Skip to page content

2102 Union Street in Brownsville: 19 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,933 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7637, "2102 Union Street," in Brownsville, Brooklyn. It has 19 apartments: four studios at $2,441 a month and two one-bedrooms at $2,456, both at 100% AMI, and eight two-bedrooms at $1,933 and five three-bedrooms at $2,210, both at 60% AMI. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page, Universal Affordability Preference fact sheet and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B01268421) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data (project 77992); PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3531, lot 32; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's reports of July 3, 2025 and January 15, 2026, read in the Internet Archive's copies. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

2102 Union Street in numbers
  • 19apartments on Housing Connect
  • 96apartments in the building, per its certificate of occupancy
  • $1,933the rent for each of eight two-bedrooms
  • $2,456the highest rent, for each of two one-bedrooms
  • 11stories in the building permit
  • Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
  • Universal Affordability Preference (UAP)A City zoning rule that allows more floor area for affordable homes. HPD's fact sheet says buildings "can build 20% more housing if the additional homes are permanently affordable."
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Rendering of an 11-story building with a pale stone-colored facade and a grid of square dark windows with light panels below each, a wide six-story base with planted terraces on its roof, a narrower setback upper section, a ground floor with doors, a dark garage door and planters, and a silver car at the curb, under a blue sky, shown at its original size on a plain light background
Rendering of 2102 Union Street from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637. It shows the building's street front as designed, not a photograph. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 2102 Union Street (lottery 7637) (set at original size on a plain background).

What Is Being Built at 2102 Union Street

2102 Union Street is an 11-story building with 96 apartments, built on top of an old one-story commercial building. The City issued its certificate of occupancy on September 17, 2026.

  • Permit: job B01268421 was filed August 11, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED VERTICAL ENLARGMENT OF EXISTING COMMERCIAL BUILDING TO A TOTAL OF 11 STORY MIXED USE BUILDING."
  • Size: 11 stories, 112 feet and 96 dwelling units. The old building had one story, 10 feet tall, and no homes.
  • Owner: the filings name Glowstone Group. The 2026 deed and PLUTO name 2102 LLC.
  • Plans: filed by Jay Architect & Engineering DPC under a professional engineer's license. New York YIMBY calls the firm the architect of record.
  • Certificate: issued September 17, 2026, for 96 dwelling units. The City's data lists it as an "Initial" certificate, not a "Final" one.
Two renderings side by side on a plain light background: at left, a kitchen with light wood upper cabinets, gray lower cabinets, a white tile backsplash, a stainless steel refrigerator, a stainless smooth-top electric range and a black faucet over light wood-look flooring; at right, a bathroom with a tub behind a glass panel, a black shower head, a gray floating vanity with a black faucet, a rectangular mirror and light, a toilet and pale tile walls
Renderings of a kitchen and a bathroom from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637. They show the design, not a photographed apartment. The kitchen has an electric range, as the listing says. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 2102 Union Street (lottery 7637) (two images set side by side at original size on a plain background).
Where the records disagree
QuestionOne recordAnother record
AddressListing, permit and certificate: 2102 Union StreetPLUTO and GeoSearch: 2100 Union Street
What was builtListing: "a newly constructed 11-story residential building"Permit: an enlargement of an existing commercial building into a mixed-use one
Floor areaPermit: 60,651 square feet of construction floor areaYIMBY: 62,939 square feet, with 1,203 for commercial space
ParkingListing: "bicycle parking" and bike lockersYIMBY: "21 enclosed parking spaces"

What it means: all of these records point to one lot, Brooklyn block 3531, lot 32. YIMBY's 11 stories, 112 feet and 96 homes match the permit.

Source: Department of Buildings job B01268421 and certificate CO-000100591; PLUTO; GeoSearch; Housing Connect listing; New York YIMBY, January 15, 2026.

Watch outa smaller plan came first. On June 30, 2025, a filing at 2100 Union Street sought a new six-story building with 51 apartments. It was withdrawn on August 7, 2025. YIMBY's report on that plan gave its height as 70 feet. The filing says 54 feet.
2102 Union Street, from a one-story building to Housing Connect
  • June 30, 2025a six-story, 51-apartment plan is filed. It is withdrawn August 7, 2025.
  • August 11, 2025the 11-story enlargement is filed.
  • November 10, 2025the plan is approved.
  • December 11, 2025the first building permit is issued.
  • May 13, 20262102 LLC buys the lot and signs three mortgages. HPD's data gives this as the project start date.
  • September 17, 2026the certificate of occupancy is issued for 96 apartments.
  • October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 19 apartments with rents and no deadline.

