Skip to page content

1049 Washington Avenue, Morrisania: 73 Affordable Two-Bedrooms on Housing Connect, From $3,058 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer1049 Washington Avenue is a new 10-story building with 104 apartments in Morrisania, the Bronx. NYC Housing Connect advertised 73 of them, all two-bedrooms, at $3,058 and $3,366 a month. Applications were due January 23, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, every one of those rents is above the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997. The City's lottery data lists the lottery as in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.

Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings jobs X00682437, X00888703 and 220746799, the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 77638), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Bronx block 2387, HPD's 421-a page and applying guide, HDC's re-rental search, the marketing agent's property page, reports by New York YIMBY and the Bronx Times, and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

1049 Washington Avenue in numbers
  • 73apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all two-bedrooms
  • 104apartments in the building, in city records
  • $3,058the lowest rent, for 37 apartments
  • $3,366the highest rent, for 36 apartments
  • January 23, 2026the application deadline
  • January 16, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, read October 19, 2026; Department of Buildings job X00682437 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of a 10-story light gray apartment building on a street corner under a blue sky, with rows of square windows, a two-story base with large storefront windows and dark blue brick, street trees, a green street sign reading Washington Ave, a traffic signal and cars on the street
Rendering of 1049 Washington Avenue from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 1049 Washington Avenue Apartments (lottery 7299) (cropped to the building and reduced 0.69 times, centered on a plain light gray background (no blurred fill)).

What Was Built at 1049 Washington Avenue

1049 Washington Avenue is a 10-story building with 104 apartments, plus commercial and community space. City records give it three other addresses.

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "1049 Washington Avenue Apartments". The new building permit is filed under 439 East 165 Street. The first certificate of occupancy names 1039 Washington Avenue. The marketing agent's page says "1049 WASHINGTON AVENUE AKA 443 EAST 165TH STREET". ACRIS names "THE 1049 WASHINGTON AVENUE CONDOMINIUM".
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job X00682437 reads "Construct new 10 story mixed use building of community facility, residential and commercial uses". It lists 99 feet, 104 dwelling units and 148,046 square feet.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated January 16, 2026, covers 104 dwelling units. The records list three renewals, the latest on August 4, 2026.
  • Owner: PLUTO, the City's lot database, and two building filings name W Residence LLC. The permit's owner field names Bolex GC Corp.
  • Architect and developer: the permit's applicant is a registered architect at the firm the filing spells "ISSAC & STERN ARCHITECTS, P.C". YIMBY and the Bronx Times name ND Architecture & Design as designer and Hello Living as developer.
  • Before construction: demolition job 220746799 was a "FULL DEMOLITION TO A ONE STORY BUILDING", signed off August 31, 2023.
1049 Washington Avenue, from first plans to the lottery
  • November 29, 2018YIMBY reports plans for a condominium called "Hello W" on the site.
  • February 23, 2022the new building application is filed.
  • May 20, 2022the first foundation and earthwork permit is issued.
  • June 7, 2023W Residence LLC buys the lots for $8,600,000.
  • December 16, 2024the new building permit is issued.
  • July 30, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • November 20, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 16, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • January 23, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the building had its first certificate of occupancy one week before the lottery deadline.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs X00682437 and 220746799 and certificate of occupancy records; ACRIS; HPD project 77638; the City's lottery data; New York YIMBY.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Stories10 in the permit, PLUTO, the listing and the Bronx Times. YIMBY wrote "an 11-story residential building" (November 21, 2025).
  • Architectthe permit names Issac & Stern Architects as applicant. YIMBY and the Bronx Times name ND Architecture & Design.
  • Market-rate apartmentsthe Bronx Times wrote of 104 units "with 31 being at market rate". HPD's data counts all 104 as middle-income units.
  • Apartment sizesHPD's data lists all 104 as two-bedrooms. In 2018, YIMBY reported a plan for "studio through four-bedrooms configurations".

What it means: no record found ties W Residence LLC or Bolex GC Corp to Hello Living, so this report names each as its source does.

Source: the filings, records and reports named.

The 421-a Tax Program the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program". HPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."

421-a in HPD's words
  • Who can use it"The New 421-a Program is available to projects that commence construction between January 1, 2016 and June 15, 2022, and are completed on or before June 15, 2026."
  • The later deadlineHPD says the completion deadline "was extended to June 15, 2031" for projects that sent a letter by September 12, 2024 and chose certain options.
  • Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI".
  • Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI".

