Skip to page content

Hell's Kitchen's Rialto West: 133 Affordable Apartments at 509 West 48th Street, From $1,031 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerRialto West has 158 apartments at 509 West 48th Street in Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect advertised 133 of them at 50%, 80%, 120% and 140% of area median income, from $1,031 for a studio to $4,843 for a three-bedroom, with applications due July 20, 2026. The city issued the building's first certificate of occupancy on September 21, 2026. As of October 8, 2026, 83 of the 133 rent under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size and 50 rent above it.

Last checked: October 8, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, Department of Buildings job M00580473 and certificate of occupancy 1091768-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1077, lot 29, the City Planning Commission's reports on C 220338 ZSM and C 220340 HAM, the drawings and City Council resolutions in Zoning Application Portal project 2019M0374, HDC's memorandum of November 21, 2023, HPD's release of February 13, 2019, NYC Parks' plaza page and release of May 29, 2026, pages by Douglaston Development and Clinton Management, the developers' announcement of March 2024, reports by the West Side Spirit, American Theatre and New York YIMBY, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing, HPD's re-rentals page, HDC's re-rental search and DSS-8r.

Rialto West in numbers
  • 158apartments in the building, on its certificate of occupancy
  • 133apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • $1,031the lowest rent, for a studio at 50% of area median income (AMI)
  • $4,843the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 140% AMI
  • July 20, 2026the application deadline
  • September 21, 2026the first certificate of occupancy
Photograph of a mid-rise apartment building with red brick wings on either side of a dark grey metal-clad middle section and rows of black-framed windows, seen across a lot enclosed by a chain-link construction fence with a white site trailer and parked cars in front, tree branches across the top of the frame and older walk-up buildings at the left
Rialto West at 509 West 48th Street in Hell's Kitchen, in a photograph from Douglaston Development's page for the building. The fenced lot in front of it is on the Tenth Avenue side, where the approved site plan shows the public open space. Photo: Douglaston Development (the page names no photographer), developer's project photograph, via Douglaston Development, Rialto West project page (cropped, reduced).

What Was Built at 509 West 48th Street

Rialto West is a brick and metal building with 158 apartments, built on city land over Amtrak's Empire Line rail cut, between West 48th and West 49th streets just west of Tenth Avenue.

  • Size: Department of Buildings job M00580473 is a new building with 158 apartments and 140,496 square feet of floor area.
  • Developer and owners: HDC's memorandum names Douglaston Development as developer. The fee owner is Actors HK Housing Development Fund Corporation, "whose sole member is the Actors Fund Housing Development Corporation".
  • Architect, builder, manager: the permit applicant is S9 Architecture and Engineering PC. The developers' announcement names Levine Builders as builder and Clinton Management as manager.
  • Program: the listing names "the Mix and Match Program" of HDC and HPD.
  • Ground floor: an arts space run by the nonprofit IndieSpace, and public restrooms for the plaza next door.
Watch outone building, three addresses. Housing Connect, the permit and the lettering beside the door use 509 West 48th Street. City planning records call the site 705 Tenth Avenue or the DEP Site. American Theatre gives the arts space as 508 West 49th Street.
Photograph of the lower floors of a red brick building with dark-framed windows, metal lettering reading RIALTO WEST above a dark canopy over glass doors, the number 509 set vertically on the brick beside the entrance, a person walking past blurred by motion, parked cars in the foreground and leaves at the left edge
The entrance at 509 West 48th Street, in a photograph from Douglaston Development's page for Rialto West. Photo: Douglaston Development (the page names no photographer), developer's project photograph, via Douglaston Development, Rialto West project page (cropped, reduced).
How many stories: what each record says
  • Seven stories, 66 feetDepartment of Buildings job M00580473.
  • Eight stories, 77 feetthe City Planning Commission's report and the approved drawings, which label floors one to eight.
  • Eight storiesHDC's memorandum and Douglaston's page.
Architect's section drawing of a building shaded grey, cut from West 48th Street at the left to West 49th Street at the right, with floors labelled 1st FL to 8th FL, residential on floors two to eight and a community facility on the first, rooftop bulkheads, dimension lines marked 66 feet and 77 feet, and a band labelled Amtrak Rail Road under the building
Building section E from the approved land use drawings by S9 Architecture, filed in the city's Zoning Application Portal. It labels eight floors, a height of 77 feet and the Amtrak rail line under the building. Photo: S9 Architecture, architect's land use drawing in a city record, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, project 2019M0374 (705 Tenth Avenue, DEP Site), file "705 10TH AVE_ULURP Revisions_2022-08-22_Stamped.pdf", sheet U-006, Zoning Waiver Sections (one section cropped from the sheet and placed on a white 16:9 field).
Rialto West, from the city's commitment to a certificate of occupancy
  • December 10, 2009the Western Rail Yard Points of Agreement commit the city to affordable housing on the site.
  • February 13, 2019HPD names Douglaston Development and The Actors Fund to develop it.
  • August 24, 2022the City Planning Commission approves two special permits and the disposition of the city-owned site.
  • October 12, 2022the City Council approves, by the stamp on the drawings.
  • January 17, 2024the first new building permit is issued.
  • July 20, 2026Housing Connect applications are due.
  • September 21, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.

