997 Rogers Avenue in Flatbush: 4 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,310 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7709, "997 Rogers Avenue Apartments," in Flatbush, Brooklyn. It has four apartments at 80% AMI: two one-bedrooms at $2,310 a month and two two-bedrooms at $2,749. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7709, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings job filings (job 321980969), permits, DOB NOW filings and certificate of occupancy data (DOB NOW, older system); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 5138, lot 54; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's October 29, 2019 report, read in the Internet Archive's copy. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 4apartments on Housing Connect
- 18apartments in the building permit
- 6stories in the building permit
- $2,310the rent for each one-bedroom
- $2,749the rent for each two-bedroom
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 997 Rogers Avenue
997 Rogers Avenue is a new six-story building with 18 apartments, in the City's permit records. It replaces a two-family house. No certificate of occupancy was on file on October 19, 2026.
- Permit: new building job 321980969 was first filed October 28, 2019. The City's permit data shows the new building permit issued February 24, 2026.
- Size: 6 stories, 60 feet and 18 dwelling units, with 11,455 square feet of construction floor area.
- Old building: a 2020 filing reads "DEMO OF TWO FAMILY DWELLING." It was signed off in June 2022.
- Owner: PLUTO and the 2024 deed name 997 Rogers LLC. The permit's owner field names Teem Interiors. Earlier filings name Green ResidenceLLC LLC, spelled that way.
- Builder: the permits name MJH Construction Corp as the permit holder.
- Plans: filed under a professional engineer's license. New York YIMBY's 2019 report named Ar-Tech Engineering as "the architect of record." No record opened names a developer.

| Record | Stories | Apartments | Height |
|---|---|---|---|
| Permit record, job 321980969, now | 6 | 18 | 60 feet |
| Earlier version of the same job | 4 | 10 | not given |
| New York YIMBY, October 29, 2019 | 5 | 10 | 54 feet |
| Housing Connect listing | not given | 4 lottery apartments | not given |
What it means: the plan grew after 2019. The current permit, issued in 2026, is for six stories and 18 apartments.
Source: Department of Buildings job filings for job 321980969 and its DOB NOW sub-filings; New York YIMBY, October 29, 2019.
- October 28, 2019the new building job is filed.
- January 28, 2020the demolition of the two-family house is filed.
- April 8, 2020the plans are approved.
- June 9, 2022a foundation permit is issued.
- March 26, 2024997 Rogers LLC buys the lot and signs two mortgages.
- February 24, 2026the new building permit is issued. It runs to November 21, 2026.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists four apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the City's data shows no certificate of occupancy yet. The listing does not give a move-in date.
Source: Department of Buildings job filings, permits and DOB NOW data; ACRIS.
What 485-x Means for These Four Apartments
The listing's short description reads "485X." It gives no other text about the program, and HPD's production data has no record for this address.
- What it is"a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- Who it coversbuildings "that contain six or more dwelling units, commenced after June 15, 2022."
- Same entrancesthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Before a listingprojects under options A and B send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option this building chose.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 19, 2026.
Where 997 Rogers Avenue Is
The building is on Rogers Avenue in Brooklyn, ZIP code 11226. City records and the site's own pages use two names for the area: Flatbush and East Flatbush.
- Department of Buildings"East Flatbush-Erasmus," its neighborhood tag on the permit filings.
- City Planning's GeoSearchEast Flatbush, for 997 Rogers Avenue.
- New York YIMBY"Flatbush, Brooklyn," and "between Tilden Avenue and Beverley Road."
- VoucherMatch's ZIP dataFlatbush for ZIP code 11226. The listing names no neighborhood.
| Record | 997 Rogers Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 5138, lot 54 |
| Lot size | 2,496 square feet, 25 feet wide |
| Zoning | R6, with a C2-3 commercial overlay |
| Community board | Brooklyn 17 |
| City Council district | 40 |
| ZIP code | 11226 |
What it means: this guide uses Flatbush, as YIMBY and the site's ZIP data do, and prints the City's East Flatbush tag above. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11226 and Section 8 apartments in Flatbush.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
Rents and Income Ranges for 997 Rogers Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,310 a month for a one-bedroom and $2,749 for a two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $84,823 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,310 | 1 to 3 | $84,823 to $122,160 |
| 2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,749 | 2 to 5 | $101,795 to $146,560 |
What it means: all four apartments are at one income level, 80% AMI.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7709, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | One-bedroom | Two-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 | Not offered |
| 2 people | $108,560 | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 | $122,160 |
| 4 people | Not offered | $135,680 |
| 5 people | Not offered | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size. Not offered means that apartment does not allow that household size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 2 |
| 2 people | 4 |
| 3 people | 4 |
| 4 people | 2 |
| 5 people | 2 |
What it means: no apartment here allows six or more people.
Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $84,823below every minimum.
- One persononly $84,823 to $95,040 fits.
- Four people earning $84,823 to $101,794under the two-bedroom minimum. The one-bedrooms allow three people at most.
- Six or more peopleno apartment fits.
