Skip to page content

Astoria Cove Phase 1(A): 75 Affordable Apartments at 4-34 26th Avenue in Astoria, From $2,126 a Month

20 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAstoria Cove Phase 1(A) is two new buildings at 4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue in Astoria, Queens, with 246 apartments on their certificates of occupancy. NYC Housing Connect advertised 75 of them at 80%, 125% and 130% of area median income, from $2,126 for a studio to $3,600 for a two-bedroom, with applications due June 2, 2026. As of October 8, 2026, the 45 rents at 80% are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums and the other 30 are over. City records show foundation permits for two more buildings.

Last checked: October 8, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, Department of Buildings jobs Q00646746, Q00646751, Q00646754 and Q00646756 and certificates of occupancy 4801909-0000001 and 4020640-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, city property records (ACRIS) for Queens blocks 906, 908 and 909, the Department of City Planning's files for the 2014 Astoria Cove approvals and the waterfront application filed in May 2026, the City Planning Commission's report of September 29, 2014, the building's leasing site and its availability page, Reside New York's page for the lottery and the copy archived May 11, 2026, reports by Commercial Observer, REBusinessOnline, New York YIMBY and 6sqft in April and June 2017, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing, HPD's re-rentals page and HDC's re-rental search, and the CityFHEPS payment standards in DSS-8r.

Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) in numbers
  • 246apartments in the two buildings, on their certificates of occupancy
  • 75apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • $2,126the lowest rent, for a studio at 80% AMI
  • $3,600the highest rent, for a two-bedroom at 125% or 130% AMI
  • June 2, 2026the application deadline
  • June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy for each building
Rendering of two pale grey apartment buildings facing a street under a blue sky, the one at right eight stories with a set-back top floor, bays of windows with planter ledges, glass storefronts and a garage door at street level, a slightly lower one at left, with a paved walkway and pink flowering trees between them and street trees along the sidewalk
Rendering of the two Astoria Cove buildings on 26th Avenue in Astoria, Queens, with a planted walkway between them, from the building's leasing site. The site does not label the buildings or name the renderer. Photo: Astoria Cove leasing site, SERHANT New Development for KS Group (the site names no renderer), developer's marketing rendering, via Astoria Cove leasing site (astoria-cove.com), home page (cropped, reduced).

What Was Built at 4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue

Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) is an eight-story building with 138 apartments at 4-34 26th Avenue and a six-story building with 108 at 4-42 26th Avenue, the first finished parts of a waterfront plan the City Council approved in 2014.

  • Owner: city property records show 2030 Astoria Developers LLC, listed care of Alma Realty Corp., sold both lots and two across 26th Avenue to KS Astoria Holdings LLC for $45,000,000 on March 21, 2025.
  • Developer, builder and architect: the leasing site names KS Group as developer. The permits went to YNH Construction NY LLC, and the applicant on both filings is Joseph Frankl of JFA Architects & Engineers.
  • Program: the listing names "the Inclusionary Program" and expects "a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program".
Watch outtwo buildings, several names. Housing Connect calls the pair "Astoria Cove Phase 1(A)" and prints the second address as "442 26th Ave". The leasing site's floor plans say "One Astoria Cove" for 4-34 26th Avenue. City Planning calls them Building 4 and Building 5, and city tax lot data files the second lot under 4-57 26 Avenue. A separate 28-unit building at 26-27 2nd Street was "Known as Astoria Cove" in a 2017 lottery, 6sqft reported.
Photograph of a concrete-frame apartment building under construction, with open floor slabs ringed in orange safety netting above lower floors wrapped in yellow sheathing, a second building covered in dark scaffold netting behind it at right, a bare dirt lot with weeds in the foreground and distant towers under a hazy sky
The Astoria Cove site on July 29, 2025, in a photograph filed with the Department of City Planning in 2026 and captioned "View of the Development Site facing west from 9th Street." The application's drawing places Building 5 and the school site at this corner. Photo: Urban Cartographics, for the applicant KS Astoria LLC, photograph in a land use application filed with the Department of City Planning, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, project 2026Q0128, Astoria Cove WF Cert and Substantial Compliance, Photographs, page 11, photograph 31 (cropped, enlarged 1.32 times).
Astoria Cove Phase 1(A), from approval to occupancy
  • November 25, 2014the City Council approves the Astoria Cove plan with modifications.
  • January 13, 2022new building applications for both addresses are filed.
  • November 29, 2024the general construction permit for 4-34 26th Avenue is issued. The one for 4-42 follows on January 16, 2025.
  • April 3, 2026New York YIMBY reports that the lottery "has launched".
  • June 2, 2026applications are due.
  • June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy for each building is issued.