What it means: about 32 months passed from first permit to first certificate of occupancy, by VoucherMatch's count.

Source: the commission's reports and approved drawings; HPD's release; Department of Buildings job M00580473 and certificate 1091768-0000001; the listing.

Watch outNYC Parks' release of May 29, 2026 quotes HPD's commissioner on "158 affordable housing units currently serving formerly homeless and low- to middle-income households". Department of Buildings data shows the first certificate of occupancy, marked "Initial", issued September 21, 2026.

Where 509 West 48th Street Is

The building runs from West 48th Street to West 49th Street behind the open lot on Tenth Avenue, in ZIP code 10036, Manhattan Community District 4 and City Council District 3.

Architect's site plan showing a hatched grey building footprint with a small courtyard, running between West 48th Street at the left and West 49th Street at the right, and below it a larger area labelled Publicly Accessible Open Area with curved paths, seating and trees, fronting 10th Avenue at the bottom
Site plan from the approved land use drawings by S9 Architecture, filed in the city's Zoning Application Portal. The hatched footprint is Rialto West; the open area on Tenth Avenue is where NYC Parks plans Lorraine Hansberry Plaza. Photo: S9 Architecture, architect's land use drawing in a city record, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, project 2019M0374 (705 Tenth Avenue, DEP Site), file "705 10TH AVE_ULURP Revisions_2022-08-22_Stamped.pdf", sheet U-004, Zoning Waiver Plan (site plan cropped from the sheet and placed on a white 16:9 field).
StationLinesStraight-line distance
50 StC, Eabout 0.4 miles
42 St-Port Authority Bus TerminalA, C, Eabout 0.5 miles
50 St1about 0.5 miles
49 StN, R, Wabout 0.5 miles
7 AvB, D, Eabout 0.6 miles

What it means: the nearest station, 50 St on the C and E trains, is about 0.4 miles away.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the listing's coordinates, so the walk is longer.

  • Neighborhood names: the listing says "Hells Kitchen" and city planning records say "Clinton/Hell’s Kitchen".
  • Apartments in the area: VoucherMatch groups ZIP code 10036 with Midtown. See voucher apartments in Midtown and apartments along the C train and the E train.

The plaza between the building and Tenth Avenue

The lot east of the building is to become Lorraine Hansberry Plaza, a public space NYC Parks will run on land the Department of Environmental Protection keeps for City Water Tunnel No. 3.

