Willets Point Commons in Flushing, Queens: 880 Affordable Apartments at 126-55 39th Avenue, 747 on Housing Connect From $486 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Photograph of a tall apartment building with red brick lower floors and dark grey panels above, behind a plaza with young trees, planted beds and cafe tables, with white concrete barriers in the foreground, a street sign reading 126 St and Seaver Way, and the steel viaduct of a subway line at the right under a blue sky
Willets Point Commons at Seaver Way (126th Street) in Queens, with the 7 train's viaduct at right. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, from the architect's project page. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped, reduced).
Quick answerWillets Point Commons is two 12-story buildings with 881 apartments at 126-55 and 126-43 39th Avenue, near Citi Field in Queens. NYC Housing Connect advertised 747 of them from $486 for a studio to $4,244 for a three-bedroom, with applications due February 25, 2026. As of October 8, 2026, 19 of the 22 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, and Housing Connect waives minimum income for voucher holders. HDC's re-rental page carried an advertisement that day for 61 apartments at $3,377 and $3,890.

Last checked: October 8, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378, HDC's advertisement for Willets Point Commons on its re-rental search, the leasing site, Department of Buildings jobs Q08032504, Q08032719 and Q00995866 and certificates of occupancy 4624494-0000001 and 4624493-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, city property records for Queens block 1833, HDC's memorandums of March 24 and October 3, 2023, releases by HPD on November 16, 2022, the Mayor's Office on December 20, 2023 and NYCEDC on April 11, 2024 and May 18, 2026, NYCEDC's Willets Point page and its presentations to Queens Community Board 7 of November 12, 2025 and April 29, 2026, HPD's roundup of January 27, 2026 and area median income page, S9 Architecture's project page, reports by New York YIMBY, 6sqft and Brick Underground, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing and re-rentals page, and the 2026 CityFHEPS payment standards in DSS-8r.

Willets Point Commons in numbers
  • 881apartments in the two buildings, on city permits
  • 747apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • $486the lowest rent, for a studio at 30% AMI
  • $4,244the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 150% AMI
  • February 25, 2026the application deadline
  • April 30, 2026first certificate of occupancy for each building

What Was Built at 126-55 and 126-43 39th Avenue

Willets Point Commons is two 12-story, 124-foot buildings with 881 apartments on their city permits, built on city-owned land near Citi Field, where the first tenants moved in during May 2026.

  • Size: Department of Buildings job Q08032504 is for 126-43 39th Avenue: 534 apartments and 527,158 square feet. Job Q08032719 is for 126-55 39th Avenue: 347 apartments and 332,245 square feet.
  • Developer and program: HDC names the developer as Queens Development Group, LLC, which the Mayor's Office calls a joint venture of Related Companies and Sterling Equities. The listing names the "Mix & Match Program" of HDC and HPD.
  • Architect and builder: the permit applicant is Paul Carr, a registered architect at S9 Architecture. The permits were issued to Hudson Yards Const II LLC.
  • Ground floor and garage: HDC's 2023 summary lists 24,500 square feet of retail space and 93,000 square feet of garage parking. A May 2026 permit is for a first-floor "GROCERY & CONVENIENCE RETAILER".
  • The land: city property data lists HPD as the lot's owner, and a lease from the City was recorded with the financing.
Watch outone development, several names and addresses. Housing Connect calls it "WILLETS POINT COMMONS", HDC "Willets Point Buildings 1 and 2" and HPD's data "WILLETS POINT PHASE I BLDG 1 & 2". HDC's memorandum printed "126-43 and 126-45 39th Avenue", and New York YIMBY and the store permit used Willets Point Boulevard.
Photograph of a one-story dark metal entrance pavilion lettered WILLETS POINT COMMONS, with a revolving door and glass doors, set between two brick apartment wings with a strip of sky between them, flowering trees and planted beds on both sides, steel bollards along a curved driveway and five people walking past
The entrance court of Willets Point Commons; the door frame carries the address 126-43 39th Ave. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped to the lower 16:9 band, reduced).
Willets Point Commons, from filing to move-in
  • November 3, 2022both new building applications are filed.
  • November 21, 2023the lease and five mortgages are signed.
  • November 22 and December 1, 2023the general construction permits are issued.
  • December 20, 2023the groundbreaking ceremony is held.
  • December 2025the lottery opens.
  • February 25, 2026applications are due.
  • April 30, 2026each building receives its first certificate of occupancy.
  • May 2026the first tenants move in.

