Skip to page content

Urban Horizons at 50 East 168th Street, Concourse: 83 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,417 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerUrban Horizons is a 132-apartment building at 50 East 168th Street in the Concourse area of the Bronx. It was Morrisania Hospital until 1976. In 2026, NYC Housing Connect ran a waiting list for 83 of its apartments at 50% and 60% AMI. Rents ran from $1,417 for a studio to $2,527 for a three-bedroom. Applications were due May 6, 2026. Every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. As of October 24, 2026, the lottery was not open.

Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, the City's lottery data, HPD's Marketing Handbook and applying guide (both revised April 2026), HPD's pages on the Year 15 program and Article XI, HPD's production data (projects 48768 and 72762), Department of Buildings jobs 200321124 and 240240066, PLUTO, ACRIS records for block 2480, lot 1, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, WHEDco's Urban Horizons page and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

Urban Horizons in numbers
  • 83apartments on the Housing Connect waiting list
  • 4apartments the listing calls "current vacant units"
  • $1,417the lowest rent, for a studio at 50% AMI
  • $2,527the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 60% AMI
  • May 6, 2026the application deadline
  • 1926the year the building was built, per PLUTO and WHEDco

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432, read October 24, 2026; PLUTO; WHEDco's Urban Horizons page.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
A ten-story tan brick building with red-tiled tower roofs and rows of arched windows, behind a fenced garden of shrubs and trees, with cars parked along the street under a blue sky
Urban Horizons at 50 East 168th Street, the former Morrisania Hospital, seen from the street in May 2019. Photograph by Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons; cropped. Photo: Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 from the left edge (a dark scaffold on the right is left out) and reduced from 3840 x 1957 to 1600 x 900).

What Urban Horizons at 50 East 168th Street Is

Urban Horizons is an existing building, not new construction. It is a 1926 hospital building that was turned into apartments in the 1990s, and it is now in a City preservation program.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "Urban Horizons 1 Waiting List". WHEDco, whose website the listing links, calls the building Urban Horizons. PLUTO writes the address as 50 East 168 Street.
  • The past: WHEDco says "Morrisania Hospital served a population of mostly second generation immigrants for decades before closing its doors in 1976."
  • The conversion: Department of Buildings job 200321124, filed April 5, 1995, was to "change use of existing hospital (Morrisania Hospital)" to apartments, a school, a community center and medical offices. It planned 132 apartments in 10 stories, 160 feet tall.
  • Size today: the listing says "Urban Horizons is a 132-unit rehabilitated residential development". PLUTO lists 10 floors and three buildings on the lot.
  • Owner: ACRIS shows a February 6, 2018 deed from Urban Horizons Tax Credit Fund, L.P. to Urban Horizons Housing Development Fund Corp.
A tall tan brick corner tower with arched upper windows and a stone base, with street signs for Walton Avenue and East 168th Street on a pole and a yellow traffic light at right
The corner of East 168th Street and Walton Avenue, with the building's tallest tower, in May 2019. Photograph by Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons; cropped. Photo: Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (the top of the tower and the sidewalk are trimmed) and reduced from 3840 x 2880 to 1600 x 900).

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "will receive an Article XI tax exemption through the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Preservation (Year 15) Program" of HPD and the Housing Development Corporation. The lottery description adds "LIHTC Year 15 and Article XI program".

The two programs, in HPD's words
  • Year 15HPD says the program "ensures the future financial and physical viability and preserves the long-term affordability of Low-Income Housing Tax Credit ("tax credit") properties."
  • What it can give"residential real estate tax exemptions, below-market loans, and/or extensions or modifications of existing HPD mortgages".
  • Article XI"a tax exemption for HDFC-owned new construction or rehabilitation of affordable housing." HPD says it can last "for up to 40 years".
  • An HDFC"a corporation formed to build low-income housing."

What it means: no document opened gives the length of this building's exemption or rent rules.

