1751 Monroe Avenue in Mount Hope: 15 Apartments on Housing Connect From $2,441 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists 15 income-restricted apartments at 1751 Monroe Avenue in Mount Hope, the Bronx, at $2,441 to $3,441 a month. Applications are not open yet: the listing has no deadline. All 15 are at 130% of area median income, in a new 13-story building with 50 apartments. Each rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. All four rents are above HUD's figure for the ZIP code.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7449, read twice, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, run twice; the Housing Connect FAQ; the City's data on advertised lotteries; HPD's 421-a page and Affordable Housing Production by Building; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings, BIS jobs and two certificate of occupancy datasets (DOB NOW, BIS); PLUTO; City Planning's GeoSearch; ACRIS for Bronx block 2797, lot 47; DSS-8r; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; Spaxel's 1751 Monroe Avenue page; and the New York Real Estate Journal (May 30, 2023). How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 15apartments listed on Housing Connect
- 50apartments in the 13-story building, in city records
- $2,441the lowest rent, a studio
- $3,441the highest rent, a three-bedroom
- $89,452the lowest minimum income, for a studio
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 421-a(16)A property tax break for new apartment buildings. HPD's page says a 2017 law renamed it the "Affordable New York Housing Program."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (the City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement)a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 1751 Monroe Avenue
1751 Monroe Avenue is a new 13-story building with 50 apartments, developed by Spaxel on a lot that once held a two-story house.
- Permits: Department of Buildings (DOB) job X00493694-I1 was filed April 27, 2021. It describes the "construction of a 13 story residential building," 114 feet tall, with 50 homes. The plans were approved February 16, 2022. The first permit came April 14, 2022.
- Old building: DOB job 220740697 was the "full demolition of a two story building" with one home, signed off March 21, 2022.
- Owner: since April 28, 2023, the deed and PLUTO name Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC. The 2021 permit names "PROPCO, LLC." The newest filing, approved August 24, 2026, names "SPAXEL."
- Developer: Spaxel's page calls it "an impressive 13-floor apartment building with 50 units available for rent" and a "passive house certified building."
- Architect: the permit's applicant is registered architect Adam Snyder of ENV Architects, DPC.
- Program: the listing description reads "15 units 421a-16."
- Certificate of occupancy: none found. On October 18, 2026, neither DOB's DOB NOW dataset nor its BIS dataset showed one for the building. DOB's own certificate page did not load.
- April 27, 2021the new building job is filed.
- June 7, 20211751 Monroe LP buys the lot for $1,075,000.
- March 21, 2022DOB signs off the demolition of the old house.
- April 14, 2022the new building gets its first permit.
- April 28, 2023the lot passes to Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC, with two bank mortgages.
- October 30, 2025HPD's data gives this as the project start date.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 15 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the lottery apartments are listed, but no certificate of occupancy shows yet.
Source: DOB job filings; ACRIS; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building; Housing Connect. HPD defines the start date as "the date of the project loan closing and regulatory agreement" or "the notice of intent to market affordable units."
- Floor area47,101 square feet in the DOB job. PLUTO gives a building area of 39,353 square feet.
- Year builtPLUTO says 2024. No certificate of occupancy showed on October 18, 2026, and HPD's data has no completion date.
- Apartment sizesSpaxel's page lists "studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom, and 4-bedroom apartments." The lottery's largest apartments are three-bedrooms.
- Section 8the New York Real Estate Journal said each project in a 2023 deal "utilizes the Section 8 program." The listing does not mention Section 8, and its rent table marks no apartment as a project-based voucher unit.
What the 421-a(16) Program Means for the 15 Apartments
421-a(16) gives a new building a tax break, and in return a share of its apartments must stay affordable for decades.
- Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI."
- Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
- Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI." The project "cannot receive any government subsidies."
- How longa rental project must "choose one of three affordability options and comply with it for the entire benefit period." Projects "not entitled to the enhanced 35 year benefit" get "A 35-year post-construction tax exemption."