What it means: a newer change to the plans, filed October 5, 2026, was still with a plan examiner on October 16.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01246098 and B01268421; certificate of occupancy data; ACRIS; HPD production data.

What 485-x and UAP Mean for These 19 Apartments

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Universal Affordability Preference and 485x Tax Exemption Program" of HPD. Its short description reads "485x."

The two programs, in HPD's words
  • 485-x"a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings." The apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
  • UAPhomes "for residents with incomes at or below a weighted average of 60% of the Area Median Income (AMI)." The fact sheet adds "no income band exceeds 100% AMI."
  • Where UAP applies"UAP applies to R6 through R10 zoning districts." PLUTO lists this lot as R6.
  • Before a listing485-x projects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
The 485-x rental options on HPD's page
OptionBuilding sizeWhat HPD's page requires
A100 or more apartments"25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)"
B6 to 99 apartments"20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI"
C6 to 10 apartments"At least half of the units must be rent stabilized."

What it means: no record opened names the 485-x option, or says which apartments count under UAP and which under 485-x.

Source: HPD's 485-x page and UAP fact sheet (April 2025), read October 18, 2026.

Where 2102 Union Street Is

The building is in Brownsville, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11212. Union Street runs north and south here, between Sutter Avenue and Blake Avenue.

What the records call the area
  • Department of Buildings"Brownsville," its neighborhood tag on the permit and the certificate.
  • City Planning's GeoSearchBrownsville, for 2100 Union Street.
  • The listing"located in the Brownsville neighborhood of Brooklyn."
  • New York YIMBY"Brownsville, Brooklyn," and "between Sutter and Blake Avenues."
Record2102 Union Street
Block and lotBrooklyn block 3531, lot 32
Lot size10,000 square feet, 100 by 100 feet
ZoningR6, with a C1-3 commercial overlay
Community boardBrooklyn 16
City Council district41
ZIP code11212

What it means: the other lots on the block face Ralph Avenue, Sutter Avenue and Blake Avenue. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11212 and Section 8 apartments in Brownsville.

Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, the certificate, PLUTO, HPD's data and GeoSearch.

Photograph of an elevated subway platform on a sunny day, with a black sign reading Sutter Av-Rutland Rd on a black railing, black lamp posts, a concrete platform with a yellow edge strip, green-painted canopies over the platforms and tracks to the right, and low brick buildings and trees in the distance
The Sutter Avenue-Rutland Road station on the 3 line in April 2025. It is about 0.06 miles from 2102 Union Street in a straight line. Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

Rents and Income Ranges for 2102 Union Street on Housing Connect

The listing has four rents, from $1,933 to $2,456 a month. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $75,120 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
4 studios, 100% AMI$2,4411 to 2$89,452 to $135,700
2 one-bedrooms, 100% AMI$2,4561 to 3$90,789 to $152,700
8 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,9332 to 5$75,120 to $109,920
5 three-bedrooms, 60% AMI$2,2103 to 7$86,915 to $126,240

What it means: the two-bedrooms are the cheapest apartments, and the one-bedrooms cost the most.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637, read October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Key pointthe bigger apartments rent for less because they are set for lower incomes. The two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms are at 60% AMI. The studios and one-bedrooms are at 100% AMI. A lower income level means a lower rent and a lower income limit.
Apartments at 2102 Union Street by size and income level, October 18, 2026
View the data table
Apartment typeApartments
Studios, 100% AMI4
One-bedrooms, 100% AMI2
Two-bedrooms, 60% AMI8
Three-bedrooms, 60% AMI5

What it means: the two records differ by one studio. HPD's data puts 13 apartments in its 51% to 80% AMI group and 7 in its 81% to 120% group.

Source: the listing's 19 unit records. HPD's production data counts 20 apartments: 5 studios, 2 one-bedrooms, 8 two-bedrooms and 5 three-bedrooms.

Maximum yearly income by household size
Household size60% AMI apartments100% AMI apartments
1 personNot offered$118,800
2 people$81,420$135,700
3 people$91,620$152,700
4 people$101,760Not offered
5 people$109,920Not offered
6 people$118,080Not offered
7 people$126,240Not offered

What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size. Not offered means no apartment at that level fits that household size.

Source: the same listing.

