600 Crown Street in Crown Heights: 12 Affordable Apartments Still Available on Housing Connect, From $2,975 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7577, "600 Crown Street-Units still available," in Crown Heights, Brooklyn. It has 12 apartments at 130% AMI: four one-bedrooms at $2,975 a month and eight two-bedrooms at $3,475. The listing has no deadline, and applications are not open. The building had a first lottery that ended October 6, 2025. Both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7577, read at the start and end of the session, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the 2025 listing, lottery 7189; the City's Housing Connect lottery data; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings (job B00608472), permits and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data (project 77141); PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 1417, lot 8; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY (August 6, 2025). The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 12apartments on Housing Connect, all at 130% AMI
- 100apartments in the building, per the Department of Buildings
- $2,975the one-bedroom rent, the lowest
- $3,475the two-bedroom rent, the highest
- $109,818the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 600 Crown Street
600 Crown Street is a new seven-story building with 100 apartments. The Department of Buildings issued its final certificate of occupancy on October 16, 2026.
- Permit: job B00608472 was filed October 21, 2021. It reads "NEW 7 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING WITH CELLAR AND SUB-CELLAR."
- Size: 7 stories, 75 feet and 100 dwelling units. The filing lists 175,850 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: the building filings name Preminger Land LLC. The 2023 deed, PLUTO and a 2026 sign-off name 600 Crown Holdings LLC.
- Architect: Rise Architecture filed the plans. New York YIMBY also named Rise Architecture as the designer.
- Developer: New York YIMBY reported that Preminger Land LLC developed the building. No City record opened uses the word developer.
- Parking: a 2022 filing is for a "DRIVEWAY RAMP APPLICATION SERVING 600 & 580 CROWN ST INDOOR PARKING." The listing does not mention parking.
| Record | What it says |
|---|---|
| Building permit filing | 7 stories, 75 feet, 100 dwelling units |
| PLUTO | 7 floors, 100 homes, 102 units in all, built 2024 |
| PLUTO | 24,230 square feet of commercial floor area |
| HPD's production data | 100 units in all; 30 counted as middle income |
| Certificates of occupancy | 100 dwelling units on each of seven |
What it means: every record gives 100 apartments, and PLUTO adds two other units it does not describe.
Source: Department of Buildings job B00608472 and its certificates of occupancy; PLUTO (version 26v2); HPD's production data for project 77141.

- October 21, 2021the seven-story building is filed with the Department of Buildings.
- July 15, 2022the plans are approved.
- January 4, 2023the first permit, for foundation work, is issued.
- May 4, 2023the general construction permit is issued.
- July 31, 2023Preminger Land LLC deeds the lot to 600 Crown Holdings LLC, and two mortgages are signed.
- August 4 to October 6, 2025the first lottery, 7189, takes applications for 30 apartments.
- October 22, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
- October 16, 2026the final certificate of occupancy is issued.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 12 apartments as "Units still available," with no deadline.
What it means: the building is finished in the City's records.
Source: Department of Buildings filings, permits and certificates of occupancy; ACRIS; the City's lottery data, updated October 5, 2026.
What 421-a(16) Means Here
The new listing's only description is "421(16)." The 2025 listing said "421-a(16)." It added that the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program."
- What it isHPD calls 421-a "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
- The 2017 namea 2017 state law "renamed tax exemptions issued pursuant to Real Property Tax Law Section 421-a as the Affordable New York Housing Program."
- How longHPD says projects without the enhanced benefit "would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years."
| 421-a(16) rental option | HPD's rule, quoted |
|---|---|
| Option A | "25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI" |
| Option B | "30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI." |
| Option C | "At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI" |
What it means: no record opened says which option 600 Crown Street uses, and this report does not guess.
Source: HPD's 421-a page, read October 18, 2026.
Where 600 Crown Street Is
The building is on Crown Street in Crown Heights, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11213. Every City record opened uses that ZIP code.
- Department of Buildings"Crown Heights (South)," on the new building filings and the certificates of occupancy.
- City Planning's GeoSearchCrown Heights, ZIP code 11213.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data11213 is Crown Heights.
- The 2025 listingit places the building in "Crown Heights neighborhood of Brooklyn."
| Record | 600 Crown Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 1417, lot 8 |
| Lot size | 27,943 square feet |
| Zoning | R7-1 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 9 |
| City Council district | 35 |
| ZIP code | 11213 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11213 and Section 8 apartments in Crown Heights.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings filings; GeoSearch. The listing, HPD's data and the certificates of occupancy give the same ZIP code.
