped).

Where 10715 Garland Road Is

The building is on Garland Road in East Dallas, by the Lochwood neighborhood, in ZIP code 75218 and City Council District 9.

WhatFor 10715 Garland Road
AreaEast Dallas; the leasing site says "Where White Rock Meets Home"
Nearbythe Lochwood neighborhood, whose association commented on the plan
ZIP code75218
City Council district9
Nearest railWhite Rock Station, about 2.6 miles

What it means: ZIP 75218 selects a row in the applicable schedule; the administering agency, program, approved bedroom size, utilities and household calculation also determine assistance.

Source: City Council file 22-1311 for the district; U.S. Census geocoder for the city and ZIP code; CandysDirt for Lochwood; DART schedule data for the station.

How Many Apartments Are Income-Restricted, and at What Level

Every income-restricted apartment at The Hayden is at one level, 80% of the area median income, and the records give two counts: 151 and 153.

Apartments planned at The Hayden by size in the City's June 2022 file, number of apartments
At 80% of median incomeMarket rent
View the data table
SizeAt 80% of median incomeMarket rent
Studio3534
1 bedroom7269
2 bedrooms4140
3 bedrooms54

What it means: the restricted apartments were planned in every size, about half of each.

Source: unit table in Dallas City Council file 22-1311, June 22, 2022, which adds up to 153 apartments at 80% and 147 at market rent.

  • 151 or 153: the Council's resolution says "at least 151 of the 300 units" and the corporation's site says 151. The unit table in the same file and the corporation's president, quoted by CandysDirt in 2023, say 153.
  • No lower levels: nothing here is set aside at 60%, 50% or 30%. The City's file says the 80% apartments are for "residents that earn above 60.00% AMI but would be cost burdened by market rents."
  • Sizes on offer today: the floor plans page lists one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms only. Its four smallest plans, at 499 to 645 square feet, are sold as one-bedrooms.

What the Apartments Rent For in October 2026

The Hayden does not publish its income-restricted rents: its floor plans page says "Please call the leasing office for pricing on affordable units."

Rent cap at 80% of median income, 2026, utilities included
Studio1 bed2 beds3 beds
$1,696$1,817$2,180$2,519

What it means: these are ceilings on rent plus tenant-paid utilities, not the rents the building charges.

Source: TDHCA Income and Rent Tool, Dallas County, run October 6, 2026; effective May 1, 2026. The Dallas Public Facility Corporation says its projects follow "Rent restrictions based on 30% of the applicable AMI restricted levels as established by HUD, TDHCA"; the building's own lease terms were not read.

Market rents advertised on October 6, 2026
ApartmentsSize"Starting from"
1 bed, 4 smallest plans499 to 645 sq ft$1,224 to $1,549
1 bed, 6 mid-size plans600 to 798 sq ft$1,284 to $1,699
1 bed, 5 largest plans794 to 1,040 sq ft$1,824 to $2,199
2 beds, 6 plans1,015 to 1,416 sq ft$1,799 to $2,799
2-bed townhomes, 2 plansabout 1,560 sq ft$3,100 and $3,300

What it means: ten of the fifteen one-bedroom plans start below the 80% cap of $1,817, and so do two of the eight two-bedroom plans against their cap of $2,180.

Source: the building's floor plans page, read October 6, 2026.

Watch outat this building an income-restricted apartment may not be cheaper than a market one. The cap is a ceiling, and for most one-bedrooms the advertised market rent is already under it. Ask for the income-restricted rent and the market rent for the same floor plan before you take on the income paperwork.

The gap was small from the start. The City's 2022 file planned these rents:

Rents planned in June 2022
SizeAt 80%MarketDifference
Studio$1,246$1,275$29
1 bedroom$1,335$1,425$90
2 bedrooms$1,602$1,815$213
3 bedrooms$1,852$2,240$388

What it means: the planned saving was $29 a month on a studio and grew with the size of the apartment.

Source: Dallas City Council file 22-1311. These are 2022 projections, not current rents.

Unfurnished kitchen with white cabinets, white counters, a stainless-steel refrigerator, range, microwave and a peninsula with a sink
A kitchen at The Hayden, from the leasing site. Photo: The Hayden, from the building's leasing site, marketing image, via thehaydendallas.com (cropped).

Who Qualifies: 2026 Income Limits

Your household's gross yearly income has to be at or under the 80% limit for your household size.

Maximum household income at 80%, 2026
HouseholdLimit
1 person$67,840
2 people$77,520
3 people$87,200
4 people$96,880
5 people$104,640
6 people$112,400

What it means: a single renter earning $60,000 and a family of four earning $95,000 are below these income ceilings. That is only one part of eligibility.

Source: TDHCA Income and Rent Tool, Dallas County, effective May 1, 2026; the City of Dallas prints the same 80% figures in its 2026 table.