What it means: the listing names no option, and no document opened says which one applies or whether the exemption was granted.

Source: HPD's 421-a page; Housing Connect listing.

Where 1049 Washington Avenue Is

The building is in Morrisania, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10456. It is in Bronx Community District 3 and City Council District 16.

The location in the records
  • Morrisaniathe listing, Department of Buildings filings, City Planning's address search, the City's lottery data (area BX0301) and both news reports.
  • The lotBronx block 2387, lot 7501 in PLUTO, a condominium lot. Earlier filings use lot 44.
  • ZIP code 10456in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records.
  • Melrosethe name of a nearby train station in the listing. No record opened places the building in Melrose.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Morrisania, as on its page for Section 8 apartments in Morrisania.

Source: the records named.

StationDaytime linesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
167 StB, Dabout 0.6 milesNo
Prospect Av2, 5about 0.7 milesNo
Intervale Av2, 5about 0.8 milesNo
Jackson Av2, 5about 0.8 milesNo
167 St4about 0.8 milesNo
161 St-Yankee StadiumB, D; 4about 0.8 to 0.9 milesYes

What it means: no subway station is within half a mile. The listing names Prospect Ave (2, 5) and 167th St (4) as its nearby subway stops.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses and rail: the listing names bus stops at Boston Rd and E 165 St and at 3 Av and E 166 St, each about 0.2 miles away. Its "Melrose" train station is about 0.3 miles away. The Bronx Times wrote that Melrose "provides service for the Harlem line".
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 2 train and the 5 train.

73 Apartments in the Lottery, All Two-Bedrooms

All 73 lottery apartments are two-bedrooms, and each takes two to five people. The listing gives two income levels: 125% AMI and 130% AMI.

Two-bedroom apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 1049 Washington Avenue, by income level and rent
View the data table
Income level and rentApartments
130% AMI, $3,05837
130% AMI, $3,36615
125% AMI, $3,36621

What it means: 52 apartments are listed at 130% AMI and 21 at 125% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, counted by VoucherMatch from its 73 unit rows, read October 19, 2026.

Watch outthe listing contradicts itself. Its summary reads "73 newly constructed (2-bed) units at 130 % AMI". Its rent table lists 21 of the $3,366 apartments at "125% AREA MEDIAN INCOME". Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, which level applies.
What two-bedrooms only means for household size
  • Two to five peopleevery apartment in the listing takes a household of two, three, four or five.
  • One person, or six or moreno apartment in the listing takes these households.
  • Asset limitsthe rent table lists $212,000 at 125% AMI and $220,480 at 130% AMI. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household".
Two photographs side by side: at left an empty living room with gray wood-look floors and a ceiling light, opening onto a kitchen with white upper cabinets, dark lower cabinets, a marble-look backsplash and a sink, with the apartment door at the far right; at right an empty bedroom with the same floors, a closet door and an open door looking into the kitchen
Photographs of an apartment at 1049 Washington Avenue from the Housing Connect listing: the living room and kitchen, and a bedroom. No range or refrigerator is in place in the photos; the listing says rent includes all utilities. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 1049 Washington Avenue Apartments (lottery 7299) (two listing photographs placed side by side, each reduced 0.55 times, on a plain light gray background).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1049 Washington Avenue

The 73 apartments rent for $3,058 or $3,366 a month. The lowest minimum income is $104,846 a year, and the highest maximum is $238,160.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
37 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,0582 to 5$104,846 to $238,160
15 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,3662 to 5$115,406 to $238,160
21 two-bedrooms, 125% AMI$3,3662 to 5$115,406 to $229,000

What it means: the same $3,366 rent is listed at two income levels with different maximums.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for five people.

Household size125% AMI maximum130% AMI maximum
2 people$169,625$176,410
3 people$190,875$198,510
4 people$212,000$220,480
5 people$229,000$238,160

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Which apartments a household's income reaches
  • Under $104,846below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • $104,846 to $115,405only the 37 apartments at $3,058.
  • From $115,406 up to the 125% AMI maximumall 73 apartments.
  • Above the 125% AMI maximum, up to the 130% AMI maximumthe 52 apartments at 130% AMI. For two people that is $169,626 to $176,410.
  • Above the 130% AMI maximumno apartment.

