1695 Monroe Avenue in Claremont: 14 Apartments on Housing Connect From $2,462 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists 14 income-restricted apartments at 1695 Monroe Avenue in Claremont, the Bronx, at $2,462 to $3,497 a month. Applications are not open yet: the listing has no deadline. All 14 are at 130% of area median income, in a new 13-story building with 46 apartments. Each rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. All four rents are above HUD's figure for the ZIP code.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7446, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; the City's data on advertised lotteries; HPD's 421-a page and Affordable Housing Production by Building; Department of Buildings BIS jobs 210182194, 220730868 and 220730939, DOB NOW filings and certificate of occupancy data (DOB NOW, BIS); PLUTO; ACRIS for Bronx block 2792; City Planning's GeoSearch; DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's subway and rail station data; Spaxel's 1695 Monroe page; New York YIMBY (November 13, 2020); and the New York Real Estate Journal (May 30, 2023). How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 14apartments listed on Housing Connect
- 46apartments in the 13-story building, in city records
- $2,462the lowest rent, a studio
- $3,497the highest rent, a three-bedroom
- $89,349the lowest minimum income, for a studio
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 421-a(16)A tax break for new apartment buildings. HPD calls 421-a "a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." A 2017 law renamed it the "Affordable New York Housing Program."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (the City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement)a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 1695 Monroe Avenue
1695 Monroe Avenue is a new 13-story building with 46 apartments, developed by Spaxel on the lots of two former two-family houses.
- Permit: Department of Buildings (DOB) job 210182194 was filed November 10, 2020. It is for 13 stories, 115 feet and 46 homes. The plans were approved July 21, 2021. Full permits came April 18, 2022.
- Owner: the job names 1695 Monroe Avenue, LLC. Since May 10, 2023, the deed and City Planning's PLUTO name Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC.
- Developer: Spaxel's page calls it a "13-floor apartment building" with "46 units available for rent." YIMBY reported in 2020 that "Spaxel under the 1695 Monroe Avenue, LLC is listed as the owner."
- Architect: YIMBY wrote, "Adam Snyder of A/R Environetics Architects, P.C is listed as the architect of record." The permit names Adam Snyder, a registered architect, with no firm.
- Program: the listing's description reads "14 Units @ 130% AMI" and "421a -16 Program."
- Certificate of occupancy: none found. DOB's two certificate datasets, updated October 17, 2026, had no record for the building. HPD's data leaves its completion date blank.

- November 10, 2020the new building job is filed.
- November 25, 20201695 Monroe Avenue LLC buys 1695 and 1697 Monroe Avenue.
- December 28, 2020demolition jobs are filed for the two houses.
- July 21, 2021DOB approves the building plans.
- March 4, 2022both demolition jobs are signed off.
- April 18, 2022the new building job is fully permitted.
- May 10, 2023the site passes to Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC, with two bank mortgages.
- October 30, 2025HPD's data gives this as the project start date.
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 14 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the apartments are listed, but no certificate of occupancy shows yet.
Source: DOB BIS jobs 210182194, 220730868 and 220730939; ACRIS; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building. HPD defines the start date as "the date of the project loan closing and regulatory agreement" or "the notice of intent to market affordable units."
- Floor area41,751 square feet in the current DOB job record, 40,899 in an older copy of it, 41,065 in YIMBY and 38,518 in PLUTO.
- Apartment sizesSpaxel's page lists "studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom, and 4-bedroom apartments." The lottery's largest apartments are three-bedrooms.
- Year builtPLUTO says 2023. No certificate of occupancy shows in DOB's data, and HPD lists no completion date.
- ParkingYIMBY reported plans for "27 enclosed parking spaces" in 2020. The listing does not mention parking.
What the 421-a(16) Program Means for the 14 Apartments
421-a(16) gives a new building a tax break, and in return a share of its apartments must stay affordable for decades.
- Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI."
- Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
- Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI." The project "cannot receive any government subsidies."
- How longprojects without the larger benefit "would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years."
