Skip to page content

Allegheny West Senior Apartments: 48 Affordable Homes at Apartments at Clearfield, 2033 W. Toronto Street, With Rent Based on Income

16 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 6, 2026, Apartments at Clearfield at 2033 W. Toronto Street in Allegheny West, Philadelphia, has 48 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older. The owner, NewCourtland, held the grand opening on June 2, 2026 and takes applications by phone at 888-530-4913. There is no lottery and no online form. The owner has published no rents. The Philadelphia Housing Authority lists all 48 apartments as carrying its rent assistance, which sets rent at 26% to 30% of adjusted income, so no voucher is needed.

Last checked: October 6, 2026, against NewCourtland's Apartments at Clearfield page and grand opening report (June 4, 2026), the City's building permit CP-2024-002667 in its permit records, the Philadelphia Housing Authority's fiscal year 2027 plan, Unit Based Program page and payment standards (schedule effective November 1, 2025), the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency's 2026 income and rent limits, the lender's financing release (November 5, 2024), the architect's reports of the groundbreaking and ribbon cutting, and the builder's project page. The owner decides what is open and what it rents for; confirm there before you apply.

Apartments at Clearfield in numbers
  • 48one-bedroom apartments, all for people 62 and older
  • 48 of 48apartments PHA lists with its rent assistance attached
  • 26% to 30%of adjusted income, what PHA says tenants of such apartments pay
  • $42,950PHA's income limit for one person, 50% of area median income in 2026
  • June 2, 2026the grand opening
  • 0.2 milesto Allegheny station on Regional Rail
Four-story apartment building in red brick with tan vertical bands and a lighter sided wing with round windows, seen from a snow-covered corner under a blue sky
Apartments at Clearfield, 2033 W. Toronto Street in Allegheny West, Philadelphia, in a photograph from the owner's site. Photo: NewCourtland, owner's photograph, via NewCourtland (cropped).

What Apartments at Clearfield Is and Who Built It

Apartments at Clearfield is a new four-story building with 48 one-bedroom apartments for older adults, built by the nonprofit NewCourtland on a former industrial site and finished in April 2026.

  • Names: Apartments at Clearfield on the owner's site. The sign over the entrance, the architect, the builder and PHA all say Clearfield Apartments. The City's property record lists the owner as NewCourtland Apartments at Clearfield LP.
  • Address: 2033 W. Toronto Street, Philadelphia, PA 19132, on the owner's page, the permit and the property record (account 886000095). The building is named for Clearfield but its address is on Toronto Street.
  • Owner and partner: NewCourtland, with the Allegheny West Foundation.
  • Architect and builder: CBP Architects designed it. McDonald Building Company built it, according to the permit and the builder's own page.
  • Size: building permit CP-2024-002667, issued October 9, 2024, is for a four-story building with 48 dwelling units, ground-floor amenity spaces and a parking lot. The builder lists 47,250 square feet and says the project also includes 24,700 square feet of retail and commercial space.
  • Program: federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits, plus rent assistance from the Philadelphia Housing Authority (PHA) on every apartment. The lender, Berkadia, said in 2024 that "All 48 units will operate under a project based rental subsidy through the Faircloth to RAD program", and PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan lists the building the same way.
  • Financing: Berkadia reported a $13.6 million tax-credit equity investment on November 5, 2024. The total cost was not found.
2033 W. Toronto Street, from vacant lot to grand opening
  • March 27, 2024the City issues the zoning permit for the building.
  • October 9, 2024the City issues the building permit for four stories and 48 apartments.
  • November 5, 2024the lender announces $13.6 million in tax-credit equity.
  • November 8, 2024groundbreaking. NewCourtland says it expects residents "by the end of 2025".
  • April 27, 2026the City issues the certificate of occupancy.
  • June 2, 2026grand opening and ribbon cutting.
  • October 6, 2026the owner's page still reads "Opening in Spring of 2026" and tells applicants to call.

What it means: the building opened about half a year later than first planned, and the owner has not said how many apartments are still open.

Source: City of Philadelphia permit records for 2033 W. Toronto Street (zoning permit ZP-2023-001334, building permit CP-2024-002667); CBP Architects' journal, November 2024 and June 2026; NewCourtland; Berkadia.

Rendering of a long four-story building in red brick and pale siding beside a paved plaza with young trees and people walking
Rendering of the building and its plaza, from the owner's site. Photo: NewCourtland, owner's rendering, via NewCourtland (cropped).

