Skip to page content

AURA, 23-10 42nd Road, Long Island City: 27 Affordable Apartments Re-Offered on Housing Connect, From $2,890 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAURA at 23-10 42nd Road is a new 35-story building with 240 apartments in Long Island City, Queens. Its first Housing Connect lottery, 5411, offered 72 apartments at 130% AMI and was due February 4, 2025. A second listing, "AURA - Units Still Available" (lottery 7418), offered 27 studios and one-bedrooms from $2,890 to $3,655 a month. Those applications were due February 25, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application.

Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listings for lottery 7418 and lottery 5411, their rent tables and the site's open-lottery search, each read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for job Q00548195, older job filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 76341); the City's lottery data by lottery and by building; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Queens block 428, lot 19; City Planning's address search; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; Fogarty Finger's project page; the leasing site AURA LIC; 6sqft (December 5, 2024); and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

AURA in numbers
  • 240apartments in the building, per its permit and certificates
  • 72apartments in the first lottery, due February 4, 2025
  • 27apartments in the "Units Still Available" lottery
  • $2,890the lowest rent in the 2026 listing, for a studio
  • $104,023the lowest yearly income that listing accepts without a voucher
  • February 25, 2026the deadline for the second lottery

What it means: both lotteries are past their deadlines.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7418 and 5411, read October 24, 2026; Department of Buildings job Q00548195 and its certificates of occupancy.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of the lower floors of a pale stone-colored tower with tall window bays, a glass lobby under a canopy marked 23-10 42nd Rd, trees and parked cars along a wet street, people with umbrellas, and an elevated subway train on a green steel structure at right
Rendering of AURA at 23-10 42nd Road from the street, by the architect, Fogarty Finger. Photo: Fogarty Finger (architect; rendering), architect's published project rendering; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Fogarty Finger, Aura project page (the 3000 x 2306 original cropped to its lower 3000 x 1688 (16:9) and reduced to 1600 x 900 (not enlarged)).

What Was Built at AURA, 23-10 42nd Road

AURA is a new 35-story rental tower with 240 apartments at 23-10 42nd Road. Its final certificate of occupancy is dated June 4, 2026.

  • Names: both lotteries use "AURA". The second is "AURA - Units Still Available". HPD's production data calls the project "23-10 42ND ROAD APARTMENTS". The listings write the address as "23-10 42 ROAD" and "23-10 42nd Rd".
  • Permit: job Q00548195 describes a "New thirty-five story building" of 386 feet, 240 apartments and 232,021 square feet.
  • Owner: PLUTO and the property records name 42nd Road LIC Property Owner LLC. The new-building filing names Werwaiss & Company, Inc. in its owner field.
  • Architect: the filing's applicant firm is Fogarty Finger LLC. Fogarty Finger's page names its client as "Werwaiss Properties + Albanese Organization".
  • Builder: 6sqft reported that Suffolk Construction was the general contractor.
  • HPD's count: 72 "middle income" apartments out of 240: 25 studios, 34 one-bedrooms and 13 two-bedrooms.
Rendering of a slim pale tower between two taller glass towers, rising behind a lower base with planted terraces, with an elevated subway train crossing in front and a highway ramp at right
Rendering of the full AURA tower between its neighbors, by Fogarty Finger. The permit lists 35 stories and 386 feet. Photo: Fogarty Finger (architect; rendering), architect's published project rendering; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Fogarty Finger, Aura project page (the 2143 x 2856 portrait original reduced to 675 x 900 and placed on a plain light gray (#eeeeee) 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).
AURA, from the permit filing to the second lottery
  • July 15, 2021the new-building job is filed.
  • July 13, 2022the job is approved.
  • March 1, 2023the first permit is issued.
  • March 6, 2023a $110,000,000 loan agreement is dated in the property records.
  • November 22, 2024 to February 4, 2025the first lottery, 5411, takes applications.
  • February 21, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • January 12 to February 25, 2026lottery 7418 takes applications.
  • June 4, 2026the final certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows both lotteries in "Tenant Selection".

