Skip to page content

Bushwick's 1601 DeKalb Avenue: 127 Affordable Apartments, 81 Listed on Housing Connect From $788 a Month

21 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer1601 DeKalb Avenue, a nine-story building with 127 apartments in Bushwick, Brooklyn, received its first certificate of occupancy on May 12, 2026. NYC Housing Connect advertised 81 of the apartments at rents from $788 for a studio to $4,000 for a three-bedroom, with applications due November 5, 2025. As of October 7, 2026, nine of the 12 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, and Housing Connect waives minimum income for households with a voucher. RiseBoro, a co-developer, counts 45 more apartments as supportive housing.

Last checked: October 7, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226, the leasing site 1601dekalb.com, Department of Buildings job 321594672 and certificates of occupancy 3428633-0000001 and 3428633-0000002, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, city property records (ACRIS) for Brooklyn block 3237, lot 23, the Housing Development Corporation's memorandum of November 21, 2023, the City Planning Commission's report of July 11, 2018 and the Department of City Planning's record of the rezoning, pages by RiseBoro Community Partnership and Reside New York, the developers' announcement of April 2024 as printed by the New York Real Estate Journal, reports by New York YIMBY, Brownstoner, 6sqft, BK Reader, the Brooklyn Eagle and News 12 Brooklyn, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing, the Human Resources Administration's pages on supportive housing and the CityFHEPS payment standards in DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026).

1601 DeKalb Avenue in numbers
  • 127apartments in the building, on city permits
  • 81apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • 45supportive apartments, in RiseBoro's count
  • $788the lowest rent, for a studio at 40% AMI
  • $4,000the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 120% AMI
  • May 12, 2026first certificate of occupancy issued
Rendering of a dark grey brick apartment building that steps up from four stories at the left to nine at the right, with rows of square two-pane windows, a glass entrance under a bronze-colored canopy at street level, pedestrians on the sidewalk and tree branches framing the view
Rendering of 1601 DeKalb Avenue in Bushwick, Brooklyn, by Aufgang Architects. A smaller copy is the first image on the Housing Connect listing. Photo: Aufgang Architects, architect's project rendering, via NYC Housing Connect (cropped).

What Was Built at 1601 DeKalb Avenue

1601 DeKalb Avenue is a nine-story, 88-foot building with 127 apartments in two wings, one on DeKalb Avenue and one on Hart Street, built on a former parking lot by Camber Property Group and RiseBoro Community Partnership.

  • Size: Department of Buildings job 321594672 is for a nine-story new building, 88 feet tall, with 127 apartments and 116,868 square feet of floor area.
  • Two wings: HDC describes "one building with two 9-story buildings", and hoist permits from July 2024 name a "DEKALB BLDG" and a "HART BLDG".
  • Who holds it: the land is leased. HDC names 1601 DeKalb Owner LLC, "whose principals are Rick Gropper and Andrew Moelis (Camber Property Group LLC)", and 1601 DeKalb Avenue Housing Development Fund Corporation, "whose sole member is RiseBoro Community Partnership, Inc."
  • Architect and builder: the permit applicant is Ariel Aufgang, a registered architect, and the permits name Fifth Avenue Builders LLC.
  • Programs: the listing names the Mix and Match program of HDC and HPD and HPD's Mandatory Inclusionary Housing program.
  • Heating and cooling: the leasing site calls the building "fully electric, with high-efficiency heating and cooling systems".
  • Before construction: the City Planning Commission's 2018 report describes a 25,000-square-foot parking lot.
Watch outone address, several names. Housing Connect and the sign on the building say "1601 DeKalb". RiseBoro and Reside New York write "1601 Dekalb Avenue Apartments". City records all use 1601 DeKalb Avenue, ZIP code 11237, and older property records for the same tax lot carry 946 Hart Street.
Photograph looking up at a dark grey brick apartment building with rows of two-pane windows, a lower wing at the left, a pale grey side wall above it and a tree in leaf in the foreground under a cloudy sky
The finished building at 1601 DeKalb Avenue, in a frame from the video on the leasing site 1601dekalb.com. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site video frame, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (video frame at about 3 seconds, reduced).
1601 DeKalb Avenue, from rezoning to move-in
  • September 12, 2018the City Council adopts a rezoning of the block, with modifications.
  • July 26, 2019the new building application is filed.
  • December 21, 2023seven mortgages to HDC are signed.
  • January 10, 2024the new building permit is issued.
  • April 4, 2024the Brooklyn Eagle reports the groundbreaking ceremony.
  • September 9, 20256sqft reports that the lottery "launched this week".
  • November 5, 2025applications are due.
  • May 12, 2026the first certificate of occupancy, for 127 apartments, is issued.
  • September 2026News 12 Brooklyn interviews a tenant who moved in from a shelter.

