151 Hawthorne Street, Prospect Lefferts Gardens: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,836 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 24, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7747, "151 Hawthorne Street Apartments," in Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Brooklyn. It has six apartments at 80% AMI: one studio at $1,836 a month, one one-bedroom at $2,310 and four two-bedrooms at $2,749. Applications are not open yet, and the listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. Every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size.
Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7747 and its rent table, read at the start and the end, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (job B01259800 and demolition jobs), older job filings (job 321596448) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data; the City's lottery data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Brooklyn block 5043, lot 81; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's report of December 21, 2019, read in the Internet Archive's copy. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 6apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
- 27apartments in the building, per the listing and the permit
- $1,836the rent for the one studio
- $2,749the rent for each of four two-bedrooms
- 5stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 24, 2026
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7747, read October 24, 2026; Department of Buildings job B01259800.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 151 Hawthorne Street
151 Hawthorne Street is a new five-story building with 27 apartments. The City issued its building permit on December 31, 2025, and no certificate of occupancy was found.
- Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "151 Hawthorne Street Apartments". No other name was found in the records opened.
- Permit: job B01259800 was filed July 25, 2025. It reads "New five (5) story, twenty seven (27) dwelling unit building."
- Size: five stories, 55 feet and 23,208 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: the filing names 151HAWTHORNESTREETLLC. The 2025 deed and PLUTO name 151 Hawthorne Street LLC.
- Plans: filed by a professional engineer. The filing names no architect.
- Certificate of occupancy: none found in the City's data for the lot on October 24, 2026.
Watch outno photograph or rendering of the new building was found. The listing has no photos, and no developer or architect page was found. The pictures in this report show the street, the area and the nearest station, not the building.
| Record | 2019 plan | 2025 plan |
|---|---|---|
| Job | 321596448 | B01259800 |
| Stories and height | 5 stories, 55 feet | 5 stories, 55 feet |
| Apartments | 22 | 27 |
| Owner named | The Lenore Development Group LLC | 151HAWTHORNESTREETLLC |
| Status | "Plan exam - disapproved" | Permit issued |
What it means: the earlier plan's last action was September 17, 2020. YIMBY's 2019 report gave that plan 22 homes and named DXA Studio as its architect.
Source: Department of Buildings job filings, read October 24, 2026.
- December 17, 2019a five-story, 22-apartment plan is filed.
- January 8, 2020demolition filings for a "three story house", a garage and a shed.
- July 25, 2025the five-story, 27-apartment plan is filed.
- September 26, 2025new demolition filings for an "Existing Two story Building", a rear building and a garage.
- September 29, 2025151 Hawthorne Street LLC buys the lot and signs two mortgages.
- December 31, 2025the first new building permit is issued.
- October 24, 2026Housing Connect lists six apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the two demolition filings describe the old house differently. PLUTO still lists it as built in 1899, with 2.5 floors.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs 321596448, 321958495, B01259800 and B01290369; ACRIS.
What 485-x Means for These Six Apartments
The listing says the project is "a 485X program". It "consists of 27 units in total, of which 6 will be rented as Affordable Units through the lottery at 80% AMI."
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option for this building.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 24, 2026. HPD calls the program "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- Shared spaces: HPD's page says the apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Before a listing: projects under Options A and B send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing."
Where 151 Hawthorne Street Is
The building is in Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11225. YIMBY placed the lot "between Bedford Avenue and Rogers Avenue."
| Record | 151 Hawthorne Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 5043, lot 81 |
| Lot size | 8,400 square feet, 50 feet wide |
| Lot type | Inside lot, not a corner |
| Zoning | R6 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 9 |
| City Council district | 40 |
What it means: the permit's area name is "Prospect Lefferts Gardens-Wingate", and YIMBY calls it Prospect Lefferts Gardens.
Source: PLUTO and Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is 11225 in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Rents and Income Ranges for 151 Hawthorne Street on Housing Connect
The listing has three rents, from $1,836 to $2,749 a month. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $67,886 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 studio, 80% AMI | $1,836 | 1 to 2 | $67,886 to $108,560 |
| 1 one-bedroom, 80% AMI | $2,310 | 1 to 3 | $84,823 to $122,160 |
| 4 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,749 | 2 to 5 | $101,795 to $146,560 |
What it means: four of the six apartments are two-bedrooms.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7747, read October 24, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Studio | One-bedroom | Two-bedroom |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $67,886 to $95,040 | $84,823 to $95,040 | Not offered |
| 2 people | $67,886 to $108,560 | $84,823 to $108,560 | $101,795 to $108,560 |
| 3 people | Not offered | $84,823 to $122,160 | $101,795 to $122,160 |
| 4 people | Not offered | Not offered | $101,795 to $135,680 |
| 5 people | Not offered | Not offered | $101,795 to $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must fall inside the range for the household's size. Not offered means that size cannot rent that apartment.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 2 |
| 2 people | 6 |
| 3 people | 5 |
| 4 people | 4 |
| 5 people | 4 |
What it means: all six apartments allow two people, and only the two-bedrooms take four or five.
Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $67,886below every minimum.
- One person over $95,040over both limits for one person.
- Three people under $84,823below the one-bedroom minimum. The studio allows two people at most.
- Four or five people under $101,795below the two-bedroom minimum, the only size that fits.
- Above $146,560over every limit in the listing.
- Assetsthe rent table sets an asset limit of $135,680 for all three sizes.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." It sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 151 Hawthorne Street?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. All three rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $248 to $768 a month.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,836 | $1,836 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,310 | $2,310 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,997 |
What it means: the studio is $768 under, the one-bedroom $424 and the two-bedrooms $248, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe listing does not say who pays for heat, hot water, electricity or cooking gas. So this report subtracts no utility allowance. If tenants pay some utilities, HRA may count an allowance, and the two-bedroom gap of $248 could shrink. Ask HRA and the marketing agent.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 Section 8 payment standards in NYC.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11225
All three rents are under HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11225. The gap runs from $201 a month for a two-bedroom to $734 for the studio.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11225 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,836 | $1,836 | $2,570 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,310 | $2,310 | $2,710 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,950 |
What it means: the studio is $734 below HUD's figure, the one-bedroom $400 below and the two-bedrooms $201 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. The listing does not say what the rent covers, so the real gap may be smaller.

