492 Thomas S Boyland Street in Brownsville: 18 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,770 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7654, "492 Thomas S Boyland Street Apartments," in Brownsville, Brooklyn. It has 18 apartments, all at 80% AMI: one studio at $1,770 a month, eleven one-bedrooms at $2,198 and six two-bedrooms at $2,542. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7654, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B00716440), BIS jobs and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3518; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 18apartments on Housing Connect
- 87apartments in the building, per its certificate of occupancy
- $1,770the rent for the one studio
- $2,542the highest rent, for each of six two-bedrooms
- 6stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax break for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street
492 Thomas S Boyland Street is a new six-story building with 87 apartments. The City issued its certificate of occupancy on July 29, 2026.
- Permit: job B00716440 was filed June 21, 2022. It reads "PROPOSED 6 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING TOTAL OF 87 DWELLING UNITS."
- Size: 6 stories, 64 feet and 87 dwelling units, with 69,678 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: the permit names BBM Construction Corp. PLUTO and the 2022 deed name Thomboy Facilities LLC.
- Plans: filed by Jay Architect & Engineering DPC under a professional engineer's license. No record opened names an architect or a developer by role.
- Certificate: issued July 29, 2026, for 87 dwelling units. The City's data lists it as an "Initial" certificate, not a "Final" one.

| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Address | Listing, permit and certificate: 492 Thomas S Boyland Street | PLUTO: 482 Thomas S Boyland; an older filing: 486 |
| Owner | Permit: BBM Construction Corp. | PLUTO and ACRIS: Thomboy Facilities LLC |
| Street front | PLUTO: about 163 feet | A 2022 pavement filing: "TOTAL STREET FRONTAGE 200'" |
What it means: all of these records point to one lot, Brooklyn block 3518, lot 46. GeoSearch finds 482, 486 and 492 Thomas S Boyland Street on that lot.
Source: Department of Buildings job B00716440, BIS job 340857585 and certificate CO-000097916; PLUTO; ACRIS; GeoSearch.
- March 11, 2022a deed moves the lot from Urban-Scape LLC to Thomboy Facilities LLC. It is recorded September 30, 2022.
- June 21, 2022the six-story, 87-apartment building is filed.
- October 28, 2022the plan is approved.
- February 2025a zoning lot description and a certificate are recorded for the lot.
- August 26, 2025the job's first permit date in the City's data. Two mortgages with Popular Bank are signed the same day.
- July 29, 2026the certificate of occupancy is issued for 87 apartments.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 18 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: PLUTO's 26v2 data still lists the lot's land use as vacant. A change to the plans was approved October 14, 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings job B00716440; certificate of occupancy data; ACRIS.
What 485-x and "ANNY" Mean for These 18 Apartments
The listing's short description reads "(18) 485X ANNY units at 80% AMI." ANNY is HPD's own short name for the 485-x program.
- The nameHPD's page says the law "adopted the Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers Tax Incentive program (“ANNY Program Benefits”)."
- What it is"a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings and Eligible Conversions, except for hotels."
- How long"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same buildingthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Before a listingprojects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option this building chose. The listing does not name the Universal Affordability Preference or any other program.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 18, 2026.
Where 492 Thomas S Boyland Street Is
The building is in Brownsville, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11212. It is on the block numbered 3518 by the City, lot 46.
- Department of Buildings"Brownsville," its neighborhood tag on the permit and the certificate.
- City Planning's GeoSearchBrownsville, for 482, 486 and 492 Thomas S Boyland Street.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data11212 covers Brownsville and Ocean Hill. No record opened places this lot in Ocean Hill.
- The listingno neighborhood name. It has no description text at all.
| Record | 492 Thomas S Boyland Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 3518, lot 46 |
| Lot size | 19,673 square feet |
| Zoning | R6 and C4-3 (a split lot) |
| Community board | Brooklyn 16 |
| City Council district | 41 |
| ZIP code | 11212 |
What it means: the lot is 100 feet deep, per PLUTO. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11212 and Section 8 apartments in Brownsville.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, the certificate, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
Rents and Income Ranges for 492 Thomas S Boyland Street on Housing Connect
The listing has three rents, from $1,770 to $2,542 a month. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $67,955 a year, for the studio.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 studio | $1,770 | 1 to 2 | $67,955 to $108,560 |
| 11 one-bedrooms | $2,198 | 1 to 3 | $84,960 to $122,160 |
| 6 two-bedrooms | $2,542 | 2 to 5 | $102,035 to $146,560 |
What it means: most of the lottery is one-bedrooms. There is one studio.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7654, read October 18, 2026. All 18 apartments are at 80% AMI. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
View the data table
| Apartment type | Apartments |
|---|---|
| Studio | 1 |
| One-bedroom | 11 |
| Two-bedroom | 6 |
What it means: 11 of the 18 apartments are one-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's 18 unit records. HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no row for this lot.
| Household size | Maximum income | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 | 12 |
| 2 people | $108,560 | 18 |
| 3 people | $122,160 | 17 |
| 4 people | $135,680 | 6 |
| 5 people | $146,560 | 6 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size. No apartment allows six or more people.
Source: the same listing; apartment counts by VoucherMatch from the household-size ranges.
- Under $67,955below every minimum.
- One person$67,955 to $95,040 fits the studio. Only $84,960 and up fits a one-bedroom.
- Three people under $84,960the studio allows two people at most, so nothing fits.
- Four or five peopleonly the two-bedrooms fit, from $102,035 up to $135,680 for four or $146,560 for five.
- Six or more peopleno apartment allows that many.
- Above $146,560over every limit in the listing.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for every apartment, in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. All three rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $455 to $834.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,770 | $1,770 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,198 | $2,198 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,542 | $2,542 | $2,997 |
What it means: the studio is $834 under, the one-bedrooms $536 and the two-bedrooms $455, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe listing does not say which utilities are in the rent. It has no description text, so it gives no utility rule. No utility allowance is subtracted here. Ask HRA and the marketing agent before you sign a lease.
- Family sizeDSS-8r lists one person with a studio at $2,604, one or two people with one bedroom at $2,734, and three or four people with two bedrooms at $2,997.
- Size limits differthe listing allows two people in the studio and five in a two-bedroom. DSS-8r lists five or six people with three bedrooms at $3,753. Ask HRA which figure applies.
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- GuidesCityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11212
All three rents are under HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11212, but the two-bedroom gap is small. HUD's figure includes utilities, and the listing does not say which ones are in the rent.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11212 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,770 | $1,770 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,198 | $2,198 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,542 | $2,542 | $2,620 |
What it means: the studio is $510 below HUD's figure, the one-bedrooms $192 below and the two-bedrooms $78 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: if tenants pay any utility bill here, the real monthly cost of a two-bedroom may pass HUD's figure.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Brownsville and one-bedroom voucher apartments in Brownsville.

