Skip to page content

The Lotus, 255 East 39th Street, Murray Hill: 48 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,728 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerThe Lotus at 255 East 39th Street is a new 20-story building with 157 apartments in Murray Hill, Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect advertised 48 of them. Rents run from $1,728 for a one-bedroom to $4,518 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due March 30, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the 16 rents at 70% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, and the 32 at 130% AMI are far over them. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.

Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for job M00672872, older job filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 74438); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Manhattan block 920; City Planning's address search; HPD's Inclusionary Housing page, 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HDC's re-rental search; the leasing site The Lotus NYC; Reside New York's property page; reports by New York YIMBY (September 1, 2024 and January 28, 2026) and 6sqft (February 3, 2026); and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The Lotus in numbers
  • 48apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 157apartments in the building, in city records
  • $1,728the lowest rent, for six one-bedrooms at 70% AMI
  • $4,518the highest rent, for five two-bedrooms at 130% AMI
  • March 30, 2026the application deadline
  • February 25, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372, read October 19, 2026; Department of Buildings job M00672872 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of the upper floors of a white-framed apartment tower with large dark windows, setbacks planted with greenery, glass railings and dark solar panels on the roof, beside a taller red brick tower under a blue sky
Rendering of The Lotus, 255 East 39th Street, from its Housing Connect listing, which labels it "Rendering" and does not name who made it. The building's leasing site carries the same image. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Lotus (lottery 7372) (cropped to 16:9 (rows 120 to 1245 of 1500) and reduced 0.8 times).

What Was Built at The Lotus, 255 East 39th Street

The Lotus is a 20-story building with 157 apartments. City records file it under two street addresses.

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "The Lotus". The marketing agent's page says "The Lotus AKA 255 East 39th Street". PLUTO, the City's lot database, lists the lot as 729 Second Avenue.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job M00672872 reads "New 20-story building. Building designed under 2022 code." It lists 220 feet, 157 dwelling units and 163,888 square feet.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated February 25, 2026, covers 157 dwelling units. The records list three renewals, the latest on August 13, 2026.
  • Owner: the permit names 355 Realty Company. PLUTO and ACRIS name New Second Avenue Owner LLC.
  • Architect: the permit's applicant is the firm CetraRuddy Architecture DPC.
  • Developer: YIMBY and 6sqft name Brause Realty, "in collaboration with Lonicera Partners and AECOM Tishman". The leasing site calls the building "A collaboration between Brause Realty and CetraRuddy architects".
Two renderings side by side: at left a 20-story white-framed tower on a street corner with setbacks near the top, street trees, crosswalks and cars; at right a glass building entrance at dusk under a canopy marked 255, with a revolving door, a lobby with a front desk, a planted window to the right and a dark blue vintage car at the curb
Renderings of The Lotus from its leasing site: the whole tower on its corner, and the entrance on East 39th Street. The Housing Connect listing carries versions of both. Photo: The Lotus NYC leasing site (renderings; maker not named), developer leasing site rendering, via The Lotus NYC (leasing site), gallery and home page (two renderings placed side by side, each reduced (0.36 and 0.38 times), on a plain light gray background).
The Lotus, from site purchases to the lottery
  • December 9, 2021, and June 14, 2022deeds for lots at 729 to 739 Second Avenue go to New Second Avenue Owner LLC.
  • February 16, 2022the new building application is filed.
  • May 12, 2022demolition of a one-story building at 729 Second Avenue is signed off.
  • November 8, 2023demolition of four- and five-story buildings at 733 to 739 Second Avenue is signed off.
  • February 6, 2024HPD's project start date. Agreements with the City and HPD are dated the same day.
  • March 18, 2024the new building permit is issued.
  • September 1, 2024YIMBY reports that the building has topped out.
  • January 26, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • February 25, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • March 30, 2026applications are due.
  • May 21, 2026HPD's building completion date.

What it means: the building had its first certificate of occupancy about five weeks before the lottery deadline.

Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 920; Department of Buildings jobs M00672872, 123908058, 123905845, 123905854, 123905863 and 123905872; certificate of occupancy records; HPD project 74438; the City's lottery data; New York YIMBY.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program".

The two programs in HPD's words
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says the program "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development." It lists Voluntary and Mandatory Inclusionary Housing and other program areas.
  • 421-aHPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." The program "is available to projects that commence construction between January 1, 2016 and June 15, 2022".
  • 421-a Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI".
  • 421-a Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • 421-a Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI". HPD also lists Options D to G.

What it means: the listing names no 421-a option and no part of the Inclusionary Housing Program. No document opened says which applies or whether the exemption was granted.

Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages, read October 19, 2026.