What it means: the Council's vote and the first certificates are about eleven and a half years apart. The Commission's 2014 report expected the plan "to be completed by 2023."

Source: City Planning's letter of November 19, 2025; Department of Buildings data; New York YIMBY.

  • For sale in 2017: 6sqft reported the site was "seeking a buyer, asking $350 million".
  • Stories: the permits say eight and six. New York YIMBY wrote "a pair of 26-story and seven-story residential buildings".

Where 4-34 26th Avenue Is

The buildings stand on the south side of 26th Avenue between 4th and 9th Streets on the Halletts Point peninsula in Astoria, in ZIP code 11102, Queens Community District 1 and City Council District 22.

Rendering of a paved walkway with curved planting beds, small trees and pink flowering shrubs running between two cream-colored apartment buildings with large windows and planter ledges toward a tall tower with dark windows in the distance
Rendering on the Housing Connect listing of a landscaped walkway between two buildings, with a tower beyond. The listing does not caption its images. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) (lottery 7467) (cropped, enlarged 1.19 times).
StationLinesStraight-line distance
30 AvN, Wabout 0.8 miles
Astoria BlvdN, Wabout 0.8 miles
BroadwayN, Wabout 1.0 miles
Astoria-Ditmars BlvdN, Wabout 1.0 miles

What it means: no subway station is within half a mile. Two Manhattan stations about a mile away across the East River are left out.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances calculated by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses: the MTA's stop data for September 2026 puts Q18, Q19 and Q103 stops at 8 St/27 Av and 27 Av/4 St, about 0.1 miles away.
  • Apartments in the area: see voucher apartments in Astoria and apartments along the N train and the W train.

Astoria Cove's Phases: Two Buildings Finished, Two With Foundation Permits, Two Not Filed

City Planning's drawings divide Astoria Cove into five numbered buildings and a school, and only Buildings 4 and 5, the two in this lottery, have certificates of occupancy.

Building in City Planning's numberingBuilding filingApartments in HPD's dataCounted as affordable by HPDStatus on October 8, 2026
Building 44-34 26th Avenue, 8 stories13842First certificate of occupancy June 15, 2026
Building 54-42 26th Avenue, 6 stories10822First certificate of occupancy June 15, 2026
Building 3 site8-11 26th Avenue, 8 stories18642Foundation permit June 1, 2026
Building 3 site25-02 9th Street, 26 stories29968Foundation permit June 1, 2026
Building 2, 32 stories on the drawingnone foundnonenoneNo new building application found
Building 1, 31 and 25 stories on the drawing, and the schoolnone foundnonenoneNo new building application found

What it means: the four filed buildings hold 731 apartments in HPD's data, 174 of them counted as affordable, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Source: City Planning drawing Z-500.00, issued May 1, 2026; Department of Buildings jobs Q00646754 and Q00646756, whose approved filings list 90 and 240 apartments and whose pending amendments list 186 and 299; HPD projects 75052, 75053, 75056 and 75057.

