Skip to page content

Bushwick Housing Lottery: 3 One-Bedrooms at Cantilever House, 21 Garden Street, for $3,250 a Month, Applications Due November 4, 2026

25 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, applications are open on NYC Housing Connect for three apartments at Cantilever House. It is at 21 Garden Street in Bushwick, Brooklyn. Lottery 7660 lists three one-bedrooms at $3,250 a month, at 130% AMI. Applications are due November 4, 2026. Without a voucher, one person needs $120,069 to $154,440 a year, and three people can earn up to $198,510. The rent is $516 above the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum and $600 above HUD's figure for the ZIP code.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7660, its rent table and the open-lottery search; the 2025 listing, lottery 6827; the City's Housing Connect lottery data; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; HPD's pages on Inclusionary Housing, 421-a, marketing agents and re-rentals; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing; Department of Buildings job filings (job 321592576), permits and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 70126); PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3138, lot 13; City Planning's address search and zoning map data; the MTA's station data; DXA Studio's project page; and reports by NYREJ (May 5, 2020), New York YIMBY (March 14, 2025) and Brownstoner (March 26, 2025). The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

Cantilever House in numbers
  • 3one-bedroom apartments in the lottery
  • $3,250the monthly rent for each, at 130% AMI
  • Nov. 4the 2026 application deadline
  • $120,069the lowest yearly income that qualifies without a voucher
  • 50apartments in the eight-story building
  • 15apartments in the building's first lottery, in 2025

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7660 and 6827, read October 18, 2026; Department of Buildings job 321592576.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Architectural rendering of an eight-story building with a pale stone-colored facade and a grid of large windows on a tree-lined street; the top two floors jut out sideways over the roof of a three-story yellow brick building next door, with a blue clapboard house beyond, cars parked along the curb and people on the sidewalk
A rendering of Cantilever House, 21 Garden Street in Bushwick, Brooklyn, by DXA Studio. The architect's page describes a 22-foot-long cantilever at the two penthouse levels, using air rights from the neighboring lots. A rendering, not a photograph. Photo: DXA Studio, architect's rendering on the architect's project page, via DXA Studio, project page for 21 Garden Street (hero image) (cropped to 16:9 and reduced).

What Was Built at 21 Garden Street

Cantilever House is an eight-story building with 50 apartments at 21 Garden Street. Its first certificate of occupancy was issued March 4, 2025.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "Cantilever House- Units Still Available" and sums it up as "3 units at 130% AMI". The 2025 lottery was "Cantilever House". HPD's data calls the project "21 GARDEN STREET".
  • The cantilever: DXA Studio's project page says the building has "a 22-foot-long cantilever overhang at the two penthouse levels, with retaining air rights from the neighboring lots."
  • The outside: the page describes "light limestone-colored fiber cement" and windows "slightly angled towards a southern orientation".
  • Architect: the building filing names Jordan Rogove, a registered architect. NYREJ reported in May 2020 that "DXA studio has been engaged by the Rivington Co." and quoted "DXA Cofounder Jordan Rogove".
  • Owner: Garden Owner LLC, in the filings, PLUTO and the 2020 deed. YIMBY and Brownstoner name Rivington Company as the developer.
  • Builder: the new building permit names Cavan Builders Corp.
Two photographs side by side of a finished white eight-story building: at left, seen down a street of parked cars and low houses with graffiti, the upper floors project sideways over the lower roofs as a large overhanging block; at right, the building rises behind a gas station shop and a grocery with a shuttered, graffitied gate, its corner windows set at an angle
The finished building in two photographs by Florian Holzherr from DXA Studio's project page. At left, the overhang at the top two floors; at right, the windows the architect says are angled toward the south. The page gives no date or place for the photographs. Photo: Florian Holzherr (named in the files' metadata), for DXA Studio's project page, architect's project photographs, via DXA Studio, project page for 21 Garden Street, photographs 3 and 7 (two photographs cropped to 8:9, reduced and placed side by side on white; the left crop ends above a parked truck's license plate).
21 Garden Street in the City's records
RecordWhat it shows
LotBrooklyn block 3138, lot 13: 80 by about 100 feet, 7,800 square feet
Building8 stories, 80 feet, 50 apartments
ZoningR6A
FiledJuly 24, 2020
Plans approvedApril 13, 2022
PermitFirst issued September 26, 2022
Certificate of occupancyFirst issued March 4, 2025; renewed seven times, most recently September 28, 2026
Affordable housing dataHPD project 70126: 15 income-restricted apartments of 50

