Skip to page content

36-45 31st Street in Dutch Kills: 12 Apartments on Housing Connect at $3,059 a Month

19 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists 12 income-restricted one-bedrooms at 36-45 31st Street in Dutch Kills, Queens, each at $3,059 a month. The listing calls the area Astoria. Applications are not open yet: the listing has no deadline. All 12 are at 130% of area median income, in a new six-story building with 40 apartments. The rent is $325 above the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum and $121 below HUD's figure for the ZIP code.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7714, read twice, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the Housing Connect FAQ; the City's data on advertised lotteries; HPD's 421-a page and Affordable Housing Production by Building; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings, BIS job 421797611 and certificate of occupancy data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Queens block 600, lot 8; City Planning's address search and neighborhood map; DSS-8r (October 14, 2026); HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; New York YIMBY (November 2023); and the New York Real Estate Journal (May 26, 2026). How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

36-45 31st Street in numbers
  • 12one-bedrooms listed on Housing Connect
  • 40apartments in the building, in city records
  • $3,059the rent for each listed apartment
  • $113,520the minimum yearly income, without a voucher
  • $2,734the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum
  • Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • 421-a(16)A property tax break for new apartment buildings. HPD's page says a 2017 law renamed it the "Affordable New York Housing Program."
  • CityFHEPS (the City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement)a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Rendering of a six-story brick apartment building with green-framed glass stair towers, stacked balconies with dark railings, a landscaped roof terrace and tall ground-floor windows, with cars and cyclists on a wet street in front
Rendering of 36-45 31st Street in Dutch Kills, Queens, by its designer Green Design Construct, as posted on the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7714 and published by New York YIMBY in November 2023. The finished building may differ. Photo: Green Design Construct (designer's rendering), designer's project rendering, posted on the official lottery listing, via NYC Housing Connect, lottery 7714 (larger copy of the listing's rendering scaled 1.05 times and centred on a plain light grey background).

What Is Being Built at 36-45 31st Street

36-45 31st Street is a new six-story building with 40 apartments, on a lot that held a one-story commercial building until 2020.

  • Permits: Department of Buildings (DOB) job 421797611 was filed August 29, 2019. It proposes 6 stories, 75 feet and 40 homes. The plans were approved November 14, 2019. Full permits came May 7, 2021.
  • Owner: the job and City Planning's PLUTO name 36-45 31st Street Owner LLC. That company bought the lot on October 21, 2025, ACRIS shows.
  • Developer: the New York Real Estate Journal says "Prosper Property Group acquired the partially completed development" in "late October 2025." DOB filings from November 2025 name it as owner.
  • Program: the listing says "Initial units for 12 421a16 units in Astoria, Queens."
  • Certificate of occupancy: DOB's data shows an "Initial" certificate for 40 apartments on June 2, 2026. A "Renewal Without Change" followed on September 25, 2026. The data does not say if either is temporary or final.
Watch outone building, several names. Housing Connect calls it "36-45 31st Street Apartments." New York YIMBY called it "The Greene" in 2023. The Real Estate Journal calls it "Midori." Some DOB filings for the same building number use 36-43 31st Street.
36-45 31st Street, from car rental lot to Housing Connect
  • February 1, 201936-45 31st Street LLC buys the lot for $6,314,000.
  • August 29, 2019the new building job is filed.
  • October 9, 2019a job to demolish a "TEMPORARY COMMERCIAL BUILDING" is filed.
  • May 7, 2021the job is fully permitted.
  • August 7, 2024a filing for temporary shoring says "THE EXISTING 2ND FLOOR TRANSFER BEAMS MAYBE OVERSTRESSED PER THE STRUCTURAL PEER REVIEW."
  • October 21, 2025the lot passes to 36-45 31st Street Owner LLC.
  • June 2, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 12 apartments with a rent and no deadline.

What it means: the building has a certificate on record, and its lottery is listed but not open.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings job filings and certificate data; New York YIMBY, November 2023, which says an Enterprise rental car site was here before.