Black and white site plan with 27th Avenue along the left edge, 26th Avenue running from top to bottom through the middle and the curved shore of Pot Cove at right; left of 26th Avenue are outlines labelled Building 4, Large Scale Phase 1, and Building 5 with a block labelled School, Large Scale Phase 4; right of it are Building 3, Large Scale Phase 2, Building 2, Large Scale Phase 3, and Building 1, Large Scale Phase 4, behind a planted shore walkway, with a legend at lower right
City Planning drawing Z-500.00, "Overall Phasing Plan", issued May 1, 2026 with the waterfront application. Building 4 and Building 5, left of 26th Avenue, are the two lottery buildings. Buildings 1, 2 and 3 face Pot Cove. Photo: WORKSHOP: Ken Smith Landscape Architect, drawing in a land use application filed with the Department of City Planning, via NYC Department of City Planning, Zoning Application Portal, project 2026Q0128, Astoria Cove Z-Series, drawing Z-500.00 (page rendered from the PDF, cropped to the plan, reduced).
  • Two ways of counting phases: the drawing has four: Buildings 4 and 5, then 3, then 2, then 1 and the school. The developer described three to Commercial Observer, the first with "four mixed-use buildings, featuring 736 apartments".
  • Next lottery: no Housing Connect listing for 8-11 26th Avenue or 25-02 9th Street existed on October 8, 2026, and no date is published.
  • School and waterfront: the 2026 application, marked "Filed", describes a school of about 456 seats in the last phase and "a 40-foot-wide shore public walkway" built alongside Buildings 3, 2 and 1.
  • Apartments in all: the application says "about 1,723 dwelling units". The developer told Commercial Observer "more than 2,800 units".
Rendering seen across a cove of a slender white tower with a gold-colored crown joined to a lower white wing, behind a tree-lined shore walkway with steps down to the water; a tan brick apartment tower stands at left and pale translucent outlines of future towers at right
The first image on the Housing Connect listing: a rendering of the tower planned on the waterfront, with later towers as pale outlines. It is not one of the two buildings in the lottery. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) (lottery 7467) (cropped, reduced).

246 Apartments on the Certificates of Occupancy, 75 in the Lottery

The lottery covered 75 of the two buildings' 246 apartments, or 30.5%, which leaves 171 outside it by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedroomsTotal
80% AMI12151845
125% AMI0099
130% AMI313521
All levels15283275

What it means: 45 of the 75, or 60%, were at 80% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, counted by VoucherMatch from its 75 unit rows. AMI is the area median income.

How each source counts the income-restricted apartments
  • 75the Housing Connect listing, 42 at 4-34 26th Avenue and 33 at 4-42.
  • 64HPD's data, 42 and 22. The 11 it leaves out match the 130% AMI apartments at 4-42, one studio and ten one-bedrooms, by VoucherMatch's comparison.
Key pointthe 2014 approval shaped the mix. City Planning's memorandum of November 14, 2014 says the Council's changes would require "no less than 20 percent of the residential floor area in any development phase" for households at 80% AMI or less, and the remaining affordable apartments for incomes "up to 125 percent AMI". The listing's 21 apartments at 130% AMI are above that level, and no document opened says which program they answer to.
  • In the whole plan: that memorandum counted 465 affordable apartments. The 2026 application says "295 affordable units" in one place and "nearly 345" in another.
Floor plan headed One Astoria Cove, New York City, Unit 211, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, showing a kitchen of 10 feet 8 inches by 6 feet 8 inches with a dishwasher and refrigerator, a living room of 17 feet 7 inches by 11 feet, a bedroom of 12 feet 5 inches by 9 feet 7 inches, a bathroom, two closets and a washer and dryer closet, beside a list of residence features and the Serhant New Development mark
Floor plan for apartment 211, a one-bedroom, from the leasing site's availability page, which lists market-rate apartments at 4-34 26th Avenue under the name "One Astoria Cove". No plan of an income-restricted apartment is published. Photo: SERHANT New Development, for the Astoria Cove leasing site, leasing site floor plan, via Astoria Cove leasing site (astoria-cove.com), availability page (cropped, reduced).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 4-34 26th Avenue

