Skip to page content

Seagirt Apartments, 272 Seagirt Boulevard, Far Rockaway: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,583 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7599, "Seagirt Apartments," at 272 Seagirt Boulevard in Far Rockaway, Queens. It has 6 apartments at 80% AMI: 2 two-bedrooms at $2,583 a month and 4 three-bedrooms at $2,962. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. City records show a new 5-story building with 29 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums.

Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7599, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; the listing for lottery 7601; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs Q01216113 and Q01207697) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; the City's lottery data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Queens block 15784; City Planning's project P2014Q0506 and GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's subway and rail station data; and QNS, August 2026. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

Seagirt Apartments in numbers
  • 6apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
  • $2,583rent for each of the 2 two-bedrooms
  • $2,962rent for each of the 4 three-bedrooms
  • 29apartments in the building permit and the certificate of occupancy
  • August 26, 2026the certificate of occupancy was issued
  • Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Two photographs side by side on a light gray background. Left: a grassy vacant lot behind a chain-link fence and a broken low concrete wall, with a bare tree, a sidewalk and a no-parking sign at left and two- and three-story houses behind. Right: the same kind of grassy lot with two leafing trees, a curving street corner with a fire hydrant and two short posts, and a white two-story house and parked cars at right, under a blue sky
The vacant site that now holds 272 Seagirt Boulevard and 2-65 Watjean Court, in two photographs from the City's 2016 environmental review: at left, the view "southwest from the northwest corner of Seagirt Boulevard and Fernside Place"; at right, the view "northwest from Fernside Place south of Watjean Court." This is not the finished building. Photos: Philip Habib & Associates for Gleitman Realty Associates, via NYC Department of City Planning (left photo cropped). Photo: Philip Habib & Associates (environmental consultant to the 2016 applicant), photographs in a public City Planning filing (Environmental Assessment Statement, CEQR 16DCP133Q, May 20, 2016); allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via NYC Department of City Planning, project P2014Q0506 (Certified EAS, Figure E-2, page 103) (two embedded 548 x 412 and 548 x 411 JPEGs; the left one cropped by 90 pixels on its left edge; each enlarged 1.45 times and set side by side on a plain #f3f5f4 background, 1600 x 900).

What Is Being Built at 272 Seagirt Boulevard

272 Seagirt Boulevard is a new 5-story building with 29 apartments. Six of them are on Housing Connect as "Seagirt Apartments."

  • Permit: job Q01216113 was filed April 30, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED NEW 5 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
  • Size: 5 stories, 50 feet, 29 dwelling units and 24,190.4 square feet of construction, in the filing.
  • Owner: PLUTO and the 2025 deed name Seagirt Buyer LLC. The building permit names an individual as owner rather than a company.
  • Architect: Leandro Nils Dickson Architect, LLC filed the plans.
  • Status: DOB approved the plans on June 23, 2025, and the first permit was issued December 22, 2025. DOB issued an initial certificate of occupancy for 29 dwelling units on August 26, 2026.
  • Developer: no record opened names a developer for this building. QNS named Seagirt Buyer, LLC as the developer of the building next door.
272 Seagirt Boulevard, from a rezoning to Housing Connect
  • October 19, 2016a City rezoning of the lot from R4-1 to R5, with a C1-3 commercial overlay, is completed.
  • February 25, 2025Seagirt Buyer LLC buys the lot for $2,800,000.
  • April 30, 2025the 5-story building is filed with DOB.
  • December 22, 2025the first building permit is issued.
  • February 27, 2026a $20,404,836 mortgage with Popular Bank is signed.
  • August 26, 2026the certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists 6 apartments with rents and no deadline.

What it means: the building went from first permit to certificate in about eight months.

Source: City Planning project P2014Q0506; ACRIS; Department of Buildings job Q01216113 and certificate 4625576-0000001.

Which Program the Listing Names

The listing names 485-x. Its whole description reads "485X, 6 units at 80% AMI."

485-x in HPD's words
  • What it isHPD says "Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers, a new tax exemption program also known as 485-x, was created to support the creation of affordable housing in New York City."
  • How long the rents stay limitedHPD says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
  • Which optionHPD's page lists options by building size and type. No record opened names the option here.
  • City financingHPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no record for this lot.

The Building Next Door: 2-65 Watjean Court

DOB records tie 272 Seagirt Boulevard to a second new building. The filing for this building says it "is part of the same development with the same owner and applicant" as job Q01207697, at 2-65 Watjean Court.