What it means: the first lottery closed 17 days before the first certificate of occupancy.

Source: Department of Buildings job Q00548195 and certificate records; ACRIS, Queens block 428, lot 19; the City's lottery data.

Where the records differ on the building
  • First deadlinethe 2025 listing and the City's data say February 4, 2025. 6sqft wrote on December 5, 2024 that applications were accepted "until January 24, 2025".
  • Program typethe City's building data lists lottery 5411 as "New Construction" and lottery 7418 as "Preservation". HPD's production data says "New Construction".
  • Floor area232,021 square feet in the permit, 229,971 in PLUTO and "235,000 SF" on Fogarty Finger's page.
  • Year builtPLUTO says 2022. The first certificate of occupancy came in 2025.
  • Zoningolder alteration filings say M1-5/R9. PLUTO says M1-6/R10, in the Long Island City special district.

What it means: this report prints each figure with its source.

Source: the records named.

The Program the Listings Name

Both listings say: "This building is anticipated to receive a Tax exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive Program". The 2026 listing's short description reads "421a(16), 27 units at 130%".

421-a(16) in HPD's words
  • 421-a"The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI". HPD lists other options too.
  • Shared spacesthe affordable units "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units".

What it means: neither listing names an option. No document opened says which applies or that the exemption was granted.

Source: HPD's 421-a page, section "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program", read October 24, 2026.

Where AURA Is

AURA is in Long Island City, Queens, in ZIP code 11101. It is in Queens Community District 2 and City Council District 26.

The location in the records
  • Long Island CityCity Planning's address search. The Buildings records name the area "Long Island City-Hunters Point".
  • The lotQueens block 428, lot 19.
  • Nearby, per the 2026 listingDutch Kills Green, Queensbridge Park, Murray Playground and the 108th Precinct.

What it means: ZIP code 11101 is in every record.

Source: the records named and the Housing Connect listings.

Subway stations nearest AURA, straight-line distance
StationDaytime linesDistanceAccessible
Queensboro Plaza7, N, Wabout 0.13 milesYes
Court Sq-23 StE, Fabout 0.24 milesManhattan-bound only
Court Sq7, Gabout 0.26 milesYes
21 St-QueensbridgeMabout 0.27 milesYes
Queens PlazaE, F, Rabout 0.30 milesYes
39 Av-Dutch KillsN, Wabout 0.55 milesNo

What it means: the listing names some lines differently; this table uses the MTA's data.

Source: the MTA's station data, read October 24, 2026; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the 2026 listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

Photograph of the two-level Queensboro Plaza elevated station on green steel, with subway trains on the upper level, a planted median and bike lane in front, a crosswalk and new towers behind
Queensboro Plaza station, about 0.13 miles from the listing's map point, served by the 7, N and W. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Photo: Tdorante10 (Wikimedia Commons), CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (the 4608 x 2184 original cropped to a centered 3883 x 2184 (16:9) and reduced to 1600 x 900 (not enlarged)).
  • Buses: the listing names a stop at 21 St and Queens Plaza North, about 0.17 miles away.
  • Rail: it names the Hunters Point Avenue rail station, about 0.62 miles away.
  • Parks: Dutch Kills Green is about 0.31 miles from the listing's map point.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 7 train and the N train.

Two Housing Connect Lotteries for 130% AMI Apartments at AURA

Every lottery apartment at AURA is at 130% AMI. The first lottery had 72 apartments. The "Units Still Available" lottery had 27 studios and one-bedrooms.

Apartments in each Housing Connect lottery for AURA, by size
Lottery 5411 (2025)Lottery 7418 (2026)
View the data table
Apartment sizeLottery 5411 (2025)Lottery 7418 (2026)
Studio2521
One-bedroom346
Two-bedroom130

What it means: no two-bedroom was offered again.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 5411 and 7418, counted by VoucherMatch from their unit rows, read October 24, 2026. The City's lottery data gives the same counts.