The 75 lottery apartments had six rents, from $2,126 to $3,600 a month, and the lowest minimum income in the listing is $77,829 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
12 studios, 80% AMI$2,1261 to 2$77,829 to $108,560
15 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,2661 to 3$83,315 to $122,160
18 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6962 to 5$99,978 to $146,560
9 two-bedrooms, 125% AMI$3,6002 to 5$130,972 to $229,000
3 studios, 130% AMI$2,8711 to 2$103,372 to $176,410
13 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$2,9981 to 3$108,412 to $198,510
5 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,6002 to 5$130,972 to $238,160

What it means: a two-bedroom rented for $2,696 or $3,600, a difference of $904 a month.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, read October 8, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size80% AMI maximum125% AMI maximum130% AMI maximum
1 person$95,040not offered$154,440
2 people$108,560$169,625$176,410
3 people$122,160$190,875$198,510
4 people$135,680$212,000$220,480
5 people$146,560$229,000$238,160

What it means: no apartment took more than five people or had three bedrooms, and the 125% level was offered only for two-bedrooms.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household could fall outside the ranges
  • Under $77,829below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • One person at $95,041 to $103,371over the 80% maximum and under the minimum for a 130% studio.
  • Four or five people under $99,978only two-bedrooms took four or five people, and that is their lowest minimum.
  • Asset limits$135,680 at 80% AMI, $212,000 at 125% and $220,480 at 130%, in Housing Connect's advertisement table.
Key pointthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove and heat." It does not say who pays for hot water.
Watch outearlier figures differ. Reside New York's page, archived May 11, 2026, and New York YIMBY give $3,384 for the 130% AMI studios and $3,518 for the one-bedrooms. The listing read on October 8, 2026 shows $2,871 and $2,998. It also has two minimum incomes for the 80% AMI two-bedrooms: $99,978 on most rows and $100,389 on the eight rows for "442 26th Ave".
Photograph of an apartment kitchen with grey lower cabinets, wood-tone upper cabinets, a grey tile backsplash, a stainless-steel French-door refrigerator, a microwave over a range with a smooth black cooktop, a sink and a dishwasher, with a round wood table and three white upholstered chairs in front on pale wood-look flooring
Kitchen in a staged apartment, in a photograph on the building's leasing site, which advertises market-rate apartments. The site does not caption it. The range has a smooth cooktop, consistent with the listing's "electric stove". Photo: Astoria Cove leasing site, SERHANT New Development for KS Group (the site names no photographer), leasing site photograph, via Astoria Cove leasing site (astoria-cove.com), home page (cropped, reduced).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The 45 rents at 80% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and the 30 rents at 125% and 130% AMI are $264 to $603 over it.

The listing names HPD as its agency, so this was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect. Its FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program." It names CityFHEPS and Section 8 vouchers from HPD or NYCHA.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rent (80% AMI)Highest rent (125% or 130% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (80% AMI)Highest rent (125% or 130% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,126$2,871$2,604
1 bedroom$2,266$2,998$2,734
2 bedrooms$2,696$3,600$2,997

What it means: the 80% AMI rents are $478, $468 and $301 under the maximum, and the highest rents are $267, $264 and $603 over it.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. DSS-8r's 2026 allowances for electricity with a cooking range plus electric heat come to $163 for a studio, $188 for a one-bedroom and $249 for a two-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's addition. That leaves $2,441, $2,546 and $2,748, and the $2,696 two-bedroom stays under by $52.
  • Your maximum follows your household. DSS-8r sets it by family size: the studio or one-bedroom amount for one or two people, the two-bedroom amount for three or four.
  • No credit check with a subsidy: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
Photograph of a staged room with a bed, a curved tan sofa, a small round table and chairs, white walls and wood-look flooring, a wall of tall windows with sheer curtains looking out at a grey apartment tower with balconies, and a white wall-mounted air unit high on the wall above the bed
A staged apartment in a photograph on the building's leasing site, which advertises market-rate apartments. A wall-mounted heating and cooling unit is above the bed. Reside New York's page for the lottery lists "Split unit heating and cooling". Photo: Astoria Cove leasing site, SERHANT New Development for KS Group (the site names no photographer), leasing site photograph, via Astoria Cove leasing site (astoria-cove.com), home page (cropped, reduced).

