942 New York Avenue in East Flatbush: 4 Affordable Two-Bedrooms on Housing Connect at $2,749 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7716, "942 New York Avenue Apartments," in East Flatbush, Brooklyn. It has four two-bedroom apartments at $2,749 a month, at 80% AMI, for households of two to five people. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. The rent is $248 under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7716, read at the start and end of the day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B01202234) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 4886, lot 16; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's May 25, 2025 report, read in the Internet Archive's copy. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 4two-bedroom apartments on Housing Connect
- $2,749the monthly rent for each one
- 18apartments in the building, per its certificate of occupancy
- 6stories plus a penthouse, in the building permit
- $103,098the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 942 New York Avenue
942 New York Avenue is a new six-story building with a penthouse and 18 apartments. The City issued its first certificate of occupancy on October 8, 2026.
- Permit: job B01202234 was filed May 20, 2025. It reads "New six (6) story and penthouse, eighteen (18) dwelling unit building."
- Size: 6 stories, 64 feet and 18 dwelling units, with 12,606.5 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: PLUTO and the 2024 deed name 942 New York Avenue Ventures LLC. The permit lists no company name, only a person.
- Plans: filed by a professional engineer. New York YIMBY names Engineering Professional Service as the architect of record.
- Certificate: CO-000099410, issued October 8, 2026, for 18 dwelling units. The City's data calls it an "Initial" certificate, not a "Final" one.
- Developer: no record or announcement found names a developer or a leasing website.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Height | Permit: 64 feet | YIMBY: "75-foot-tall" |
| Floor area | Permit: 12,606.5 square feet of construction | YIMBY: 11,921 square feet "designated for residential space" |
| The old building | PLUTO: two stories, two apartments, built 1920 | Demolition filing: two stories, zero apartments |
| Neighborhood | DOB and GeoSearch: East Flatbush | YIMBY: "Flatbush" |
What it means: all of these records point to one lot, Brooklyn block 4886, lot 16. PLUTO still describes the old building. YIMBY's 18 homes and penthouse match the permit.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01202234 and B01286139; PLUTO; GeoSearch; New York YIMBY, May 25, 2025.
- December 23, 2024a deed signed by a referee passes the lot to 942 New York Avenue Ventures LLC for $1,070,000.
- May 20, 2025the six-story building is filed. YIMBY reports it on May 25.
- August 5, 2025the plans are approved, and the owner signs mortgages the same day.
- December 19, 2025demolition of the old two-story building is signed off.
- December 30, 2025the first new-building permit is issued.
- October 8, 2026the initial certificate of occupancy is issued for 18 apartments.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists four apartments with a rent and no deadline.
What it means: the building went from first permit to certificate in a little over nine months. HPD's production data had no row for this address on October 19, 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01202234 and B01286139; certificate of occupancy data; ACRIS.
What 485-x Means for These Four Apartments
The listing names one program, in its short description: "4 units- 2bedrom- 485x." No other text on the listing explains it.
- What it is"a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long rents stay set"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Shared spacesthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Before a listing485-x projects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "Small Rental Projects" with "a 10-year benefit" |
What it means: no record opened names the option this building chose. The listing does not name the Universal Affordability Preference or Mandatory Inclusionary Housing.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 19, 2026.
Where 942 New York Avenue Is
The building is in East Flatbush, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11203. New York YIMBY places it "between Snyder and Church Avenues."
- Department of Buildings"East Flatbush-Erasmus," its neighborhood tag on the permit and the certificate.
- City Planning's GeoSearchEast Flatbush, for 942 New York Avenue.
- New York YIMBY"Flatbush, Brooklyn."
- The listingno neighborhood name. It lists P.S. 181, the Church Av station and SUNY Downstate nearby.

| Record | 942 New York Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 4886, lot 16 |
| Lot size | 4,100 square feet, 40 by 102.5 feet |
| Zoning | R6 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 17 |
| City Council district | 40 |
| ZIP code | 11203 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11203.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, the certificate, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
Watch outthe listing carried six photos on October 19, 2026. VoucherMatch left all six out. They are enlarged copies with blurred detail, and lettering on a garage door and an elevator sign is garbled. The street photo also shows the buildings on each side. The pictures here are of the area, not the building.