How 492 Thomas S Boyland Street Is Financed
Property records show two mortgages from Popular Bank, signed August 26, 2025, for $22,860,000 in all. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Document | Date signed | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deed | March 11, 2022 | Urban-Scape LLC to Thomboy Facilities LLC | none listed |
| Mortgage | August 26, 2025 | Thomboy Facilities LLC and Popular Bank | $19,349,113 |
| Mortgage | August 26, 2025 | Thomboy Facilities LLC and Popular Bank | $3,510,887 |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to $22,860,000, by VoucherMatch's addition. No regulatory agreement or HPD document was found in the index.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 3518, lots 44 and 46.
No announcement of the building or its financing by HPD, the developer or a news outlet was found on October 18, 2026.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet. It lists 18 amenities, but no text on utilities, fees or a website.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Pets"Pet-friendly," "Large dogs allowed" and "Multiple pets allowed."
- Building"Elevator," "Shared laundry room," "Bike storage lockers," "Security cameras" and "Intercommunication device."
- Apartments"Air-conditioning," "Energy-efficient appliances," "High-speed internet" and "Cable or satellite TV." The kitchen photos show electric ranges.
- Other"Electric car charging stations" and online options for leasing and rent.
- Not statedwhich utilities are in the rent, whether any amenity costs extra, apartment sizes, and a building website. The listing marks no deposit or fee.
| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rockaway Av | 3 | 0.48 miles | No |
| Saratoga Av | 3 | 0.51 miles | No |
| Sutter Av-Rutland Rd | 3 | 0.54 miles | No |
| Sutter Av | L | 0.61 miles | No |
| Livonia Av | L | 0.75 miles | Yes |
| Broadway Junction | A, C | 0.80 miles | No |
What it means: no station is closer than about half a mile. The listing shows the 3 and 4 at the three Eastern Parkway line stations; the MTA's data lists daytime 3 service there.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6685761, -73.9136321).
- Close by, per the listing: P.S. 327 Dr. Rose B. English, about 0.08 miles away, Dr. Green Playground, 0.37 miles, and Betsy Head Park, 0.42 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 3 train and the L train.

How to Be Ready When the 492 Thomas S Boyland Street Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 18, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. Brooklyn's 7 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7654.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again when the deadline is posted.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 109 East 9th Street, New York, NY 10003, for this listing.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's 2020 guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect. The current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period" they "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes, asset limit and amenities are posted. The deadline, the preferences and the utility rules are not.
- Knownthree rents with income ranges for 18 apartments, one asset limit, 18 amenities, 12 interior photos and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, a marketing agent's name and any description text.
- Not statedwhich utilities are in the rent, apartment sizes and floors, amenity fees, a move-in date, and which 485-x option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; and 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts FHEPS · CityFHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,373 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 492 Thomas S Boyland Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7654, "492 Thomas S Boyland Street Apartments." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street?
The rent is $1,770 a month for the one studio, $2,198 for each of eleven one-bedrooms and $2,542 for each of six two-bedrooms. These are the listing's rents as read on October 18, 2026. All are at 80% AMI. The listing does not say which utilities are in the rent, so ask before you sign.
How much do you have to earn for 492 Thomas S Boyland Street?
Without a voucher, from $67,955 a year for the studio, $84,960 for a one-bedroom and $102,035 for a two-bedroom. The most is $146,560, for five people in a two-bedroom. One person can earn up to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 492 Thomas S Boyland Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. All three rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $455 to $834. The listing does not say who pays utilities. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 492 Thomas S Boyland Street the same as 482 or 486 Thomas S Boyland Street?
Yes, they are one lot. Housing Connect, the building permit and the certificate of occupancy use 492 Thomas S Boyland Street. PLUTO lists the lot, Brooklyn block 3518, lot 46, as 482 Thomas S Boyland. A 2022 pavement filing uses 486. City Planning's GeoSearch finds all three addresses on the same lot, in Brownsville.
What does "485X ANNY" mean in the 492 Thomas S Boyland Street listing?
It names the program behind the 18 apartments. ANNY is HPD's short name for the Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers Tax Incentive, also called 485-x. It is a property tax break for new buildings. HPD's page says its affordable apartments "will be permanently affordable." No record opened names which 485-x option the building uses.
Are the rents at 492 Thomas S Boyland Street below market?
Yes, by HUD's measure, but only slightly for two-bedrooms. The studio is $510 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212, the one-bedrooms $192 below and the two-bedrooms $78 below. HUD's figures include utilities. The listing does not say which utilities tenants pay here.
Sources for this article (16)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7654 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.