What it means: the new building permit to the first certificate of occupancy took 28 months.

Source: Department of City Planning record P2016K0433; Department of Buildings job 321594672 and certificate of occupancy 3428633-0000001; ACRIS; the Brooklyn Eagle; 6sqft; the Housing Connect listing; News 12 Brooklyn.

  • In 2018: the rezoning application was for 122 apartments with 27 affordable, the City Planning Commission's report says.
  • Completion: before the May 2026 certificate, the developers expected December 2025 and 6sqft wrote "slated for completion in January 2026".

Where 1601 DeKalb Avenue Is

The building sits mid-block on DeKalb Avenue between Irving and Wyckoff avenues and runs through to Hart Street, in ZIP code 11237, Brooklyn Community District 4 and City Council District 37.

StationLinesStraight-line distance
DeKalb AvLabout 0.1 miles
Jefferson StLabout 0.3 miles
Knickerbocker AvMabout 0.4 miles
Myrtle-Wyckoff AvsL, Mabout 0.5 miles
Central AvMabout 0.6 miles

What it means: the L train is about 0.1 miles away and the M train about 0.4 miles.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the building's coordinates in Department of Buildings records, so the walk is longer.

Close photograph of metal letters reading 1601 DEKALB mounted on a dark grey brick wall beside a recessed entrance, with a light fixture and security cameras above and street trees along the sidewalk
The lettering at the entrance of 1601 DeKalb Avenue, in a frame from the leasing site's video. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site video frame, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (video frame at about 5 seconds, reduced).

127 Apartments: 81 on Housing Connect, 45 Supportive

The counts fit together: 81 lottery apartments plus the 45 that RiseBoro describes as supportive housing make 126, and the superintendent's apartment makes 127.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 127the permit, both certificates of occupancy, HPD's data and the leasing site. HDC says "126 (plus one superintendent unit)".
  • 126RiseBoro's page says "126 affordable units", and Brownstoner wrote "a total of 126 apartments".
  • 81 or 80the listing has 81 lottery apartments, as 6sqft reported. Brownstoner counted 80, and New York YIMBY's list had one two-bedroom at $2,636 where the listing has two.
Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedroomsTotal
40% AMI443415
80% AMI1042420
120% AMI191611046
All levels332461881

What it means: 46 of the 81 lottery apartments, or 57%, were at the 120% level, and 15, or 19%, were at 40%.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226, counted by VoucherMatch from its 81 unit rows. AMI is the area median income.

Apartments at 1601 DeKalb Avenue by size: whole building in HPD's data against the 81 in the lottery
Whole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
View the data table
Apartment sizeWhole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
Studio3333
1 bedroom5224
2 bedrooms246
3 bedrooms1818

What it means: 46 apartments sat outside the lottery, by VoucherMatch's subtraction: 28 one-bedrooms and 18 two-bedrooms.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 68779; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226.

Key pointHPD's data and the lottery line up. HPD counts 45 extremely low income apartments (rents affordable at 0 to 30% AMI), 15 very low income, 20 low income, 46 moderate income (81 to 120%) and one for the superintendent. The lottery had 15, 20 and 46.
Watch outthe top income level changed. HDC's 2023 memorandum said the remaining apartments "will be affordable to households earning at or below 100% AMI". The listing's top level is 120%.

Who the 45 apartments outside the lottery are for

Sources describe the 45 apartments in different words, and none opened says which agency refers households to them.

