Morris Heights and University Heights Housing Lottery: 30 Apartments at 1647 Popham Avenue and Three More Bronx Buildings, From $732 a Month, Applications Due November 18, 2026
Quick answerAs of October 17, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7625, "MORRIS HEIGHTS/UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS", with 30 apartments in four new Bronx buildings: 1647 Popham Avenue, 30 West 182nd Street, 2275 Loring Place North and 844 Faile Street in Hunts Point. Rents run from $732 to $2,390 a month. The deadline is November 18, 2026, but the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search that day. Voucher holders do not have to meet the minimum income, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 17, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7625 and open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ and CityFHEPS form DSS-8r. Read October 8, 2026: HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing, its Neighborhood Construction Program page and term sheet; Department of Buildings filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 67768); PLUTO and ACRIS records; the City Planning Commission's report of August 24, 2022 and City Planning's project record, with HPD's project description, drawings and environmental review; the Bronx Borough President's recommendation of July 15, 2022; the City Record of October 5, 2022; the MTA's station data; the developer's website; and Bronx Times reports of December 2020 and June 2022. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 30apartments in the listing on October 17, 2026
- 4buildings, one of them in Hunts Point, about 2.8 miles from 1647 Popham Avenue
- Nov. 18the 2026 application deadline in the listing
- $732the lowest rent, for two one-bedrooms at 30 West 182nd Street
- $2,390the highest rent, for four two-bedrooms at 70% AMI
- $29,418the lowest yearly income that qualifies without a voucher
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (the City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement)a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 1647 Popham Avenue and the Other Three Addresses
Four new buildings with 41 apartments between them stand behind this lottery. Department of Buildings data shows a first certificate of occupancy for each, issued between February 3 and March 24, 2026.
- Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "MORRIS HEIGHTS/UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS" and sums it up in one word, "NCP". City Planning filed two of the sites as Morris Heights NCP. The drawings say Morrisania - Morris Heights Cluster.
- What NCP means: the listing names HPD's Neighborhood Construction Program. HPD's page says the program "funds the new construction of infill rental housing".
- Developer: HPD's environmental review names Neighborhood Infill Partners LLC. The Bronx Times reported in June 2022 that it is a joint venture of Sandra Erickson Real Estate Inc. and JCAL Development Group LLC.
- Architect and builder: the permits name John Coogan of OCV Architects and JCAL Construction LLC. JCAL's website calls that firm its "in-house general contracting arm".
| What the records show | 1647 Popham Ave | 30 W 182nd St | 2275 Loring Pl N | 844 Faile St |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neighborhood | Morris Heights | University Heights | University Heights | Hunts Point |
| ZIP code | 10453 | 10453 | 10468 | 10474 |
| Community board | Bronx 5 | Bronx 5 | Bronx 7 | Bronx 2 |
| Between | W. 175th and W. 176th Sts | Davidson and Grand Aves | W. 183rd St and W. Fordham Rd | Seneca and Lafayette Aves |
| Stories in the permit | 6 | 7 | 3 | 4 |
| Height in the permit | 60 feet | 70 feet | 30 feet | 42 feet |
| Apartments in the permit | 17 | 11 | 6 | 7 |
| Apartments in the listing, October 17, 2026 | 6 | 11 | 6 | 7 |
| On the lot before | Apartment building of 1937, demolished 1983 | House of about 1904, demolished 1983 | Building demolished 2008 | Two-family house demolished 2009 |
| Building application filed | Jan. 31, 2023 | Jan. 30, 2023 | Feb. 9, 2023 | March 23, 2023 |
| First general construction permit | Nov. 2, 2023 | Oct. 13, 2023 | Oct. 25, 2023 | Oct. 10, 2023 |
| First certificate of occupancy | March 9, 2026 | March 13, 2026 | Feb. 3, 2026 | March 24, 2026 |
| Buildings job number | X08029229 | X08030027 | X08030377 | X00846703 |
| Development cost in the 2022 plan | $12 million | $7.8 million | not given | not given |
What it means: all four are new buildings with certificates of occupancy, each renewed since.
Source: Department of Buildings data; the City's address search; HPD's project description and Environmental Assessment Statement of 2022; the Borough President's recommendation, for the costs; Housing Connect on October 17, 2026.
- 1647 Popham Avenuethe largest building, with 17 apartments, but only six two-bedrooms in the lottery.
