Skip to page content

962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue in Bushwick: 22 Affordable Apartments Still Available on Housing Connect, From $2,499 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists two "Units Still Available" lotteries for one project on Bushwick Avenue in Bushwick, Brooklyn. Lottery 7552, 962 Bushwick Avenue, has 11 apartments. Lottery 7546, 972 Bushwick Avenue, has 11 more. All are at 130% AMI: studios at $2,499 a month, one-bedrooms at $2,599 and two-bedrooms at $2,899. Neither listing has a deadline, and neither is open. Each building had a first lottery in 2025. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listings for lottery 7552 and lottery 7546, each read three times that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which listed neither at any check; the 2025 listings, lottery 7240 and lottery 7241; the City's Housing Connect lottery data; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job records (jobs 321191429 and 321191492), DOB NOW filings, permits and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data (projects 82000 and 77644); PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3294; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; Brownstoner (August 12, 2025); and New York YIMBY's reports of October 18, 2017, October 20, 2017 and September 12, 2025, read in archived copies. The listings set the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue in numbers
  • 22apartments on Housing Connect, 11 in each lottery
  • 81apartments in the two buildings, 40 and 41
  • $2,499the studio rent, the lowest
  • $2,899the two-bedroom rent, $98 under the CityFHEPS maximum
  • $92,949the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
  • Not openno deadline in either listing as of October 18, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Rendering of an eight-story building seen straight on, with a facade of red, brown and gray brick panels, tall windows with tan frames, small balconies with metal railings, a setback terrace near the top, a glass storefront and a pale garage door on the ground floor, people walking on the sidewalk, and a red brick church with a crenellated tower at right, shown at its original size on a plain light background
A rendering of the building facade from the Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7552 and 7546, labelled "Facade." The same image appears in both listings, and neither says which of the two buildings it shows. The brick church at right matches the records: both buildings stand beside Calvary and St. Cyprian's Church. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (placed at its original size (828 x 826) on a plain background; not enlarged).

What Was Built at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue

Two new 8-story buildings stand on either side of Calvary and St. Cyprian's Church. City records show 40 apartments at 962 and 41 at 972, and both have final certificates of occupancy.

Record962 Bushwick Avenue972 Bushwick Avenue
Building job321191429321191492
Stories, height8, 73 feet8, 73 feet
Apartments4041
First certificateNovember 13, 2025October 22, 2025
Final certificateMarch 6, 2026May 26, 2026

What it means: both buildings are finished in the City's records.

Source: Department of Buildings job records and certificates of occupancy. Both jobs name SCG Capital LLC as owner and the same registered architect.

  • One project in the records: a 2018 deed sold both lots together, for $2,500,000. Mortgages in 2025 and 2026 cover both lots. In April 2026, the two owner companies, 962 Bushwick LLC and 972 Bushwick LLC, recorded one zoning lot description for both lots and the church lot.
  • Two listings: Housing Connect runs them as separate lotteries, 7552 and 7546. Each needs its own application.
  • Architect: Brownstoner reported on August 12, 2025, that both were designed by Nicholai Katz. DOB NOW filings for 972 list "NIKOLAI KATZ ARCHITECT."
  • The church: Brownstoner reported that the church sold "the parking lot" at 972 and "two townhouses" at 962.
Rendering of a lobby with a long wood table and woven-back chairs at left, black mailboxes behind thin black vertical bars, a ceiling of overlapping round white panels with lights, a gray concrete floor, a colorful abstract painting at the end of a hall, a potted plant, and a pale brick wall at right lettered 972 Bushwick
A rendering of a lobby from the Housing Connect listings. The wall lettering reads "972 Bushwick," though the image also appears in the listing for 962 Bushwick Avenue. It shows a planned space, not a finished one. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (placed at its original size (1537 x 858) on a plain background; not enlarged).
962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue, from filing to a second Housing Connect listing
  • October 2017both 8-story buildings are filed, 962 on October 11 and 972 on October 17.
  • June 21, 2018the church deeds both lots to Artemesia SPE LLC for $2,500,000.
  • January 5, 2024Artemesia SPE LLC deeds 972 to 972 Bushwick LLC and 962 to 962 Bushwick LLC.
  • December 5 and 6, 2024the new building permits are issued.
  • July 3, 2025mortgages covering both lots are signed.
  • September and October 2025the first lotteries run: 7240 for 962 ends October 3, and 7241 for 972 ends October 6.
  • March and May 2026final certificates of occupancy are issued.
  • October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 22 apartments as "Units Still Available," with no deadline.