Rendering of an apartment building seen straight on from a plaza: two red brick wings with gridded windows on either side of a dark grey middle section, with trees, benches, a round paved area, a lawn and people walking and sitting in the foreground
Rendering by S9 Architecture of Rialto West seen from the planned plaza on Tenth Avenue, as posted on the Housing Connect listing. NYC Parks listed the plaza as undeveloped on October 8, 2026. Photo: S9 Architecture, architect's rendering in the lottery listing, via NYC Housing Connect, RIALTO WEST (lottery 7548) (reduced).
Lorraine Hansberry Plaza: what the records say
  • GroundbreakingNYC Parks announced it on May 29, 2026, with "new seating and tables, a synthetic turf multi-purpose area, plantings" and "a water spray feature".
  • Statusthe Parks page for the plaza gave its property type as "Undeveloped" on October 8, 2026, with no opening date.

158 Apartments: 133 in the Lottery, 24 Set Aside and One for the Superintendent

The counts fit together: 133 lottery apartments plus 24 that HPD's data counts as extremely low income make 157, and the superintendent's apartment makes 158.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 158the permit, the certificate of occupancy and HPD's data.
  • 157 and oneHDC's memorandum: "157 (plus one superintendent unit)".
  • 175the West Side Spirit wrote "the building offers 175 permanently affordable apartments". No record opened has that number.
Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedroomsTotal
50% AMI81116439
80% AMI8812331
120% AMI131318347
140% AMI347216
All levels32365312133

What it means: 47 of the 133, or 35%, were at 120% AMI, and 65, or 49%, had two or three bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, counted by VoucherMatch from its 133 unit rows.

Apartments at Rialto West by size: whole building in HPD's data against the 133 in the lottery
Whole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
View the data table
Apartment sizeWhole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
Studio3632
1 bedroom4236
2 bedrooms6553
3 bedrooms1512

What it means: 25 apartments sat outside the lottery, by VoucherMatch's subtraction: four studios, six one-bedrooms, 12 two-bedrooms and three three-bedrooms.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 68264; the Housing Connect listing.

Key pointHPD's data counts 24 extremely low income apartments (0 to 30% AMI), 39 very low income, 31 low income, 63 moderate income (81 to 120%) and one for the superintendent. The lottery's 47 at 120% AMI and 16 at 140% make 63.
Watch outHDC's memorandum says the upper tier "will be affordable to households earning at or below 120% AMI". The listing puts 16 apartments at 140% AMI.

Who the 24 apartments outside the lottery are for

Two documents describe them, and neither says how a household applies for one.

  • Douglaston's page: "15% of residences designated for formerly homeless New Yorkers".
  • The City Council's project summary: "Formerly homeless tenants referred by DHS and other City agencies will pay up to 30% of their income as rent."

How the income mix changed between 2022 and the lottery

The lottery's levels match the mix the city proposed in 2022 except at the top, where 130% AMI became 140%.

Income levelProposal in Community Board 4's letter, June 2022Housing Connect listing, 2026
Referrals for formerly homeless households23not in the lottery
50% AMI4039
80% AMI3131
120% AMI4747
130% AMI16none
140% AMInone16
Total157133

What it means: no document opened says when or why the top level moved from 130% to 140% AMI.

Source: Manhattan Community Board 4's letter of June 6, 2022, attached to the commission's report; the Housing Connect listing.

  • What the board asked for: it voted 38 to 3, with five abstaining, to recommend disapproval unless the 40 apartments at 50% AMI were moved to higher levels.
  • New York YIMBY's figure: it wrote of "133 units for residents at 130 percent of the area median income". The listing has none at 130%.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 509 West 48th Street

