Willow Tree Residences, 225 East 45th Street, Turtle Bay: 51 Affordable Studios on Housing Connect at $1,122 a Month
Quick answerWillow Tree Residences is a new 21-story building at 225 East 45th Street in Turtle Bay, Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect advertised 51 of its studios at $1,122 a month, at 60% AMI. Applications were due July 3, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's lottery data lists it in "Tenant Selection". The rent is far under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604. The building also holds supportive apartments and a shelter.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings new building job 121253785 and demolition jobs M00956277 and M00956622, the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 70466), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1319, the City Planning Commission's report C 220132 HAM, HPD's supportive housing page, HDC's ELLA term sheet, HPD's applying guide, HDC's re-rental search, Project Renewal's pages for Willow Tree Residences and Canopy House, reports by 6sqft, New York YIMBY and CityLand, and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 51studios in the Housing Connect lottery
- $1,122the monthly rent for every lottery studio
- 131apartments in the building, in the permit and HPD's data
- 21stories, in the permit and PLUTO
- July 3, 2026the application deadline
- August 3, 2026the first certificate of occupancy
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523, read October 19, 2026; Department of Buildings job 121253785; HPD project 70466; PLUTO; DOB NOW certificate of occupancy records.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.

What Was Built at Willow Tree Residences, 225 East 45th Street
A new 21-story building replaced the old New Providence Women's Shelter on this lot. It holds 131 apartments, a shelter and a ground-floor clinic.
- Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "Willow Tree Residences". Project Renewal calls the whole building "Willow Tree Commons" and the shelter "Canopy House". City records call the project "New Providence".
- Addresses: the listing, PLUTO and HPD use 225 East 45th Street. The building permit uses 215 East 45th Street. The City Planning report uses 215-225 East 45th Street.
- Permit: new building job 121253785 lists 21 stories, 217 feet and 131 dwelling units. It was approved November 3, 2023.
- Owner: ACRIS records a deed from the City of New York to New Providence Supportive Housing Development Fund on December 21, 2023. Later permits name Project Renewal, Inc as owner.
- Developer and architect: the listing names "Project Renewal and Monadnock Development". 6sqft and YIMBY name Dattner Architects as the designer.
- The listing's words: "51 NEWLY CONSTRUCTED UNITS".

- Supportive apartmentsthe City Planning report says "79 would be supportive housing for formerly homeless individuals and approximately 51 would be for other low-income individuals and households earning up to 60 percent" of AMI. All would be studios.
- ShelterProject Renewal's page calls Canopy House "a 171-bed emergency shelter for women who have mental health diagnoses".
- Clinicthe listing says "A health care clinic on the ground floor will serve residents and community members".
- EntrancesProject Renewal says the programs have "separate entrances and dedicated amenities".
What it means: the lottery covered only the 51 studios open to the public.
Source: City Planning Commission report C 220132 HAM, February 16, 2022; Project Renewal's Willow Tree Residences and Canopy House pages; Housing Connect listing.
- 1998the New Providence Women's Shelter opens on the site, per City Planning and Project Renewal.
- October 6, 2021HPD and DHS file the land use application.
- December 8, 2021Community Board 6 votes 39 in favor, none opposed, two abstaining.
- February 16, 2022the City Planning Commission approves the application.
- December 21, 2023the City deeds the lot to New Providence Supportive Housing Development Fund, and HDC and HPD loans are signed.
- November 6, 2024demolition of the two old buildings is signed off.
- May 5, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
- July 3, 2026applications are due.
- August 3, 2026a certificate of occupancy is issued.
- October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows "Tenant Selection".
What it means: Project Renewal lists a "Projected Opening" of "Fall 2026".
Source: City Planning Commission report C 220132 HAM; ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs M00956277 and M00956622; DOB NOW certificate of occupancy records; the City's lottery data.
- Apartments131 in the permit, PLUTO and HPD's data (130 studios and one one-bedroom). The listing and Project Renewal say 130. The certificate of occupancy lists 149 dwelling units.
- Height217 feet in the permit and the City Planning report. YIMBY wrote "216-foot-tall".