What it means: the buildings took more than eight years from filing to their final sign-offs.

Source: Department of Buildings records; ACRIS; the City's lottery data.

What 421-a(16) Means Here

Lottery 7546 says "421-a(16) program." Lottery 7552 says "421 a program." The 2025 listings said each building "is anticipated to receive a Tax exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive Program."

421-a(16), in HPD's words
  • What it isHPD calls 421-a "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • The 2017 namea 2017 state law "renamed tax exemptions issued pursuant to Real Property Tax Law Section 421-a as the Affordable New York Housing Program."
  • How longprojects without the enhanced benefit "would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years."
421-a(16) rental optionHPD's rule, quoted
Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI"
Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI"

What it means: no record opened says which option these buildings use, and this report does not guess.

Source: HPD's 421-a page, read October 18, 2026.

Where the records differ
QuestionOne recordAnother record
OwnerDOB jobs: SCG Capital LLCPLUTO and ACRIS: 962 Bushwick LLC and 972 Bushwick LLC
ArchitectYIMBY, 2017: Think Architecture & Design PLLCBrownstoner, 2025, and DOB NOW: Katz
Size of 972YIMBY, 2017: 33 apartmentsDOB, certificates and HPD: 41
January 2024 saleBrownstoner: both sites for $6.975 millionACRIS: $6,975,000 for 972 and $25,000 for 962
The churchPLUTO and ACRIS: 964 Bushwick AvenueBrownstoner: 966 Bushwick Avenue
The 962 lotDOB: 8 stories, 40 apartmentsPLUTO: 2 buildings, 9 floors, 41 units

What it means: the 2017 reports describe an earlier plan. The City's newer records match each other on 8 stories and 81 apartments.

Source: Department of Buildings; PLUTO 26v2; ACRIS; Brownstoner; New York YIMBY.

Where 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue Are

Both buildings are on Bushwick Avenue in Bushwick, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11221. Housing Connect's two map points are 149 feet apart.

What the records call the area
  • Department of Buildings"Bushwick (East)," on both jobs and every certificate.
  • City Planning's GeoSearchBushwick, ZIP code 11221, for both addresses.
  • VoucherMatch's ZIP data11221 is Bushwick.
  • PLUTOBrooklyn block 3294, lots 25 and 31; zoning R6; Community Board 4; Council District 37; the 83rd Precinct.

See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11221 and Section 8 apartments in Bushwick.

Rents and Income Ranges at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue on Housing Connect

Both listings use the same rents and incomes. Without a voucher, a household needs at least $92,949 a year.

Lottery 7552, 962 Bushwick Avenue
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
1 studio$2,4991 or 2$92,949 to $176,410
5 one-bedrooms$2,5991 to 3$98,709 to $198,510
5 two-bedrooms$2,8992 to 5$114,309 to $238,160

What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, read three times on October 18, 2026. All 11 apartment records are at 130% AMI and match their rows.

Lottery 7546, 972 Bushwick Avenue
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
1 studio$2,4991 or 2$92,949 to $176,410
4 one-bedrooms$2,5991 to 3$98,709 to $198,510
6 two-bedrooms$2,8992 to 5$114,309 to $238,160

What it means: 972 has one fewer one-bedroom and one more two-bedroom than 962.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7546, read three times on October 18, 2026. All 11 apartment records are at 130% AMI.