Key pointthe 2026 listing is named "AURA - Units Still Available." So, by its name, these apartments were still available after the first lottery. It does not say why, or how many people applied.
Rendering at dusk of a two-story glass lobby with a metal canopy over sliding doors, lit wood and textured walls inside, seating with drawn figures, and people walking on the sidewalk
Rendering of the AURA entrance and lobby on 42nd Road, by Fogarty Finger. Both listings name an accessible entrance. Photo: Fogarty Finger (architect; rendering), architect's published project rendering; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Fogarty Finger, Aura project page (the 3000 x 2000 original cropped to its lower 3000 x 1688 (16:9) and reduced to 1600 x 900 (not enlarged)).

Rents and Income Ranges at AURA on Housing Connect

In the 2026 listing, studios rent for $2,890 to $3,190 a month, and one-bedrooms for $3,655. Households of one to three people earning about $104,000 to $198,510 a year fit, by size.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
7 studios$2,8901 to 2$104,023 to $176,410
9 studios$2,9901 to 2$107,452 to $176,410
5 studios$3,1901 to 2$113,795 to $176,410
6 one-bedrooms$3,6551 to 3$130,320 to $198,510

What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household. The rent table lists an asset limit of $220,480.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7418, due February 25, 2026, read October 24, 2026.

Where the 2026 listing contradicts itself
  • $2,890 studiosthe unit list has 7. The rent table says 8.
  • Totalthe unit list and the description say 27 apartments. The rent table adds up to 28.
  • One-bedroom minimumone unit row says $130,320 and five say $130,938. The rent table says $130,320.

What it means: ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, which figure applies.

Source: Housing Connect listing and rent table for lottery 7418.

The first lottery, 5411, due February 4, 2025
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
17 studios$3,4231 to 2$117,360 to $176,410
8 studios$3,4341 to 2$117,738 to $176,410
29 one-bedrooms$3,6611 to 3$125,520 to $198,510
5 one-bedrooms$3,6741 to 3$125,966 to $198,510
13 two-bedrooms$4,3762 to 5$150,035 to $238,160

What it means: the 2026 studio rents are $233 to $544 lower than the 2025 ones.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 5411, read October 24, 2026.

Household sizeMaximum yearly incomeSizes open to it in 2026
1 person$154,440Studio, one-bedroom
2 people$176,410Studio, one-bedroom
3 people$198,510One-bedroom
4 people$220,480None (two-bedroom in 2025)
5 people$238,160None (two-bedroom in 2025)

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: both listings give the same maximums.

The gaps a household could fall into in lottery 7418
  • One or two peopleunder $104,023 a year, the lowest studio minimum, without a voucher.
  • Three peopleunder $130,320, the one-bedroom minimum.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in the 2026 listing takes them.
  • Assetsboth rent tables list an asset limit of $220,480.

What it means: the Housing Connect FAQ says households with a voucher skip the minimum.

Source: VoucherMatch's reading of the listing's incomes; asset limits from the rent tables.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

No rent in either lottery fits under its 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The lowest, a $2,890 studio, is $286 over the $2,604 studio maximum before utility allowances.

These were city lotteries on NYC Housing Connect, and both listings name HPD as the agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest rent at AURA against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by size, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,890$3,434$2,604
One-bedroom$3,655$3,674$2,734
Two-bedroom$4,376$4,376$2,997

What it means: the one-bedrooms are $921 to $940 over, and the 2025 two-bedrooms were $1,379 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7418 and 5411; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which calls them the amounts "if all utilities are included in the lease".

The 2026 listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric heat for one-bedroom units with rent of $3,655 and studios with rent of $3,190. Tenants residing in all other units are responsible for electricity, including stove and heat." So VoucherMatch subtracts the DSS-8r rows that match each group.

