Skip to page content

Inkwell, 586 Gerard Avenue, Concourse: 60 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,974 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerInkwell is a new nine-story building with 200 apartments at 586 Gerard Avenue in Concourse, the Bronx. NYC Housing Connect advertised 60 of them: one-bedrooms at $1,974 and $3,150 a month, and two-bedrooms at $2,351 and $3,550. Applications were due January 7, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's lottery data lists it in "Tenant Selection". The 80% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The 130% AMI rents are over them.

Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings jobs X00588660 and 220680895, the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 71635), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Bronx block 2353, HPD's pages on Inclusionary Housing and 421-a, HPD's applying guide, HDC's re-rental search, the Karten Organization's projects page, the building's leasing site, reports by New York YIMBY, 6sqft and the Bronx Times, and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

Inkwell in numbers
  • 60apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 200apartments in the building, in the permit and HPD's data
  • $1,974the lowest rent, a one-bedroom at 80% AMI
  • $3,550the highest rent, a two-bedroom at 130% AMI
  • January 7, 2026the application deadline
  • 9stories, in the permit and PLUTO

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253, read October 19, 2026; Department of Buildings job X00588660; HPD project 71635; PLUTO.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of a nine-story apartment building of red brick and dark gray panels along a wide street under a blue sky, with stepped rooftop terraces, a glass entrance marked 580, storefronts at street level, street trees, traffic signals and small figures walking on a plaza in front
Rendering of Inkwell, 586 Gerard Avenue (580 Gerard Avenue in city records), from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, Inkwell (lottery 7253) (reduced from 5120 x 2880 to 1600 x 900 (same 16:9 frame, no crop)).

What Was Built at Inkwell, 586 Gerard Avenue

Inkwell is a nine-story building with 200 apartments, retail and parking. Records and the builder's own pages also call it 580 Gerard Avenue.

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect lists "Inkwell" at 586 Gerard Avenue. PLUTO, the City's lot database, and HPD's project name use 580 Gerard Avenue. The listing's rendering shows "580" over the entrance.
  • Permit: job X00588660 reads "Application filed to construct new 9 story mixed use building". It lists 200 dwelling units, 90 feet and 179,125 square feet.
  • Owner and developer: PLUTO names SB Gerard Avenue, LLC. The permit's owner field names The Karten Organization. Karten's own page lists "580 GERARD AVE" as a "200 unit mixed-use affordable and luxury residential building".
  • Architect: the permit's applicant is the firm the filing spells "ISSAC & STERN ARCHITECTS, P.C".
  • The listing's words: "60 newly constructed rent-stabilized residences".
  • Before construction: demolition job 220680895 was signed off July 25, 2022.
Rendering seen from high above at dusk of a long brick building's roof, with a blue pickleball court, planted beds, lawn areas, umbrellas, tables and lounge chairs, beside larger dark green buildings with solar panels on their roofs
Rendering of Inkwell's roof from the building's leasing site, which lists a landscaped rooftop terrace and rooftop pickleball. The Housing Connect listing marks outdoor areas as extra cost. Photo: Inkwell leasing website (rendering; maker not named), leasing agent marketing rendering, via Inkwell leasing website, inkwellbx.com (reduced from 1920 x 1080 to 1600 x 900, no crop).
Inkwell at 586 Gerard Avenue, from the land purchase to the lottery
  • September 2, 2020SB Gerard Avenue, LLC buys the lot for $16,900,000.
  • September 15, 2021the new building application is filed.
  • July 20, 2023HPD's project start date. The same day, SB Gerard Avenue, LLC signs an agreement with the City of New York.
  • July 24, 2023the new building permit is issued.
  • September 4, 2025the leasing site posts "Inkwell Opens Its Doors".
  • November 3, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 7, 2026applications are due.
  • October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows "Tenant Selection".

What it means: the leasing site described the building as open two months before the lottery began.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs X00588660 and 220680895; HPD project 71635; the leasing site; the City's lottery data.