Where 2033 W. Toronto Street Is

The building is in Allegheny West, in North Philadelphia, in ZIP code 19132 and City Council District 8, about two tenths of a mile from Allegheny station on Regional Rail.

Where the building sits
  • 19132the ZIP code on the owner's page and the City's property record
  • District 8the City Council district, whose member is Cindy Bass
  • Group 1PHA's payment-standard group for this ZIP code, its lowest
  • 0.2 milesstraight-line distance to Allegheny station, Manayunk/Norristown Line
  • 0.6 milesto Allegheny station on the Broad Street Line
  • Neighborhood name: the architect, the builder and PHA say Allegheny West. NewCourtland says North Philadelphia.
  • Council district: the City's 2024 district map puts the address in District 8, and Councilwoman Cindy Bass spoke at the groundbreaking and the opening.
  • Apartments nearby: see voucher apartments in Allegheny West and apartments near the Broad Street Line.

What the Rent Is and Who Qualifies

The owner has published no rent and no income table; what is on record is the lender's statement that every apartment is restricted to 20% to 50% of area median income, and PHA's rule that tenants of its assisted apartments pay 26% to 30% of adjusted income.

What 26% and 30% of income come to, dollars a month
Adjusted monthly incomeAt 26%At 30%
$900$234$270
$1,200$312$360
$1,500$390$450
$2,000$520$600
$3,000$780$900

What it means: these are illustrations, not quotes for this building. PHA works out adjusted income and the exact share for each household.

Source: arithmetic by VoucherMatch on PHA's statement that "UBV Program tenants pay between to 26-30% of their adjusted income for rent based on their family size or specific UBV program."

PHFA income limits for Philadelphia, effective May 1, 2026
Household20%30%50%
1 person$17,180$25,770$42,950
2 people$19,640$29,460$49,100

What it means: a single person earning more than $42,950 a year is over the limit. Berkadia's 2024 release says "All units will be income restricted from 20% to 50% AMI"; how many apartments sit at each level is not published.

Source: PHFA Low-Income Housing Tax Credit income and rent limits, report MTXR041, Philadelphia rows dated 5/01/2026. PHA's page says "The income limit is 50% of the Area Median Income (AMI) as established by HUD annually."

  • Utilities: the owner's page says "Utilities are included at no additional cost" and that apartments "are equipped with telephone, cable and internet service".
  • Minimum income: none is published. PHA's rent rule is a share of income, not a floor.
  • Age: the owner says the apartments are "for individuals aged 62 and over in Philadelphia".
  • Household size: all 48 apartments are one-bedrooms. An occupancy limit is not published.
  • Security deposit: PHA says "The owner sets the security deposit amount". NewCourtland has not published it.
Side of a four-story building with a blue brick section and round windows beside pale siding, with a white event tent set up in the parking lot
The parking-lot side of the building on the day of the grand opening, June 2, 2026. Photo: NewCourtland, owner's photograph, via NewCourtland (cropped and enlarged).

Do You Need a Voucher, and Can You Use One Here?

No voucher is needed: PHA's plan lists all 48 apartments with rent assistance attached to the apartment.

How PHA says apartment-based assistance works
  • It stays with the apartment"Under the UBV Program, the rental assistance is attached to the unit. If the family moves from the unit, the housing assistance remains with the unit."
  • Who screens youthe owner first. Then "the family is referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
  • How applicants are orderedowners select "according to date and time of application and the bedroom size required by the family."
  • PHA can refer people"PHA may also refer applicants to the Owner from PHA's HCV waiting list."
  • In PHA's planClearfield Apartments, 48 units, "New construction in Allegheny West sponsored by New Courtland."

What it means: PHA's own voucher waiting list has been closed since its 2023 lottery, so a building like this one is a way to get rent set by income without holding a voucher first.

Source: PHA, Unit Based Program overview, read October 6, 2026, and PHA's fiscal year 2027 plan. UBV is PHA's name for project-based vouchers.

Tax-credit maximum rent for a one-bedroom in Philadelphia, 2026, against PHA's payment standard for ZIP code 19132, dollars a month
Program maximum rent, 1 bedroomPHA payment standard, Group 1
View the data table
Income levelProgram maximum rent, 1 bedroomPHA payment standard, Group 1
20%$460$1,190
30%$690$1,190
40%$920$1,190
50%$1,150$1,190

What it means: even the highest ceiling a PHA-assisted apartment could carry, $1,150, is $40 under what PHA counts for an ordinary one-bedroom in this ZIP code.