ApartmentMaximum less allowancesRentGap
$2,890 studio$2,441$2,890$449 over
$3,190 studio$2,456$3,190$734 over
$3,655 one-bedroom$2,564$3,655$1,091 over

What it means: the $2,990 studios are $549 over. DSS decides which allowances apply.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowances: "Electric with Cooking Range" ($111) and "Electric Heat Only" ($52) for the $2,890 and $2,990 studios; "Electric" ($96 studio, $108 one-bedroom) and "Electric Heat Only" ($52, $62) for the others; subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11101

Every studio and one-bedroom rent here is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11101. The 2025 two-bedroom rent of $4,376 was $196 above HUD's $4,180.

Lowest and highest rent at AURA against HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11101, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 11101
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 11101
Studio$2,890$3,434$3,650
One-bedroom$3,655$3,674$3,840
Two-bedroom$4,376$4,376$4,180

What it means: the $2,890 studios are $760 below HUD's figure, and the $3,655 one-bedrooms $185 below. HUD's figures include most utilities, and tenants here pay electricity and heat.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listings; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.

How AURA Was Financed

Property records show private loans. The largest is a $130,000,000 agreement with Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company, from July 2026. No document in the index names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as lender.

DateDocumentLenderAmount
March 6, 2023Mortgages and agreementAIG Asset Management (U.S.), LLC$35,327,423; $74,672,577; $110,000,000
July 14, 2026AssignmentsCorebridge and AIG to MassMutualnone stated
July 14, 2026Mortgage and agreementMassachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company$21,100,000; $130,000,000

What it means: 6sqft reported a "$131 million construction loan" in March 2023, "arranged through Corebridge Financial and PCCP LLC". The recorded agreement that month is $110,000,000.

Source: ACRIS, Queens block 428, lot 19, document dates.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at AURA

Neither listing names a preference group or a set-aside. Both say tenants pay electricity and that several shared spaces cost extra.

Preferences in the listings
  • Community board, City employees, veteransnone named in either listing.
  • Disability set-asidesnone named.
  • What the FAQ saysthe community preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: ask the hotline before counting on a preference here.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7418 and 5411; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • In the apartments"Washers and dryers in units" (2026 listing only), a dishwasher, air-conditioning and hardwood floors.
  • In the buildingan elevator, an accessible entrance, a gym, a rooftop terrace, a shared laundry room and an on-site resident manager. Both listings call the building "Smoke-free".
  • Extra cost"Fees apply for the following amenities: Dog Washing Station, Garage, storage, fitness center, lounge, yoga & personal training studio and terraces."
  • Fees to applyeach listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedthe fee amounts, pets, apartment sizes and bathrooms.

What it means: ask the marketing agent what each fee costs.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7418 and 5411.

Stove: the listing and the leasing site differ
  • 2026 listingmost tenants pay for "electricity, including stove and heat".
  • Leasing siteit lists "gas ranges in most units".

What it means: the leasing site covers every apartment, not only lottery ones. Ask which stove an apartment has.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7418; AURA LIC residences page, read October 24, 2026.

Photograph of a shaded park path with stone pavers, small trees, concrete benches and a trash can, a paved bike path at right and the elevated subway structure in the distance
Dutch Kills Green, a park the 2026 listing names nearby, about 0.31 miles from the listing's map point. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Photo: Tdorante10 (Wikimedia Commons), CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (the 5472 x 3648 original cropped to a centered 5472 x 3078 (16:9) and reduced to 1600 x 900 (not enlarged)).
Watch outVoucherMatch left out every photo and rendering in both Housing Connect listings and on the leasing site, checked October 24, 2026. One leasing-site image carries content credentials for an Adobe Firefly composite, and most listing photos match leasing-site images. The listing's amenity renderings carry a design studio's mark. The images here are the architect's renderings and two public photos of the area.