What it means: within each household size, the listing's income ranges overlap with no gap between them.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

The listing today and the November 2025 news reports
  • Maximum incomeYIMBY and the Bronx Times printed $227,500. The listing now shows $229,000 at 125% AMI and $238,160 at 130% AMI.
  • Asset limitthe Bronx Times printed $210,600. The rent table now shows $212,000 and $220,480.
  • Income levelsboth reports put all 73 apartments at 130% AMI. The listing now shows 21 at 125% AMI.
  • Rents and minimumsthe same in all three.

What it means: no page opened says when or why the figures changed.

Source: New York YIMBY and the Bronx Times, both November 21, 2025; Housing Connect listing, October 19, 2026.

Two photographs side by side of empty rooms with wood-look floors and white walls: at left a small bedroom with a sunny window over a wall heating and cooling unit, mid-rise buildings outside; at right a longer room seen from the doorway, with a window, a wall unit beneath it and a ceiling light
Photographs of two rooms at 1049 Washington Avenue from the Housing Connect listing. Each has a wall unit under the window; the listing names air-conditioning and smart controls for heating and cooling. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 1049 Washington Avenue Apartments (lottery 7299) (two listing photographs placed side by side, each reduced 0.55 times, on a plain light gray background).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

A voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. But both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997, by $61 and $369 a month.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at 1049 Washington Avenue against the CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximums for 2026 and 2025, in dollars
Lottery rent2026 maximum2025 maximum
View the data table
ApartmentLottery rent2026 maximum2025 maximum
Two-bedroom, $3,058 (37 apartments)$3,058$2,997$3,058
Two-bedroom, $3,366 (36 apartments)$3,366$2,997$3,058

What it means: the $3,058 rent equals the 2025 two-bedroom maximum. Under the 2026 maximum, it is $61 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, dated October 14, 2026, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease". The 2026 amounts took effect April 1, 2026.

Key pointthe listing says "Rent includes all utilities," so no utility allowance is subtracted. DSS-8r says packages "submitted on or after March 1, 2026" use the 2026 amounts.
How household size changes the CityFHEPS amount
  • Two peopleDSS-8r pairs one or two people with $2,734. Both rents are over it.
  • Three or four people$2,997. Both rents are over it.
  • Five peopleDSS-8r pairs five or six people with $3,753. That is above both rents. Ask DSS how it treats five people in a two-bedroom.
  • Credit checkthe FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."

What it means: the CityFHEPS amount follows family size, not the apartment.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards; Housing Connect FAQ; differences by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10456

Both lottery rents are above HUD's estimate for a two-bedroom in ZIP code 10456. The $3,058 rent is $438 above it, and the $3,366 rent is $746 above.

Monthly lottery rent at 1049 Washington Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 two-bedroom fair market rent for ZIP code 10456, in dollars
Lottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10456
View the data table
ApartmentLottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10456
Two-bedroom, $3,058$3,058$2,620
Two-bedroom, $3,366$3,366$2,620

What it means: all 73 "affordable" rents are above HUD's figure for the area.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026: its estimate for the ZIP code, utilities included.

How 1049 Washington Avenue Was Financed

Property records show a $35,000,000 mortgage and consolidation agreement with Kearny Bank, dated March 22, 2024. No document in the index names HPD, the Housing Development Corporation or the City as lender.

Recorded documents on Bronx block 2387, lots 44, 49 and the condominium lots
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
January 25, 2022DeedHello Washington LLC to 1049 Claremont Village LLC$6,300,000
June 7, 2023Deed1049 Claremont Village LLC to W Residence LLC$8,600,000
June 7, 2023MortgageW Residence LLC to Columbia Capital II Inc.$5,000,000
March 22, 2024Mortgage and consolidationW Residence LLC to Kearny Bank$35,000,000
June 26, 2024Condominium plansThe 1049 Washington Avenue Condominiumnone listed
November 2024 and February 2025EasementsW Residence LLC to the City of New Yorknone listed

What it means: the index does not say what the easements cover.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2387.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 1049 Washington Avenue

The listing shows no preference groups. Rent includes all utilities, and parking and bike storage cost extra.

Preferences: what the listing and the FAQ say
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows.
  • Community preference, in the FAQit applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Disability preference, in the FAQ"five percent (5%) of units" for a mobility disability and "Another two percent (2%)" for a hearing or vision disability.