Watch outVoucherMatch found no certificate of occupancy for this lot in the Department of Buildings' two open certificate datasets on October 19, 2026. HPD's data shows no completion date.
Where the sources differ on the building
  • Storiesnine in the permit, PLUTO, YIMBY and 6sqft. The Bronx Times and a 2021 press release said "an eight-story, multi-family rental complex".
  • Apartments200 in the permit, HPD's data and Karten's page. PLUTO lists 197 homes.
  • Buyerthe Bronx Times wrote in 2021 that "Silverback Development along with Opportunity Zone equity purchased 580 Gerard Ave." ACRIS records the deed to SB Gerard Avenue, LLC. No record opened ties the two.
  • Architect's namethe filing spells "ISSAC & STERN". 6sqft wrote "Isaac & Stern Architects". The firm's site says "Issac & Stern Architects".

What it means: this report names each company as its source does.

Source: the filings, records and reports named.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program". It names no program option.

The two programs in HPD's words
  • Inclusionary Housing"The Inclusionary Housing Program (IHP) is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development."
  • 421-a"The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • 421-a Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI".
  • 421-a Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • 421-a Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI". The page also lists Options D to G.

What it means: no document opened says which part of Inclusionary Housing applies, which 421-a option applies, or whether the exemption was granted.

Source: HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages; Housing Connect listing.

The listing's summary reads "60 units at 80% AMI and 130% AMI - assisted with Agency review for #1298". No page opened explains "#1298".

Where Inkwell Is: Concourse, the Bronx, ZIP 10451

The building is in Concourse, in ZIP code 10451. It is in Bronx Community District 4 and City Council District 8.

The location in the records
  • Concoursethe permit's neighborhood field reads "Concourse-Concourse Village". City Planning's address search says "Concourse". The City's lottery data uses area BX0401, Concourse-Concourse Village. YIMBY wrote "Concourse"; 6sqft and the Bronx Times, "Concourse Village".
  • Mott HavenVoucherMatch's own ZIP list files 10451 under Mott Haven and the South Bronx. No City record opened places the building in Mott Haven.
  • ZIP code 10451the listing, the permit, HPD's data, PLUTO and the address search.
  • The lotBronx block 2353, lot 1.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Concourse, as on its page for Section 8 apartments in Concourse.

Source: the records named.

StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
149 St-Hostos2, 4, 5about 0.2 milesYes
145 St, Manhattan3about 0.4 milesNo
Harlem-148 St, Manhattan3about 0.5 milesYes
138 St-Grand Concourse4, 5about 0.5 milesNo
161 St-Yankee StadiumB, D, 4about 0.5 milesYes
3 Av-149 St2, 5about 0.6 milesYes

What it means: the listing calls the nearest stop "149th St - Grand Concourse"; the MTA's data names it 149 St-Hostos.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Bus and rail: the listing names a bus stop at Grand Concourse and East 144 Street, about 0.3 miles away, and the "Yankees– East 153 St" Metro-North stop, about 0.4 miles.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 4 train.

60 Apartments in the Lottery, at Two Income Levels

The lottery had 42 one-bedrooms and 18 two-bedrooms. Each apartment is set at one of two income levels, 80% AMI or 130% AMI, and each level has its own rent.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for Inkwell, by size and income level
View the data table
Apartment typeApartments
One-bedroom, 80% AMI28
One-bedroom, 130% AMI14
Two-bedroom, 80% AMI12
Two-bedroom, 130% AMI6

What it means: 40 apartments are at 80% AMI and 20 at 130% AMI, as in HPD's data (40 low-income, 20 middle-income).

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253, counted by VoucherMatch from its 60 unit rows, read October 19, 2026.