- Same entrancesrental units "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
Key pointno document opened names the option this building chose. The listing gives only "421a-16" and one income level, 130% AMI. The New York Real Estate Journal called it part of "the now-expired 421(a) program."
HPD's data counts the 15 as "middle income units," with rents "affordable to households earning 121 to 165% of the area median income (AMI)." Its size mix, 3 studios, 4 one-bedrooms, 3 two-bedrooms and 5 three-bedrooms, matches the listing.
Where 1751 Monroe Avenue Is
The building is in ZIP code 10457, in the part of the Bronx that DOB and City Planning call Mount Hope.
- NeighborhoodDOB's filings and City Planning's GeoSearch both say "Mount Hope." VoucherMatch has no Mount Hope page; its ZIP 10457 page is titled "Tremont, Bronx."
- ZIP code and districts10457 in the listing, DOB NOW, PLUTO and HPD's data. The permits give Community Board 5. DOB NOW, PLUTO and HPD give City Council District 14; some older BIS rows say 15.
- Parksthe listing names Claremont Park, about 0.32 miles away in a straight line.

See Section 8 apartments in Tremont and voucher apartments in ZIP 10457.

Rents and Income Limits in the 1751 Monroe Avenue Housing Connect Listing
The listing shows four rents, from $2,441 to $3,441 a month, all at 130% AMI, and its lowest minimum income is $89,452 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 studios | $2,441 | 1 to 2 | $89,452 to $176,410 |
| 4 one-bedrooms | $2,546 | 1 to 3 | $93,875 to $198,510 |
| 3 two-bedrooms | $2,748 | 2 to 5 | $103,063 to $238,160 |
| 5 three-bedrooms | $3,441 | 3 to 7 | $129,120 to $273,520 |
What it means: every apartment needs at least $89,452 a year, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7449, read October 18, 2026; its 15 unit rows grouped by VoucherMatch. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Most it can earn | Sizes it can apply for |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $154,440 | Studio, 1 bedroom |
| 2 people | $176,410 | Studio, 1 or 2 bedrooms |
| 3 people | $198,510 | 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 4 people | $220,480 | 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 5 people | $238,160 | 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 6 people | $255,840 | 3 bedrooms |
| 7 people | $273,520 | 3 bedrooms |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the same listing, maximum yearly income by household size at 130% AMI.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to that size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 7 |
| 2 people | 10 |
| 3 people | 12 |
| 4 people | 8 |
| 5 people | 8 |
| 6 people | 5 |
| 7 people | 5 |
What it means: a household of six or seven can apply for only the five three-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's household sizes; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $89,452below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One or two people at $89,452 to $93,874only the studios fit.
- Three people under $93,875nothing fits. From $93,875 to $103,062, only the one-bedrooms fit.
- Four or five people under $103,063nothing fits. From $103,063 to $129,119, only the two-bedrooms fit.
- Six or seven people under $129,120nothing fits.
- One person over $154,440over every maximum.
Key pointasset limit. Housing Connect's rent table gives $220,480 for every apartment type. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Covers at 1751 Monroe Avenue
All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same size, by $163 to $312 a month.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Listed rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,441 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,546 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,748 | $2,997 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,441 | $3,753 |
What it means: the room under each maximum is $163 for a studio, $188 for a one-bedroom, $249 for a two-bedroom and $312 for a three-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe listing does not say which utilities tenants pay. If they pay some, CityFHEPS counts a utility allowance, and the room shrinks. None is subtracted here.
- Household size: DSS-8r ties each amount to a family size: one person for a studio, one or two for a one-bedroom, three or four for a two-bedroom, five or six for a three-bedroom. Ask DSS about other sizes.
- Maximum income: the FAQ lifts only the minimum. Nothing opened waives the listing's maximum incomes.
