39 West 23rd Street in Flatiron: 4 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,250 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7669, "39W23 aka 39 West 23rd Street," in the Flatiron District of Manhattan. It has 4 apartments: a studio at $1,250 a month and a one-bedroom at $1,303, both at 80% AMI, and two two-bedrooms at $2,594, at 130% AMI. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and all four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7669, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's Inclusionary Housing and Article XI pages and its guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings (job 121190424) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Manhattan block 825; City Planning's ZAP records and GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; COOKFOX Architects' Flatiron House page; New York YIMBY, June 9, 2022; and The Real Deal, February 23, 2016. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 4apartments on Housing Connect
- $1,250the studio's rent, the lowest
- $2,594the rent for each of 2 two-bedrooms
- 25stories in the building permit
- 48apartments in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Built at 39 West 23rd Street
39 West 23rd Street is a new 25-story building with 48 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. It is sold as condominiums under the name Flatiron House. Four apartments are on Housing Connect as rentals.
- Names: Housing Connect calls it "39W23 aka 39 West 23rd Street." Property records and the architect call it Flatiron House.
- Permit: new-building job 121190424 was filed February 21, 2016. It was approved December 13, 2017 and fully permitted October 31, 2019.
- Size: 25 stories, 278 feet and 48 dwelling units, in that filing.
- Owner: the filing names Anbau. PLUTO names 39 West 23rd Street, LLC.
- Architect: COOKFOX Architects, per its own project page. The Real Deal called COOKFOX "the applicant of record."
- Done: the first certificate of occupancy was issued July 25, 2022. The latest renewal on file is dated September 15, 2026.
YIMBY reported "44 condominium units" in two parts: "the Tower" on West 23rd Street and "the Loft" on 24th Street.

| Record | Stories | Apartments |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit, job 121190424 | 25 | 48 |
| PLUTO | 25 | 45 homes, 48 units in all |
| HPD production data | not given | 35 in the project |
| YIMBY, June 9, 2022 | not given | 44 condominiums |
| The Real Deal, 2016 | 24 and 10 | 48 condominiums |
What it means: the counts differ by record. None of them changes the 4 lottery apartments.
Source: Department of Buildings; PLUTO; HPD Affordable Housing Production by Building, updated September 30, 2026; New York YIMBY; The Real Deal.
- 2011Anbau buys "the parking lot," per The Real Deal, "paying $23.5 million."
- October 20, 2014a City Planning special permit for the site is referred. It is completed November 10, 2016.
- February 21, 2016the 25-story building is filed with the Department of Buildings.
- February 14, 2017an agreement with HPD is recorded. HPD's data starts the affordable project that day.
- October 31, 2019the building is fully permitted.
- July 25, 2022the first certificate of occupancy is issued, for 48 dwelling units.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists 4 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the building is finished. The lottery is for apartments that already exist.
Source: The Real Deal, February 23, 2016; City Planning ZAP record P2013M0127; Department of Buildings job 121190424 and certificates of occupancy; ACRIS; HPD production data.
What "Inclusionary, Article XI" Means
The listing calls the lottery "4 Residential Units Restricted at 80%,130% AMI (Inclusionary, Article XI)." HPD runs both programs.
- Inclusionary Housingit "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development."
- Voluntary Inclusionary Housing"a development may receive a density bonus in return for" affordable housing. Units are "Generally speaking" for households earning "up to 80% of Area Median Income."
- Higher levels"in some Special Districts," HPD says, a bonus may be granted for "moderate and/or middle-income units (125% - 175% AMI)."
- Article XI"a tax exemption for HDFC-owned new construction or rehabilitation of affordable housing." The exemption runs "for up to 40 years."
- HDFC"a corporation formed to build low-income housing."
What it means: the listing does not say which Inclusionary part applies. No record VoucherMatch opened names it, and no HDFC was named in the property records read for the lot.
Source: HPD's Inclusionary Housing and Article XI pages, read October 19, 2026.
Where 39 West 23rd Street Is
The building is on West 23rd Street in the Flatiron District of Manhattan, ZIP code 10010. YIMBY places it "between Fifth and Sixth Avenues."
- Department of Buildings"Midtown South-Flatiron-Union Square," its neighborhood tag for the job.
- City Planning's GeoSearchFlatiron District.
- COOKFOX"At the northern end of the Ladies' Mile Historic District," on "a through-lot between 23rd and 24th Streets."
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 39 West 23rd Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Manhattan block 825, lot 7502 (condominium) |
| Lot size | 8,063 square feet, 41.67 feet wide |
| Zoning today | M1-8A/R11 |
| Community board | Manhattan 5 |
| City Council district | 3 |
| ZIP code | 10010 |
What it means: the 2016 permit shows M1-6 zoning; City Planning's Midtown South plan later changed the area's zoning. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10010.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings; City Planning GeoSearch. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the certificates, PLUTO and GeoSearch.


