Skip to page content

East Harlem's Las Raices: 65 Affordable Apartments at 1761 Park Avenue and Three More Addresses, From $788 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerLas Raices is four new buildings with 78 apartments in East Harlem, Manhattan: 1761 Park Avenue, 505 East 118th Street, 338 East 117th Street and 303 East 102nd Street. NYC Housing Connect advertised 65 of them at 40%, 50% and 80% of area median income, from $788 for a studio to $3,031 for a three-bedroom, with applications due June 16, 2026. As of October 8, 2026, every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, and one building has a certificate of occupancy.

Last checked: October 8, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474, Department of Buildings jobs M00826434, M00719554, M00719204 and M00737602 and certificate of occupancy 1803136-0000001, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, HPD's list of 2023 tax credit awards, city property records (ACRIS) for Manhattan blocks 1771, 1815, 1688 and 1674, the City Planning Commission's report C 210428 PPM of October 6, 2021, with the Community Board 11 and Borough President recommendations attached to it, the project's record in the Zoning Application Portal, HPD's draft environmental impact statement of May 2021 on its environmental review page, HPD's press release of May 1, 2026, Lettire Construction's project page, the New York Housing Conference's project page, Goldstein Hall's case study, reports by the New York Real Estate Journal, the New York Construction Report, New York YIMBY in 2026 and 2025, PIX11 and Patch, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing, HPD's re-rentals page and HDC's re-rental search, K&G Upright Consulting's current vacancies page, and the CityFHEPS payment standards in DSS-8r (effective April 1, 2026).

Las Raices in numbers
  • 78apartments in the four buildings, on city permits
  • 65apartments advertised on Housing Connect
  • $788the lowest rent, for a studio at 40% AMI
  • $3,031the highest rent, for a three-bedroom at 80% AMI
  • June 16, 2026the application deadline
  • June 29, 2026the first certificate of occupancy, at East 118th Street
Two images side by side: at left a rendering of a tall tan brick apartment building with dark window bays and glass-fronted lower floors on a street corner, with street trees, parked cars and people on the sidewalk; at right a photograph of the same building under construction, its frame covered in yellow sheathing with blue tape around the window openings, black netting around the top floors, a red construction hoist on its side and green fencing at street level, next to a railway viaduct
1761 Park Avenue, the largest of the four Las Raices buildings: the rendering on the Housing Connect listing, left, and the building under construction in a photograph from Lettire Construction's project page, right. The photograph's camera data is dated August 26, 2025. The rendering file on the listing is marked "works still in progress". Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474 (rendering; the file carries the mark of the rendering studio Lifang) and Lettire Construction (photograph; the page names no photographer), lottery listing rendering and builder's project photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, Las Raices Apartments (lottery 7474); Lettire Construction, Las Raices project page (https://lettire.com/portfolio-items/las-raices-2026/) (two images placed side by side, each cropped and reduced; the rendering's left edge, with the corner mark "LIFANG works still in progress", is outside the crop).

What Was Built at 1761 Park Avenue and Three Other East Harlem Addresses

Las Raices is four new buildings of 13, six, six and five stories with 78 apartments, on lots the City of New York deeded to Las Raices Housing Development Fund Company, Inc. on November 8, 2024.

  • Developers and builder: Lettire Construction's page says the project "is being codeveloped by MDG Design and Construction and Ascendant Neighborhood Development, designed by GF55 Architects, and built by Lettire."
  • Names: Housing Connect titles the lottery "Las Raices Apartments" and spells it "Las Raíces" in its text.
  • Community space: "approximately 10,000 square feet" in the City Planning Commission's report and "approximately 9,750 s/f" in a 2025 New York Real Estate Journal report. The New York Housing Conference's page says the Park Avenue space "will be home to Opus Dance Theater".
  • Before construction: two lots were vacant, and two held parts of the Pleasant Village and Jackie Robinson community gardens under temporary licenses, the report says.
Watch outone project, four addresses, and two of them have a second one. The Department of Buildings files 1761 Park Avenue as 101 East 122nd Street and 505 East 118th Street as 507 East 118th Street. The City Planning Commission wrote 1761-1763 Park Avenue and 505-507 East 118th Street.
Address on Housing ConnectStories and heightApartments in the buildingApartments in the lotteryCertificate of occupancy
1761 Park Avenue13 stories, 124 feet4738none as of October 8, 2026
505 East 118th Street6 stories, 62 feet1816first issued June 29, 2026
338 East 117th Street5 stories, 63 feet76none as of October 8, 2026
303 East 102nd Street6 stories, 63 feet65none as of October 8, 2026
All four7865one of four

What it means: 60 of the 65 lottery apartments are in the three buildings between East 117th and East 123rd Streets.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs M00826434, M00719554, M00719204 and M00737602; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474.