- 30 West 182nd Streetthe most lottery apartments, 11, the only $732 rents and the closest subway station.
- 2275 Loring Place Northsix two-bedrooms and nothing else.
- 844 Faile Streetthe only three-bedroom, and the only building outside the west Bronx.

| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Floors at 30 West 182nd Street | Buildings filing: "CONSTRUCTION OF A 7-STORY RESIDENTIAL NEW BUILDING." | HPD's 2022 description: "approximately six stories". The listing labels its plans first floor and "2nd-6th floor" |
| Address of the Loring Place building | Listing, permit and certificate of occupancy: 2275 Loring Place North | HPD's production data: 2257 Loring Place North, a lot the City's records show as a two-family house built in 1901 |
| Apartments at 1647 Popham Avenue | Permit and HPD's data: 17 | Listing on October 17, 2026: 6, all two-bedrooms |
| Largest project the program funds | HPD's program page: "up to 30 units" | HPD's term sheet, updated June 2016: "up to 45 units" |
| Year HPD asked developers to apply | HPD's project description: 2014 | Bronx Times, December 2020: 2015 |
What it means: search for 2275 Loring Place North, and check the listing's counts again before you apply.
Source: Department of Buildings job X08030027; HPD's project description, production data (project 67768), program page and term sheet; PLUTO; Housing Connect; the Bronx Times.
- September 5, 2018the Faile Street and Loring Place lots are deeded to Neighborhood Restore Housing Development Fund Corporation.
- August 24, 2022the City Planning Commission approves the sale of the City-owned lots at 1647 Popham Avenue and 30 West 182nd Street. City Planning's record shows the City Council's review finished, "Adopted", on October 27, 2022.
- August 24, 2023all four lots are deeded to HP Morris Heights NCP Housing Development Fund Company, and its mortgages are signed.
- October 10 to November 2, 2023the first general construction permits are issued.
- February 3 to March 24, 2026the first certificates of occupancy are issued.
- November 18, 2026applications are due, according to the listing.
What it means: HPD's 2022 summary allowed "Approximately 24 months from closing to completion of construction". The first certificates came 29 to 31 months after the closing, by VoucherMatch's count.
Source: ACRIS; the City Planning Commission's report and project record; Department of Buildings data; the listing.
Watch outthe listing has changed. On October 8, 2026, it showed 40 and then 38 apartment records, with a deadline of October 27. On October 17, it showed 30 apartments and a deadline of November 18, 2026. The eight 1647 Popham Avenue apartments at $2,072 and $2,322 are no longer in it.
Where the Four Buildings Are
Three of the buildings are within about a mile of each other in Morris Heights and University Heights. The fourth, 844 Faile Street, is in Hunts Point, 2.8 to 3.2 miles from the others in a straight line.
| Straight-line distance | To 30 West 182nd St | To 2275 Loring Pl N | To 844 Faile St |
|---|---|---|---|
| From 1647 Popham Avenue | about 1.0 miles | about 1.0 miles | about 2.8 miles |
| From 30 West 182nd Street | same building | about 0.3 miles | about 2.9 miles |
| From 2275 Loring Place North | about 0.3 miles | same building | about 3.2 miles |
What it means: one lottery covers apartments in Hunts Point and in the west Bronx. The listing does not say whether an applicant can choose a building.
Source: the four map points in the Housing Connect listing; distances by VoucherMatch.
The Popham Avenue and West 182nd Street lots belonged to the City. HPD's review says the other two were among three that "had previously been the subjects of City dispositions to developers that have failed to develop the properties".