Key pointthe same size has two rents because the listing splits each size between two income levels. The 80% AMI apartments have the lower rent and lower income limits. The 130% AMI apartments have the higher rent and higher limits.
Two photographs side by side of a furnished apartment: at left a kitchen with gray upper cabinets, a stainless-steel refrigerator and microwave, and a light wood island with three orange bar stools; at right a sunny corner living room with two large windows, an orange leather sofa, a spotted armchair and two round black tables, with low brick buildings and a tall brick apartment tower outside
Photographs of a furnished apartment at Inkwell from the building's leasing site: the kitchen island and a corner living room. The Housing Connect listing does not say whether lottery apartments have the same finishes. Photo: Inkwell leasing website (Corcoran, "Exclusive Marketing & Leasing Agent"; photographer not named), leasing agent marketing image, via Inkwell leasing website, inkwellbx.com (two leasing-site photographs placed side by side, reduced to 880 pixels high (0.33 and 0.31 times), on a plain light gray background).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for Inkwell

The rents are $1,974 to $3,550 a month. The lowest minimum income is $74,263 a year, and the highest maximum is $238,160.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
28 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$1,9741 to 3$74,263 to $122,160
14 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,1501 to 3$114,583 to $198,510
12 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,3512 to 5$89,452 to $146,560
6 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,5502 to 5$130,560 to $238,160

What it means: each apartment type has one minimum income for every household size.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household.

Maximum yearly income by household size, Housing Connect listing for Inkwell
Household size80% AMI maximum130% AMI maximum
1 person$95,040$154,440
2 people$108,560$176,410
3 people$122,160$198,510
4 people$135,680$220,480
5 people$146,560$238,160

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size. One to three people fit a one-bedroom; two to five fit a two-bedroom.

Source: the same listing.

The gaps a household could fall into
  • Under $74,263below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One person earning $95,041 to $114,582, or two earning $108,561 to $114,582above the 80% AMI maximum but below the 130% AMI minimum. No apartment fits.
  • Three, four or five peopleno gap. The ranges overlap.
  • Six or more peopleno apartment in the listing takes them.
  • Asset limitsthe rent table lists $135,680 at 80% AMI and $220,480 at 130% AMI.

What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household", which matches both figures.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes; asset limits from its rent table.

The listing today and the November 2025 news report
  • Income rangeYIMBY printed "$74,195 to $227,500". The listing now shows $74,263 to $238,160.
  • Rents and countsthe same in YIMBY, 6sqft and the listing.

What it means: no page opened says when or why the income figures changed.

Source: New York YIMBY, November 5, 2025; Housing Connect listing, October 19, 2026.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The 80% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after utility allowances. The 130% AMI rents are over them, by $416 and $553 a month before allowances.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at Inkwell, rent plus utility allowances, and the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lottery rentRent plus allowances2026 maximum
View the data table
ApartmentLottery rentRent plus allowances2026 maximum
One-bedroom, 80% AMI$1,974$2,162$2,734
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,150$3,338$2,734
Two-bedroom, 80% AMI$2,351$2,600$2,997
Two-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,550$3,799$2,997

What it means: with allowances, the 80% AMI apartments are $572 and $397 under; the 130% AMI apartments are $604 and $802 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums and allowances from DSS-8r, dated October 14, 2026, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease". The allowance adds the 2026 "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" lines: $188 for a one-bedroom and $249 for a two-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Key pointthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove and heat. Rent includes hot water." So the chart uses only the electric cooking and electric heat lines. DSS decides which allowances apply.
How household size changes the CityFHEPS amount
  • One or two peopleDSS-8r pairs them with $2,734.
  • Three people in a one-bedroomDSS-8r pairs three or four people with $2,997. The $3,150 rent is still $153 over it.
  • Five people in a two-bedroomDSS-8r pairs five or six people with $3,753. The $3,550 rent is $203 under it, and $46 over it with allowances.

What it means: the CityFHEPS amount follows family size, so ask DSS before counting on a 130% AMI apartment.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards; Housing Connect FAQ; differences by VoucherMatch.

Kitchen wall with gray cabinets, a stainless-steel Beko refrigerator at left, a GE microwave above a smooth-top electric range with front knobs, a light stone backsplash and counter, and a small pan and utensils beside the range
Photograph of a kitchen at Inkwell from the building's leasing site. The range is electric; the listing says tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat. Photo: Inkwell leasing website (Corcoran, "Exclusive Marketing & Leasing Agent"; photographer not named), leasing agent marketing image, via Inkwell leasing website, inkwellbx.com (cropped from 1920 x 1280 to 1920 x 1080 (top and bottom), then reduced to 1600 x 900).

