2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street in Far Rockaway: 27 Affordable Apartments in Two Housing Connect Lotteries, From $1,812 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists two lotteries for one project on Beach 28th Street in Far Rockaway, Queens. Lottery 7688, 2-10 Beach 28th Street, has 15 apartments: studios at $1,812 a month, one-bedrooms at $2,283 and two-bedrooms at $2,713. Lottery 7712, 2-24 Beach 28th Street, has 12 two-bedrooms at $2,713. All are at 80% AMI. Neither lottery is open, and neither has a deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listings for lottery 7688 and lottery 7712, each read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which listed neither either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (jobs Q01261212 and Q01261189), permits, older job records and certificates of occupancy (DOB NOW and older); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Queens blocks 15803 and 15821; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's subway and rail station data; and QNS's permit report of May 13, 2026. The listings set the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 27apartments on Housing Connect: 15 in lottery 7688 and 12 in lottery 7712
- 73 and 60apartments in the two building permits
- $1,812the rent for each of three studios at 2-10
- $2,713the rent for every two-bedroom at both addresses
- 6stories in each building permit
- Not openno deadline in either listing as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street
Two 6-story buildings are going up on side-by-side lots, with 73 and 60 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. City records tie them to one owner, one architect and one set of loans.
| Record | 2-10 Beach 28th Street | 2-24 Beach 28th Street |
|---|---|---|
| DOB job | Q01261212 | Q01261189 |
| Filing text | "6 STORY MIXED USE BUILDING" | "6 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING" |
| Apartments, height | 73, 50 feet | 60, 50 feet |
| Floor area | 47,471.8 square feet | 45,093.6 square feet |
| Plans approved | February 21, 2026 | February 19, 2026 |
| Building permit | February 26, 2026 | May 20, 2026 |
What it means: no certificate of occupancy was in the City's data for either building through October 17, 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs, both filed July 30, 2025, and permit records. Both name Walton Developers as owner and Kao Hwa Lee Architects PC as applicant.
- One project in the records: the 2-10 filing asks for "the same examiner as job #Q01261189-I1 as this is adjacent zoning lot with same owner and applicant." One sidewalk plan was filed for both jobs.
- Two listings: Housing Connect treats them as separate lotteries, 7688 and 7712, with separate mail addresses.
- Program: lottery 7688 says "485X program: The project consists of one building with 73 units, of which 15 will be offered in this lottery at 80% AMI." Lottery 7712's description reads only "485x."
- Not linked: 139 Beach 29th Street, lottery 7657 nearby, has a different owner, architect and lender in DOB and ACRIS records.

What 485-x Means Here
485-x is a property tax break for new buildings that set aside affordable apartments. HPD runs it in the city; no record opened names which version applies here.
- What it isHPD says the law provides "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long rents stay low"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- OptionsHPD lists several rental options, set by building size and place. No record opened names the option chosen.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | DOB filings: Walton Developers | PLUTO and ACRIS: 204B LLC |
| Addresses | Listings: 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street | DOB: 210 and 224; ACRIS also 204 Beach 28 Street and 6 Maple Court for the 2-24 lot |
| The lots | DOB: two 6-story buildings | PLUTO: vacant land on both |
| Map points | Housing Connect's point for 2-24 is 23 feet from DOB's point for the 2-10 lot | Its point for 2-10 sits 189 feet from that DOB point, closer to the 2-24 lot |
| Use of 2-10 | DOB: "MIXED USE BUILDING" | QNS, May 13, 2026: a "residential building" |
| Floor area of 2-10 | DOB: 47,471.8 square feet of construction | QNS: 35,243 square feet |
What it means: the first fence filing for 2-10 gives the owner only as "PR." QNS also reported "an average unit scope of 482 square feet." PLUTO, updated August 2026, still shows empty lots.
Source: Housing Connect listings; Department of Buildings data; PLUTO 26v2; ACRIS; QNS.
- May 29, 2025204B LLC buys lot 25, recorded as 204 Beach 28 Street, from Beach 28 LLC for $4,500,000. Later records list lot 20 (2-10) beside it.
- July 30, 2025both 6-story buildings are filed.
- February 5, 2026the demolition of "a 1-story stucco and frame" building at 224 Beach 28 Street is signed off.
- February 2026plans for both are approved, and foundation and earthwork permits are issued.
- June 17, 2026204B LLC signs mortgages with Popular Bank covering both lots.
- August and September 2026changes to both plans are filed, still for 6 stories each.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 27 apartments in two lotteries, with no deadlines.
What it means: work started in 2026, and no record gives a move-in date.
Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs and permits.

Where 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street Are
Both lots are on Beach 28th Street in Far Rockaway, Queens, in ZIP code 11691. The Beach 25 St subway station is 0.33 miles away in a straight line.
- Department of Buildings"Far Rockaway-Bayswater," its tag on both jobs.
