Skip to page content

585 Jackson Avenue, Melrose: 16 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,063 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer585 Jackson Avenue is a new nine-story building with 80 apartments in Melrose, the Bronx. NYC Housing Connect advertised 16 of them at 80% AMI: nine studios at $2,063 and seven one-bedrooms at $2,199 a month. Applications were due January 28, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.

Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391, its rent table and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read at the start and end of the work; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page, re-rental page, guide Applying for Affordable Housing and Marketing Handbook; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01072612 and X01082911), older filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 77903); the City's lottery data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2623, lot 165; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; the marketing agent's building page; and reports by New York YIMBY and the Bronx Times. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

585 Jackson Avenue in numbers
  • 16apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all at 80% AMI
  • 80apartments in the building, in city records
  • $2,063the studio rent
  • $2,199the one-bedroom rent
  • January 28, 2026the application deadline
  • June 30, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391, read October 22, 2026; Department of Buildings job X01072612 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of a white nine-story apartment building with tan brick panels between its windows, set between a row of three-story brick houses with pointed gables at right and lower brick buildings at left, with trees, parked cars and a blue sky
A rendering of 585 Jackson Avenue from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. It is a design image, not a photograph. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (487 x 294, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

What Was Built at 585 Jackson Avenue

585 Jackson Avenue is a new nine-story building with 80 apartments. It replaced a two-story building on the same lot.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "585 Jackson Avenue Apartments". HPD's data names the project "585 JACKSON AVENUE". Listings shorten the street to "585 Jackson Ave".
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job X01072612 reads "PROPOSING NEW 9 STORY MIXED-USE BUILDING". It lists 84 feet, 80 dwelling units and 46,793.7 square feet.
  • Certificates of occupancy: the first, dated June 30, 2026, covers 80 dwelling units. A renewal followed on August 26, 2026.
  • Owner: PLUTO, the City's lot database, and the 2024 deed name Jackson Ventures NY LLC.
  • Architect: the permit's applicant is a registered architect. The filing names the firm "NIKOLAI KATZ ARCHITECT".
  • Before construction: job X01082911 was a "Full demolition to a two story building". It was signed off January 31, 2025.
Rendering of the base of a white apartment building with a brick ground floor, a metal roll-down gate at left, glass entrance doors with wall lights, a green planted wall panel, a strip of flower beds along the sidewalk and parked cars on the street
A rendering of the street front of 585 Jackson Avenue, from the Housing Connect listing. It is a design image, not a photograph. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (485 x 293, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).
585 Jackson Avenue, from an earlier plan to the first certificate
  • April 10, 2020585 Jackson Ave LLC files to enlarge the old two-story building to seven stories with 23 apartments.
  • February 6, 2024585 Jackson Ave LLC sells the lot to Jackson Ventures NY LLC for $2,700,000.
  • July 1, 2024the new building job is filed.
  • August 20, 2024the demolition job is filed.
  • March 4, 2025the new building permit is issued.
  • March 12, 2025Jackson Ventures NY LLC signs mortgages with Broadview Capital LLC.
  • November 18, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • January 7, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 28, 2026applications are due.
  • June 30, 2026the first certificate of occupancy.

What it means: the lottery ran in January 2026, before the first certificate of occupancy.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs 220730261, X01072612 and X01082911 and certificate of occupancy records; HPD project 77903; the City's lottery data.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Height84 feet in the permit and in YIMBY (July 29, 2025). The Bronx Times (August 7, 2025) wrote "85-foot-tall".
  • Floor area46,793.7 square feet in the permit. Both reports wrote 63,659 square feet.
  • Apartments80 in the permit, the certificates and HPD's data. PLUTO counts 79 residential units and 80 units in all.
  • Rental or condosboth reports wrote the homes would "most likely" be condos. The listing is a rental lottery.
  • Parkingboth reports named "16 open parking spaces" and four enclosed ones. The listing names no parking.

What it means: the 2025 reports describe the plans as filed then; the permit, certificates and listing describe the building today.

Source: the filings and reports named.

The 485-x Tax Program the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 485x Tax incentive program". HPD's page says 485-x provides "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings and Eligible Conversions, except for hotels."

The 485-x rental options on HPD's page
OptionBuilding sizeWhat HPD's page requires
A100 or more apartments"25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)"
B6 to 99 apartments"20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI"
C6 to 10 apartments"At least half of the units must be rent stabilized."