Rents and Income Ranges for 942 New York Avenue on Housing Connect
All four apartments rent for $2,749 a month. Without a voucher, a household needs a yearly income of at least $103,098.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,749 | 2 to 5 | $103,098 to $146,560 |
What it means: one rent, one income level and one size. The listing's asset limit is $135,680.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7716, read October 19, 2026. The top of the range is for five people.
View the data table
| Household size | Minimum income | Maximum income |
|---|---|---|
| 2 people | $103,098 | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $103,098 | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $103,098 | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $103,098 | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must fall inside the range for the household's size. The minimum is the same for every size.
Source: the same listing.
- Under $103,098below the minimum for every household size.
- One personnot allowed. The smallest household is two people.
- Two peopleonly $103,098 to $108,560 fits, a window of $5,462, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
- Over the limitabove $108,560 for two, $122,160 for three, $135,680 for four or $146,560 for five.
- Six or more peoplenot allowed. The largest household is five.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figure was set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 942 New York Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. The rent of $2,749 is $248 under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997. DSS-8r ties that figure to households of three or four.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,997 |
What it means: the rent is $248 under the maximum, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
- Family sizeDSS-8r lists "3 or 4" people with two bedrooms at $2,997. It lists "1 or 2" people with one bedroom at $2,734.
- Two-person householdsthe listing allows two people here. $2,749 is $15 above the $2,734 figure. Ask HRA which figure applies before you apply.
- Five peopleDSS-8r lists "5 or 6" people with three bedrooms at $3,753. Ask HRA which figure applies in a two-bedroom.
- Utilitiesthe listing does not say who pays for heat, hot water, cooking gas or electricity. No utility allowance is added here. Ask the hotline.
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- GuidesCityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11203
The rent is $91 under HUD's two-bedroom estimate for ZIP code 11203. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities tenants pay.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11203 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,840 |
What it means: the lottery rent is close to HUD's area figure. If tenants pay utilities, the full monthly cost may pass it.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.
- Nearby: VoucherMatch has no East Flatbush page yet. See CityFHEPS apartments in Flatbush and two-bedroom voucher apartments in Flatbush, a separate neighborhood.
How 942 New York Avenue Is Financed
Property records show a $1,070,000 purchase in December 2024 and mortgages from S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust in August 2025. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dec. 23, 2024 | Deed | A referee to 942 New York Avenue Ventures LLC | $1,070,000 |
| Dec. 23, 2024 | Mortgage | The LLC and A & S Enterprise Holdings LLC | $955,000 |
| May 15, 2025 | Zoning lot papers | The LLC; Skyview Title Agency Inc. | none listed |
| Aug. 5, 2025 | Mortgage | The LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $4,350,000 |
| Aug. 5, 2025 | Mortgage | The LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $45,000 |
| Aug. 5, 2025 | Agreement | The LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $1,000,000 |
What it means: the A & S mortgage was assigned to the S3 SB trust in July 2025. ACRIS's index does not show what the agreement says. No HPD regulatory agreement was recorded by October 19, 2026.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 4886, lot 16.
Key point292 East 51st Street, lottery 7650, is a separate Housing Connect listing in the same ZIP code. City records show different owner companies and no shared plan filer. Each is its own lottery.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 942 New York Avenue
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It lists 17 amenities but does not say who pays for utilities.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Building"Elevator," "Accessible entrance," "Smoke-free," "Shared laundry room" and "Rooftop terrace."
- Apartments"Dishwasher in unit," "Air-conditioning," "Energy-efficient appliances," "High-end kitchen appliances" and "High-end countertops and finishes."
- Entry and safety"Security cameras," "Digital doorman" and "Intercommunication device."
- Pets"Multiple pets allowed."
- Not statedwho pays utilities, apartment sizes and floors, any fee, and a building website.
| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Church Av | 2, 5 | 0.15 miles | Yes |
| Beverly Rd | 2, 5 | 0.38 miles | No |
| Winthrop St | 2, 5 | 0.47 miles | No |
| Newkirk Av-Little Haiti | 2, 5 | 0.72 miles | No |
| Church Av | B, Q | 0.84 miles | Yes |
What it means: the listing names the first three stations and bus stops at Nostrand Avenue and Church Avenue, about 0.13 to 0.14 miles away.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6503289, -73.9468803).
- Close by, per the listing: P.S. 181, about 0.15 miles away; University Hospital at Downstate, 0.35 miles; Rolph Henry Playground, 0.38 miles; and NYC Health + Hospitals/Kings County, 0.45 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 2 train and the 5 train.

How to Be Ready When the 942 New York Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 18 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search either time.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7716.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again when the deadline is posted.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing had no "Apply by Mail" address on October 19, 2026. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery" for a paper form.
What it means: the listing gives no mail address, return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsthe current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period," apartments that open later "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 942 New York Avenue
The rent, the incomes and the asset limit are posted. The deadline, the preferences and the utilities are not.
- Knownone rent with income ranges for four two-bedrooms, household sizes, the asset limit and 17 amenities.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, a mail address and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays utilities, apartment sizes and floors, a move-in date, a developer, and which 485-x option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 942 New York Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; and 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard Apartments, November 10.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 942 New York Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7716, "942 New York Avenue Apartments." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed a rent but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 942 New York Avenue?
The rent is $2,749 a month for each of the four two-bedroom apartments, as read on October 19, 2026. They are set at 80% AMI. The listing does not say whether heat, hot water, gas or electricity are included, so the full monthly cost is not yet known. Ask the Housing Connect hotline at 212-863-7990.
How much do you have to earn for 942 New York Avenue?
Without a voucher, at least $103,098 a year. The most is $108,560 for two people, $122,160 for three, $135,680 for four and $146,560 for five. One person and households of six or more cannot apply. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 942 New York Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,749 rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997, which DSS-8r lists for three or four people. For one or two people, DSS-8r lists $2,734. Ask HRA which applies.
Is 942 New York Avenue in Flatbush or East Flatbush?
City records say East Flatbush. The Department of Buildings tags the lot "East Flatbush-Erasmus," and City Planning's GeoSearch says East Flatbush. New York YIMBY's May 2025 report called it Flatbush. The building is in ZIP code 11203, Brooklyn Community Board 17. YIMBY places it between Snyder and Church Avenues.
Is 942 New York Avenue the same lottery as 292 East 51st Street?
No. 292 East 51st Street is Housing Connect lottery 7650, a separate listing in the same ZIP code, 11203. City records show different owner companies for the two lots. Each lottery takes its own application. Check each listing on Housing Connect for its own rules.
Are the rents at 942 New York Avenue below market?
Slightly. The $2,749 rent is $91 under HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent of $2,840 for a two-bedroom in ZIP code 11203. HUD's figure includes most utilities. The listing does not say which utilities tenants pay, so the full cost could come close to or pass HUD's figure.
Sources for this article (16)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7716 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- May 25, 2025 report (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.