What it means: the first permit to the certificates of occupancy took about 29 months. The Mayor's Office had expected completion "by the end of 2026".

Source: Department of Buildings records; ACRIS; the Mayor's Office; 6sqft; NYCEDC.

Rendering of a large apartment building in red brick and dark grey panels stepping up to its tallest corner, with shops marked RETAIL at street level, a plaza with trees, umbrellas and people in front, a second wing at the left, towers in the distance and a subway train numbered 7 on raised tracks at the right
Rendering captioned "Development View", the first image on the Housing Connect listing for Willets Point Commons. Compare it with the photograph at the top of this article. Photo: Queens Development Group (rendering), from the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, WILLETS POINT COMMONS (lottery 7378) (enlarged 1.25 times).

Where Willets Point Commons Is

The buildings stand on 39th Avenue at Roosevelt Avenue and Seaver Way (126th Street), beside the 7 train's tracks and across Seaver Way from Citi Field's grounds, in ZIP code 11368, Queens Community District 7 and City Council District 21.

StationLinesStraight-line distance
Mets-Willets Point7about 0.2 miles
Mets-Willets PointLong Island Rail Roadabout 0.3 miles
Flushing-Main StreetLong Island Rail Roadabout 0.6 miles
Flushing-Main St7about 0.7 miles
111 St7about 0.8 miles

What it means: the nearest station is Mets-Willets Point on the 7 train.

Source: the MTA's subway station data and, for the rail stations, the listing's map points; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the listing's point for 126-55 39th Avenue, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses: HDC's advertisement names "the Q19, Q90, and Q66 bus routes".
  • Neighborhood names: the listing says "the Flushing neighborhood of Queens (CB-7)", HDC "the Willets Point neighborhood" and the Department of Buildings "Flushing-Willets Point". VoucherMatch files ZIP code 11368 under Corona: see voucher apartments in Flushing, Corona and along the 7 train.
Photograph of a silver subway train on raised tracks in the foreground, with a group of mid-rise apartment buildings in red brick and grey panels beyond a band of trees, and stadium light towers, signs and a dark steel structure at the right
A 7 train passing Willets Point Commons, with Citi Field's light towers and signs at right. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped, reduced).

881 Apartments in Two Buildings, 747 on Housing Connect

The lottery covered 747 of the 881 apartments on the permits, which leaves 134 outside it by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

SourceCount
Permits, certificates of occupancy and HPD's data881
HDC's memorandum"880 (plus one superintendent unit)"
The Mayor's Office and NYCEDC880
Brick Underground, on the lottery"880 rent-stabilized apartments"
Housing Connect listing, in its text and its unit rows747
Count126-43 39th Avenue (Building 1)126-55 39th Avenue (Building 2)Both
Apartments on the permit and certificate534347881
In the Housing Connect lottery456291747
Outside the lottery7856134

What it means: 85% of the larger building and 84% of the smaller one were in the lottery.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs Q08032504 and Q08032719; the Housing Connect listing, counted by VoucherMatch from the address on each unit row; building numbers from the leasing site.

Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedroomsTotal
30% AMI14329560
40% AMI255015999
60% AMI14319660
80% AMI27551710109
120% AMI102213159339
150% AMI00493180
All levels18238111470747

What it means: 339 of the 747, or 45%, were at the 120% level, 315 of them studios and one-bedrooms.

Source: the same listing, counted by VoucherMatch from its 747 unit rows. AMI is the area median income.

Apartments at Willets Point Commons by size: both buildings in HPD's data against the 747 in the lottery
Both buildings (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
View the data table
Apartment sizeBoth buildings (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
Studio236182
1 bedroom429381
2 bedrooms139114
3 bedrooms7770

What it means: 54 studios, 48 one-bedrooms, 25 two-bedrooms and 7 three-bedrooms were outside the lottery, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 67995, updated September 30, 2026; the Housing Connect listing.

HPD's band, by the rent chargedHPD's countLottery levelsLottery count
Extremely low income, 0 to 30% AMI19330%60
Very low income, 31 to 50% AMI9940%99
Low income, 51 to 80% AMI16960% and 80%169
Moderate income, 81 to 120% AMI419120% and 150%419
Superintendent1none0

What it means: by VoucherMatch's subtraction, the 133 income-restricted apartments outside the lottery are all in HPD's lowest band. The Mayor's Office said in 2023 that "15 percent of the units" would be for formerly homeless households. No document opened says how a household is referred.