The 133 lottery apartments had 16 rents, from $1,031 to $4,843 a month, and the lowest minimum income in the listing was $39,155 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
8 studios, 50% AMI$1,0311 to 2$39,155 to $67,850
11 one-bedrooms, 50% AMI$1,3001 to 3$48,892 to $76,350
16 two-bedrooms, 50% AMI$1,5432 to 5$58,629 to $91,600
4 three-bedrooms, 50% AMI$1,7673 to 7$67,749 to $105,200
8 studios, 80% AMI$1,7601 to 2$64,149 to $108,560
8 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,2111 to 3$80,126 to $122,160
12 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6362 to 5$96,103 to $146,560
3 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI$3,0313 to 7$111,086 to $168,320
13 studios, 120% AMI$2,3191 to 2$83,315 to $162,840
13 one-bedrooms, 120% AMI$2,9101 to 3$104,092 to $183,240
18 two-bedrooms, 120% AMI$3,4752 to 5$124,869 to $219,840
3 three-bedrooms, 120% AMI$4,0003 to 7$144,309 to $252,480
3 studios, 140% AMI$2,8051 to 2$99,978 to $189,980
4 one-bedrooms, 140% AMI$3,5181 to 3$124,938 to $213,780
7 two-bedrooms, 140% AMI$4,2042 to 5$149,863 to $256,480
2 three-bedrooms, 140% AMI$4,8433 to 7$173,212 to $294,560

What it means: a two-bedroom rented for $1,543, $2,636, $3,475 or $4,204 depending on income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, read October 8, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size50% AMI maximum80% AMI maximum120% AMI maximum140% AMI maximum
1 person$59,400$95,040$142,560$166,320
2 people$67,850$108,560$162,840$189,980
3 people$76,350$122,160$183,240$213,780
4 people$84,800$135,680$203,520$237,440
5 people$91,600$146,560$219,840$256,480
6 people$98,400$157,440$236,160$275,520
7 people$105,200$168,320$252,480$294,560

What it means: no apartment took a household of eight.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household could fall between levels, using the listing's figures
  • Under $39,155below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • One person, $59,401 to $64,148between the 50% maximum and the 80% studio minimum.
  • Three people, $76,351 to $80,125between the 50% maximum and the 80% one-bedroom minimum.
  • Four people, $84,801 to $96,102, and five, $91,601 to $96,102below the 80% two-bedroom minimum.
  • Six people, $98,401 to $111,085, and seven, $105,201 to $111,085below the 80% three-bedroom minimum.
  • Asset limits$84,800 at 50% AMI, $135,680 at 80%, $203,520 at 120% and $237,440 at 140%, in Housing Connect's advertisement table.
Key pointthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity." It does not say who pays for heat and hot water. Both kitchens in its apartment images have an electric range.
Two photographs side by side of apartment kitchens with white flat-front cabinets, white tile backsplashes, pale counters, stainless-steel refrigerators and wood-look floors: at left a smooth-top electric range under a range hood, with a bowl of green apples on the counter; at right a longer counter with a sink, a range hood and an electric range with a towel on its door
Two kitchen images from the Housing Connect listing for Rialto West. The listing gives its images no captions and does not say which apartments are shown or whether the props were added digitally. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, lottery listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, RIALTO WEST (lottery 7548) (two photographs placed side by side, each cropped and reduced).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Nine of the 16 rents, covering 83 of the 133 apartments, are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and seven, covering 50 apartments, are over it.

The listing names HPD and HDC as its agencies, so this was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program." It names CityFHEPS and Section 8 vouchers from HPD or NYCHA.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Rialto West against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (50% AMI)Highest rent (140% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (50% AMI)Highest rent (140% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$1,031$2,805$2,604
1 bedroom$1,300$3,518$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,543$4,204$2,997
3 bedrooms$1,767$4,843$3,753

What it means: every 140% AMI rent is over the maximum, by $201, $784, $1,207 and $1,090 from studio to three-bedroom.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Income levelStudio1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedrooms
50% AMI$1,573 under$1,434 under$1,454 under$1,986 under
80% AMI$844 under$523 under$361 under$722 under
120% AMI$285 under$176 over$478 over$247 over
140% AMI$201 over$784 over$1,207 over$1,090 over

What it means: the rents under the maximum are the eight at 50% and 80% AMI and the studios at 120% AMI: 83 apartments.