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Code 11102

Every advertised rent is below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 11102, by $320 to $1,334 a month, before utilities.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11102, in dollars
Lowest rent (80% AMI)Highest rent (125% or 130% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11102
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (80% AMI)Highest rent (125% or 130% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11102
Studio$2,126$2,871$3,420
1 bedroom$2,266$2,998$3,600
2 bedrooms$2,696$3,600$3,920

What it means: the $3,600 two-bedrooms are $320 under HUD's $3,920 and equal HUD's figure for a one-bedroom.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; fair market rents from HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure estimates the 40th-percentile rent with utilities included.

  • Utilities: rents here leave out electricity and heat. Adding DSS-8r's $249 to the $3,600 two-bedroom gives $3,849, or $71 under HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11102.
Highest lottery rent at Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) against the lowest market-rate prices on the building's leasing site on October 8, 2026, in dollars
Highest lottery rentLowest "Gross Price"Lowest "Net Price"
View the data table
Apartment sizeHighest lottery rentLowest "Gross Price"Lowest "Net Price"
Studio$2,871$3,310$2,648
1 bedroom$2,998$3,738$2,990
2 bedrooms$3,600$5,656$4,525

What it means: the 130% AMI studio is $223 over the lowest net price for a market-rate studio, and the one-bedroom is $8 over.

Source: the leasing site's availability page, which listed nine apartments on October 8, 2026 and does not define its two prices. Each net price is 80% of the gross, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

How Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) Was Paid For

City property records show six lender documents dated March 21, 2025 whose amounts add up to $300,000,000, the figure trade reports gave for the construction loan.

Lots the documents are recorded againstAmount
4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue$21,600,000
4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue$51,700,000
4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue$20,700,000
8-11 26th Avenue and 25-02 9th Street$52,400,000
8-11 26th Avenue and 25-02 9th Street$124,500,000
8-11 26th Avenue and 25-02 9th Street$29,100,000

What it means: $94,000,000 is recorded against the two lottery buildings and $206,000,000 against the Building 3 site, by VoucherMatch's addition. No loan document was opened.

Source: ACRIS, six assignments of leases and rents to "S3 RE Astoria Cove I Funding LLC", each recorded with a mortgage document of the same amount.

  • The reported loan: REBusinessOnline reported "a $300 million construction loan" from S3 Capital. Commercial Observer added "$62 million in equity" from KS Group.
  • City agreements: agreements with the City of New York dated June 18, 2025 are recorded against each lot, and HPD's data gives that day as the project start date. The records list no mortgage to a city agency.

Preferences, Building Features and Extra Costs

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Queens Community Board 1.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
What the buildings have: listed, on the agent's page, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connect"recreational room*, game room, gym/spa/yoga/dance studio*, business center*, rooftop and outdoor terrace*, package lockers, storage, bike storage lockers, covered parking, electric car charging stations (*additional fees apply)".
  • On Reside New York's page"Dishwashers in Unit", "Washer and dryer in unit", "Split unit heating and cooling" and "Smoke Free".
  • Not statedpets, apartment sizes, and the price of parking, storage and the four starred items.
Rendering of a rooftop terrace paved in dark tile with wooden picnic tables, a row of wooden lounge chairs beside a small rectangular pool, a white bulkhead, planters with small trees and a low glass parapet under a clear sky
Rendering on the Housing Connect listing of a roof terrace with a pool. The listing's text names a "rooftop and outdoor terrace*" with additional fees. It does not mention a pool or say which building this is. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467, lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) (lottery 7467) (cropped, enlarged 1.11 times).
Watch outthe listing has 16 renderings and no interior photographs. Its first shows the tower planned on the waterfront, and its second a building whose canopy reads "8-11 26TH AVENUE". Neither was in this lottery.