Housing Connect addressDepartment of Buildings addressBlock and lotZIP code
1761 Park Avenue101 East 122nd Streetblock 1771, lot 110035
505 East 118th Street507 East 118th Streetblock 1815, lot 610035
338 East 117th Street338 East 117th Streetblock 1688, lot 3410035
303 East 102nd Street303 East 102nd Streetblock 1674, lot 10410029

What it means: search city records by the second address or by block and lot.

Source: the same listing and jobs.

Two photographs side by side on a white field: at left a street corner with a chain-link fence overgrown with vines and trees behind it, a traffic signal pole and a no-parking sign in the foreground; at right an intersection with green street signs reading E 122 St, traffic signals, a fire hydrant and a rust-colored steel railway viaduct running along the avenue with cars parked beneath it
The Park Avenue site before construction, in two photographs from HPD's draft environmental impact statement of May 2021: the fenced lot at East 122nd Street and Park Avenue, then used by the Jackie Robinson Community Garden under a temporary license, and the railway viaduct on Park Avenue. Photo: NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development, Las Raices Draft Environmental Impact Statement (the document names no photographer), photographs in a government agency's environmental review document, via NYC HPD, Las Raices Draft Environmental Impact Statement (CEQR No. 20HPD002M), Figure 1-2d, Development Site D Existing Conditions (two photographs placed side by side on a white field, each reduced).
Las Raices, from city-owned lots to the first certificate of occupancy
  • February 2018HPD names developers for 87 vacant city-owned lots, among them Ascendant Neighborhood Development and MDG, the Borough President's recommendation says.
  • October 6, 2021the City Planning Commission approves the disposition of "six City-owned lots".
  • November 8, 2024the deed and six mortgages are signed, HPD's project start date.
  • April 14, 2026PIX11 reports that the lottery is open.
  • June 16, 2026lottery applications are due.
  • June 29, 2026507 East 118th Street receives its first certificate of occupancy.

What it means: the first certificate of occupancy came almost four years and nine months after the Commission's approval, by VoucherMatch's count.

Source: City Planning Commission report C 210428 PPM; Department of Buildings; ACRIS; HPD project 67035; PIX11; the listing.

What changed between the 2021 plan and the buildings on the permits
  • Apartmentsthe Commission approved "approximately 81 affordable rental units, two on-site superintendent units". The four permits add up to 78.
  • Park Avenue"approximately 52 affordable housing units" in the report, 47 on the permit.
  • East 102nd Streetan "approximately five-story, 54-foot-tall building" in the report, six stories and 63 feet on the permit.
  • CompletionHPD's 2021 environmental statement expected construction "to be completed in 2023".

Where the Four Las Raices Buildings Are

All four buildings are in East Harlem, in Manhattan Community District 11: three in ZIP code 10035 and one, on East 102nd Street, in ZIP code 10029.

At left a street map titled Project Location of all Development Sites, with four small colored rectangles lettered A on East 102nd Street between First and Second Avenues, B on East 117th Street, C on East 118th Street east of Pleasant Avenue and D at Park Avenue and East 122nd Street, the Harlem River at right, a scale bar and a legend; at right four renderings of brick apartment buildings: a tall tan tower on a street corner and three narrow red brick buildings set between older neighbors
Left: HPD's map of the four sites, from its 2021 draft environmental impact statement. Site D is 1761 Park Avenue, C is 505 East 118th Street, B is 338 East 117th Street and A is 303 East 102nd Street. Right: the Housing Connect listing's renderings of the four buildings: Park Avenue and East 118th Street above, East 117th Street and East 102nd Street below. Photo: NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development (map); NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474 (renderings), map in a government agency's environmental review document; lottery listing renderings, via NYC HPD, Las Raices Draft Environmental Impact Statement (CEQR No. 20HPD002M), Figure 1-1, Project Location of all Development Sites; NYC Housing Connect, Las Raices Apartments (lottery 7474) (https://housingconnect.nyc.gov/PublicWeb/details/7474) (map cropped to the figure and reduced; four listing renderings placed beside it, each reduced, the Park Avenue rendering cropped).
BuildingWhere on the blockNearest subway stationStraight-line distanceNext nearest
1761 Park AvenuePark Avenue, East 122nd to 123rd Streets125 St (4, 5, 6)about 0.2 miles116 St (6), about 0.3 miles
505 East 118th StreetPleasant Avenue to the FDR Drive116 St (6)about 0.5 miles125 St (4, 5, 6), about 0.6 miles
338 East 117th StreetFirst to Second Avenues116 St (6)about 0.3 miles110 St (6), about 0.5 miles
303 East 102nd StreetFirst to Second Avenues103 St (6)about 0.2 miles96 St (Q), about 0.3 miles