2-65 Watjean Court, in the records
  • Size5 stories and 57 dwelling units in DOB job Q01207697 and in its certificate of occupancy, issued August 21, 2026.
  • Its own lotteryHousing Connect lottery 7601, "Watjean Apartments," offered 12 two-bedrooms at $2,583 a month, at 80% AMI.
  • Datesthe City's lottery data gives August 6 to August 27, 2026, and status "Tenant Selection."
  • Programits advertisement says it "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 485x Tax Incentive Program."
  • Not one lotteryeach building has its own listing. Lottery 7601 does not take applications for 272 Seagirt Boulevard.
Where the records differ
QuestionOne recordAnother record
AddressHousing Connect and the certificate: 272 Seagirt BoulevardDOB sidewalk-shed jobs: 2-72 Seagirt Boulevard
Watjean Court apartmentsDOB, its certificate and HPD data: 57QNS: 56
Watjean Court designerDOB: Leandro Nils Dickson Architect, LLC filed the plansQNS: "Joseph Morace designed the building"
Land useCertificate of occupancy for 29 unitsPLUTO: still vacant land

What it means: the records point to the same lot, Queens block 15784, lot 15.

Source: Housing Connect listing; Department of Buildings jobs Q01216113, Q01318286 and Q01207697; DOB certificates; HPD project 81991; PLUTO; QNS, August 2026.

Where 272 Seagirt Boulevard Is

The building is on Seagirt Boulevard in Far Rockaway, Queens, ZIP code 11691. A 2016 City Planning filing describes the larger site as "bounded by Seagirt Boulevard to the south, Fernside Place to the east, and Watjean Court to the north."

What the records call the area
  • Department of Buildings"Far Rockaway-Bayswater," its neighborhood tag on the filings.
  • City Planning's GeoSearchFar Rockaway.
  • The listingits city line reads "Far Rockaway." No record opened calls the site Edgemere.
Record272 Seagirt Boulevard
Block and lotQueens block 15784, lot 15
Lot size10,043 square feet
ZoningR5
Community boardQueens 14
City Council district31
ZIP code11691

What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11691 and Section 8 apartments in Far Rockaway.

Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, the certificate, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Photograph across a wide, empty street with a grass strip and a black picket fence, a long blue articulated bus parked or moving behind the fence, and a seven-story red-brick apartment building with window air conditioners behind leafy trees, under a hazy sky
A Q52 Select Bus Service bus on Seagirt Boulevard at Crest Road, in front of the Wavecrest Gardens apartments, in August 2018. The listing names a bus stop at Seagirt Bl/Crest Rd, about 0.16 miles from 272 Seagirt Boulevard. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced from a 1920-pixel copy of the 5472 x 3648 original).
  • Flood zone: City Planning's 2016 project record marks the site in flood zone A.
  • In 2016: the filing said the site "is currently vacant and is enclosed by a chain link fence."
  • An older plan: that filing described one 5-story building with 27 apartments and a one-story store. The records today show two 5-story buildings with 29 and 57 apartments.

Rents and Income Ranges at Seagirt Apartments on Housing Connect

The two-bedrooms rent for $2,583 and the three-bedrooms for $2,962. The lowest income the listing accepts without a voucher is $97,406 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
2 two-bedrooms$2,5832 to 5$97,406 to $146,560
4 three-bedrooms$2,9623 to 7$112,698 to $168,320

What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7599, read October 19, 2026. All 6 are at 80% AMI.

Yearly income allowed by household size, 80% AMI
Household sizeTwo-bedroomThree-bedroom
2 people$97,406 to $108,560not allowed
3 people$97,406 to $122,160$112,698 to $122,160
4 people$97,406 to $135,680$112,698 to $135,680
5 people$97,406 to $146,560$112,698 to $146,560
6 peoplenot allowed$112,698 to $157,440
7 peoplenot allowed$112,698 to $168,320

What it means: income before taxes must fall in the row for the household's size and the apartment's size.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment
  • One personno apartment. The smallest household allowed is two.
  • Under $97,406below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • $97,406 to $112,697only the 2 two-bedrooms fit, for 2 to 5 people.
  • Six or seven peopleonly the three-bedrooms fit.
  • Eight or more peopleno apartment in this listing.

