9318 Avenue D in Canarsie: 3 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,225 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7699, "9318 Avenue D Apartments," in Canarsie, Brooklyn. It has three apartments at 80% AMI: one one-bedroom at $2,225 a month and two two-bedrooms at $2,579. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7699, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B00517454) and older jobs; the City's certificate of occupancy data and HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, neither of which had a record for the lot; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 8126, lot 44; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. No news report on the building was found. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 3apartments on Housing Connect
- 15apartments in the building, per the permit and the listing
- $2,225the rent for the one one-bedroom
- $2,579the rent for each of two two-bedrooms
- 4stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 9318 Avenue D
9318 Avenue D is a planned four-story building with 15 apartments on a lot that was vacant. City records show it is still being built. No certificate of occupancy was on file on October 19, 2026.
- Permit: job B00517454 was filed September 10, 2021. It reads "PROPOSED NEW 4 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
- Size: 4 stories, 56 feet, 15 dwelling units and 11,360.3 square feet of floor area.
- Owner: the deed and PLUTO name PIFR AVE D LLC. The filings name other companies, shown below.
- Plans: filed by AG Engineering PLLC under a professional engineer's license. No record opened names an architect or a developer.
- The listing's words: "485X - 80% AMI - 15 total units, 3 units to be marketed."

| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Size | New building job: 4 stories, 15 units | Plumbing, heating and sprinkler filings: "NEW 3-STORY, 7-FAMILY BUILDING" |
| Owner name | 2021 and 2022 filings: "ATARI REALTY" | 2026 filings: "PIFR Real Estate Holdings LLC"; two others: "Owr Developers LLC" |
| Address | Listing and permits: 9318 Avenue D | PLUTO and ACRIS: "AVENUE D," no number |
What it means: the listing, the new building permit and the scaffold filings all give 15 apartments. A sidewalk shed filing of May 2026 gives 7. Ask the hotline if the count matters to you.
Source: Department of Buildings job B00517454 and its related filings; PLUTO; ACRIS. Names are printed as each record shows them.
- July 6, 2005demolition jobs for a one-story and a two-story structure at 9310 Avenue D, on this lot, are signed off.
- September 10, 2021the four-story, 15-apartment building is filed.
- September 15, 2022the plans are approved.
- June 24, 2025Laedi Associates Ltd. sells the lot to PIFR AVE D LLC for $905,184.
- August 6, 2025the first permit for the new building is issued.
- April 23, 2026two mortgages from Broadview Capital LLC are signed.
- May 2026permits are issued for a scaffold, a sidewalk shed and a temporary enclosure.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists three apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the latest filing on the job, for plumbing, was filed June 18, 2026 and approved June 22. No completion date has been published.
Source: Department of Buildings filings; ACRIS.
What 485-x Means for These Three Apartments
The listing names one program, 485-x. HPD's page calls it "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option this building uses. HPD's page says Option A and B projects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after an approved workbook.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 19, 2026.
Where 9318 Avenue D Is
The building is in Canarsie, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11236. It is on the south side of Avenue D, per a curb-cut filing, and a second curb cut is filed on the west side of East 94th Street.
- Department of Buildings"Canarsie," its neighborhood tag on every filing for the lot.
- City Planning's GeoSearchno match for 9318 Avenue D. The nearest addresses to the listing's map point, such as 9402 Avenue D, are tagged Canarsie.
- The listing"Brooklyn," with no neighborhood name.
| Record | 9318 Avenue D |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 8126, lot 44 |
| Lot size | 6,887 square feet |
| Zoning | R4 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 18 |
| City Council district | 42 |
| ZIP code | 11236 |
What it means: PLUTO still lists the lot as vacant land. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11236 and Section 8 apartments in Canarsie.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permits and PLUTO.
Rents and Income Ranges for 9318 Avenue D on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,225 a month for the one-bedroom and $2,579 for each two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $84,926 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 one-bedroom, 80% AMI | $2,225 | 1 to 3 | $84,926 to $122,160 |
| 2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,579 | 2 to 5 | $102,000 to $146,560 |
What it means: all three apartments are at one income level, 80% AMI.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7699, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | One-bedroom | Two-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 | Not offered |
| 2 people | $108,560 | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 | $122,160 |
| 4 people | Not offered | $135,680 |
| 5 people | Not offered | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size. Not offered means that apartment does not allow that household size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 1 |
| 2 people | 3 |
| 3 people | 3 |
| 4 people | 2 |
| 5 people | 2 |
What it means: no apartment allows six or more people.
Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $84,926below every minimum.
- One persononly $84,926 to $95,040 fits, in the one-bedroom.
- Two or three people earning $84,926 to $101,999only the one-bedroom fits.
- Four or five peopleonly the two-bedrooms fit, from $102,000 up to $135,680 for four or $146,560 for five.
- Six or more peopleno apartment allows that size.
- Above $146,560over every limit in the listing.
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartment types. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's income level.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 9318 Avenue D?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. The one-bedroom rent is $509 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, and the two-bedroom rent is $418 under. The listing does not say who pays for utilities, so this report subtracts no utility allowance.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,579 | $2,579 | $2,997 |
What it means: the one-bedroom is $509 under and the two-bedrooms $418 under, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe CityFHEPS maximums assume all utilities are in the rent. The listing has no utilities text. If tenants pay some utilities, HRA may count an allowance, and the room under the maximum shrinks. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, what the rent includes.
- Family sizeDSS-8r lists one or two people with one bedroom at $2,734, and three or four people with two bedrooms at $2,997.
- Sizes the listing allowsthree people in the one-bedroom, and two or five people in a two-bedroom. Ask HRA which figure applies to your household.
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- GuidesCityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11236
Both rents are under HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11236. The one-bedroom is $415 under and the two-bedrooms $291 under. HUD's figures include most utilities, and the listing does not say what its rents include.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11236 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,640 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,579 | $2,579 | $2,870 |
What it means: the gaps are $415 and $291, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. If tenants pay utilities, the true gap is smaller.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
How 9318 Avenue D Is Financed
Property records show a $905,184 purchase in 2025 and two private mortgages in 2026. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date signed | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| June 24, 2025 | Deed | Laedi Associates Ltd. to PIFR AVE D LLC | $905,184 |
| April 23, 2026 | Mortgage | PIFR AVE D LLC and Broadview Capital LLC | $3,217,000 |
| April 23, 2026 | Mortgage | PIFR AVE D LLC and Broadview Capital LLC | $228,000 |
| May 11, 2026 | Assignments | Broadview Capital LLC to Toorak Capital Partners | none listed |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to $3,445,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. The ACRIS index does not show the loan terms.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 8126, lot 44. Party names are printed as ACRIS shows them.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 9318 Avenue D
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It lists ten amenities and no utilities text.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 19, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- New York City residents"preference is given to current New York City residents."
- Listed amenities"Air-conditioning," "Patio or balcony," "Hardwood floors," "Energy-efficient appliances" and "High-end countertops and finishes."
- Building items"Accessible entrance," "Smoke-free," "Rooftop terrace," "Security cameras" and "Shared laundry room."
- Not statedwho pays which utilities, pets, apartment sizes, fees, an elevator and a building website.

| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canarsie-Rockaway Pkwy | L | 0.44 miles | Yes |
| East 105 St | L | 0.57 miles | No |
| New Lots Av | L | 0.91 miles | No |
| Saratoga Av | 3 | 0.96 miles | No |
| Rockaway Av | 3 | 0.98 miles | No |
What it means: the listing shows the 3 and 4 at Rockaway Ave and Saratoga Ave. The MTA's data lists daytime 3 service there.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6483679, -73.9100069).
- Close by, per the listing: P.S. 66, about 0.15 miles away; Railroad Playground, 0.23 miles; and the 69th Precinct, 0.26 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the L train.

How to Be Ready When the 9318 Avenue D Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 19 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search either time.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives log numbers only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7699.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above.
- 4Apply oncethe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 9318 Avenue D Apartments, C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- If your number is reached"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers," if you have one.
- Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openings"During a temporary waiver period," apartments that open after first leasing "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait weeks for a log number, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ, read October 19, 2026.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the preferences and the utilities are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for three apartments, one asset limit, ten amenities and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, and who pays which utilities.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes and floors, fees, a move-in date, the marketing agent's name and which 485-x option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 9318 Avenue D yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; and 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard Apartments and 899 Fulton Street, both November 10.

3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
Studio, $2,400 a monthBrooklynAccepts HASA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 9318 Avenue D on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7699, "9318 Avenue D Apartments." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline, and it was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing.
What is the rent at 9318 Avenue D?
The rent is $2,225 a month for the one-bedroom and $2,579 for each of the two two-bedrooms. All three are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 19, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes, so ask the hotline before counting on a total cost.
How much do you have to earn for 9318 Avenue D?
Without a voucher, at least $84,926 a year for the one-bedroom and $102,000 for a two-bedroom. The most is $122,160 for three people in the one-bedroom and $146,560 for five people in a two-bedroom. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 9318 Avenue D take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and the minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The one-bedroom is $509 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, and the two-bedrooms are $418 under. The listing does not say who pays utilities. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 9318 Avenue D in Canarsie or East Flatbush?
Canarsie. The Department of Buildings tags every filing for the lot as Canarsie. City Planning's GeoSearch has no entry for 9318 Avenue D, but the nearest addresses, such as 9402 Avenue D, are tagged Canarsie. The listing says only Brooklyn. The ZIP code is 11236 in the listing, the permits and PLUTO.
Is 9318 Avenue D finished?
Not as of October 19, 2026. City data held no certificate of occupancy for the lot. Permits for a scaffold, a sidewalk shed and a temporary enclosure were issued in May 2026. The building permit is for four stories and 15 apartments. The listing's three pictures are renderings, not photographs.
Are the rents at 9318 Avenue D below market?
They are below HUD's figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rents for ZIP code 11236 are $2,640 for a one-bedroom and $2,870 for a two-bedroom. The lottery rents are $415 and $291 lower. HUD's figures include most utilities, and the listing does not say who pays them.
Sources for this article (15)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7699 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificate of occupancy data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.