Source: VoucherMatch's subtraction of each rent from the DSS-8r maximum for its size.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. DSS-8r's 2026 allowance for electricity with a cooking range is $111, $126, $167 and $209 from studio to three-bedroom. That leaves $2,493, $2,608, $2,830 and $3,544, by VoucherMatch's subtraction, and the same nine rents are still under.
Two photographs side by side: at left a view from an apartment entry hall past a white kitchen peninsula with a sink to a living room with a sofa, a low table and three dark-framed windows above a wall unit; at right a bathroom with a white bathtub, dark grey wall tile, a shower curtain, a white wall-hung vanity and a mirrored cabinet
An entry hall and living room, and a bathroom, in images from the Housing Connect listing for Rialto West. The listing does not say which apartment is shown or whether the furniture was added digitally. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, lottery listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, RIALTO WEST (lottery 7548) (two photographs placed side by side, each cropped; the left enlarged 1.04 times, the right 1.10 times).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 10036

Fifteen of the 16 advertised rents are below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 10036, and one, the $4,204 two-bedroom at 140% AMI, is $24 above it.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Rialto West against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10036, in dollars
Lowest rent (50% AMI)Highest rent (140% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10036
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (50% AMI)Highest rent (140% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10036
Studio$1,031$2,805$3,650
1 bedroom$1,300$3,518$3,840
2 bedrooms$1,543$4,204$4,180
3 bedrooms$1,767$4,843$5,290

What it means: the 140% AMI two-bedroom is $24 over HUD's figure, and every other rent is under it.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

Income levelStudio1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedrooms
50% AMI$2,619 under$2,540 under$2,637 under$3,523 under
80% AMI$1,890 under$1,629 under$1,544 under$2,259 under
120% AMI$1,331 under$930 under$705 under$1,290 under
140% AMI$845 under$322 under$24 over$447 under

What it means: seven two-bedrooms were advertised as income-restricted at a rent above HUD's estimate for the ZIP code.

Source: VoucherMatch's subtraction of each rent from HUD's figure for its size.

  • Utilities: rents here leave out electricity, so each gap under is smaller than shown and the gap over is larger.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10036.

How Rialto West Was Financed

HDC's memorandum of November 21, 2023 put the expected total development cost at $127,958,130, and city property records show eight mortgages on the lot dated February 2, 2024.

Item in HDC's memorandumAmount
Expected total development cost$127,958,130
Expected HDC construction financing$22,160,000
Expected HDC permanent financing$22,160,000
Expected HDC second mortgage$28,770,000
Senior loan, not to exceed$25,110,000
Subordinate loan, not to exceed$31,650,000

What it means: the memorandum lists no tax credit investor.

Source: HDC's memorandum of November 21, 2023, loan chart and Attachment 3.

Recorded documentAmount
Mortgage to HDC$32,481,241
Mortgage to HDC$22,410,964
Mortgage to HDC$19,455,811
Mortgage to HDC$16,489,014
Mortgage to HDC$12,280,986
Mortgage to HDC$2,359,189
Mortgage to HDC$1,301,500
Mortgage to the City of New York, through HPD$20,399,999

What it means: the seven HDC mortgages add up to $106,778,705 and all eight to $127,178,704, by VoucherMatch's addition. Two more to HDC, $6,573,322 and $1,086,678, are dated April 28, 2026.

Source: ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1077, lot 29, documents dated February 2, 2024.

  • "$125 million": the developers' announcement of March 2024 called it "the $125 million project" and said HDC and HPD "provided a combined total of more than $106 million".
  • The land: the deed from the City of New York is recorded at $1. The council's project summary says "Sponsor will pay one dollar per lot".
  • Rent regulation: the same summary says "All units will be subject to rent stabilization."