What it means: HPD counts 11 low-income and 4 middle-income apartments here.

Source: Department of Buildings job 321592576, its permits and certificates of occupancy; PLUTO; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building, all read October 18, 2026.

21 Garden Street, from an old two-story building to a second lottery
  • February 11, 2020the lot is deeded to Garden Owner LLC for $5,450,000.
  • July 24, 2020the new building application is filed.
  • December 8, 2021the owner signs three mortgages and an agreement with the City. HPD's data gives the same date as the project start.
  • March 30, 2022a permit is issued to demolish the two-story building on the lot.
  • September 26, 2022the new building permit is issued.
  • March 4, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • March 13 to April 3, 2025the first lottery takes applications for 15 apartments.
  • November 4, 2026applications are due for the three apartments still available.

What it means: the first certificate came about 29 months after the permit, by VoucherMatch's count.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs 321592576 and 322096762; HPD's production data; the City's Housing Connect lottery data; the listing.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Year boughtBrownstoner wrote "In 2019, the Rivington Company purchased the building". The deed in ACRIS is dated February 11, 2020.
  • Finished or notthe City issued a certificate of occupancy in March 2025. HPD's data shows no completion date, and DXA's page says "In Progress".
  • The listing's main pictureits file carries a credential saying an AI image tool made it, so this report leaves it out.

What it means: the building has a certificate of occupancy, and the listing says "Many residents already call Cantilever House home".

Source: the records and reports named.

What Inclusionary Housing and 421-a Mean Here

The listing names two City programs: the "Inclusionary Housing Program" and the "421a Tax Incentive program".

The programs, in the City's words
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says a building in these areas "may receive a density bonus", room to build more, for "permanently affordable housing". Those apartments are generally for "low-income households earning up to 80% of Area Median Income (AMI)".
  • This lotCity Planning's map data puts it in the "Rheingold Rezoning" Inclusionary Housing area, adopted December 10, 2013. DXA's page says the project set aside "11 of the apartments" for "households earning no more than 80% of AMI."
  • 421-aHPD calls it "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." Its 2016 program gives rental buildings the options in the next table.
  • Which option hereno record opened names one. The listing says the exemption is "anticipated".

What it means: the three apartments in this lottery are at 130% AMI, so they are not the 11 that DXA's page says are set aside at 80% AMI.

Source: HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages; City Planning's map data; DXA's page; the listing, all read October 18, 2026.

421-a(16) rental optionHPD's rule, quoted
Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI"
Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI"

What it means: no record opened says which option, if any, 21 Garden Street uses.

Source: HPD's 421-a page, read October 18, 2026.

The First Cantilever House Lottery, in 2025

The building had a lottery for 15 apartments from March 13 to April 3, 2025. The new listing offers three one-bedrooms from that building at 130% AMI and calls them "Units Still Available".

2025 lottery, 68272026 lottery, 7660
ApplicationsMarch 13 to April 3, 2025Due November 4, 2026
Apartments15: 11 at 80% AMI, 4 at 130% AMI3 at 130% AMI
80% AMI rents8 one-bedrooms at $1,620; 3 two-bedrooms at $1,881none
130% AMI rents1 one-bedroom at $3,595; 3 at $3,4003 one-bedrooms at $3,250
Preferences4 groups1 group

What it means: the new rent is $150 to $345 a month lower than the 130% AMI rents in the 2025 record.