Source: HPD's LIHTC Preservation (Year 15) Program page and its Article XI page, read October 24, 2026.

50 East 168th Street, from hospital to the 2026 waiting list
  • 1926the building is built, per PLUTO and WHEDco.
  • 1976Morrisania Hospital closes, per WHEDco.
  • April 5, 1995the conversion job is filed with the Department of Buildings.
  • July 23, 1997that job is signed off.
  • February 6, 2018the deed to the HDFC is signed. HPD's Year 15 project 48768 starts the same day.
  • November 9, 2018a $1,190,855 permit covers work on the basement, first and tenth floors.
  • August 1, 2023HPD lists project 48768 as complete.
  • December 21, 2023HPD's "loan increase" project 72762 starts.
  • April 6 to May 6, 2026the waiting-list lottery takes applications.

What it means: the 2018 permit was signed off June 10, 2025.

Source: PLUTO; WHEDco; Department of Buildings jobs 200321124 and 240240066; ACRIS; HPD production data; the City's lottery data.

City loans recorded on the lot
  • February 6, 2018mortgages to the City of New York, the largest $2,383,968.
  • December 21, 2023a $6,579,944 mortgage to the City of New York and HPD.
  • June 24, 2026a $2,000,000 mortgage to the Housing Trust Fund Corporation.

What it means: the recorded papers do not say what each loan paid for.

Source: ACRIS, borough 2, block 2480, lot 1, read October 24, 2026.

Where the records differ on the building
  • Apartmentsthe listing, WHEDco, HPD and the 1995 job say 132. PLUTO and building jobs from 2012 on say 133.
  • MixHPD's 2018 project lists 18 one-bedrooms and 72 two-bedrooms. Its 2023 project lists 17 and 73.
  • Neighborhoodthe City's address search says Concourse. WHEDco says "Concourse/Highbridge". One building job says West Concourse.

What it means: every record agrees on the address, 50 East 168th Street, ZIP code 10452.

Source: the listing; WHEDco; HPD projects 48768 and 72762; PLUTO; Department of Buildings jobs; the City's address search.

Where Urban Horizons Is

The building is at 50 East 168th Street in the Bronx, ZIP code 10452. It is in Bronx Community District 4 and City Council District 16.

A tan brick building with red roof trim seen from below, behind a pole with green street signs for East 168th Street and Walton Avenue and yellow traffic lights
Urban Horizons from the corner of East 168th Street and Walton Avenue. Photograph from WHEDco's Urban Horizons page; WHEDco names no photographer. Photo: WHEDco, Urban Horizons page (photographer not named), developer's own photograph; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via WHEDco, Urban Horizons (enlarged 1.5 times (900 x 350 to 1350 x 525) and centered on a plain white 1600 x 900 background; not cropped).

83 Apartments in the Waiting List, at 50% and 60% AMI

The listing offered 83 apartments: 35 at 50% AMI and 48 at 60% AMI. It says "This is a Waiting List to fill 4 current vacant units. Eligible applicants will be placed on the list for future vacancies."

Apartments on the Urban Horizons waiting list, by size and income level
50% AMI60% AMI
View the data table
Size50% AMI60% AMI
Studio1012
One-bedroom73
Two-bedroom1323
Three-bedroom510

What it means: 36 of the 83 apartments are two-bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432, read October 24, 2026; the City's lottery data gives the same totals.

Key pointthe listing calls these "83 marketed units", but says only 4 were vacant when it was posted. It does not say which 4.

Rents and Income Ranges at Urban Horizons

Each size has one rent at each income level. Rents run from $1,417 to $2,527 a month.

ApartmentRentCountPeople
Studio, 50% AMI$1,417101 or 2
One-bedroom, 50% AMI$1,51871 to 3
Two-bedroom, 50% AMI$1,822132 to 5
Three-bedroom, 50% AMI$2,10653 to 7
Studio, 60% AMI$1,701121 or 2
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,82231 to 3
Two-bedroom, 60% AMI$2,187232 to 5
Three-bedroom, 60% AMI$2,527103 to 7

What it means: a one-bedroom at 60% AMI and a two-bedroom at 50% AMI have the same rent, $1,822.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432, read October 24, 2026.