- Shelter floorsYIMBY wrote in 2025 that "The shelter will occupy floors one through six". 6sqft wrote "floors two through seven".
- Shelter beds171 in the City Planning report and on Project Renewal's page. 6sqft wrote both "a 170-bed facility" and "171 shelter beds".
- Opening year of the old shelter1998 for City Planning and Project Renewal. CityLand quoted a Council member saying "since 1997".
What it means: no page opened explains why the certificate lists 149 units.
Source: the filings, records and reports named.
The Programs the Listing Names
The listing names two programs: HDC's ELLA program and HPD's Supportive Housing Loan Program. It says the building "is being constructed through" both.
- ELLA (HDC)it pairs bond-funded loans with "as-of-right “4%” Federal Low Income Housing Tax Credits" to produce housing "affordable primarily to those earning less than 60%" of AMI.
- Supportive Housing Loan Program (HPD)"Projects developed with SHLP funding must provide 60% of units for homeless, disabled individuals or homeless families with a disabled head-of-household. The remaining 40% can be rented to households from the community earning up to 60% of the Area Median Income."
- The listing"The units listed in this notice are only those made available to the general public."
What it means: the listing says "The remaining 40% of units in the building are made available to the public through lottery." No page opened gives the terms of the loans.
Source: HDC's ELLA term sheet; HPD's supportive housing page; Housing Connect listing.
Where Willow Tree Residences Is: Turtle Bay, Manhattan, ZIP 10017
The building is on East 45th Street between Second and Third Avenues, in ZIP code 10017. It is in Manhattan Community District 6 and City Council District 4.
- Turtle Baythe listing says "TURTLE BAY NEIGHBORHOOD OF MANHATTAN (CB #6)". The permit's neighborhood field reads "East Midtown-Turtle Bay".
- Midtown EastCity Planning's address search says "Midtown East". So do 6sqft, YIMBY and VoucherMatch's own ZIP list for 10017.
- The blockthe City Planning report says the site is on the block bounded by East 46th Street, Second Avenue, East 45th Street and Third Avenue.
- ZIP code 10017the listing, the permit, HPD's data and PLUTO.
- The lotManhattan block 1319. PLUTO lists condominium lot 7505; the 2023 deed and loans use lots 8 and 11.
What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Turtle Bay, the listing's word.
Source: the records named.

| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Central-42 St | 7 | about 0.2 miles | Yes |
| Grand Central-42 St | 4, 5, 6 | about 0.3 miles | Yes |
| 51 St | 6 | about 0.3 miles | Yes |
| Grand Central-42 St | S | about 0.4 miles | Yes |
| Lexington Av/53 St | E, F | about 0.4 miles | Yes |
| 5 Av | 7 | about 0.5 miles | No |
What it means: the listing names "E,M" trains at Lexington Ave-53rd St; the MTA's data lists E and F.
Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
- Rail and bus: the listing names Grand Central Station, about 0.3 miles away, and a bus stop at 1 Av/E 42 St, also about 0.3 miles. It lists "M15, M42, M101, M102, M103, LIRR, Metro North".
- Along the lines: see voucher apartments near the 6 train and the 7 train.

51 Lottery Studios at One Rent and One Income Level
The lottery had 51 studios, all at 60% AMI and all at $1,122 a month. The other 79 apartments were not in the lottery.
View the data table
| Use | Apartments |
|---|---|
| Supportive studios, referred by City agencies | 79 |
| Housing Connect lottery studios, 60% AMI | 51 |
| Superintendent's apartment | 1 |
What it means: the 51 lottery studios match HPD's 51 low-income units.
Source: HPD project 70466 (79 extremely low-income, 51 low-income, 1 other); City Planning report C 220132 HAM; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523.
Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 225 East 45th Street
Every lottery studio rents for $1,122 a month. One or two people can apply, earning $42,275 to $81,420 a year.
| Household | Rent | Minimum income | Maximum income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $1,122 | $42,275 | $71,280 |
| 2 people | $1,122 | $42,275 | $81,420 |
What it means: the minimum is the same for one or two people. The maximum rises with household size.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523, read October 19, 2026.