How 151 Hawthorne Street Is Financed
Property records show a $3,800,000 purchase on September 29, 2025, and two mortgages the same day. No record found names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed | Lenore Development Group, LLC to 151 Hawthorne Street LLC | $3,800,000 |
| Mortgage | 151 Hawthorne Street LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $7,200,000 |
| Mortgage | 151 Hawthorne Street LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $2,550,000 |
| Two leases-and-rents papers | The same parties | $7,200,000 and $2,550,000 |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to $9,750,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. HPD's production data had no project for this lot on October 24, 2026.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 5043, lot 81, recorded October 6, 2025.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 151 Hawthorne Street
The listing posts no preferences, amenities or utility terms yet. It names nearby stations, schools, parks and hospitals.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 24, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsother preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Amenitiesnone listed.
- Utilitiesnot stated.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes, floors, a move-in date and a building website.
- Parkingthe listing says nothing. A Department of Buildings filing from 2026 is for "New 12 foot curb cut".
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Winthrop St | 2, 5 | 0.28 miles | No |
| Parkside Av | Q | 0.37 miles | No |
| Sterling St | 2, 5 | 0.42 miles | No |
| Prospect Park | B, Q, S | 0.45 miles | Yes |
| Church Av (Nostrand line) | 2, 5 | 0.56 miles | Yes |
| Church Av (Brighton line) | B, Q | 0.64 miles | Yes |
What it means: the 2 and 5 at Winthrop St are the closest trains. The listing names the same lines at the stations it lists. It does not list Church Av on the 2 and 5.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, daytime lines; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point (40.6577496, -73.9552863), so the walk is longer.
How to Be Ready When the 151 Hawthorne Street Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 24, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 21 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. Brooklyn's 11 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives log numbers to applicants "whose applicant profiles (Household Info) are complete."
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7747.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing gives no mail address for a paper form yet. The FAQ says to check "the details of any open lottery" for it.
What it means: the listing has no advertisement text yet, so it gives no marketing agent, return address or postmark rule.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsthe FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period", units that open later "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, preferences and building details are not.
- Knownthree rents with income ranges for six apartments, one asset limit, and 27 apartments in total.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences, a marketing agent and a paper-form address.
- Not statedutilities, pets, amenities, apartment sizes, a move-in date and the 485-x option.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990. The FAQ says "We answer calls from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 151 Hawthorne Street yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed Sackett Apartments aka 224 3rd Avenue, due October 26, 2026; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; and 1529 Brooklyn Avenue Apartments, November 16, among others.
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 151 Hawthorne Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7747, "151 Hawthorne Street Apartments." On October 24, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline, and it was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 151 Hawthorne Street?
The rent is $1,836 a month for the studio, $2,310 for the one-bedroom and $2,749 for each of the four two-bedrooms. All six are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 24, 2026. The listing does not yet say which utilities the rent covers.
How much do you have to earn for 151 Hawthorne Street?
Without a voucher, from $67,886 a year for the studio, $84,823 for the one-bedroom and $101,795 for a two-bedroom. The most is $146,560, for five people in a two-bedroom. One person can earn up to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 151 Hawthorne Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. All three rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $248 to $768. The listing does not say who pays utilities, which can change the voucher math. Ask HRA before you apply.
Are the rents at 151 Hawthorne Street below market?
Yes, by HUD's figures. The studio is $734 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11225, and the one-bedroom $400 below. The two-bedrooms are $201 below. HUD's figures include most utilities. The listing does not say what the rent covers, so the real gap may be smaller.
Is 151 Hawthorne Street in Prospect Lefferts Gardens or Crown Heights?
Prospect Lefferts Gardens, by the records. The building permit's area name is "Prospect Lefferts Gardens-Wingate," and New York YIMBY placed the lot in Prospect Lefferts Gardens, between Bedford and Rogers avenues. The lot is Brooklyn block 5043, lot 81, in ZIP code 11225 and Brooklyn Community District 9.
Sources for this article (18)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7747 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- December 21, 2019 (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Harlem, Manhattan
West Harlem Renaissance
- From $1,346 a month
- Applications were due May 28, 2026

West Farms, Bronx
Longfellow Marmion Apartments
- From $1,369 a month
- Applications were due October 8, 2026

Washington Heights, Manhattan
205 Cabrini Boulevard
- From $3,195 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 24, 2026

East Harlem, Manhattan
Peter Jay Sharp Residence
- From $1,323 a month
- Applications were due July 23, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.