Preferences, Building Features and Extra Costs

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Manhattan Community Board 4.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
  • No arts preferencethe listing has none for actors or other entertainment workers.
Rendering of a lobby with textured walls, large numerals reading 509 on the wall above a bank of mailboxes, a woman standing at the mailboxes, potted plants, a paved floor and glass entrance doors at the right
Rendering of the lobby, from the Housing Connect listing for Rialto West. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, RIALTO WEST (lottery 7548) (enlarged 1.25 times).
What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connect"a fitness room, laundry room, broadband internet access, and a pet-friendly policy (restrictions apply; 40 lb. maximum)", plus air-conditioning, an elevator and an accessible entrance.
  • In city planning records"a 2,750-square-foot landscaped inner courtyard" and a bike room.
  • Extra costelectricity. The listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no, and it gives no price for laundry or pets.
  • Restrictedthe listing marks the building "Smoke-free".
  • Not statedparking, a dishwasher and apartment sizes in square feet.
Rendering of a fitness room with a dark floor and white walls, tall windows at the left, exercise bikes, a rowing machine, treadmills and weight machines, and six figures exercising or stretching
Rendering of the fitness room, from the Housing Connect listing for Rialto West. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, RIALTO WEST (lottery 7548) (enlarged 1.25 times).
The arts space on the ground floor
  • Not a resident amenitythe listing says the space "is not a residential amenity or exclusive resident space".
  • Opening"late 2026 or early 2027", American Theatre reported on July 7, 2026.

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 133 apartments were due July 20, 2026, and HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

How the 133 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timingtwo to twelve months after July 20, 2026 runs from September 2026 to July 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: October 8, 2026 is 80 days after the deadline, and the guide adds "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and three from HPD's guide of June 2020.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the document request lists the exact papers.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ, which adds "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers".

Where the next openings are posted
  • Housing Connectcity lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Clinton Managementon October 8, 2026 its affordable housing page listed Rialto West under "Properties With No Current Vacancies" and gave an information line, (347) 287-3100.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page names Clinton Management, and HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements on October 8, 2026, none for Rialto West.
Known and not yet known on October 8, 2026
  • Knownthe rents, income ranges, preferences and deadline in the listing.
  • Not publisheda move-in date, how many of the 133 apartments have been leased, whether the building will keep a waiting list, and the length of the rent restrictions.
  • Whom to askClinton Management, or 311. HPD's guide says to "ask for the Affordable Housing Hotline."

If You Need an Apartment Now

No application for Rialto West was found open on October 8, 2026, so a household that needs to move this year has to look at other buildings.

Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 509 West 48th Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at Rialto West in Hell's Kitchen?

Studios were $1,031 to $2,805 a month, one-bedrooms $1,300 to $3,518, two-bedrooms $1,543 to $4,204 and three-bedrooms $1,767 to $4,843. Tenants pay for electricity.

How much do you have to earn for 509 West 48th Street?

The listing's ranges ran from $39,155 a year for a $1,031 studio to $294,560 for seven people in a $4,843 three-bedroom.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Rialto West?

Nine of the 16 advertised rents, covering 83 apartments, are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The Housing Connect FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 509 West 48th Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7548, named "RIALTO WEST", for 133 apartments, with applications due July 20, 2026.

Is 705 Tenth Avenue the same as Rialto West?

Yes. City planning records call the site 705 Tenth Avenue or the DEP Site. The building's address is 509 West 48th Street.

Is Rialto West open?

The Department of Buildings issued the building's first certificate of occupancy on September 21, 2026. No move-in date has been published.

Are the rents at 509 West 48th Street below market?

Fifteen of 16 are below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10036. The $4,204 two-bedroom at 140% AMI is $24 above HUD's $4,180.

Sources for this article (22)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7548 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  3. C 220338 ZSM (nyc.gov)
  4. C 220340 HAM (nyc.gov)
  5. Zoning Application Portal project 2019M0374 (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  6. memorandum of November 21, 2023 (nychdc.com)
  7. release of February 13, 2019 (nyc.gov)
  8. plaza page (nycgovparks.org)
  9. release of May 29, 2026 (nycgovparks.org)
  10. Douglaston Development (douglastondevelopment.com)
  11. Clinton Management (clintonmanagement.com)
  12. announcement of March 2024 (nyrej.com)
  13. West Side Spirit (westsidespirit.com)
  14. American Theatre (americantheatre.org)
  15. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  16. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  17. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  18. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  19. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  20. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  21. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  22. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.