1529 Brooklyn Avenue in East Flatbush: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,750 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7726, "1529 Brooklyn Avenue Apartments," in East Flatbush, Brooklyn. It has six apartments at 130% AMI: four one-bedrooms at $2,750 a month and two three-bedrooms at $4,095. The listing has no deadline, and applications are not open. Both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The building is new, with 17 apartments in all.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7726, read at the start and end of the session, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings, older job filings (job 321598286) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 5011, lot 31; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY (October 2020). The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 6apartments on Housing Connect, all at 130% AMI
- 17apartments in the building, per the Department of Buildings
- $2,750the one-bedroom rent, the lowest
- $4,095the three-bedroom rent, the highest
- $103,886the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue
1529 Brooklyn Avenue is a new six-story building with 17 apartments. The Department of Buildings issued a certificate of occupancy for it on June 4, 2026.
- Permit: new building job 321598286 was filed September 24, 2020. It calls for 6 stories, 60 feet and 17 dwelling units.
- Before: a 2020 job was for "FULL DEMOLITION TO A THREE STORY HOUSE." It was signed off September 24, 2021.
- Owner: the 2020 deed, PLUTO and the permit name 1529 BK AVE LLC. Later City filings name Castle Developers LLC as the owner's business.
- Architect: S. Wieder Architect P.C. filed the plans. New York YIMBY also named S. Wieder Architect as architect of record.
- Parking: a 2021 filing is for a curb cut. In 2020, New York YIMBY reported "nine enclosed parking spaces." The listing does not mention parking.
- Developer: no City record opened uses the word developer, and this report names none.
| Record | What it says |
|---|---|
| Building permit filing | 6 stories, 60 feet, 17 dwelling units |
| Certificates of occupancy | 17 dwelling units |
| PLUTO | 6 floors, 17 homes, built 2022 |
| Lot | 40 by 100 feet, 4,000 square feet |
| Zoning | R6 |
What it means: every record gives 17 apartments, so the lottery offers 6 of 17.
Source: Department of Buildings job 321598286 and its certificate records; PLUTO (version 26v2).

- June 25, 20201529 BK AVE LLC buys the lot for $540,000, per the deed.
- September 24, 2020the six-story building is filed with the Department of Buildings.
- January 8, 2021the plans are approved.
- September 24, 2021the demolition of the old house is signed off.
- February 22, 2022the new building permit is issued in full.
- June 4, 2026a certificate of occupancy is issued for 17 dwelling units.
- September 8, 2026the certificate is renewed, marked "Renewal Without Change."
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists six apartments with no deadline.
What it means: the City's records show the building finished and approved to be lived in.
Source: Department of Buildings filings and certificate records; ACRIS.
What "421-A" Means in This Listing
The listing's only description is "6 Units 421-A 4-1BR 2-3BR." It does not say which version of 421-a applies, or which option.
- What it isHPD calls 421-a "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
- The 2017 namea 2017 state law "renamed tax exemptions issued pursuant to Real Property Tax Law Section 421-a as the Affordable New York Housing Program."
- Two versionsHPD's page has separate sections for the "421-a (1-15) Program" and the "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program." The listing names neither.
| 421-a(16) rental option | HPD's rule, quoted |
|---|---|
| Option A | "25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI" |
| Option B | "30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI." |
| Option C | "At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI" |
What it means: no record opened says which version or option 1529 Brooklyn Avenue uses, and this report does not guess.
Source: HPD's 421-a page, read October 19, 2026.
Where 1529 Brooklyn Avenue Is
The building is on Brooklyn Avenue in East Flatbush, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11210. Every City record opened uses that ZIP code.
- Department of Buildings"East Flatbush-Farragut," on the building filings and the certificate records.
- City Planning's GeoSearchEast Flatbush, ZIP code 11210.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data11210 is Flatbush and Midwood.
- New York YIMBYEast Flatbush, "between Farragut Road and Glenwood Road."
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 1529 Brooklyn Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 5011, lot 31 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 17 |
| City Council district | 45 |
| ZIP code | 11210 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11210 and Section 8 apartments in Flatbush.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings filings; GeoSearch. The listing and the certificate records give the same ZIP code.
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue, on the other side of the street, is a separate Housing Connect listing, lottery 7691, with a different owner and income level.