- Same entrancesrental units "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
Key pointno document opened names the option this building chose. The listing gives only "421a -16 Program" and one income level, 130% AMI.
HPD's data counts the 14 as "middle income units," with rents "affordable to households earning 121 to 165% of the area median income (AMI)." Its size mix of 3, 4, 4 and 3 matches the listing.
Where 1695 Monroe Avenue Is
The building is in ZIP code 10457, on Monroe Avenue, which YIMBY places "between East 173rd Street and East 174th Street."
- City Planning's GeoSearch"Claremont." YIMBY also says Claremont.
- Department of Buildings"Mount Eden-Claremont (West)" on current filings. Older copies of the same jobs say "Mount Hope."
- VoucherMatch's ZIP datalists 10457 under Tremont first. VoucherMatch has no Claremont page.
- ZIP code and districts10457 in the listing, DOB, PLUTO and HPD's data. DOB gives Community Board 4 and City Council District 15.
- Parksthe listing names Claremont Park, about 0.24 miles away in a straight line, and Crotona Park, about 0.74 miles.
Watch out1751 Monroe Avenue is a separate Housing Connect listing, lottery 7449, for a separate building. Both lots' DOB filings name Spaxel, but ACRIS records each to its own company, and HPD lists them as separate projects.

See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10457 and Section 8 apartments in nearby Tremont.
Rents and Income Limits in the 1695 Monroe Avenue Housing Connect Listing
The listing shows four rents, from $2,462 to $3,497 a month, all at 130% AMI, and its lowest minimum income is $89,349 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 studios | $2,462 | 1 to 2 | $89,349 to $176,410 |
| 4 one-bedrooms | $2,571 | 1 to 3 | $93,772 to $198,510 |
| 4 two-bedrooms | $2,790 | 2 to 5 | $103,200 to $238,160 |
| 3 three-bedrooms | $3,497 | 3 to 7 | $129,326 to $273,520 |
What it means: every apartment needs at least $89,349 a year, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7446, read October 18, 2026; its 14 unit rows grouped by VoucherMatch. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Most it can earn | Sizes it can apply for |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $154,440 | Studio, 1 bedroom |
| 2 people | $176,410 | Studio, 1 or 2 bedrooms |
| 3 people | $198,510 | 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 4 people | $220,480 | 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 5 people | $238,160 | 2 or 3 bedrooms |
| 6 people | $255,840 | 3 bedrooms |
| 7 people | $273,520 | 3 bedrooms |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the same listing, maximum yearly income by household size at 130% AMI.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to that size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 7 |
| 2 people | 11 |
| 3 people | 11 |
| 4 people | 7 |
| 5 people | 7 |
| 6 people | 3 |
| 7 people | 3 |
What it means: a household of six or seven can apply for only the three three-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's household sizes; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $89,349below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Two people at $89,349 to $93,771only the studios fit.
- Three people under $93,772nothing fits. From $93,772 to $103,199, only the one-bedrooms fit.
- Four or five people under $103,200nothing in this listing fits.
- Six or seven people under $129,326nothing fits.
- One person over $154,440over every maximum.
Key pointasset limit. Housing Connect's rent table gives $220,480 for every apartment type. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Covers at 1695 Monroe Avenue
All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same size, by $142 to $256 a month.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Listed rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,462 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,571 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,790 | $2,997 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,497 | $3,753 |
What it means: the room under each maximum is $142 for a studio, $163 for a one-bedroom, $207 for a two-bedroom and $256 for a three-bedroom, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe listing does not say which utilities tenants pay. If they pay some, CityFHEPS counts a utility allowance, and the room shrinks. None is subtracted here.
- Household size: DSS-8r ties each amount to a family size: one person for a studio, one or two for a one-bedroom, three or four for a two-bedroom, five or six for a three-bedroom. Ask DSS about other sizes.
- Maximum income: the FAQ lifts only the minimum. Nothing opened waives the listing's maximum incomes.
