Skip to page content

East Harlem's 1760 Third Avenue: 172 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,328 a Month

19 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer1760 Third Avenue is an 18-story former college dormitory in East Harlem, Manhattan, that Breaking Ground is converting into 434 apartments. NYC Housing Connect advertised 172 of them at 60% of area median income: 127 studios at $1,328 a month and 45 one-bedrooms at $1,660, electricity, heat and hot water included, with applications due August 10, 2026. As of October 8, 2026, both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, and Housing Connect waives minimum income for voucher holders. The other 261 are supportive housing.

Last checked: October 8, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569 and its advertisement and paper application; Breaking Ground's page for 1760 Third Avenue, release of February 25, 2025, news post of March 4, 2025 and Need Housing? page; Department of Buildings jobs 121253829 and 110016170 and certificate of occupancy data; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; ACRIS and PLUTO records for Manhattan block 1625, lot 33; the Governor's release of February 25, 2025; state Resolution 24-HF-976 and Housing Finance Agency minutes; the Mayor's release of June 27, 2023; Dattner Architects' post; New York YIMBY, Commercial Observer and Multi-Housing News; the MTA's station data; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing and re-rentals page; HDC's re-rental search; and DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026).

1760 Third Avenue in numbers
  • 434apartments after the conversion, on the city permit
  • 172apartments advertised on Housing Connect, all at 60% AMI
  • $1,328the monthly rent for 127 studios
  • $1,660the monthly rent for 45 one-bedrooms
  • $45,532the lowest yearly income in the listing
  • August 10, 2026the application deadline
Photograph looking up at a tall orange-brown brick apartment tower with bands of dark windows and four boxy brick blocks projecting near the top, under a blue sky with thin clouds, with bare tree branches at the right, a street light on a pole and green street signs reading E 97 St at the bottom edge
1760 Third Avenue in East Harlem, seen from East 97th Street, in a photograph from Dattner Architects' post of February 25, 2025 on the start of the conversion. Photo: Dattner Architects (the post names no photographer), architect's project photograph, via Dattner Architects, news post "Transformation begins of 1760 Third Avenue for Breaking Ground" (cropped, reduced).

What Is Being Built at 1760 Third Avenue

1760 Third Avenue is an 18-story brick tower from the 1970s, first a nursing home and then a dormitory, that Breaking Ground bought in June 2024 and is converting into 434 apartments.

  • Size: Department of Buildings alteration job 121253829 lists 18 stories, 186 feet, 247,615 square feet and a cost of $45,000,000, with 424 dwelling units before the work and 434 after.
  • Owner and manager: city property records name 1760 Third Avenue Housing Development Fund Corp, in care of Breaking Ground. Its page says "Breaking Ground will serve as the property manager".
  • Architect and builder: Breaking Ground's release says "Dattner Architects is the project architect and Archstone Builders LLC is the general contractor."
  • Programs: HPD's Supportive Housing Loan Program and the State's Supportive Housing Opportunity Program, in the listing.
Watch outone building, two house numbers. Housing Connect names the lottery "1760 3rd Avenue Residence" and gives the address as "1768 3 AVENUE", the number HPD's data and the city's property file also use. The building permit, the advertisement ("1760 Third Avenue Residence"), Breaking Ground and the State say 1760 Third Avenue. The city's address search returns one lot for both: Manhattan block 1625, lot 33.
Two photographs side by side of the same orange-brown brick tower under a blue sky. Left: the wide front seen head-on, with rows of window bands, four brick blocks projecting at the top, a glass entrance behind bare trees, and a yellow taxi, a police car and vans on the avenue. Right: the tower seen from across an intersection, stepping back toward the top, with a green sidewalk shed around its base, traffic signals and an E 97 St sign
Two photographs of 1760 Third Avenue. Left: the Third Avenue front, the photograph the Housing Connect listing captions "1760 Facade", in the copy on Dattner Architects' post. Right: the building from East 97th Street with a sidewalk shed around its base, from Breaking Ground's news post of March 4, 2025. Neither page dates its photograph. Photo: Dattner Architects and Breaking Ground (neither page names a photographer), architect's and developer's project photographs, via Breaking Ground, news post "Celebrating the Start of Construction at 1760 Third Avenue" (right), and Dattner Architects' post of February 25, 2025 (left) (two photographs placed side by side, each reduced).
1760 Third Avenue, from nursing home to lottery
  • 1974built as the Florence Nightingale Nursing Home, in Dattner's and the State's accounts. The city's property file says 1973.
  • November 13, 2007a Department of Buildings permit, job 110016170, takes the building from 275 units to 424.
  • June 27, 2023the Mayor announces a relief center there "to serve more than 500 families with children seeking asylum".
  • June 26, 2024the deed to Breaking Ground's housing corporation is signed at $172,120,781.60.
  • December 10, 2024the conversion permit is issued.
  • February 25, 2025Breaking Ground and the State mark the start of construction.
  • July 15, 2026New York YIMBY reports that the lottery has launched.
  • August 10, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the conversion permit was issued almost 22 months before October 8, 2026, when Department of Buildings data held no certificate of occupancy for the converted building. The permit runs to December 31, 2026.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs 110016170 and 121253829; ACRIS; the Mayor's release; Dattner; Breaking Ground; New York YIMBY.