The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both sizes, in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at Seagirt Apartments?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The two-bedroom is $414 under, and the three-bedroom is $791 under. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at Seagirt Apartments against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
2 bedrooms$2,583$2,583$2,997
3 bedrooms$2,962$2,962$3,753

What it means: the gaps are $414 and $791, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

DSS-8r's 2026 rows for the household sizes in this listing
Family sizeBedrooms2026 payment standard
1 or 21$2,734
3 or 42$2,997
5 or 63$3,753
7 or 84$4,077

What it means: DSS-8r ties each amount to family size, and the listing does not. Even so, each rent is at or under the DSS-8r row for every household size it allows. The closest case is 3 or 4 people in a three-bedroom: $2,962 against $2,997. Ask DSS or your caseworker how CityFHEPS treats that.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. This listing does not say who pays for heat, hot water or electricity. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility. The Watjean Court listing next door says tenants there pay electricity, "including electric heat and the electric stove." Ask whether the same holds here.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11691

Both rents are below HUD's estimates for ZIP code 11691. The two-bedroom is $427 under and the three-bedroom is $848 under.

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at Seagirt Apartments against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11691, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11691
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11691
2 bedrooms$2,583$2,583$3,010
3 bedrooms$2,962$2,962$3,810

What it means: the two-bedroom rent is 85.8% of HUD's figure and the three-bedroom rent is 77.7%, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The gaps shrink by whatever tenants pay for utilities.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

How 272 Seagirt Boulevard Is Financed

Property records show a $2,800,000 land purchase in 2025 and a mortgage with Popular Bank in 2026. No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.

Recorded documents for Queens block 15784, lots 1 and 15
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
February 25, 2025Deed, lot 1prior owners to Seagirt Buyer LLC$2,800,000
February 27, 2026Mortgage, lots 1 and 15Seagirt Gardens LLC and Popular Bank$20,404,836
July 15, 2026Easement, lots 1 and 15Seagirt Buyer LLC and Long Island Power Authoritynone listed
July 17, 2026Subordination, lots 1 and 15the bank and Long Island Power Authoritynone listed

What it means: the mortgage names Seagirt Gardens LLC as borrower, while PLUTO names Seagirt Buyer LLC as owner. The text of the documents was not read, so this report does not say what they require.

Source: ACRIS, recorded March 5, 2025, March 17, 2026, and August 24, 2026. Lot 15 was split from lot 1, per PLUTO.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 272 Seagirt Boulevard

The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names five amenities. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each advertisement confirms.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
  • Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
What the building has, in the listing
  • Listed amenities"Bike storage lockers," "Shared laundry room," "Elevator," "Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
  • Not statedwhether any of these costs extra, the pet policy, apartment sizes, parking, and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Beach 25 StA0.33 milesNo
Beach 36 StA0.49 milesNo
Far Rockaway-Mott AvA0.60 milesYes
Beach 44 StA0.92 milesNo
Far Rockaway (LIRR)Far Rockaway Branch1.03 milesYes

What it means: the walk is longer. The listing's own map point sits about 570 feet west of DOB's and GeoSearch's points, so this report uses DOB's.

Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from DOB's map point for the lot (40.595642, -73.758824).

Photograph along an elevated open-air subway platform with a yellow edge strip and green lamp posts, a blue and silver train with a lit A sign stopped at the platform, a station sign reading B 36 St-Edgemere at left, and a gray multistory building with solar panels on its roof behind, under a cloudy sky
An A train at the Beach 36th Street-Edgemere station in May 2026. The station is about 0.49 miles from 272 Seagirt Boulevard in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (reduced from a 1920 x 1080 copy of the 8160 x 4592 original).
  • Buses: the listing names stops at Seagirt Bl/Crest Rd, about 0.16 miles away, and Plainview Av / B 20, about 0.25 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
  • Close by, per the listing: Grassmere Playground, about 0.26 miles away, and St. John's Episcopal Hospital, about 0.35 miles.
  • Along the line: see apartments near the A train.
Photograph up a wide indoor stairway with metal handrails, gray tiled walls and a curved stainless-steel ceiling with long lights, a sign reading A Brooklyn and Manhattan with an up arrow, red exit signs, and one person seen from behind climbing the stairs with a bag
The stairs inside the Far Rockaway-Mott Avenue station house, end of the A line, in October 2023. The station is about 0.60 miles from 272 Seagirt Boulevard and is accessible in the MTA's data. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced from a 1920-pixel copy of the 5472 x 3648 original).