What it means: HPD says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable". The listing does not name an option, and no record opened says which one applies.

Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 22, 2026.

Where 585 Jackson Avenue Is

The building is on Jackson Avenue in Melrose, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10455. It is in Bronx Community District 1 and City Council District 8.

The location in the records
  • Melrosethe permit's neighborhood field, the certificates of occupancy, YIMBY and the Bronx Times.
  • LongwoodCity Planning's address search labels the address Longwood.
  • The lotBronx block 2623, lot 165. The 2024 deed and the 2025 mortgages also cover a vacant lot on Pontiac Place, lot 156.
  • Cross streetsYIMBY places it "between East 149th Street and East 152nd Street".
  • On VoucherMatchthe site files ZIP code 10455 under the South Bronx. It has no Melrose page.

What it means: apartments near the building are on the page for Section 8 apartments in the South Bronx.

Source: the records named; ACRIS.

Subway stations nearest 585 Jackson Avenue
StationLinesDistanceAccessible
Jackson Av2, 5about 0.17 milesNo
E 149 St6about 0.30 milesYes
E 143 St-St Mary's St6about 0.39 milesNo
3 Av-149 St2, 5about 0.48 milesYes
Prospect Av2, 5about 0.53 milesNo

What it means: the nearest accessible station is E 149 St on the 6 line.

Source: the MTA's station data, "Accessible" from its ADA field; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses, per the listing: stops at Bergen Ave and E 149 St (about 0.40 miles) and at Prospect Av and E 156 St (about 0.42 miles). The Bronx Times names the Bx4, Bx17 and Bx19 lines.
  • Parks, per the listing: I-Am-Park, about 0.21 miles, and St. Mary's Park, about 0.23 miles.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 2 train, the 5 train and the 6 train.

16 Apartments in the Lottery at 80% AMI

All 16 lottery apartments are at one income level, 80% AMI. Nine are studios and seven are one-bedrooms.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 585 Jackson Avenue, by size
View the data table
Apartment sizeApartments
Studio9
One-bedroom7

What it means: 16 of the building's 80 apartments were in the lottery. HPD's data and the City's lottery data give the same 16.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391, counted by VoucherMatch from its 16 unit rows, read October 22, 2026.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 585 Jackson Avenue

The 16 apartments rent for $2,063 and $2,199 a month. The lowest minimum income is $70,732 a year, and the highest maximum is $122,160.

ApartmentRentApartmentsPeople
Studio, 80% AMI$2,06391 or 2
One-bedroom, 80% AMI$2,19971 to 3

What it means: a household of three fits only the one-bedrooms, and no apartment is listed for four or more people.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391, read October 22, 2026.

Household sizeStudioOne-bedroom
1 person$70,732 to $95,040$75,395 to $95,040
2 people$70,732 to $108,560$75,395 to $108,560
3 peoplenot listed$75,395 to $122,160

What it means: income has to be inside the range for the household's size and the apartment.

Source: the same listing, yearly income before taxes.

Which apartments a household's income reaches
  • Under $70,732below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One or two people$70,732 to $75,394 reaches the studios only. From $75,395 up to the maximum, studios and one-bedrooms.
  • Three people$75,395 to $122,160 reaches the one-bedrooms only.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in this lottery.
  • Assetsthe rent table lists a limit of $135,680 for both apartment types.

What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's AMI level.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes; asset limit from the listing's rent table.

Watch outthe marketing agent's building page gives a "Required Income" of "$70,732-$116,640". The listing's highest maximum is $122,160, for three people. No page opened explains the difference. The listing sets the rules; ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Rendering of an empty room with light wood-look floors, cream walls, a curtained window at left, two white doors at the back and a kitchen corner at right with white cabinets and a white range
A rendering of an empty apartment at 585 Jackson Avenue, from the Housing Connect listing. It is a design image, not a photograph, and the listing does not say which apartment it shows. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (486 x 293, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. They stay under it after the utility allowances for electric cooking and electric heat are taken off.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at 585 Jackson Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, in dollars
Lottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less utility allowances
View the data table
ApartmentLottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less utility allowances
Studio$2,063$2,604$2,441
One-bedroom$2,199$2,734$2,546

What it means: the one-bedroom has the least room, $347 under the reduced amount.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives them "if all utilities are included in the lease"; the last column is VoucherMatch's arithmetic, taking off the DSS-8r "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" allowances.