Apartments at 2102 Union Street sized for each household, October 18, 2026
View the data table
Household sizeApartments that allow this size
1 person6
2 people14
3 people15
4 people13
5 people13
6 people5
7 people5

What it means: income must also fall inside the range for that apartment, as the cards below show.

Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment, without a voucher
  • Under $75,120below every minimum.
  • One persononly $89,452 to $118,800 fits.
  • Two people earning $81,421 to $89,451over the two-bedroom limit and under the studio minimum.
  • Four or five peoplenothing fits over $101,760 for four or $109,920 for five. The 100% AMI apartments allow three people at most.
  • Six or seven peopleonly the three-bedrooms fit, from $86,915 up to $118,080 or $126,240.
  • Above $152,700over every limit in the listing.

The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 2102 Union Street?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $163 to $1,543. Tenants pay for electricity here. With DSS-8r's utility allowance added, the studio reaches the studio maximum exactly.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 2102 Union Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,441$2,441$2,604
1 bedroom$2,456$2,456$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,933$1,933$2,997
3 bedrooms$2,210$2,210$3,753

What it means: the studios are $163 under, the one-bedrooms $278, the two-bedrooms $1,064 and the three-bedrooms $1,543, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

The rents do not cover all utilities. The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric heat and the electric stove. Hot water is included in the rent."

Apartment sizeRentRent plus utility allowanceCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,441$2,604$2,604
1 bedroom$2,456$2,644$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,933$2,182$2,997
3 bedrooms$2,210$2,522$3,753

What it means: with the allowance, the studio comes to $2,604, the same as the studio maximum. HRA decides which allowance lines apply.

Source: DSS-8r's 2026 utility allowances. The allowance adds the form's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" lines, which match what the listing says tenants pay: $163, $188, $249 and $312, by VoucherMatch's addition.

What else changes the CityFHEPS amount
  • Family sizeDSS-8r lists one person with a studio at $2,604, one or two people with one bedroom at $2,734, three or four with two bedrooms at $2,997, and five or six with three bedrooms at $3,753.
  • Seven peopleDSS-8r lists seven or eight people with four bedrooms at $4,077. Ask HRA which figure applies in a three-bedroom.
  • Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11212

The two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms rent for well under HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11212. The studios and one-bedrooms rent for more than HUD's figure, before electricity.

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 2102 Union Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11212
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11212
Studio$2,441$2,441$2,280
1 bedroom$2,456$2,456$2,390
2 bedrooms$1,933$1,933$2,620
3 bedrooms$2,210$2,210$3,280

What it means: the studios are $161 above HUD's figure and the one-bedrooms $66 above. The two-bedrooms are $687 below and the three-bedrooms $1,070 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

How 2102 Union Street Is Financed

Property records show a $600,000 purchase on May 13, 2026, and three mortgages from Bank Hapoalim B.M. the same day. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.

Recorded documents for Brooklyn block 3531, lot 32, signed May 13, 2026
DocumentPartiesAmount
Deed2100 Union Realty Holdings LLC to 2102 LLC$600,000
Mortgage2102 LLC and Bank Hapoalim B.M.$16,392,700.18
Mortgage2102 LLC and Bank Hapoalim B.M.$5,835,606.22
Mortgage2102 LLC and Bank Hapoalim B.M.$1,771,693.60
Declaration2102 LLCnone listed
Subordination agreementBank Hapoalim B.M. and "The City of New York Department of Housing"none listed

What it means: the three mortgages add up to $24,000,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. ACRIS's index does not show what the declaration says.

Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 3531, lot 32. The party name is printed as ACRIS shows it.

HPD's production data defines its start date as "the date of the project loan closing and regulatory agreement" or "the notice of intent to market affordable units." No announcement of the financing was found.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 2102 Union Street

The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It names two amenities and says who pays for which utilities.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
  • Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
What the building has, in the listing
  • Listed amenities"Bike storage lockers" and "Rooftop terrace."
  • In the description"bicycle parking and a rooftop recreation area for residents to enjoy."
  • Includedhot water.
  • Tenant payselectricity, "including electric heat and the electric stove." The kitchen rendering shows a smooth-top range.
  • Not statedpets, apartment sizes, whether any amenity costs extra, and a building website. The listing marks no deposit or application fee.
StationLines in the MTA's dataStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Sutter Av-Rutland Rd30.06 milesNo
Saratoga Av30.36 milesNo
Crown Hts-Utica Av3, 40.66 milesYes
Rockaway Av30.68 milesNo
Ralph AvC0.96 milesNo
Sutter AvL1.07 milesNo

What it means: the listing shows the 3 and 4 at Sutter Av-Rutland Rd and Saratoga Av. The MTA's data lists daytime 3 service there, and the 4 at Crown Hts-Utica Av.

Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6648982, -73.9214715).

  • Close by, per the listing: Lincoln Terrace / Arthur S. Somers Park, about 0.33 miles away, Kennedy King Playground, 0.43 miles, and Betsy Head Park, 0.46 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
  • Along the line: see apartments near the 3 train and the 4 train.
Photograph under the steel canopy of an elevated subway platform, with a black sign reading Sutter Av-Rutland Rd on a white wall at right, two metal benches and a trash can, the platform running into the distance, and a silver subway train on the far track at left
The covered part of a platform at the Sutter Avenue-Rutland Road station, with a train on the other track, in April 2025. Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

How to Be Ready When the 2102 Union Street Lottery Opens

Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.

On two reads on October 18, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. Brooklyn's 7 open rental lotteries were other buildings.

Getting ready for the 2102 Union Street lottery
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
  2. 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7637.
  3. 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again when the deadline is posted.
  4. 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  5. 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 139 Tompkins Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205, for this listing.

What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after a Housing Connect deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  • Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
  • If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
  • Later openingsHPD's 2020 guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect. The current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period" they "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."

What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.

Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.

Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $101,760 for the 60% AMI apartments and $169,600 for the 100% AMI apartments. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery

The rents, incomes, utilities and asset limits are posted. The deadline and the preferences are not.

Known and not yet known on October 18, 2026
  • Knownfour rents with income ranges for 19 apartments, who pays which utilities, two asset limits and a mail address for paper forms.
  • Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent's name.
  • Not statedpets, apartment sizes and floors, amenity fees, a move-in date, and which 485-x option applies.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Photograph of a five-story red brick school building with arched upper windows, a carved stone entrance, an American flag, a blue sign reading Bilingual Center P.S. 189, bare trees, a black iron fence, snow on the ground and two parked cars on the street
PS 189 on East New York Avenue in 2011, seen from Lincoln Terrace Park, which the listing names among nearby places. The park is about 0.33 miles from 2102 Union Street. Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at 2102 Union Street yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; and 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 2102 Union Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for 2102 Union Street on Housing Connect?

Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7637, "2102 Union Street." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.

What is the rent at 2102 Union Street?

The rent is $1,933 a month for a two-bedroom, $2,210 for a three-bedroom, $2,441 for a studio and $2,456 for a one-bedroom. These are the listing's rents as read on October 18, 2026. Hot water is included. Tenants pay for electricity, including heat and the stove, so the monthly cost is higher.

How much do you have to earn for 2102 Union Street?

Without a voucher, from $75,120 a year for a two-bedroom, $86,915 for a three-bedroom, $89,452 for a studio and $90,789 for a one-bedroom. The most is $152,700, for three people in a one-bedroom. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does 2102 Union Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. With DSS-8r's electric allowance added, the studio equals the $2,604 studio maximum. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.

Is 2102 Union Street the same as 2100 Union Street?

Yes, they are one lot. Housing Connect, the building permit and the certificate of occupancy use 2102 Union Street. PLUTO and the City's GeoSearch list the lot, Brooklyn block 3531, lot 32, as 2100 Union Street. An earlier six-story plan filed at 2100 was withdrawn. The building is in Brownsville, between Sutter and Blake avenues.

Why do the bigger apartments at 2102 Union Street cost less?

Because they are set for lower incomes. The two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms are at 60% AMI, so their rents are $1,933 and $2,210. The studios and one-bedrooms are at 100% AMI, at $2,441 and $2,456. Each income level has its own rent and its own income limits in the listing.

Are the rents at 2102 Union Street below market?

Partly. The two-bedrooms are $687 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212, and the three-bedrooms $1,070 below. The studios are $161 above HUD's figure and the one-bedrooms $66 above. HUD's figures include utilities, and tenants here pay for electricity.

Sources for this article (18)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7637 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. 485-x page (nyc.gov)
  5. Universal Affordability Preference fact sheet (nyc.gov)
  6. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  7. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  8. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  13. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  14. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  15. station data (data.ny.gov)
  16. July 3, 2025 (web.archive.org)
  17. January 15, 2026 (web.archive.org)
  18. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.