2039 Westchester Avenue in Parkchester: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,733 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7689, "2039 Westchester Ave Apartments," in Parkchester, the Bronx. It has six one-bedrooms at 130% AMI, each $2,733 a month. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. City records show a new seven-story building with 19 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. The rent is $1 under the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7689, read at the start and end of the session, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings job filings (job X00702424), older filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; the City's Housing Connect lottery data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 3932, lot 22; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's January 10, 2023 report. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 6one-bedrooms on Housing Connect, all at 130% AMI
- $2,733the rent for each of the six
- 19apartments in the building, per the listing and city records
- 7stories in the building permit
- $102,343the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 421-aA property tax break for new apartment buildings, run by HPD. HPD's page calls it "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 2039 Westchester Avenue
2039 Westchester Avenue is a new seven-story building with 19 apartments, stores and community space. Its certificate of occupancy was issued June 11, 2026. Six of the 19 apartments are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job X00702424 was filed April 15, 2022. It reads "PROPOSED 7 STORY WITH CELLAR NEW BUILDING FOR RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL, AND COMMUNITY FACILITY USE."
- Size: 7 stories, 74 feet and 19 dwelling units, in the filing.
- Owner: the filing names PHG Construction Corp. The 2022 deed, later filings and PLUTO name Bhavan Apartments LLC.
- Plans: a professional engineer at ABC Engineering PLLC filed them. YIMBY wrote, "ABC Engineering is listed as the architect of record." No architect's firm is named in the City's filing.
- Status: the full building permit was issued June 21, 2023. Certificates of occupancy for 19 apartments were issued June 11 and September 2, 2026.

| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Permit: PHG Construction Corp | Deed, PLUTO: Bhavan Apartments LLC |
| Stories | Permit: 7 | PLUTO: 5 floors |
| Floor area | Permit: 26,194 square feet of construction | PLUTO and YIMBY: 19,056 square feet |
| Units | Permit and certificate: 19 apartments | PLUTO: 19 homes, 21 units in all |
What it means: the listing's 19 matches the permit and both certificates. No record opened explains PLUTO's other figures.
Source: Department of Buildings job X00702424; certificates CO-000084698 and CO-000099976; PLUTO; ACRIS; New York YIMBY, January 10, 2023.
- Lot 1001"COMMERCIAL UNIT 1A."
- Lots 1002 and 1003community facility units "2A" and "2B."
- Lot 1004"19 RES UNIT," named 3A through 7D, plus "CAR PARKING#1-10" and "BIKE PARKING #BP1-BP10."
- Filed byBhavan Apartments LLC. The split was approved May 10, 2024.
- January 8, 2019an earlier owner files for "a new commercial building." It is disapproved.
- July 19, 2021demolition is filed for a "2 STORY FRAME HOUSE" with one apartment. It is signed off September 1, 2022.
- March 3, 2022Bhavan Apartments LLC buys the lot for $825,000.
- April 15, 2022the seven-story building is filed. It is approved August 1, 2022.
- June 21, 2023the building permit is issued.
- May 10, 2024the condominium split into four lots is approved.
- June 11, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued, for 19 apartments.
- September 2, 2026a second one is issued, labeled "Renewal Without Change."
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists six apartments with no deadline.
What it means: the building is finished, and City data shows no earlier Housing Connect lottery for this address.
Source: Department of Buildings filings X00702424, 220684374, 220740170 and 220708250; certificates of occupancy; ACRIS.
What 421-a(16) Means for These Six Apartments
The listing says "421 (a16) PROGRAM: 19 units total - 6 offered to the lottery at 130%AMI." HPD's page says a 2017 law "renamed tax exemptions issued pursuant to Real Property Tax Law Section 421-a as the Affordable New York Housing Program."
- How longprojects without the enhanced benefit "would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years."
- Same doorsaffordable units "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- No separate floorthey "shall not be isolated to a specific floor or area."
| 421-a(16) rental option | HPD's rule, quoted |
|---|---|
| Option A | "25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI" |
| Option B | "30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI." |
| Option C | "At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI" |
What it means: no record opened says which option 2039 Westchester Avenue uses, and this report does not guess.
Source: HPD's 421-a page, read October 19, 2026.
Where 2039 Westchester Avenue Is
The building is on Westchester Avenue in Parkchester, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10462. YIMBY places it "between Pugsley Avenue and Olmstead Avenue."
- Department of Buildings"Parkchester," its neighborhood tag on every filing for the lot.
- City Planning's GeoSearchParkchester.
- New York YIMBY"Parkchester, The Bronx."
- The listingit names no neighborhood. Its nearby places include Parkchester station and "P.S. 106 - The Parkchester Elementary School."
| Record | 2039 Westchester Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 3932, lot 22 |
| Lot size | 4,331 square feet, 43 feet wide |
| Zoning | R6 with a C2-2 overlay |
| Community board | Bronx 9 |
| City Council district | 18 |
| ZIP code | 10462 |
What it means: a 2022 curb-cut filing puts the lot on "the north side of Westchester Ave," 413.26 feet west of Olmstead Avenue. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10462 and Section 8 apartments in Parkchester.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Rents and Income Ranges for 2039 Westchester Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has one rent: $2,733 a month for each of six one-bedrooms. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $102,343 a year.
| Household size | Yearly income, 130% AMI |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $102,343 to $154,440 |
| 2 people | $102,343 to $176,410 |
| 3 people | $102,343 to $198,510 |
What it means: income before taxes must fall in the range for the household's size. Households of four or more cannot apply.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7689, read October 19, 2026. All six apartments are one-bedrooms for one to three people.
- Under $102,343below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The top is $154,440 for one person and $198,510 for three.
- Four or more peoplethe listing allows at most three.
- Assetsthe limit is $220,480, from the listing's rent table.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set. The FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 2039 Westchester Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. The $2,733 rent is $1 under the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,733 | $2,733 | $2,734 |
What it means: the rent sits $1 under the maximum, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. Any utility the tenant pays could push it over.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
| Family size on DSS-8r | Bedrooms on DSS-8r | 2026 payment standard |
|---|---|---|
| 1 or 2 | 1 | $2,734 |
| 3 or 4 | 2 | $2,997 |
What it means: DSS-8r pairs each amount with family size. The listing allows three people in a one-bedroom. Ask DSS or your caseworker which amount applies before you count on it.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards.
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing has no advertisement yet and does not say what tenants pay. CityFHEPS subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay utilities. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10462
The rent is above HUD's estimate. At $2,733, each one-bedroom costs $33 more than HUD's $2,700 one-bedroom figure for ZIP code 10462.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10462 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,733 | $2,733 | $2,700 |
What it means: all six lottery apartments rent for more than HUD's figure. The rent is 101.2% of it, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, the gap grows.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Parkchester and one-bedroom voucher apartments in Parkchester.
How 2039 Westchester Avenue Is Financed
Property records show an $825,000 land purchase in March 2022 and one recorded mortgage. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 3, 2022 | Deed | 2017BYE LLC to Bhavan Apartments LLC | $825,000 |
| March 4, 2022 | Mortgage | Bhavan Apartments LLC and Melk Holding LLC | $850,000 |
| February 3, 2025 | Assignment | Melk Holding LLC to PHG Lending Corp | not stated |
| February 3, 2025 | Satisfaction | Melk Holding, LLC | not stated |
What it means: no construction loan was found on lot 22 or the four condominium lots.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 3932, lot 22, documents recorded March 17, 2022 and February 26, 2025.
HPD's production data had no record for the lot or the building.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 2039 Westchester Avenue
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names ten amenities. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Listed"Elevator," "Accessible entrance," "Air-conditioning," "Hardwood floors," "Shared laundry room," "Outdoor terrace," "Security cameras" and "Smoke-free."
- Parkingthe 2024 filing lists 10 car and 10 bike spaces. YIMBY reported "ten enclosed parking spaces."
- Not statedwhether any of these costs extra, the pet policy, and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.