What it means: East 118th Street is the farthest from a subway station, about half a mile.

Source: locations from the City Planning Commission's report; MTA station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from Department of Buildings coordinates, so the walk is longer.

  • Other transit: the report puts the Park Avenue site "three blocks from the Metro-North station at East 125th Street and Park Avenue".
  • Flood plain: the Borough President's 2021 recommendation says "Development Sites A, B, and C all fall within the FEMA 100-year Flood Plain", the three smaller buildings.
  • Nearby on VoucherMatch: voucher apartments in East Harlem and apartments along the 6 train.

78 Apartments in Four Buildings: 65 on Housing Connect, 12 for Formerly Homeless Tenants

The counts fit together: 65 lottery apartments, 12 apartments in HPD's lowest income band and one superintendent's apartment make 78.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 78the four building permits, HPD's production data and Lettire's page.
  • 65the listing: "65 newly constructed units at 40%, 50%, and 80% AMI".
  • 12the New York Housing Conference's page: "12 apartments will be for individuals who were previously homeless."
  • 77HPD's list of 2023 tax credit awards, which counts 76 of them as tax credit units.
Building40% AMI50% AMI80% AMILottery total
1761 Park Avenue9121738
505 East 118th Street17816
338 East 117th Street3126
303 East 102nd Street2215
All four15222865

What it means: 28 of the 65 lottery apartments, or 43%, are at 80% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474, counted by VoucherMatch from its 65 unit rows. AMI is the area median income.

BuildingStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms3 bedrooms
1761 Park Avenue719120
505 East 118th Street4543
338 East 117th Street1302
303 East 102nd Street3020
All four1527185

What it means: the five three-bedrooms are at East 118th and East 117th Streets.

Source: the same 65 rows.

Apartments at Las Raices by size: all four buildings in HPD's data against the 65 in the lottery
All four buildings (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
View the data table
Apartment sizeAll four buildings (HPD)Lottery (Housing Connect)
Studio2015
1 bedroom3227
2 bedrooms2118
3 bedrooms55

What it means: 13 apartments sit outside the lottery, by VoucherMatch's subtraction: five studios, five one-bedrooms and three two-bedrooms.

Source: HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, project 67035; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474.

Key pointHPD's data and the lottery line up. HPD counts 12 extremely low income apartments, 37 very low income, 28 low income and one for a superintendent. The lottery had 15 at 40% and 22 at 50%, which make 37, and 28 at 80%.

Who the 12 apartments outside the lottery are for

No source opened says how a household is referred to one of them.

  • Goldstein Hall, the developers' counsel: "12 of which are reserved for formerly homeless individuals".
  • The Borough President's 2021 table: 12 "Formerly Homeless" apartments: eight at Park Avenue, two at East 118th Street and one at each of the others, the same split as in HPD's data.
Two architectural drawings on a white field: at left a studio apartment plan with a bathroom, a closet, a kitchen run along one wall and one main room labeled LR/SA/DA 201 NSF; at right part of a first-floor plan with a ramp and vestibule, meter and compactor rooms, an elevator, two stairs, an apartment labeled APT 02 at 491 square feet with one living and sleeping room, and an apartment labeled APT 01 at 968 square feet with three bedrooms
Left: the studio layout on the Housing Connect listing, which says the layout may differ from the actual apartment. Right: part of GF55 Architects' first-floor plan for 505-507 East 118th Street, dated July 27, 2020, from the City Planning Commission's report. Apartments as built can differ. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474 (studio layout); GF55 Architects (first-floor plan), lottery listing drawing; architect's drawing attached to a City Planning Commission report, via NYC Housing Connect, Las Raices Apartments (lottery 7474); City Planning Commission report C 210428 PPM, GF55 Architects sheet A-101.00 (https://www.nyc.gov/assets/planning/download/pdf/about/cpc/210428.pdf) (two drawings placed side by side on a white field; the studio layout enlarged 1.48 times, the first-floor plan cropped and reduced).
DrawingApartment shownSize on the drawing
Studio layout in the listingone main room, labeled "LR/SA/DA"201 net square feet
GF55 first-floor plan, 505-507 East 118th Streetapartment 01, three bedrooms968 square feet
GF55 first-floor plan, 505-507 East 118th Streetapartment 02, one living and sleeping room491 square feet