- Under $42,275below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One person over $71,280, or two over $81,420above the maximum. No lottery studio fits.
- Three or more peoplethe listing takes one or two people per studio.
- Asset limitthe rent table lists $101,760.
What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at that AMI level.
Source: Housing Connect listing and rent table.
Watch outYIMBY printed an income range of "$42,275 to $77,760". The listing shows $42,275 to $81,420 on October 19, 2026. No page opened explains the difference.
Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
The $1,122 rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604, even after the electricity allowance. That leaves a gap of $1,371 a month, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment | Lottery rent | Rent plus allowance | 2026 maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 60% AMI | $1,122 | $1,233 | $2,604 |
What it means: the rent is $1,482 under the maximum, and $1,371 under with the allowance.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum and allowance from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives maximums "if all utilities are included in the lease". The allowance is the 2026 "Electric with Cooking Range" line for a studio, $111.
Key pointthe listing says "Tenant is responsible for electricity and including electric stove. Rent includes heat and hot water." So the chart adds only the electric cooking line. DSS decides which allowances apply.
- Section 8: NYCHA and HPD set their own limits. See the New York City Housing Authority page, Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026, Section 8 utility allowances in NYC and CityFHEPS vs Section 8.
How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10017
The $1,122 rent is $2,768 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 studio figure of $3,890 for ZIP code 10017. It stays $2,657 below after the electricity allowance.
View the data table
| Apartment | Lottery rent | Rent plus allowance | HUD figure, ZIP 10017 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,122 | $1,233 | $3,890 |
What it means: HUD's figure includes most utilities, so the second bar is the closer match, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; allowance from DSS-8r; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10017 and Section 8 apartments in Midtown.
How Willow Tree Residences Was Financed
Property records show City and HDC loans signed on December 21, 2023, the day the City deeded the lot. 6sqft wrote that "Construction financing closed in December 2023."
| Lender | Borrower | Documents | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| NYC Housing Development Corporation | New Providence Housing Owner LLC and the Supportive Housing Development Fund | 6 mortgages | $58,869,323 |
| City of New York, HPD | the same two | 1 mortgage | $48,059,998 |
| UMB Bank, N.A. | New Providence Shelter Housing Development Fund Co | 2 mortgages | $44,029,257 |
What it means: the UMB loans name the shelter's fund, not the housing's.
Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 1319; totals by VoucherMatch's addition.
- Who paid, per 6sqft: "the city’s Department of Homeless Services, the Department of Housing Preservation and Development’s Supportive Housing Loan Program, tax-exempt bonds from the Housing Development Corporation, and Low Income Housing Tax Credits".
- Cost: YIMBY wrote in 2025 that "The $126 million project is replacing a seven-story homeless shelter". No official page opened gives a cost.
Preferences, Building Features and Fees at Willow Tree Residences
The listing set aside studios for people with disabilities and gave preference to Manhattan Community Board 6 residents and to City workers and veterans. Tenants pay electricity.
- Mobility disability5% of apartments.
- Vision or hearing disability2%.
- "Community Board Resident (Manhattan CB 06)"20%.
- "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran"10%.
What it means: the FAQ gives City workers 5% in HPD or HDC buildings and says project preferences "may include" veterans. This listing combines the two at 10%.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523; the City's lottery data.
- Listedbike storage lockers, shared laundry room, elevator, accessible entrance, recreation room, outdoor terrace, security cameras, an on-site resident manager, intercom, air-conditioning and common area Wi-Fi.
- In the advertisement's words"High-end countertops and finishes", "Energy-efficient appliances" and "in-unit high speed broadband internet".
- Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the electric stove. Heat and hot water are included.
- Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes, bathrooms and any amenity fees.
What it means: no amenity in the list is marked as extra cost.
Source: Housing Connect listing.

Watch out, October 19, 2026VoucherMatch left out a 2022 Dattner Architects rendering shown on Project Renewal's page. It shows a light gray building. YIMBY calls that design "a former iteration". The listing's rendering shows dark red brick.