Source: HPD's data and its column definitions; the Housing Connect listing.

Watch outthe top income level in print differs. HDC's memorandum says "at or below 120% of AMI", and the listing has 80 apartments at 150% AMI. Their rents, $3,684 and $4,244, are under the 120% AMI maximums in HPD's 2025 rent table: $4,374 and $5,054.
Photograph of a planted courtyard with a pale concrete path, a wooden bench, young trees and low bollard lights in front of a red brick building whose large ground-floor window shows a row of exercise machines
One of the planted courtyards at Willets Point Commons, with the fitness room behind the window. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped, reduced).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 126-55 39th Avenue

The 747 lottery apartments had 22 rents, from $486 to $4,244 a month, and the lowest minimum income in the listing is $20,469 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
14 studios, 30% AMI$4861 to 2$20,469 to $40,710
32 one-bedrooms, 30% AMI$6171 to 3$25,475 to $45,810
9 two-bedrooms, 30% AMI$7282 to 5$30,686 to $54,960
5 three-bedrooms, 30% AMI$8303 to 7$35,623 to $63,120
25 studios, 40% AMI$6981 to 2$27,738 to $54,280
50 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$8821 to 3$34,560 to $61,080
15 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,0462 to 5$41,589 to $73,280
9 three-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,1973 to 7$48,206 to $84,160
14 studios, 60% AMI$1,1221 to 2$42,275 to $81,420
31 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,4111 to 3$52,698 to $91,620
9 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,6822 to 5$63,395 to $109,920
6 three-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,9313 to 7$73,372 to $126,240
27 studios, 80% AMI$1,5461 to 2$56,812 to $108,560
55 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$1,9411 to 3$70,869 to $122,160
17 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,3172 to 5$85,166 to $146,560
10 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6653 to 7$98,538 to $168,320
102 studios, 120% AMI$2,0341 to 2$73,543 to $162,840
213 one-bedrooms, 120% AMI$2,5501 to 3$91,749 to $183,240
15 two-bedrooms, 120% AMI$3,0482 to 5$110,229 to $219,840
9 three-bedrooms, 120% AMI$3,5103 to 7$127,509 to $252,480
49 two-bedrooms, 150% AMI$3,6842 to 5$132,035 to $274,800
31 three-bedrooms, 150% AMI$4,2443 to 7$152,675 to $315,600

What it means: a two-bedroom rented for $728, $1,046, $1,682, $2,317, $3,048 or $3,684 depending on income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378, read October 8, 2026; rents are the same in both buildings. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size30% AMI maximum40% AMI maximum60% AMI maximum
1 person$35,640$47,520$71,280
2 people$40,710$54,280$81,420
3 people$45,810$61,080$91,620
4 people$50,880$67,840$101,760
5 people$54,960$73,280$109,920
6 people$59,040$78,720$118,080
7 people$63,120$84,160$126,240
Household size80% AMI maximum120% AMI maximum150% AMI maximum
1 person$95,040$142,560no apartment
2 people$108,560$162,840$203,550
3 people$122,160$183,240$229,050
4 people$135,680$203,520$254,400
5 people$146,560$219,840$274,800
6 people$157,440$236,160$295,200
7 people$168,320$252,480$315,600

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the household's number.

Source: the same listing. The figures through 120% match HPD's 2026 income chart, and each 150% figure is one and a half times the chart's 100% figure.

Where a household could fall outside the ranges
  • Under $20,469below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • No gap between levelsfor every household size from one to seven the levels overlap, by VoucherMatch's check of each row.
  • Household sizeone person tops out at $142,560. The lowest minimum is $25,475 for three people, $30,686 for four or five and $35,623 for six or seven. No apartment takes eight.
  • Asset limit$50,880 at 30% AMI, $67,840 at 40%, $101,760 at 60%, $135,680 at 80%, $203,520 at 120% and $254,400 at 150%.
Key pointtenants pay for electricity. The listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity. Rent includes hot water and heat." Its field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
Watch outthe income figures rose after the lottery opened. HPD's roundup of January 27, 2026 gave "Eligible Income: $20,469 - $301,350", and Brick Underground put the $2,550 one-bedrooms at $91,783 to $174,960. The listing now has $315,600 and $91,749 to $183,240.
Photograph of a furnished apartment with a kitchen run at the left holding wood-tone cabinets, a stainless-steel dishwasher, a smooth-top electric range and a microwave, a round dining table with three chairs, and a living area with a sofa, an armchair, a striped rug and a wide window with a white unit below it
A furnished apartment at Willets Point Commons, in a photograph from the building's leasing site, which does not say which apartment is shown. Photo: Willets Point Commons leasing site (the site names no photographer), leasing site photograph, via Willets Point Commons leasing site, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378 (cropped, reduced).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Nineteen of the 22 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and three are over it, by $51, $491 and $687.