Source: maximums from PHFA's 2026 table, rent and utilities together; payment standard from PHA's schedule effective November 1, 2025, which puts ZIP code 19132 in Group 1. The maximums are the tax-credit program's ceilings, not this building's rents, which are not published.

  • If you already hold a PHA voucher: the owner has not said how that is handled. Because the assistance here belongs to the apartment, ask PHA what happens to your voucher before you accept one.
  • You cannot be turned away for holding a voucher: federal tax-credit law bars an owner from refusing a voucher holder "because of the status of the prospective tenant as such a holder", and Philadelphia's Fair Practices Ordinance counts "the Housing Choice Voucher (sometimes referred to as "Section 8") Program" as a protected source of income.
  • A different PHA table covers project-based apartments: a citywide fair market rent of $1,558 for a one-bedroom from October 1, 2026.
  • PHA's schedule is due to change: HUD's new figures took effect October 1, 2026, and PHA had not posted a new schedule by October 6, 2026. See how much Section 8 pays in Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Housing Authority page.

How the Program Maximums Compare With Rents in ZIP Code 19132

Every tax-credit ceiling for a one-bedroom at or under the 50% level is below HUD's estimate of an ordinary one-bedroom rent in ZIP code 19132, which is $1,220.

Tax-credit maximum rent for a one-bedroom in Philadelphia, 2026, against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 19132, dollars a month
Program maximum rent, 1 bedroomHUD fair market rent, ZIP 19132
View the data table
Income levelProgram maximum rent, 1 bedroomHUD fair market rent, ZIP 19132
20%$460$1,220
30%$690$1,220
40%$920$1,220
50%$1,150$1,220

What it means: the 50% ceiling is $70 under HUD's figure, and a tenant here pays by income, not at the ceiling.

Source: maximums from PHFA's 2026 table; HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. Both columns include utilities.

Who Gets Priority, Building Features and Transit

The published rule is age: the apartments are for people 62 and older, and no neighborhood or residency preference is published.

Priority and set-asides on record
  • Age62 and older, on the owner's page.
  • Accessible apartmentssix set aside for people with mobility disabilities and two for people with vision or hearing disabilities, according to the lender's release. The builder also counts six accessible apartments.
  • PHA referralsPHA may refer applicants from its own waiting list.
  • Neighborhood preferencenone published.
In the building, and what is not stated
  • Includedutilities, a fully equipped kitchen, central air conditioning and heating, and telephone, cable and internet service in the apartment.
  • Shared spacesa lobby, a community room with a kitchen that opens onto a plaza, a management office on the first floor and laundry on site.
  • Servicesthe owner lists "Access to supportive services, including InnovAge LIFE" and emergency call stations on the property.
  • Parkingthe owner's page says "Ample onsite parking". The number of spaces is not published.
  • Not statedthe pet policy, whether laundry is free, and whether a parking space costs extra.

What it means: with utilities and internet in the rent, the rent figure is close to the whole monthly housing cost.

Source: NewCourtland's property page; McDonald Building Company's project page; building permit CP-2024-002667.

People standing in a parking lot in front of a four-story brick and sided apartment building, with a white tent at the right
Guests outside the building at the grand opening on June 2, 2026. Photo: NewCourtland, owner's photograph, via NewCourtland (cropped and enlarged).
StationLineStraight-line distance
AlleghenyRegional Rail, Manayunk/Norristown Lineabout 0.2 miles
North PhiladelphiaRegional Rail, Chestnut Hill West and Trenton linesabout 0.5 miles
AlleghenyBroad Street Line (B)about 0.6 miles
North PhiladelphiaBroad Street Line (B)about 0.7 miles

What it means: a Regional Rail stop is the closest station, and the Broad Street Line is a little over half a mile away.

Source: station coordinates from SEPTA's open data; distances calculated by VoucherMatch in a straight line from 2033 W. Toronto Street, so the walk is longer.

How to Apply for Apartments at Clearfield

You apply by calling the owner: its page says "If you'd like to submit an application, please call 888-530-4913."