Rents and Income Limits for 1647 Popham Avenue and the Other Buildings on Housing Connect
The listing has rents from $732 to $2,390 a month. The rent depends on the building as well as the size of the apartment.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 one-bedrooms, 30% AMI | $732 | 1 to 3 | $29,418 to $45,810 | 30 West 182nd St |
| 9 one-bedrooms, 50% AMI | $1,369 | 1 to 3 | $51,258 to $76,350 | 5 at 844 Faile St, 4 at 30 West 182nd St |
| 5 one-bedrooms, 70% AMI | $2,005 | 1 to 3 | $73,063 to $106,890 | 4 at 30 West 182nd St, 1 at 844 Faile St |
| 9 two-bedrooms, 50% AMI | $1,627 | 2 to 5 | $61,509 to $91,600 | 4 at 1647 Popham Ave, 4 at 2275 Loring Pl N, 1 at 30 West 182nd St |
| 4 two-bedrooms, 70% AMI | $2,390 | 2 to 5 | $87,669 to $128,240 | 2 at 1647 Popham Ave, 2 at 2275 Loring Pl N |
| 1 three-bedroom, 50% AMI | $1,863 | 3 to 7 | $71,040 to $105,200 | 844 Faile St |
What it means: the apartment records and the listing's rent table now match, row for row.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7625, read October 17, 2026; counts by VoucherMatch from its 30 apartment records. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
View the data table
| Building | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms | 3 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1647 Popham Avenue | 0 | 6 | 0 |
| 30 West 182nd Street | 10 | 1 | 0 |
| 2275 Loring Place North | 0 | 6 | 0 |
| 844 Faile Street | 6 | 0 | 1 |
What it means: all 16 one-bedrooms are at 30 West 182nd Street and 844 Faile Street. The only three-bedroom is in Hunts Point.
Source: the same listing; counts by VoucherMatch.
| Household size | 30% AMI maximum | 50% AMI maximum | 70% AMI maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $35,640 | $59,400 | $83,160 |
| 2 people | $40,710 | $67,850 | $94,990 |
| 3 people | $45,810 | $76,350 | $106,890 |
| 4 people | not offered | $84,800 | $118,720 |
| 5 people | not offered | $91,600 | $128,240 |
| 6 people | not offered | $98,400 | not offered |
| 7 people | not offered | $105,200 | not offered |
What it means: yearly income before taxes has to be at or under the figure. Six or seven people can apply only for the three-bedroom at 844 Faile Street.
Source: the listing's rent table, which covers all 30 apartments.
- One person$35,641 to $51,257, and $59,401 to $73,062.
- Two people$40,711 to $51,257, and $67,851 to $73,062.
- Three people$45,811 to $51,257.
- Four peopleunder $61,509, and $84,801 to $87,668.
- Five peopleunder $61,509. Six or seven: under $71,040.
What it means: without a voucher, a household in one of these ranges qualifies for none of the 30 apartments.
Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the income ranges in the listing's rent table.

Key pointtenants pay for electricity here. The listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity including electric stove. Rent includes gas for heating." By VoucherMatch's arithmetic, every minimum income in it equals the rent plus $126 (one bedroom), $167 (two) or $209 (three), times 12, divided by 0.35. Those are the 2026 "Electric with Cooking Range" allowances in form DSS-8r.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at These Four Buildings?
Yes. Every rent in the listing is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, even after taking off the electricity allowance. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $732 | $2,005 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $1,627 | $2,390 | $2,997 |
| 3 bedrooms | $1,863 | $1,863 | $3,753 |
What it means: the highest one-bedroom rent is $729 under the maximum, the highest two-bedroom rent $607 under and the three-bedroom $1,890 under.
Source: rents from the listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026.
DSS-8r's figures "are the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease." Here tenants pay for electricity, so the table below takes off DSS-8r's allowance for it.
| Apartment size | CityFHEPS maximum | Electric with Cooking Range | Maximum less the allowance | Highest rent in the listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,734 | $126 | $2,608 | $2,005 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,997 | $167 | $2,830 | $2,390 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,753 | $209 | $3,544 | $1,863 |
What it means: the highest rents stay under the reduced figure by $603, $440 and $1,681. The voucher program decides which allowance applies.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowance schedule, the row that matches what the listing says tenants pay; subtraction by VoucherMatch.
- Your maximum follows your household: DSS-8r gives the one-bedroom amount to one or two people and the two-bedroom amount to three or four.
- The maximum income still applies.
- Credit: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Guides: Section 8 utility allowances in NYC, 2026 payment standards, CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and the New York City Housing Authority.
How the Rents Compare With Typical Rents in ZIP Codes 10453, 10468 and 10474
Every rent in the listing is below HUD's estimate of an ordinary rent for the same size in the same ZIP code, by $230 to $1,658 a month.