  • RiseBoro's page: "45 units reserved for formerly homeless individuals" and "45 supportive housing units served through the NYC 15/15 program".
  • News 12 Brooklyn, September 2026: 45 apartments "reserved for families who were formerly homeless, young families and young women who are pregnant".
  • Referral in general: the Human Resources Administration says prospective tenants "must work with a pre-approved social service or health provider to complete and submit an HRA 2010e application."
Photograph of a furnished living room with pale walls, wood-look plank flooring, a two-pane window with a roller shade, a white sofa, two grey armchairs, an upholstered bench on a striped rug, two framed prints and a doorway to a bedroom with a made bed
A furnished living room with the bedroom beyond, from the photo gallery on 1601dekalb.com. The site does not say which apartment is shown. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site photograph, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (cropped).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1601 DeKalb Avenue

The 81 lottery apartments had 12 rents, from $788 to $4,000 a month, and the lowest minimum income in the listing is $30,823 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
4 studios, 40% AMI$7881 to 2$30,823 to $54,280
4 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$9961 to 3$38,469 to $61,080
3 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,1782 to 5$46,115 to $73,280
4 three-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,3463 to 7$53,315 to $84,160
10 studios, 80% AMI$1,7601 to 2$64,149 to $108,560
4 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,2111 to 3$80,126 to $122,160
2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6362 to 5$96,103 to $146,560
4 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI$3,0313 to 7$111,086 to $168,320
19 studios, 120% AMI$2,3191 to 2$83,315 to $162,840
16 one-bedrooms, 120% AMI$2,9101 to 3$104,092 to $183,240
1 two-bedroom, 120% AMI$3,4752 to 5$124,869 to $219,840
10 three-bedrooms, 120% AMI$4,0003 to 7$144,309 to $252,480

What it means: a three-bedroom rented for $1,346, $3,031 or $4,000 depending on the household's income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226, read October 7, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size40% AMI maximum80% AMI maximum120% AMI maximum
1 person$47,520$95,040$142,560
2 people$54,280$108,560$162,840
3 people$61,080$122,160$183,240
4 people$67,840$135,680$203,520
5 people$73,280$146,560$219,840
6 people$78,720$157,440$236,160
7 people$84,160$168,320$252,480

What it means: income before taxes had to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Watch outtwo sets of income figures are in print. The table on 1601dekalb.com gives lower maximums than the listing and higher minimums for nine of the 12 apartment types. The rents are the same.
Yearly income range by rent: on the leasing site and in the listing, both read October 7, 2026
RentLeasing site, 1601dekalb.comHousing Connect listing
$788 studio$30,823 to $51,840$30,823 to $54,280
$996 one-bedroom$38,503 to $58,320$38,469 to $61,080
$1,178 two-bedroom$46,218 to $70,000$46,115 to $73,280
$1,346 three-bedroom$53,418 to $80,360$53,315 to $84,160
$1,760 studio$64,149 to $103,680$64,149 to $108,560
$2,211 one-bedroom$80,160 to $116,640$80,126 to $122,160
$2,636 two-bedroom$96,206 to $140,000$96,103 to $146,560
$3,031 three-bedroom$111,189 to $160,720$111,086 to $168,320
$2,319 studio$83,315 to $155,520$83,315 to $162,840
$2,910 one-bedroom$104,126 to $174,960$104,092 to $183,240
$3,475 two-bedroom$124,972 to $210,000$124,869 to $219,840
$4,000 three-bedroom$144,412 to $241,080$144,309 to $252,480

What it means: no document opened explains the difference, so a household between the two figures should ask Reside New York, where the listing sent paper applications.

Source: the eligibility table on 1601dekalb.com; the Housing Connect listing.

  • A misprint on the leasing site: its table gives three people in a 40% AMI three-bedroom "$53,418-$28,320". The listing's maximum is $61,080.
  • A third rent range: Reside New York's page for the building shows "$689 - 3510 Per Month" and the status "Upcoming Project". The listing and 1601dekalb.com both give $788 to $4,000.
Where a household could fall between levels, using the listing's figures of October 7, 2026
  • Under $30,823below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • One person at $47,521 to $64,148over the 40% maximum and under the 80% studio minimum.
  • Asset limitthe listing gives none. The leasing site sets it at "the maximum income requirement for a household size of 4 per the AMI level", here $67,840, $135,680 or $203,520 on the listing's figures.
Key pointtenants pay for electricity. The leasing site says "Residents are responsible for electricity, which is directly metered", "as well as cooling", and its rent table says that "includes electric stove". It adds "Residents do not need to pay for their heat or hot water." The listing does not mention utilities.
Photograph of an open kitchen with wood-tone upper cabinets, white lower cabinets, a stainless-steel refrigerator, dishwasher, range and microwave, a black dining table with white chairs in the foreground and a hallway leading to a grey entry door
A kitchen in a furnished apartment, from the photo gallery on 1601dekalb.com. The site's rent table says the stove is electric. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site photograph, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (cropped).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Nine of the 12 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and three, all at 120% AMI, are over it.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, so HPD's rule applies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 1601 DeKalb Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (120% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (120% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$788$2,319$2,604
1 bedroom$996$2,910$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,178$3,475$2,997
3 bedrooms$1,346$4,000$3,753