Where The Lotus Is

The Lotus is in Murray Hill, Manhattan, in ZIP code 10016. It is in Manhattan Community District 6 and City Council District 4.

The location in the records
  • Murray HillCity Planning's address search and the listing's description, which says "Located in the vibrant Murray Hill neighborhood" (the advertisement's words).
  • Murray Hill-Kips Baythe area name in Department of Buildings records and in the City's lottery building data (area MN0603).
  • Tudor Citythe listing names Tudor City Greens as a nearby park. No record opened places the building in Tudor City.
  • The lotManhattan block 920, lot 28. PLUTO calls it a corner lot. YIMBY places it "at the northwest corner of East 39th Street and Second Avenue".
  • ZIP code 10016in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Murray Hill.

Source: the records named.

StationDaytime linesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Grand Central-42 St7about 0.2 milesYes
Grand Central-42 St4, 5, 6about 0.3 milesYes
Grand Central-42 StSabout 0.4 milesYes
33 St6about 0.4 milesNo
5 Av7about 0.6 milesNo
28 St6about 0.6 milesPartly

What it means: the nearest subway lines are at Grand Central. The listing marks 33rd St and 28th St as "4,6,6"; the MTA's data lists the 6 there by day.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses and rail: the listing names bus stops at 42 St and Lexington Av and 3 Av, about 0.2 miles away, and at 1 Av and E 42 St, about 0.3 miles. It names Grand Central as a train station.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 6 train and the 7 train.

48 Apartments in the Lottery, at 70% and 130% AMI

The 48 lottery apartments are two studios, 39 one-bedrooms and seven two-bedrooms. Sixteen are at 70% AMI and 32 are at 130% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for The Lotus, by size and income level
70% AMI130% AMI
View the data table
Apartment size70% AMI130% AMI
Studio11
One-bedroom1326
Two-bedroom25

What it means: 26 of the 48 apartments are one-bedrooms at 130% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372, counted by VoucherMatch from its 48 unit rows, read October 19, 2026; the City's lottery data gives the same size counts.

Watch outthe listing's counts do not agree. Its description says "48 units will be marketed through this lottery, of which eight will be permanently affordable as Inclusionary Housing units at 70% AMI, and 32 Units will be affordable at 130% AMI." That adds up to 40. Its rent table lists 16 apartments at 70% AMI. HPD's production data counts 19 low-income and 29 middle-income units. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Photograph of a furnished open living and dining room with pale wood-look floors, a round white table with four brown chairs, a low wood cabinet, and a kitchen with a white stone island, three green stools, a gold faucet, white upper cabinets, a microwave over an electric range and a stainless refrigerator
Photograph of a furnished model apartment at The Lotus from the building's leasing site. The leasing site does not say whether the lottery apartments have the same layout or finishes. Photo: The Lotus NYC leasing site (photograph; photographer not named), developer leasing site photograph, via The Lotus NYC (leasing site), gallery (reduced 0.62 times and centered on a plain light gray background).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for The Lotus

The 48 apartments rent for $1,728 to $4,518 a month. The lowest minimum income is $64,869 a year, and the highest maximum is $238,160.

Rent, household size and yearly income for each apartment type at The Lotus
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
6 one-bedrooms, 70% AMI$1,7281 to 3$64,869 to $106,890
1 studio, 70% AMI$1,8421 to 2$68,092 to $94,990
7 one-bedrooms, 70% AMI$1,9621 to 3$72,892 to $106,890
2 two-bedrooms, 70% AMI$2,0572 to 5$78,069 to $128,240
1 studio, 130% AMI$3,5431 to 2$126,412 to $176,410
26 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,7841 to 3$135,360 to $198,510
5 two-bedrooms, 130% AMI$4,5182 to 5$162,446 to $238,160

What it means: a 70% one-bedroom costs less than the 70% studio.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372, read October 19, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Key pointthe listing has two rents for 70% AMI one-bedrooms: $1,728 for six apartments and $1,962 for seven. Both rows take one to three people with the same maximum incomes. Their minimum incomes differ: $64,869 and $72,892. The listing gives no reason for the two rents.
Household size70% AMI maximum130% AMI maximum
1 person$83,160$154,440
2 people$94,990$176,410
3 people$106,890$198,510
4 people$118,720$220,480
5 people$128,240$238,160

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

The income gaps: incomes no apartment accepts
  • One person$83,161 to $126,411.
  • Two people$94,991 to $126,411.
  • Three people$106,891 to $135,359.
  • Four people$118,721 to $162,445. Only the seven two-bedrooms take four or five people.
  • Five people$128,241 to $162,445.
  • Below $64,869no apartment, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy. Four or five people need at least $78,069.