Rents and Income Ranges for 39 West 23rd Street on Housing Connect
The listing has three rents: $1,250 for the studio, $1,303 for the one-bedroom and $2,594 for each two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $51,086 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 studio, 80% AMI | $1,250 | 1 to 2 | $51,086 to $108,560 |
| 1 one-bedroom, 80% AMI | $1,303 | 1 to 3 | $54,000 to $122,160 |
| 2 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI | $2,594 | 2 to 5 | $101,349 to $238,160 |
What it means: the two income levels are far apart. The two-bedrooms need about twice the income of the smaller apartments.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7669, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Most at 80% AMI | Most at 130% AMI |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 | no apartment |
| 2 people | $108,560 | $176,410 |
| 3 people | $122,160 | $198,510 |
| 4 people | no apartment | $220,480 |
| 5 people | no apartment | $238,160 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size and the apartment's level.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to that size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 2 |
| 2 people | 4 |
| 3 people | 3 |
| 4 people | 2 |
| 5 people | 2 |
What it means: four or five people can apply only for the two-bedrooms. Income must still fit the range.
Source: the listing's household sizes for each apartment; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $51,086below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Four or five people under $101,349nothing fits without a voucher.
- Over the top for your sizethe cut-off is $238,160 for five people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 39 West 23rd Street?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The two-bedrooms are $403 under it. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,250 | $1,250 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,303 | $1,303 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,594 | $2,594 | $2,997 |
What it means: the studio is $1,354 under, the one-bedroom $1,431 under and each two-bedroom $403 under, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing names none, so this report subtracts no utility allowance.
- Family size: DSS-8r pairs $2,734 with one or two people and $2,997 with three or four. Each rent here is under both.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10010
All four rents are far below HUD's estimates for ZIP code 10010. The studio rents for about a third of HUD's studio figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10010 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,250 | $1,250 | $3,530 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,303 | $1,303 | $3,710 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,594 | $2,594 | $4,040 |
What it means: the studio is $2,280 below HUD's figure, the one-bedroom $2,407 and each two-bedroom $1,446, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, each apartment costs more than its rent.
How 39 West 23rd Street Was Financed
Property records show private bank loans and one recorded agreement with HPD. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| July 26, 2013 | Mortgage and consolidation | 39 West 23rd Street, LLC and Goldman Sachs Bank USA | $24,400,000 |
| February 14, 2017 | Agreement | 39 West 23rd Street, LLC, the City and HPD | none stated |
| March 28, 2019 | Agreement | 39 West 23rd Street, LLC and Bank OZK | $24,400,000 |
| July 1, 2022 | Agreement | 39 West 23rd Street, LLC and First Republic Bank | $98,000,000 |
What it means: the HPD agreement's date matches HPD's project start. Its text was not read, so its terms are not described here.
Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 825, lot 20 and the condominium lots.
HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, counts 2 low-income apartments here: a studio and a one-bedroom. The listing adds two two-bedrooms at 130% AMI.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 39 West 23rd Street
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It names 32 amenities, but it does not say which cost extra.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- In the apartment"Dishwasher in unit," "Hardwood floors," "Air-conditioning" and "Energy-efficient appliances."
- Shared"Shared laundry room," "Gymnasium," "Media room," "Outdoor terrace," "Bike storage lockers" and "Elevator."
- Pets and access"Pet-friendly" and "Accessible entrance."
- Not statedfees for any amenity, apartment sizes and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 23 St (Sixth Av) | F, M | 0.10 miles | No |
| 23 St (Broadway) | R, W | 0.12 miles | No |
| 28 St (Broadway) | R, W | 0.23 miles | No |
| 23 St (Seventh Av) | 1 | 0.27 miles | No |
| 23 St-Baruch College | 6 | 0.29 miles | Yes |
| 14 St (Sixth Av) | F, M | 0.41 miles | Yes |
What it means: the walk is longer than the line. The listing's own station list leaves out the two closest stations.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point (40.74257, -73.990928).

How to Be Ready When the 39 West 23rd Street Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not in the open-lottery search either time.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Log numbers go only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7669.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 39 West 23rd Street Lottery, c/o Settlement Housing Fund, Inc., 247 West 37th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10018.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect. The FAQ adds that during a "temporary waiver period," some may be offered outside it.
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for the 80% AMI apartments and $220,480 for the 130% AMI two-bedrooms. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limits are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knownrents, income ranges, asset limits and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, apartment sizes and floors, amenity fees and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 39 West 23rd Street yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Manhattan now: the open-lottery search listed 345 East 17th Street, due November 9, 2026, and 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $2,816 a monthHarlem, ManhattanAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · EHV
3 bedrooms, $3,577 a monthHarlem, Manhattan
3 bedrooms, $3,532 a monthManhattan
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Manhattan and CityFHEPS apartments in Manhattan.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 39 West 23rd Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7669, "39W23 aka 39 West 23rd Street." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 39 West 23rd Street?
The rent is $1,250 a month for the studio and $1,303 for the one-bedroom, both at 80% AMI. Each of the two two-bedrooms is $2,594, at 130% AMI. These are the listing's rents on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities are included, so the full cost may be higher.
How much do you have to earn for 39 West 23rd Street?
Without a voucher, from $51,086 a year for the studio, $54,000 for the one-bedroom and $101,349 for a two-bedroom. The most is $238,160, for five people in a two-bedroom. One person can earn up to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 39 West 23rd Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $1,250 studio, the $1,303 one-bedroom and the $2,594 two-bedrooms are all under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums for their size. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 39W23 the same as Flatiron House?
Yes. Housing Connect calls the lottery "39W23 aka 39 West 23rd Street." Property records, COOKFOX Architects and New York YIMBY call the same building Flatiron House. It runs through the block to West 24th Street, where YIMBY says the shorter part has its own entrance. It sits between Fifth and Sixth Avenues.
Can a family of four apply at 39 West 23rd Street?
Yes, but only for the two two-bedrooms. Without a voucher, a family of four needs $101,349 to $220,480 a year. The studio allows up to two people and the one-bedroom up to three. A family of four earning less than $101,349 needs a voucher or rental subsidy to qualify.
Are the rents at 39 West 23rd Street below market?
Yes, by HUD's measure. The $1,250 studio is $2,280 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10010. The one-bedroom is $2,407 below, and each $2,594 two-bedroom is $1,446 below. HUD's figures include utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities the rents include.
Sources for this article (20)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7669 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
- Article XI (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- ZAP records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- COOKFOX Architects' Flatiron House page (cookfox.com)
- June 9, 2022 (web.archive.org)
- February 23, 2016 (therealdeal.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.