View the data table
| Apartment and building | Rent in the listing | HUD fair market rent for that ZIP code |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom, 30% AMI, 30 West 182nd St | $732 | $2,390 |
| 1 bedroom, 50% AMI, 30 West 182nd St and 844 Faile St | $1,369 | $2,390 |
| 1 bedroom, 70% AMI, the same two buildings | $2,005 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% AMI, 1647 Popham Ave and 30 West 182nd St | $1,627 | $2,620 |
| 2 bedrooms, 50% AMI, 2275 Loring Pl N | $1,627 | $2,770 |
| 2 bedrooms, 70% AMI, 1647 Popham Ave | $2,390 | $2,620 |
| 2 bedrooms, 70% AMI, 2275 Loring Pl N | $2,390 | $2,770 |
| 3 bedrooms, 50% AMI, 844 Faile St | $1,863 | $3,280 |
What it means: the narrowest margin is $230, for the 70% AMI two-bedrooms at 1647 Popham Avenue. The same rent is $380 under HUD's figure at 2275 Loring Place North.
Source: rents from the listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026: its estimate of the 40th-percentile rent in the ZIP code, utilities included.
| ZIP code | Buildings | Studio | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms | 3 bedrooms | 4 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10453 | 1647 Popham Ave, 30 West 182nd St | $2,280 | $2,390 | $2,620 | $3,290 | $3,610 |
| 10468 | 2275 Loring Pl N | $2,420 | $2,540 | $2,770 | $3,510 | $3,840 |
| 10474 | 844 Faile St | $2,280 | $2,390 | $2,620 | $3,280 | $3,570 |
What it means: HUD's figure includes all utilities. Tenants here pay for electricity, so the real gap is smaller.
Source: HUD Small Area Fair Market Rents, fiscal year 2027; ZIP codes from Department of Buildings records and the listing.
- Apartments in these areas: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10453, ZIP 10468 and ZIP 10474, and Section 8 apartments in Hunts Point.
Who Built the Four Buildings and How They Were Financed
Property records show all four lots deeded to one owner on August 24, 2023, with six mortgages signed the same day.
| Recorded document, August 24, 2023 | Lots | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed, City of New York to HP Morris Heights NCP Housing Development Fund Company | 1647 Popham Ave, 30 West 182nd St | $2 |
| Deed, Neighborhood Restore Housing Development Fund Corporation to the same company | 844 Faile St, 2275 Loring Pl N | $227,500 |
| Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association | all four | $24,804,166 |
| Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association | all four | $1,233,510 |
| Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association | all four | $1,189,055 |
| Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association | all four | $1,125,000 |
| Mortgage to Webster Bank, National Association | all four | $277,229 |
| Mortgage to the City of New York | 1647 Popham Ave, 30 West 182nd St | $1,699,998 |
What it means: the five Webster Bank mortgages come to $28,628,960, by VoucherMatch's addition.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2877 lot 278, block 3195 lot 21, block 3225 lot 77 and block 2762 lot 89. Morris Heights NCP LLC signed the mortgages with the fund company.
- ProgramHPD's review says the 41 apartments would use its Neighborhood Construction Program and 9% Low Income Housing Tax Credits. It says they would be "affordable to households earning up to 80% of the Area Median Income".
- Landthe term sheet says that for City-owned sites "disposition will be for $1 per lot". The deed for the two City lots records $2.
- Property taxthe City Record lists HPD's request for "approval of a real property tax exemption" under Article XI of the Private Housing Finance Law. HPD's production data names the planned benefit as "Article IV".
What it means: HPD's data counts 40 income-restricted apartments and one other. The listing shows 30.
Source: HPD's Environmental Assessment Statement and term sheet; the City Record of October 5, 2022; HPD's production data, project 67768.

Who Gets Preference, What the Buildings Have and the Nearest Trains
The listing sets aside 7% of the apartments for people with disabilities. It gives preference for 20% to residents of three community boards and for 10% to municipal employees and veterans.
- Mobility disability5% of the apartments are set aside.
- Vision or hearing disability2% are set aside.
- Community board residents20%, written as "Community Board Resident (Bronx CB 02, Bronx CB 05, Bronx CB 07)", the boards the four buildings stand in.
- Municipal employees and veterans10%, written as "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
- New York City residentsthe FAQ says "preference is given to current New York City residents."
What it means: the listing does not say whether a resident of one board is preferred only for the building in that board. The FAQ describes this preference as "fifty percent (20%) of the units"; the listing says 20%.
Source: the listing, read October 17, 2026; Housing Connect FAQ.