Source: Housing Connect records for lotteries 6827 and 7660, read October 18, 2026; the City's lottery data, updated October 5, 2026, for the 2025 dates.

What the records say about the three apartments
  • How they are filledthe new listing does not say first come, first served or waiting list. It is a lottery with a deadline. The FAQ says log numbers are given at random "Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline". Its record is marked as not a mini lottery. The City's data describes "mini lotteries" as re-rentals "that may be filled directly with eligible Housing Connect users".
  • The 2025 lottery's statusthe City's data lists it as "Closed", not "All Units Filled".
  • 2025 rents, two versionsin March 2025, YIMBY and Brownstoner reported four 130% AMI one-bedrooms at $3,595. The 2025 record now shows one at $3,595 and three at $3,400.
  • A note in the old recordits summary now reads "11 Units at 80% AMI and 4 units at 130% AMI. MA request to reduce rent 3.5.2026". The record does not explain it.
  • Same apartments?No record says whether these three were offered in 2025.

What it means: the 2025 record has changed since those reports. Its income limits now match the new listing's.

Source: the two listings; the Housing Connect FAQ; the City's lottery data; YIMBY, March 14, 2025; Brownstoner, March 26, 2025.

Where Cantilever House Is

21 Garden Street is in Bushwick, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11206. Brownstoner describes Garden Street as "a one-block street between Flushing and Bushwick avenues."

The location in the records
  • BushwickCity Planning's address search, DXA's page and both 2025 reports. The Buildings data says "Bushwick (West)".
  • Bushwick and Williamsburgthe area Housing Connect's search gives. The listing's text says "at the crossroads of Williamsburg and Bushwick".
  • DistrictsBrooklyn Community District 4 and City Council District 34.
  • Next doorzoning lot papers of 2020 and 2021 list the lot with 29-31 and 33 Garden Street.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Bushwick, the name of its page for Section 8 apartments in Bushwick.

Source: the records named; ACRIS.

Subway stations nearest 21 Garden Street
StationDaytime linesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Flushing AvJ, Mabout 0.2 milesYes
Myrtle AvJ, M, Zabout 0.3 milesNo
Morgan AvLabout 0.4 milesNo
Montrose AvLabout 0.5 milesNo
Lorimer StJ, Mabout 0.6 milesNo
Central AvMabout 0.6 milesNo
Flushing AvGabout 0.7 milesNo
Grand StLabout 0.8 milesYes

What it means: the nearest station is Flushing Av on the J and M, about 0.2 miles away, and it is marked accessible. The 2025 listing pointed to "the Morgan Ave L and Myrtle Ave J, M, Z trains".

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses: the listing names stops at Kosciuszko St, Myrtle-Willoughby Avs and Myrtle Av/Broadway. It does not give the routes.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the L train and the J train.

Rents and Income Limits at Cantilever House on Housing Connect

All three apartments rent for $3,250 a month. Without a voucher, the lowest income that qualifies is $120,069 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
3 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,2501 to 3$120,069 to $198,510

What it means: the three apartment records and the rent table match.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7660 and its rent table, read October 18, 2026. The top of the range is for three people.

Household sizeLowest yearly incomeHighest yearly income
1 person$120,069$154,440
2 people$120,069$176,410
3 people$120,069$198,510
4 or more peoplenot offerednot offered

What it means: yearly income before taxes has to fall inside the range for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment
  • Under $120,069below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Over the top of the rangemore than $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two or $198,510 for three.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in this listing.

What it means: one person has a range of $34,371 to fit in, from $120,069 to $154,440.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's income ranges.