Rents and Income Ranges for 1529 Brooklyn Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,750 for a one-bedroom and $4,095 for a three-bedroom. Without a voucher, a household needs at least $103,886 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI | $2,750 | 1 to 3 | $103,886 to $198,510 |
| 2 three-bedrooms, 130% AMI | $4,095 | 3 to 7 | $159,155 to $273,520 |
What it means: there are no studios and no two-bedrooms.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7726, read twice on October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
Watch outthe listing gives two minimums for the three-bedrooms. Its income table and one apartment record say $159,155. The other three-bedroom record says $147,566. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, which one applies.
| Household size | One-bedroom | Three-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $103,886 to $154,440 | not allowed |
| 2 people | $103,886 to $176,410 | not allowed |
| 3 people | $103,886 to $198,510 | $159,155 to $198,510 |
| 4 people | not allowed | $159,155 to $220,480 |
| 5 people | not allowed | $159,155 to $238,160 |
| 6 people | not allowed | $159,155 to $255,840 |
| 7 people | not allowed | $159,155 to $273,520 |
What it means: the maximum rises with each person, and the minimum does not.
Source: the same listing, minimum and maximum yearly income by household size; three-bedroom minimum from its income table.
Which Incomes Fall Outside Both Apartment Types
Without a voucher, a household that earns too little or too much has no apartment here. Households of eight or more have none at any income.
| Household size | Incomes with no apartment |
|---|---|
| 1 or 2 people | Under $103,886, or over $154,440 (one) or $176,410 (two) |
| 3 people | Under $103,886, or over $198,510 |
| 4 people | Under $159,155, or over $220,480 |
| 5 to 7 people | Under $159,155, or over $238,160 (five), $255,840 (six) or $273,520 (seven) |
What it means: a household of four or more needs the three-bedroom minimum; with the other record's figure, that floor would be $147,566.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; gaps worked out by VoucherMatch.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The one-bedroom is $16 over and the three-bedroom $342 over. The FAQ says rent "should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,750 | $2,750 | $2,734 |
| 3 bedrooms | $4,095 | $4,095 | $3,753 |
What it means: each size has one rent, and each is above the maximum, by $16 and $342.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7726; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume all utilities are in the rent. The listing does not say who pays for utilities. This report subtracts no utility allowance. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, how your voucher would be counted.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Credit check: "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Maximum income: a voucher removes the minimum, not the maximum. The income limits above still apply.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11210
Both rents are above HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11210. The one-bedroom is $80 over HUD's $2,670 figure. The three-bedroom is $415 over its $3,680 figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11210 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,750 | $2,750 | $2,670 |
| 3 bedrooms | $4,095 | $4,095 | $3,680 |
What it means: these "affordable" rents are above HUD's area figure, before any utility bill.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure includes most utilities.
- Utilities: if tenants pay any utilities, the gap is larger. The listing does not say.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Flatbush and three-bedroom voucher apartments in Flatbush.

How 1529 Brooklyn Avenue Is Financed
Property records show private loans, not City loans. No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| June 25, 2020 | Deed | to 1529 BK AVE LLC | $540,000 |
| June 25, 2020 | Two mortgages | 1529 BK AVE LLC and Yellow Jacket Ventures LLC | $540,000 and $160,000 |
| August 31, 2022 | Mortgage and agreement | 1529 BK AVE LLC and Yellow Jacket Ventures LLC | $2,600,000; agreement $2,760,000 |
| June 6, 2024 | Two mortgages and agreement | 1529 BK AVE LLC and IBI SBL Investment LP | $460,000 and $1,340,000; agreement $3,760,000 |
| May 1, 2025 | Assignment | IBI SBL Investment LP to IBI Falcon US LLC | none listed |
What it means: the index does not say what the agreements cover.
Source: ACRIS document index, read October 19, 2026. On June 6, 2024, Yellow Jacket Ventures LLC also assigned its loans to IBI SBL Investment LP.
HPD's production data has no record for this address on October 19, 2026. No public announcement of the financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue
The listing posts no preference groups and no set-asides. It lists 14 amenities.
- This listingno preference group and no set-aside is posted.
- HPD's general rulethe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a household member with a mobility disability.
- Also in the FAQ"Another two percent (2%) of units receive preference" for hearing or vision disabilities.
- Whom to askthe listing does not say whether either applies here. Call 212-863-7990.
- Building"Elevator," "Accessible entrance," "Rooftop terrace," "Security cameras" and "Smoke-free."
- Apartments"Dishwasher in unit," "Patio or balcony" and "Energy-efficient appliances."