Household sizeMaximum yearly income, 130% AMI
1 person$154,440
2 people$176,410
3 people$198,510
4 people$220,480
5 people$238,160

What it means: the minimum stays the same for every household size, and the maximum rises with each person.

Source: both listings print the same maximums.

Rendering of a small kitchen along one wall, with walnut-colored upper cabinets, olive green lower cabinets, a steel microwave above a steel electric range with a flat cooktop, a black faucet over a sink, a stone-look backsplash, a tall steel refrigerator with a freezer at the bottom, and a light wood floor
A rendering of a kitchen from the Housing Connect listings, labelled "Kitchen" in lottery 7552. It shows an electric range, which matches the 2025 listings' note that tenants pay for the electric stove. The listings do not say which apartment type it shows. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (placed at its original size (1152 x 861) on a plain background; not enlarged).
Apartments a household can apply for at each address, by household size, October 18, 2026
Lottery 7552, 962Lottery 7546, 972
View the data table
Household sizeLottery 7552, 962Lottery 7546, 972
1 person65
2 people1111
3 people1010
4 people56
5 people56

What it means: households of six or more have no apartment in either lottery.

Source: each listing's household sizes for each apartment; counts by VoucherMatch.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment
  • Under $92,949below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One or two people, $92,949 to $98,708only the two studios fit.
  • Three people under $98,709nothing fits without a voucher.
  • Four or five people under $114,309nothing fits without a voucher.
  • Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $238,160 for five people.
Key pointthe FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." Neither listing says how its figures were set.

How These Rents Compare With the 2025 Lotteries

The rents are lower than in 2025. The first lotteries asked $2,850 for a studio, $2,999 for a one-bedroom and $3,299 for a two-bedroom.

Apartment2025 rent2026 rent2025 minimum income
Studio$2,850$2,499$104,983
One-bedroom$2,999$2,599$112,423
Two-bedroom$3,299$2,899$128,023

What it means: by VoucherMatch's subtraction, rents fell $351 for the studio and $400 for each larger size. The listings do not say why.

Source: Housing Connect listings 7240 and 7241, read October 18, 2026.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum: the studios by $105, the one-bedrooms by $135 and the two-bedrooms by $98.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Listed monthly rents at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,499$2,499$2,604
1 bedroom$2,599$2,599$2,734
2 bedrooms$2,899$2,899$2,997

What it means: each size has one rent at both addresses, so the lowest and highest bars match.

Source: rents from both Housing Connect listings; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The 2026 listings do not say who pays utilities. The 2025 listings said "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove, heat, and hot water." This report subtracts no utility allowance, because the current listings name no utility. Ask the marketing agent and your caseworker.
Two renderings of bathrooms side by side on a plain light background: at left, a tub with blue-gray textured tile, a black shower head, a wall niche, a rounded black-framed mirror over a light wood vanity and a white toilet; at right, a similar layout with pale stone-look walls, a striped white and gray wall behind a light wood vanity, a navy ceiling and two round wall lights
Renderings of two bathrooms from the Housing Connect listings. The left image appears in both listings; the right one appears only in lottery 7546, 972 Bushwick Avenue. They show planned spaces, not finished ones. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7552 and 7546, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (placed side by side on a plain background, each reduced from about 860 x 860 to 770 x 770; not enlarged).

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11221

Every rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11221. The studios are $441 below, the one-bedrooms $501 below and the two-bedrooms $471 below.

Listed monthly rents at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11221, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11221
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11221
Studio$2,499$2,499$2,940
1 bedroom$2,599$2,599$3,100
2 bedrooms$2,899$2,899$3,370

What it means: if tenants pay utilities, as the 2025 listings said, the gaps shrink by that cost.

Source: rents from both listings; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

See CityFHEPS apartments in Bushwick and two-bedroom voucher apartments in Bushwick.