Key pointtenants pay for all of their electricity here, and it runs the heat. The listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove, hot water, and heat." It gives no estimate of the bills.
A kitchen with flat sage-green cabinets to the ceiling, a white counter and white brick-pattern backsplash, a stainless steel sink, a smooth-top electric range with front knobs, a black microwave above and a tall stainless refrigerator, with a round marble table and cane chairs in the foreground
A kitchen at Cantilever House in a photograph from the Housing Connect listing. The range has a smooth electric top, as the listing's text says; the 2025 listing's kitchen rendering showed gas burners. The listing does not say which apartment this is. Photo: the lottery listing, listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, Cantilever House- Units Still Available (lottery 7660) (enlarged 1.125 times to 1600 x 900).
Two photographs side by side: at left a living room with a tall corner window looking out on bare trees and a low brick building, a green sofa, a shaggy white rug and a long wooden coffee table, and a wall air-conditioning unit; at right a bedroom with a woven leather headboard, white bedding, a wooden side table and a tall window
A living room and a bedroom at Cantilever House, staged with furniture, in photographs from the Housing Connect listing. The listing does not say which apartments are shown or whether they are among the three in the lottery. Photo: the lottery listing, listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, Cantilever House- Units Still Available (lottery 7660) (two photographs cropped to 8:9, enlarged 1.125 times and placed side by side on white).

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Cantilever House?

Not with CityFHEPS at this rent. The $3,250 rent is above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for every household size these apartments allow. Housing Connect does not apply the minimum income to voucher holders. But its FAQ says "rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at Cantilever House against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less utility allowances
View the data table
HouseholdLottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less utility allowances
1 or 2 people$3,250$2,734$2,502
3 people$3,250$2,997$2,765

What it means: the rent is $516 over the maximum for one or two people and $253 over for three. After the allowances it is $748 and $485 over.

Source: rent from the listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which are "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease". DSS-8r pairs one or two people with $2,734 and three or four with $2,997. The last column takes off the allowances below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

One-bedroom allowance in DSS-8rMonthly amount
Electric with Cooking Range$126
Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)$106
Both$232

What it means: DSS decides which allowances apply. These are its estimates, not real bills.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowance schedule, the rows that match what the listing says tenants pay.

How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11206

The $3,250 rent is $600 above HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 11206. That "affordable" rent is above the area figure, before any utility bills.

One-bedroom at Cantilever House against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11206, monthly, in dollars
View the data table
Monthly amountDollars
Lottery rent$3,250
Rent plus DSS-8r electricity allowances$3,482
HUD fair market rent, one bedroom$2,650

What it means: with the allowances added, the rent is $832 a month over HUD's figure.

Source: rent from the listing; allowances from DSS-8r, added by VoucherMatch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026: its 40th-percentile estimate for the ZIP code, utilities included.

Apartment sizeHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11206
Studio$2,520
1 bedroom$2,650
2 bedrooms$2,890
3 bedrooms$3,660
4 bedrooms$4,010

What it means: the lottery's one-bedroom rent is higher than HUD's figure for a two-bedroom here.

Source: HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents, fiscal year 2027; ZIP code 11206 from the listing, the Buildings data and PLUTO.

How Cantilever House Was Financed

Property records show private mortgages and two agreements with the City. No record opened shows a City loan.

Recorded documents for 21 Garden Street
DateDocumentAmount
February 11, 2020Deed to Garden Owner LLC$5,450,000
December 8, 2021Three mortgages to Post Road Real Estate Finance LLC$25,500,000 together
December 8, 2021Agreement with the City of New Yorknone listed
December 30, 2024Agreement with the same lender$27,000,000
December 30, 2024Mortgage to the same lender$1,500,000
February 13, 2025Agreement with HPD and the Citynone listed

What it means: $27,000,000 equals the four mortgages added together, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The index does not describe that agreement.

Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 3138, lot 13, read October 18, 2026. The City agreements are indexed as "SUNDRY AGREEMENT".

Preferences, Features and Fees at Cantilever House

The listing sets aside 5% of the apartments for people with a mobility disability. It lists no other preference group.