- City Planning's GeoSearchFar Rockaway.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP tableFar Rockaway for ZIP code 11691.
- PLUTOQueens block 15803, lots 20 and 25; zoning R5; Community Board 14; Council District 31; the 101st Precinct.
See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11691 and Section 8 apartments in Far Rockaway.
Rents and Income Ranges at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street on Housing Connect
Each listing has its own rents and incomes. The lowest income accepted without a voucher is $67,886 a year, for a studio at 2-10.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 studios, 80% AMI | $1,812 | 1 or 2 | $67,886 to $108,560 |
| 3 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,283 | 1 to 3 | $84,858 to $122,160 |
| 9 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,713 | 2 to 5 | $101,863 to $146,560 |
What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7688, read October 18, 2026. Each of its 15 apartment records matches its row.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 12 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,713 | 2 to 5 | $100,560 to $146,560 |
What it means: there are no studios or one-bedrooms in this lottery.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7712, read October 18, 2026. Each of its 12 apartment records matches this row.
Watch outthe two-bedrooms rent for $2,713 in both lotteries, but the minimum incomes differ. Lottery 7688 prints $101,863 and lottery 7712 prints $100,560. Neither listing says why. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
| Household size | Maximum yearly income, 80% AMI |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: both listings print the same maximums for each household size.

View the data table
| Household size | Lottery 7688, 2-10 | Lottery 7712, 2-24 |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | 6 | 0 |
| 2 people | 15 | 12 |
| 3 people | 12 | 12 |
| 4 people | 9 | 12 |
| 5 people | 9 | 12 |
What it means: one person can apply only at 2-10, for a studio or a one-bedroom.
Source: each listing's household sizes for each apartment; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $67,886below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One person, $67,886 to $84,857only the studios at 2-10 fit.
- Three people under $84,858nothing fits without a voucher.
- Four or five people under $100,560nothing fits without a voucher. From $100,560 to $101,862, only 2-24's two-bedrooms fit.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $146,560 for five people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." Neither listing says how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum: the studios by $792, the one-bedrooms by $451 and the two-bedrooms at both addresses by $284. Neither listing says which utilities the rents include.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 2-10 | $1,812 | $1,812 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom, 2-10 | $2,283 | $2,283 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms, 2-10 | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,997 |
| 2 bedrooms, 2-24 | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,997 |
What it means: each type has one rent, so the lowest and highest bars match.
Source: rents from the two Housing Connect listings; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
| Family size | Bedrooms | 2026 payment standard |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Studio | $2,604 |
| 1 or 2 | 1 | $2,734 |
| 3 or 4 | 2 | $2,997 |
What it means: DSS-8r ties each amount to family size. The listings allow sizes outside these rows, such as two people in a studio. Ask DSS or your caseworker how CityFHEPS treats that.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards.
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. Neither listing says which utilities are included. This report subtracts no utility allowance, because the listings name no utility.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)." See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11691
Every rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11691. The studios are $818 below, the one-bedrooms $487 below and the two-bedrooms at both addresses $297 below.
View the data table
| Apartment | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11691 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 2-10 | $1,812 | $1,812 | $2,630 |
| 1 bedroom, 2-10 | $2,283 | $2,283 | $2,770 |
| 2 bedrooms, 2-10 | $2,713 | $2,713 | $3,010 |
| 2 bedrooms, 2-24 | $2,713 | $2,713 | $3,010 |
What it means: the listings' rents may not include utilities, so the gaps shrink by whatever tenants pay.
Source: rents from the two listings; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
See CityFHEPS apartments in Far Rockaway, studio voucher apartments in Far Rockaway and two-bedroom voucher apartments there.
How 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street Are Financed
Property records show Popular Bank mortgages from June 2026 that cover both lots. No City loan or HPD agreement appears in the records opened.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| May 29, 2025 | Deed, lot 25 | Beach 28 LLC to 204B LLC | $4,500,000 |
| May 29, 2025 | Mortgage and agreement, lot 25 | 204B LLC and 204 Beach 28 Funding L.P. | $1,915,000 and $3,315,000 |
| June 17, 2026 | Assignment | 204 Beach 28 Funding L.P. to Popular Bank | none listed |
| June 17, 2026 | Agreement, lots 18, 20 and 25 | 204B LLC and Popular Bank | $3,315,000 |
| June 17, 2026 | Two mortgages, lots 18, 20 and 25 | 204B LLC and Popular Bank | $24,627,818 and $5,057,182 |
What it means: the 2026 amounts add up to $33,000,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. The records do not split them by building, and their text was not read.
Source: ACRIS; the 2026 documents were recorded June 26, 2026.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street
Neither listing posts preferences or set-asides yet. Both list the same 24 amenities.
- In these listingsno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Inside"Air-conditioning," "Patio or balcony," "High-speed internet," "Elevator."
- Shared"Shared laundry room," "Party room," "Recreation room," "Outdoor terrace," "Green space."