Yearly income allowed, by apartment
ApartmentMinimum incomeMaximum income
Studio, 50% AMI$51,875$59,400 to $67,850
One-bedroom, 50% AMI$55,749$59,400 to $76,350
Two-bedroom, 50% AMI$67,338$67,850 to $91,600
Three-bedroom, 50% AMI$78,240$76,350 to $105,200
Studio, 60% AMI$61,612$71,280 to $81,420
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$66,172$71,280 to $91,620
Two-bedroom, 60% AMI$79,852$81,420 to $109,920
Three-bedroom, 60% AMI$92,675$91,620 to $126,240

What it means: for three people, both three-bedroom rows list a minimum above the maximum. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, about those rows.

Source: the same listing. The maximum rises with household size.

Household sizeApartment sizesIncome range
1 personstudio, one-bedroom$51,875 to $71,280
2 peoplestudio to two-bedroom$51,875 to $81,420
3 peopleone- and two-bedroom$55,749 to $91,620
4 peopletwo- and three-bedroom$67,338 to $101,760
5 peopletwo- and three-bedroom$67,338 to $109,920
6 peoplethree-bedroom$78,240 to $118,080
7 peoplethree-bedroom$78,240 to $126,240

What it means: three-person households also appear on the three-bedroom rows, but no income meets both their limits.

Source: the same listing, grouped by VoucherMatch.

Where a household's income reaches no apartment
  • Under $51,875below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One person at $59,401 to $61,611over the 50% AMI limits and under the 60% AMI minimum.
  • Three people and a three-bedroomthe minimums, $78,240 and $92,675, are above the maximums, $76,350 and $91,620.
  • Over the maximum$71,280 for one person up to $126,240 for seven.

What it means: check your own household size against each row before you apply to the next lottery here.

Source: VoucherMatch's count from the listing's minimum and maximum incomes.

Part of an architectural floor plan in pink and black lines, labeled 1 BR, Apt 305 and 505, showing a bath, a bedroom with closets, a kitchenette with a four-burner stove, a round boiler flue and a living and dining room
Part of a floor plan from the Housing Connect listing, labeled "1 BR Apt 305 and 505". The listing captions it "studio". The drawing is cut off at the edges and is not to scale here. Photo: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432 (drawing supplied with the listing; maker not named), lottery listing image; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04), via NYC Housing Connect, lottery 7432 (reduced from 1920 x 1080 to 1600 x 900; not cropped).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Every rent on the list is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. A voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest rent at Urban Horizons against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
SizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$1,417$1,701$2,604
One-bedroom$1,518$1,822$2,734
Two-bedroom$1,822$2,187$2,997
Three-bedroom$2,106$2,527$3,753

What it means: the highest rents are $903, $912, $810 and $1,226 under the maximums.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which are the maximum rents "if all utilities are included in the lease".

Watch outthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity. Stove, heat, and hot water are included in the rent." It does not say if the stove is gas or electric. DSS-8r's "Electric" line is $96, $108, $142 and $176 by size. Its "Electric with Cooking Range" line is $111, $126, $167 and $209. With either taken off the maximum, every rent is still under, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. DSS decides which line applies.
What else the FAQ says about vouchers
  • Accepted"Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA), CityFHEPS, ISS, Medicaid Waiver, and VASH are all accepted."
  • Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Project-based vouchersthe listing's rent table marks no apartment as one.

What it means: a voucher holder pays a share set by the voucher program, not the listed rent.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table, read October 24, 2026.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10452

Every rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10452. The highest two-bedroom rent, $2,187, is 83.5% of HUD's $2,620 figure.