Where the records disagree about the building
  • Stories6 in the DOB job. PLUTO says 7 floors. YIMBY described six stories plus "a penthouse unit."
  • Floor area48,000 square feet in the DOB job and YIMBY. PLUTO says 41,156. The Real Estate Journal says "54,000 s/f" in its text and "54,625" in its project box.
  • DesignerYIMBY's rendering caption says "Designed by Green Design Construct." The Real Estate Journal names "Studios Go" as architect. The main permit names a registered architect but no firm.

What the 421-a(16) Program Means for the 12 Apartments

421-a(16) gives a new building a tax break, and in return some apartments must stay affordable for decades.

The 421-a(16) rental rules, in the words of HPD's program page
  • Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI." The project "cannot receive any government subsidies."
Key pointno document opened names the option this building chose. The listing gives only "421a16" and one income level, 130% AMI. The Real Estate Journal says the project was "successfully qualifying for the 421a program." HPD's production data has no row for this lot.

Where 36-45 31st Street Is

The building is in ZIP code 11106, on 31st Street between 36th and 37th Avenues, by YIMBY's account.

The location in the records
  • NeighborhoodDOB and City Planning place the lot in "Queensbridge-Ravenswood-Dutch Kills." YIMBY says Dutch Kills. The listing says "ASTORIA." City Planning's address search and the Real Estate Journal say Long Island City.
  • ZIP code and districts11106 in the listing, DOB's filings, PLUTO and the City's address search. DOB gives Community Board 1 and City Council District 26.
  • Parksthe listing names Playground Thirty-Five, about 0.44 miles away in a straight line, and Dutch Kills Green, about 0.52 miles.
Photograph of a subway stair with a red pagoda-style canopy and a sign reading 39 Avenue - Dutch Kills Station with N and W symbols, under an elevated steel track, with a red SUV parked beside it and a chain-link fence topped with razor wire
The stair to the 39 Av-Dutch Kills station on the N and W lines, about 0.21 miles from 36-45 31st Street in a straight line, in August 2024. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (reduced (already 16:9)).
Photograph of a shaded park path with young trees in planting beds, stone benches and a wire trash can, with a person walking far off and an elevated track behind
Dutch Kills Green, which the listing names among nearby places, in May 2023. It is about 0.52 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped top and bottom to 16:9 and reduced).

See Section 8 apartments in Long Island City and Section 8 apartments in Astoria.

Rents and Income Limits in the 36-45 31st Street Housing Connect Listing

The listing shows one rent, $3,059 a month for each of 12 one-bedrooms at 130% AMI, with a minimum income of $113,520 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
12 one-bedrooms$3,0591 to 3$113,520 to $198,510

What it means: every apartment needs at least $113,520 a year, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7714, read October 18, 2026; its 12 unit rows grouped by VoucherMatch. The top of the range is for three people.

Household sizeLowest incomeMost it can earn
1 person$113,520$154,440
2 people$113,520$176,410
3 people$113,520$198,510
4 or moreCannot applyCannot apply

What it means: income before taxes must fall inside the range for the household's size.

Source: the same listing, yearly income by household size at 130% AMI.

Where a household can fall through the gaps
  • Under $113,520below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Over the maximumone person over $154,440, two over $176,410 or three over $198,510.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in this listing takes them.
Key pointasset limit. Housing Connect's rent table gives $220,480. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

Does 36-45 31st Street Take CityFHEPS or Section 8?

Housing Connect accepts both, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. But the $3,059 rent is $325 above the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734, so CityFHEPS may not cover it. No apartment is marked as a project-based voucher unit, and a Section 8 holder's limit is set by the housing authority.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Listed monthly rent at 36-45 31st Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum, in dollars
Listed rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeListed rentCityFHEPS maximum
1 bedroom$3,059$2,734

What it means: the rent is $325 over the maximum, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

Watch outthe listing does not say which utilities tenants pay. If they pay some, CityFHEPS counts a utility allowance, and the gap grows. None is added here.

How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11106

The $3,059 rent is $121 below HUD's one-bedroom estimate of $3,180 for ZIP code 11106.