The listing names HPD and HDC as its agencies, so this was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect and HPD's rule applies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program." It names CityFHEPS and Section 8 vouchers from HPD or NYCHA.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Willets Point Commons against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$486$2,034$2,604
1 bedroom$617$2,550$2,734
2 bedrooms$728$3,684$2,997
3 bedrooms$830$4,244$3,753

What it means: every studio and one-bedroom in the lottery rented under the maximum.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

ApartmentsRentCityFHEPS maximumDifference
213 one-bedrooms, 120% AMI$2,550$2,734$184 under
9 three-bedrooms, 120% AMI$3,510$3,753$243 under
15 two-bedrooms, 120% AMI$3,048$2,997$51 over
31 three-bedrooms, 150% AMI$4,244$3,753$491 over
49 two-bedrooms, 150% AMI$3,684$2,997$687 over

What it means: 652 of the 747 lottery apartments, or 87%, rented under the maximum, and 95 over it.

Source: the same listing and DSS-8r; differences are VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. Here tenants pay for electricity, so a voucher program subtracts a utility allowance. DSS-8r's 2026 allowance for electricity with a cooking range is $111, $126, $167 and $209, from studio to three-bedroom. That leaves $2,493, $2,608, $2,830 and $3,544, by VoucherMatch's subtraction: the $2,550 one-bedrooms are then $58 under and the $3,510 three-bedrooms $34 under.
Photograph of a furnished bedroom with a bed, two bedside lamps, framed art and tan curtains beside a two-pane window that looks across a parking lot to a brick stadium, with a small control panel on the wall at the left
A furnished bedroom with a view toward Citi Field, in a photograph from the building's leasing site. Photo: Willets Point Commons leasing site (the site names no photographer), leasing site photograph, via Willets Point Commons leasing site, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378 (cropped, reduced).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 11368

Twenty of the 22 rents are below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 11368, and the two at the 150% level are above it, by $494 and $204 a month.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Willets Point Commons against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11368, in dollars
Lowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11368
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (30% AMI)Highest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11368
Studio$486$2,034$2,780
1 bedroom$617$2,550$2,930
2 bedrooms$728$3,684$3,190
3 bedrooms$830$4,244$4,040

What it means: the $3,684 two-bedrooms are $494 above HUD's figure and the $4,244 three-bedrooms $204 above. The $3,048 two-bedrooms are $142 under.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026: HUD's estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

  • Utilities: rents here leave out electricity, so a tenant's cost sits higher against HUD's figure than the chart shows.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11368.

How Willets Point Commons Was Financed

HDC's memorandum of October 3, 2023 put the expected total development cost at $532,061,612, and city property records show five mortgages to HDC dated November 21, 2023.

Item in HDC's memorandumAmount
Expected total development cost$532,061,612
Expected HDC co-senior bond loan$117,500,000
Co-senior participation loan$122,011,228
2023 Series D bonds, not expected to exceed$135,000,000
Expected HDC permanent financing$0

What it means: the memorandum names Wells Fargo as investor and says "No permanent financing has been secured to replace the Construction Loan."

Source: HDC's memorandum to its members, October 3, 2023, and Attachment 1.

Recorded documentAmount
Mortgage to HDC$202,592,998
Mortgage to HDC$113,154,652
Mortgage to HDC$60,325,177
Mortgage to HDC$54,729,705
Mortgage to HDC$8,345,348

What it means: the five add up to $439,147,880, by VoucherMatch's addition. The records do not say which mortgage carries which program's money.

Source: ACRIS records for Queens block 1833, lots 130 and 135, documents dated November 21, 2023.