Lowest and highest rent at Urban Horizons against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10452, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10452
View the data table
SizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10452
Studio$1,417$1,701$2,280
One-bedroom$1,518$1,822$2,390
Two-bedroom$1,822$2,187$2,620
Three-bedroom$2,106$2,527$3,280

What it means: the highest rents are $579, $568, $433 and $753 below HUD's figures.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

  • Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. Here tenants pay for electricity, so each apartment costs more than its rent.
  • More in this area: see CityFHEPS apartments in Concourse.
The long tan brick wings of the building around an open courtyard, seen over a black iron fence and flowering shrubs, with a low one-story wing at right and parked cars along the curb
The wings of Urban Horizons seen from the street in May 2019. Photograph by Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons; cropped. Photo: Hugo L. González, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (sky and the lower curb trimmed) and reduced from 3840 x 2880 to 1600 x 900).

Set-Asides, Building Features and Transit at Urban Horizons

The listing names no preference group and no disability set-aside. HPD's Handbook says "Preferences are only applicable to initial lotteries unless otherwise stipulated in a Project's regulatory agreement."

Apartments set aside for families from shelters
  • WHEDco's wordsthe building has "132 energy-efficient apartments, 39 of which are set aside for families coming out of New York City's homeless shelter system".
  • The listingit does not mention these apartments.
  • How they are filledno page opened says.

What it means: ask the building's manager how these apartments are filled.

Source: WHEDco's Urban Horizons page; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432, both read October 24, 2026.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connecta shared laundry room, "Common area Wifi", security cameras, a security guard, an on-site resident manager, an elevator and an accessible entrance.
  • Smokingthe listing calls it "a secure, non-smoking living environment".
  • Pets"Pets are permitted only with prior written approval and are limited to dogs and cats". The listing allows two animals "with weights up to 50lbs each".
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity. "Stove, heat, and hot water are included in the rent."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes in square feet, bathrooms and any laundry charge.

What it means: WHEDco also lists a Head Start program and a health center in the building.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432.

StationLinesDistanceAccessible
167 St4about 0.14 milesNo
167 StB, Dabout 0.22 milesNo
170 St4about 0.24 milesYes
170 StB, Dabout 0.35 milesNo
Mt Eden Av4about 0.58 milesNo
161 St-Yankee Stadium4, B, Dabout 0.70 milesYes

What it means: the listing names the same stations, plus 174-175 Sts on the B and D.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Bus stops in the listing: E 170 St/Grand Concourse, Morris Av/E 165 St and Webster Av/E 167 St. It names no routes.
  • Subway pages: apartments near the 4 train and the D train.
A subway platform with a black column carrying a white 167 Street sign, black railings, white tile walls, an orange tile band and red Exit signs over a stairway
The 167 St station on the B and D lines, about 0.22 miles from the building in a straight line, after its 2019 renovation. Photograph by the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons; cropped. Photo: Metropolitan Transportation Authority, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (MTA) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced from 3840 x 2560 to 1600 x 900).

What Happens After the Urban Horizons Housing Connect Waiting List

Applications were due May 6, 2026. On October 24, 2026, the City's lottery data gave the lottery's status as "Tenant Selection".

What 'Waiting List' means here, in HPD's words
  • The Handbook"A Waiting List lottery follows the same processes as an advertised lottery but can be used for ongoing turnover."
  • When it is used"The Agencies recommend this option for projects with four or more vacant units."
  • When it runs out"Once a project's Waiting List has been exhausted, the Developer or Marketing Agent must notify the Agency".
  • The listing"Waiting List to fill current and future vacancies". It gives no length for the list.

What it means: ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, how long this list will be used.

Source: HPD Marketing Handbook, revised April 2026, section 4-4; Housing Connect listing.

How a waiting-list lottery is worked through
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documentsthe request "includes all required items to submit."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

What it means: the Handbook says waiting-list lotteries "follow the same process as initial lotteries".