Preferences: this listing, the 2025 listing and the FAQ
  • This listingone row, "Mobility", 5%, a set-aside.
  • The 2025 listingmobility 5%, "Vision/Hearing" 2%, "Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 04)" 20% and "NYC Employee" 5%.
  • The FAQ on community preferenceit "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: the new listing does not say why it has fewer groups. Ask HPD's hotline, 212-863-7990.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7660 and 6827 and the FAQ, read October 18, 2026.

What the building has: listed, marked, not stated
  • Listed16 items, among them "Elevator", "Washers and dryers in units", "Air-conditioning", "Gymnasium", "Rooftop terrace", "Garages" and "Digital doorman".
  • Marked with asterisksseven items in the text, among them the "package room*", "fitness center*", "rooftop deck*" and "indoor parking*". The listing does not say what the asterisks mean.
  • Feesthe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Pets"Pet-friendly (max 2, 30 lbs. each, non-aggressive breeds)."
  • Not statedapartment sizes, floors and any parking cost. The 2025 list had "Dishwasher in unit"; the 2026 list does not.

What it means: ask whether the marked items cost extra before you sign a lease.

Source: the listing's amenity list and text, read October 18, 2026.

Two photographs side by side: at left a white-tiled bathroom with a tub and white shower curtain, black shower fittings, a green vanity with a white top and a green-framed mirror cabinet; at right a closet with a stacked white front-loading washer and dryer beside an open door
A bathroom and an in-unit washer and dryer at Cantilever House, from the Housing Connect listing, which lists "Washers and dryers in units". Photo: the lottery listing, listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, Cantilever House- Units Still Available (lottery 7660) (two photographs cropped to 8:9, enlarged 1.125 times and placed side by side on white).
Two photographs side by side: at left a roof terrace with a tufted grey outdoor sofa, a round side table and a cable railing, looking over low Brooklyn rooftops and trees to taller brick towers under a blue sky; at right a gym with wood-look flooring, treadmills, an elliptical, weight benches, dumbbells and a squat rack in front of a mirrored wall
The roof terrace and the gym at Cantilever House, from the Housing Connect listing. The listing's text marks the "rooftop deck" and "fitness center" with asterisks and does not say what they mean; ask whether they cost extra. Photo: the lottery listing, listing photographs, via NYC Housing Connect, Cantilever House- Units Still Available (lottery 7660) (two photographs cropped to 8:9, enlarged 1.125 times and placed side by side on white).
A ground-floor lounge with four curved tan leather armchairs around a white marble coffee table, a linear fireplace in a low concrete wall, a sculptural black ceiling lamp, a round wooden table with chairs by a tall street window and a mint-green kitchenette with a sink at right
The residents' lounge at Cantilever House, from the Housing Connect listing, which describes a "lounge with co-working and media spaces". Photo: the lottery listing, listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, Cantilever House- Units Still Available (lottery 7660) (cropped to 16:9 and enlarged 1.33 times).

How to Apply to Cantilever House on Housing Connect Before November 4, 2026

Apply once per household, online or on paper, by November 4, 2026. Applying is free.

Applying to the Cantilever House lottery
  1. 1Make a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov, enter every household member, all income and any voucher.
  2. 2Open the listingCantilever House- Units Still Available, lottery 7660. Check your household against the tables above.
  3. 3Apply onceby November 4, 2026. The FAQ says "You will be disqualified if more than one application is received per lottery for your household."
  4. 4Or apply by mailHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" Affordable for NY C/O 365 Flushing Avenue, Suite 505, Brooklyn, NY 11205. The FAQ says "If you submit an application online, you may NOT submit an application via mail."
  5. 5Keep your profile completeif it becomes incomplete before log numbers are given, the FAQ says you "will not receive a log number for that lottery."
Key pointon October 18, 2026, lottery 7660 was one of 16 rental lotteries in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, and one of 7 in Brooklyn. The listing gives no return address and no postmark rule for a completed paper application. Ask HPD's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, on weekdays from 9am to 5pm.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after November 4, 2026
  • November 4, 2026the deadline. HPD's guide says your chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  • Within a few weeksHousing Connect gives every complete application a random log number.
  • When your number is reachedthe marketing agent asks for documents. HPD's guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Before a leaseyou show 12 months of full rent payments or agree to a credit review, for a fee of at most $20.