Applying to Apartments at Clearfield
  1. 1Call NewCourtland888-530-4913. The owner's page gives no online form and no application to download. Its email is info@NewCourtland.org.
  2. 2Ask what is openwhether an apartment is available now or the list is a waiting list, and when you applied in relation to others.
  3. 3Ask for the date and time on your applicationPHA says owners of these apartments select by date and time of application.
  4. 4Complete the owner's screeningNewCourtland sets its own criteria, which PHA reviews.
  5. 5Complete PHA's screeningthe owner refers you to PHA, which checks income eligibility.
What PHA says happens after you apply
  • Firstthe owner places you on its own waiting list. "Owners of UBV developments maintain their own waiting list."
  • When your turn comesthe owner screens you. PHA lists typical criteria as "Payment history of rent and utility bills", criminal background checks and home visits.
  • Thenyou are "referred to PHA for eligibility screening for the HCV program, including income eligibility."
  • At move-inthe owner sets the security deposit, which PHA says "must be in compliance with State and Philadelphia landlord-tenant laws."

What it means: two organizations check you, the owner and then PHA, so have your income papers ready for both.

Source: PHA, Unit Based Program overview. NewCourtland has not published its own steps, fees or waiting time.

What to have ready
  • Proof of age. a birth certificate or ID showing you are 62 or older
  • Photo ID and Social Security card.
  • Income. award letters for Social Security, SSI or a pension, and pay stubs if you work
  • Bank statements.
  • Rent and utility payment history. PHA names it as a typical screening item
  • Your current landlord's contact.

Source: this list is VoucherMatch's, built from PHA's screening criteria; the owner has not published a document list. Ask NewCourtland for its own when you call.

Watch outPhiladelphia law caps a background or credit check fee at its actual cost or $50, whichever is less, and allows one fee per applicant in 12 months. The owner has not published an application fee.

What Is Known and What Is Not Yet Published

The records settle the building's size, who it is for and that PHA assistance is attached; the owner has published almost nothing about rent or availability.

Known and not yet known, as of October 6, 2026
  • Known48 one-bedroom apartments for people 62 and older, finished in April 2026 and opened on June 2, 2026.
  • Knownall 48 have PHA rent assistance attached and are restricted to 20% to 50% of area median income; PHA says tenants of such apartments pay 26% to 30% of adjusted income.
  • Knownutilities are included, and applications are taken by phone.
  • Not publishedany rent figure, or how many apartments sit at each income level.
  • Not publishedhow many apartments are still open, and how long the waiting list is.
  • Not publishedthe application form, fees, deposit, pet policy and parking cost.
  • Not publishedthe project's total cost.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

The owner has not said what is open, so keep other options moving while you wait for a call back.

Philadelphia apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Apartments at Clearfield first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the building above. See all Philadelphia listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Apartments at Clearfield taking applications?

The owner's page tells applicants to call 888-530-4913. It does not say whether apartments are open now or whether callers join a waiting list. The grand opening was June 2, 2026.

How much is rent at Apartments at Clearfield?

No rent is published. PHA lists all 48 apartments with its rent assistance, and says tenants of such apartments pay 26% to 30% of adjusted income. Utilities are included.

How much can you earn and still qualify for Apartments at Clearfield?

PHA's income limit for assisted apartments is 50% of area median income. In 2026 that is $42,950 for one person and $49,100 for two.

Does Apartments at Clearfield take Section 8?

No voucher is needed: PHA's plan lists all 48 apartments with rent assistance attached. The owner has not said how a household that already holds a voucher is handled.

Is Apartments at Clearfield the same as Clearfield Apartments?

Yes. NewCourtland's site says Apartments at Clearfield. The sign on the building, the architect, the builder and PHA say Clearfield Apartments. Both are 2033 W. Toronto Street.

Do you have to be 62 to live at Apartments at Clearfield?

Yes. The owner says the apartments are for individuals aged 62 and over in Philadelphia.

Are utilities included at Apartments at Clearfield?

Yes, according to the owner's page: "Utilities are included at no additional cost." It also lists telephone, cable and internet service in the apartments.

Sources for this article (12)
  1. Apartments at Clearfield page (newcourtland.org)
  2. grand opening report (newcourtland.org)
  3. permit records (opendataphilly.org)
  4. fiscal year 2027 plan (pha.phila.gov)
  5. Unit Based Program page (pha.phila.gov)
  6. payment standards (pha.phila.gov)
  7. 2026 income and rent limits (phfa.org)
  8. financing release (berkadia.com)
  9. groundbreaking (cbparchitects.com)
  10. ribbon cutting (cbparchitects.com)
  11. project page (mcdonaldbc.com)
  12. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in Philadelphia →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.