- Credit check: "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ accepts "Section 8 (HPD or NYCHA)." The rent table marks no apartment as a project-based voucher unit. See the New York City Housing Authority, 2026 Section 8 payment standards in NYC, CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10457
All four rents are above HUD's estimate for the same size in ZIP code 10457, by $170 to $217 a month.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Listed rent | HUD figure, ZIP 10457 |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,462 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,571 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,790 | $2,620 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,497 | $3,280 |
What it means: the studio is $182 over HUD's figure, the one-bedroom $181, the two-bedroom $170 and the three-bedroom $217, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents, fiscal year 2027, for ZIP 10457, the building's ZIP in the listing, DOB, PLUTO and HPD's data.
Key pointHUD's figure includes rent and most tenant-paid utilities. The listing rent may not. If tenants pay any utilities, the full cost is higher than the rent shown.
How 1695 Monroe Avenue Was Financed
Property records show a $1,850,000 sale of the site in 2023 and two bank mortgages totaling $13,473,908.
| Document and date | Parties in the record | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Two deeds, November 25, 2020 | Former owners to 1695 Monroe Avenue LLC | $800,000 (1695); $650,000 (1697) |
| Mortgage, November 25, 2020 | 1695 Monroe Avenue LLC and Metropolitan Commercial Bank | $1,025,000 |
| Deed, May 10, 2023 | 1695 Monroe Avenue LLC to Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC | $1,850,000 |
| Mortgage, May 10, 2023 | Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC and First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | $9,453,829.07 |
| Mortgage, May 10, 2023 | Spaxel CBRE 1695 Monroe LLC and First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | $4,020,078.93 |
What it means: the two 2020 prices add up to $1,450,000, and the two 2023 mortgages total $13,473,908, by VoucherMatch's addition.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2792, lots 43 and 44; each 2023 mortgage has a matching assignment of leases and rents.
- News reports: no report of financing for this address was found. A May 30, 2023 New York Real Estate Journal report on Spaxel financing names three other addresses.
- City money: no HPD or Housing Development Corporation paper appears in the lots' records.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1695 Monroe Avenue
The listing shows no preferences or amenities yet, so this section gives HPD's general rules, the developer's list and the nearest stations.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says federal law gives a preference for 5% of apartments to households with a mobility disability. Another 2% go to hearing or vision.
- Community boardthe FAQ says this preference does not apply to buildings that "only receive a tax exemption." No record opened shows City money here.
- Other preferences"These preferences are listed in the advertisement for the development." No advertisement is posted yet.
- In the Housing Connect listingno amenities, no photos and no fees are listed.
- On Spaxel's page"a bike room, elevator, refuse room provided on each floor, and washer and dryer closets inside each apartment." It lists "769 square feet of indoor recreation space and 556 square feet of exterior recreation space at the roof level." It calls it a "passive house certified building."
- Not statedwho pays for power, heat, gas and hot water, pets, parking and fees.
| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 174-175 Sts | B, D | 0.20 miles | No |
| 176 St | 4 | 0.38 miles | No |
| Mt Eden Av | 4 | 0.40 miles | No |
| Tremont (Metro-North) | Harlem Line | 0.42 miles | No |
| Tremont Av | B, D | 0.43 miles | Yes |
| 170 St | B, D | 0.48 miles | No |
| 170 St | 4 | 0.64 miles | Yes |
What it means: the closest fully accessible stop is Tremont Av on the B and D.
Source: stations, daytime lines and accessibility from the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8443491, -73.9069615), so the walk is longer.


- Buses: the listing names stops at 176 St, E 170 St/Grand Concourse and 3 Ave/Claremont Pkwy, with no route numbers.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the D train and the 4 train.

How to Be Ready When the 1695 Monroe Avenue Housing Connect Lottery Opens
A household can get its profile, income figures and papers ready now, because applications are not open as of October 18, 2026.
On two reads that day, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx's 5 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- City datathe City's list of lotteries advertised on Housing Connect, updated October 5, 2026, has no row for lottery 7446 or this address.
- Its neighborsin the same data, lottery 7445 closed March 12, 2026, and lottery 7447 opened April 8, 2026.
- What that showsno record opened shows an earlier deadline. The list leaves out "mini lotteries."
