1506 Southern Boulevard in Crotona Park East: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,093 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7728, "1506 Southern Boulevard," in Crotona Park East, the Bronx. It has 6 apartments at 80% AMI: one studio at $2,093 a month, three one-bedrooms at $2,234 and two two-bedrooms at $2,664. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. The permit is for an 8-story building with 29 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7728, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (job X00668558), BIS filings and both certificate of occupancy datasets (DOB NOW, BIS); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2981, lot 19; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and reports of February 2, 2022 in New York YIMBY and the Norwood News. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 6apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
- 29apartments in the building permit
- $2,093the studio's rent
- $2,664the rent for each of 2 two-bedrooms
- 8stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 1506 Southern Boulevard
1506 Southern Boulevard is a new 8-story, mixed-use building with 29 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Six of them are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job X00668558 was filed January 28, 2022. It reads "Proposed New Building 8-Stories, Mix-use & 29 residential units."
- Size: 8 stories, 74 feet and 29 dwelling units, with 23,927.5 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: 1506 Southern, LLC, in the 2021 deed, PLUTO and the 2023 mortgages. The permit lists an individual owner.
- Architect: Badaly Architects filed the plans. YIMBY and the Norwood News name the same firm.
- Status: the first permit was issued January 3, 2023. No certificate of occupancy was in either City dataset through October 17, 2026.

| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Floor area | Permit: 23,927.5 sq ft of construction | YIMBY, 2022: 20,104 sq ft |
| Building area | PLUTO: 22,305 sq ft | Permit: 23,927.5 sq ft |
| Units | Permit: 29 dwelling units | PLUTO: 29 homes, 31 units in all |
| Year built | PLUTO: 2023 | No certificate of occupancy on record |
What it means: the apartment count, 29, is the same in every record. PLUTO also counts 1,624 square feet of commercial space, including 624 square feet of office space.
Source: Department of Buildings job X00668558; PLUTO 26v2; New York YIMBY, February 2, 2022.
Watch outthe listing carries two images labeled "Rendering Photo." This report leaves both out. They show seven floors, while the permit says eight. The two versions also show different doors on the same front. VoucherMatch could not confirm they are unaltered images of this building, as of October 18, 2026. The photos used here are the listing's interior photos.
- November 9, 20211506 Southern, LLC buys the lot for $1,325,000.
- January 28, 2022the 8-story building is filed.
- February 1, 2022removal of an old foundation and retaining walls is filed. It is signed off December 27, 2022.
- December 16, 2022the plans are approved.
- January 3, 2023the first building permit is issued.
- July 13, 2023two mortgages with Tompkins Community Bank add up to $5,200,000.
- May 27, 2026the boiler, sprinkler and plumbing filings are signed off.
- September 3, 2026the latest change to the building plans is approved.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 6 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: work filings are signed off, but no record yet says people can move in.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs X00668558, X00795779 and 220741044; ACRIS.
What 485-x Means for These 6 Apartments
The listing describes the lottery as "6 Residential Units Restricted at 80% AMI (485x)." HPD's page says 485-x gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- No separate floorthey "shall not be isolated to a specific floor or area."
- Before a listingprojects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: the listing says only "485x." No record opened names the option the owner chose.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 18, 2026. It also lists Option D for homeownership.
Where 1506 Southern Boulevard Is
The building is on Southern Boulevard in the Bronx, ZIP code 10460. City records give it two neighborhood names.
- Department of Buildings"Crotona Park East," the neighborhood tag on every filing for the lot.
- City Planning's GeoSearch"East Morrisania."
- New York YIMBY and the Norwood NewsCrotona Park East. YIMBY places the lot "between East 172nd Street and Jennings Street."
- VoucherMatch's ZIP list10460 is filed under West Farms and Tremont.
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 1506 Southern Boulevard |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 2981, lot 19 |
| Lot size | 5,000 square feet, 50 by 100 feet |
| Zoning | R7-1, with a C2-4 overlay |
| Community board | Bronx 3 |
| City Council district | 17 |
| ZIP code | 10460 |
What it means: this report uses Crotona Park East, the Department of Buildings name. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10460 and Section 8 apartments in Tremont.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
Rents and Income Ranges for 1506 Southern Boulevard on Housing Connect
The listing has three rents: $2,093 for the studio, $2,234 for each one-bedroom and $2,664 for each two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $78,309 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 studio, 80% AMI | $2,093 | 1 to 2 | $78,309 to $108,560 |
| 3 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,234 | 1 to 3 | $83,966 to $122,160 |
| 2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,664 | 2 to 5 | $101,040 to $146,560 |
What it means: half of the 6 apartments are one-bedrooms. There are no three-bedrooms.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7728, read October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Maximum yearly income, 80% AMI |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to the household by income |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 4 |
| 2 people | 6 |
| 3 people | 5 |
| 4 people | 2 |
| 5 people | 2 |
What it means: four- and five-person households can apply only for the two two-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $78,309below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One persononly $78,309 to $95,040 fits, for the studio or a one-bedroom.
- Four or five people under $101,040nothing fits without a voucher.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $146,560 for five people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1506 Southern Boulevard?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Each rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size: the studio by $511, each one-bedroom by $500 and each two-bedroom by $333.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,093 | $2,093 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,234 | $2,234 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,664 | $2,664 | $2,997 |
What it means: the room under the maximum runs from $333 to $511 a month, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay some bills. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility. The CityFHEPS amount also depends on household size; ask DSS or your shelter case manager.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10460
The studio and one-bedrooms rent for less than HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10460. Each two-bedroom, at $2,664, is $44 above HUD's $2,620 figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10460 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,093 | $2,093 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,234 | $2,234 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,664 | $2,664 | $2,620 |
What it means: the studio is $187 under HUD's figure and each one-bedroom $156 under. The two two-bedrooms are above it.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, each apartment costs more than its rent.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Tremont and one-bedroom voucher apartments in the Bronx.