How Inkwell's Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10451

The 80% AMI rents are below HUD's estimates for ZIP code 10451. The 130% AMI rents are above them, by $760 for a one-bedroom and $930 for a two-bedroom.

Monthly lottery rents at Inkwell against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10451, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10451
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10451
One-bedroom$1,974$3,150$2,390
Two-bedroom$2,351$3,550$2,620

What it means: the 80% AMI rents are $416 and $269 below HUD's figure. HUD's figure includes most utilities; the lottery rent leaves out electricity.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.

Bedroom with a green wall, a large black-framed window with sheer white curtains looking onto a brick building with fire escapes and trees, a bed with a woven headboard and white and tan bedding, an abstract framed print and a small black side table
Photograph of a furnished bedroom at Inkwell from the building's leasing site. The listing does not give apartment sizes. Photo: Inkwell leasing website (Corcoran, "Exclusive Marketing & Leasing Agent"; photographer not named), leasing agent marketing image, via Inkwell leasing website, inkwellbx.com (cropped from 1920 x 1280 to 1920 x 1080 (top and bottom), then reduced to 1600 x 900).

How Inkwell Was Financed

Property records show mortgages from private lenders, most recently a $72,000,000 agreement with Truist Bank in August 2026. No document in the index names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as lender.

Recorded documents on Bronx block 2353, lot 1, since 2020
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
September 2, 2020DeedNR Property 2 LLC to SB Gerard Avenue, LLC$16,900,000
November 3, 2021Mortgage and agreementSB Gerard Avenue LLC to Access Road RE LLC$4,100,000; $17,000,000
September 6, 2022MortgageSB Gerard Avenue, LLC to SM BX Lender LLC$17,000,000
July 20, 2023AgreementSB Gerard Avenue, LLC and the City of New Yorknone listed
September 28, 2023Mortgages and agreementSB Gerard Avenue, LLC to Customers Bank$11,260,010; $35,739,990; $17,000,000
August 17, 2026Mortgage and agreementSB Gerard Avenue, LLC to Truist Bank$13,548,807.87; $72,000,000

What it means: the index does not say what the City agreement covers.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2353, lot 1. The 2023 index spells the bank "CUSTOMER BANK".

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at Inkwell

The listing set aside apartments for people with disabilities and gave preference to Bronx Community Board 4 residents and City employees. Tenants pay electricity, and many amenities cost extra.

Preferences in the listing
  • Mobility disability5% of apartments.
  • Vision or hearing disability2%.
  • "Community Board Resident (Bronx CB 04)"20%. 6sqft wrote 25 percent; the listing and the City's data say 20.
  • "NYC Employee"5%.

What it means: the FAQ says the community preference applies "For developments financed by the City". No document opened shows City financing here.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253; the City's lottery data; 6sqft.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Listed"Washer and dryers in Unit", a community center, and "Community events and classes".
  • Extra costthe listing marks a dog washing station, garage, covered parking, bike storage lockers, electric car charging, shared laundry room, gym, media room, party room, outdoor areas, recreation room, business center, "Family Amenities" and storage. It says "*Additional fees apply."
  • Pets"Pets are allowed, subject to a pet deposit."
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, "including electric stove and heat". "Rent includes hot water."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes, bathrooms and each amenity fee.