- Credit check: "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ accepts "Section 8 (HPD or NYCHA)." See the New York City Housing Authority, 2026 Section 8 payment standards in NYC, CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10457
All four rents are above HUD's estimate for the same size in ZIP code 10457, by $128 to $161 a month.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Listed rent | HUD figure, ZIP 10457 |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,441 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,546 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,748 | $2,620 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,441 | $3,280 |
What it means: the studio is $161 over HUD's figure, the one-bedroom $156 over, the two-bedroom $128 over and the three-bedroom $161 over.
Source: the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents, fiscal year 2027, for ZIP 10457, the building's ZIP in the listing, the permits, PLUTO and HPD's data.
Key pointHUD's figure includes rent and most tenant-paid utilities. The listing rent may not. If tenants pay any utilities, the full cost is higher than the rent shown.
How 1751 Monroe Avenue Was Financed
Property records show a $2,415,000 sale of the lot in 2023 and two bank mortgages totaling $13,779,902.
| Document and date | Parties in the record | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed, June 7, 2021 | Former owner to 1751 Monroe LP | $1,075,000 |
| Deed, April 28, 2023 | 1751 Monroe L.P. to Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC | $2,415,000 |
| Mortgage, April 28, 2023 | Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC and First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | $10,934,377.36 |
| Mortgage, April 28, 2023 | Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC and First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | $2,845,524.64 |
What it means: the two mortgages total $13,779,902, by VoucherMatch's addition.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2797, lot 47; each 2023 mortgage has a matching assignment of leases and rents.
- The dealthe New York Real Estate Journal reported "$50.8 million in financing and $30.9 million in LP equity" for "2710 Creston Ave., 2250 Aqueduct Ave. and 1751 Monroe Ave."
- Whoit named Spaxel LLC and Atalaya Capital Management as sponsors, with CBRE Investment Management and CIT.
- Passive House"All three buildings will be Passive House Certified."
- The differenceACRIS names First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company as lender; the report named CIT. No HPD or Housing Development Corporation loan appears in the lot's records.
How 1751 Monroe Avenue Relates to 1695 Monroe Avenue
The records show two separate buildings with the same developer name in their owner companies, but no record calls them one project.
- Ownersthe deeds and PLUTO name Spaxel CBRE 1751 Monroe LLC for this lot and Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC for the other.
- LenderACRIS shows separate First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company mortgages on each lot.
- Architectboth lots' new building permits name the same registered architect, Adam Snyder.
- HPDthe two are separate projects, 77911 for 1751 and 77912 for 1695, with the same start date.
- Housing Connectseparate lotteries, 7449 and 7446. This report covers only 7449.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1751 Monroe Avenue
The listing shows no preferences or amenities yet, so this section gives HPD's general rules, the developer's list and the stations.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says federal law gives a preference for 5% of apartments to households with a mobility disability. Another 2% go to hearing or vision.
- Community boardthe FAQ says this preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption." No record opened shows City money here.
- Other preferences"These preferences are listed in the advertisement for the development." No advertisement is posted yet.
- In the Housing Connect listingno amenities, photos or fees are posted.
- On Spaxel's page"a bike room, elevator, refuse room provided on each floor, and washer and dryer closets inside each apartment." It lists "300 square feet of indoor recreation space and 689 square feet of exterior recreation space at the roof level."
- Not statedwho pays for power, heat, gas and hot water, pets, and fees.
| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 174-175 Sts | B, D | 0.17 miles | No |
| 176 St | 4 | 0.33 miles | No |
| Tremont Av | B, D | 0.34 miles | Yes |
| Mt Eden Av | 4 | 0.42 miles | No |
| Burnside Av | 4 | 0.55 miles | No |
| 170 St | B, D | 0.55 miles | No |
What it means: the nearest station marked accessible is Tremont Av on the B and D, about a third of a mile away.
Source: stations, daytime lines and accessibility from the MTA's station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8455688, -73.9068409), so the walk is longer.