What it means: HPD's guide says you may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline", and "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's Applying for Affordable Housing guide.

Documents to have ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Watch outthere is an asset limit of $220,480, in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's income level. Retirement and college savings balances "are not subject to the asset limit".
Who runs the lottery and where later openings appear
  • Marketing agentAffordable for NY, named in the address for mail requests. HPD lists "Affordable for NY" among its pre-qualified marketing agents.
  • New lotteriesthey go up at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says apartments vacated after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page lists "Affordable for New York" among companies to contact about vacancies.

What it means: a later opening here may not go through a new lottery.

Source: the listing; HPD's marketing agent and re-rentals pages; the FAQ, all read October 18, 2026.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Cantilever House

The rent, incomes, deadline, utilities, pet rule and the address for mail requests are in the listing. The move-in date and the tax program option are not.

Not published, as of October 18, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publisheda move-in date, and the floors and sizes of the three apartments. Also missing: the 421-a option, what the asterisks mean, any parking cost, and whether these apartments were offered in 2025.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before you sign a lease.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; the City records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

A log number is not an offer, and HPD's guide says hearing back can take two to twelve months. Keep looking while you wait.

Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 21 Garden Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cantilever House at 21 Garden Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. Cantilever House is lottery 7660 on NYC Housing Connect, listed as "Cantilever House- Units Still Available". It has three one-bedrooms at $3,250 a month, at 130% AMI. On October 18, 2026, it was in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, with applications due November 4, 2026. The building's first lottery, 6827, ran in 2025.

When is the deadline for the Cantilever House housing lottery?

November 4, 2026, according to the Housing Connect listing read on October 18, 2026. Apply online at housingconnect.nyc.gov, or request a paper application by mail from the address in the listing. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule for it, so ask HPD's hotline, 212-863-7990, before you mail one close to the deadline.

How much do you have to earn for Cantilever House?

At least $120,069 a year, without a voucher. The most is $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two and $198,510 for three. Households of four or more cannot apply, because all three apartments are one-bedrooms. A voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income, but the maximum still applies.

Does Cantilever House take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but this rent is above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The $3,250 rent is $516 over the $2,734 amount for one or two people. It is $253 over the $2,997 amount for three. The FAQ says rent "should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher". For Section 8, ask NYCHA or HPD.

What does "Units Still Available" mean at Cantilever House?

The listing uses it for three one-bedrooms that "remain available" after the building's first lottery. That lottery took applications for 15 apartments from March 13 to April 3, 2025. The new listing does not say first come, first served or waiting list. It is a lottery with a November 4, 2026 deadline, and log numbers are random.

Are the rents at 21 Garden Street below market?

The $3,250 rent is above HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 11206, $2,650 a month. HUD's figure includes utilities, and tenants here pay all electricity. Brownstoner reported in March 2025 that market-rate one-bedrooms started at $3,923. VoucherMatch did not check a current market rent.

Who designed Cantilever House in Bushwick?

DXA Studio. Its project page describes an eight-story building with "a 22-foot-long cantilever overhang at the two penthouse levels". The building filing names Jordan Rogove, a DXA cofounder, as the architect. City records name Garden Owner LLC as the owner. YIMBY and Brownstoner name Rivington Company as the developer.

Sources for this article (27)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7660 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. 2025 listing, lottery 6827 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Housing Connect lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  6. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  7. Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
  8. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  9. marketing agents (nyc.gov)
  10. re-rentals (nyc.gov)
  11. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  12. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  16. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  17. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  18. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  19. zoning map data (zola.planning.nyc.gov)
  20. station data (data.ny.gov)
  21. project page (dxastudio.com)
  22. NYREJ (nyrej.com)
  23. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  24. Brownstoner (brownstoner.com)
  25. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  26. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  27. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.