What it means: no page opened says how the disability preferences applied here. Ask HPD's hotline.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connectair-conditioning, smart heating and cooling controls, energy-efficient appliances, an elevator, an intercom, security cameras, a shared laundry room, an outdoor terrace, green space, a recycling center, and cable or satellite TV. The building is listed as smoke-free.
  • Extra cost"Parking and bike storage will come with additional fees." The listing names garages, covered and assigned parking, and electric car charging.
  • Pets"Pets are not allowed. A service pet is allowed as an exception."
  • Utilities"Rent includes all utilities."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes, bathrooms and the parking fee.

What it means: the listing calls the building "A luxury 10-story residential building in Morrisania"; those are the advertisement's words.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Two photographs side by side of a bathroom with marble-look wall tile and dark floor tile: at left seen through the open door, with a toilet, a wood vanity, a framed mirror and a light bar; at right the tub with a shower head and curtain rod beside the vanity
Photographs of a bathroom at 1049 Washington Avenue from the Housing Connect listing. The listing does not say how many bathrooms the apartments have. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 1049 Washington Avenue Apartments (lottery 7299) (two listing photographs placed side by side, each reduced 0.55 times, on a plain light gray background).
Two photographs side by side: at left a third-floor hallway with marble-look floor tile, two stainless-steel elevator doors, a lit exit sign and an apartment door marked 3E; at right an empty walk-in closet with a shelf and hanging rod, seen through an open door
Photographs from the Housing Connect listing for 1049 Washington Avenue: the elevators on the third floor and a walk-in closet. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299, lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 1049 Washington Avenue Apartments (lottery 7299) (two listing photographs placed side by side, each reduced 0.55 times, on a plain light gray background).

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 73 apartments were due January 23, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 73 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed." Counted from January 23, 2026, that runs from March 2026 to January 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The same guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 19, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7299 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
  • Marketing agentpaper applications were requested from "1049 Washington Avenue Apartments C/O Reside New York 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's property page still labels it "Upcoming Project".
  • PostmarkYIMBY and the Bronx Times wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by the deadline. The listing gives no postmark rule.

What it means: as of October 19, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (5 Bronx rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; the listing; Reside New York.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1049 Washington Avenue

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 19, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedwhy 21 apartments are listed at 125% AMI when the summary says 130%, and why the income figures changed after November 2025.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and which option applies.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026, and 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1049 Washington Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 1049 Washington Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 1049 Washington Avenue was lottery 7299 on NYC Housing Connect, named "1049 Washington Avenue Apartments". It offered 73 two-bedrooms at $3,058 and $3,366 a month. Applications were due January 23, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at 1049 Washington Avenue?

The lottery's two-bedrooms rent for $3,058 or $3,366 a month. There are 37 at $3,058 and 36 at $3,366. The listing says rent includes all utilities. It also says parking and bike storage cost extra, and that pets are not allowed, except service animals.

How much do you have to earn for 1049 Washington Avenue?

From $104,846 a year for a $3,058 apartment, and $115,406 for a $3,366 one. The top limit runs from $169,625 for two people at 125% AMI to $238,160 for five people at 130% AMI. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 1049 Washington Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. Both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997, by $61 and $369. The $3,058 rent equals the 2025 maximum. DSS-8r gives five-person households $3,753. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is 443 East 165th Street the same building as 1049 Washington Avenue?

Yes. The marketing agent lists "1049 WASHINGTON AVENUE AKA 443 EAST 165TH STREET". The building permit uses 439 East 165 Street, and the first certificate of occupancy uses 1039 Washington Avenue. All are Bronx block 2387. ACRIS calls it The 1049 Washington Avenue Condominium, and YIMBY reported a 2018 plan named "Hello W".

Is 1049 Washington Avenue in Morrisania or Melrose?

It is in Morrisania. The listing, Department of Buildings filings, City Planning's address search and the City's lottery data all say Morrisania. "Melrose" in the listing is the name of a nearby train station. The building is in Bronx Community District 3, ZIP code 10456.

Are the rents at 1049 Washington Avenue below market?

No, not by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 two-bedroom figure for ZIP code 10456 is $2,620, utilities included. The lottery rents of $3,058 and $3,366 are $438 and $746 above it. The listing also includes all utilities in the rent, so both figures cover similar costs.

Sources for this article (16)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7299 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  9. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  10. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  11. property page (residenewyork.com)
  12. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  13. Bronx Times (bxtimes.com)
  14. station data (data.ny.gov)
  15. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  16. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.