What it means: the 2020 sheet predates the permits, so apartments as built can differ.

Source: the listing's drawing, captioned "Studio unit. Layout may defer from actual unit."; GF55 Architects sheet A-101.00, dated July 27, 2020, in the City Planning Commission's report.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1761 Park Avenue

The 65 lottery apartments have 11 rents, from $788 to $3,031 a month, the same in all four buildings, and the lowest minimum income in the listing is $30,823 a year.

Monthly rent and yearly income range by apartment type
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
3 studios, 40% AMI$7881 to 2$30,823 to $54,280
8 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$9961 to 3$38,469 to $61,080
4 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$1,1782 to 5$46,115 to $73,280
6 studios, 50% AMI$1,0311 to 2$39,155 to $67,850
8 one-bedrooms, 50% AMI$1,3001 to 3$48,892 to $76,350
7 two-bedrooms, 50% AMI$1,5432 to 5$58,629 to $91,600
1 three-bedroom, 50% AMI$1,7673 to 7$67,749 to $105,200
6 studios, 80% AMI$1,7601 to 2$64,149 to $108,560
11 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,2111 to 3$80,126 to $122,160
7 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,6362 to 5$96,103 to $146,560
4 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI$3,0313 to 7$111,086 to $168,320

What it means: a one-bedroom rents for $996, $1,300 or $2,211 depending on the household's income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474, read October 8, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size40% AMI maximum50% AMI maximum80% AMI maximum
1 person$47,520$59,400$95,040
2 people$54,280$67,850$108,560
3 people$61,080$76,350$122,160
4 people$67,840$84,800$135,680
5 people$73,280$91,600$146,560
6 peopleno apartment$98,400$157,440
7 peopleno apartment$105,200$168,320

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size. No 40% AMI apartment takes six or seven people.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household could fall outside the ranges
  • Under $30,823below the lowest minimum, unless the household has a rental subsidy.
  • One person, $59,401 to $64,148over the 50% AMI maximum and under the 80% AMI minimum, by VoucherMatch's check of each row.
  • Larger householdsthe same gap is $76,351 to $80,125 for three people, $84,801 to $96,102 for four, $91,601 to $96,102 for five, $98,401 to $111,085 for six and $105,201 to $111,085 for seven. Two people have no gap.
  • Asset limit$67,840 at 40% AMI, $84,800 at 50% and $135,680 at 80%.
Key pointtenants pay for electricity. The listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove. Rent includes heating and hot water. NO PETS policy." Its field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
Watch outthe income figures rose after the lottery opened. HPD's release of May 1, 2026 gave "Eligible Income: $30,823 - $160,720". The listing now tops out at $168,320. The rents match.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

All 11 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size, and the closest is $361 under.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, with HPD as its agency, so HPD's rule applies. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Las Raices against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rent (80% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rent (80% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$788$1,760$2,604
1 bedroom$996$2,211$2,734
2 bedrooms$1,178$2,636$2,997
3 bedrooms$1,767$3,031$3,753

What it means: the 80% AMI apartments are $844, $523, $361 and $722 under the maximum, from studio to three-bedroom.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, all utilities included.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities, and here tenants pay for electricity. DSS-8r's 2026 allowance for "Electric with Cooking Range" is $111, $126, $167 and $209, from studio to three-bedroom. Subtracting it leaves the 80% AMI rents $733, $397, $194 and $513 under, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Codes 10035 and 10029

Every advertised rent is below what HUD estimates an ordinary apartment costs in ZIP code 10035, but the 80% AMI two-bedrooms are only $54 below it, before electricity.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at Las Raices against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10035, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rent (80% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10035
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rent (80% AMI)HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10035
Studio$788$1,760$2,350
1 bedroom$996$2,211$2,470
2 bedrooms$1,178$2,636$2,690
3 bedrooms$1,767$3,031$3,400

What it means: the 80% AMI rents are $590, $259, $54 and $369 under HUD's figures.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code with utilities included.