What it means: the 120% AMI studio is $285 under the maximum. The 120% AMI one-bedroom, two-bedroom and three-bedroom are $176, $478 and $247 over it.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. Here tenants pay for electricity, including the stove and cooling, so a voucher program subtracts a utility allowance from its maximum. The 120% AMI studios, $285 under, have the least room.
  • Your maximum follows your household, not the apartment. CityFHEPS sets it by family size: a studio or one-bedroom amount for one or two people, the two-bedroom amount for three or four, the three-bedroom amount for five or six.
  • By apartment count: 54 of the 81 lottery apartments were under the maximum for their size and 27 were over, by VoucherMatch's count.
  • The maximum income applies with or without a voucher.
  • Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 11237

Eleven of the 12 rents are below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 11237, and one, the $3,475 two-bedroom, is $205 above it.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 1601 DeKalb Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11237, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (120% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11237
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (120% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11237
Studio$788$2,319$2,850
1 bedroom$996$2,910$3,000
2 bedrooms$1,178$3,475$3,270
3 bedrooms$1,346$4,000$4,140

What it means: the 120% AMI one-bedroom, at $2,910, is $90 under HUD's $3,000, and the three-bedroom, at $4,000, is $140 under HUD's $4,140.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

  • Utilities: HUD's figure includes all utilities and rents here leave out electricity, so the gaps are smaller than the chart shows.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11237.

How 1601 DeKalb Avenue Was Financed

HDC's memorandum of November 21, 2023 put the expected total development cost at $74,705,551, and city property records show seven mortgages to HDC dated December 21, 2023.

Item in HDC's memorandumAmount
Expected total development cost$74,705,551
Expected HDC construction financing$8,625,000
Expected HDC permanent financing$8,625,000
Expected HDC second mortgage$9,075,000
Senior loan, not to exceed$9,775,000
Subordinate loan, not to exceed$9,985,000

What it means: the memorandum lists the tax credit syndicator or investor as "N/A" and names Citibank, N.A. as provider of a stand-by letter of credit during construction.

Source: HDC's memorandum to its members, November 21, 2023, loan chart and Attachment 2.

Recorded documentAmount
Mortgage to HDC$50,202,540
Mortgage to HDC$7,017,971
Mortgage to HDC$5,350,840
Mortgage to HDC$3,724,160
Mortgage to HDC$3,057,690
Mortgage to HDC$1,000,000
Mortgage to HDC$757,029

What it means: the seven mortgages add up to $71,110,230, by VoucherMatch's addition. The records do not say which mortgage carries which program's money.

Source: ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3237, lot 23, documents dated December 21, 2023.

  • "$75 million": the figure in BK Reader's report and the developers' announcement.
  • The land: city property records hold a memorandum of lease dated January 28, 2020 from Two Guys From Glendale Inc. to 1601 DeKalb Owner LLC, indexed at $15,500,000. Brownstoner described "a 99-year ground lease" and wrote "There was no price recorded with the agreement."
  • Affordability term: the developers said "Fifty percent of the units will remain affordable in perpetuity." No regulatory agreement was opened.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 5% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Brooklyn Community Board 4. The developers' April 2024 announcement said "a 50% Community Board preference".
  • 5%preference for New York City employees.
What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connect"air conditioning, in-unit appliances, 24/7 security personnel and camera surveillance, card-operated laundry room, free Wi-fi, and a community room", plus elevators, a courtyard, bike storage and dishwashers.
  • Added by the leasing sitea virtual doorman, a recreation room, an on-site superintendent and a microwave.
  • Extra cost"There is a $2/month fee for bicycle storage", and the laundry is card-operated.
  • RestrictedReside New York's page lists the building as "Smoke Free". The leasing site bars pets over 30 pounds.
  • Not statedapartment sizes in square feet, parking, any store on the ground floor, and whether internet inside the apartment is free.
Photograph of a landscaped courtyard with planting beds of grasses and shrubs, a young tree, concrete paths and a steel canopy over a ramp with railings leading to a door in a pale grey wall of the building
The landscaped courtyard at 1601 DeKalb Avenue, in a frame from the leasing site's video. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site video frame, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (video frame at about 7 seconds, reduced).
Watch outthe leasing site's pet rule contradicts itself: "there shall not be more than one type of pet per household (i.e. one cat and one dog are allowed)". The listing does not mention pets, so ask Reside New York.
Watch outtwo credit check fees are in print: "$20.00 for each household member over the age of 18 years" on the leasing site, and "not to exceed $20 per household" in the Housing Connect FAQ.
Photograph of a bathroom with dark grey stone-look tile on the lower walls and around a white bathtub, a white toilet, a small vanity with a pale wood-look cabinet, a mirrored cabinet and a bar light above it
A bathroom in a furnished apartment at 1601 DeKalb Avenue, in a frame from the leasing site's video. Photo: 1601dekalb.com, the building's leasing site, leasing site video frame, via 1601dekalb.com, the development website named in the NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (video frame at about 42 seconds, reduced).