What it means: each gap sits between the top of the 70% range and the lowest 130% minimum for that size.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

The listing today and the January and February 2026 news reports
  • Income rangesYIMBY printed a top of $227,500 and a 70% studio range of $68,023 to $90,720. The listing now shows $238,160 and $68,092 to $94,990.
  • Lowest rent6sqft's headline gave "from $1,842/month". The listing's lowest rent is $1,728, for a one-bedroom.
  • Rents and countsthe same in the listing and YIMBY's report.

What it means: no page opened says when or why the incomes changed.

Source: New York YIMBY, January 28, 2026; 6sqft, February 3, 2026; Housing Connect listing, October 19, 2026.

Photograph of a furnished bedroom with a white bed and blue throw, wood nightstands with pleated lamps, two paintings, a wide three-part window looking onto a brick apartment building with balconies, and a wood dresser with a lamp
Photograph of a furnished model bedroom at The Lotus from the building's leasing site. Photo: The Lotus NYC leasing site (photograph; photographer not named), developer leasing site photograph, via The Lotus NYC (leasing site), gallery (reduced 0.62 times and centered on a plain light gray background).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The 16 apartments at 70% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The 32 at 130% AMI are $939 to $1,521 a month over them.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest lottery rent at The Lotus against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by size, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$1,842$3,543$2,604
One-bedroom$1,728$3,784$2,734
Two-bedroom$2,057$4,518$2,997

What it means: the lowest rent in each size is the 70% AMI rent, and the highest is the 130% AMI rent.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.

The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity which includes electric stove and heat. Rent includes hot water." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" allowances.

Apartment sizeCityFHEPS maximumLess both allowances70% AMI rents
Studio$2,604$2,441$1,842
One-bedroom$2,734$2,546$1,728 and $1,962
Two-bedroom$2,997$2,748$2,057

What it means: the 70% AMI rents are $584 to $818 under the adjusted maximum. The 130% AMI rents are $1,102 to $1,770 over it.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards and utility allowances ($111 and $52 for a studio, $126 and $62 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $82 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10016

The 70% AMI rents are about half of HUD's figures for ZIP code 10016. The 130% AMI studio and one-bedrooms are $347 and $316 under them, and the 130% AMI two-bedrooms are $58 over.

Lowest and highest lottery rent at The Lotus against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10016, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10016
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10016
Studio$1,842$3,543$3,890
One-bedroom$1,728$3,784$4,100
Two-bedroom$2,057$4,518$4,460

What it means: the lottery rents leave out electricity, which tenants pay. The $4,518 two-bedroom is above HUD's figure even before that bill.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How The Lotus Was Financed

Property records show two mortgages from JPMorgan Chase Bank to New Second Avenue Owner LLC, dated February 6, 2024. Together they come to $75,000,000, by VoucherMatch's sum.

Recorded documents for Manhattan block 920, lots 28 and 30 to 33
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
December 9, 2021Deed, 733 Second AvenueMCS Realty Associates, LLC to New Second Avenue Owner LLC$8,995,000
June 14, 2022Deeds, 729, 735, 737 and 739 Second AvenueBrause Second Avenue Holdings LLC to New Second Avenue Owner LLC$8,350,000, $8,350,000 and $11,400,000
February 6, 2024Two mortgagesNew Second Avenue Owner LLC to JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.$58,107,973 and $16,892,027
February 6, 2024Two agreementsNew Second Avenue Owner LLC and JPMorgan Chase Bank with the City of New York and HPDnone listed
July 2025 and September 2026DeclarationsNew Second Avenue Owner LLCnone listed

What it means: the index does not say what the agreements with HPD cover. YIMBY wrote that "JPMorgan and First Citizens Bank" were lenders; ACRIS names only JPMorgan Chase.

Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 920.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Lotus

The listing set aside apartments for people with disabilities and gave preference to Manhattan Community Board 6 residents and to City workers and veterans. Tenants pay electricity, and many shared spaces cost extra.

Preferences in the listing
  • Mobility disability5% of apartments, a set-aside.
  • Vision or hearing disability2%, a set-aside.
  • Community Board Resident (Manhattan CB 06)20%. 6sqft wrote 25 percent; the listing and the City's data say 20.
  • Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran10%.