Source: steps one and three from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and four from HPD's applying guide, revised April 2026.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy, if the household has one

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers to send.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Key pointthe listing's asset limit is $84,800 at 50% AMI and $101,760 at 60% AMI. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 24, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7432 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search. No other listing for this building was in it.
  • Paper routethe listing's "Apply by Mail" address was 168 39th Street Suite 306, Brooklyn, NY 11232. It is where to send a self-addressed envelope to ask for a paper form. The listing states no postmark rule.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant apartments "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page links to them.
  • The managerWHEDco's page says "Please call Grenadier Realty at 718.240.4176" for rental applications.

What it means: as of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the listing; the Housing Connect FAQ; WHEDco.

Watch outon October 24, 2026, two listing photos of the outside were left out of this report. They look like enlarged street-level map captures, and the listing names no maker. Two drawings were cut-off pieces with no room labels. The floor plan shown here is labeled "studio" on the listing, but the drawing reads "1 BR".

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Urban Horizons

The rents, incomes, pet rules and deadline are published in the listing. How long the list will last is not.

Known and not yet known on October 24, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedwhich 4 apartments were vacant, and how many people applied.
  • Not statedhow long rents stay restricted, the marketing agent's name and the stove type.
  • Not foundan earlier Housing Connect lottery for this building in the City's lottery data.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

The deadline has passed, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026, 3180 Villa Avenue Apartments, due October 30, 2026, and One River Park at 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Urban Horizons first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was Urban Horizons at 50 East 168th Street on Housing Connect?

Yes. Urban Horizons was lottery 7432 on NYC Housing Connect, named "Urban Horizons 1 Waiting List". It offered 83 apartments at 50% and 60% AMI, at $1,417 to $2,527 a month. Applications were due May 6, 2026. On October 24, 2026, it was not in the open-lottery search, and its status was "Tenant Selection".

What is the rent at Urban Horizons?

Rents ran from $1,417 to $2,527 a month. Studios were $1,417 or $1,701, one-bedrooms $1,518 or $1,822, two-bedrooms $1,822 or $2,187 and three-bedrooms $2,106 or $2,527. The lower rent in each pair is at 50% AMI. Rent includes heat, hot water and the stove. Tenants pay for electricity.

How much do you have to earn for Urban Horizons?

From $51,875 a year for a studio at 50% AMI up to $126,240 for seven people at 60% AMI. One person could earn up to $71,280. Each apartment has its own minimum. The Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply to a household with a voucher or rental subsidy.

Does Urban Horizons take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ says Section 8 and CityFHEPS are "all accepted" in its lotteries. Every rent here is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The highest three-bedroom rent, $2,527, is $1,226 under the $3,753 maximum. Voucher holders do not need to meet the minimum income.

Is Urban Horizons the old Morrisania Hospital?

Yes. WHEDco says the building was Morrisania Hospital, built in 1926 and closed in 1976. A 1995 building job turned the "existing hospital (Morrisania Hospital)" into 132 apartments, a school, a community center and medical offices. WHEDco says the work was finished in 1997, and the job was signed off July 23, 1997.

What does "Waiting List" mean in the Urban Horizons lottery?

It means the list fills apartments as they come open. HPD's Marketing Handbook says a waiting-list lottery "follows the same processes as an advertised lottery but can be used for ongoing turnover." The listing names 4 vacant apartments and 83 in all. It gives no length for the list. The hotline, 212-863-7990, can say more.

Are the rents at 50 East 168th Street below market?

Yes, against HUD's figure. Every rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10452. The highest two-bedroom rent, $2,187, is $433 under HUD's $2,620. HUD's figure includes utilities, and tenants here pay for electricity, so the gap is smaller in practice.

Sources for this article (16)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7432 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  4. Marketing Handbook (nyc.gov)
  5. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  6. Year 15 program (nyc.gov)
  7. Article XI (nyc.gov)
  8. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  12. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  13. Urban Horizons page (whedco.org)
  14. station data (data.ny.gov)
  15. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  16. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.