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. "If your household summary is flagged as incomplete, you will not be able to submit an application."
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the listing for lottery 7446.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and yearly income with the tables above.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routeno mailing address is posted yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery."
What it means: the profile can be finished before any deadline exists.
Source: the Housing Connect FAQ and listing.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers" to complete profiles.
- Documents"Make sure to include ALL requested documents in one submission" when the marketing agent asks.
- Rent history or credit"show that you have paid your full rent for the past 12 months" or "have your credit reviewed."
- Voucher holdersthe marketing agent asks for "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- ID for every adult. "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers.
Source: the Housing Connect FAQ.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1695 Monroe Avenue
The rents, incomes and apartment count are posted, but the deadline and the advertisement are not.
- Knownfour rents, income ranges and an asset limit for 14 apartments.
- Not posteda deadline, the full ad, a mailing address, preferences, photos and the marketing agent.
- Not statedutilities, pets, floor plans, fees and the 421-a(16) option.
- Not showna certificate of occupancy.
- Whom to askHousing Connect's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, weekdays 9am to 5pm, or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 1695 Monroe Avenue yet, so a household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open lotteries nearby: on October 18, 2026, Housing Connect's search showed 1677 Eastburn Avenue (lottery 7674, due October 29), about 0.10 miles away in a straight line. It also showed four other Bronx lotteries due by November 6.
1 bedroom, $2,700 a monthBronxAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthTremont, BronxAccepts FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthConcourse, BronxAccepts HASA · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx, CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in Tremont.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 1695 Monroe Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. 1695 Monroe Avenue is Housing Connect lottery 7446, "1695 Monroe Avenue Apartments." As of October 18, 2026, the listing shows rents but no deadline. The lottery is not in the open-lottery search. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 1695 Monroe Avenue?
Rents run from $2,462 to $3,497 a month, all at 130% AMI. The listing has 3 studios at $2,462, 4 one-bedrooms at $2,571, 4 two-bedrooms at $2,790 and 3 three-bedrooms at $3,497. The listing does not yet say which utilities, if any, tenants pay on top of the rent.
How much do you have to earn for 1695 Monroe Avenue?
Yearly incomes run from $89,349 for a studio to $273,520 for seven people in a three-bedroom. The minimums are $93,772 for a one-bedroom, $103,200 for a two-bedroom and $129,326 for a three-bedroom. HPD's FAQ says the minimum does not apply to a household with a voucher or rental subsidy.
Does 1695 Monroe Avenue take CityFHEPS or Section 8?
Housing Connect accepts both, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $142 to $256 a month. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits. The listing marks no apartments as project-based voucher units.
Is 1695 Monroe Avenue the same as 1751 Monroe Avenue?
No. 1751 Monroe Avenue is a separate Housing Connect listing, lottery 7449, for a separate building on its own tax lot. Records name Spaxel on both. ACRIS records each site to its own company, and HPD lists them as separate projects. This guide covers only lottery 7446 at 1695 Monroe Avenue.
Are the rents at 1695 Monroe Avenue below market?
Not by HUD's measure. All four rents are above HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 10457. The studio is $182 over, the one-bedroom $181, the two-bedroom $170 and the three-bedroom $217. HUD's figures also include most utilities, so the gap may be larger if tenants pay utilities.
Is 1695 Monroe Avenue in Claremont, Tremont or Mount Hope?
City Planning's address search and YIMBY say Claremont. DOB's current filings say "Mount Eden-Claremont (West)," and older copies say Mount Hope. VoucherMatch files ZIP code 10457 under Tremont. The 2023 deed covers two old lots, 1695 and 1697 Monroe Avenue. PLUTO now shows one lot, Bronx block 2792, lot 44, at 1695 Monroe Avenue.
Sources for this article (21)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7446 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- data on advertised lotteries (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- subway (data.ny.gov)
- rail (data.ny.gov)
- 1695 Monroe page (spaxel.com)
- New York YIMBY (web.archive.org)
- New York Real Estate Journal (nyrej.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.