Rents and Income Ranges for 600 Crown Street on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,975 for a one-bedroom and $3,475 for a two-bedroom. Without a voucher, a household needs at least $109,818 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI | $2,975 | 1 to 3 | $109,818 to $198,510 |
| 8 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI | $3,475 | 2 to 5 | $130,458 to $238,160 |
What it means: there are no studios and no three-bedrooms.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7577, read twice on October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | One-bedroom | Two-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $109,818 to $154,440 | not allowed |
| 2 people | $109,818 to $176,410 | $130,458 to $176,410 |
| 3 people | $109,818 to $198,510 | $130,458 to $198,510 |
| 4 people | not allowed | $130,458 to $220,480 |
| 5 people | not allowed | $130,458 to $238,160 |
What it means: the minimum is the same for every household size, and the maximum rises with each person.
Source: the same listing, minimum and maximum yearly income by household size.
Which Incomes Fall Outside Both Apartment Types
Without a voucher, a household that earns too little or too much has no apartment here. Households of six or more have none at any income.
| Household size | Incomes with no apartment |
|---|---|
| 1 person | Under $109,818, or over $154,440 |
| 2 or 3 people | Under $109,818, or over $176,410 (two) or $198,510 (three) |
| 4 people | Under $130,458, or over $220,480 |
| 5 people | Under $130,458, or over $238,160 |
What it means: a two- or three-person household earning $109,818 to $130,457 fits only the one-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; gaps worked out by VoucherMatch.

The First 600 Crown Street Lottery, in 2025
The building's first lottery took applications from August 4 to October 6, 2025, for 30 apartments. The new listing offers 12 and calls them "Units still available."
| 2025 lottery, 7189 | 2026 listing, 7577 | |
|---|---|---|
| Applications | August 4 to October 6, 2025 | No deadline posted |
| Apartments | 12 one-bedrooms, 18 two-bedrooms | 4 one-bedrooms, 8 two-bedrooms |
| Rents | $3,000 and $3,500 | $2,975 and $3,475 |
| Lowest income | $111,498 and $133,578 | $109,818 and $130,458 |
| Highest income | $198,510 and $238,160 | $198,510 and $238,160 |
| Asset limit | $220,480 | $220,480 |
What it means: each rent is $25 lower than in 2025, and each minimum income is lower too, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: Housing Connect records for lotteries 7189 and 7577, read October 18, 2026; the City's lottery data for the 2025 start date.
- What else changed: the 2025 listing had an advertisement, five amenities and a building description. The 2026 listing has none of these.
- What stayed the same: the mail address for paper forms, the 130% AMI level, the asset limit and the highest incomes. Neither listing posts a preference group.
- What the City's data says: its record for lottery 7189 reads "Tenant Selection," updated October 5, 2026. It has no row for lottery 7577.
- What no page says: how many people applied in 2025, or why these 12 apartments are still available.
Watch outNew York YIMBY's August 6, 2025 report gave other income ranges for the 2025 lottery. It printed $111,360 to $189,540 for one-bedrooms and $133,338 to $227,500 for two-bedrooms. The 2025 record read on October 18, 2026 shows the figures in the table above. Use the current listing's numbers.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 600 Crown Street?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The one-bedroom is $241 over and the two-bedroom $478 over. The FAQ says rent "should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,975 | $2,975 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $3,475 | $3,475 | $2,997 |
What it means: each size has one rent, and each is above the maximum, by $241 and $478.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7577; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume all utilities are in the rent. The 2025 listing said "Tenants are responsible for electricity including electric stove and heat." The 2026 listing does not say. This report subtracts no utility allowance. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, how your voucher would be counted.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Credit check: "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Maximum income: a voucher removes the minimum, not the maximum. The income limits above still apply.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11213
Both rents are above HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11213. The one-bedroom is $245 over HUD's $2,730 figure. The two-bedroom is $505 over its $2,970 figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11213 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,975 | $2,975 | $2,730 |
| 2 bedrooms | $3,475 | $3,475 | $2,970 |
What it means: these "affordable" rents are above HUD's area figure, before any utility bill.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure includes most utilities.
- Utilities: if tenants still pay for electricity and heat, as in 2025, the gap is larger.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Crown Heights and two-bedroom voucher apartments in Crown Heights.

How 600 Crown Street Is Financed
Property records show two mortgages with Popular Bank, signed July 31, 2023. They add up to $55,000,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| July 31, 2023 | Deed | Preminger Land LLC to 600 Crown Holdings LLC | $0 listed |
| July 31, 2023 | Two mortgages | 600 Crown Holdings LLC and Popular Bank | $48,416,286 and $6,583,714 |
| July 31, 2023 | Easement | Preminger Land LLC and 600 Crown Holdings LLC | none listed |
| March 18, 2026 | Declaration | 600 Crown Holdings LLC | none listed |
What it means: the index does not say what the 2026 declaration covers.
Source: ACRIS document index; the 2023 documents were recorded in August 2023 and the declaration on March 20, 2026.