How 1506 Southern Boulevard Is Financed
Property records show a $1,325,000 land purchase in 2021 and two 2023 mortgages from Tompkins Community Bank. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 9, 2021 | Deed | TRID LLC to 1506 Southern, LLC | $1,325,000 |
| November 23, 2022 | Zoning lot papers | 1506 Southern, LLC | none |
| July 13, 2023 | Two mortgages | 1506 Southern, LLC and Tompkins Community Bank | $4,573,400 and $626,600 |
| July 13, 2023 | Assignment of leases and rents | 1506 Southern, LLC and Tompkins Community Bank | $5,200,000 |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to the $5,200,000 in the assignment, by VoucherMatch's addition.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2981, lot 19.
HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no record for the lot. No announcement of the financing was found. The permit lists an estimated job cost of $5,000,000.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1506 Southern Boulevard
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names ten amenities. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Listed"Air-conditioning," "Elevator," "Smoke-free," "Hardwood floors" and "Energy-efficient appliances."
- Also listed"High-end countertops and finishes," "High-end kitchen appliances," "Bus stop/Public transportation access," "Close to schools" and "Pedestrian-friendly - Walk Score."
- ParkingYIMBY reported "four enclosed parking spaces, and five open parking spaces" in the 2022 filing. The listing does not mention parking.
- Not statedfees for any amenity, the pet policy and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.

| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freeman St | 2, 5 | 0.27 miles | No |
| 174 St | 2, 5 | 0.28 miles | No |
| Whitlock Av | 6 | 0.52 miles | No |
| Elder Av | 6 | 0.65 miles | No |
| Simpson St | 2, 5 | 0.68 miles | Yes |
| West Farms Sq-E Tremont Av | 2, 5 | 0.68 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing names all six stations, and also E 180 St, about 1.02 miles away.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.833558, -73.889638).
- Buses: the listing names stops at Southern Blvd/E 176 St, Southern Blvd/Westchester Av and E 180 St/Boston Rd.
- Parks, per the listing: Seabury Playground, about 0.22 miles away, Starlight Park, about 0.37 miles, and Crotona Park, about 0.45 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 2 train and the 5 train.
How to Be Ready When the 1506 Southern Boulevard Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 18, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx's 5 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7728.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing gives no mail address for a paper application yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery to learn more about having a paper application mailed to you."
What it means: the listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear about your application's status.
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsthe FAQ says that "During a temporary waiver period," apartments that open after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for all three apartment types in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knownthree rents with income ranges for 6 apartments, an asset limit, ten amenities and eight interior photos.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, a paper application address and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, a building website and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 1506 Southern Boulevard, and no certificate of occupancy is on record. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 293 East 207th Street, due October 20, 2026; 354 East 194th Street, October 23; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthHunts Point, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthTremont, BronxAccepts NYCHA · HASA · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthMorrisania, BronxAccepts HASA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 1506 Southern Boulevard on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7728, "1506 Southern Boulevard." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 1506 Southern Boulevard?
The rent is $2,093 a month for the studio, $2,234 for each of three one-bedrooms and $2,664 for each of two two-bedrooms. All 6 apartments are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 18, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include.
How much do you have to earn for 1506 Southern Boulevard?
Without a voucher, from $78,309 a year for the studio, $83,966 for a one-bedroom and $101,040 for a two-bedroom. The most is $146,560, for five people in a two-bedroom. One person must earn $78,309 to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 1506 Southern Boulevard take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,093 studio is $511 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. Each $2,234 one-bedroom is $500 under, and each $2,664 two-bedroom is $333 under. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 1506 Southern Boulevard in Crotona Park East or West Farms?
Records differ. The Department of Buildings tags the lot Crotona Park East, and so do New York YIMBY and the Norwood News. City Planning's GeoSearch says East Morrisania. VoucherMatch's ZIP list files 10460 under West Farms and Tremont. The address is Bronx block 2981, lot 19, ZIP code 10460, between East 172nd Street and Jennings Street, per YIMBY.
Is the building at 1506 Southern Boulevard finished?
No record says so yet. The first permit was issued January 3, 2023, and the boiler, sprinkler and plumbing filings were signed off May 27, 2026. No certificate of occupancy was in either City dataset through October 17, 2026. PLUTO lists 2023 as the year built. No move-in date is published.
Are the rents at 1506 Southern Boulevard below market?
Mostly. The $2,093 studio is $187 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10460, and each $2,234 one-bedroom is $156 below. Each $2,664 two-bedroom is $44 above HUD's $2,620 figure. HUD's figures include utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities the rents cover.
Sources for this article (19)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7728 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- New York YIMBY (web.archive.org)
- Norwood News (norwoodnews.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.