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 81 apartments were due November 5, 2025, and HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

How the 81 apartments are filled
  1. 1Lottery log"After the application deadline, all applications are compiled in a random order into a lottery log."
  2. 2Review"applicants are reviewed in order of preference and log number."
  3. 3Documents"If they appear to be eligible, applicants will be contacted via Housing Connect to submit their paperwork."
  4. 4Timingtwo to twelve months after November 5, 2025 runs from January to November 2026, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: an applicant with no word by October 2026 is still inside HPD's window.

Source: steps one to three from the FAQ on 1601dekalb.com; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing", June 2020.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income. pay stubs and tax returns
  • Address and assets. proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the document request itself lists the exact papers.

Source: the first four items follow the Housing Connect FAQ; the voucher line is VoucherMatch's addition.

Where the next openings are posted, and what is not published
  • Housing Connectcity lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov. This building was lottery 7226.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect", and points to HPD's re-rentals page and HDC's re-rental search.
  • Reside New Yorkthe marketing agent's listings page has a group labelled "Open for Application". Its contact page gives 718-387-4448.
  • Not publishedhow many of the 81 apartments have been leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, and which agency refers households to the 45 supportive apartments.

If You Need an Apartment Now

Applications for the 81 lottery apartments were due November 5, 2025, so a household that needs to move this year has to look at other buildings.

Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1601 DeKalb Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at 1601 DeKalb Avenue in Bushwick?

Studios were $788, $1,760 or $2,319 a month. One-bedrooms were $996, $2,211 or $2,910, two-bedrooms $1,178, $2,636 or $3,475, and three-bedrooms $1,346, $3,031 or $4,000. Tenants pay for electricity.

How much do you have to earn for 1601 DeKalb Avenue?

The listing's ranges run from $30,823 a year for a $788 studio to $252,480 for seven people in a $4,000 three-bedroom. The leasing site's table tops out at $241,080.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1601 DeKalb Avenue?

Nine of the 12 advertised rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The Housing Connect FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 1601 DeKalb Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7226, named "1601 DeKalb", for 81 apartments, with applications due November 5, 2025.

Is 1601 Dekalb Avenue Apartments the same building as 1601 DeKalb?

Yes. RiseBoro and Reside New York use the longer name, and Housing Connect uses "1601 DeKalb". Older property records for the lot carry 946 Hart Street.

Is 1601 DeKalb Avenue supportive housing?

Partly. RiseBoro counts "45 supportive housing units served through the NYC 15/15 program" among 126 affordable apartments. The other 81 were in the Housing Connect lottery.

Are the rents at 1601 DeKalb Avenue below market?

Eleven of 12 are below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11237. The $3,475 two-bedroom is $205 above HUD's $3,270.

Sources for this article (24)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7226 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. 1601dekalb.com (1601dekalb.com)
  3. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  4. memorandum of November 21, 2023 (nychdc.com)
  5. report of July 11, 2018 (nyc.gov)
  6. record of the rezoning (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  7. RiseBoro Community Partnership (riseboro.org)
  8. Reside New York (residenewyork.com)
  9. announcement of April 2024 (nyrej.com)
  10. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  11. Brownstoner (brownstoner.com)
  12. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  13. BK Reader (bkreader.com)
  14. Brooklyn Eagle (brooklyneagle.com)
  15. News 12 Brooklyn (brooklyn.news12.com)
  16. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  17. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  18. supportive housing (nyc.gov)
  19. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  20. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  21. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  22. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  23. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  24. listings page (residenewyork.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.