  • Expected completion: Breaking Ground's page says "completion is expected by the end of 2026" and, in its overview box, "Anticipated 2027".
  • Stories: 18 on the permit and in the listing; 19 in Breaking Ground's release, the state bond resolution and the city's property file.
  • "Newly constructed": the advertisement is headed "172 NEWLY CONSTRUCTED UNITS". HPD's data files the project under "Preservation".

Where 1760 Third Avenue Is

1760 Third Avenue is on Third Avenue between East 97th and East 98th Streets in East Harlem, in ZIP code 10029, Manhattan Community District 11 and City Council District 8.

Rendering of a sidewalk beside the lower floors of a red-brick tower with dark window bands: low dark-brick planters with shrubs and purple flowers and a black metal fence border a paved walk to a canopied entrance, a few people stand near the door and one walks along the sidewalk under street trees
Rendering by Dattner Architects of the plaza at the entrance, from Breaking Ground's news post of March 4, 2025, which says the work will "refresh exterior courtyard and plaza areas along Third Avenue". Photo: Dattner Architects, architect's project rendering, via Breaking Ground, news post "Celebrating the Start of Construction at 1760 Third Avenue" (enlarged 1.11 times).
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible, in MTA data
96 St6about 0.1 milesno
96 StQabout 0.2 milesyes
103 St6about 0.3 milesno
86 St4, 5, 6about 0.6 milespartly (uptown local only)
86 StQabout 0.6 milesyes

What it means: two stations are within about 0.2 miles, and the nearer one with full access is the Q at 96 St. The listing names "the (6)/(Q) subways and M15-SBS, M96, M98, M101, M102, M103 busses".

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the lot's coordinates in city property records, so the walk is longer.

434 Apartments: 172 on Housing Connect, 261 Supportive

The counts fit together: 172 lottery apartments plus 261 supportive apartments make 433, and the superintendent's apartment makes 434.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 434the conversion permit, HPD's data and Breaking Ground, whose page reserves "261 of 434 total units" as supportive, "The balance of 172 units" for the lottery and one "for an onsite superintendent".
  • 433the listing ("Of its 433 apartments, 172 are affordable to low-income households.") and the State, whose bond resolution counts "433 revenue-generating housing units" among 434.
  • 435Commercial Observer in July 2024 and Multi-Housing News in February 2025.
Apartments at 1760 Third Avenue by size: whole building in HPD's data against the 172 in the lottery
Whole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
View the data table
Apartment sizeWhole building (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
Studio388127
1 bedroom4545
2 bedrooms10

What it means: 127 of the 172 lottery apartments, or 74%, are studios. The 262 apartments outside the lottery are 261 studios and the one two-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 75409; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569.

Key pointHPD's data matches the lottery: 261 extremely low income apartments (0 to 30% AMI), 172 low income (51 to 80%) and one in a column reserved "for building superintendents".
Watch outthe state bond resolution of November 20, 2024 gives a higher ceiling: apartments "expected to be set aside for households with income at or below 65% of the Area Median Income". The listing and the advertisement say 60%.