How 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue Are Financed

Property records show private mortgages from 2025 and 2026 that cover both lots. No City loan or HPD agreement appears in the records opened.

Recorded documents for Brooklyn block 3294, lots 25 and 31
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
June 21, 2018Deed, both lotsThe church to Artemesia SPE LLC$2,500,000
January 5, 2024Deed, 972Artemesia SPE LLC to 972 Bushwick LLC$6,975,000
July 3, 2025Two mortgages, both lotsBoth owner companies and S3 RE 962 Bushwick Funding LLC$6,620,000 and $9,480,000
July 3, 2025Agreement, both lotsThe same parties$14,620,000
April 15, 2026Agreement, both lotsThe same parties$18,120,000

What it means: the 2025 mortgages were assigned in August 2025 to a Churchill MRA Funding company, then back in April 2026. A $3,500,000 mortgage to 962 Bushwick Funding LLC was also signed in April 2026.

Source: ACRIS index records; the documents' text was not read.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue

Neither listing posts preferences or set-asides. Only lottery 7546 lists amenities.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In these listingsno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
  • Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
What the listings say the buildings have
  • Lottery 7546 (972)"Pet-friendly," "Garages," "Shared laundry room," "Gymnasium," "Bike storage lockers," "Recreation room," "Security cameras," "Elevator," "Accessible entrance," "Smoke-free."
  • Lottery 7552 (962)no amenities listed.
  • The 2025 listingspets allowed with a "40lb. weight limit per pet." For 972, "laundry room*, and on-site parking* (*Additional fees apply)."
  • Not stated in 2026utilities, fees, apartment sizes and a website.
Rendering of a gym with a bright blue ceiling and exposed blue ducts, three treadmills and two exercise bikes by tall windows at left, a blue rubber floor strip, a lit sign reading Crush Your Goals on a blue wall panel, two blue yoga mats, a black bench and a dumbbell rack at right
A rendering of the gym from the Housing Connect listings, labelled "Gym." "Gymnasium" is among the ten amenities in lottery 7546; lottery 7552 lists none. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (placed at its original size (1150 x 861) on a plain background; not enlarged).
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Gates AvJ, Z0.18 milesNo
Kosciuszko StJ0.29 milesNo
Central AvM0.45 milesNo
Knickerbocker AvM0.49 milesNo
Myrtle-Wyckoff AvsL, M0.77 milesYes

What it means: from 972's point, Gates Av is 0.17 miles away, and the walk is longer than a straight line.

Source: the MTA's station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from lottery 7552's map point (40.692105, -73.923451).

  • Buses: both listings name stops at Kosciuszko St, about 0.29 miles away, and at DeKalb Ave and Broadway, about 0.35 miles away.
  • Along the line: see apartments near the J train.

How to Apply to the 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue Lotteries on Housing Connect

Applications are not open yet. Each address is a separate lottery, and each will need its own application.

On three reads on October 18, 2026, neither listing had a deadline. Neither was among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. Lottery 7546 gives a mail address for paper forms. Lottery 7552 gives none yet.

Getting ready for the two Bushwick Avenue lotteries
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. The FAQ gives log numbers to applicants "whose applicant profiles (Household Info) are complete."
  2. 2Watch both listingsdeadlines will show on the pages for lottery 7552 (962) and lottery 7546 (972).
  3. 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above. Six or more people fit neither lottery.
  4. 4Apply once per lotterythe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  5. 5Paper routelottery 7546's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" "972 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available C/O Taxace NY LLC 139 Tompkins Avenue," Brooklyn, NY 11206.

What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. Neither listing gives a return address or postmark rule yet.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listings; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after a Housing Connect deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  • Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing about "the status of your application."
  • If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Later openingsapartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units." The FAQ says some may be offered "outside of Housing Connect" during "a temporary waiver period."

What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."

Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $220,480 for every apartment type in both listings. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Two Lotteries

Rents, incomes and asset limits are posted. Deadlines, utilities and the reason apartments remain are not.