What it means: the FAQ says the community preference is "For developments financed by the City". No page opened says how it applied here.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372; the City's lottery data; 6sqft.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • In the apartments, per the listingwashers and dryers, a dishwasher, air-conditioning, smart heating and cooling controls, hardwood floors, and "Patio or balcony".
  • Building, per the listinga doorman, a concierge, package lockers, an elevator, an accessible entrance, and a smoke-free policy.
  • Extra cost"Additional fees apply for access to the children's playroom, media room, game room, party room, gym, spa, yoga/dance studio, outdoor terrace, rooftop terrace and bike storage lockers."
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat. Rent includes hot water.
  • Petsthe listing's amenities say "Pet-friendly" and "Multiple pets allowed".
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedthe amenity fees, apartment sizes and bathrooms.

What it means: the listing calls the building "luxury rental living" and the amenities "exciting"; those are the advertisement's words.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Photograph of a kitchen with a white stone peninsula and three black stools, a gold faucet, white and light wood cabinets, a microwave above a black glass electric cooktop and oven, and a tall wood-paneled refrigerator door
Photograph of a model kitchen at The Lotus from the leasing site. The cooktop is electric; the listing says tenants pay for electricity, including the stove. Photo: The Lotus NYC leasing site (photograph; photographer not named), developer leasing site photograph, via The Lotus NYC (leasing site), gallery (reduced 0.62 times and centered on a plain light gray background).
Photograph of a rooftop terrace with wood lounge chairs and loungers, planters of grasses and flowers, dining tables, a grill and a glass railing, with mid-rise and high-rise apartment towers and a round-edged tower beyond under a blue sky
Photograph of the roof terrace at The Lotus from the leasing site. The Housing Connect listing says the rooftop terrace and other shared spaces carry additional fees. Photo: The Lotus NYC leasing site (photograph; photographer not named), developer leasing site photograph, via The Lotus NYC (leasing site), gallery (reduced 0.62 times and centered on a plain light gray background).

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 48 apartments were due March 30, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 48 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline." The deadline was March 30, 2026.

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limits. the rent table lists $118,720 at 70% AMI and $220,480 at 130% AMI
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 19, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7372 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
  • Marketing agentpaper applications were requested from "The Lotus AKA 255 East 39th St C/O Reside Affordable 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's page still labels it "Upcoming Project".
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by March 30, 2026. The listing gives no postmark rule.

What it means: as of October 19, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (2 Manhattan rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; the listing; Reside New York.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Lotus

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 19, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, and the amenity fees.
  • Not explainedwhy the description counts 40 apartments, why there are two 70% one-bedroom rents, and why the incomes changed after January 2026.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, which option applies, and which part of the Inclusionary Housing Program applies.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Manhattan now: Housing Connect's search listed 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17, 2026, and 345 East 17th Street, due November 9, 2026.
Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to The Lotus first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was The Lotus at 255 East 39th Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. The Lotus was lottery 7372 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 48 apartments at 70% and 130% AMI, from $1,728 to $4,518 a month. Applications were due March 30, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at The Lotus?

The 16 apartments at 70% AMI rent for $1,728 to $2,057 a month. The 32 at 130% AMI rent for $3,543 to $4,518. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat, and rent includes hot water. The listing says many shared spaces, such as the gym, cost extra.

How much do you have to earn for The Lotus?

At 70% AMI, from $64,869 a year, up to $83,160 for one person and $128,240 for five. At 130% AMI, from $126,412, up to $238,160 for five people. Some incomes fit no apartment, such as $83,161 to $126,411 for one person. With a voucher, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does The Lotus take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. The 16 rents at 70% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after subtracting electric allowances. The 32 rents at 130% AMI are $939 to $1,521 over the maximums. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is 729 Second Avenue the same building as 255 East 39th Street?

Yes. PLUTO lists the lot, Manhattan block 920, lot 28, as 729 Second Avenue. The permit, the certificates of occupancy and Housing Connect use 255 East 39th Street. The marketing agent calls it "The Lotus AKA 255 East 39th Street". Its leasing site uses the name The Lotus NYC.

Is The Lotus in Murray Hill or Tudor City?

It is in Murray Hill. City Planning's address search and the listing say Murray Hill, and Department of Buildings records say Murray Hill-Kips Bay. Tudor City Greens is a park the listing names nearby. The building is in Manhattan Community District 6, ZIP code 10016.

Are the rents at The Lotus below market?

Partly, by HUD's figures. The 70% AMI rents are about half of HUD's 2027 figures for ZIP code 10016. The 130% AMI studio and one-bedrooms are $347 and $316 under them, but tenants also pay electricity. The $4,518 two-bedroom is $58 above HUD's $4,460.

Sources for this article (24)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7372 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  13. Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
  14. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  15. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  16. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  17. The Lotus NYC (thelotusnyc.com)
  18. property page (residenewyork.com)
  19. September 1, 2024 (newyorkyimby.com)
  20. January 28, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  21. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  22. station data (data.ny.gov)
  23. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  24. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.