- Above the top figure$95,040 for one person, up to $146,560 for five.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 997 Rogers Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size: the one-bedroom by $424 and the two-bedroom by $248. The listing does not say who pays for utilities.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,310 | $2,310 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,997 |
What it means: the one-bedrooms are $424 under and the two-bedrooms $248 under, by VoucherMatch's subtraction. No utility allowance is subtracted, because the listing does not say what tenants pay.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
- Family sizeDSS-8r lists "1 or 2" people with one bedroom at $2,734 and "3 or 4" with two bedrooms at $2,997.
- Larger householdsthe one-bedrooms here allow three people, and the two-bedrooms five. Ask HRA which figure applies to your family.
- Utilitiesthe listing does not say what tenants pay. The kitchen rendering shows a gas range. Ask before you count on the full gap above.
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11226
Both rents are below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11226. The one-bedroom is $370 below, and the two-bedroom is $171 below.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11226 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,310 | $2,310 | $2,680 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,749 | $2,749 | $2,920 |
What it means: the one-bedrooms are $370 below HUD's figure and the two-bedrooms $171 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants here pay any utilities, the true gap is smaller than the chart shows.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Flatbush and two-bedroom voucher apartments in Flatbush.
How 997 Rogers Avenue Is Financed
Property records show a $1,500,000 purchase on March 26, 2024, and two mortgages from Broadview Capital LLC the same day. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 26, 2024 | Deed | Green ResidenceLLC LLC to 997 Rogers LLC | $1,500,000 |
| March 26, 2024 | Mortgage | 997 Rogers LLC and Broadview Capital LLC | $1,000,000 |
| March 26, 2024 | Mortgage | 997 Rogers LLC and Broadview Capital LLC | $3,945,000 |
| May 6, 2024 | Two mortgage assignments | Broadview Capital LLC to Toorak Capital Partners, LLC | none listed |
| September 9, 2025 | Zoning lot description | 997 Rogers LLC | none listed |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to $4,945,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. ACRIS's index does not show what the zoning lot document says.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 5138, lot 54. Party names are printed as ACRIS shows them.
No announcement of the building's financing was found. HPD's production data had no record for 997 Rogers Avenue on October 19, 2026.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 997 Rogers Avenue
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It names five amenities and says nothing about utilities, pets or fees.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Listed amenities"Bike storage lockers," "Security cameras," "Elevator," "Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
- Utilitiesnot stated. The listing has no advertisement text at all.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes, whether any amenity costs extra, and a building website. The listing marks no deposit or application fee.
Watch outthe listing carries five images, all renderings. On October 19, 2026, VoucherMatch left out the bathroom image. It could not be tied to this building, it was the only one saved in a different file format, and its style does not match the other interiors.
| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beverly Rd | 2, 5 | 0.15 miles | No |
| Church Av | 2, 5 | 0.36 miles | Yes |
| Newkirk Av-Little Haiti | 2, 5 | 0.44 miles | No |
| Church Av | B, Q | 0.67 miles | Yes |
| Beverley Rd | Q | 0.68 miles | No |
| Cortelyou Rd | Q | 0.72 miles | No |
What it means: the listing names the Q's Beverley Rd stop as "Beverly Rd" with the Q. The MTA spells the 2 and 5 stop "Beverly Rd" and the Q stop "Beverley Rd."
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6458298, -73.9517021).

How to Be Ready When the 997 Rogers Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 18 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7709.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again when the deadline is posted.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 997 Rogers Avenue Apartments, C/O Taxace NY LLC, 139 Tompkins Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11206, for this listing.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- 2 to 12 monthsHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units." The current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period" they "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for all four apartments. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, preferences and utilities are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for four apartments, one asset limit, five amenities and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for heat, hot water, gas and electricity; pets; apartment sizes and floors; amenity fees; a move-in date; and which 485-x option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 997 Rogers Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; and 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard Apartments, November 10.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 997 Rogers Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7709, "997 Rogers Avenue Apartments." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 997 Rogers Avenue?
The rent is $2,310 a month for a one-bedroom and $2,749 for a two-bedroom. There are two of each, all at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities, if any, are in the rent. Ask the Housing Connect hotline before you budget.
How much do you have to earn for 997 Rogers Avenue?
Without a voucher, at least $84,823 a year for a one-bedroom and $101,795 for a two-bedroom. The most is $122,160 for three people in a one-bedroom and $146,560 for five in a two-bedroom. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 997 Rogers Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and the minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The one-bedroom rent is $424 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, and the two-bedroom $248 under. The listing does not say who pays utilities. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 997 Rogers Avenue in Flatbush or East Flatbush?
Both names appear in records. New York YIMBY and VoucherMatch's ZIP data call the area Flatbush. The Department of Buildings tags the lot "East Flatbush-Erasmus," and City Planning's GeoSearch says East Flatbush. The address, 997 Rogers Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11226, is Brooklyn block 5138, lot 54, in every record.
How many apartments are at 997 Rogers Avenue?
The permit is for 18 apartments in six stories. Housing Connect lists four of them: two one-bedrooms and two two-bedrooms at 80% AMI. The listing does not describe the other 14, and no record opened says what they rent for. An earlier version of the plan, from 2019, had ten apartments.
Are the rents at 997 Rogers Avenue below market?
Yes, compared with HUD's figures. The one-bedroom is $370 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11226, and the two-bedroom is $171 below. HUD's figures include utilities. The listing does not say what tenants pay, so the real gap may be smaller.
Sources for this article (19)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7709 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older system (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- October 29, 2019 report (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.