  • A floor is not published. The site does not state a minimum income. It says applications are checked through ProofUp, which "confirms income directly from bank and payroll records and checks a government ID".
  • Check your number: the Dallas Public Facility Corporation has an income calculator that shows where a household falls.

Does The Hayden Take Section 8 Vouchers?

The corporation that owns the land says its buildings must not discriminate by source of income, and The Hayden's own site says nothing about vouchers either way.

What is settled and what to ask
  • The owner's requirementthe Dallas Public Facility Corporation says it partners on developments that "Ensure there is no source of income discrimination at the property".
  • State law, in generalTexas does not let cities ban landlords from refusing vouchers, so an ordinary Dallas landlord may say no. This building's obligation comes from its agreement with the corporation.
  • A newer state rulein 2023 Texas barred Public Facility Corporation buildings approved under that law from refusing voucher holders. This project was approved in June 2022, and whether its lease carries the same rule is not published.
  • Ask the leasing officewhether it accepts Housing Choice Vouchers, and for which apartments.
  • Ask your voucher agencyfor the applicable schedule and household affordability calculation before you pay an application fee. DHA figures here apply only to the stated DHA program.
One- and two-bedroom rents at The Hayden against DHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 75218, dollars a month
Lowest advertised rentRent cap at 80%DHA payment standard
View the data table
ApartmentLowest advertised rentRent cap at 80%DHA payment standard
1 bedroom$1,224$1,817$1,602
2 bedrooms$1,799$2,180$1,881

What it means: the 80% cap is $215 above DHA's standard for a one-bedroom and $299 above it for a two-bedroom, so a rent at the cap is above the standard. That comparison alone does not establish household affordability or agency approval.

Source: the building's floor plans page, October 6, 2026; TDHCA Income and Rent Tool; DHA's Housing Choice Voucher payment standards effective January 1, 2026. The cap and the standard include utilities; the advertised rent does not.

  • Rents below the comparison amount: eight of the fifteen one-bedroom plans start at or below $1,602 before utilities. With DHA's $93 allowance for an all-electric one-bedroom added, five do.
  • Two-bedrooms are tight: two plans start under the $1,881 standard, at $1,799 and $1,864. Neither does once DHA's $122 allowance for an all-electric two-bedroom is added.
  • The 2027 figures are not out. DHA had not posted a 2027 schedule as of October 6, 2026.

October 8, 2026 clarification: Comparing rent with a payment standard does not decide approval. For ordinary tenant-based HCV initial occupancy above the standard, the family-share rule limits the household contribution to 40% of adjusted monthly income. Ask your agency which rules apply.

For how the standard becomes your share of the rent, see how much Section 8 pays in Dallas and how the utility allowance works. DHA's contact details are on the DHA page; the wider rules are in the Dallas Section 8 guide.

Open kitchen and living room with an island and woven stools, a red sofa, a blue accent wall and glass doors to a balcony
A furnished apartment at The Hayden, from the leasing site. Photo: The Hayden, from the building's leasing site, marketing image, via thehaydendallas.com (cropped).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 75218

The 80% cap is higher than what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 75218, at every size.

Rent cap at 80% in 2026 against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 75218, dollars a month with utilities
Rent cap at 80%HUD fair market rent
View the data table
ApartmentRent cap at 80%HUD fair market rent
Studio$1,696$1,560
1 bedroom$1,817$1,610
2 bedrooms$2,180$1,890
3 bedrooms$2,519$2,380

What it means: the cap is $136 to $290 above HUD's figure, so the cap alone does not make an apartment here cheaper than the area's typical rent.

Source: TDHCA Income and Rent Tool; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, HUD's estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code. Both columns include utilities.

Offers, Building Features and Transit

No source checked for this article names a preference for any group of applicants at The Hayden; the building does advertise discounts for certain employers.

Discounts and offers, as advertised
  • Move-in offer"Move in by Oct 25 to get 8 weeks FREE on all 1-bedroom floorplans (6 weeks on 2-bedrooms)", or six and four weeks for move-ins by November 30.
  • Preferred employersa program of "tailored leasing incentives and move-in discounts" for staff of 25 named employers, among them Dallas Independent School District, Parkland Health, Dallas College and Southwest Airlines.
  • Not statedwhether either applies to income-restricted apartments. Ask.
Included and not posted
  • In the buildingpool, fitness center, coworking lounge with a conference room, game room, dog park and wash station, garage parking with controlled access, electric-vehicle chargers and a public art park.
  • In the apartmentsstainless-steel appliances, quartz countertops, vinyl plank floors and balconies. The corporation's record lists laundry inside the apartment.
  • Petstwo per apartment with no weight limit; the site lists breeds that are not allowed.
  • Lease terms7 to 15 months.
  • Not postedapplication fee, deposits, parking and pet charges, and which utilities the tenant pays.

Source: the leasing site's amenities and FAQ pages, October 6, 2026; the Dallas Public Facility Corporation's record.