Key pointthe listing says "Tenant is responsible for electricity, including stove and heat. Hot water is included with the rent." So this report took off two DSS-8r allowances: "Electric with Cooking Range" ($111 and $126) and "Electric Heat Only" ($52 and $62) for a studio and a one-bedroom.
How far under each limit, by apartment
  • Studio, $2,063$541 under the maximum, and $378 under it after allowances.
  • One-bedroom, $2,199$535 under, and $347 after allowances.
  • Project-based helpthe rent table marks neither apartment type as project-based (isPBV false).

What it means: DSS decides the amount for a household. Ask your caseworker before you sign anything.

Source: DSS-8r; Housing Connect listing and rent table; differences by VoucherMatch.

Rendering of a kitchen with white upper cabinets, light wood lower cabinets, a white refrigerator, a white range with a black oven door and a sink, beside a long hallway with white doors
A rendering of a kitchen at 585 Jackson Avenue, from the Housing Connect listing. The range top cannot be made out at this size; the listing says tenants pay for electricity, including the stove. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (486 x 294, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10455

Both lottery rents are below HUD's estimate for their size in ZIP code 10455. The studio is $217 under and the one-bedroom $191 under.

Monthly lottery rent at 585 Jackson Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rents for ZIP code 10455, in dollars
Lottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10455
View the data table
ApartmentLottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10455
Studio$2,063$2,280
One-bedroom$2,199$2,390

What it means: the lottery rents leave out electricity, so a tenant's full cost is closer to HUD's figure than the rent alone.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How 585 Jackson Avenue Was Financed

Property records show private loans from Broadview Capital LLC. No recorded document opened names HPD, the Housing Development Corporation or the City as lender.

Recorded documents on Bronx block 2623, lot 165, since 2024
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
February 6, 2024Deed585 Jackson Ave LLC to Jackson Ventures NY LLC$2,700,000
June 11, 2024MortgageJackson Ventures NY LLC to Broadview Capital LLC$1,475,000
March 12, 2025Two mortgagesJackson Ventures NY LLC to Broadview Capital LLC$875,000 and $12,650,000
March 12, 2025AgreementJackson Ventures NY LLC and Broadview Capital LLC$2,350,000

What it means: the March 2025 mortgages also cover the vacant Pontiac Place lot. The index does not say how the amounts overlap.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2623, lot 165.

Rendering of a laundry room with ten stacked white washers and dryers against a green tiled wall, a counter with a sink and one more washer at left, and shelves with framed pictures
A rendering of a shared laundry room at 585 Jackson Avenue, from the Housing Connect listing, which lists a shared laundry room. It is a design image, not a photograph. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (487 x 288, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 585 Jackson Avenue

The listing shows no preference groups. Tenants pay for electricity, including the stove and heat, and hot water is included.

Preferences: what the listing and the FAQ say
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows.
  • Community preference, in the FAQit applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Disability preference, in the FAQ"five percent (5%) of units" for a mobility disability and "Another two percent (2%)" for a hearing or vision disability.

What it means: no page opened says how the disability preferences applied here. Ask HPD's hotline.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connectair-conditioning, an intercom, high-speed internet, an elevator, an on-site resident manager, package lockers, bike storage lockers and a shared laundry room. The building is listed as smoke-free, with an accessible entrance.
  • Tenant pays"Tenant is responsible for electricity, including stove and heat."
  • Included"Hot water is included with the rent."
  • Pets"One pet allowed per unit with a 20 pound weight limit. No pet deposit required."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes in square feet, bathrooms and any fee for bike storage.

What it means: the listing's building website link leads to the marketing agent's page for the building.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Watch outthe marketing agent's page lists "Large Dogs Allowed" and "Multiple Pets Allowed". The listing allows one pet up to 20 pounds. Ask before you bring a pet.
Rendering of a bathroom with a white toilet, a small white vanity with black trim, a wide mirror and shelf, a tub with a glass panel and a wall of pink tiles at right, with a trailing plant in front
A rendering of a bathroom at 585 Jackson Avenue, from the Housing Connect listing. It is a design image, not a photograph, and the listing does not give the number of bathrooms. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments (lottery 7391) (shown at its own size (279 x 292, not enlarged, not cropped), centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

What "Modified" Means on Housing Connect

No Housing Connect or HPD page opened defines the label. The listing's short description reads "Modified".