Known and not yet known on October 18, 2026
  • Known22 apartments in two listings, their rents, income ranges and asset limits, and one mail address for paper forms.
  • Earlier lotteries7240 offered 12 apartments at 962, and 7241 offered 13 at 972. The new listings say 11 at each are "still available."
  • Not stateddeadlines, utilities, pet rules for 2026, apartment sizes, move-in dates and why apartments remain.
  • The picturesevery listing image is a rendering. Both listings, and the 2025 ones, use the same images.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Two renderings stacked on a plain light background: at top, an elevator landing with dark doors, wood and stone wall panels, a posted evacuation plan and a large graffiti-style painting on a brick wall; at bottom, a hallway with a large number 3 on a wood panel, signs reading Units 3A-3B, Units 3C-3F and Refuse, dark apartment doors marked 3A and 3B, and a painting on a brick wall at the end
Renderings of an elevator landing (top) and a third-floor hallway (bottom) from the Housing Connect listings. They show planned spaces, not finished ones. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7552, lottery listing images, via NYC Housing Connect, 962 Bushwick Avenue Apartments - Units Still Available (lottery 7552) (stacked on a plain background, each reduced to 980 pixels wide; not enlarged).

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at either address today. A household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed "Cantilever House- Units Still Available," due November 4, 2026, and 803 Glenmore Avenue, due October 28, 2026.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Bushwick Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for 962 or 972 Bushwick Avenue on Housing Connect?

Not yet. 962 Bushwick Avenue is lottery 7552, and 972 Bushwick Avenue is lottery 7546. On October 18, 2026, both listings showed rents but no deadline, and neither was in the open-lottery search. Each is a separate lottery. Finish your Housing Connect profile now and watch both listings for a deadline.

What is the rent at 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue?

Both buildings list studios at $2,499 a month, one-bedrooms at $2,599 and two-bedrooms at $2,899. All 22 apartments are at 130% AMI. These are the listings' rents on October 18, 2026. They are lower than the 2025 rents of $2,850, $2,999 and $3,299. The 2026 listings do not say who pays utilities.

How much do you have to earn for 962 or 972 Bushwick Avenue?

Without a voucher, from $92,949 a year for a studio. One-bedrooms start at $98,709 and two-bedrooms at $114,309. The most is $154,440 for one person and $238,160 for five people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply to your household.

Does 962 or 972 Bushwick Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The studios are $105 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, the one-bedrooms $135 under and the two-bedrooms $98 under. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits, so check utilities.

Are 962 and 972 Bushwick Avenue the same building?

No. They are two 8-story buildings, with 40 and 41 apartments, on either side of Calvary and St. Cyprian's Church. City records show one project: one owner company in building filings, one 2018 deed, shared mortgages and one zoning lot. Housing Connect still runs two lotteries, 7552 and 7546.

What program are the Bushwick Avenue lotteries in?

Lottery 7546 names 421-a(16), and lottery 7552 names 421-a. HPD calls 421-a "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." A 2017 law renamed it the Affordable New York Housing Program. HPD lists several rental options. No record opened names the option these buildings use.

Why do the listings say "Units Still Available"?

Each building had a first lottery in 2025. Lottery 7240 for 962 ended October 3, 2025, and lottery 7241 for 972 ended October 6, 2025. The new listings say 11 apartments at each building are still available. Neither listing says why. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, on weekdays.

Sources for this article (25)
  1. lottery 7552 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. lottery 7546 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. lottery 7240 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  5. lottery 7241 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  6. Housing Connect lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  8. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  9. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  10. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  11. job records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  16. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  17. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  18. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  19. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  20. station data (data.ny.gov)
  21. Brownstoner (brownstoner.com)
  22. October 18, 2017 (newyorkyimby.com)
  23. October 20, 2017 (newyorkyimby.com)
  24. September 12, 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
  25. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.