- Listed"Smoke-free", "Accessible entrance", "Elevator" and "Laundry service".
- In the listing's text"Bike room with racks and free basic broadband are available at 1647 Popham Avenue, 2275 Loring Place N, 30 West 182nd Street, and 844 Faile Street." It adds a tenant meeting room at 1647 Popham Avenue and 2275 Loring Place North.
- Extra cost"A laundry room is also available; additional fees apply."
- Not statedpets, and what the laundry costs.
| In the plans and the listing | 1647 Popham Ave | 30 W 182nd St | 2275 Loring Pl N | 844 Faile St |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apartment sizes in the plans, square feet | 1 bedroom 564; 2 bedrooms 717 to 731 | 1 bedroom 502 and 503; 2 bedrooms 844 | 2 bedrooms 739 to 795 | 1 bedroom 525; 3 bedrooms 841 |
| Elevator | Yes | Yes | No, a walk-up | No, a walk-up |
| Laundry | Room on the first floor | Room in the cellar | not shown in the plans | Listing: "An in-unit laundry room is available at 844 Faile Street." |
| Bicycle storage | Plans: room for 8 | Plans: room for 6 | Listing only | Listing only |
| Tenant meeting room | Listing | not stated | Listing | not stated |
| Outdoor space in the plans | 573 square feet | about 300 square feet | Rear yard with tables and benches | Rear yard with a table and benches |
| Parking | None | None | None | None |
What it means: the elevators in the listing's text match the plans. The plans date from before construction, so ask what was built.
Source: the listing's text and floor plans, read October 17, 2026; the Borough President's recommendation; HPD's Environmental Assessment Statement and drawings, dated 2019 for Loring Place and 2021 for Faile Street.

| Building | Nearest station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Next nearest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1647 Popham Avenue | Mt Eden Av | 4 | about 0.5 miles | 176 St (4), about 0.5 miles |
| 30 West 182nd Street | 183 St | 4 | about 0.1 miles | Burnside Av (4) and 182-183 Sts (B, D), about 0.3 miles |
| 2275 Loring Place North | 183 St | 4 | about 0.3 miles | Fordham Rd (4), about 0.4 miles |
| 844 Faile Street | Hunts Point Av | 6 | about 0.3 miles | Longwood Av (6) and Simpson St (2, 5), about 0.5 miles |
What it means: the MTA's data marks Hunts Point Av, Simpson St and Fordham Rd on the 4 as accessible. The listing's own list of nearby stations leaves out 183 St.
Source: stations and lines from the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map points, so the walk is longer.
- Buses: the City Planning Commission's report puts the Bx18 one block west of 1647 Popham Avenue. It puts the Bx32 on Jerome Avenue near 30 West 182nd Street.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the 4 train and the 6 train.

How to Apply Before November 18, 2026
Applying is free and takes one application per household, online or on paper. The day you apply does not change your odds.
- 1Make a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov, enter every household member, all income and any voucher.
- 2Open the listingMORRIS HEIGHTS/UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, lottery 7625. Check your household against the tables above.
- 3Apply onceby November 18, 2026. The FAQ says "You will be disqualified if more than one application is received per lottery for your household."
- 4Or apply on paperthe listing's paper application address is 1601 Bronxdale Ave, Bronx, NY 10462. It names no company there. The FAQ says "If you submit an application online, you may NOT submit an application via mail."
- 5Keep your profile completethe FAQ says a household whose information becomes incomplete before log numbers are assigned "will not receive a log number for that lottery."
Watch outon October 17, 2026, lottery 7625 did not appear in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, so it did not look open that day. Its listing still carried the November 18 deadline and a paper application address. Use the direct link in step 2. If the page does not let you apply after you log in, call HPD's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, on weekdays from 9am to 5pm.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- November 18, 2026the listing's deadline. HPD's guide says your chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- Within a few weeksHousing Connect gives every complete application a random log number.
- When your number is reachedthe marketing agent asks for documents. HPD's guide: "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leaseyou show 12 months of full rent payments or agree to a credit review, for a fee of at most $20.
What it means: HPD's guide says applicants may hear back "within two to twelve months after the deadline", and that "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified".
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; HPD's Applying for Affordable Housing guide.