Who the 261 apartments outside the lottery are for

  • The listing: "Sixty percent of units in supportive housing are set aside for formerly homeless individuals or families with special needs, who are referred by city agencies."
  • Breaking Ground: "261 of 434 total units for individuals exiting homelessness, including a subset of 40 units for young adults aging out of foster care or who have experienced homelessness".
Rendering of a narrow apartment seen from its kitchen: at the right a stainless-steel refrigerator, a smooth-top range under a metal hood, white tile and pale wood cabinets with open shelves; beyond, a room with a pale wood floor, a bed, a chair, a small table and a three-part window, with a white figure seated on the bed
Rendering by Dattner Architects of an apartment, from Breaking Ground's news post of March 4, 2025. It shows stainless-steel appliances and furniture; the listing's photographs show white appliances and empty rooms. Photo: Dattner Architects, architect's project rendering, via Breaking Ground, news post "Celebrating the Start of Construction at 1760 Third Avenue" (cropped, reduced).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1760 Third Avenue

The 172 lottery apartments have two rents, $1,328 a month for a studio and $1,660 for a one-bedroom, and the lowest minimum income in the listing is $45,532 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
127 studios, 60% AMI$1,3281 to 2$45,532 to $81,420
45 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,6601 to 3$56,915 to $91,620

What it means: a year of rent is 35% of the minimum income for both sizes, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic: $15,936 of $45,532 and $19,920 of $56,915.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569, read October 8, 2026. AMI is the area median income.

Household sizeStudio at $1,328One-bedroom at $1,660
1 person$45,532 to $71,280$56,915 to $71,280
2 people$45,532 to $81,420$56,915 to $81,420
3 peoplenot offered$56,915 to $91,620

What it means: income before taxes has to fall inside the range for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household could fall outside the ranges
  • Under $45,532below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • $45,532 to $56,914one or two people in this band fit the 127 studios only.
  • Three peopleonly the 45 one-bedrooms, from $56,915 to $91,620.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in the listing takes them.
Watch outtwo asset limits are in print: $97,200 in the advertisement and $101,760 in the table on the Housing Connect listing. The Housing Connect FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's income level, and another city listing gives $101,760 for four people at 60% AMI. Ask Breaking Ground which it applies.
Part of a printed lottery advertisement: a Who Should Apply section listing set-asides of 5% and 2% and preferences of 20% and 10%, then a table headed Available Units and Income Requirements with a studio at $1,328 (127 units) and a one-bedroom at $1,660 (45 units), an asset limit of $97,200 and income ranges by household size, followed by how to apply by mail and an August 10, 2026 deadline
Part of the lottery advertisement for "1760 Third Avenue Residence", from the application file linked on Breaking Ground's page for the building. Its asset limit is $97,200; the table on the Housing Connect listing says $101,760. Photo: Breaking Ground, on the NYC Housing Connect advertisement form, lottery advertisement, via Breaking Ground, 1760 Third Avenue page (English application with advertisement, July 2026) (page 1 of the PDF rendered as an image, cropped).
Key pointthe rent covers the utilities. The listing says "All utilities, including electricity, including for electric stove; heating and hot water are included in the rent."

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size: the studio by $1,276 a month and the one-bedroom by $1,074.

This was a lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD and two state housing agencies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at 1760 Third Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Rent (60% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeRent (60% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$1,328$2,604
1 bedroom$1,660$2,734

What it means: the studio rent is 51% of the maximum and the one-bedroom rent 61%, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Key pointthe comparison is like for like. The CityFHEPS maximums assume the rent covers all utilities, and the listing names no utility that tenants pay.
  • In the advertisement: "Minimum income listed may not apply to applicants with Section 8 or other qualifying rental subsidies."
  • Your maximum follows your household: CityFHEPS uses a studio or one-bedroom amount for one or two people and the two-bedroom amount, $2,997, for three or four.
  • No credit check with a subsidy: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8, Section 8 payment standards for 2026, utility allowances in NYC and the New York City Housing Authority.
Six photographs of empty apartment rooms in two rows. Top row: three kitchens with dark wood-tone cabinets, a white refrigerator, a white electric range with coil burners and a sink. Bottom row: three rooms with white walls, wood-look floors and black-framed windows looking out on other buildings, two of them with a white unit under the window
Six photographs from the Housing Connect listing for 1760 Third Avenue, captioned "Kitchen 1", "Kitchen 2", "Kitchen + living" and "Living/Dining Area". The listing does not say which apartments are shown. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569, lottery listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, 1760 3rd Avenue Residence (lottery 7569) (six photographs arranged in a grid, each enlarged 1.5 times).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 10029

Both advertised rents are below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 10029: the studio by $952 a month and the one-bedroom by $730.

Monthly rent at 1760 Third Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10029, in dollars
Rent (60% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10029
View the data table
Apartment sizeRent (60% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10029
Studio$1,328$2,280
1 bedroom$1,660$2,390

What it means: the studio rent is 58% of HUD's figure and the one-bedroom rent 69%, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure is its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

How the Conversion of 1760 Third Avenue Was Financed

A state board resolution of November 20, 2024 estimated the total cost at $279,725,126, and city property records show $172,120,781.60 paid for the building on June 26, 2024.