Listed monthly rent at 36-45 31st Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 Small Area Fair Market Rent for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 11106, in dollars
Listed rentHUD figure, ZIP 11106
View the data table
Apartment sizeListed rentHUD figure, ZIP 11106
1 bedroom$3,059$3,180

What it means: the rent is 96% of HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents, fiscal year 2027, for ZIP 11106, the building's ZIP in the listing, DOB's filings and PLUTO.

Key pointHUD's figure includes rent and most tenant-paid utilities. The listing rent may not. If tenants pay any utilities, the full cost comes closer to HUD's figure, or passes it.

See voucher apartments in ZIP 11106 to compare rents nearby.

How 36-45 31st Street Was Financed

Property records show a $7,000,000 sale in October 2025 and five mortgages that add up to $18,000,000.

Document and dateParties in the recordAmount
Deed, February 1, 2019Former owners to 36-45 31st Street LLC$6,314,000
Mortgage, December 11, 201936-43 and 36-45 31st Street LLCs and First Republic Bank$11,750,000
Deed, October 21, 202536-45 31st Street, LLC to 36-45 31st Street Owner LLC$7,000,000
Five mortgages, October 21, 202536-45 31st Street Owner LLC and LIC 2025-01 Lender, LLC$18,000,000 in all

What it means: the five amounts add up to the $18,000,000 assignment, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Source: ACRIS, Queens block 600, lot 8. The 2025 mortgages are $8,750,912, $4,254,750, $3,295,960, $1,292,687 and $405,691, with an assignment of leases and rents for $18,000,000.

  • The Real Estate Journal: it lists "Kriss Capital" for financing. ACRIS names LIC 2025-01 Lender, LLC as the lender. No document opened links the two names.
  • City money: no HPD or Housing Development Corporation party appears in the lot's records.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 36-45 31st Street

The listing shows no preferences yet, so this section gives HPD's general rules, the amenity list and the nearest stations.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says federal law gives a preference for 5% of apartments to households with a mobility disability. Another 2% go to hearing or vision.
  • Community boardthe FAQ says this preference does not apply to buildings that "only receive a tax exemption." No record opened shows City money here.
  • Other preferencesthe FAQ says they "are listed in the advertisement." None is posted yet.
What the building has, by source
  • In the Housing Connect listing19 amenities, including "Washers and dryers in units," "Rooftop terrace" and "Assigned parking spaces." It also lists a "Shared laundry room." No fees are stated.
  • In YIMBY's 2023 report"20 enclosed parking spaces," a "30-foot-long rear yard" and ground-floor commercial space.
  • Not statedwho pays for power, heat, gas and hot water; pets; parking costs; and fees.
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible
36 AvN, W0.12 milesNo
39 Av-Dutch KillsN, W0.21 milesNo
36 StM, R0.24 milesNo
Steinway StM, R0.52 milesNo
BroadwayN, W0.52 milesNo
Queens PlazaE, F, R0.56 milesYes

What it means: the closest fully accessible station in the MTA data is Queens Plaza, about half a mile away.

Source: stations, daytime lines and accessibility from the MTA's station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.755266, -73.93041), so the walk is longer. The listing labels Queens Plaza "E,M,R."

  • Buses: the listing names stops at 21 St/35 Av, 35 Av/Steinway St and Queens Plaza South/28 St, with no route numbers.
  • Along the line: see apartments near the N train.
Photograph of an elevated subway station with two side platforms, a yellow platform edge, canopies marked Exit and a sign reading 36 Avenue, with low buildings and Long Island City towers behind under a cloudy sky
The 36 Av station on the N and W lines, about 0.12 miles from the building in a straight line, in June 2018. The MTA's data marks it as not accessible. Photo: Mtattrain, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped top and bottom to 16:9 and reduced).
Photograph of a dark station sign reading 36 Street Station, Manhattan and Brooklyn, with orange M and yellow R route circles, on a green railing
The street sign at the 36 St station on the M and R lines, about 0.24 miles from the building in a straight line, in June 2024. Photo: Kidfly182, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped from a square to 16:9, keeping the top, and reduced).

How to Be Ready When the 36-45 31st Street Housing Connect Lottery Opens

A household can get its profile and papers ready now, because applications are not open as of October 18, 2026.