  • The bank's figures: the Mayor's Office said in 2023 that Wells Fargo arranged "a $236.5 million construction loan and $123.5 million Low-Income Housing Tax Credit investment". Four of the five recorded mortgages add up to $236,554,882, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Preferences, Building Features and Extra Costs

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Queens Community Board 7.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
What the buildings have: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connecta dishwasher in the apartment, air-conditioning, package lockers, security cameras, a security guard, an on-site resident manager, a rooftop terrace and electric car charging stations, in buildings marked "Smoke-free" and "Pet-friendly".
  • Extra costthe listing marks nine items "additional fees apply": fitness center, playroom, lounges, co-working space, rooftop grills, bike storage, tenant storage, parking and card-operated laundry. It gives no prices.
  • Laundry"in-unit washer/dryers in majority of family size units", in HDC's advertisement.
  • Screening feethe FAQ says "All credit and background check fees may not exceed $20 per application."
  • Not statedpet rules and fees, apartment sizes and the price of parking.
Photograph of a roof terrace with dark planters holding grasses and young trees, grey outdoor sofas, a row of stainless-steel grills on stone counters and a pergola, with stadium light towers and a GO METS sign at the left and a bay and low skyline in the distance
The roof terrace, with the grills the listing marks as an extra-cost amenity. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped, reduced).
Watch outthe sources differ on heat. The listing says rent includes heat and hot water. HDC's advertisement says "Rent includes gas for heating", and the Mayor's Office said in 2023 that "the buildings will be all-electric". Ask the leasing office which applies.
Photograph of a fitness room with black weight machines and a cable station on a pale floor, wood-panelled walls and tall windows looking onto a planted courtyard and brick apartment walls
The fitness room, an extra-cost amenity in the listing. Photograph by Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture. Photo: Peio Erroteta for S9 Architecture, architect's project photograph, via S9 Architecture, Willets Point project page (cropped, reduced).

How Buildings 1 and 2 Fit Into the Willets Point Redevelopment

Willets Point Commons holds the first 880 of 2,500 affordable apartments planned around Citi Field, and the next 220, for seniors, started construction in April 2026.

Diagram of the Willets Point plan in which yellow blocks marked BLDG 1, BLDG 2 and BLDG 3 sit beside Roosevelt Avenue and 39th Avenue under the label Phase 1, 1,100 Affordable Housing Units, a blue block marked SCA stands across 126th Lane, and labels mark Phase 2 parcels named Triangle, Stadium, T and Northern around a soccer stadium, with Citi Field at the upper left and a legend for residential, retail, hotel, stadium and publicly accessible open space
NYCEDC's diagram of the Willets Point plan, from its presentation to Queens Community Board 7 on April 29, 2026. Buildings 1 and 2 are Willets Point Commons. The slide says dates, images and figures are preliminary. Photo: NYCEDC presentation (the slide also carries Related's mark), government agency presentation diagram, via NYCEDC, Willets Point: Community Board 7 Update, April 29, 2026, page 3 (map cropped from the slide and set on a white field; the slide's bullet text left out).
PartWhat is plannedStatus in official records
Buildings 1 and 2880 affordable apartmentsFirst certificates of occupancy April 30, 2026
Building 3, 38-02 126th Lane220 apartments "designated for low-income seniors": 113 studios, 107 one-bedrooms and one two-bedroom in HPD's data"Commenced April 2026"; the building filing is for 12 stories; no rent, age limit or application date published
School site"a new 650-seat standalone public school""Development pad for SCA school" in Phase 1; listed with Phase 2 in NYCEDC's 2026 release
Phase 2 housing1,400 affordable apartments on parcels NYCEDC calls Triangle, T and Northern; HPD said in 2022 that the 2,500 homes "will cover seven buildings"Approved by the City Council April 11, 2024
StadiumEtihad Park, 25,000 seats"remains on schedule for a 2027 opening"
Hotel250 roomsNo date published
Open spaceOne acre in Phase 1 and "100,000+ SF" in Phase 2Phase 1 streets and open space opened April 27, 2026

What it means: of the 2,500 planned apartments, 880 are finished, 220 are under construction and 1,400 have no published dates.

Source: NYCEDC's presentations and releases; HPD's 2022 release and its project 74538; S9 Architecture; Department of Buildings job Q00995866.

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 747 apartments were due February 25, 2026, and on October 8, 2026 HDC's re-rental page said the development "is currently accepting applications" for 61 apartments at the 150% AMI level.

How the 747 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Reviewthe developer reviews applications "in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)".
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timingapplicants may hear "within two to twelve months after the deadline", which runs from late April 2026 to late February 2027 by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: HDC's advertisement says "The Housing Connect lottery is still active for apartments in the lower AMI tiers."