Lounge with dark blue armchairs, a blue patterned rug, glass-walled offices on the left and tables beyond
The coworking lounge at The Hayden, with private rooms along one side. Photo: The Hayden, from the building's leasing site, marketing image, via thehaydendallas.com (cropped).

Two DART bus routes stop on Garland Road about a tenth of a mile away, and the nearest rail station is more than two miles off.

Stop or stationServiceStraight-line distance
Garland at LochmondBus routes 15 and 214about 0.1 miles
Garland at EastonBus routes 15 and 214about 0.2 miles
White Rock StationBlue Lineabout 2.6 miles
Lake Highlands StationBlue Lineabout 3.4 miles

What it means: this is a bus-and-car location, with the Blue Line a bus ride or a drive away.

Source: DART's schedule data of October 4, 2026; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch, so the trip by road is longer.

How to Apply at The Hayden

You apply to the leasing office and it verifies your income; there is no lottery and no City application.

Applying for an income-restricted apartment at The Hayden
  1. 1Call or write469-960-4647 or thehayden@resprop.com. Say you are asking about the affordable apartments and give your household size and income.
  2. 2Ask for both rentsthe income-restricted rent and the market rent for the same floor plan, and which utilities you would pay.
  3. 3Visitthe office at 10715 Garland Road is open Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday 1 to 5 p.m.
  4. 4Apply"Apply Now" on the building's site opens the online application.
  5. 5Verify your incomethe site says ProofUp checks bank and payroll records and a government ID, and that "Most applicants are verified in minutes".
  6. 6If you have a voucherask first whether the building accepts it, then bring the tenancy paperwork from the agency administering your voucher.
What to have ready
  • Government photo ID. for every adult
  • Bank and payroll logins or statements. the verification reads income from them
  • Proof of other income. benefit letters or a tax return, in case the office asks
  • Household list. everyone who will live in the apartment, since the limit depends on household size
  • Voucher. your voucher and your administering agency's forms, if you have one

What it means: the building has not published a document list for its income-restricted apartments, so ask for one when you call.

Source: the leasing site's statement on application verification; the household and voucher items are VoucherMatch's additions.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

City records settle that about half the building is restricted at 80% of median income; the building has not published what those apartments cost.

Known and not yet known, as of October 6, 2026
  • Knownat least 151 of 300 apartments are reserved at 80% of area median income; the 2026 income limits and rent caps; the market rents advertised today.
  • Not publishedthe rent of any income-restricted apartment, and how many are open.
  • Not publishedwhether the building accepts Housing Choice Vouchers.
  • Not publishedthe application fee, deposits, utilities and the opening date.
  • Sources disagree151 or 153 income-restricted apartments, and 12 or 18 townhomes.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

At 80% of median income this building serves moderate earners, so a household with a lower income or a voucher should keep other options moving.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does The Hayden have affordable apartments?

Yes. At least 151 of its 300 apartments are reserved for households at or under 80% of the area median income, under its agreement with the Dallas Public Facility Corporation. Two records say 153.

How much is rent for an affordable apartment at The Hayden?

The building does not publish it and says to call the leasing office. The 2026 cap at 80%, with utilities, is $1,696 for a studio, $1,817 for a one-bedroom and $2,180 for a two-bedroom.

How much can you earn and still qualify?

In 2026, up to $67,840 for one person, $77,520 for two, $87,200 for three and $96,880 for four.

Does The Hayden take Section 8?

Its site does not say. The Dallas Public Facility Corporation, which owns the land, says its buildings must not discriminate by source of income. DHA's 2026 payment standard for ZIP code 75218 is $1,602 for a one-bedroom.

Is there a lottery or a waiting list?

There is no lottery. You apply at the leasing office, 469-960-4647. The floor plans page marks some plans "Waitlist"; a waiting-list policy for income-restricted apartments is not published.

Is The Hayden the same as Standard Shoreline?

Yes. The City Council approved the project in June 2022 as Standard Shoreline, at 10715 Garland Road, Dallas, TX 75218. It was registered with the state as The Hayden in 2023.

Are the income-restricted rents below market?

Not necessarily. The 80% cap for a one-bedroom, $1,817 with utilities, is above HUD's $1,610 figure for ZIP code 75218 and above the starting rent of ten of the building's fifteen one-bedroom plans.

Sources for this article (11)
  1. leasing site (thehaydendallas.com)
  2. floor plans page (thehaydendallas.com)
  3. file 22-1311 (cityofdallas.legistar.com)
  4. record for the building (dallaspfc.com)
  5. statement of what it requires (dallaspfc.com)
  6. Income and Rent Tool (hrc-ic.tdhca.state.tx.us)
  7. 2026 payment standards (dhantx.com)
  8. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  9. CandysDirt, November 6, 2023 (candysdirt.com)
  10. income calculator (dallaspfc.com)
  11. family-share rule (ecfr.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Dallas →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.