On two reads that day, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The City's list of past lotteries, updated October 5, 2026, stops at lottery 7671 and has no row for this building.

Getting ready for the 36-45 31st Street lottery
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. "If your household summary is flagged as incomplete, you will not be able to submit an application."
  2. 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the listing for lottery 7714.
  3. 3Check your rowcompare household size and yearly income with the tables above.
  4. 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household."
  5. 5Paper routeno mailing address is posted yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery."

What it means: the profile can be finished before any deadline exists.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ and listing.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
After a deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers" to complete profiles.
  • Documents"Make sure to include ALL requested documents in one submission" when the marketing agent asks.
  • Rent history or credit"show that you have paid your full rent for the past 12 months" or "have your credit reviewed."
  • Voucher holdersthe marketing agent "will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers.

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 36-45 31st Street

The rent, incomes and apartment count are posted, but the deadline and the advertisement are not.

Known and not yet known on October 18, 2026
  • Not posteda deadline, the full ad, a mailing address, preferences and the marketing agent.
  • Not statedutilities, pets, floor plans, fees, the 421-a(16) option, and whether the words "Initial units" mean more lotteries will follow.
  • Not labeledwhether the June 2026 certificate is temporary or final.
  • Whom to askHousing Connect's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, weekdays 9am to 5pm, or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Watch outon October 18, 2026, the listing had 12 pictures. This report uses only its rendering of the building. Eight came from one set of rooms, a terrace and a view. Book covers in its staged rooms show garbled lettering, a sign of computer-made or altered images, so all eight were left out. Three more, of a bathroom, a closet and a laundry closet, were left out because they could not be confirmed as unaltered photos.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at 36-45 31st Street yet, so a household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open lotteries in Queens: on October 18, 2026, Housing Connect's search showed two. They are 83-12 Broadway in ZIP 11373 (due October 28) and 42-78 65 Place in Woodside (due November 2).
Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 36-45 31st Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for 36-45 31st Street on Housing Connect?

Not yet. 36-45 31st Street is Housing Connect lottery 7714, "36-45 31st Street Apartments." As of October 18, 2026, the listing shows a rent but no deadline. The lottery is not in the open-lottery search. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.

What is the rent at 36-45 31st Street?

Each of the 12 listed apartments is a one-bedroom at $3,059 a month, at 130% AMI. No other size or rent is listed. The listing does not yet say which utilities, if any, tenants pay on top of the rent. It also does not say whether more apartments will be offered later.

How much do you have to earn for 36-45 31st Street?

A household needs at least $113,520 a year. The most it can earn is $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two and $198,510 for three. Households of four or more cannot apply. HPD's FAQ says the minimum does not apply to a household with a voucher or rental subsidy.

Can I use CityFHEPS at 36-45 31st Street?

Housing Connect accepts CityFHEPS, but the $3,059 rent is $325 above the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits. Minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Ask DSS before counting on CityFHEPS for this apartment.

Is 36-45 31st Street the same building as Midori or The Greene?

Yes, as far as the records show. The New York Real Estate Journal calls the project at 36-45 31st Street "Midori." New York YIMBY called it "The Greene" in 2023. Housing Connect calls it "36-45 31st Street Apartments." Some city filings for the same building use 36-43 31st Street.

Is 36-45 31st Street in Astoria or Long Island City?

Both names are used. The listing says Astoria. DOB and City Planning place the lot in "Queensbridge-Ravenswood-Dutch Kills," and YIMBY says Dutch Kills. City Planning's address search says Long Island City. Every record gives ZIP code 11106. The nearest station is 36 Av on the N and W.

Are the rents at 36-45 31st Street below market?

A little, by HUD's measure. The $3,059 rent is $121 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 one-bedroom figure of $3,180 for ZIP code 11106. HUD's figure also includes most utilities. If tenants pay utilities here, the full monthly cost comes closer to HUD's figure, or passes it.

Sources for this article (18)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7714 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. data on advertised lotteries (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  4. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  5. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. BIS job 421797611 (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. certificate of occupancy data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  12. neighborhood map (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  14. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  15. station data (data.ny.gov)
  16. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. New York Real Estate Journal (nyrej.com)
  18. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.