- Buses and rail: the listing names bus stops at 176 St, E 170 St/Grand Concourse and 3 Ave/Claremont Pkwy, with no route numbers, and a "Tremont" train station about 0.40 miles away.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the B train and the 4 train.



How to Be Ready When the 1751 Monroe Avenue Housing Connect Lottery Opens
A household can get its profile, income figures and papers ready now, because applications are not open as of October 18, 2026.
On two reads that day, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The City's list of past Housing Connect lotteries has no row for lottery 7449.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. "If your household summary is flagged as incomplete, you will not be able to submit an application."
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the listing for lottery 7449.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and yearly income with the tables above.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routeno mailing address is posted yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery."
What it means: the profile can be finished before any deadline exists.
Source: the Housing Connect FAQ and listing.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers" to complete profiles.
- Documents"Make sure to include ALL requested documents in one submission" when the marketing agent asks.
- Rent history or credit"show that you have paid your full rent for the past 12 months" or "have your credit reviewed."
- Voucher holdersthe marketing agent "will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- ID for every adult. "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers.
Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1751 Monroe Avenue
The rents, incomes and apartment count are posted, but the deadline and the advertisement are not.
- Knownfour rents, income ranges and an asset limit for 15 apartments.
- Not posteda deadline, the full ad, a mailing address, preferences, photos and the marketing agent.
- Not statedutilities, pets, floor plans, fees and the 421-a(16) option.
- Not showna certificate of occupancy.
- Whom to askHousing Connect's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, weekdays 9am to 5pm, or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 1751 Monroe Avenue yet, so a household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open lotteries in the Bronx: on October 18, 2026, Housing Connect's search showed five. They are 293 East 207th Street (due October 20), 354 East 194th Street (due October 23), 1677 Eastburn Avenue (due October 29), 3180 Villa Avenue (due October 30) and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street (due November 6).
1 bedroom, $2,700 a monthBronxAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthTremont, BronxAccepts FHEPS
3 bedrooms, $2,000 a monthBronxAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx, CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in Tremont.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 1751 Monroe Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. 1751 Monroe Avenue is Housing Connect lottery 7449, "1751 Monroe Avenue Apartments." As of October 18, 2026, the listing shows rents but no deadline. The lottery is not in the open-lottery search. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 1751 Monroe Avenue?
Rents run from $2,441 to $3,441 a month, all at 130% AMI. The listing has 3 studios at $2,441, 4 one-bedrooms at $2,546, 3 two-bedrooms at $2,748 and 5 three-bedrooms at $3,441. The listing does not yet say which utilities, if any, tenants pay on top of the rent.
How much do you have to earn for 1751 Monroe Avenue?
Yearly incomes run from $89,452 for a studio to $273,520 for seven people in a three-bedroom. The minimums are $93,875 for a one-bedroom, $103,063 for a two-bedroom and $129,120 for a three-bedroom. HPD's FAQ says the minimum does not apply to a household with a voucher or rental subsidy.
Does 1751 Monroe Avenue take CityFHEPS or Section 8?
Housing Connect accepts both, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $163 to $312 a month. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits. The listing marks no apartments as project-based voucher units.
Is 1751 Monroe Avenue the same as 1695 Monroe Avenue?
No. They are separate buildings on separate lots, with separate Housing Connect lotteries: 7449 for 1751 and 7446 for 1695. Each lot has its own Spaxel CBRE owner company and its own HPD project number. Both permits name the same architect. Check each listing on its own for rents and dates.
Are the rents at 1751 Monroe Avenue below market?
Not by HUD's measure. All four rents are above HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 10457: the studio and the three-bedroom by $161, the one-bedroom by $156 and the two-bedroom by $128. HUD's figures also include most utilities, so the gap may be larger if tenants pay their own.
Sources for this article (18)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7449 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- data on advertised lotteries (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- 1751 Monroe Avenue page (spaxel.com)
- New York Real Estate Journal (nyrej.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.