HPD's production data lists the project as "New Construction," with a start date of May 2, 2025. It counts 30 middle-income rental units out of 100. No public announcement of the financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 600 Crown Street
The 2026 listing posts no preference groups, no set-asides and no amenities. The 2025 listing had no preference groups either.
- This listingno preference group and no set-aside is posted.
- HPD's general rulethe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a household member with a mobility disability.
- Also in the FAQ"Another two percent (2%) of units receive preference" for hearing or vision disabilities.
- Whom to askthe listing does not say whether either applies here. Call 212-863-7990.
- 2025 listing amenities"Air-conditioning," "Security cameras," "Intercommunication device," "Elevator" and "Bus stop/Public transportation access."
- 2025 description"stone countertops" and "stainless-steel appliances," in the advertisement's words.
- 2026 listingno amenities and no description.
- Not statedpets, laundry, apartment sizes, any fees, and whether the indoor parking is for tenants.

| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kingston Av | 3 | 0.36 miles | No |
| Crown Hts-Utica Av | 3, 4 | 0.37 miles | Yes |
| President St-Medgar Evers College | 2, 5 | 0.68 miles | No |
| Sterling St | 2, 5 | 0.69 miles | No |
| Nostrand Av | 3 | 0.72 miles | No |
| Winthrop St | 2, 5 | 0.87 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing itself shows Kingston Ave as "3,4," while the MTA's data lists the 3.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, with its daytime lines and accessibility flag; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.665272, -73.938113).
- Buses: the listing names stops at Kingston Av, Crown Hts-Utica Av and St John's Pl/Brooklyn Av.
- Parks it names: Wingate Park, Lincoln Terrace / Arthur S. Somers Park and St. John's Park.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 3 train.
How to Apply for 600 Crown Street on Housing Connect
Applications are not open. The listing has no deadline, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search did not list it.
On two reads on October 18, 2026, the listing's deadline field was empty. The open-lottery search listed 16 rental lotteries, none of them 7577. Brooklyn's seven open rental lotteries were other buildings. The listing does not say whether these apartments will go by lottery, first come or waiting list.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Keep income and household size current.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline would show on the page for lottery 7577.
- 3Check your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above.
- 4Apply oncethe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 600 Crown Street Apartments C/O Tax Solute Consulting, 670 Flushing Ave #316, Brooklyn, NY 11206.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address and no postmark rule for a completed one.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7577 and FAQ.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Random order"After the deadline, all of the applications are put into a random order and assigned a log number."
- Two to twelve monthsHPD says you may hear "within two to twelve months after the deadline."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- With a voucher"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says Housing Connect includes units "that become available at turnover."
What it means: even after a deadline, a household may wait months.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $220,480 for both apartment types. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the unit's AMI level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 600 Crown Street
The rents, incomes, asset limit and mail address are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for 12 apartments, the asset limit and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, an advertisement, preference groups, amenities and a building website.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities now, pets, apartment sizes, fees, and how the 12 apartments will be filled.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 600 Crown Street today. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street, November 6; and 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9.
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
2 bedrooms, $2,900 a monthBrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 600 Crown Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7577, "600 Crown Street-Units still available." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 600 Crown Street?
The rent is $2,975 a month for a one-bedroom and $3,475 for a two-bedroom. All 12 apartments are at 130% AMI. These are the listing's rents on October 18, 2026. Each is $25 lower than in the 2025 lottery. The 2026 listing does not say which utilities the rents include.
How much do you have to earn for 600 Crown Street?
Without a voucher, at least $109,818 a year for a one-bedroom and $130,458 for a two-bedroom. The most is $154,440 for one person and $238,160 for five. Households of six or more cannot apply. A voucher removes the minimum income, but the maximum still applies to every household.
Does 600 Crown Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The $2,975 one-bedroom is $241 over the $2,734 maximum. The $3,475 two-bedroom is $478 over the $2,997 maximum. The FAQ says rent should be within your voucher's limits. For Section 8, ask NYCHA or HPD.
What does "Units still available" mean at 600 Crown Street?
It names 12 apartments listed again after the building's first lottery. That lottery took applications for 30 apartments from August 4 to October 6, 2025. The new listing does not say why these remain, or whether they go by lottery or first come. It had no deadline on October 18, 2026.
Is 600 Crown Street in Crown Heights?
Yes. The Department of Buildings tags the lot "Crown Heights (South)," and City Planning's GeoSearch says Crown Heights. The ZIP code is 11213 in every record opened. The building is on Crown Street, Brooklyn block 1417, lot 8, in Brooklyn Community Board 9 and City Council district 35.
Are the rents at 600 Crown Street below market?
No, not against HUD's figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11213 is $2,730 for a one-bedroom and $2,970 for a two-bedroom. The lottery rents are $245 and $505 higher. HUD's figures include most utilities. VoucherMatch did not check current market rents in the building.
Sources for this article (19)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7577 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 2025 listing, lottery 7189 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.