Watch outcounted with electricity at DSS-8r's allowance, the 80% AMI two-bedrooms cost more than HUD's figure. Adding $167 to $2,636 gives $2,803, which is $113 over HUD's $2,690, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Apartment size at 303 East 102nd StreetHighest lottery rent thereHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10029
Studio$1,760$2,280
2 bedrooms$1,543$2,620

What it means: the East 102nd Street rents are $520 and $1,077 under them.

Source: the same listing and HUD table. HUD's ZIP 10029 figures are $2,280, $2,390, $2,620 and $3,280, from studio to three-bedroom.

How Las Raices Was Financed

City property records show six mortgages signed on November 8, 2024: five to Webster Bank and one to the City of New York.

Recorded documentAmount
Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association$36,515,420
Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association$7,988,371
Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association$2,835,582
Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association$1,500,000
Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association$680,000
Mortgage to the City of New York$14,907,996

What it means: the five Webster Bank mortgages add up to $49,519,373, by VoucherMatch's addition. The records do not say which mortgage carries which program's money.

Source: ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1771, lot 1 and the three other lots, documents dated November 8, 2024.

What else is on record
  • Tax creditsHPD's list of 2023 awards has Las Raices East Harlem LLC at $1,748,000, for credit year 2024.
  • How longthe Commission's report calls the apartments "permanently affordable".
  • Not publisheda total development cost.
Watch outthe program names in print do not match. The listing names the "Supportive Housing Loan Program and the Mandatory Inclusionary Housing (MIH) Program". The City Planning Commission's report says the apartments "would be provided through HPD's Neighborhood Construction Program (NCP)", and the Real Estate Journal's report names the same program.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities and gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of Manhattan Community Board 11.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
What the buildings have: listed, on city records, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connect"On-site laundry rooms, elevator access, and dedicated bike storage", "Secured lobbies" and "Air-conditioning".
  • Elevators on city recordsthree passenger elevators at Park Avenue and one in each of the other buildings, plus an inclined wheelchair lift at 338 East 117th Street.
  • Restricted"NO PETS policy" and "Smoke-free". The Commission's report says "no accessory parking would be provided".
  • Not stateda dishwasher, tenant storage, and whether the laundry rooms cost extra.
Watch outa no-pets rule does not cover service animals. The Housing Connect FAQ gives "allowing a service animal in a building that has a no pet policy" as a reasonable accommodation.

Construction Status of the Four Buildings on October 8, 2026

One of the four buildings has a certificate of occupancy: 507 East 118th Street, the Department of Buildings' address for 505 East 118th Street, received its first on June 29, 2026.

BuildingNew building application filedFirst construction permitCertificate of occupancy
1761 Park AvenueJanuary 24, 2024November 14, 2024none as of October 8, 2026
505 East 118th StreetApril 19, 2022November 13, 2024June 29, 2026
338 East 117th StreetApril 19, 2022August 26, 2024none as of October 8, 2026
303 East 102nd StreetJune 14, 2022August 26, 2024none as of October 8, 2026

What it means: the East 118th Street building took between 19 and 20 months from permit to certificate, which was renewed twice in September 2026. The data does not say whether it is temporary or final.

Source: Department of Buildings job filings, permits and certificate data.