- ID for every adult. a driver's license, non-driver state ID or IDNYC
- Children under 18. birth certificates or a school letter
- Income. pay stubs and tax returns
- Address. proof of address
- Assets. bank and investment statements
- Voucher. the shopping letter or voucher, showing the rent it covers
What it means: the marketing agent's request lists the exact papers.
Source: the Housing Connect FAQ; the voucher line is VoucherMatch's addition.
Watch outthere is an asset limit. The listing's rent table gives $50,880 for the 30% AMI apartments, $84,800 for the 50% apartments and $118,720 for the 70% apartments. The FAQ says retirement and college savings balances "are not subject to the asset limit".
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About This Lottery
The rents, income limits, addresses, deadline, utilities and building features are in the listing. When applications open and who runs the lottery are not.
- When applications openthe listing has a deadline, but the open-lottery search did not show it.
- Choosing a buildingwhether an applicant can name one of the four addresses.
- The rest of the apartmentsHPD's data counts 40 income-restricted apartments. The listing has 30.
- Pets and laundry pricesthe listing's text does not give them.
- The marketing agent and move-in datesneither is given.
What it means: ask these questions before you sign a lease.
Source: the Housing Connect listing and open-lottery search, read October 17, 2026; HPD's production data.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
A log number is not an offer, and HPD's guide says hearing back can take two to twelve months. Keep searching while you wait.
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthBronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · VASH · EHV
1 bedroom, $2,499 a monthBronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $2,000 a monthBronxAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx, CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in Hunts Point.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments.
Frequently Asked Questions
When is the deadline for the Morris Heights/University Heights housing lottery?
November 18, 2026, according to the Housing Connect listing on October 17, 2026. When VoucherMatch first read the listing, on October 8, the deadline was October 27. The lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search on October 17, so open the listing at housingconnect.nyc.gov before you apply.
Is 1647 Popham Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. 1647 Popham Avenue is one of four buildings in lottery 7625, listed as MORRIS HEIGHTS/UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS. The others are 30 West 182nd Street, 2275 Loring Place North and 844 Faile Street. On October 17, 2026, the listing had six two-bedrooms at 1647 Popham Avenue: four at $1,627 a month and two at $2,390.
How much do you have to earn for the Morris Heights/University Heights NCP apartments?
Without a voucher, you need at least $29,418 a year for the two $732 one-bedrooms, and at least $51,258 for the rest. The highest limit is $128,240, for five people in a 70% AMI two-bedroom. Voucher holders do not have to meet the minimum income, but the maximum still applies.
Can I use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 30 West 182nd Street or 844 Faile Street?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply to voucher holders. One-bedrooms in the two buildings rent for $732 to $2,005. The two-bedroom at West 182nd Street is $1,627, and the three-bedroom on Faile Street is $1,863. All are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, even after the electricity allowance.
Which apartments are at 844 Faile Street in Hunts Point?
Seven: five one-bedrooms at $1,369 a month, one one-bedroom at $2,005 and the lottery's only three-bedroom, at $1,863. The building has four stories and no elevator. It is about 2.8 miles from 1647 Popham Avenue in a straight line. The listing says "An in-unit laundry room is available at 844 Faile Street."
Are the rents at 2275 Loring Place North below market?
Yes. Its six two-bedrooms rent for $1,627 or $2,390 a month. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a two-bedroom in ZIP code 10468 is $2,770. The lower rent is $1,143 under it and the higher one $380 under. HUD's figure includes utilities, and tenants here pay for electricity.
Sources for this article (22)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7625 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- Neighborhood Construction Program page (nyc.gov)
- term sheet (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- report of August 24, 2022 (nyc.gov)
- project record (zap.planning.nyc.gov)
- recommendation of July 15, 2022 (web.archive.org)
- City Record of October 5, 2022 (nyc.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- website (jcaldevelopment.com)
- December 2020 (bxtimes.com)
- June 2022 (bxtimes.com)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Williamsburg, Brooklyn
228 North 7th Street Apartments
- From $3,423 a month
- Applications due November 6, 2026

Bedford Park, Bronx
3180 Villa Avenue Apartments
- From $2,022 a month
- Applications due October 30, 2026

Gramercy, Manhattan
345 East 17th Street Apartments
- From $1,542 a month
- Applications due November 9, 2026

Fordham, Bronx
354 East 194th Street Apartments
- From $1,025 a month
- Applications due October 23, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.