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ and HPD's guide of June 2020.

Apartments in HDC's advertisementRent advertisedRent in the lotteryPeopleYearly income
36 two-bedrooms, one of them mobility-adapted$3,377$3,6842 to 5$121,509 to $274,800
25 three-bedrooms$3,890$4,2443 to 7$140,538 to $315,600

What it means: the advertised rents are $307 and $354 under the lottery's and $380 and $137 over the CityFHEPS maximums. Against HUD's figure the two-bedroom is $187 over and the three-bedroom $150 under.

Source: HDC, "Affordable Housing for Rent", in a file dated October 7, 2026; lottery rents from Housing Connect.

  • How to apply for those 61: applications "may be requested in person by visiting our Leasing Office at" 126-55 39th Avenue, or by emailing inquiries@livewilletspoint.com. The advertisement gives no deadline.
  • Extra rule: applicants "will be required to meet additional selection criteria, such as restrictions on property ownership".
Photograph of a lobby with a slatted wood ceiling around a large skylight, a marble-fronted reception desk at the left, a round rug with curved sofas and armchairs, a floor lamp, brick walls and glass entrance doors opening to the street
A lobby at Willets Point Commons, in a photograph from the building's leasing site. Photo: Willets Point Commons leasing site (the site names no photographer), leasing site photograph, via Willets Point Commons leasing site, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378 (cropped, reduced).
If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the document request lists the exact papers.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.

Where openings are posted
Known and not yet known on October 8, 2026
  • Knownthe listing's rents, income ranges, counts and preferences, and that tenants began moving in during May 2026.
  • Not publishedhow many of the 747 apartments have been leased, a closing date for the 150% AMI applications, and whether the buildings keep a waiting list.
  • Also not publishedamenity, parking and pet fees, the length of the rent restrictions, and dates for Building 3 and Phase 2.
  • Whom to askthe leasing office, or 311: HPD's guide says to "ask for the Affordable Housing Hotline."

If You Need an Apartment Now

The only application advertised on October 8, 2026 asked for an income of at least $121,509, so most households that need to move this year have to look at other buildings.

Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Willets Point Commons first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at Willets Point Commons?

Lottery rents ran from $486 to $2,034 for studios, $617 to $2,550 for one-bedrooms, $728 to $3,684 for two-bedrooms and $830 to $4,244 for three-bedrooms.

How much do you have to earn for 126-55 39th Avenue?

The listing's ranges run from $20,469 a year for a $486 studio to $315,600 for seven people in a $4,244 three-bedroom.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Willets Point Commons?

Nineteen of the 22 lottery rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The Housing Connect FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 126-55 39th Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7378, named "WILLETS POINT COMMONS", for 747 apartments at 126-55 and 126-43 39th Avenue, with applications due February 25, 2026.

Is Willets Point Commons still taking applications?

HDC's re-rental page, in a file dated October 7, 2026, says the development "is currently accepting applications" for 61 two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms at 150% AMI, at $3,377 and $3,890 a month.

Is Willets Point Phase 1 the same as Willets Point Commons?

Partly. Willets Point Commons is Buildings 1 and 2, at 126-43 and 126-55 39th Avenue. Phase 1 also includes Building 3, with 220 apartments for seniors, under construction since April 2026.

Are the rents at Willets Point Commons below market?

Twenty of the 22 are below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11368. The two rents at 150% AMI, $3,684 and $4,244, are $494 and $204 above it.

Sources for this article (26)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7378 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. advertisement for Willets Point Commons (nychdc.com)
  3. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  4. leasing site (livewilletspoint.com)
  5. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. March 24 (nychdc.com)
  7. October 3, 2023 (nychdc.com)
  8. November 16, 2022 (nyc.gov)
  9. December 20, 2023 (nyc.gov)
  10. April 11, 2024 (edc.nyc)
  11. May 18, 2026 (edc.nyc)
  12. Willets Point page (edc.nyc)
  13. November 12, 2025 (edc.nyc)
  14. April 29, 2026 (edc.nyc)
  15. roundup of January 27, 2026 (nyc.gov)
  16. area median income page (nyc.gov)
  17. project page (s9architecture.com)
  18. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  20. Brick Underground (brickunderground.com)
  21. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  22. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  23. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  24. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  25. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  26. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.