How to Be Ready When the Seagirt Apartments Lottery Opens

Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.

On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement text. It was not among the 18 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.

Getting ready for the Seagirt Apartments lottery
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Log numbers go to applicants "whose applicant profiles (Household Info) are complete."
  2. 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7599.
  3. 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
  4. 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  5. 5Paper routethe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" Seagirt Apartments c/o Taxace NY LLC, 139 Tompkins Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205.

What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address and no postmark rule yet.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after a Housing Connect deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  • Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing about "the status of your application."
  • If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Before a lease12 months of full rent payments or a credit review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
  • Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units." The FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period," some may be offered "outside of Housing Connect."

What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.

Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.

Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery

The rents, incomes, asset limit and a paper-form address are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.

Known and not yet known on October 19, 2026
  • Knowntwo rents with income ranges for 6 apartments, an asset limit, five amenities and the mail address for paper forms.
  • Not posteda deadline, the advertisement text, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent.
  • Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenity fees, a building website and a move-in date.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Watch outthe listing's four pictures are left out of this report, as of October 19, 2026. The exterior image shows a building number of 18, spring blossoms beside autumn leaves, and a car plate with unclear lettering. Its kitchen picture shows a range with grates, while the Watjean Court listing next door names an electric stove. No record confirms the pictures show this building as built.
Photograph of an empty covered subway platform at night with a yellow edge strip, tan wall panels in green frames, a sign reading B 25 St-Wavecrest at right, a red Exit sign in the distance and a second lit platform across the tracks at left, shown at its original size on a light gray background
The Beach 25th Street-Wavecrest station on the A line in June 2026, the nearest subway station to 272 Seagirt Boulevard, about 0.33 miles away in a straight line. Photo: Kidfly182, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (shown at original size). Photo: Kidfly182, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (not resized: the 1080 x 608 original is centered on a plain #f3f5f4 background, 1600 x 900).

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at Seagirt Apartments yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open in Queens now: the open-lottery search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026; 42-78 65 Place, due November 2, 2026; and DOMI, due November 10, 2026.
Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 272 Seagirt Boulevard first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for Seagirt Apartments on Housing Connect?

Not yet. Seagirt Apartments at 272 Seagirt Boulevard is Housing Connect lottery 7599. On October 19, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.

What is the rent at 272 Seagirt Boulevard?

The rent is $2,583 a month for each of the 2 two-bedrooms and $2,962 for each of the 4 three-bedrooms. All six are at 80% AMI. Those are the listing's rents as read on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes, so the full cost may be higher.

How much do you have to earn for Seagirt Apartments?

Without a voucher, at least $97,406 a year for a two-bedroom and $112,698 for a three-bedroom. The most is $146,560 for five people in a two-bedroom and $168,320 for seven in a three-bedroom. One person cannot apply. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the minimum income does not apply.

Does Seagirt Apartments take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and the minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The two-bedroom rent is $414 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum of $2,997. The three-bedroom rent is $791 under $3,753. Ask DSS or your agency how your household size is treated.

Is Seagirt Apartments the same as Watjean Apartments?

No, but they are one development. DOB filings say 272 Seagirt Boulevard and 2-65 Watjean Court have the same owner and applicant. Each building has its own listing. Watjean Apartments, lottery 7601, offered 12 two-bedrooms at $2,583, with applications due August 27, 2026. Seagirt Apartments is lottery 7599.

What program is 272 Seagirt Boulevard in?

The listing names 485-x, a City property tax exemption. HPD says the program "was created to support the creation of affordable housing in New York City." HPD also says its affordable units "will be permanently affordable." No record opened names which 485-x option the building uses, and HPD's production data has no record for it.

Are the rents at Seagirt Apartments below market?

Yes, compared with HUD's figures. The $2,583 two-bedroom is $427 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure of $3,010 for ZIP code 11691. The $2,962 three-bedroom is $848 below HUD's $3,810. HUD's figures include utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities its rents include.

Sources for this article (20)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7599 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. lottery 7601 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  5. 485-x page (nyc.gov)
  6. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  7. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  8. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  14. project P2014Q0506 (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
  15. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  16. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  17. subway (data.ny.gov)
  18. rail (data.ny.gov)
  19. QNS (qns.com)
  20. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.