Permanent source in the state resolutionEstimated amount
HPD Supportive Housing Loan Program$126,000,000
HFA Supportive Housing Opportunity Program$71,866,824
HFA first mortgage, 501(c)(3) bonds$26,500,000
HFA first mortgage, Office of Mental Health$21,000,000
HPD accrued interest during construction$17,207,467
Homeless Housing and Assistance Program$10,000,000
Deferred developer fee$2,650,835
Sponsor equity$2,500,000
City Council Resolution A funds$2,000,000
Total$279,725,126

What it means: the nine lines add up to the total, by VoucherMatch's addition. The bond cap is $29,150,000, as in HFA's committee minutes of the day before.

Source: New York State Public Authorities Control Board, Resolution 24-HF-976, adopted November 20, 2024, read from an archived copy. HFA is the state Housing Finance Agency.

Recorded documentDatedAmount
Deed to 1760 Third Avenue Housing Development Fund CorpJune 26, 2024$172,120,781.60
Mortgage to the City of New YorkJune 26, 2024$128,000,000
Mortgage to New York City Acquisition Fund LLCJune 26, 2024$21,000,000
Mortgage to New York City Acquisition Fund LLCJune 26, 2024$8,500,000
Mortgage to the state Homeless Housing and Assistance CorporationJune 26, 2024$6,000,000
Mortgage to the New York State Housing Finance AgencyDecember 19, 2024$75,160,168
Mortgage to the New York State Housing Finance AgencyDecember 19, 2024$45,660,000
Mortgage to the New York State Office of Mental HealthDecember 19, 2024$21,000,000
Mortgage to the state Homeless Housing and Assistance CorporationDecember 19, 2024$4,000,000

What it means: two satisfactions naming the Acquisition Fund are dated December 19, 2024. The records do not say which mortgage carries which program's money.

Source: ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1625, lot 33, recorded July 1, 2024 and January 2, 2025.

  • Three totals: "$264 million project" in the State's release of February 25, 2025, $279,725,126 in the resolution and "$283 million" on Breaking Ground's page.
  • HPD's share: $126,000,000 in the resolution and "$126 million" in the State's release; the mortgage to the City is recorded at $128,000,000.
  • State money: "$75 million" for the Supportive Housing Opportunity Program and "a $24.6 million first mortgage" in the release; $71,866,824 and $26,500,000 in the resolution.
  • The 2019 price: a deed dated February 19, 2019 is recorded at $212,500,000, which is $40,379,218.40 above the 2024 price, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Manhattan Community Board 11.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
  • City residentsthe advertisement says "Applicants who live in New York City receive a general preference for apartments."
What the building has: listed, included, restricted, not stated
  • In the listing"24-hour attended lobby, on-site resident manager, elevators, Multi-purpose room, fitness center, computer lab, on-site laundry room". Its amenity list uses the words "Gymnasium", "Media room", "Recreation room" and "Doorman".
  • On Breaking Ground's page"a medical suite" and offices for its management and social services staff.
  • Included in the rentelectricity, heat and hot water.
  • Restrictedthe advertisement says "Smoke-free building".
  • Feesthe advertisement says "No fee to apply" and "No broker's fee". The Housing Connect FAQ caps credit and background check fees at $20 per application.
  • Not statedpets, parking, laundry prices, air conditioning and whether lottery apartments come furnished.
Four photographs of an empty apartment. Top: a room with a wood-look floor, a unit under the window and an open door looking through to a kitchen, and an entry hall with two white doors and a wall light. Bottom: a bathroom with a toilet, a wide sink and a mirror, and a bathroom with a sink on a metal frame beside a tiled shower stall
Photographs captioned "Bedroom", "Entryway", "Bathroom" and "Bathroom 1" on the Housing Connect listing for 1760 Third Avenue. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569, lottery listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, 1760 3rd Avenue Residence (lottery 7569) (four photographs arranged in a grid, each enlarged up to 1.5 times).
Watch outthe pictures do not all agree. The listing's kitchen photographs show a white refrigerator and a white coil-burner range, which matches "electric stove"; Breaking Ground's 2025 rendering shows stainless-steel appliances. The photographs show a unit under the windows that the listing does not explain, and one bathroom has a shower stall and no tub.
Rendering of an elevator lobby with metal elevator doors along both sides set between pale green stone-pattern panels, a wood ceiling with recessed light panels, a grey tile floor and a white figure standing in the middle
Rendering by Dattner Architects of the elevator lobby, from Breaking Ground's news post of March 4, 2025. Photo: Dattner Architects, architect's project rendering, via Breaking Ground, news post "Celebrating the Start of Construction at 1760 Third Avenue" (reduced).