| Station | Line | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parkchester | 6 | 0.24 miles | Yes |
| Castle Hill Av | 6 | 0.27 miles | No |
| Zerega Av | 6 | 0.52 miles | No |
| St Lawrence Av | 6 | 0.61 miles | No |
| Westchester Sq-E Tremont Av | 6 | 0.81 miles | Yes |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing names all five stations. "Accessible" is the MTA's own field.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.833982, -73.856329).
- Buses: the listing names stops at Unionport Rd/Starling Av, Aileen Ryan Oval/Metropolitan Av and Unionport Rd/Guerlain St.
- Close by, per the listing: P.S. 106, about 0.21 miles away, and Virginia Park, about 0.31 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 6 train.

How to Be Ready When the 2039 Westchester Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 18 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx's 5 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7689.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the table above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 2039 Westchester Ave, C/O IAfford NY, 365 Flushing Ave, Suite 503, Brooklyn, NY 11205, for this listing.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsHPD's guide says you "may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Voucher holders"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect.
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rent, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knownone rent with income ranges for six apartments, an asset limit and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent named as such.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenity fees, a building website and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 2039 Westchester Avenue. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 293 East 207th Street, due October 20, 2026; 354 East 194th Street, October 23; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
2 bedrooms, $2,997 a monthParkchester, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · EHV
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthParkchester, BronxAccepts FHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthParkchester, BronxAccepts FHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 2039 Westchester Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7689, "2039 Westchester Ave Apartments." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed a rent but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing page for a deadline.
What is the rent at 2039 Westchester Avenue?
The rent is $2,733 a month for each of the six one-bedrooms. All six are at 130% AMI. This is the listing's rent as read on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes, so the full monthly cost may be higher once electricity or gas is added.
How much do you have to earn for 2039 Westchester Avenue?
Without a voucher, from $102,343 a year. The most is $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two and $198,510 for three. Households of four or more cannot apply. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply. The asset limit is $220,480.
Does 2039 Westchester Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,733 rent is $1 under the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734. That maximum assumes all utilities are in the rent, and the listing does not yet say they are.
Is 2039 Westchester Ave the same as 2039 Westchester Avenue Apartments?
Yes. Housing Connect calls lottery 7689 "2039 Westchester Ave Apartments." The City's records use 2039 Westchester Avenue, Bronx block 3932, lot 22. The deed and PLUTO name the owner Bhavan Apartments LLC, and the building permit names PHG Construction Corp. The building is in Parkchester, ZIP code 10462, near the 6 train.
Is 2039 Westchester Avenue finished?
Yes, by City records. The Department of Buildings issued a certificate of occupancy for 19 apartments on June 11, 2026, and a second on September 2, 2026. The listing's photograph shows a finished building with "2039" over the door. No move-in date is posted, and applications are not open as of October 19, 2026.
Are the rents at 2039 Westchester Avenue below market?
No, not by HUD's measure. The $2,733 rent is $33 above HUD's fiscal year 2027 one-bedroom figure of $2,700 for ZIP code 10462. HUD's figure includes utilities. The listing does not say which utilities the rent covers. So the real gap may be wider once a tenant pays any bills.
Sources for this article (18)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7689 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Housing Connect lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- January 10, 2023 report (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.