What Happens After the AURA Housing Connect Lotteries and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for lottery 7418 were due February 25, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, both AURA lotteries are in "Tenant Selection".

How the apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4Timing"It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."

What it means: the data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limit. the rent tables list $220,480
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listings' rent tables.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 24, 2026
  • Housing Connectneither lottery was among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search. No newer AURA listing was found there or in the City's lottery data.
  • Paper route in 2026under "Apply by Mail", Housing Connect said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" AURA C/O Iafford NY 365 Flushing ave, Brooklyn, NY 11205. The 2025 address was AURA C/O iAfford NY LLC, 141 Flushing Ave, Building 77, Suite #1201A. Neither listing gives a return address or postmark rule.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental page did not name AURA.

What it means: as of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for AURA.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (four Queens rentals; its borough count said three); the City's lottery data; the listings; HDC.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About AURA

The rents, incomes, deadlines and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 24, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments are leased, why 27 were offered again, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not settledthe 2026 unit counts and one-bedroom minimum, and which stove the lottery apartments have.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and which option applies.
  • Not nameda marketing agent. Both paper addresses are "C/O" iAfford NY.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listings and FAQ; the records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No AURA application is open, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Queens now: Housing Connect's search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026; 42-78 65 Place, due November 2; DOMI, due November 10; and 6-05 129th Street, due November 11.
Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to AURA first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was AURA at 23-10 42nd Road on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes, twice. Lottery 5411, "AURA", offered 72 apartments and was due February 4, 2025. Lottery 7418, "AURA - Units Still Available", offered 27 studios and one-bedrooms and was due February 25, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, neither was in the open-lottery search.

What is the rent at AURA in Long Island City?

In the 2026 listing, studios rent for $2,890, $2,990 or $3,190 a month, and one-bedrooms for $3,655, all at 130% AMI. The 2025 lottery listed studios at $3,423 and $3,434, one-bedrooms at $3,661 and $3,674, and two-bedrooms at $4,376. Tenants pay electricity and heat.

How much do you have to earn for AURA?

Without a voucher, at least $104,023 a year for the cheapest 2026 studio and $130,320 for a one-bedroom. The top is $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two and $198,510 for three. Households of four or more fit no apartment in the 2026 listing. Voucher holders skip the minimum.

Does AURA take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but the rent must fit the voucher. Every AURA rent is over its 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The lowest, a $2,890 studio, is $286 over the $2,604 studio maximum, and $449 over after utility allowances. NYCHA and HPD set their own Section 8 limits, so ask your agency first.

Are the rents at AURA below market?

By HUD's figures, mostly yes. Every studio and one-bedroom rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 11101: $3,650 for a studio and $3,840 for a one-bedroom. The 2025 two-bedrooms, at $4,376, were $196 above HUD's $4,180. HUD's figures include most utilities; tenants here pay electricity and heat.

What does "Units Still Available" mean at AURA?

It is the name of the second listing, lottery 7418. It offered 27 studios and one-bedrooms after the first lottery, 5411, was due February 4, 2025. The listing does not say why they were offered again. The City's data, updated October 5, 2026, lists both lotteries in "Tenant Selection".

Is 23-10 42nd Road the same building as AURA?

Yes. Both Housing Connect lotteries named AURA list 23-10 42nd Road, Long Island City, ZIP code 11101. HPD's production data calls the project "23-10 42ND ROAD APARTMENTS", and the leasing site, AURA LIC, gives the same address. It is a 35-story building with 240 apartments, per its permit.

Sources for this article (22)
  1. lottery 7418 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. lottery 5411 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  5. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  6. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  7. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  8. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. by lottery (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. by building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  16. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  17. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  18. project page (fogartyfinger.com)
  19. AURA LIC (aura-lic.com)
  20. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  21. station data (data.ny.gov)
  22. re-rental page (nychdc.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.