At left an architect's line drawing of a brick building front with four bays of windows on each of four upper floors, a canopied entrance with a railing and two grilled windows at street level and a set-back top floor, titled North East Elevation 118th St; at right a photograph of a concrete-block building under construction, with blue-taped window openings above a sidewalk shed, a chain-link fence and orange and white barriers marked Lettire, next to a red brick tenement with fire escapes and a street paved in stone blocks
505-507 East 118th Street: GF55 Architects' street elevation from the City Planning Commission's 2021 report, left, and the building under construction in a photograph from Lettire Construction's page, right (camera date August 26, 2025). Lettire's page does not label its photographs; this one is identified by the building's width and by the block paving of East 118th Street, both seen in HPD's 2021 photographs of the site. Photo: GF55 Architects (drawing); Lettire Construction (photograph; the page names no photographer), architect's drawing attached to a City Planning Commission report; builder's project photograph, via Lettire Construction, Las Raices project page; City Planning Commission report C 210428 PPM, GF55 Architects sheet A-301.00 (https://www.nyc.gov/assets/planning/download/pdf/about/cpc/210428.pdf) (two images placed side by side, each cropped and reduced).
  • The other three: their construction permits run to October 23 and October 24, 2026. The New York Construction Report wrote on August 29, 2025 that "Construction has reached its highest point".
Photograph looking up at a tall concrete apartment building under construction: its lower floors have large dark windows framed in blue tape and yellow sheathing, the floors above are open or partly glazed, black netting hangs around the top, a construction hoist tower runs up the left side and green fencing lines the street, with a railway viaduct at the left edge and older apartment buildings at the right
1761 Park Avenue under construction, in a photograph from Lettire Construction's project page; the railway viaduct on Park Avenue is at the left edge. The camera data is dated August 26, 2025. Photo: Lettire Construction (the page names no photographer), builder's project photograph, via Lettire Construction, Las Raices project page (cropped, reduced).

What Happens After the Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 65 apartments were due June 16, 2026, and HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline".

How the 65 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timingtwo to twelve months after June 16, 2026 runs from August 2026 to June 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: the same guide says "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and three from HPD's guide of June 2020.

If you applied, have these ready
  • Identity. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC card
  • Income and assets. pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address and asset documentation
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or consent to a credit review
  • Voucher. your shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers

Source: the Housing Connect FAQ, which says the marketing agent will ask for "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers".

Where the next openings are posted
  • Housing Connectcity lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements on October 8, 2026, none for Las Raices.
  • The marketing agentpaper applications went to "P.O. Box 667 Las Raices Apartments c/o K&G Upright Consulting" in Yonkers. HPD's re-rentals page lists K&G Upright among the managers to ask about vacancies. Its current vacancies page showed one Brooklyn building on October 8, 2026.
Known and not yet known on October 8, 2026
  • Knownthe rents, income ranges, counts by building, preferences and deadline in the listing.
  • Not issuedcertificates of occupancy for three buildings, with 60 of the 78 apartments.
  • Not publishedmove-in dates, how many of the 65 apartments have been offered, whether any building keeps a waiting list, and who refers households to the other 12.

If You Need an Apartment Now

Applications were due June 16, 2026, and three of the four buildings have no certificate of occupancy, so a household that needs to move this year has to look elsewhere.

Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1761 Park Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the rent at Las Raices Apartments in East Harlem?

Studios are $788, $1,031 or $1,760 a month. One-bedrooms are $996, $1,300 or $2,211, two-bedrooms $1,178, $1,543 or $2,636, and three-bedrooms $1,767 or $3,031.

How much do you have to earn for 1761 Park Avenue?

The listing's ranges run from $30,823 a year for a $788 studio to $168,320 for seven people in a $3,031 three-bedroom.

Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Las Raices?

All 11 advertised rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The Housing Connect FAQ says "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."

Was 1761 Park Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. It was lottery 7474, named "Las Raices Apartments", for 65 apartments at 1761 Park Avenue, 505 East 118th Street, 338 East 117th Street and 303 East 102nd Street.

Is 101 East 122nd Street the same building as 1761 Park Avenue?

Yes. The Department of Buildings files the Park Avenue building as 101 East 122nd Street, and 505 East 118th Street as 507 East 118th Street.

Is Las Raices finished?

One of the four buildings has a certificate of occupancy: 507 East 118th Street, issued June 29, 2026. The other three had none as of October 8, 2026.

Are the rents at Las Raices below market?

Mostly. Every rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10035, but the $2,636 two-bedrooms are only $54 below it before electricity.

Sources for this article (24)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7474 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  3. list of 2023 tax credit awards (nyc.gov)
  4. report C 210428 PPM (nyc.gov)
  5. record in the Zoning Application Portal (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  6. environmental review page (nyc.gov)
  7. press release of May 1, 2026 (nyc.gov)
  8. project page (lettire.com)
  9. project page (thenyhc.org)
  10. case study (goldsteinhall.com)
  11. New York Real Estate Journal (nyrej.com)
  12. New York Construction Report (newyorkconstructionreport.com)
  13. 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  14. 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
  15. PIX11 (pix11.com)
  16. Patch (patch.com)
  17. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  18. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  19. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  20. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  21. current vacancies page (kgupright.com)
  22. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  23. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  24. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.