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 172 apartments were due August 10, 2026, and the advertisement says "Applicants are usually contacted from 2 to 10 months after the application deadline."

How the 172 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Reviewthe paper application says "marketing agents start with the lowest log number and move sequentially to higher log numbers".
  3. 3Documentsan applicant who appears to qualify "will be invited to submit documents".
  4. 4Timingtwo to ten months after August 10, 2026 runs from October 2026 to June 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: HPD's general guide of June 2020 says "two to twelve months" and "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ; the advertisement and paper application for lottery 7569.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

What it means: the document request lists the exact papers.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.

Where the next openings are posted
  • Housing Connectcity lotteries, at housingconnect.nyc.gov. This building was lottery 7569.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacated apartments "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page points to HDC's re-rental search, which listed 24 advertisements on October 8, 2026, none for 1760 Third Avenue.
  • Breaking Groundits Need Housing? page marks buildings "currently accepting applications to join the waiting list". On October 8, 2026 it marked Park House in the Bronx, The Times Square in Manhattan and 90 Sands in Brooklyn, and not 1760 Third Avenue.
  • By phone or mailCentral Intake line 800.324.7055; the advertisement's address was 520 8th Avenue, Suite 2100, New York, NY 10018.

What Is Published and What Is Not

The rents, income ranges and deadline are published; an opening date, apartment sizes and any waiting list after the lottery are not.

Known and not yet known on October 8, 2026
  • Knownthe rents, income ranges, counts, preferences and deadline.
  • Not issueda certificate of occupancy for the conversion. The newest one in Department of Buildings data is dated February 25, 2016.
  • Not publisheda move-in date, how many of the 172 apartments have been offered, apartment sizes and floor plans.
  • Also not publishedthe length of the rent restrictions and whether the building will keep a waiting list.
  • Whom to askBreaking Ground, at the Central Intake line above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

Applications were due August 10, 2026 and the conversion has no certificate of occupancy yet, so a household that needs to move this year has to look elsewhere.

Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1760 Third Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at 1760 Third Avenue in East Harlem?

Studios are $1,328 a month and one-bedrooms $1,660, with electricity, heat and hot water included.

How much do you have to earn for 1760 Third Avenue?

From $45,532 to $81,420 a year for a studio and from $56,915 to $91,620 for a one-bedroom, depending on household size.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1760 Third Avenue?

Both advertised rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The Housing Connect FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 1760 Third Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7569, named "1760 3rd Avenue Residence", for 172 apartments, with applications due August 10, 2026.

Is 1768 Third Avenue the same building as 1760 Third Avenue?

Yes. Housing Connect and the city's property file use 1768 3 Avenue; the building permit and Breaking Ground use 1760 Third Avenue. Both are Manhattan block 1625, lot 33.

Is 1760 Third Avenue supportive housing?

Partly. Breaking Ground reserves 261 of 434 apartments "for individuals exiting homelessness" and one for a superintendent. The other 172 were in the Housing Connect lottery.

When will 1760 Third Avenue open?

No certificate of occupancy for the conversion was in city data on October 8, 2026. Breaking Ground's page says "completion is expected by the end of 2026" and also "Anticipated 2027".

Are the rents at 1760 Third Avenue below market?

Yes. The studio rent is $952 below and the one-bedroom rent $730 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10029, and both include utilities.

Sources for this article (23)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7569 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. advertisement and paper application (drive.google.com)
  3. page for 1760 Third Avenue (breakingground.org)
  4. release of February 25, 2025 (breakingground.org)
  5. news post of March 4, 2025 (breakingground.org)
  6. Need Housing? page (breakingground.org)
  7. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. release of February 25, 2025 (governor.ny.gov)
  9. Resolution 24-HF-976 (web.archive.org)
  10. Housing Finance Agency minutes (hcr.ny.gov)
  11. release of June 27, 2023 (nyc.gov)
  12. post (dattner.com)
  13. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  14. Commercial Observer (commercialobserver.com)
  15. Multi-Housing News (multihousingnews.com)
  16. station data (data.ny.gov)
  17. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  18. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  19. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  20. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  21. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  22. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  23. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.