What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 51 studios were due July 3, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed." Counted from July 3, 2026, that runs to July 2027, by VoucherMatch's count.
What it means: the lottery data does not say how many studios are leased.
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7523 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
- Paper routeunder "Apply by Mail", Housing Connect said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" Willow Tree Residences, c/o Settlement Housing Fund, 247 West 37th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10018. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
- PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online no later than July 3, 2026".
- Who runs the lotterythe listing does not name a marketing agent. 6sqft wrote that questions "must be referred to NYC’s Housing Connect department by dialing 311."
What it means: as of October 19, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these studios.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (2 Manhattan rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC; the listing.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Willow Tree Residences
The rent, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many studios have been leased is not.
- Not publishedhow many lottery studios have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
- Not explainedwhy the certificate of occupancy lists 149 units, and the income range YIMBY printed.
- Not statedthe pet policy, apartment sizes, and who runs the lottery.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
What it means: check each line again before acting on it.
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.
If You Need an Apartment Now
No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in Manhattan now: Housing Connect's search listed 345 East 17th Street Apartments, due November 9, 2026, and 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $2,816 a monthHarlem, ManhattanAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · EHV
3 bedrooms, $3,577 a monthHarlem, Manhattan
3 bedrooms, $3,532 a monthManhattan
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Manhattan and CityFHEPS apartments in Manhattan.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was Willow Tree Residences at 225 East 45th Street on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. Willow Tree Residences was lottery 7523 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 51 studios at 225 East 45th Street in Turtle Bay for $1,122 a month, at 60% AMI. Applications were due July 3, 2026. As of October 19, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.
What is the rent at Willow Tree Residences?
Every lottery studio rents for $1,122 a month. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove. Heat and hot water are included in the rent. The listing set no deposit or application fee. It does not state a pet policy or apartment sizes, so ask the Housing Connect hotline at 212-863-7990.
How much do you have to earn for Willow Tree Residences?
At least $42,275 a year, unless you have a voucher. The top limit is $71,280 for one person and $81,420 for two. Each studio takes one or two people. The asset limit in the rent table is $101,760. These figures come from the Housing Connect listing as read on October 19, 2026.
Does Willow Tree Residences take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts both, and the minimum income does not apply to voucher holders. The $1,122 rent is $1,482 under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604. With the $111 electricity allowance, it is still $1,371 under. Ask DSS or your housing authority before you count on approval.
Is 215 East 45th Street the same building as 225 East 45th Street?
Yes. The building permit uses 215 East 45th Street. The listing, PLUTO and HPD use 225 East 45th Street. City Planning wrote 215-225 East 45th Street. It is Manhattan block 1319. Project Renewal calls the building Willow Tree Commons, and City records call the project New Providence.
Is Willow Tree Residences supportive housing?
Partly. The building has 79 supportive studios for formerly homeless individuals, per the City Planning report. The listing says those are filled by referral from city agencies. The 51 lottery studios were open to the public. A 171-bed shelter called Canopy House and a ground-floor clinic share the building, with separate entrances, per Project Renewal.
Are the rents at Willow Tree Residences below market?
Yes, by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 studio figure for ZIP code 10017 is $3,890. The $1,122 lottery rent is $2,768 below it. HUD's figure includes most utilities. Adding the $111 electricity allowance, the rent is still $2,657 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Can I still apply to Willow Tree Residences?
No application is open as of October 19, 2026. The deadline was July 3, 2026, and lottery 7523 was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found. Watch housingconnect.nyc.gov for new lotteries, and check HPD's and HDC's re-rental pages for vacant apartments.
Sources for this article (20)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7523 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- report C 220132 HAM (nyc.gov)
- supportive housing page (nyc.gov)
- ELLA term sheet (nyc.gov)
- applying guide (nyc.gov)
- re-rental search (nychdc.com)
- Willow Tree Residences (projectrenewal.org)
- Canopy House (projectrenewal.org)
- 6sqft (6sqft.com)
- New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
- CityLand (citylandnyc.org)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.