- Access and safety"Gated access," "Security cameras," "Accessible entrance," "Smoke-free."
- Other"Pet-friendly" and "Electric car charging stations."
- Not statedwhich items cost extra, pet rules, parking, apartment sizes and who pays for utilities.

| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beach 25 St | A | 0.33 miles | No |
| Beach 36 St | A | 0.37 miles | No |
| Far Rockaway-Mott Av | A | 0.67 miles | Yes |
| Far Rockaway (LIRR) | Far Rockaway Branch | 1.10 miles | Yes |
What it means: DOB's point for the 2-24 lot is 120 feet away, and the walk is longer than a straight line.
Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from DOB's point for the 2-10 lot (40.595329, -73.761152), because the two listings' points disagree with DOB's.
- Buses: both listings name a stop at Seagirt Blvd and Beach 29 St, about 0.09 miles from that point.
- Along the line: see apartments near the A train.
How to Apply to the 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street Lotteries
Applications are not open yet. Each address is a separate lottery, and each will need its own application.
On two reads each on October 18, 2026, neither listing had a deadline or an advertisement. Neither was among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Log numbers go to applicants "whose applicant profiles (Household Info) are complete."
- 2Watch both listingsdeadlines will show on the pages for lottery 7688 (2-10) and lottery 7712 (2-24).
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with each listing's table. One person fits only lottery 7688.
- 4Apply once per lotterythe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeeach listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" For 7688, "210 Beach 28th Street Apartments C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street," Brooklyn, NY 11211. For 7712, "2-24 Beach 28th Street C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street," Brooklyn, NY 11211.
What it means: those addresses are where to ask for paper forms. Neither listing gives a return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listings; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing about "the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsapartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units." The FAQ says some may be offered "outside of Housing Connect" during "a temporary waiver period."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for every apartment type in both listings. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Two Lotteries
Rents, incomes, amenities and asset limits are posted. Deadlines, advertisements and utilities are not.
- Known27 apartments in two listings, their rents, income ranges and asset limits, and two mail addresses for paper forms.
- Not posteddeadlines, advertisements, preferences and set-asides.
- Not statedutilities, pet rules, apartment sizes, a website, move-in dates and why the two-bedroom minimums differ.
- The picturesevery listing image is a rendering. Lottery 7712's kitchen, bathroom, entrance, lobby and recreation room images look the same as 7688's, so this report shows them once.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at either address, and no certificate of occupancy is on record. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Queens now: the open-lottery search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026, and 42-78 65 Place, due November 2, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFar Rockaway, QueensAccepts HASA · NYCHA · CityFHEPS
2 bedrooms, $2,830 a monthFar Rockaway, QueensAccepts Section 8 (HCV)
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthFar Rockaway, QueensAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Queens and CityFHEPS apartments in Queens.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 2-10 or 2-24 Beach 28th Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. 2-10 Beach 28th Street is lottery 7688, and 2-24 Beach 28th Street is lottery 7712. On October 18, 2026, both listings showed rents but no deadline, and neither was in the open-lottery search. Each is a separate lottery. Finish your Housing Connect profile now and watch both listings.
What is the rent at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street?
At 2-10, studios rent for $1,812 a month, one-bedrooms for $2,283 and two-bedrooms for $2,713. At 2-24, all 12 apartments are two-bedrooms at $2,713. All are at 80% AMI. These are the listings' rents on October 18, 2026. Neither listing says which utilities the rents include.
How much do you have to earn for 2-10 or 2-24 Beach 28th Street?
Without a voucher, from $67,886 a year for a studio at 2-10. Two-bedrooms start at $101,863 at 2-10 and $100,560 at 2-24, for the same rent. The most is $146,560, for five people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 2-10 or 2-24 Beach 28th Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The studios are $792 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, the one-bedrooms $451 under and the two-bedrooms at both addresses $284 under. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits.
Are 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street the same building?
No. They are two 6-story buildings on adjacent lots, with separate permits for 73 and 60 apartments. DOB records name the same owner and architect, and one set of mortgages covers both. Records also write 210 and 224 Beach 28 Street, and ACRIS lists the 2-24 lot as 204 Beach 28 Street and 6 Maple Court.
What program are the Beach 28th Street lotteries in?
Both listings name 485-x, a property tax break for new buildings that HPD runs. HPD says it gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings." It adds that "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable." HPD lists several options, and no record opened names the one used here.
Are the rents at 2-10 and 2-24 Beach 28th Street below market?
Yes, compared with HUD's figures. The $1,812 studios are $818 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11691. The one-bedrooms are $487 below, and the two-bedrooms at both addresses are $297 below. HUD's figures include utilities, and neither listing says which utilities its rents include.
Sources for this article (21)
- lottery 7688 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- lottery 7712 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- subway (data.ny.gov)
- rail (data.ny.gov)
- QNS (qns.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.