What it means: the words "lively modern amenities" are the advertisement's.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Two photographs side by side of bathrooms: at left a deep white tub with a hand shower and wood-look gray wall tile beside a light wood vanity; at right a glass-walled shower, a dark vanity with a white sink, a tall black-framed mirror, a toilet and large beige floor tiles
Photographs of two bathrooms at Inkwell from the building's leasing site. The Housing Connect listing does not say how many bathrooms each apartment has. Photo: Inkwell leasing website (Corcoran, "Exclusive Marketing & Leasing Agent"; photographer not named), leasing agent marketing image, via Inkwell leasing website, inkwellbx.com (two leasing-site photographs placed side by side, each reduced to 880 pixels high (0.31 times), on a plain light gray background).
Watch out, October 19, 2026the leasing site's photos show furnished apartments; the listing does not say whether lottery apartments have the same finishes. VoucherMatch left out one leasing-site bedroom image whose window view it could not match to this building.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 60 apartments were due January 7, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 60 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed." Counted from January 7, 2026, that runs to January 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 19, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7253 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
  • Paper routeunder "Apply by Mail", Housing Connect said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" Inkwell c/o Housing Line, 109 East 9th Street, New York, NY 10003. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online no later than January 7, 2026".
  • Leasing siteit names Corcoran as "Exclusive Marketing & Leasing Agent". The listing does not name who runs the lottery.

What it means: as of October 19, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (5 Bronx rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC; the listing; the leasing site.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Inkwell

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 19, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not founda certificate of occupancy in the open datasets, and what the July 2023 City agreement covers.
  • Not confirmedwhich Inclusionary Housing program and 421-a option apply, and whether the exemption was granted.
  • Not explained"#1298", and the income changes since November 2025.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026, and 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Inkwell first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was Inkwell at 586 Gerard Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. Inkwell was lottery 7253 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 42 one-bedrooms and 18 two-bedrooms at 586 Gerard Avenue, from $1,974 to $3,550 a month. Applications were due January 7, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at Inkwell, 586 Gerard Avenue?

One-bedrooms rent for $1,974 at 80% AMI and $3,150 at 130% AMI. Two-bedrooms rent for $2,351 and $3,550. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat, and rent includes hot water. The listing says pets are allowed with a pet deposit, and many amenities cost extra.

How much do you have to earn for Inkwell?

From $74,263 a year for a $1,974 one-bedroom, and $89,452 for a $2,351 two-bedroom. The 130% AMI apartments start at $114,583 and $130,560. The top limit runs from $95,040 for one person at 80% AMI to $238,160 for five people at 130% AMI. Voucher holders skip the minimum.

Does Inkwell take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. The 80% AMI rents of $1,974 and $2,351 are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums of $2,734 and $2,997, even with utility allowances. The 130% AMI rents of $3,150 and $3,550 are over them. Ask DSS or your housing authority first.

Is 580 Gerard Avenue the same building as 586 Gerard Avenue?

Yes. The lottery and the leasing site use 586 Gerard Avenue. PLUTO, HPD's project name and the Karten Organization's page use 580 Gerard Avenue, and the listing's rendering shows "580" over the door. Both are Bronx block 2353, lot 1. The building's marketing name is Inkwell, and the owner of record is SB Gerard Avenue, LLC.

Is Inkwell in Concourse or Mott Haven?

It is in Concourse. The building permit, City Planning's address search and the City's lottery data all place it in Concourse or Concourse-Concourse Village. 6sqft and the Bronx Times wrote "Concourse Village". VoucherMatch's ZIP list files 10451 under Mott Haven, but no City record opened puts the building there.

Are the rents at Inkwell below market?

Only the 80% AMI rents, by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 10451 are $2,390 for a one-bedroom and $2,620 for a two-bedroom. The 80% AMI rents are $416 and $269 below them. The 130% AMI rents are $760 and $930 above. HUD's figures include most utilities.

Can I still apply to Inkwell?

No application is open as of October 19, 2026. The deadline was January 7, 2026, and lottery 7253 was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found. Watch housingconnect.nyc.gov for new lotteries, and check HPD's and HDC's re-rental pages for vacant affordable apartments.

Sources for this article (19)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7253 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
  9. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  10. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  11. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  12. Karten Organization's projects page (thekartenorganization.com)
  13. leasing site (inkwellbx.com)
  14. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  15. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  16. Bronx Times (bxtimes.com)
  17. station data (data.ny.gov)
  18. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  19. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.