- Petsthe listing marks it "Pet-friendly," with no rules or fees.
- Not statedutilities, laundry, apartment sizes, fees and parking.

| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flatbush Av-Brooklyn College | 2, 5 | 0.37 miles | Yes |
| Newkirk Av-Little Haiti | 2, 5 | 0.44 miles | No |
| Beverly Rd | 2, 5 | 0.73 miles | No |
| Newkirk Plaza | B, Q | 1.10 miles | No |
| Church Av | 2, 5 | 1.11 miles | Yes |
What it means: the walk is longer than the straight line.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, with its daytime lines and accessibility flag; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6359417, -73.9419225).
- Buses: the listing names stops at Glenwood Rd/Nostrand Av and Nostrand Av/Flatbush Av.
- Parks it names: Paerdegat Park, Amersfort Park and Prospect Park.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 2 train.

How to Apply for 1529 Brooklyn Avenue on Housing Connect
Applications are not open. The listing has no deadline, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search did not list it.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing's deadline field was empty. The open-lottery search listed 18 rental lotteries, none of them 7726. The listing posts no mail address for paper forms yet. It does not say whether these apartments will go by lottery, first come or waiting list.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Keep income and household size current.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline would show on the page for lottery 7726.
- 3Check your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above.
- 4Apply oncethe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routethe FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery" to have a paper form mailed. This listing has no mail address yet.
What it means: for now, the only route is to watch the listing.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7726 and FAQ.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Random order"After the deadline, all of the applications are put into a random order and assigned a log number."
- Preferences firstthe developer reviews applications "in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- With a voucher"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says Housing Connect includes units "that become available at turnover."
What it means: a reached log number starts a short paperwork deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $220,480 for both apartment types. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the unit's AMI level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1529 Brooklyn Avenue
The rents, incomes, asset limit and amenities are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and a mail address are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for six apartments, the asset limit, 14 amenities and 11 photos.
- Not posteda deadline, an advertisement, a mail address for paper forms, preference groups and a building website.
- Not statedutilities, pet rules, apartment sizes, fees, the marketing agent, and how the six apartments will be filled.
- Unclearwhich of two minimum incomes applies to the three-bedrooms.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue today. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue, October 28; Farragut Residences, also in ZIP code 11210, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; and 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard, November 10.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 1529 Brooklyn Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7726, "1529 Brooklyn Avenue Apartments." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline and no mail address. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing.
What is the rent at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue?
The rent is $2,750 a month for a one-bedroom and $4,095 for a three-bedroom. All six apartments are at 130% AMI. These are the listing's rents on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include, so ask the hotline before counting on a total cost.
How much do you have to earn for 1529 Brooklyn Avenue?
Without a voucher, at least $103,886 a year for a one-bedroom. The three-bedroom minimum is $159,155 in the listing's income table, but one record says $147,566. The most is $154,440 for one person and $273,520 for seven. A voucher removes the minimum, but the maximum still applies.
Does 1529 Brooklyn Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The $2,750 one-bedroom is $16 over the $2,734 maximum. The $4,095 three-bedroom is $342 over the $3,753 maximum. The FAQ says rent should be within your voucher's limits. For Section 8, ask NYCHA or HPD.
Is 1529 Brooklyn Avenue in East Flatbush or Flatbush?
City records say East Flatbush. Buildings filings say "East Flatbush-Farragut," and City Planning's GeoSearch says East Flatbush. VoucherMatch's ZIP data lists 11210 as Flatbush and Midwood. The building is on Brooklyn block 5011, lot 31, in Brooklyn Community Board 17 and City Council district 45.
Is 1529 Brooklyn Avenue the same listing as 1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue?
No. They are two Housing Connect listings on opposite sides of Brooklyn Avenue. 1529 is lottery 7726, with six apartments at 130% AMI. 1482-1484 is lottery 7691, with four one-bedrooms at 80% AMI. City records show different owners and lenders. Each listing is its own lottery.
Are the rents at 1529 Brooklyn Avenue below market?
No, not against HUD's figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11210 is $2,670 for a one-bedroom and $3,680 for a three-bedroom. The lottery rents are $80 and $415 higher. HUD's figures include most utilities. VoucherMatch did not check current market rents in the building.
Sources for this article (17)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7726 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Parkchester, Bronx
2039 Westchester Ave Apartments
- From $2,733 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.