The term in the official sources
  • In the FAQno answer uses the term.
  • In HPD's handbook"modified marketing" is a different term. It "may have a shorter advertising period, no less than 21 days". Standard marketing is for "20 or more available units, except as otherwise approved by HPD or HDC".
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: no published page says what "Modified" changed for applicants here.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; HPD-HDC Marketing Handbook, revised April 2026, section 4-2.

What Happens After the 585 Jackson Avenue Housing Connect Lottery

Applications for the 16 apartments were due January 28, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 16 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says you "may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
  5. 5No replythe guide warns "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

What it means: the guide also warns "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents". The lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to five from HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 22, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7391 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search, at the start or end of the work. No newer listing for the building was in it. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rental page lists Reside New York among the companies to contact.
  • Marketing agentthe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 585 Jackson Avenue Apartments, C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside's building page labels the building "Upcoming Project" and names no opening.
  • Postmarkthe listing gives no return address or postmark rule. HPD's handbook says paper applications "postmarked or date-stamped prior to and including the application deadline date must be opened and entered".

What it means: as of October 22, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (4 Bronx rentals); the City's lottery data; HPD's re-rental page; the listing; HPD-HDC Marketing Handbook, section 4-3; Reside New York.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 585 Jackson Avenue

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 22, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedthe marketing agent's lower income figure and wider pet rule, and what "Modified" changed.
  • Not confirmedwhich 485-x option applies.
  • Imagesthe listing's pictures are renderings, not photographs. No photograph of the finished building was found.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; Reside New York; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026; 3180 Villa Avenue, due October 30, 2026; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 585 Jackson Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 585 Jackson Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 585 Jackson Avenue was lottery 7391 on NYC Housing Connect, named "585 Jackson Avenue Apartments". It offered 16 apartments at 80% AMI, at $2,063 and $2,199 a month. Applications were due January 28, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at 585 Jackson Avenue?

The lottery rents are $2,063 a month for a studio and $2,199 a month for a one-bedroom. Tenants also pay for electricity, including the stove and heat. Hot water is included. The listing allows one pet up to 20 pounds, with no pet deposit, and names no parking.

How much do you have to earn for 585 Jackson Avenue?

From $70,732 a year for a studio and $75,395 for a one-bedroom. The top limit is $95,040 for one person, $108,560 for two and $122,160 for three. No apartment is listed for four or more people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does 585 Jackson Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, and both rents here are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. After allowances for electric cooking and heat, the studio is $378 under and the one-bedroom $347 under. DSS and the housing authority decide the final amount, so ask them before you apply anywhere.

Is 585 Jackson Avenue in Melrose or Longwood?

Records differ. The Department of Buildings, the certificates of occupancy, YIMBY and the Bronx Times say Melrose. City Planning's address search says Longwood. All agree on ZIP code 10455. VoucherMatch's own apartment pages file that ZIP code under the South Bronx, so check all three names when searching.

Are the rents at 585 Jackson Avenue below market?

Yes, below HUD's figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 10455 are $2,280 for a studio and $2,390 for a one-bedroom. The lottery rents are $217 and $191 under. HUD's figures include most utilities. These rents do not include electricity, so the full cost comes closer to HUD's figure.

Can I still apply to 585 Jackson Avenue?

Not through this lottery. Applications were due January 28, 2026, and on October 22, 2026, the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No waiting list was posted. HPD's re-rental page lists the marketing agent, Reside New York, for openings outside Housing Connect.

Who owns and built 585 Jackson Avenue?

City records name Jackson Ventures NY LLC as owner. It bought the lot in February 2024 for $2,700,000, and PLUTO lists it today. The permit's architect firm is Nikolai Katz Architect. The lottery's marketing agent was Reside New York, and the loans on record are from Broadview Capital LLC.

Sources for this article (22)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7391 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. 485-x page (nyc.gov)
  5. re-rental page (nyc.gov)
  6. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  7. Marketing Handbook (nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  16. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  17. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  18. station data (data.ny.gov)
  19. building page (residenewyork.com)
  20. New York YIMBY (web.archive.org)
  21. Bronx Times (bxtimes.com)
  22. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.