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 75 apartments were due June 2, 2026, and HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

How the 75 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timingtwo to twelve months after June 2, 2026 runs from August 2026 to June 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: the guide adds "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and three from HPD's guide of June 2020.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ, which says the agent will ask for "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers".

Where openings are posted
  • Housing Connectits search listed 14 open rental lotteries on October 8, 2026, none for Astoria Cove.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements that day, none for Astoria Cove.
  • Reside New Yorkpaper applications went to "Astoria Cove Phase 1(A) Apartments C/O Reside Affordable, 349 Keap Street" in Brooklyn. Its contact page gives 718-387-4448, and HPD's re-rentals page lists it among managers to contact about vacancies.

What Is Published and What Is Not

As of October 8, 2026, the rents, income ranges and certificates of occupancy are on record, and three things a tenant would ask are not.

Known and not yet known
  • Not publishedhow many of the 75 apartments are leased, a move-in date, and whether the buildings keep a waiting list.
  • Not openedthe 2014 restrictive declaration and the 2025 agreements with the City, so the length of the rent limits is not stated here.
  • No longer onlinethe development website linked from the listing returned "Page not found". Reside New York's page moved and still read "Upcoming Project".
  • Whom to askReside New York, or 311: HPD's guide says to "ask for the Affordable Housing Hotline."

If You Need an Apartment Now

No application for Astoria Cove was found open on October 8, 2026, so a household that needs to move now has to look at other buildings.

Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 4-34 26th Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at Astoria Cove Phase 1(A)?

Studios were $2,126 or $2,871 a month, one-bedrooms $2,266 or $2,998, and two-bedrooms $2,696 or $3,600. Tenants pay for electricity, including heat.

How much do you have to earn for 4-34 26th Avenue?

The listing's ranges run from $77,829 a year for a $2,126 studio to $238,160 for five people in a $3,600 two-bedroom.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Astoria Cove?

The 45 rents at 80% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The 30 at 125% and 130% AMI are over it. Housing Connect waives minimum income for voucher holders.

Was 4-34 26th Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7467, "Astoria Cove Phase 1(A)", for 75 apartments at 4-34 and 4-42 26th Avenue, with applications due June 2, 2026.

Is One Astoria Cove the same as Astoria Cove Phase 1(A)?

The leasing site's floor plans use "One Astoria Cove" for 4-34 26th Avenue, one of the two lottery buildings. The listing's "442 26th Ave" is 4-42 26th Avenue.

Will there be another Astoria Cove housing lottery?

None was posted on October 8, 2026. HPD's data counts 110 affordable apartments in two more buildings, at 8-11 26th Avenue and 25-02 9th Street, which received foundation permits on June 1, 2026.

Are the rents at Astoria Cove below market?

Every rent is at least $320 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11102. The $2,871 studio is above the $2,648 lowest "Net Price" on the building's leasing site.

Sources for this article (21)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7467 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  3. 2014 Astoria Cove approvals (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  4. waterfront application filed in May 2026 (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  5. report of September 29, 2014 (nyc.gov)
  6. leasing site (astoria-cove.com)
  7. availability page (astoria-cove.com)
  8. page for the lottery (residenewyork.com)
  9. copy archived May 11, 2026 (web.archive.org)
  10. Commercial Observer (commercialobserver.com)
  11. REBusinessOnline (rebusinessonline.com)
  12. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  13. April (6sqft.com)
  14. June 2017 (6sqft.com)
  15. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  16. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  17. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  18. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  19. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  20. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  21. search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.